View Full Version : Yams Hearts 1874

29-11-2014, 11:16 AM
How come there's nowt oan google about them before August 1875 ?

29-11-2014, 11:21 AM
Because they didn't exist before then.

You know what they're like, they have to try to outdo Hibs at every turn, so pretending to be one year older is true to form.

29-11-2014, 11:23 AM
exactly my thoughts :hmmm:

29-11-2014, 11:24 AM
There is no record of when they officially were formed I don`t think. They just say 1874 because we were formed in 1875. Kind of childish nonsense that you expect from them really.

29-11-2014, 11:26 AM
They applied to join the SFL in 1874 but their cheque bounced.

29-11-2014, 11:29 AM
How ***in petty !!!

29-11-2014, 11:36 AM
They are like pub bores.

It`s like if one club has one member of staff on the Sex Offenders Register, they will invariably have had two. Oh wait......

29-11-2014, 11:40 AM
They are like pub bores.

It`s like if one club has one member of staff on the Sex Offenders Register, they will invariably have had two. Oh wait......

:agree: Liverpool pipped to the title on the last day on goal difference in 88? That's nothing they've done it twice.

connerg
29-11-2014, 11:43 AM
There was a team called St Andrews in 1874. Changed their name to Hearts in 1875.

29-11-2014, 11:45 AM
There was a team called St Andrews in 1874. Changed their name to Hearts in 1875.

They didn't exist till 1875 then.

connerg
29-11-2014, 11:50 AM
They did exist in 1874 but folded due to lack of members. Only two players were left and they joined St Andrews then persuaded them to change their name to Hearts.

29-11-2014, 11:50 AM

The original Hearts strip was a white jersey with a maroon heart and then switched to red, white and blue hoops in 1876 after a merger with the St Andrews club. The more familiar maroon tops were introduced in 1878.

29-11-2014, 11:53 AM
They did exist in 1874 but folded due to lack of members. Only two players were left and they joined St Andrews then persuaded them to change their name to Hearts.

I was just about to type something similar.

connerg
29-11-2014, 11:57 AM
I was just about to type something similar.
You can still type it if you want. :greengrin

Mark79
29-11-2014, 12:00 PM
I believe most of the squad were single handedly winning the civil war in 1874.

29-11-2014, 12:07 PM
:agree: Liverpool pipped to the title on the last day on goal difference in 88? That's nothing they've done it twice.

It was 1989.

29-11-2014, 12:11 PM
It was 1989.

88/89 then? I was half right :greengrin

Green Cabbage 7
29-11-2014, 12:27 PM
I thought they folded
And it was a men's dance club that assumed the name, nothing to do with that lot before it, could be wrong though

Green Reaper
29-11-2014, 12:52 PM
The original Hearts strip was a white jersey with a maroon heart and then switched to red, white and blue hoops in 1876 after a merger with the St Andrews club. The more familiar maroon tops were introduced in 1878.
Believe the maroon came about due to washing accident when the blue and red colours ran to create the bloody turd colour, sure I read that somewhere (maybe mcraes battalion book)

29-11-2014, 04:01 PM
You can still type it if you want. :greengrin
OK.

Hmmm ... seems familiar :confused:

29-11-2014, 04:09 PM
I thought they folded
And it was a men's dance club that assumed the name, nothing to do with that lot before it, could be wrong though:agree::agree:correct about the dance club thing. they were based, or "hung aboot outside" the Oddfellows building, which is still in Forest RD. opposite Sandy Bell's pub. don't know why they hung aboot, but the mind boggles. well named, that building is though.

29-11-2014, 04:15 PM
I thought they formed as a group from a mens dancing club ( similar to cc blooms).

29-11-2014, 04:24 PM
I thought they formed as a group from a mens dancing club ( similar to cc blooms).

and also played in blue and white until they tried to avoid paying for the correct washing up powder which ruined the colours in the wash and the strips came out a dirty turd coloured maroon....HoMFC, cheating and stealing and avoiding bills since 187...ermm 1875 or whenever

29-11-2014, 04:30 PM
and also played in blue and white until they tried to avoid paying for the correct washing up powder which ruined the colours in the wash and the strips came out a dirty turd coloured maroon....HoMFC, cheating and stealing and avoiding bills since 187...ermm 1875 or wheneverMost likely picking blue and white to be an Edinburgh version of Glasgow Rangers who had been formed a couple of years earlier. I also thought they used a cheap (lidl) washing powder which turned their tops pink and they played in pink for a few years. Also heard that inside tynecastle they refer to thei ground as "The pink palace".

29-11-2014, 05:17 PM
In 1884 they were the first club to be suspended by the SFL for cheating ( ie playing 2 ineligible professional players) so nothing new once a cheat always a cheat. As for being formed in 1874 it would seem that a group of friends from a dance club had the idea in 1874 but they never actually played proper matches till 1875.

29-11-2014, 05:21 PM
Could the admins change the title of this thread to reflect the truth?

29-11-2014, 05:23 PM
They are like pub bores.

Good one. :faf:

29-11-2014, 06:46 PM
I believe most of the squad were single handedly winning the civil war in 1874.

Which Civil War?

They'd have been 230 years too late for the English Civil War, and 9 years too late for the American one.

Maybe there was one going on in South America somewhere?

29-11-2014, 06:47 PM
Liverpool pipped to the title on the last day on goal difference in 88?

It was 1989.

Liverpool pipped to the title on the last day on goal difference in 88? That's nothing they've done it twice.

A pedant writes ... etc

29-11-2014, 06:51 PM
A pedant writes ... etc

An average response, you might say :greengrin

29-11-2014, 06:55 PM
A pedant writes ... etc

Same difference when you average it out :greengrin

29-11-2014, 09:29 PM
Which Civil War?

They'd have been 230 years too late for the English Civil War, and 9 years too late for the American one.

Maybe there was one going on in South America somewhere?aye, you ken yer wars Doddie. a bit like a fishmonger. he kens his fish.

29-11-2014, 09:34 PM
They are like pub bores.

:faf: Did you know they only nicked the poppy money and "rested" the Macraes Batallion Trust money in their account because they heard that a Hibby once liberated a pen out of a bookies? Big team and all that..............

29-11-2014, 09:34 PM
aye, you ken yer wars Doddie. a bit like a fishmonger. he kens his fish.

Leith Mo
30-11-2014, 12:50 AM
Filthy liars from the beginning and never changed since.

30-11-2014, 08:19 PM
Filthy liars from the beginning and never changed since.

Not a ****ing chance they were in existance in 1874!

30-11-2014, 08:31 PM
Jings, who gives a flying f***??

30-11-2014, 08:34 PM

Me, I like to correct the mutants when they start spouting their pish

oregonhibby
30-11-2014, 08:44 PM
I think St Andrews and the Swifts came together in 1874 to become Heart of Midlothian.

Could be crap but there we are.

30-11-2014, 09:02 PM
They really are fannies eh

30-11-2014, 09:08 PM
Who were their real rivals between 1874 and 1888 when Celtic came along?

Where they a big team in 1874?

Did they have any special relationships in this formative year?

Who thought maroon would make a decent colour for anything?

I think we should be told.

30-11-2014, 09:56 PM

Quite alot to be honest.

But as your well aware by the thread title you don't have to read on...

30-11-2014, 10:07 PM
I think St Andrews and the Swifts came together in 1874 to become Heart of Midlothian.

Could be crap but there we are.

No sure about the above , but they took the name Heart of Midlothian off a defunct dancing troupe .

30-11-2014, 10:10 PM
No sure about the above , but they took the name Heart of Midlothian off a defunct dancing troupe .

Calum Elliot is older than I thought.

30-11-2014, 10:11 PM
Calum Elliot is older than I thought.

30-11-2014, 10:17 PM

Ggtthdancers and chancers combined, to become the entity that existed until last year. they somehow squirmed out of some dodgy situations, to retain the original name of homfc, unlike the glasow team in a similar situation who had to at "the" as a prefix to their original name.

30-11-2014, 10:24 PM
dancers and chancers combined, to become the entity that existed until last year

That entity ceased to exist around 1905 when they went bankrupt.

30-11-2014, 10:40 PM
That entity ceased to exist around 1905 when they went bankrupt.cant argue. you are probably correct. I do wish that our club Hibernian would mention the correct situation then, about their club when it comes to listing honours, existence, etc on any match programmes against them. they absolutely love to do it, when they produce a derby match programmer, about our season out of sorts. c'mon Hibernian fc. get the facts, mention it to all.

Septimus
01-12-2014, 07:40 AM

Did they not all get killed in the Bore (Boer) War ?

01-12-2014, 11:45 AM
They really are fannies eh

01-12-2014, 12:15 PM
'Maroons' was a name attached to runaway slaves in North and Central America.

' "from the American Spanish word cimarrón: "feral animal, fugitive, runaway" '
Maroons (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maroon_%28people%29)

Just thought I'd mention it.

02-12-2014, 07:49 AM
Not sure if this is correct or not, but heard that I'n 1875 there was an articlein a paper from an inbred that mentions going to watch them I'n 1874, hence being I'n existence I'n 1874.

02-12-2014, 07:51 AM
Not sure if this is correct or not, but heard that I'n 1875 there was an articlein a paper from an inbred that mentions going to watch them I'n 1874, hence being I'n existence I'n 1874.

I'll believe you, if you can produce a copy of the Newspaper

02-12-2014, 07:53 AM

He probably went to watch them dance

02-12-2014, 08:06 AM
I'll believe you, if you can produce a copy of the Newspaper

Copies of the Edinburgh Courant , a local newspaper of the 1800's , are available for reading at Edinburgh Room of the Central Library on George IV Bridge.

Get the copies out for 1874 and see if Heart of Midlothian get a mention in connection with football.

If they are not there, try the Courts Debtors List. :greengrin

02-12-2014, 08:30 AM

Just think, they could've been known as Hot Gossip if only they'd waited a few years.:wink:

02-12-2014, 08:41 AM

Maybe it's the articles that appeared around their 50th anniversary. Their 1st Captain Tom Purdie (?) then claimed in articles that they dated from 1874. Or they just plucked that date from thin for some reason.

AndyM_1875
02-12-2014, 09:02 AM
Maybe it's the articles that appeared around their 50th anniversary. Their 1st Captain Tom Purdie (?) then claimed in articles that they dated from 1874. Or they just plucked that date from thin for some reason.

I read after a Hearts side had held Hibernian to a draw, Purdie refused to play extra time to decide the winner and took his players off. This caused a near riot and Purdie was kicked up the bum for his troubles by a spectator. A man named O'Reilly was arrested at the scene!:greengrin

02-12-2014, 09:23 AM

Hearts initially ceased to be in 1876 (http://londonhearts.com/scores/images/1876/1876093004.htm) and then again in April 1905. they were incorporated as Heart of Midlothian Football Club in 1903 only be dissolved in 1905 with debts of £1450 and reincorporated a few weeks later as "The" Heart of Midlothian Football Club (seriously). All debts of the old company were paid in full.

02-12-2014, 03:28 PM
I read after a Hearts side had held Hibernian to a draw, Purdie refused to play extra time to decide the winner and took his players off. This caused a near riot and Purdie was kicked up the bum for his troubles by a spectator. A man named O'Reilly was arrested at the scene!:greengrin

Oh really?

02-12-2014, 06:06 PM
they were incorporated as Heart of Midlothian Football Club in 1903 only be dissolved in 1905 with debts of £1450 and reincorporated a few weeks later as "The" Heart of Midlothian Football Club.

02-12-2014, 07:47 PM
Hearts initially ceased to be in 1876 (http://londonhearts.com/scores/images/1876/1876093004.htm) and then again in April 1905. they were incorporated as Heart of Midlothian Football Club in 1903 only be dissolved in 1905 with debts of £1450 and reincorporated a few weeks later as "The" Heart of Midlothian Football Club (seriously). All debts of the old company were paid in full.

That can't have been the same club.

03-12-2014, 11:31 AM
That can't have been the same club.

The man who did it, James Leishman (later knighted), obviously had a modicum of personal integrity, honesty and decency to ensure that debts were paid.

Changed days indeed.

03-12-2014, 11:37 AM
Purdie refused to play coz his maw was shoutin him in for tea.

03-12-2014, 11:39 AM

The man who did it, James Leishman (later knighted), obviously had a modicum of personal integrity, honesty and decency to ensure that debts were paid.

Changed days indeed.

Unbelievable as it may sound now, Hearts actually were once considered a decent and honourable Club. My (Hearts Supporting) Grandad used to take pride in that.

It's amazing how times have changed.

03-12-2014, 11:46 AM
Tis first ever Hibs game was played at Mayfield Park. Mayfield Park was situated on what is now West Savile Terrace and McDowall Road. Can anyone superimpose the park over today's street map ?I stay there and it would be amazing to think they may have played where my house is. Thanks

03-12-2014, 12:09 PM
This 'Men's Dance' thing a few have mentioned - was it that particularly macho form of dancing known as 'Morris Dancing' ?.