View Full Version : Media RIP Arthur Montford

26-11-2014, 09:12 PM
Luke Shanley@LukeShanley (https://twitter.com/LukeShanley) · 10m 10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/LukeShanley/status/537710796923363328)

Sad news regarding Arthur Montford's passing. An absolute legend. Commentating on a stramash upstairs no doubt. RIP.

Link:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-30220020

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3ZaMG3CMAEemPj.jpg
(https://twitter.com/BBCScotlandNews/status/537716380749950976/photo/1)

26-11-2014, 09:14 PM
Sad news ....Sunday afternoons after glen michaels cavalcade if I recall correctly ! Great passion for the game !

7 Hills
26-11-2014, 09:14 PM
Like Jimmy O'Rourke - "He's away behind the Goal!" 😊

26-11-2014, 09:15 PM
aww FFS. Fond memories the guy.

davy malcolm
26-11-2014, 09:18 PM
the best football commentator ever rip Arthur montford

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

26-11-2014, 09:19 PM
"It's a Goal" calm as you like.

RIP !!

26-11-2014, 09:21 PM
Ah a real shame, rest in peace Arthur.

26-11-2014, 09:21 PM
RIP, A big part of my youth on a Sunday was spent watching Scotsport......

Stax
26-11-2014, 09:24 PM
Sad news. I have fond early memories of cracking sports jackets and great commentaries. Rip Arthur.

26-11-2014, 09:26 PM
Great pic!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3ZYwrjIAAAAGdh.jpg
(https://twitter.com/MartynMcL/status/537714813942894592/photo/1)

26-11-2014, 09:26 PM
yup, RIP Arthur. Montford's bar will never be the same. he was a bit like Bob Crampsey, had a quirky anorak type of fitba knowledge and passion. well liked across oor nation though.

26-11-2014, 09:27 PM
Loved him, the twinkle in his eye and genuine smile on his face and wee nod to the viewer when the show started - you could just tell he really loved doing what he did and the show was all the better as a result - the rich language he used and THAT JACKET!! RIP and thank you for so many great memories.

26-11-2014, 09:27 PM
RIP Arthur - probably the only commentator that had you fiddling with the contrast button on your TV.

26-11-2014, 09:28 PM
Great pic!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3ZYwrjIAAAAGdh.jpg
(https://twitter.com/MartynMcL/status/537714813942894592/photo/1)
ken whit one I'd like to see ,hit in the nuts wi the ba' though

26-11-2014, 09:28 PM
RIP, A big part of my youth on a Sunday was spent watching Scotsport......

:agree: It was great.

scuttle
26-11-2014, 09:29 PM
A true sports broadcasting great....RIP

26-11-2014, 09:30 PM
He compered a quiz competition in the Hibs Club many years ago. He was an absolute gentleman, had time for everyone & was obviously doing a job he loved. Sad news!

26-11-2014, 09:33 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyQUI79WSW4

oregonhibby
26-11-2014, 09:33 PM
An immaculate man, immaculately turned out and a part of everyone's life of a certain age. Montford and Crampsey the 60s and 70s personified.

Stax
26-11-2014, 09:38 PM
Come on now Denis, come on .. Brilliant

26-11-2014, 09:45 PM
Very sad news indeed. Arthur managed something that most commentators don't and that was to be liked by fans of all clubs. A real legend and will be sadly missed. RIP

26-11-2014, 09:53 PM
Very sad news indeed. Arthur managed something that most commentators don't and that was to be liked by fans of all clubs. A real legend and will be sadly missed. RIP

Amen brother :agree:

Capt Mainwaring
26-11-2014, 09:54 PM
Such sad news. A Scottish broadcasting legend and anyone like me that started watching football in the 70s will have so many memories of watching games and listening to his unique style.

Seriously believe that a minutes applause is appropriate at all Scottish games this weekend

Rest in peace Arthur and thanks for the memories

26-11-2014, 10:02 PM
Proper commentator. RIP.

26-11-2014, 10:08 PM
A sad loss, RIP Arthur.

:not worth

26-11-2014, 10:14 PM
Great memories of watching Scotsport as a kid. The only thing I looked forward to on a Sunday.

R.I.P Arthur.

"Stramash"

26-11-2014, 10:16 PM
Not many guys left from when I was wee. Archie "wooooosh" Macpherson and Motty still going.

7 Hills
26-11-2014, 10:22 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xSaY75jHC-4

Seven up
26-11-2014, 10:26 PM
"Argentina..... Here we come!!!!".... RIP the legend

26-11-2014, 10:26 PM
He was a much respected man and a much respected commentator and who can ever forget his classy range of jackets.

RIP Arthur and thanks for the memories.

26-11-2014, 10:33 PM

Still gives me goosebumps watching that and listening to the commentary. I was at that game and have never forgotten the atmosphere of the night. Absolutely electric!

Arthur added to this with his enthusiasm and passion!

RIP Arthur thanks for the memories.

MartinfaePorty
26-11-2014, 10:53 PM
Me and my mates used to reenact a Hibs goal from the early 80s in the local park with his immortal commentary accompanying us: 'Callachan, Rodier, Rae, GOAL!'. Simplicity itself. Thanks for the memories.

crewetollhibee
26-11-2014, 11:07 PM
It's a disaster for Scotland.....

26-11-2014, 11:12 PM
A supporter of all Scottish clubs with a microphone.

Real gent.

An important part of my youth.

RIP Arthur

26-11-2014, 11:37 PM
RIP Arthur, like most of my age & above he was a big part of our Sunday afternoon TV back in the day.
God bless ya big fella

26-11-2014, 11:50 PM
Sad news. RIP Arthur. A voice and face of my childhood. And a jacket that made my TV like a mild acid trip.

gorgie greens
27-11-2014, 12:30 AM
Sure he came out with the famous quote during the 74 World Cup when Scotland were playing Zaire as "here come the darkies"
great guy from my child hood RIP

27-11-2014, 12:39 AM
"The ball's in the net and it's ......

"...Argentina..... Here we come!!!!".... RIP the legend

Aye, sadly another legend gone.

27-11-2014, 01:06 AM
Legend, a true fan with a microphone .... rest in peace Arthur.

27-11-2014, 06:52 AM
I was watching some old highlights on You Tube just a couple of weeks ago which featured Arthur's commentary. Legend. RIP.

27-11-2014, 07:36 AM
One of the old school like Crampsey and Francey who enjoyed the game for its own sake. Sally McNair of Rep Scotland was a young colleague of his on Scotsport. She'll be sad today.

27-11-2014, 07:46 AM
Sorry to hear of Montford's passing - brings back many memories of the 60s/70s and football on Scotsport ..

zitelli62
27-11-2014, 08:43 AM
rip arthur my grandfather was a morton fan and his claim to fame was that arthur montford was a morton fan sad sad news you will be greatly missed some of the clowns we have nowadays could not touch his mic with a bargepole

rip arthur

Bill Milne
27-11-2014, 10:11 AM
I felt surprisingly tearful on hearing this news. Arthur was one of a handful of Scottish football media people to present views on our game without giving the impression that he favoured one side or the other of the Old Firm. This was helped by the fact that he was a fervent Morton fan, of course but, nevertheless, not an easy stance to adopt on a programme presented from Glasgow. Others may have existed with this lack of partisanship but only Bob Crampsey springs to mind for me.

Rest in peace, Arthur, at the golden spot up there which is, forever, Cappielow.

27-11-2014, 10:23 AM
RIP to 'The Jaiket (http://www.google.de/imgres?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fi.ytimg.com%2Fvi%2Fy6ql GUPHHUY%2Fdefault.jpg&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv %3DT7lKP1vRuLI&h=90&w=120&tbnid=6lTmqcqTswZ0aM%3A&zoom=1&docid=l6Tn3CPUhZTXOM&ei=4Pt2VJ6cJsjLPbqpgLAF&tbm=isch&client=ubuntu&iact=rc&uact=3&dur=301&page=4&start=71&ndsp=21&ved=0CKoCEK0DMFY)'.

alexhibs
27-11-2014, 11:35 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xSaY75jHC-4

Goosebumps

alexhibs
27-11-2014, 11:43 AM
RIP Arthur, like most of my age & above he was a big part of our Sunday afternoon TV back in the day.
God bless ya big fella

aye the memories

27-11-2014, 11:46 AM
Goosebumps

Yep tremendous good that they didnt show Dalglish's goal. :thumbsup:

27-11-2014, 11:55 AM
I loved all these commentators and presenters.

I actually like Derek Rae being back on the BT Sport commentaries because he used to do a lot of the BBC radio stuff when I was wee. It takes me back.

Montford, Bob Crampsey, Alastair Alexander, David Begg, even Archie MacPherson all have/had charisma, knowledge and passion. Brilliant characters that we grew up with adding their unique slant to a game we love (some of the archive stuff from the not-too-distant past that they play on BBC radio features is superb). Scottish football felt like it was a far bigger deal in those days and was less in the shadow of it's English equivalent.

It's hard to imagine anyone getting as dewy-eyed about the likes of Liam McLeod and Paul Mitchell and the general "product" that we have in Scotland these days.

RIP Arthur.

27-11-2014, 01:24 PM
When someone like Montford or Crampsey passes on we feel sad not just for them but for our own lost youth. They probably weren't, in truth, the greatest commentators in the world but their voices still resound in our heads as reminders of happy and perhaps less cynical days.

27-11-2014, 01:29 PM
He was one of things I look back fondly on from my youth. I used to love Scotsport on a Sunday. In the days before Sky you really looked forward to seeing any football on the tele, Arthur Montford was someone lots of us grew up with. RIP big man.

27-11-2014, 01:40 PM

Indeed......his passion for the game at al levels was simply remarkable. I remember Scotsport one winter where they were due to show a big Div 1 game (Rankers v someone I think) but the gam was called off. Arthurs response? "..we can bring you an equally exciting game from Brechin.."

Legend ...RIP

monarch
27-11-2014, 02:32 PM
I can go back to Arthur's days in the late 50s early 60s when Scotsport was shown at 10 o'clock on a Saturday night. I'd get to stay up late to watch. 10 minutes each of recorded highlights from 3 or 4 games, by far the best way to watch games. Far better than the present Sunday offering from BBC Scotland. Even more exciting than the current Champions League bore where we know before the competition starts that the eventual winners will come from England, Spain or German (Andy Townsend give me a break). OK I'm going off on a tangent.
Arthur could even make Partick v Clyde sound exciting. And Hibs were in the top league then !

RIP the jacket.

27-11-2014, 03:27 PM
A sad loss, RIP Arthur.

:not worth
Scotland v Brazil, West Germany 1974 "watch yir legs Billy". Pure class. RIP

27-11-2014, 03:34 PM
Scotland v Brazil, West Germany 1974 "watch yir legs Billy". Pure class. RIP

In the same World Cup after Czech game when we went out he was just about crying muttering "Brave, Brave, Scotland"

H18S NX
27-11-2014, 03:36 PM
Very sad news indeed,rip Arthur.

27-11-2014, 03:50 PM
In the same World Cup after Czech game when we went out he was just about crying muttering "Brave, Brave, Scotland"

Yugoslavia :cool2:, it was Czech that we beat to get there.

27-11-2014, 04:10 PM
Yugoslavia :cool2:, it was Czech that we beat to get there.

Oops. Remember that game as well. Couldn't believe it when we qualified.

27-11-2014, 05:40 PM

Cracking commentary. RIP Arthur.

Goosebumps watching the video. I was there that night. Brilliant.

KDY Hibs
27-11-2014, 05:44 PM
luke shanley@lukeshanley (https://twitter.com/lukeshanley) · 10m 10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/lukeshanley/status/537710796923363328)

sad news regarding arthur montford's passing. An absolute legend. Commentating on a stramash upstairs no doubt. Rip.

Link:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-30220020

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/b3zamg3cmaeempj.jpg
(https://twitter.com/bbcscotlandnews/status/537716380749950976/photo/1)

rip

27-11-2014, 05:44 PM
Cracking commentary. RIP Arthur.

Goosebumps watching the video. I was there that night. Brilliant.

Jordan's winner is one of my favourite football moments of all time

27-11-2014, 06:05 PM
When someone like Montford or Crampsey passes on we feel sad not just for them but for our own lost youth. They probably weren't, in truth, the greatest commentators in the world but their voices still resound in our heads as reminders of happy and perhaps less cynical days.

There's an incomplete game against Dundee United in the 60s where they miss out a couple of our goals and Crampsey is less than complimentary about us, can't seem to find it now.

27-11-2014, 06:51 PM
Used to love watching the football highlights on Scotsport as a laddie, and listening to Arthur Montford's commentaries. Many happy memories of those perhaps less cynical days as far as football generally is concerned.

In 2010 Arthur received the Scottish Professional Footballers' Association Special Merit award for his services to football broadcasting and journalism.

RIP Arthur. You are a legend.

27-11-2014, 11:17 PM
It's strange that the mention of Scotsport in the 60's immediately reminds so many people (including myself) of Cartoon Cavalcade which followed the football on telly.

Sundays were always about playing football in the morning with your mates (15 a side with jumpers for goalposts) until your lunch was ready and then Scotsport and Cartoon Cavalcade. The simple things in life.

Happy days.

28-11-2014, 11:07 AM
It's strange that the mention of Scotsport in the 60's immediately reminds so many people (including myself) of Cartoon Cavalcade which followed the football on telly.

Sundays were always about playing football in the morning with your mates (15 a side with jumpers for goalposts) until your lunch was ready and then Scotsport and Cartoon Cavalcade. The simple things in life.

Happy days.

:agree: Something I don't see very much of these days. More's the pity.

28-11-2014, 11:17 AM
Trying to find the Scotsport theme tune from the 60's.

Anyone?

28-11-2014, 11:48 AM
Trying to find the Scotsport theme tune from the 60's.

Anyone?

:music: De de de de de de de de de de de de de

de de de de de de de de de de de de de de de de etc

:music: :greengrin

28-11-2014, 11:50 AM

Think that was the 70's, no?

The 60's was...

Dam da dam, dam-dam

Dam da dam, dam-dam.

28-11-2014, 11:50 AM
Think that was the 70's, no?

The 60's was...

Dam da dam, dam-dam

Dam da dam, dam-dam.

Boo. :wink:

28-11-2014, 11:51 AM

Not at all, it was Ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta ta, ta ta ta ta, ta ta ta ta ta ta ta, ta ta ta ta ta ta ...

28-11-2014, 11:59 AM
80s theme
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDdxdA-8ESI&feature=youtu.be

28-11-2014, 12:45 PM
80s theme
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDdxdA-8ESI&feature=youtu.be
waaah....want the 60s! :)

28-11-2014, 02:26 PM
Another not-the-60s theme tune