View Full Version : St Paul's Church in Muirhouse.

01-12-2014, 01:46 PM
As a Muirhouse lad i find this story very sad indeed, Scottish Police are treating the fire as suspicious which started last night and took until early this morning before it was put out, the Church was closed down a few weeks ago and it didn't take long for the wee neds that are causing havoc in this area to burn it down.

I keep hearing that Scottish Police are clamping down on gangs from the Muirhouse/Pilton area that are reeking havoc in these areas and are descending on areas such as Davidson Mains Silverknowes and Barnton to steal cars motorbikes, breaking in to houses and also garages and huts, there is a certain group in the Muirhouse area who seem untouchable and openly mock the police are doing there patrols, if the police don't do anything about it then i can see residents in this area starting to take things in to there own hands and doing something about this group.

Just had a look at some twitter pages and facebook and it would seem the burning down of a Church in Muirhouse is enough for residents in this area, they seem to have had enough of the gangs roaming/cycling about doing as they please.

It was only a few weeks ago that someone set up a facebook page naming and shaming a group of housebreakers who are targeting houses through the day and night, the page was closed a few hours later.

Sad day, lots of memories of going to weddings and baptism's for family members, nieces and nephews at this church and now gone because some kids thought it would be cool to burn a church down.

F***ing idiots.

http://news.stv.tv/east-central/301712-former-st-pauls-church-in-muirhouse-edinburgh-damaged-by-fire/

01-12-2014, 01:53 PM
I share your anger.

The housebreaking that you mention has affected my street. 2 in the last week, plus another half dozen attempted (including mine). Everybody knows who they are (kids of about 15-16), but of course proof is another matter.

A couple of guys tried to exact their own revenge last week, but that's not going to help.

And then this.....

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/bus-drivers-refuse-pennywell-stop-over-young-thugs-1-3621002

01-12-2014, 01:56 PM
Since I moved to Muirhouse, Craigroyston High, the BT Training Centre and now this church have burned down. I find this quite alarming as I'm starting to run out of matches.

Seriously though, it was a nice building and it's not good for any area when churches get burnt down. Hope they catch the people who did it.

01-12-2014, 02:04 PM
As a Muirhouse lad i find this story very sad indeed, Scottish Police are treating the fire as suspicious which started last night and took until early this morning before it was put out, the Church was closed down a few weeks ago and it didn't take long for the wee neds that are causing havoc in this area to burn it down.

I keep hearing that Scottish Police are clamping down on gangs from the Muirhouse/Pilton area that are reeking havoc in these areas and are descending on areas such as Davidson Mains Silverknowes and Barnton to steal cars motorbikes, breaking in to houses and also garages and huts, there is a certain group in the Muirhouse area who seem untouchable and openly mock the police are doing there patrols, if the police don't do anything about it then i can see residents in this area starting to take things in to there own hands and doing something about this group.

Just had a look at some twitter pages and facebook and it would seem the burning down of a Church in Muirhouse is enough for residents in this area, they seem to have had enough of the gangs roaming/cycling about doing as they please.

It was only a few weeks ago that someone set up a facebook page naming and shaming a group of housebreakers who are targeting houses through the day and night, the page was closed a few hours later.

Sad day, lots of memories of going to weddings and baptism's for family members, nieces and nephews at this church and now gone because some kids thought it would be cool to burn a church down.

F***ing idiots.

http://news.stv.tv/east-central/301712-former-st-pauls-church-in-muirhouse-edinburgh-damaged-by-fire/

If any resident so much as lays a finger on them they will be absolutely hammered. People who have never experienced their lives being made a misery like that will insist that you have overreacted and you must let the law, which does absolutely nothing, take care of the situation.

01-12-2014, 03:13 PM
I share your anger.

The housebreaking that you mention has affected my street. 2 in the last week, plus another half dozen attempted (including mine). Everybody knows who they are (kids of about 15-16), but of course proof is another matter.

A couple of guys tried to exact their own revenge last week, but that's not going to help.

And then this.....

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/bus-drivers-refuse-pennywell-stop-over-young-thugs-1-3621002

Yeah my sons pals neighbours house was broken in to last week in the new part that was built on the old Silverknowes school, young teenagers cycling about on bikes just targeting houses, my own house has been targeted over the last few years as well, my neighbour had her car broken in to last week, my house has an alarm but even that isn't a deterrent any more to these little s***s, doesn't matter if you are in your house or not it still doesn't stop them from breaking in to houses, my mum woke up a couple of years a go to find the TV DVD and her handbag had been taking while she slept in her bed.

The problem with this group of housebreakers is they really think they are untouchable and don't care about anyone and think they can do what they want (which they are doing anyway) and they certainly don't care about the police, they just stick two fingers at them, but i do think folk are really getting pissed off with it as it has been constant for a few years now in this area and the police are just getting nowhere near stopping it.

It's not safe to leave your house empty at any time in this area just now, if i do the alarm is on and the house is lit up like Blackpool pleasure beach, and that's me just popping to the shops for 30 minutes.

And a few items at the side of my bed for when we go to bed, just in case I'm awakened through the night.

01-12-2014, 03:16 PM
Yeah my sons pals neighbours house was broken in to last week in the new part that was built on the old Silverknowes school, young teenagers cycling about on bikes just targeting houses, my own house has been targeted over the last few years as well, my neighbour had her car broken in to last week, my house has an alarm but even that isn't a deterrent any more to these little s***s, doesn't matter if you are in your house or not it still doesn't stop them from breaking in to houses, my mum woke up a couple of years a go to find the TV DVD and her handbag had been taking while she slept in her bed.

The problem with this group of housebreakers is they really think they are untouchable and don't care about anyone and think they can do what they want (which they are doing anyway) and they certainly don't care about the police, they just stick two fingers at them, but i do think folk are really getting pissed off with it as it has been constant for a few years now in this area and the police are just getting nowhere near stopping it.

It's not safe to leave your house empty at any time in this area just now, if i do the alarm is on and the house is lit up like Blackpool pleasure beach, and that's me just popping to the shops for 30 minutes.

And a few items at the side of my bed for when we are sleeping, just in case I'm awakened through the night.

Yep, it's them.

01-12-2014, 03:17 PM
Sounds pretty bad. Sad that so many parents either don't care or aren't able to do anything about what their kids are getting up to. Can the courts place supervision orders on children found guilty of crimes that can lead to punishments for their parents if they re-offend?

01-12-2014, 04:55 PM
Sounds pretty bad. Sad that so many parents either don't care or aren't able to do anything about what their kids are getting up to. Can the courts place supervision orders on children found guilty of crimes that can lead to punishments for their parents if they re-offend?

Agree about the parents, but then the parents were probably doing the same years ago themselves.

01-12-2014, 05:07 PM
I remember just after the death of Margo MacDonald reading an interview with someone who sat on a housing committee with her in her early political career. They said that a point had been raised about 'problem tenants' and a well meaning but hopelessly out of touch leftie had suggested there was no such thing as a problen tenant and it was a stigma against the working class. MM had reacted quite furiously and said, having been brought up in an area that couldn't be described as salibrious, that of course problem tenants existed and to suggest otherwise was an insult to decent working class people living in 'poorer' areas.

I think this is what is being described on this thread. Areas tend to gain a reputation based on the worst of people that live there. I was brought up in Oxgangs, hardly one of Edinburghs most sought after areas, and incidents like you describe above where never far away. Yet the majority of people who lived there were decent, hard working types. The problem with erseholes like thos who burn down a church, break into someones house or destroy someones property is they have no respect for anyone inlcuding themselves.

Solving the issue is the hard part. The Police seem uninterested when this kind of thing goes on in certain areas, the perpotrators don't respect or fear the Police anyway and 'rehabilitation' is probably wasted on people with small time ambitions to be a bit of a scheme gangster.

01-12-2014, 09:08 PM
A couple of the trouble makers have been sentenced recently and put in polmant, one had only been out of prison for a few weeks!

02-12-2014, 08:53 AM
Having experienced about 4 years of relatively low level crime and antisocial behaviour coming from one house in our area I know how tough it can be to get folks to speak up, get evidence and convince the council and police to act. I lost faith in the police during the process as I was blatantly told a "mistruth" to my face. In the end the younger PC apologised.
The reality is if you have antisocial behaviour going on in your neighbourhood the first thing the police seem to do is contain it. I have some sympathy for folks that have exhausted options and contemplate taking things into their own hands. But as soon as you act on it you play into the hands of others who often know the system and what they can get away with - they maybe dafties but not stupid.
my advice would be to involve your MSP, MP to hold he police and council to account.

02-12-2014, 01:06 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/car-hits-boy-on-pavement-in-hit-and-run-1-3622255

02-12-2014, 10:51 PM
Why would anybody burn down a church? Is it motivated by sectarianism?

03-12-2014, 06:36 AM
Doubt that very much.

Social deprivation, boredom, radgeness, lack of parental guidance, jealousy......perm any of these, plus many others.

03-12-2014, 11:15 AM
Why would anybody burn down a church?

Because they are dicks.

04-12-2014, 08:35 AM
Doubt that very much.

Social deprivation, boredom, radgeness, lack of parental guidance, jealousy......perm any of these, plus many others.

That pretty much covers it I think :agree:

liked this this morning....

04-12-2014, 08:45 AM
That pretty much covers it I think :agree:

liked this this morning....

Nicked.

05-12-2014, 07:23 AM
Radio Forth News ‏@RadioForthNews 4m4 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/RadioForthNews/status/540781412476272640) BREAKING 14y/o boy arrested and charged in connection with a fire at the St Paul's RC church in Muirhouse Avenue on Monday 1st December

05-12-2014, 07:31 AM
Radio Forth News ‏@RadioForthNews 4m4 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/RadioForthNews/status/540781412476272640) BREAKING 14y/o boy arrested and charged in connection with a fire at the St Paul's RC church in Muirhouse Avenue on Monday 1st December
Cheers for that.

I did notice that the radges had been less obvious this week. Maybe the church business has been a watershed.

06-12-2014, 11:31 PM
Cheers for that.

I did notice that the radges had been less obvious this week. Maybe the church business has been a watershed.

The radges were out in force last night on Pennywell Road taunting the police and causing all sorts of problems for the polis.

ColintonHibs
07-12-2014, 10:13 AM

F***ing idiots.

Animals they should lock them all up and throw away the key. Lost causes

07-12-2014, 10:24 AM

For much the same reason as Craigroyston School and the BT Training Centre were torched.

Empty buildings with no security presence seem to be an easy target round here.

Doubt that very much.

Quite simply, because they could.

Animals they should lock them all up and throw away the key. Lost causes

Surely the death penalty would be more cost effective?

07-12-2014, 10:27 AM
I remember just after the death of Margo MacDonald reading an interview with someone who sat on a housing committee with her in her early political career. They said that a point had been raised about 'problem tenants' and a well meaning but hopelessly out of touch leftie had suggested there was no such thing as a problen tenant and it was a stigma against the working class. MM had reacted quite furiously and said, having been brought up in an area that couldn't be described as salibrious, that of course problem tenants existed and to suggest otherwise was an insult to decent working class people living in 'poorer' areas.

Reminds me of a grossly obese nurse I trained with. Whenever obesity was discussed in class, she said that it was judgemental. She refused to see that obesity was an issue which effected people's health.

07-12-2014, 10:33 AM
Omg and then you see on facebook these "people" are having more kids!

I think you're starting to drift into the realms of "poor taste".

07-12-2014, 11:05 AM
Reminds me of a grossly obese nurse I trained with. Whenever obesity was discussed in class, she said that it was judgemental. She refused to see that obesity was an issue which effected people's health.

An argument I've had a million times but I've given up now. It's socially acceptable to lay into smokers or heavy drinkers for being a 'drain on the NHS' or whatever but dare pass comments on the health risks of obesity and you're instantly branded a prejudice fat hater who's questioning someones 'lifestyle choice'.

07-12-2014, 11:11 AM
An argument I've had a million times but I've given up now. It's socially acceptable to lay into smokers or heavy drinkers for being a 'drain on the NHS' or whatever but dare pass comments on the health risks of obesity and you're instantly branded a prejudice fat hater who's questioning someones 'lifestyle choice'.

I think a quick look at most nurses and policy makers will give you an idea what that's about. Most of them are what lonely hearts columns used to call "cuddly but bubbly". :greengrin

It's getting harder to give advice like, "if you lost some weight, the load on your arthritic knees will be less, and you might experience less pain" etc.

God save the person brave enough to say, "if you continue to overfeed your child, they will be obese and will probably die younger than they should".

07-12-2014, 02:59 PM
It's socially acceptable to lay into smokers or heavy drinkers for being a 'drain on the NHS' or whatever but dare pass comments on the health risks of obesity and you're instantly branded a prejudice fat hater who's questioning someones 'lifestyle choice'.

Times they are a'changin though, and fatb*****ds no longer tolerated so well in some parts of the country at least:

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/health-news/smokers-and-the-obese-in-devon-will-be-barred-from-operations-as-part-of-nhs-cost-cutting-9902044.html

23-12-2014, 08:58 PM
Bumping this thread.

Any Muirhouse and Silverknowes folk having problems? I just chased a guy who was trying to break into my neighbour's. Apparently the whole nonsense has started up again.

23-12-2014, 09:57 PM
Bumping this thread.

Any Muirhouse and Silverknowes folk having problems? I just chased a guy who was trying to break into my neighbour's. Apparently the whole nonsense has started up again.

House broken in to at the back of me at weekend, few motorbikes being speeding about the place the last couple of days, armed response unit were in Muirhouse yesterday in BMW X5 driving around the area.

Few dodgy young ones wandering about Silverknowes at night, they just aren't going away, it's Muirhouse and Silverknowes that is being hammered as usual, but no presence of police in the area, never in my life have i worried more about leaving my house empty in the last year or so, always try to make sure someone is in most of the times.

23-12-2014, 10:52 PM
Bumping this thread.

My mother lives in Muirhouse Gardens and the scrotes tried to break into her shed a few nights ago. Got away with nothing as they were disturbed.

24-12-2014, 06:55 AM
I'm sure Irvine Welsh had a solution for this problem in Marabou Stork Nightmares:

'A few good men with shotguns.'

24-12-2014, 09:48 AM
I'm sure Irvine Welsh had a solution for this problem in Marabou Stork Nightmares:

'A few good men with shotguns.'

Not his greatest fan, made a lot of money by writing about the misery of folk in the Muirhouse area at that time, did he ever put anything back in to the area he allegedly came from.

26-12-2014, 10:56 AM
EdinburghPolice ‏@EdinburghPolice 7m7 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/EdinburghPolice/status/548444439715524608) Male charged with 8 housebreakings in the Silverknowes area tht occurred lst month. Patrols continue pic.twitter.com/NOlFnk4Ya7 (http://t.co/NOlFnk4Ya7)

26-12-2014, 11:25 AM
Good news!

26-12-2014, 01:31 PM
Not his greatest fan, made a lot of money by writing about the misery of folk in the Muirhouse area at that time, did he ever put anything back in to the area he allegedly came from.

Not sure if he has - youd like to think he may have done something on the QT.

That said he's a writer not a politician. It's the politicians that should be held to account for their policies failing certain areas whilst serving others better. He's been pretty scathing about the lights of the festival not reaching the deprived areas - although I see now there's some arts hub near penny well iirc which is a festival venue. Without Trainspotting perhaps it wouldn't have happened?

Irvine and his like are there to hold up a mirror and shine a light. After that it's up to society to take steps to change or not no?

26-12-2014, 03:02 PM
EdinburghPolice ‏@EdinburghPolice 7m7 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/EdinburghPolice/status/548444439715524608) Male charged with 8 housebreakings in the Silverknowes area tht occurred lst month. Patrols continue pic.twitter.com/NOlFnk4Ya7 (http://t.co/NOlFnk4Ya7)
Thanks for that.

So...that was last month's. Now we have to deal with this month :)

26-12-2014, 07:45 PM
Thanks for that.

So...that was last month's. Now we have to deal with this month :)

Wonder if the courts will remand him in custody or let him out on bail, probably again. :rolleyes:

29-12-2014, 02:06 PM
And the Police keep reassuring us they have everything under control but won't help residents in the area.

https://www.facebook.com/trimgroup

12-01-2015, 01:02 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/crime/video-two-schoolgirls-arrested-following-4964040

Nothing is changing in the Muirhouse/Pilton area.

Savage attacks taking place daily along with the crime that is still being committed in these areas as well as the Silverknowes area.

Police now patrolling the area on horse back.

https://www.facebook.com/trimgroup

12-01-2015, 03:25 PM
'kin hell, I read that story earlier about the lassies filming the attack on the other wee lassie, it's like a scene from 'The Purge'. Must be bloody terrifying for people, I'd be properly scared to go out after dark. Only a matter of time before a vigilante incident.

09-02-2015, 06:26 PM
My mother is in a right state today, her next door neighbour's house got done last night.

23-02-2015, 11:28 AM

F***ing idiots.

Hows things been the last month or so since the increased police patrols? Noticed PEP's minibuses got tanned at the weekend.

Wee f***** need a slap or two.

28-02-2015, 11:20 PM
Hows things been the last month or so since the increased police patrols? Noticed PEP's minibuses got tanned at the weekend.

Wee f***** need a slap or two.

Not changed a bit, doesn't matter how many police are deployed, helicopter out the other night trying to catch young ones on powerful motorbikes and cars driving over Silverknowes golf course, bogus workmen in the Silverknowes area and blatantly folk going round the area supposedly collecting for a charity but is thought she is seeing who is answering doors or not and letting housebreakers know who to target.

The neds are winning and the police can make as many arrests as they want, these folk are back on the streets as the police struggle to get evidence to charge them.

They need more than a slap, the sad thing is that they are going to seriously if not worse hurt a innocent victim with there crazy driving, i watched a few weeks ago on Pennywell Road the neds taunt the police in a stolen Audi and the police are powerless to do anything, as soon as the police turn up a gang will appear and throw bricks bottles at the police while the stolen car is wrecked flying up an down the road.

01-03-2015, 10:27 AM
And I'm woken up early this morning by the police tapping/banging at my door asking if i heard anything last night, now apart from a powerful motorbike being driven last night about the streets and what i thought was a group passing the house after being at the pub, but it seems a group had tried to force there way in to a old mans house in the street late last night.

01-03-2015, 10:30 AM
My sister had a stolen Mercedes crash outside her house in silverknowes last week.

01-03-2015, 08:45 PM
My sister had a stolen Mercedes crash outside her house in silverknowes last week.

It's f***ing mental down here just now.

But here is the crazy bit, the folk who live in Muirhouse have been told by Muirhouse Housing Association that they have warned there tennants that if they install burglar alarms or CCTV on to there house/building they may face eviction for defacing there property, folk are trying to protect there valuables and maybe catch folk in the act doing it and MHA are against it, you couldn't make it up.

As i said, it wont be long before these idiots kill or seriously injure some innocent person with the way they are driving about the area.

02-03-2015, 01:36 PM
It's f***ing mental down here just now.

But here is the crazy bit, the folk who live in Muirhouse have been told by Muirhouse Housing Association that they have warned there tennants that if they install burglar alarms or CCTV on to there house/building they may face eviction for defacing there property, folk are trying to protect there valuables and maybe catch folk in the act doing it and MHA are against it, you couldn't make it up.

As i said, it wont be long before these idiots kill or seriously injure some innocent person with the way they are driving about the area.

:agree: You couldn't make up most of what MHA do. They are like the Stasi.

03-03-2015, 11:47 AM
Apparently shots fired in a hoose in Pilton last night around 1am.

04-03-2015, 02:44 AM
Apparently shots fired in a hoose in Pilton last night around 1am.

There was, think this was down to the Capitals drug wars going on just now.

Green Man
04-03-2015, 04:44 AM
I'll be glad to get out of the area when I move in the summer. As well as the wee radges on motorbikes robbing folk, we've had folk sleeping in our bin stores threatening people with needles if they try to move them on.

10-03-2015, 07:46 PM
Pretty intense police activity round here the last couple of nights. Been buzzed by helicopters for the last three hours.

11-03-2015, 08:30 PM
Pretty intense police activity round here the last couple of nights. Been buzzed by helicopters for the last three hours.

Police detained a 22 year old male and a 44 year old female as part of car crime in the area, believe they were released later on, as you say helicopter out for hours and they finally stopped a car on Pennywell Road around 9 o'clock last night and there must have been easily 20 police cars/vans and armed response unit up and down the road, when i was coming back from the hospital it was like the police were everywhere.

I will say it again, some innocent person is going to be seriously hurt or worse by the idiots speeding about in stolen cars and motorbikes.

And as i type this that is the helicopter back out again. :rolleyes:

12-03-2015, 04:38 AM
:brickwall

https://www.espc.com

:bye:

Green Man
13-03-2015, 06:19 PM
It's got to the stage now where my wife doesn't like me going out running at night because of what's going on. I was heading out the other night when we heard about a gang going about on bikes stopping cars. I'm not scared myself but could do without the car getting damaged.

11-06-2016, 12:12 PM
For a number of weeks now the Police have been chasing young lads on motorbikes quad bikes and cars, sadly last night on Silverknowes Road two 14 year olds were involved in a serious collision with a car, the 14 year olds were on a motorbike, sadly one of the 14 year olds was killed in the incident while the other is in a serious condition.

http://www.scotland.police.uk/whats-happening/news/2016/june/teenager-dies-after-collision-in-silverknowes-area-of-edinburgh

11-06-2016, 12:23 PM
It's got to the stage now where my wife doesn't like me going out running at night because of what's going on. I was heading out the other night when we heard about a gang going about on bikes stopping cars. I'm not scared myself but could do without the car getting damaged.
That's awful news, SH.

These bikes have been a pain for years, as you know. But no-one deserves that. Maybe the lad's legacy will be to discourage others.

For a number of weeks now the Police have been chasing young lads on motorbikes quad bikes and cars, sadly last night on Silverknowes Road two 14 year olds were involved in a serious collision with a car, the 14 year olds were on a motorbike, sadly one of the 14 year olds was killed in the incident while the other is in a serious condition.

http://www.scotland.police.uk/whats-happening/news/2016/june/teenager-dies-after-collision-in-silverknowes-area-of-edinburgh

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

11-06-2016, 02:23 PM
That's awful news, SH.

These bikes have been a pain for years, as you know. But no-one deserves that. Maybe the lad's legacy will be to discourage others.

Son just came in to the house and said he seen a quad bike heading down the beach with 2 young lads on it wearing balaclavas. :rolleyes:

After having a wee browse on Twitter it would seem the lads were seen throughout the day going through red lights and causing a bit mayhem in the area.

https://www.facebook.com/trimgroup/

11-06-2016, 04:35 PM
Gangs on scrambler bikes terrorising areas of Liverpool,riding against the traffic causing accidents,hitting people on pavements and attacking cars.One of them killed this week,no helmet,of course he was a great kid,from a decent family who never done a bad thing in his life according to the outpouring of grief. No sympathy from me.

11-06-2016, 10:57 PM
Gangs on scrambler bikes terrorising areas of Liverpool,riding against the traffic causing accidents,hitting people on pavements and attacking cars.One of them killed this week,no helmet,of course he was a great kid,from a decent family who never done a bad thing in his life according to the outpouring of grief. No sympathy from me.

Just pasted the incident and there was a group of youngsters laying flowers and lighting candles, a wee vigil for the lad who passed away in the incident from his friends, I stopped and got out the car and went over and had a wee look, got to say it was a we sad moment knowing a 14 year old lad has lost his life at such a young age, I heard today how it happened, I'm pretty sure the driver of the car will not be prosecuted if his car is all legit. and he is the innocent party in all this and he will have to live the rest of his life knowing he killed a teenager in a accident, I do have sympathy for both parties, I then jumped in the car to go home, as i got out at my house the first thing I could hear was a motorbike by the sound of it was going very fast down the road where the young lad passed away. :rolleyes:

I'm pretty sure CWG will agree with me on this, the Police have lost control of this area where these lads are coming from and they are screaming about the streets on bikes and quads 24/7 causing chaos, no helmets, just balaclavas and hoodies to hide there identity from the CCTV in the Muirhouse area and this is taking place every day and night for a long time here, even the helicopter has given up trying to catch them, and not forgetting the crime "housebreaking muggings and folk being terrorised in the streets" that they are committing to down here.

12-06-2016, 06:36 AM

Agree 100%.

12-06-2016, 06:49 PM
No sympathy from me.

What a horrible sentiment to choose to express on the public forum of an Edinburgh football club.

12-06-2016, 07:16 PM
What a horrible sentiment to choose to express on the public forum of an Edinburgh football club.

What a weird response,especially choosing not to include my whole post! Maybe I should have just posted

Innocent Motorist 1 Criminal on bike 0

12-06-2016, 08:10 PM
What a weird response,especially choosing not to include my whole post! Maybe I should have just posted

Innocent Motorist 1 Criminal on bike 0

Whilst I can appreciate you've referred to a different incident, you've done so in the context of the Edinburgh incident.

A 14 year old child has died. Have some dignity and show some respect.

12-06-2016, 08:17 PM
Whilst I can appreciate you've referred to a different incident, you've done so in the context of the Edinburgh incident.

A 14 year old child has died. Have some dignity and show some respect.

Sorry but as I explained I have no respect for folk who terrorise innocent people,bring misery to communities, put other people in danger and think they are untouchable. I referred to the Liverpool recent incident to highlight the common problem cities seems to have. Maybe it's a flaw of mine but I can feel no sympathy for those who live their lives as I have described. If that makes me horrible in your eyes then fair enough.

12-06-2016, 09:09 PM
Sorry but as I explained I have no respect for folk who terrorise innocent people,bring misery to communities, put other people in danger and think they are untouchable. I referred to the Liverpool recent incident to highlight the common problem cities seems to have. Maybe it's a flaw of mine but I can feel no sympathy for those who live their lives as I have described. If that makes me horrible in your eyes then fair enough.

2 things.

1. we don't know yet what the circumstances are. Police enquiries are continuing.

2. he was 14.

12-06-2016, 09:14 PM
2 things.

1. we don't know yet what the circumstances are. Police enquiries are continuing.

2. he was 14.

3. I never said we did

4. I know the circumstances of the Liverpool one.

5. One of the people hit on the pavement was 70

13-06-2016, 08:51 AM
2 things.

2. he was 14.

At 14 they are below the legal age to be riding a motorbike on the road. They were probably not the legal owner of the vehicle. Even as a passenger the victim would be required to wear a helmet. Pending Police enquiries I'll withhold my sympathy.

13-06-2016, 11:30 AM

That's your prerogative. I just don't understand why anyone would choose to express such a sentiment in the immediate aftermath of the tragic death of a child.

At 14 they are below the legal age to be riding a motorbike on the road. They were probably not the legal owner of the vehicle. Even as a passenger the victim would be required to wear a helmet. Pending Police enquiries I'll withhold my sympathy.

So the kid deserved to die? His pal deserved to be severely injured? Their families deserved to suffer the consequences for the rest of their lives?

Social media is a horrible place sometimes.

speedy_gonzales
13-06-2016, 03:59 PM
It certainly can be, the pseudo-anonymous nature of it probably lends to a more honest, brutal response at times.
However, although at this time unsubstantiated, it has been claimed that the individual concerned has on more than one occasion been involved in the theft of a motorbike and was seen regularly tearing up & down Gypsy Brae in recent weeks. If that is true, and those around him (including "mates") did little to correct his behaviour then I'm sure you'll understand how scarce sympathy will be for him from those in the community and even less from those outwith.

The innocent nurse that was knocked down and killed a couple of weeks back, that was a needless waste of life, this young lad-tragic loss to his family & friends-perhaps less so to those that didn't know him. Dare I say, I even seen social media messages where the poster is almost gloating, just desserts etc.

13-06-2016, 04:17 PM
It certainly can be, the pseudo-anonymous nature of it probably lends to a more honest, brutal response at times.
However, although at this time unsubstantiated, it has been claimed that the individual concerned has on more than one occasion been involved in the theft of a motorbike and was seen regularly tearing up & down Gypsy Brae in recent weeks. If that is true, and those around him (including "mates") did little to correct his behaviour then I'm sure you'll understand how scarce sympathy will be for him from those in the community and even less from those outwith.

The innocent nurse that was knocked down and killed a couple of weeks back, that was a needless waste of life, this young lad-tragic loss to his family & friends-perhaps less so to those that didn't know him. Dare I say, I even seen social media messages where the poster is almost gloating, just desserts etc.

Everyone knows the circumstances of how these idiots behave so all this folk trying to hide behind "oh you don't really know what happened" is pish. Had enough in my life dealing with erseholes who have terrorised communities and even my own parents to give a flying **** when they get hurt.

14-06-2016, 09:24 AM
So the kid deserved to die? His pal deserved to be severely injured? Their families deserved to suffer the consequences for the rest of their lives?

Didn't say anybody deserves to die but it's nobodies fault but his own.

14-06-2016, 05:30 PM
Didn't say anybody deserves to die but it's nobodies fault but his own.

Even if that proves to be true, it doesn't mean you can't have sympathy for him and those who cared about him.

14-06-2016, 05:39 PM
Even if that proves to be true, it doesn't mean you can't have sympathy for him and those who cared about him.
I have particular sympathy for the guy's mother. It turns out that his father was killed in a road accident a mile away from where he was killed....just before he was born.

14-06-2016, 05:46 PM
I have sympathy for the driver of the car.

14-06-2016, 06:11 PM
I have compassion for all involved in / affected by what has happened.

14-06-2016, 08:27 PM
I have compassion for all involved in / affected by what has happened.

Same :agree:

15-06-2016, 06:26 AM
Sad times. It's a big problem. I've noticed the police helicopter wasn't flying around quite as much recently. There's a lot of bike theft around then you get lads who take it out for a burn along the cycle paths etc. Funnily enough, I'd never seen a police car chase in my life until I saw two in a weekend a few weeks back - one by the Botanics and the other near Davie Mains.

A mate of mine had his bike nicked about a year ago: they took it down Marine Drive and torched it. Why, I don't know.

15-06-2016, 07:49 PM
Sad times. It's a big problem. I've noticed the police helicopter wasn't flying around quite as much recently. There's a lot of bike theft around then you get lads who take it out for a burn along the cycle paths etc. Funnily enough, I'd never seen a police car chase in my life until I saw two in a weekend a few weeks back - one by the Botanics and the other near Davie Mains.

A mate of mine had his bike nicked about a year ago: they took it down Marine Drive and torched it. Why, I don't know.

Because they're ****** erseholes,the **** of society who have no respect for the law or other peoples hard earned property, that's why.

16-06-2016, 10:38 PM
Because they're ****** erseholes,the **** of society who have no respect for the law or other peoples hard earned property, that's why.

I agree with everything you've said on this thread. I find it hard to have sympathy with someone, whether they're 14 or 40 (14 is old enough to know what they're doing is wrong) that terrorises other people, steals/destroys there property and ruins there lives while putting others lives in danger.