View Full Version : Summer football

03-12-2014, 12:57 PM
Notice they are discussing the possibility of a move to summer football at that convention at hampden today.

Some football finance expert thinks it would benefit clubs financially if we were to do it so I imagine it'll be getting looked at in a bit more detail now.

Hope so, I'd love it and personally think it could be the making of Scottish football again.

03-12-2014, 12:59 PM
Notice they are discussing the possibility of a move to summer football at that convention at hampden today.

Some football finance expert thinks it would benefit clubs financially if we were to do it so I imagine it'll be getting looked at in a bit more detail now.

Hope so, I'd love it and personally think it could be the making of Scottish football again.

Hi Bingo. Excuse my ignorance but what's the Convention at Hampden about and who's involved?

Cheers.

H18S NX
03-12-2014, 01:04 PM
I'm all for it

03-12-2014, 01:11 PM
Hi Bingo. Excuse my ignorance but what's the Convention at Hampden about and who's involved?

Cheers.

Sfa have been tweeting about it this morning.

Think all Scottish clubs are there to share ideas, the German fa have a representative there to talk about what they do, the chairman of Spartans was doing a talk earlier, the guy from supporters direct was doing a talk and it appears some football finance expert is there as well.

Think this year was the first year they've held it, sounds like the possibility of moving to summer football will be one of the main talking points to come from it.

Sioux
03-12-2014, 01:59 PM
I've attended a number of similar events (not football i must add) and a common theme is that where the event is held by a progressive, professional, articulate and respected company/organisation, both as to customers and staff alike, there are many successs stories.

However this is the SFA we're talking about. The baws burst.:greengrin

03-12-2014, 02:29 PM
A season running from March thru to Oct/Nov may find it easier to secure a better TV deal. Also easier for young children in the better weather.

03-12-2014, 02:33 PM
I suppose it would all depend on what celtic and the rangers want

03-12-2014, 02:43 PM
As often pointed out, summer football would also mean late winter / early winter football. Fancy visiting Hampden for a cup final in early December, and then having no matches over Xmas/New Year? I don't.

03-12-2014, 02:53 PM
As often pointed out, summer football would also mean late winter / early winter football. Fancy visiting Hampden for a cup final in early December, and then having no matches over Xmas/New Year? I don't.

Our League Cup win over celtic was played on 9th December (1972) and when we beat Killie 5-1 it snowed.

Turkish Green
03-12-2014, 03:33 PM
Scottish summers are sh*t.

At present the season is over 9 months (August to April), so in reality we are looking to only move 3 months: May, June & July for December, January & February (???).

They work it in Scandinavia, so why not here.

seanshow
03-12-2014, 03:56 PM
it would be good, i would go for april - december.

The pitches are usually great up till december, so it would suit better football....no need for astroturf

a bit like the 16 team league its unlikely to happen though :(

03-12-2014, 04:02 PM

Cheers.

Barry Hearn just been speaking about how badly we promote the game up here as well.

Don't think anyone can argue with that.

03-12-2014, 04:05 PM
A season running from March thru to Oct/Nov may find it easier to secure a better TV deal. Also easier for young children in the better weather.

We currently play from August-May, which is nine months.

If we start the season in March instead, we'll finish the season in December and therefore still in winter.

There may be other reasons for changing when our season is played but most people mention the benefits of watching and playing football in better weather conditions. I personally don't see it being much different, regardless of when we start and finish.

03-12-2014, 04:07 PM
I think summer football is a no brainier. Good pitches due to the longer hours of sunlight. As I'm getting older it's much harder sitting in the Baltic cold for 90 minutes, I'd much prefer warmer weather, I know it'll still rain but that'll be good for the pitches. The old argument about people going on holiday held weight when people worked to the trades holiday but hardly anyone does nowadays. Reduced overheads due to no floodlights or undersold heating. All makes sense. But as it's the sfa in charge none of this'll matter and I'll be freezing my arse off for years to come.

03-12-2014, 04:11 PM
I think summer football is a no brainier. Good pitches due to the longer hours of sunlight. As I'm getting older it's much harder sitting in the Baltic cold for 90 minutes, I'd much prefer warmer weather, I know it'll still rain but that'll be good for the pitches. The old argument about people going on holiday held weight when people worked to the trades holiday but hardly anyone does nowadays. Reduced overheads due to no floodlights or undersold heating. All makes sense. But as it's the sfa in charge none of this'll matter and I'll be freezing my arse off for years to come.

You don't think most people, families in particular, will have their foreign holidays booked to coincide with the school holidays from late June-early August?

03-12-2014, 04:16 PM
Just caught a bit of what Barry Hearn was saying on SSN about the convention today. Quite interesting stuff even if he is a bit of a loudmouth at times.

No League sponsor is a disgrace. Only one place the current commercial people would go if working for him and that is out the door!
Negative perception of Scottish Football must change.
There's a Commercial department in the SFA and SPFL. Should merge as surely singing off same hymn sheet.
Alcohol ban is ridiculous. Doesn't understand how pubs directly outside the ground sell alcohol to same people who are denied that right inside the stadium.
Half empty grounds mean no harm in giving away tickets to schoolkids as long term you'll get a reward with club loyalty.

Clubs must get back to being social hub of the region
Social media numbers too low, should be 3/4/5 times as many people engaged online in Scottish football

03-12-2014, 04:19 PM
Just caught a bit of what Barry Hearn was saying on SSN about the convention today. Quite interesting stuff even if he is a bit of a loudmouth at times.

No League sponsor is a disgrace. Only one place the current commercial people would go if working for him and that is out the door!
Negative perception of Scottish Football must change.
There's a Commercial department in the SFA and SPFL. Should merge as surely singing off same hymn sheet.
Alcohol ban is ridiculous. Doesn't understand how pubs directly outside the ground sell alcohol to same people who are denied that right inside the stadium.
Half empty grounds mean no harm in giving away tickets to schoolkids as long term you'll get a reward with club loyalty.

Clubs must get back to being social hub of the region
Social media numbers too low, should be 3/4/5 times as many people engaged online in Scottish football

Top one is certainly true, If unable to get a sponsor it should have been given to a charity.

03-12-2014, 04:35 PM
You don't think most people, families in particular, will have their foreign holidays booked to coincide with the school holidays from late June-early August?

Yeah, but it would be easy to book when Hibs are playing away, that would mean not missing out on a ST game. School holidays are what? 7 weeks? That would be easy enough to organise (says the man with no family to think of :wink:)

03-12-2014, 04:45 PM
Just back from this. Hearn was excellent. Very clever and articulate guy. Certainly didn't pull any punches and said what he saw.

The guys from Grant Thornton were equally scathing.

Both basically said need to all get together...differentiate....and focus on the customer/fan. Image and perception of Scottish Football was cack.

Rod Petrie was there but not enough other Chairman or Chief Executives.

03-12-2014, 04:47 PM
Top one is certainly true, If unable to get a sponsor it should have been given to a charity.

This is plan and will be announced in next 2 weeks.

03-12-2014, 04:49 PM
Just back from this. Hearn was excellent. Very clever and articulate guy. Certainly didn't pull any punches and said what he saw.

The guys from Grant Thornton were equally scathing.

Both basically said need to all get together...differentiate....and focus on the customer/fan. Image and perception of Scottish Football was cack.

Rod Petrie was there but not enough other Chairman or Chief Executives.

Who's Grant Thornton?

Was the suggestion of moving to summer football given much encouragement or was it dismissed pretty quickly?

03-12-2014, 04:51 PM
Accountancy firm. The two guys there specialise in football and football finance.

Lots of nodding heads re summer football.

03-12-2014, 04:56 PM
They should ask Barry Hearn to promote Scottish football.

03-12-2014, 05:02 PM
The one good thing is that by organising something like this the SFA and SPFL appear to be at least trying to address our problems by asking the opinion of proven experts with a good track record. The question is ... will they listen?

Summer fitba for me by the way :agree:

03-12-2014, 05:34 PM

Not for me thanks!

Contrary to what you state those families with school aged children will usually go away on holiday during the summer school holiday period - for a two week holiday, you could miss 2/3 home games. There are also a lot more other non-sport related activities that will prevent people from attending matches - e.g. BBQs, gala days etc.

There is a greater risk of games being cancelled or disrupted due to torrential rain during the June/July period (our rainy season) than disrupted due to cold weather.

During the summer, there are many that would rather be out playing sport (i.e. golf, walking, cycling etc) that watching sport. I for one will be on the golf course and would give up the season ticket.

I doubt if there would be much interest in TV coverage. The TV companies will have done their research that shows that there is a much greater likelihood that TV viewing numbers drop in the summer months. Will you really get someone staying in to watch Celtic away to ICT on a Wednesday evening or a Sunday afternoon. Mmmm no!

Do I really want to watch 22 huddies trying to control a ball on a hard bouncing pitch? Are our players capable of lasting a match in 25 degree heat, when they can barely do that in 5 degree heat? All of that on the days there is no torrential rain, of course.

If it was such a no-brainer, why haven't other countries such as Belgium and Holland moved to summer football.

This is not a no-brainer. A move to summer football might completely change the way football is watch. It might be for the good of the Scottish game. It might kill it. This is not a no-brainer.

04-12-2014, 01:52 AM
Would hate Summer Football. In the winter footballs one of the few things to look forward to at the weekend, and the weathers pish in the summer most of the time anyway. Golf would take priority, so would be pointless getting a ST, most likely the same for the rest of my family too.

04-12-2014, 02:26 AM
I have been in Argentina for the last month. They basically have 2 half seasons and it makes it very interesting. They only play each other once a season. The season only has 19 games and you have 4 or 5 teams that can win the league going into the final weeks of the season, then another season starts. This would be excellent for Scottish football considering the tournament is a one horse race. Then the next season the fixtures are reversed. They also have a winter cup. It keeps the fans interested. Imagine the Scottish league finishing in 3 or 4 weeks time and you have a chance that Dundee United or ICT could win the league. Obviously you would have to tweek the league numbers to suit.

04-12-2014, 03:08 AM
I have been in Argentina for the last month. They basically have 2 half seasons and it makes it very interesting. They only play each other once a season. The season only has 19 games and you have 4 or 5 teams that can win the league going into the final weeks of the season, then another season starts. This would be excellent for Scottish football considering the tournament is a one horse race. Then the next season the fixtures are reversed. They also have a winter cup. It keeps the fans interested. Imagine the Scottish league finishing in 3 or 4 weeks time and you have a chance that Dundee United or ICT could win the league. Obviously you would have to tweek the league numbers to suit.

How would that work regarding European spots? The 2 winners of the 2 leagues play each other and the winner gets a CL spot?

04-12-2014, 04:00 AM
How would that work regarding European spots? The 2 winners of the 2 leagues play each other and the winner gets a CL spot?
Am not sure how they sort out the South American cup places tbh. They might total the points up over the 2 seasons e.g. 38 games to see who qualifies.

04-12-2014, 06:05 AM
Am not sure how they sort out the South American cup places tbh. They might total the points up over the 2 seasons e.g. 38 games to see who qualifies.

We play summer fit a down here and the move was of benefit to the game.

Nothing used to be better than having a few schooners while watching Marconi

04-12-2014, 07:40 AM

Now that is a good idea.

Earl of Currie
04-12-2014, 08:27 AM
I cant see why there is still a debate about this ?
Clubs would have better opportunities to train and play in improved conditions. This should improve the quality of football on offer and the co-efficient of the clubs and country. If we are talking about bumpy hard surfaces , clubs are moving towards artificial surfaces which would remove this issue.
Fans would in principle have better weather to travel and watch games in. Particularly travel during the summer with lighter evenings. Even with the technology we have today there are still thousands of fans travelling to games in Scotland only to be told a few hours beforehand the game is cancelled.
It would be more marketable to sell a league to TV companies and corporate sponsors when there is less competition from other top European leagues.
Clubs would save from having to run undersoil heating, floodlighting, etc as well as having to replay cancelled fixtures midweek when there are traditionally lower turnouts.
Better conditions for the fans could see clubs introduce improved match day ‘fan zone’ experiences outside the ground, such as outdoor eating, beer sales big screens, etc. The sort of thing only seen at World Cups or big one off events.
There are more , but I still see this as a no-brainer.

04-12-2014, 09:11 AM
It would be more marketable to sell a league to TV companies and corporate sponsors when there is less competition from other top European leagues.
Clubs would save from having to run undersoil heating, floodlighting, etc as well as having to replay cancelled fixtures midweek when there are traditionally lower turnouts.
Better conditions for the fans could see clubs introduce improved match day ‘fan zone’ experiences outside the ground, such as outdoor eating, beer sales big screens, etc. The sort of thing only seen at World Cups or big one off events.
There are more , but I still see this as a no-brainer.

TV companies falling over each other to host games that can attract 80,000 viewers? Sure, the old firm can attract up to 300,000 at some of their games, but how many more would tune in? Normal programmes such as Coach trip attract over a million, as does Russell Howards good news program. I chose these programmes because they are on channel 4 and BBC 3, so not exactly mainstream. We do not have the captive audience that many other leagues do, but it would be interesting to see how we compare to the Belgian and Dutch leagues, because who cares about them over here? The Bundesliga is on a highlights show late at night, so I think it's safe to assume that we wont sell this internationally. Traditionally over here the league attendances drop over the last 3 months of the season, as by then the title has been decided and people lose interest. League finished by Autumn?
We can do certain things to improve the game here, but I don't think the summer league idea would work as well as some people think. Certainly not a no brainer.

04-12-2014, 10:09 AM
Summer fitba, let this happen, Sunshine on Leith, beer in hand, sitting watching the Hibs getting sunburned cos ah nivver pit ma factor 50 on,bring it on.
Booking holidays during summer are becoming more expensive, more families are staying at home,more money to spend on the fitba.
I really do not think fitba would suffer if there was summer fitba, fans would be more likely to book holidays when the teams playing away, there are 2-3 week windows, no need to misss games.
Might be a bugger for me though, flight tickets in the summer are more expensice.

04-12-2014, 10:21 AM
Only benefit of summer football is that we wouldn't be up against English Premier League for a few months so our game might get more promotion.

Apart from that I'm struggling to think of positives.
Our teams would still be **** in Europe and Scottish summers are very unpredictable.

04-12-2014, 10:23 AM
Summer fitba, let this happen, Sunshine on Leith, beer in hand, sitting watching the Hibs getting sunburned cos ah nivver pit ma factor 50 on,bring it on.
Booking holidays during summer are becoming more expensive, more families are staying at home,more money to spend on the fitba.
I really do not think fitba would suffer if there was summer fitba, fans would be more likely to book holidays when the teams playing away, there are 2-3 week windows, no need to misss games.
Might be a bugger for me though, flight tickets in the summer are more expensice.

Seems to be more common for people just to go away for a week now as well.

How many folk think during the week they wouldn't mind going to the hibs game but then wake up on the Saturday, or even the Friday and think "**** that, it's freezing"....might not even 've them, it might be one of their pals, the day at the football would still be binned for a day in the warm pub.

04-12-2014, 10:28 AM
Getting rid of the football over the Christmas and New Year period? No thanks.

04-12-2014, 10:31 AM

I'd love to save a few quid over that period, not having the football then could be a God send.

04-12-2014, 10:33 AM
Only benefit of summer football is that we wouldn't be up against English Premier League for a few months so our game might get more promotion.

Apart from that I'm struggling to think of positives.
Our teams would still be **** in Europe and Scottish summers are very unpredictable.

that in itself is a benefit, not freezin yir nackers off spillin hot bovril on yir feet might be another, tryin tae eat a greasy mince pie wae gloves oan anither benefit.:greengrin
Actually being able to wear yir Hibs top for more than 2 games in the year without wearing it over a jacket/jumper, not having to leave early cos yir kids are freezing, enjoying a pint in the sun, just a couple of small things but they all add up to a better matchday feel.:greengrin

04-12-2014, 10:42 AM
Not for me thanks!

Contrary to what you state those families with school aged children will usually go away on holiday during the summer school holiday period - for a two week holiday, you could miss 2/3 home games. There are also a lot more other non-sport related activities that will prevent people from attending matches - e.g. BBQs, gala days etc.

There is a greater risk of games being cancelled or disrupted due to torrential rain during the June/July period (our rainy season) than disrupted due to cold weather.

During the summer, there are many that would rather be out playing sport (i.e. golf, walking, cycling etc) that watching sport. I for one will be on the golf course and would give up the season ticket.

I doubt if there would be much interest in TV coverage. The TV companies will have done their research that shows that there is a much greater likelihood that TV viewing numbers drop in the summer months. Will you really get someone staying in to watch Celtic away to ICT on a Wednesday evening or a Sunday afternoon. Mmmm no!

Do I really want to watch 22 huddies trying to control a ball on a hard bouncing pitch? Are our players capable of lasting a match in 25 degree heat, when they can barely do that in 5 degree heat? All of that on the days there is no torrential rain, of course.

If it was such a no-brainer, why haven't other countries such as Belgium and Holland moved to summer football.

This is not a no-brainer. A move to summer football might completely change the way football is watch. It might be for the good of the Scottish game. It might kill it. This is not a no-brainer.

Opinions eh?

I based my statement on the facts I see around me. The vast majority of my friends with families go away for either a week or 10 days, easily arranged to miss no football (I don't know how you would miss 3 games, if you picked the right days).

So the last few summers where there hasn't been torrential rain here in Edinburgh should not be taken into account? Personally I've seen more cancelations due to winter weather than "torrential rain" but we do play in winter.

Yes there are other events on, but my social calendar doesn't stop during winter and I make choices to go to what I want to go to. I have a few friends in various scandic countries who manage to attend all their football games, while managing to maintain a 10 handicap, one is an amateur athlete who runs most weekends of the summer, but she still manages to make the football.

Maybe its a no brainer, because it might change the way we watch football, the game that is dying on its arse in Scotland at the moment, maybe thats why it would be good for a change. I also think summer football would bring more people to the game than we'd lose. I know hibbies with families that won't go in winter because the weather is rubbish and the kids don't want to be sitting around freezing.

All about opinions though, I think if we keep going the way we are, then Scottish football will keep falling. You think the moving to summer would be detrimental to the game here. We will just need to agree to differ then!

04-12-2014, 10:44 AM
Not for me thanks!

The game is dead on its feet as it currently stands. Radical change is required which, for me, means merging with the English pyramid in some way in order to form a British League.

Kaff
04-12-2014, 11:56 AM

Start in April and conclude the leagues over festive period?

04-12-2014, 12:33 PM
I'm a fan of summer football. I have pretty much given up on Winter mid week games as I hate sitting in the freezing cold. I can't think of anything better than a nice summers day in July and heading to the football. We get a little taste of it at the start of the season then by November it's winter clothing.

04-12-2014, 01:24 PM
Opinions, yes! No brainer, eh no! I'm just trying to be that alternative voice that says there will be many that a move to summer football will be a "no no"!

Opinions eh?

I based my statement on the facts I see around me. The vast majority of my friends with families go away for either a week or 10 days, easily arranged to miss no football (I don't know how you would miss 3 games, if you picked the right days). Equally, I know lots of families that book their summer holidays well before football fixtures are announced, so that they get the best deals for flights. And when they do it is for two weeks - a Sunday afternoon fixture at the start of the holidays, with a Saturday lunchtime fixture at the end, plus a mid-week cup tie all at home and hey presto you miss three fixtures. How many times have we had no home fixture for four weeks, then suddenly three home games in 10 days.

So the last few summers where there hasn't been torrential rain here in Edinburgh should not be taken into account? Personally I've seen more cancelations due to winter weather than "torrential rain" but we do play in winter. That is because there are not many games planned for June and July at this moment in time. Not that long ago we had a Europa cup game that should have been cancelled due to extremely wet conditions, plus a friendly that was cancelled. I know from rainfall records that we suffer a lot of high intensity short duration rainfall events during June and July. Two years ago, I know of one golf club that was on winter greens during most of July because of the extremely wet weather. I have seen worse golfing weather during June/July than I have seen in November or December.

Yes there are other events on, but my social calendar doesn't stop during winter and I make choices to go to what I want to go to. I have a few friends in various scandic countries who manage to attend all their football games, while managing to maintain a 10 handicap, one is an amateur athlete who runs most weekends of the summer, but she still manages to make the football. Ok, it is all about priorities. Not everyone will chose football.

Maybe its a no brainer, because it might change the way we watch football, the game that is dying on its arse in Scotland at the moment, maybe thats why it would be good for a change. I also think summer football would bring more people to the game than we'd lose. I know hibbies with families that won't go in winter because the weather is rubbish and the kids don't want to be sitting around freezing. Equally, it can go the other way!

All about opinions though, I think if we keep going the way we are, then Scottish football will keep falling. You think the moving to summer would be detrimental to the game here. We will just need to agree to differ then! Totally agree! I'm just annoyed by this "it's a no brainer" talk. At this stage, it would be a leap of faith. I'm not convinced that you will see any more interest in our game by moving it to the summer.

04-12-2014, 02:00 PM
Has there been a poll on here before?

04-12-2014, 03:04 PM
Television: We would not get a vastly improved deal, we would at best get a small increase but one that isn't really worth moving our game around for. This is because we would only have a 3 month window on our own - A window that would be interrupted every other year by international tournaments. This idea that the English market would suddenly switch to Scottish football during the summer is simply not true - I have lived in England my whole life and I currently work in football and the ignorance and contempt for the game here is unbelievable. That wouldn't change just because it was on during the summer, most people I know follow cricket or rugby league during the summer, Christ some of them even watch darts religiously (Darts FFS!) but ask them to watch a Scottish football game and they'll say "no thank you." And not as politely.

SKY aren't forcing summer football from other leagues because there is no demand for it - or at least no significant demand.

Weather: People always mention that they would like to watch the game in the sun. I understand that but the season would start around February and end near November. So for the start and end of the season we would be cold and wet anyway. The crowds may increase during the summer months but how about our crowds sitting mid table with 4 games to play in November? Like lower ticket prices ideas the ONLY guaranteed way to boost crowds is by playing better football and competing.

Better pitches: Possibly, however remember the season will start and end in the winter months - not grass growing season. It will be cut up from last season, struggling to regrow over the xmas period and then cut up again from February. We may save some money on floodlights and undersoil heating however, again, we will still use those early and late in the season rather than the middle.

Now, I am not 100% against the idea per se, I do not believe it will be a fix to our games problems.

To improve to a better standard of football the SFA and the Scottish government need to sit down and help develop better facilities for sport - Schools need radical change in sport and facilities to match them - When I coached in America we had full sized INDOOR 3g astroturfs to work with, inside enormous council run properties on several floors - you name the sport it had plenty to offer from proper gymnasiums to ice hockey rinks, from badminton to handball available 24/7, 365.

Elite boarding schools should be developed (was being developed under Wotte but god knows if it will be now) to help propel the best to the best teachers NOT the best/biggest clubs until a certain age where pressure can be accepted.

Fresh ideas from other countries to change the game: Individual skill based coaching and Futsal for young age groups for examples.

Both the SFA and SG should look at helping football with projects for stadia such as interest free loans to install the latest in half/half pitches to improve the playing conditions - Football is a HUGE part of our country and a massive part of our economy when you add it up.

Trying to boost our games image slowly by building it up, not knocking it down.

Wakeyhibee
04-12-2014, 03:19 PM
Would it also mean more Saturday 3pm kick offs regardless of whether it is on Sky/BT? I dunno but I can see a lot of positives in this but at the expense of a lot of tradition. Teams in Europe would certainly benefit.

04-12-2014, 06:08 PM
Summer fitba ? Yes please, Maybe...Maybe in the off chance we get European football again we will be up to par against the team we are playing instead of 15 ****ing games behind!!

In a crap country weather wise like Scotland summer football should have been introduced long LONG ago.

Flabbergasted we still have a case to oppose.

04-12-2014, 06:17 PM
I'd probably go less often as there are outdoor things to do on summer afternoons which aren't practical in the winter. In the depths of winter, the game on Saturday is one the highlights of the week - what else would we do to stay sane?

There's a possible practical problem to the summer season. The end of the season would come at the time of year when the first postponements occur. It's unlikely to be a problem in the premier division, but the lower leagues could find themselves reaching the official season end with vital games unplayed.

04-12-2014, 06:42 PM
If we switched to 'Summer' Football, one of the drawbacks to me would be having the climax to the season at the end of November/start of December. That would mean having the Cup Final when the weather is rotten and also risking having the end of the season delayed by bad weather.

One alternative could be to split the season in two, with the start and end of the season both in the summer. i.e. mid-july to end of December (4.5 months), then mid-February to end of June (4.5 months). The final league match could be on the penultimate weekend of June, with the Cup Final on the last weekend.

That would mean a 'close season' of only a couple of weeks. Not a major issue as the players would get their longer term break in the winter instead and there would be no need for pre-season training before starting the following season

If Scotland qualify for the Euro or World Cup, this could be extended to a four week summer break by adding an extra two weeks to the domestic season in either beginning of December or February (possibly even one week in each).

05-12-2014, 09:46 AM
My view on Summer football is......
Sky and BT Sports would try and out do one another financially to get all year round football, which can only be good for our game.

At present kids have their playstations, iPads, x boxes etc. How many stay I'n on cold days to play these? If it's warm sunny day there is a possibility more would want to come to football. Obviously this is pure speculation until it's proven either way.

I've always enjoyed football I'n the warm sun, on these days I have never thought about not attending ( then again if it's pouring down, or freezing I've still never thought about not attending ). However not everyone is prepared to go out watching football I'n bad weather.
So I feel we would get a bigger attendance, which leads on to more merchandise sold.

I also think companies would want cheaper advertising I'n Scotland which is being shown, advertised I'n England etc, when it's not competing with the English game all season long.

Also last thing from me, why does Sweden always have a good start at European football compared to Scottish football, take Malmo, had played 14/15 games before they came up against us and was vastly sharper than us I'n every department, where we had played 5/6 preseason games. Not sure Hibs would have been spanked 9-0 on aggregate if we had played 14/15 games before Europe.
One thing I do know is nothing ventured nothing gained. It's up to us to change our National Sport because it's our national Sport. Just because we play it I'n winter doesn't make it right ( or wrong ), it makes it up to us as a nation to change it for the better.

05-12-2014, 10:13 PM
My view on Summer football is......
Sky and BT Sports would try and out do one another financially to get all year round football, which can only be good for our game.

At present kids have their playstations, iPads, x boxes etc. How many stay I'n on cold days to play these? If it's warm sunny day there is a possibility more would want to come to football. Obviously this is pure speculation until it's proven either way.

I've always enjoyed football I'n the warm sun, on these days I have never thought about not attending ( then again if it's pouring down, or freezing I've still never thought about not attending ). However not everyone is prepared to go out watching football I'n bad weather.
So I feel we would get a bigger attendance, which leads on to more merchandise sold.

I also think companies would want cheaper advertising I'n Scotland which is being shown, advertised I'n England etc, when it's not competing with the English game all season long.

Also last thing from me, why does Sweden always have a good start at European football compared to Scottish football, take Malmo, had played 14/15 games before they came up against us and was vastly sharper than us I'n every department, where we had played 5/6 preseason games. Not sure Hibs would have been spanked 9-0 on aggregate if we had played 14/15 games before Europe.
One thing I do know is nothing ventured nothing gained. It's up to us to change our National Sport because it's our national Sport. Just because we play it I'n winter doesn't make it right ( or wrong ), it makes it up to us as a nation to change it for the better.

Sorry, I don't mean to completely ignore the content of your post but I have to ask this.

How come all of your "in" words coming out as "I'n"? :confused:

05-12-2014, 10:30 PM
I'd probably go less often as there are outdoor things to do on summer afternoons which aren't practical in the winter. In the depths of winter, the game on Saturday is one the highlights of the week - what else would we do to stay sane?

There's a possible practical problem to the summer season. The end of the season would come at the time of year when the first postponements occur. It's unlikely to be a problem in the premier division, but the lower leagues could find themselves reaching the official season end with vital games unplayed.
You need to get your priorities right my friend:greengrin

05-12-2014, 10:34 PM
When I watch my Swedish team in the summer- my mind wanders to Hibs.... Count me in for Scotland summer football :aok:

05-12-2014, 11:05 PM
When I watch my Swedish team in the summer- my mind wanders to Hibs.... Count me in for Scotland summer football :aok:
Exactly the Scandinavians haven't exactly suffered from summer football in fact they've thrived and punched well above their weight

05-12-2014, 11:37 PM
What's this myth about summer weather in Scotland? I remember the exact moment on a Saturday afternoon this summer sitting at home with my dad looking out to a torrential downpour that had been going on for days and saying "and they want summer football". Like that every summer.

Do people think summer football would see better crowds (genuine question)? People away on holidays, other commitments in the summer, doubt I'd make a single game, not managed to make a pre-season game since Blackpool away.

06-12-2014, 04:19 AM
Sorry, I don't mean to completely ignore the content of your post but I have to ask this.

How come all of your "in" words coming out as "I'n"? :confused:

Haven't got a clue, never noticed it till you mentioned it.

06-12-2014, 08:02 AM
Hearn and Grant Thornton were talking about differentiating the Scottish Football product. Too much gltzy competition from the next door shop down south.

What would make it a better day out for people to want to buy a ticket. Warmer weather was one thing but also more potential to make matchday a broader experience than on a freezing cold Jan. Also less football content to compete with on tv.

Aside from the games there was also better training conditions during the week.

I'm not sure if it would result in more people coming but I really doubt it would get any worse and the upside potential is positive I would have thought.

06-12-2014, 08:58 AM
If fixtures are announced in February it makes it easier to book holidays to miss the minimum number of games. As it stands I go away late August, booked during the previous season, and regularly miss a couple of home games. It makes my ST less worthwhile every year. And who wouldn't rather go to Dingwall on a summer evening than a freezing cold night in the middle of winter.