View Full Version : Black Friday
28-11-2014, 10:44 AM
What a disgusting spectacle, its kicking off all over the country.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-30241459
28-11-2014, 11:29 AM
You have to be a proper bawbag to get that excited about saving a little cash on a TV that you're willing to behave like that.
28-11-2014, 11:35 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3giiPiIcAAiUt5.jpg
28-11-2014, 11:36 AM
I admit I had a look through some web sites hoping for a deal I don't see anything wrong with that but these sad folk are in a league of their own.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3giiPiIcAAiUt5.jpg
i don't think anyone involved in that mess is considered a hero.
28-11-2014, 12:00 PM
A sad indication of where we are as a society when people start behaving like bampots over getting £20 off a toaster.
In an unrelated incident of festive madness, last night in the town our Christmas lights were switched on and crowds gathered to watch the big 'switch on'. I was driving to training a good 45 minutes after this and the number of people standing in the middle of the road, running red lights and generally forgetting how the hell to drive amidst all the excitement was infuriating. Fannies.
28-11-2014, 12:20 PM
About 200 shoppers refused to leave a store in Middleton "despite being told stock had all gone"
A man was arrested in Salford after he threatened to "smash a staff member's face in"
http://i.minus.com/ibjfB9QMnhj4lq.gif
28-11-2014, 12:23 PM
Has not threatening shop workers and not getting into scraps with other members of the public become 'PC gone mad' yet?
28-11-2014, 12:27 PM
PC World gone mad mair like!
From all the videos I've seen who knows what carnage a tracksuit reduction may have sparked!
28-11-2014, 03:35 PM
Again, just copying the Yanks. The fact its even called Black Friday makes me cringe. Has this country lost its identity that it just copies everything America does? Pathetic.
Hannah_hfc
28-11-2014, 03:49 PM
I'd say the supermarket bosses need to have a good long look at the systems in place on Black Friday. In no other situation are folk allowed to crowd, fight and potentially trample on others. Queue systems, a hundred or so people in store at a time, and tighter security needs to be put in place. The scenes we've seen today should not be encouraged.
28-11-2014, 04:16 PM
I hate the expression 'black friday'. It is not a thing.
28-11-2014, 04:28 PM
I quite like it. Stores expect to be in the black in otherwise tough trading conditions. Black Friday.
'in the black' Friday might be better but not as punchy.
28-11-2014, 04:54 PM
A futurologist (no, seriously I've seen him give a talk) writes ...
Rainbow Friday would be a bit less racist.
Canongatehibs
28-11-2014, 05:44 PM
sad f*****rs fighting for crappy Blaupunkt tv's that aren't even smart tv's. I've a good idea for 2015. lock them in an Asda and let them pummel one another. Won't be missed.
Canongatehibs
28-11-2014, 05:46 PM
people admit they were queuing, but didn't know what they were queuing for. Absolute fannies. Every one of them.
28-11-2014, 06:13 PM
I was disgusted to find that the Russel Hobbs Purifry was still in stock when I arrived at Sainsbury's this morning. If it had been snapped up by rampaging mobs of white trash, I'd be £50 better off.
Next year I'll make sure I go to a more down market area when my wife sends me.
In all seriousness, I agree totally disgusting scenes on the TV, for pretty unspectacular savings. Plenty free publicity for Tesco though!
I admit I had a look through some web sites hoping for a deal I don't see anything wrong with that but these sad folk are in a league of their own.
i don't think anyone involved in that mess is considered a hero.
Seems that anything discounted I didn't want anyway. End Clothing had 25% everything but the shoes I was after.
I've heard the expression was coined by cops in the US who would avoid taking shifts on this day to avoid all the trouble it causes.
28-11-2014, 08:08 PM
I've heard the expression was coined by cops in the US who would avoid taking shifts on this day to avoid all the trouble it causes.
Exactly. And now every media outlet refers to it as if it holds the same place in the public lexicon as 'shrove tuesday' or 'good friday'.
Its about shopping ffs.
28-11-2014, 08:22 PM
After watching the madness on the news I was left wondering about who the people were that we're fighting their way into these shops. Was it parents looking to get their kids something they couldn't normally afford or was it people just out shopping for a bargain?
28-11-2014, 11:10 PM
After watching the madness on the news I was left wondering about who the people were that we're fighting their way into these shops. Was it parents looking to get their kids something they couldn't normally afford or was it people just out shopping for a bargain?
People shopping for a bargain, one picture I seen was of a car with 5 TVs in the boot!! The family were still in the onesies
29-11-2014, 12:54 AM
I read that. It was in reference to the post thanksgiving traffic jams though.
29-11-2014, 12:59 AM
Exactly. And now every media outlet refers to it as if it holds the same place in the public lexicon as 'shrove tuesday' or 'good friday'.
Its about shopping ffs.
Before shopping black Friday was used to describe financial markets crashing. It is an enduring term.
Anyway, I prefer the red wedding.
29-11-2014, 02:28 AM
Surely the fact that the internet exists would stem crowds a little? Or am I missing something here?
29-11-2014, 06:25 AM
People shopping for a bargain, one picture I seen was of a car with 5 TVs in the boot!! The family were still in the onesies
29-11-2014, 07:00 AM
Wish folks would show the same enthusiasm to get out and queue on voting day to actually take part in something important.
Yesterday was a good indication of what our society really values.
29-11-2014, 07:15 AM
Before shopping black Friday was used to describe financial markets crashing. It is an enduring term.
Anyway, I prefer the red wedding.
Sure, but it normally refers to an event of genuinely disastrous proportions like the 1929 stock market crash or when jfk got shot. This, by contrast, is a day where, erm, the shops cut the prices a bit and they get a bit busier prior to Christmas. Modern life is rubbish.
29-11-2014, 08:28 AM
Seeing the folk falling over each other while trying to squeeze through the door before it was open disgusted me.
What grown man would do such a thing ?
I tell you this . Give it a couple of years and we will be celebrating thanks giving.
Sorry state of affairs.
29-11-2014, 08:33 AM
Seeing the folk falling over each other while trying to squeeze through the door before it was open disgusted me.
I tell you this . Give it a couple of years and we will be celebrating thanks giving.
Sorry state of affairs.
Disgusted sums it up for me.
No issue with people trying to get a bargain, I like a bargain myself. The scenes yesterday looked like they were fuelled far more by greed than anything.
We live in a country were some pensioners still can't afford to heat their homes in winter, families are forced to use foodbanks and disabled people are subjected to humiliating questioning to allow them to continue to receive benefits and we have the spectacle of adults literally fighting for a cheap TV making headline news.
Sad.
29-11-2014, 08:35 AM
Wish folks would show the same enthusiasm to get out and queue on voting day to actually take part in something important.
Off track a bit but the % of people voting in the referendum was pretty high was it not? Anyway im away to play my xbox i got from asda yesterday!!
29-11-2014, 08:39 AM
Well i got myself a bargain yesterday, i was looking for an xbox and got one a bit cheaper than the start of the week. I must be one of these people that disgust others that i went to a shop on black friday. Dont agree with all the fighting and luckily i seen none of this in the store i was in but if folk want a bargain and want to squeeze through doors to do it then who are we to say anything about them
29-11-2014, 08:46 AM
Well i got myself a bargain yesterday, i was looking for an xbox and got one a bit cheaper than the start of the week. I must be one of these people that disgust others that i went to a shop on black friday. Dont agree with all the fighting and luckily i seen none of this in the store i was in but if folk want a bargain and want to squeeze through doors to do it then who are we to say anything about them
Dinnae be a drama queen sweetheart.
It was the folk trampling over others that was disgusting.
29-11-2014, 09:01 AM
The scenes yesterday were an abysmal sight to behold.
It's curious looking at the BBC/newspaper pictures/footage of yesterday - is it wrong to suggest that the demographics of those taking part are particularly easy to categorise or is this an example of media 'profiling'?
29-11-2014, 09:24 AM
Dinnae be a drama queen sweetheart.
It was the folk trampling over others that was disgusting.
How does that make me a drama queen exactly?
29-11-2014, 10:15 AM
Disgusted sums it up for me.
No issue with people trying to get a bargain, I like a bargain myself. The scenes yesterday looked like they were fuelled far more by greed than anything.
We live in a country were some pensioners still can't afford to heat their homes in winter, families are forced to use foodbanks and disabled people are subjected to humiliating questioning to allow them to continue to receive benefits and we have the spectacle of adults literally fighting for a cheap TV making headline news.
Sad.
Sorry to go off track.
Agree with you PB, but for completeness, here are the questions that are asked of PIP Applicants:
http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/wales/benefits_w/benefits_sick_or_disabled_people_and_carers_ew/benefits_personal_independence_payment_e/benefits_the_pip_assessment_e/pip_activities_descriptors_and_points.htm
Hardly humiliating IMO.
Continues (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?268339-Disability-assessment-and-the-Tory-government&p=4236561&viewfull=1#post4236561)
29-11-2014, 10:33 AM
Sorry state of affairs.
We're celebrating thanksgiving with American friends today. Pumpkin pie , turkey, even candied yams (inevitable joke insert here). Its a good thing. As far removed as 'black ****ing friday' as you can get.
29-11-2014, 12:40 PM
There were massive queues to register and vote in the referendum.
A futurologist (no, seriously I've seen him give a talk) writes ...
I've met a few of these futurologist people. If they weren't classed as futurologists they'd be classed as waffling idiots. Your one seems to have had a whoosh moment.
29-11-2014, 02:13 PM
Black Friday can a take a ****ing running jump. One aspect of Britishness that I quite like is our politeness and an almost self imposed sense keeping order.
This continual Americanisation of Britain is quickly eating away the one aspect of being British that I like.
**** off America and take your 20% off toasters with you
29-11-2014, 02:14 PM
Oh yeah, and the concept was introduced to the uk by amazon. Another reason to detest the tax dodging, labour exploiting *******s.
Nevertheless 30% off at Adidas.co.uk cut the price of m'ladoo's Chrimble quite nicely.
29-11-2014, 11:07 PM
Black Friday can a take a ****ing running jump. One aspect of Britishness that I quite like is our politeness and an almost self imposed sense keeping order.
This continual Americanisation of Britain is quickly eating away the one aspect of being British that I like.
Its not just Britain, its the whole world. You know Spain now has an obese problem. A country that used to have a healthy diet full of fresh fish and vegetables is now full of American burger joints, Pizza Huts and Dominoes. Its not just the yanks politics that are ruining the world, its now their diet.
You only have to look at the Krispy creme carry on at Hermiston Gate last year. Folk queing for hours for a doughnut ffs
30-11-2014, 07:50 AM
****in shure, thurs nae ***** in the world as polite as us ****in Brits. **** the yanks!
30-11-2014, 07:52 AM
Its not just Britain, its the whole world. You know Spain now has an obese problem. A country that used to have a healthy diet full of fresh fish and vegetables is now full of American burger joints, Pizza Huts and Dominoes. Its not just the yanks politics that are ruining the world, its now their diet.
You only have to look at the Krispy creme carry on at Hermiston Gate last year. Folk queing for hours for a doughnut ffs
If you build it they will come. :agree:
Really struggling to get my head round the attraction of Krispy Kreme. They are flavourless and have bland fillings.
30-11-2014, 08:16 AM
Really struggling to get my head round the attraction of Krispy Kreme. They are flavourless and have bland fillings.
The enduring power of marketing, hype and a load of people who have never had an original thought in their life.
30-11-2014, 08:22 AM
The enduring power of marketing, hype and a load of people who have never had an original thought in their life.
Ideally placed in the middle of Edinburgh Park, Hermiston Gait then.
30-11-2014, 08:41 AM
Flavourless? Have you actually tried them?
30-11-2014, 08:45 AM
Flavourless? Have you actually tried them?
No, I judged them by sight!:greengrin
Yes, I've tasted them and they were just coloured sugar as far as I could judge.
30-11-2014, 09:09 AM
No, I judged them by sight!:greengrin
Yes, I've tasted them and they were just coloured sugar as far as I could judge.
So you cant see the attraction but you have tried them, and as you have said they have bland fillings you have obviously tried more than one
30-11-2014, 09:22 AM
So you cant see the attraction but you have tried them, and as you have said they have bland fillings you have obviously tried more than one
Yes, that's right. One of the bosses at work brought in a box.
If it means that much to you, I'll say they are as good as Greggs.
30-11-2014, 09:28 AM
You've become all defensive over doughnuts! :faf:
Personally speaking, I don't see the attraction deep fried dough with a few grams of some sugary gloop shoved on it in order to justify charging the best part of two quid.
I haven't tried them, however, and have no intention of so doing, so you can take your defensiveness to the next level on the back of that. :greengrin
30-11-2014, 12:16 PM
****in shure, thurs nae ***** in the world as polite as us ****in Brits. **** the yanks!
Away an ***** ya choob
30-11-2014, 12:20 PM
Away an ***** ya choob
Right oh, old bean. :aok::greengrin
30-11-2014, 02:22 PM
There's nothing better than a nice jam doughnut, i have never tried this new outlet but any bakery that makes home made doughnuts are nearly always lovely. Yum yum, might go out and get one now after reading this, and i will probably get a custard slice too. :greengrin
30-11-2014, 02:32 PM
I have a terrible Krispy Kreme habit. I got addicted to them years ago in Vegas when the hotel we stayed in had a 24 hour outlet, perfect after a nights drinking on the casino floor. To be fair by that point I really wasn't capable of any coherent thought, original or otherwise.:greengrin
30-11-2014, 03:24 PM
There's nothing better than a nice jam doughnut,
My, how old you've become!
30-11-2014, 06:22 PM
My, how old you've become!
:greengrin I know, not had a night out in 5 weeks with this bloody virus, but my appetite is still healthy. :wink:
30-11-2014, 07:25 PM
Went up to Topshop today to return a top my daughter had bought on Black Friday. Had my bag dipped and my purse stolen, by the time I had noticed and cancelled my cards and reported the incident to the police, (45 mins tops) the tramps had emptied my account. Apparently there are a mob of shoulder surfers operating in Princes Street. Beware ladies, watch your bag !!!!
01-12-2014, 06:15 AM
Went up to Topshop today to return a top my daughter had bought on Black Friday. Had my bag dipped and my purse stolen, by the time I had noticed and cancelled my cards and reported the incident to the police, (45 mins tops) the tramps had emptied my account. Apparently there are a mob of shoulder surfers operating in Princes Street. Beware ladies, watch your bag !!!!
That's horrible Betty, hope you manage to limit the damage as much as possible.
28-11-2015, 05:25 AM
http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article43552.htm
28-11-2015, 07:58 AM
I'd understand scenes like that in pre war Germany where people were fighting to get food to put on their families table but getting tore in about each other over flat screen TVs is the world gone mad.
Anyone thats worked in the bar trade knows black friday is the last friday before christmas. There you'll see some horrific scenes such as the office manager trying to get into the temps pants.
28-11-2015, 01:59 PM
Anyone thats worked in the bar trade knows black friday is the last friday before christmas. There you'll see some horrific scenes such as the office manager trying to get into the temps pants.
Absolutely.
Along with the once a year brigade having no clue how being served at a bar works, spewing in the toilets (if you're lucky), abusing staff and making 'hillarious' jokes about not paying. Only worse time of the year in a bar is 6 nations weekends.
Glad I got out of it.
Absolutely.
Along with the once a year brigade having no clue how being served at a bar works, spewing in the toilets (if you're lucky), abusing staff and making 'hillarious' jokes about not paying. Only worse time of the year in a bar is 6 nations weekends.
Glad I got out of it.
Yip same as me PB got out last year, although i do help abit with a hotel bar in Sweden, its the same **** as home though during christmas.