View Full Version : No Thanks

23-11-2014, 04:13 PM
The Duncan Watmore thread is the latest that shows our seemingly insatiable obsession as a support in having former players, from clapped out ex-superstars to bit part players, come back and 'do a job' for us.

What about the ex-players (still playing) we wouldn't touch with a bargepole?

I'll start.

David Van Z. - Not a bad full back, until he pulled on a Green jersey, then absolutely hopeless. For his sake and ours, keep him away from ER.

23-11-2014, 04:14 PM
Matt Done
Clayton Donaldson
James Collins
Eoin Doyle

All scored yesterday. :greengrin

23-11-2014, 04:17 PM
Jim O'Rourke. Loved him to death but probably lost a yard or two of pace now.....

23-11-2014, 04:21 PM
Thierry Gathuessi.

Chronic, more dangerous to his own team than the opposition and a lazy *******.

No thanks.

23-11-2014, 04:22 PM
It's unfair to count goalkeepers, right?

23-11-2014, 04:22 PM
Brian Kerr.

There's 'unseen work' and then there is total utter tom kite.

23-11-2014, 04:25 PM
Brian Kerr.

There's 'unseen work' and then there is total utter tom kite.

He should have ripped up his contact after 3 minutes of his debut. The hearts defence certainly never saw him on that occasion...

23-11-2014, 04:26 PM
Any one of the Showumni triplets could do a job for us now, we should never have let any of them go.

Failing that, bring back Alan O'Brien or Matt Doherty.

23-11-2014, 04:31 PM
Matt Done
Clayton Donaldson
James Collins

:agree::greengrin

Since he left Hibs Donaldsons career has been on a modest upward spiral that runs exactly opposite to our downward one. Good player and makes the most of what he has - wouldn't have any reason to return to Hibs any time soon.

23-11-2014, 04:35 PM
Clayton was a victim of hibs success. He came after Riordan and O'Connor.

It's quite ironic that he's now playing for Garry's old team and Garry's playing for Selkirk. They must be similar ages as well.

23-11-2014, 04:40 PM
Akpo Sodje

Couldn't hit a barn door or a coos bum.

Bronson
23-11-2014, 04:40 PM
Thierry Gathuessi.

Chronic, more dangerous to his own team than the opposition and a lazy *******.

No thanks.

That goal against Celtic though...

23-11-2014, 04:42 PM
Colin 'Bambi on ice' Nish

23-11-2014, 04:45 PM
He should have ripped up his contact after 3 minutes of his debut. The hearts defence certainly never saw him on that occasion...

There's not many players who peak at a club after 180 seconds. That was some achievement by Kerr.

23-11-2014, 05:25 PM
Akpo Sodje

I'm sure Sodje's goals kept us up one season.

23-11-2014, 05:41 PM
I'm sure Sodje's goals kept us up one season.

No. It was Europeanglory..

Edit. Sorry Meh. Getting my Akpos and Amadous muddled.

23-11-2014, 06:14 PM
That was Konte

23-11-2014, 06:38 PM
That was Konte

Yup. I don't have a very good memory :greengrin post deleted

beensaidbefore
23-11-2014, 06:56 PM
Collins scored another 2yestetday. As did Doyle...both could have done a job for us this season

23-11-2014, 07:02 PM
Yup. I don't have a very good memory :greengrin post deleted

Shocked I remembered, but doddery these days

23-11-2014, 07:16 PM
Zibby Malkowski
Simon Brown
Abdel Zarabi
Colin Murdock
Jarkko Wiss
Amadou Konte
Ross Chisholm
Valdas Trakys
Junior Agogo
Pa Saikou Kujabi
Sean O'Hanlon
Michael Hart
Matt Doherty
Tom Soares
Roy O'Donovan
Matt Thornhill
Shefki Kuqi
Eduardo Hurtado

Just typing some of those names brought me out in a cold sweat.

23-11-2014, 09:23 PM
Zibby Malkowski
Simon Brown
Abdel Zarabi
Colin Murdock
Jarkko Wiss
Amadou Konte
Ross Chisholm
Valdas Trakys
Junior Agogo
Pa Saikou Kujabi
Sean O'Hanlon
Michael Hart
Matt Doherty
Tom Soares
Roy O'Donovan
Matt Thornhill
Shefki Kuqi
Eduardo Hurtado

As per the OP how many of these guys are still playing, cannae be arsed checking.

23-11-2014, 09:26 PM
Jim O'Rourke. Loved him to death but probably lost a yard or two of pace now.....

Disagree - I'd still have Jimmy back and would be happy to pay the admission just to see him in the green and white jersey again. :not worth

23-11-2014, 09:34 PM
Still playing - Vine and Kujabi immediately come to mind. Imagine hearing they had come back! :-o

Steve, post the eagle :-D

23-11-2014, 09:55 PM
As per the OP how many of these guys are still playing, cannae be arsed checking.

Zibby Malkowski - Unattached
Simon Brown - Retired?
Abdel Zarabi - No info
Colin Murdock - Retired
Jarkko Wiss - Retired
Amadou Konte - No info
Ross Chisholm - Hurlford United
Valdas Trakys - No info
Junior Agogo - Retired
Pa Saikou Kujabi - Whitehawk
Sean O'Hanlon - Carlisle
Michael Hart - No info
Matt Doherty - Wolves
Tom Soares - Bury
Roy O'Donovan - DPMM FC
Matt Thornhill - No info
Shefki Kuqi - Retired
Eduardo Hurtado - Retired

23-11-2014, 10:40 PM
Can't believe OTJ hasn't had a dishonourable mention yet. In the face of fierce opposition he's undoubtedly the biggest impostor I've seen in the green for at least 10 years. It took Falkirk 2 weeks to find him out!

InterviewLoI
23-11-2014, 11:19 PM
I don't see where all the O'Donovan abuse is coming from? The few times he played I rarely saw him do much wrong and I think he could have done a job where O'Connor and even Griffiths were lacking in THAT final

23-11-2014, 11:23 PM
Matt Done
Clayton Donaldson
James Collins
Eoin Doyle

Matt Done was also sent off

23-11-2014, 11:43 PM
Matt Done
Clayton Donaldson
James Collins
Eoin Doyle

Collins has 8 league goals so far this season in League 2, but Doyle has 16 league goals (18 in all competitions) at a League 1 side.

I don't really believe what people say about players finding their level - for me, for a striker it's all about the team you play in and whether the way the team plays compliments your style. There are plenty of examples (including recent ones) of players having come through the leagues scoring goals at all levels, whereas others have had a few good seasons at the top, but dropped down and failed to reproduce their form.

In the case of Donaldson, some people even suggested that the SPL was too much of a step up in class for him, but look at Clarkson who was pretty poor with Bristol Rovers but has scored in his last 7 games for Dundee this season.

23-11-2014, 11:43 PM
I don't see where all the O'Donovan abuse is coming from? The few times he played I rarely saw him do much wrong and I think he could have done a job where O'Connor and even Griffiths were lacking in THAT final

:agree: :greengrin

23-11-2014, 11:54 PM
Zibby Malkowski
Simon Brown
Abdel Zarabi
Colin Murdock
Jarkko Wiss
Amadou Konte
Ross Chisholm
Valdas Trakys
Junior Agogo
Pa Saikou Kujabi
Sean O'Hanlon
Michael Hart
Matt Doherty
Tom Soares
Roy O'Donovan
Matt Thornhill
Shefki Kuqi
Eduardo Hurtado

Truly a horror show. However, the rest of the thread promises a cult hero 11 by the end. Bring it on.

WellingtonHibby
24-11-2014, 01:47 AM

He's playing under Steve Keane in Brunei now and doing pretty well, is he no?

24-11-2014, 10:13 AM
How dare anybody mention Eduardo 'The Tank' Hurtado in that list of losers.

The guys is a true Hibs Legend!

24-11-2014, 10:28 PM
Matt Done
Clayton Donaldson
James Collins
Eoin Doyle

So did Michael Nelson. Peach.

24-11-2014, 10:33 PM
Akpo Sodje

Very harsh IMO. Did a decent job for us; I think it was 6 goals in 15 in a ***** Hibs team.

Number69
25-11-2014, 06:38 PM
Paul Dalglish still playing?

25-11-2014, 06:45 PM
Paul Dalglish still playing?

Nah he retired ages ago and has been coaching in the USA since then.

Currently the head coach of Austin Aztex in Texas.

They play in the American third tier.

25-11-2014, 06:47 PM
:agree: :greengrin

He scored a half volley from about 40 yards!

Anyway, I'll chuck in:

Isaiah Osbourne
David Wotherspoon
John Rankin

25-11-2014, 09:59 PM
Matt Done
Clayton Donaldson
James Collins
Eoin Doyle

Would be delighted to have the ginger messi right now

25-11-2014, 11:19 PM
Can't believe OTJ hasn't had a dishonourable mention yet. In the face of fierce opposition he's undoubtedly the biggest impostor I've seen in the green for at least 10 years. It took Falkirk 2 weeks to find him out!

As mobile as a wet bag of cement. Good spectator though.

26-11-2014, 10:25 AM

I rarely saw him do anything.

26-11-2014, 10:26 AM
He scored a half volley from about 40 yards!

Anyway, I'll chuck in:

Isaiah Osbourne
David Wotherspoon
John Rankin

Don't agree with any of them.

26-11-2014, 03:11 PM
Junior effin' Agogo. I feel like chucking my phone against a wall just typing that name.

26-11-2014, 09:53 PM
Think wotherspoon would play right mid every week in our current team tbh.

26-11-2014, 10:36 PM
Junior effin' Agogo. I feel like chucking my phone against a wall just typing that name.
[emoji206] Him and kuqi could have been made to fight to the death at half time so that the fans got something for their money.pity we never got to see this deadly duo play together.

26-11-2014, 10:42 PM

He played every week in our old team as well - just didn't do very much.

I had forgotten about him since the weekly updates stopped.

Stuarty27
26-11-2014, 10:45 PM
Danny Haynes anyone!!?

For me tho, the worst player in the last few years has to be Ryan McGivern

26-11-2014, 10:48 PM
So did Michael Nelson. Peach.

There's been some totally unjustified names mentioned in this thread - Doyle, Wotherspoon, Rankin - but Michael Nelson is NOT one of them. Stalwart and brave he undoubtably is but that's all undone and more by his inability to even pass water further than his toes :brickwall

27-11-2014, 05:49 AM
He played every week in our old team as well - just didn't do very much.

I had forgotten about him since the weekly updates stopped.

Ability wise he would make our current team better imo.

27-11-2014, 01:25 PM
Ability wise he would make our current team better imo.

In ahead of who?

27-11-2014, 01:30 PM

He would not!

27-11-2014, 05:07 PM
In ahead of who?
Well hes certainly a better player than Handling, Harris and Kennedy not to mention Liam Craig. They all seem to be getting decent game time. When DW was at his best he was good on the ball and was a decent goal theat from outside the box imo. I liked him and am sorry he moved on.

27-11-2014, 05:16 PM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Ox877MEAPb0 Spoony at his best :-)

27-11-2014, 05:38 PM
What was the point of Daniel Boateng? Did he ever get a game?

27-11-2014, 05:45 PM

Three appearances.

27-11-2014, 05:47 PM
Three appearances.

Thanks, that just seems to have been erased from my memory. :greengrin

27-11-2014, 11:48 PM
Well hes certainly a better player than Handling, Harris and Kennedy not to mention Liam Craig. They all seem to be getting decent game time. When DW was at his best he was good on the ball and was a decent goal theat from outside the box imo. I liked him and am sorry he moved on.

I put him on a par with Handling. I don't agree about Craig or Kennedy. I'll give you Harris though.

27-11-2014, 11:49 PM
I'd have Torben Joneleit back in a second.

28-11-2014, 08:57 AM
I'd have Torben Joneleit back in a second.

:agree::agree:

Did a mean job of sitting with the away fans at Ibrox one time. Textbook behaviour.

17-12-2014, 02:14 AM
Matt Done
Clayton Donaldson
James Collins
Eoin Doyle

Matt Done was also sent off

Would be delighted to have the ginger messi right now

helped himself to a hat trick last night

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30390255

Rochdale will host Nottingham Forest in the third round of the FA Cup as Matt Done's hat-trick saw off Aldershot.

17-12-2014, 03:43 PM

Saw him in the u20s derby v Hearts and he actively ducked out of the way of the ball at one point, not the best start for a centre half. :greengrin

17-12-2014, 04:47 PM
Lets go way back and throw in a wee Roland Edge into the mix. My last memory of him was him playing everyone and their granny onside during the League Cup final against Livingston.

17-12-2014, 08:27 PM
Just Zibby for me. Oh dear god :rolleyes:

GreenArmy1875
17-12-2014, 08:54 PM
Lets go way back and throw in a wee Roland Edge into the mix. My last memory of him was him playing everyone and their granny onside during the League Cup final against Livingston.

Legend

17-12-2014, 09:30 PM
Isaiah Osbourne putting the **** in S****horpe this evening. Holding the mighty Worcester City to a draw so far. What a disgrace to the great Hibs jersey that excuse for a player was. He's wearing green. Can I sue him for giving me flashbacks?

portycabbage
17-12-2014, 09:32 PM
Alan O'Brien, the Spl's paciest sh***-bag.

17-12-2014, 09:38 PM
Isaiah Osbourne putting the **** in S****horpe this evening. Holding the mighty Worcester City to a draw so far. What a disgrace to the great Hibs jersey that excuse for a player was. He's wearing green. Can I sue him for giving me flashbacks?

Osbourne had a bit talent imo.

He was just another in a string of players around that time who didn't give a flying **** about Hibs or have any professional pride.

His career will continue on it's downward trajectory because of that. Nae luck.

17-12-2014, 09:53 PM
I agree PB and Soares and Doherty can be included too.

17-12-2014, 09:56 PM

He was just another in a string of players around that time who didn't give a flying **** about Hibs or have any professional pride.

Can't remember if if he was a loan or not but that's what I hate about most loan players. They don't give toss about the team their playing for. Griffiths excepted though.

17-12-2014, 10:08 PM

After his first 2 or 3 games for Blackpool, a few of my mates were raving about him and gave him the nickname Yaya O'Sbourne, i laughed.

GreenOnions
17-12-2014, 11:31 PM
Zibby Malkowski
Simon Brown
Abdel Zarabi
Colin Murdock
Jarkko Wiss
Amadou Konte
Ross Chisholm
Valdas Trakys
Junior Agogo
Pa Saikou Kujabi
Sean O'Hanlon
Michael Hart
Matt Doherty
Tom Soares
Roy O'Donovan
Matt Thornhill
Shefki Kuqi
Eduardo Hurtado

I always find it interesting in threads like this and the "worst players" thread how few of the names are from the team that got us relegated!

The two players that stood out for me in our relegation team as being so far away from good enough it was laughable were Nelson (ability) and McGivern (ability and attitude).

I know Nelson had a "big heart" and "tried hard" but omg it was clear he was the slowest player I've ever seen and was completely unable to pass a football. How these guys don't appear in every one of these threads is a complete mystery :-/

18-12-2014, 03:12 AM
I always find it interesting in threads like this and the "worst players" thread how few of the names are from the team that got us relegated!

The two players that stood out for me in our relegation team as being so far away from good enough it was laughable were Nelson (ability) and McGivern (ability and attitude).

I know Nelson had a "big heart" and "tried hard" but omg it was clear he was the slowest player I've ever seen and was completely unable to pass a football. How these guys don't appear in every one of these threads is a complete mystery :-/

I think watching they two play centre half highlighted just how good Paul Hanlon is. Some people had him down as one to be punted at points over his career but it was clear that he was the one keeping it all together and once he was injured the wheels flew off.

Frogga
18-12-2014, 08:03 PM

On Football Manager he'd get a 1 for 'Balance'.

18-12-2014, 08:07 PM
Alan O'Brien - what an anti-climax he was. So much hype around him when he signed but a complete and utter failure in the end. Utterly useless