View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland v England

Off the bar
18-11-2014, 05:49 PM
Relevant or not is for another thread, I for one am buzzing for this one!

Beers in the fridge, dinner down me, the struggle for a decent stream awaits.

any team news? whats's the weather like in the weedge?

we'll be coming
:saltireflag

Off the bar
18-11-2014, 05:51 PM
Scotland: Marshall, Whittaker, Robertson, R. Martin, Hanley, Maloney, Mulgrew, Brown, C. Martin, Naismith, Anya

England: Forster, Clyne, Shaw, Milner, Cahill, Smalling, Wilshere, Downing, Wellbeck, Rooney, Oxlade-Chamberlain

18-11-2014, 06:01 PM
Scotland: Marshall, Whittaker, Robertson, R. Martin, Hanley, Maloney, Mulgrew, Brown, C. Martin, Naismith, Anya

England: Forster, Clyne, Shaw, Milner, Cahill, Smalling, Wilshere, Downing, Wellbeck, Rooney, Oxlade-Chamberlain

I like it.:greengrin

StarMan10
18-11-2014, 06:06 PM
Get C.Martin to bully Smalling all game and we might be onto something. Smalling has some right bombscare moments in him

18-11-2014, 06:14 PM

Who?

18-11-2014, 06:15 PM
Who?

Nathaniel Clyne, Southampton right back. Played for them on Saturday, good player.

18-11-2014, 06:17 PM
Nathaniel Clyne, Southampton right back. Played for them on Saturday, good player.

I've not really been following the Premiership this season so hadn't heard of him!

Fancy our chances down that left hand side with Robertson and Anya against Oxlade-Chamberlain and Clyne (he can't be any better a RB than Coleman!).

18-11-2014, 06:20 PM
http://i.imgur.com/KlDDesL.jpg

18-11-2014, 06:21 PM
I've not really been following the Premiership this season so hadn't heard of him!

Fancy our chances down that left hand side with Robertson and Anya against Oxlade-Chamberlain and Clyne (he can't be any better a RB than Coleman!).

I would be amazed if we can't score. England have quality though and a lot of pace.

18-11-2014, 06:23 PM
I like it.:greengrin
Hope your ready for a torrid night like your team.

GIRUY. :greengrin :saltireflag

18-11-2014, 06:23 PM

That's roughly were I was sitting in 2006 when we humped The Faroes. You need binoculars.

18-11-2014, 06:25 PM
Who?

Give it a few years and the boy will be one of the best. Said it when I first saw him that he would play for England and that was a few years ago!

18-11-2014, 06:25 PM
That's roughly were I was sitting in 2006 when we humped The Faroes. You need binoculars.

It's a great view mate :greengrin

18-11-2014, 06:28 PM
where have they installed the viewing cages for the engerlish thugs

18-11-2014, 06:31 PM
****ing Terry ****ing Butcher as a pundit.

****ing ****. Surely this counts as a job to get the wage thief off the payroll.

18-11-2014, 06:32 PM
Tempted to chuck my pie at Butcher.

18-11-2014, 06:32 PM
hope Snodgrass is back soon, always rated him since he was with Livi

18-11-2014, 06:33 PM
Just looking at Butcher makes my blood boil

18-11-2014, 06:34 PM
Looks like a few sections closed if TV pictures are anything to go by.

Ticketing policy backfired?

18-11-2014, 06:34 PM
Quite relaxed about this game tonight, doesn't have the tension of Friday's game, but would be great to win

18-11-2014, 06:39 PM
I would be amazed if we can't score. England have quality though and a lot of pace.

I think we'll ship at least 2, but I don't know where our goals can come from.

England to win 2-0 is 10/1 and strikes me as great value.

If I could find a bet offering Rooney to score in a 2-0win, I'd back it.

18-11-2014, 06:42 PM

If I could find a bet offering Rooney to score in a 2-0win, I'd back it.

Maybe Naismith, Maloney etc. don't think England defensively strong.

18-11-2014, 06:44 PM

If I could find a bet offering Rooney to score in a 2-0 win, I'd back it.

Rooney 1st and 2-0 is 45s. Can't find a wincast market, yet most bookies are offering reverse scorecasts and wincasts.

18-11-2014, 06:45 PM
Butchers on the STV panel, I'm going to switch over to Sky now

18-11-2014, 06:47 PM
Butchers on the STV panel, I'm going to switch over to Sky now

How dare that man think he has a valid opinion or anything to say that's worth listening to. The tea lady will be more knowledgeable.

18-11-2014, 06:49 PM
How dare that man think he has a valid opinion or anything to say that's worth listening to. The tea lady will be more knowledgeable.

The Beechgrove Garden would be more suitable for that shameless ***** opinion.

Mark79
18-11-2014, 06:52 PM

I sat in roughly same seat at game we qualified for France 98 at.

18-11-2014, 06:53 PM
The good news is no Butcher on English ITV :thumbsup:

18-11-2014, 06:54 PM

And I'm in Blackpool tonight! :thumbsup:

18-11-2014, 06:57 PM

any 1966 chat?

18-11-2014, 06:57 PM
Is God Save The Queen not a British anthem ?????

18-11-2014, 06:58 PM
Fireworks being let of in the ground, hope the SFA take action against the people setting them off. :cb

18-11-2014, 06:58 PM

boooooooo

18-11-2014, 06:59 PM
Why oh why is it so hard to get a pipe band that can play Flower of Scotland just a wee bit quicker at the speed everyone actually sings it?

18-11-2014, 07:00 PM
Embarrassing rendering of the National Anthems - they could learn a lot from Murrayfield.

It is.

All the home nations were supposed to use it when competing internationally at football, rugby etc.

Only England and Northern Ireland oblige.

They need to ditch the bagpipes and bring back Amy MacDonald or Nina Nesbitt to sing Flower of Scotland. :agree:

18-11-2014, 07:01 PM
Didn't GSTQ used to be played for Scotland back in the day?

Agreed PB, thought they might have got their timings improved after murdering it before the Ireland game.

Ive got the buzz back again after thon numpty Levein's disastrous cock-up of a reign

18-11-2014, 07:02 PM
Why oh why is it so hard to get a pipe band that can play Flower of Scotland just a wee bit quicker at the speed everyone actually sings it?

You think they would have learned the lesson after Friday.

And i hope folk aren't having any breathing issues with all the smoke inside the ground. :greengrin

football fans always rush to get to the end of the song, just like our very own fans singing glory glory to the hibees at 100 MPH, the rugby fans have it spot on and don't even need the pipers playing for the 2nd verse

I watched the Scotland fans sing it at the rugby at the weekend, and it was done superbly withe the 2nd verse sung without the pipes.

It sounded fantastic and something i think we could do very well.

They need to ditch the bagpipes and bring back Amy MacDonald or Nina Nesbitt to sing Flower of Scotland. :agree:

Na bring back the Caledon Tenors.

18-11-2014, 07:03 PM
Please....please, oh please, oh please....

18-11-2014, 07:10 PM
Better if the Krankies came out and sang Fandabydozey.

18-11-2014, 07:14 PM
England making it really difficult for Scotland by pushing so high up the park when not in possession.

18-11-2014, 07:26 PM
Scotland playing well now. Forced a few corners and a couple of half chances.

18-11-2014, 07:29 PM
i don't really get the songs Scotland fans sing.

18-11-2014, 07:35 PM
poor

1-0 England, Oxlade-Chamberlain.

Awful defending.

Mikey_1875
Poor defending from ch and lb

It was coming.

Stax
18-11-2014, 07:36 PM
England starting to dominate ffs goal england

Great pass from Wilshere.

Some leap by Hanley there eh?

That goal was coming, England playing better football.

That's some goal but Mulgrew or Brown, not sure who it was, want shooting for giving Wilshere so much time to pick the pass.

The ball from Wilshere was a touch of class - someone should have picked up Chamberlain though.

18-11-2014, 07:37 PM
Pish poor defending.

1-0 England, Oxlade-Chamberlain.

Awful defending.

Nope - it was a fantastic pass. Three defenders could have done nothing.

greengnome
Concerned about Whittaker... Way too casual at times....

18-11-2014, 07:39 PM
We look hapless up front so far. Martin hasn't touched the ball yet!

18-11-2014, 07:40 PM
Nope - it was a fantastic pass. Three defenders could have done nothing.

Not just talking about the defenders who were marking Oxlade-Chamberlain, Wilshere was given far too much space.

18-11-2014, 07:42 PM

Needs to be braver imo.

Looks a bit yellow to me.

18-11-2014, 07:42 PM
Pish poor defending.

Undercover English Yam :p

18-11-2014, 07:43 PM
Sounds like 25000 England fans at the game. Or is that just the TV coverage ?

Men against boys.....

Needs to be braver imo.

Looks a bit yellow to me.

In fairness, we're struggling to get the ball anywhere near him.

Too many mistakes so far.

Tell you what, Anyas right foot is purely for standing on eh? :greengrin

To be fair, we look pretty tired, Ireland game has defo taken a lot out of us.

I'd forgotten he's playing. He hasn't been mentioned.

18-11-2014, 07:45 PM
**** was that Maloney?!

18-11-2014, 07:46 PM
In fairness, we're struggling to get the ball anywhere near him.

Too many mistakes so far.

Yep.

Just hope he doesn't get frustrated and have a rush of blood to the head.

18-11-2014, 07:46 PM
Too much pointless passes for me

Need to be a bit more direct

18-11-2014, 07:47 PM
We are being out passed here, and really have nothing up front to hit, the ball is just coming straight back all the time.

Mikey_1875
18-11-2014, 07:48 PM
Poor half of football from both so far, not hearing too much of our fans either. Hopefully see a few changes at H/T as reckon there's a bit of a hangover from Fridays win.

18-11-2014, 07:49 PM
We are being out passed here, and really have nothing up front to hit, the ball is just coming straight back all the time.

Fletcher is big loss to us.

18-11-2014, 07:49 PM
Fletcher is big loss to us.

18-11-2014, 07:50 PM
Undercover English Yam :p

Boring.

Hopefully a few changes at half time, I'd get James Morrison on

18-11-2014, 07:51 PM
Poor 1st half.

18-11-2014, 07:51 PM
England far and away the better side look comfortable all over the park.

18-11-2014, 07:52 PM
All going according to plan :-)

TheFamous1875
18-11-2014, 07:54 PM
Match has came far too early for Martin... I'd've had Naismith up top with Morrison 'in the hole'.

(the singer, not the defender!)

18-11-2014, 07:57 PM
Match has came far too early for Martin... I'd've had Naismith up top with Morrison 'in the hole'.

A Frankie Howerd moment. "Oh no, don't. Naughty".

18-11-2014, 07:58 PM
Definite changes needed at half time as we haven't troubled them at all so far. Anya flew past Clyne in the first few minutes and hasn't taken him on again since. Desperately need a front man who wont be intimidated as Martin looks far too soft up there.

TheFamous1875
18-11-2014, 07:59 PM
A Frankie Howerd moment. "Oh no, don't. Naughty".

You could add "came far too early" anaw - Oooh!!

Off the bar
dissapointing first half we're out of ideas up front, since the stoppage when shaw went down we've been out of it

Stax
All going according to plan :-)
LTEF

All engerlund first half. Need something different 2nd half.

18-11-2014, 08:00 PM
Kevin Kyle >>>>>>> Chris Martin

18-11-2014, 08:01 PM
Tell you what, Anyas right foot is purely for standing on eh? :greengrin

To be fair, we look pretty tired, Ireland game has defo taken a lot out of us.

im sure he is right footed or is this a bit of sarcasm im missing just call me sheldon if so

18-11-2014, 08:01 PM
LTEF

All engerlund first half. Need something different 2nd half.

where on earth do you get that from ? 54% v 46% says otherwise...and so do i

18-11-2014, 08:03 PM
You could add "came far too early" anaw - Oooh!!

:-D

Absolute filth

18-11-2014, 08:04 PM
craig gordon on for the 2nd half

and darren fletcher, and morrison

18-11-2014, 08:04 PM
Struggling up front so we're changing the goalie, taking of Brown and replacing him with Morrison.

18-11-2014, 08:05 PM
Gordon, Fletcher and Morrison all on.

18-11-2014, 08:06 PM
Not very good was that 1st half.

Need to do better in 2nd half.

Plukey now in goals, Morrison and Fletcher on as well.

18-11-2014, 08:07 PM
Disappointing performance so far from Scotland - not much creativity, going forward - we have hardly troubled them. They look far more composed and dangerous when going forward. They are more comfortable on the ball and they have greater pace all over the park .... still England are not really that great, so a wee piece of magic could turn this around ..

Mikey_1875
18-11-2014, 08:08 PM
Cynical...

get a grip Mulgrew

Mulgrew fortunate to stay on the pitch there.

If that was a competitive match, I'm certain that would have been a straight red.

That tackle wouldn't have been out of place at Wembley on Saturday!

Shocking from Mulgrew.

2-0 England, Rooney.

Game over.

Yàaaaaaaaaaaas get in

unbelievable...robertson ffs another left footer that cant use his right foot

18-11-2014, 08:09 PM
... no way back now - Scotland sleeping at the start of the 2nd half - awful!

Mulgrew should be off but who cares Rooooooooooney

I hope I get offered cash out cos it's not going to stay as low as 2-0.

18-11-2014, 08:10 PM
That should of been a red for Mulgrew. Lucky it's a friendly tbh.

Englishnteam aren't even out of first gear.

18-11-2014, 08:11 PM
This could get messy.

18-11-2014, 08:11 PM
England miles ahead of us.

Getting pressed all the time and we can't cope with it.

18-11-2014, 08:12 PM
im sure he is right footed or is this a bit of sarcasm im missing just call me sheldon if so

Oops, meant his left foot, schoolboy error!

I thought we were meant to be good now?

Starting to see the difference between top EPL players and Scotland lower EPL and Championship ones( add a Celtic one too )

We need to hang in now and avoid despondency, otherwise it could be a doing.

18-11-2014, 08:16 PM
England miles ahead of us.

Getting pressed all the time and we can't cope with it.

:agree: England are garbage but much more up for the match, as are their fans :confused:

18-11-2014, 08:17 PM
Chasing shadows, we're not at the races.

18-11-2014, 08:17 PM

18-11-2014, 08:18 PM
:agree: England are garbage but much more up for the match, as are their fans :confused:

I wish we were as garbage as them!

Stax
18-11-2014, 08:18 PM
where on earth do you get that from ? 54% v 46% says otherwise...and so do i
If you think Scotland were the better team 1st half.. You're entitled to your opinion. Where I get my opinion from is the game I'm watching. We're 2nd best all over the park tonight unfortunately.

The Gorf
18-11-2014, 08:19 PM
I thought we were meant to be good now?
Like the old Rangers line up of: WEIR TEBILI SCHEIDT :greengrin

18-11-2014, 08:19 PM
If you think Scotland were the better team 1st half.. You're entitled to your opinion. Where I get my opinion from is the game I'm watching. We're 2nd best all over the park tonight unfortunately.

:agree: As expected :greengrin

18-11-2014, 08:20 PM

me too....and the stats agree with me :aok: but you're entitled to your opinion

18-11-2014, 08:20 PM
Grant Hanley is ****ing horrendous.

18-11-2014, 08:22 PM
whitty's not having a very good game here

18-11-2014, 08:22 PM
Oh good barry bannan.

18-11-2014, 08:23 PM
Outworked.

Mikey_1875
18-11-2014, 08:23 PM
How did wellbeck beat hanley to the ball there !

18-11-2014, 08:25 PM
England chasing everything down, their workrate is excellent.

Bobo
Scotland have allowed England far too much time and space on the ball and have done nothing with what little possession we've had!

The passing is terrible and too slow and square/backward they've been easily outclassed by an average England side who have shown more passion, pride and commitment than those in blue!

We can't get the ball now. It's like watching Hibs against a top EPL team.

18-11-2014, 08:26 PM
whitty's not having a very good game here
That's an understatement he's bloody garbage :agree:

18-11-2014, 08:28 PM
Looks like its a containing job and we're happy to settle for a two goal humiliation.

18-11-2014, 08:29 PM
Chasing shadows, we're not at the races.

This .Wouldn't of been happy paying the asking price for this non event Strachan doesn't look happy and no wonder

18-11-2014, 08:33 PM
This has just turned in to a training exercise for England now.

Rooney has been outstanding, his workrate is amazing, never stops, always on the move and presses our defenders at every opportunity.

Have the tartan army left to go to the pubs. :rolleyes:

18-11-2014, 08:33 PM
take fletcher off and put brown on again

18-11-2014, 08:34 PM
I could do with another goal as I bottled it and cashed in getting only 3/1 instead of 10s for 2-0 England.

Still, a win's a win.

18-11-2014, 08:34 PM
This has just turned in to a training exercise for England now.

Rooney has been outstanding, his workrate is amazing, never stops, always on the move and presses our defenders at every opportunity.

Have the tartan army left to go to the pubs. :rolleyes:

Rooney never gets the credit he deserves SdGP.

18-11-2014, 08:37 PM
Tremendous work rate from England, reminds me of some of the Derby games, Scotland playing like Hibs mostly do.

18-11-2014, 08:38 PM
Tremendous work rate from England

Men v Boys.

18-11-2014, 08:39 PM
Sitter there Wilshere.

18-11-2014, 08:40 PM
the engerlund players are showing the commitment that Scotland teams in the past have always shown against engerlund, tiz a strange thing

18-11-2014, 08:42 PM
Rooney never gets the credit he deserves SdGP.

Top player, involved in everything.

18-11-2014, 08:44 PM
the engerlund players are showing the commitment that Scotland teams in the past have always shown against engerlund, tiz a strange thing

:agree: 60 notes to watch and England training game :rolleyes:

great move and goal :agree::agree::greengrin

2-1, Robertson.

Nice move and finish.

18-11-2014, 08:45 PM
Scotland have allowed England far too much time and space on the ball and have done nothing with what little possession we've had!

The passing is terrible and too slow and square/backward they've been easily outclassed by an average England side who have shown more passion, pride and commitment than those in blue!

Nonsense. They have stronger faster players. Thats about it.

ROBERTSON!!!!!!!! :thumbsup:

18-11-2014, 08:46 PM
3-1, Rooney.

I could do with another goal as I bottled it and cashed in getting only 3/1 instead of 10s for 2-0 England.

Still, a win's a win.

Woo hoo!

GIRUY Willie Hills.

deary me we really are awful in defence, morrison just gave up completely

18-11-2014, 08:47 PM
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaas GET IN

18-11-2014, 08:48 PM
That was a nice move and finish Scotland.

3-1 really neat goal England. 46 England goals for Rooney, just 3 behind Bobby Charlton's record.

18-11-2014, 08:48 PM
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaas GET IN

You sound like a Yam, sound like a Yaaaaam, you sound like a Yaaaaam. :greengrin

18-11-2014, 08:49 PM
You sound like a Yam, sound like a Yaaaaam, you sound like a Yaaaaam. :greengrin

Engerland, Engerland, Engerland :greengrin

Argylehibby

Sounds like an ass you mean?

Rooney making his legion of critics look silly yet again.

18-11-2014, 08:50 PM

As long as he doesnae smell like one.

18-11-2014, 08:55 PM
YAAAAAAAAAS GIRUY

NEVER IN DOUBT 1-3 :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

THAT'S PUT THE NOISY NEIGHBOURS TO BED :na na:

18-11-2014, 08:56 PM
God Save the Queen and Rule Britannia. Never let it be said that England doesn't have its own national identity.

Now you just sound like an Engurland fan! :agree:

Shinty's my real game like..

If England can instil a team mentality into this group of players, they'd be a force.

Clyne, Cahill, Wilshere, Sterling, Barkley, Wellbeck, Rooney and Llalana to name but a few...

We just looked tired and a bit devoid of ideas after Friday.

Mikey_1875
Feel a bit sorry for the fans who paid 50 odd quid to see that game, dire in comparisons to last years game at Wembley. Happy we got the points in the bag on Friday though amd even happier that we can pack away the internationals till March now!

18-11-2014, 08:58 PM
Full time, 3-1 England.

18-11-2014, 08:59 PM
God Save the Queen and Rule Britannia. Never let it be said that England doesn't have its own national identity.

It's just like watching a Rangers game. Did my ears deceive me, or were the England fans even singing 'f*** the IRA' for ages in the first half?

England were much the better team.

18-11-2014, 08:59 PM
Pretty poor all round performance from Scotland but at least the big game against Ireland went our way.

Dan Sarf
18-11-2014, 09:00 PM
Just like to give a big shout out for Andy Townsend's masterful comments throughout the game. I wouldn't have had a clue what had just happened if he hadn't immediately described for us. (Unless I watched the pictures, obviously.)

18-11-2014, 09:02 PM
It's just like watching a Rangers game. Did my ears deceive me, or were the England fans even singing 'f*** the IRA' for ages in the first half?

England were much the better team.

I honestly wondered that too for a period...

It also sounded like there were some add-ons to GSTQ too ("...[no surrender] send her victorious...")

18-11-2014, 09:04 PM
Sometimes you just got to put your hands up and say we were outplayed. Tonight's that night. It's a shame it had to be against them.

After Friday nights exertions the well was dry.

18-11-2014, 09:04 PM
Class showed at the end of the day I'm afraid.

18-11-2014, 09:07 PM
Defence all over the shop all night, no complaints really but why GS brought Darren Fletcher on is anyone's guess, far too sloppy at times but having said that England's work rate was excellent considering they had a game 48 hours ago.

18-11-2014, 09:07 PM
It always looked like being a bad idea to play this game 3 days after what was going to be a battle with Ireland, and surprise, surprise it was, we looked jaded. Fair play to Engerlund, first to every ball and were the better team by a distance.

I can forgive the team on account of that. Cant forgive the fans though, outsang from start to finish ........ I have criticised the so called Tartan army before for turning themselves into a separate group from what just used to be 'the Scotland support, which makes it far easier to say ........ tonight boys & girls you were *****.

In the old days we got beat all the time by England, but we always won the fans battle no matter what the score ........ Tartan Army my arse !!!

18-11-2014, 09:08 PM
YAAAAAAAAAS GIRUY

NEVER IN DOUBT 1-3 :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

THAT'S PUT THE NOISY NEIGHBOURS TO BED :na na:

You must have something better to do with your time than post this crap?

18-11-2014, 09:12 PM
That was utter pish. But Dumbarton on Saturday 👌

Right ........ I'm beginning to think you are English :hmmm:

Away and dry your eyes, I put myself in the firing line but there was no ammunition to fire at me, some you win, some you lose :na na:

18-11-2014, 09:13 PM

Dare I suggest that it gets sung at the correct speed instead?

18-11-2014, 09:13 PM
Scouse will be happy tonight :greengrin

18-11-2014, 09:14 PM
That was utter pish. But Dumbarton on Saturday 

Woking vs Barnet for me! Ooft! :greengrin

That was utter pish. But Dumbarton on Saturday 

Far more important.

Aw let him have his fun tonight he'll be back being miserable with us on Saturday again.

PS Scouse. GIRUY

Right ........ I'm beginning to think you are English :hmmm:

Well nearly, Scouse not quite English :greengrin

18-11-2014, 09:15 PM
That's actually as good as I've seen England play in many years. Their work rate was excellent, they were faster, and looked fitter. Somebody on Sportsound had said before the game Wilshere wasn't having such a good season? Well he was one of the best players on show tonight, like it or not. Rooney, for all the criticism he gets is a world-class player with a great work ethic. Commentators seem to have this mutual appreciation for Duncan Fletcher, to me his contribution for Scotland is really limited, maybe the long injuries have taken their toll. Maloney worked hard, as did Naismith, and it was a good goal from Robertson (who didn't really have a great game). I thought we looked a bit lop-sided. Nearly all our attacks came down the left side whereas England had strength down both flanks. We've played better than that, but sadly, on this occasion we were beaten by the better team.

18-11-2014, 09:15 PM
Boo :sick:

18-11-2014, 09:16 PM
Far more important.

Happy I paid £100 to watch that despite the result. Not every year you Scotland play England at home.

But you're massive game on Saturday now.

Scouse will be happy tonight :greengrin

:agree: Some you win eh, I could just as easily have been taking pelters, that's what it's all about. :wink:

Away and dry your eyes, I put myself in the firing line but there was no ammunition to fire at me, some you win, some you lose :na na:

Dry my eyes? I was born in England and live there and your acting like a complete idiot!:aok:

18-11-2014, 09:17 PM
Dry my eyes? I was born in England and live there and your acting like a complete idiot!:aok:

Away and blow you miserable git it's called banter, some folk even join in :rolleyes:

Doesn't matter where you were born either.

:agree: Some you win eh, I could just as easily have been taking pelters, that's what it's all about. :wink:

I laughed at your posts mate. :greengrin

That's actually as good as I've seen England play in many years. Their work rate was excellent, they were faster, and looked fitter. Somebody on Sportsound had said before the game Wilshere wasn't having such a good season? Well he was one of the best players on show tonight, like it or not. Rooney, for all the criticism he gets is a world-class player with a great work ethic. Commentators seem to have this mutual appreciation for Duncan Fletcher, to me his contribution for Scotland is really limited, maybe the long injuries have taken their toll. Maloney worked hard, as did Naismith, and it was a good goal from Robertson (who didn't really have a great game). I thought we looked a bit lop-sided. Nearly all our attacks came down the left side whereas England had strength down both flanks. We've played better than that, but sadly, on this occasion we were beaten by the better team.

Darren Fletcher was p@sh as well

18-11-2014, 09:19 PM
Well nearly, Scouse not quite English :greengrin

Two of my nephews were born in Liverpool and live in Crosby ...... Up the Toffees :greengrin

18-11-2014, 09:19 PM

Hardly, its called banter

18-11-2014, 09:20 PM
Two of my nephews were born in Liverpool and live in Crosby ...... Up the Toffees :greengrin

Bioooooooo :greengrin

18-11-2014, 09:20 PM
Darren Fletcher was p@sh as well
Ooops :greengrin

18-11-2014, 09:22 PM

Crosby and the Toffees, some folk have no luck eh :greengrin

Block his posts :wink:

Ooops :greengrin

getting your Fletchers and Fergusons mixed up :greengrin

18-11-2014, 09:25 PM
I think wee Gordon will be raging tonight if I'm honest - England are a good unit but Scotland fell for reputations tonight and were in awe of them - unlike the way they played v Germany and Poland. Scotland were timid and lacked the bravery on the ball they have had in recent games. I think this is one game he would have wanted his players really being brave and positive.

Very predictable down the left flank and Robertson, who was my MOTM, was left isolated second half and tired mainly down to being over used - what on earth has happened to Whittaker these days ? Unforced errors, no pace, plays square and flat.........I thought he was very poor tonight. Naismith was incredibly isolated second half, couldn't understand why we didn't go two up front after 0-2 and try and work Cahill and Smalling (who is an awful player).

There was a passage of play second half when it looked like watching Hibs last season - some quite ridiculous unforced errors at the back and on the byeline in dangerous areas.

Great result on Friday but tonight was dreadful if I'm being honest - England for me didn't get out of first gear. Wilshire could have had one of his B&H's during the game it was that one paced and easy for them. When you compare tonight against the Wembley game it was chalk n cheese. Young Robertson is a star in the making, terrific game tonight - Barry Bannan and Chris Martin though......:rolleyes: come on Gordon eh

18-11-2014, 09:26 PM
Block his posts :wink:

Normally his posts are not too bad but the excitment of a friendly with two average teams have go to him today :greengrin

18-11-2014, 09:27 PM
I think wee Gordon will be raging tonight if I'm honest - England are a good unit but Scotland fell for reputations tonight and were in awe of them - unlike the way they played v Germany and Poland. Scotland were timid and lacked the bravery on the ball they have had in recent games. I think this is one game he would have wanted his players really being brave and positive.

Very predictable down the left flank and Robertson, who was my MOTM, was left isolated second half and tired mainly down to being over used - what on earth has happened to Whittaker these days ? Unforced errors, no pace, plays square and flat.........I thought he was very poor tonight. Naismith was incredibly isolated second half, couldn't understand why we didn't go two up front after 0-2 and try and work Cahill and Smalling (who is an awful player).

There was a passage of play second half when it looked like watching Hibs last season - some quite ridiculous unforced errors at the back and on the byeline in dangerous areas.

Great result on Friday but tonight was dreadful if I'm being honest - England for me didn't get out of first gear. Wilshire could have had one of his B&H's during the game it was that one paced and easy for them. When you compare tonight against the Wembley game it was chalk n cheese. Young Robertson is a star in the making, terrific game tonight - Barry Bannan and Chris Martin though......:rolleyes: come on Gordon eh

Fair summary, TH.

18-11-2014, 09:43 PM
Hanley and Martin are awful and Charlie Mulgrew at CM? Pish.

We bottled it tonight, after such a good game vs them last year we didn't give it a go. Long balls to Naismith?! :confused:

Pish defending.

18-11-2014, 09:49 PM
Best team on the night won it. No points at stake so let's move on to March 2015

capitals_finest
18-11-2014, 09:58 PM

Fair play to you Scouse. Comfortable win for England tonight.

18-11-2014, 10:02 PM
Crosby and the Toffees, some folk have no luck eh :greengrin

All right, all right, calm down, calm down :greengrin

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRGzig944P7FtPK_6cxIR5ylElSpjZD2 aGt4z_hCmNUEjGEBAc6Sw (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thestudentroom.co.uk%2Fshowth read.php%3Ft%3D799044&ei=QM9rVMbPK9DvaNbWgsAN&bvm=bv.79908130,d.d2s&psig=AFQjCNFvAYeIOM0JkhPHVE4UNm6j_4e7bw&ust=1416438078133992)

18-11-2014, 10:11 PM
Didn't watch this or tune in to radio - had no interest other than learn what the score was. A meaningless cash - cow that will soon be forgotten. Friday nights game however will live long in the memory.

18-11-2014, 10:24 PM
Thought the booing of GTSQ was an absolute embarrassment and made us look narrow minded and petty.

Otherwise thought we lacked a creative spark. Credit has to be given - to go away from home to such a hostile atmosphere is a great result for Hodgson.

Disappointed we couldn't have made a better game of it.

18-11-2014, 10:27 PM
Away and blow you miserable git it's called banter, some folk even join in :rolleyes:

Doesn't matter where you were born either.

Yes it does. Geordies are ok - Jocks wi their heids bashed in.

Brummies are ok, display a modicum of charisma.

Scousers are just dull paddies, punted for being....dull.

18-11-2014, 11:03 PM
Thought the booing of GTSQ was an absolute embarrassment and made us look narrow minded and petty.

Otherwise thought we lacked a creative spark. Credit has to be given - to go away from home to such a hostile atmosphere is a great result for Hodgson.

Disappointed we couldn't have made a better game of it.

What hostile atmosphere was that, apart from booing the anthem all you could hear on the telly was their fans .... the poorest vocal backing we have ever had in this fixture .... pathetic.

18-11-2014, 11:29 PM
Just home from the game and it went how I expected. Loads of tired body's and minds in scotland shirts. England were quality tho, as much as that pains me to say they looked stronger, fitter and there's some pace in that team. They looked like they could score at every attack. I'm certain had this game been one were points were involved it wouldn't have been so easy we pulled out a lot of 50/50 tackles early on. The atmosphere wasn't there tonight either England's fans sung about the IRA all night and scotland fans barely got out there seats. So much for being intimidating. We played some nice stuff in spells tho and the result means nothing the boys done us proud on Friday. Looking forward to march 2015.

18-11-2014, 11:37 PM
What hostile atmosphere was that, apart from booing the anthem all you could hear on the telly was their fans .... the poorest vocal backing we have ever had in this fixture .... pathetic.

Was the Betty-Windsor-Lied played as the English anthem or did we have to suffer Land of Hope and Glory as well?

For all the fine talk about the Tartan Army, I've been less and less impressed by the support they give the team over tha last few years.

Time was when no matter what was going on on the park all you could hear in this fixture was the Scottish support - either singing ecstatically when we won or baying for the manager's guts when we lost.

Couldnae imagine that lot disassembling the Wembley goals. :rolleyes:

Gus
19-11-2014, 06:44 AM

U on the wind up eh?

19-11-2014, 06:57 AM
Thought the booing of GTSQ was an absolute embarrassment and made us look narrow minded

Agree embarrassing, when was it ever acceptable to boo national anthems. Pathetic.

As for the game we were flat and bottled it to a large degree. Too many standing back and admiring. England are good but not as good as we made them look. Bottom line is if we were to lose one of the 2 games this was the one.

19-11-2014, 07:48 AM
Agree embarrassing, when was it ever acceptable to boo national anthems. Pathetic.

As for the game we were flat and bottled it to a large degree. Too many standing back and admiring. England are good but not as good as we made them look. Bottom line is if we were to lose one of the 2 games this was the one.

That's been a sorry trait of the Tartan Army over the years (but thankfully less so recently.)

Regardless of your politics, God Save the Queen is still THE National Anthem and with the availability of various other "Anthems" which are exclusively relevant to England, then THE National Anthem shouldn't be their choice.

AndyM_1875
19-11-2014, 08:18 AM
Was the Betty-Windsor-Lied played as the English anthem or did we have to suffer Land of Hope and Glory as well?

For all the fine talk about the Tartan Army, I've been less and less impressed by the support they give the team over tha last few years.

Time was when no matter what was going on on the park all you could hear in this fixture was the Scottish support - either singing ecstatically when we won or baying for the manager's guts when we lost.

Couldnae imagine that lot disassembling the Wembley goals. :rolleyes:

Not really a surprise though Doddie at over £50 a ticket for a friendly and £45+ for Friday. I'm an existing SSC member and I'm not alone in being priced out by the SFA.
All a big difference from the days my old boy followed Scotland and went on trips to Wembley in the 70s.

19-11-2014, 09:36 AM

Never JBH. In the past GSTQ got booed because it was the only anthem played and most of us didn't recognise it as being appropriate for Scotland. Now we have our own tune and England stick with GSTQ .... In view of that its utterly disrespectful and an embarrassment to Scotland to boo it.

On that note ...... what a *** dirge FOS is.

19-11-2014, 10:42 AM
Not really a surprise though Doddie at over £50 a ticket for a friendly and £45+ for Friday. I'm an existing SSC member and I'm not alone in being priced out by the SFA.

All a big difference from the days my old boy followed Scotland and went on trips to Wembley in the 70s.

I know. The civilised bit of me kinda approves of the changes - I mean. it's nice to be able to go to a game without some Weegie neanderthal in an OF scarf pissing down your leg - but there are times when I miss the raucous (extremely non-PC) singing and chanting that could have you in hysterics.

And there really is no excuse for a Scottish crowd being out-sung by the Engerlunders in Glasgow.

I know that the SFA had to act to deal with the hooliganism that was following the team in the 1970's - I don't really want to see a re-run of 1977, though I'd still like to know how they got that cross-bar out of the stadium and onto the bus home - but what started off as a means to prevent match-tickets being touted to the casuals has become a cosy wee arrangement whereby only those and such as those can get access to Scotland games.

And going on the evidence of the last few Scotland games I've watched on TV, our local Ladies' Flower-Arrangers would make more noise and a better atmosphere.

And I'd bet the house they know more about football than that shower last night.

19-11-2014, 11:29 AM
I know. The civilised bit of me kinda approves of the changes - I mean. it's nice to be able to go to a game without some Weegie neanderthal in an OF scarf pissing down your leg - but there are times when I miss the raucous (extremely non-PC) singing and chanting that could have you in hysterics.

And there really is no excuse for a Scottish crowd being out-sung by the Engerlunders in Glasgow.

I know that the SFA had to act to deal with the hooliganism that was following the team in the 1970's - I don't really want to see a re-run of 1977, though I'd still like to know how they got that cross-bar out of the stadium and onto the bus home - but what started off as a means to prevent match-tickets being touted to the casuals has become a cosy wee arrangement whereby only those and such as those can get access to Scotland games.

And going on the evidence of the last few Scotland games I've watched on TV, our local Ladies' Flower-Arrangers would make more noise and a better atmosphere.

And I'd bet the house they know more about football than that shower last night.

19-11-2014, 11:51 AM

Made plenty of noise over in Dortmund, so maybe it's a problem at home games (or even just last night's crowd)

Oh and there were no Casuals in 1977, that was just the typical Scotland Fan of the time.

AndyM_1875
19-11-2014, 12:09 PM
Oh and there were no Casuals in 1977, that was just the typical Scotland Fan of the time.

I think Doddie knows that. After problems in the late 70s/early 80s the Scotland fans had to clean up their act and hence the happy, friendly, self policing band of travelling alcoholics was born. A separate issue was the 1989 abandonment of the Auld Enemy fixture.
IIRC the fixture was pretty much unlamented once it was axed due to hooligans/Casuals (on both sides) running amok at recent fixtures. It had become poisonous as a fixture.

I was at the 1999 Play Off at Wembley (working down south at the time) and making my way through London that was the nastiest most hostile atmosphere I've been in without question. The "happy friendly" Tartan Army were anything but (lots of folk on both sides well up for a scrap) and the England fans were doing their best impression of a BNP convention that night.

I won't be overly unhappy to see Scotland and England drop the fixture for a while.

VivaHiberña
19-11-2014, 12:11 PM

That's been a sorry trait of the Tartan Army over the years (but thankfully less so recently.)

Regardless of your politics, God Save the Queen is still THE National Anthem and with the availability of various other relevant "Anthems" which are exclusively relevant to England, then THE National Anthem shouldn't be their choice.

I have to disagree with you, on two counts.

First, originally all the Home Nations used GSTQ and Scotland and Wales have since decided not to. England, like Northern Ireland, are quite entitled in my view to keep using the anthem they've been using since national anthems have been sung at football matches. Also, who are we to tell them what anthem they can and can't sing? It's their song as much as ours.

That said, I do despair at the site of England supporters with union flags. And to a lesser extent when they sing Rule Britannia. I do however feel some sympathy for them in that while we get an anthem I quite like, they're stuck with a dirgey wee tune about the monarchy. Apparently it's the only national anthem in the world which doesn't even mention it's own country in the lyrics.

19-11-2014, 12:20 PM
The booing of GSTQ is part of the theatre surrounding the fixture these days, nothing more. The furore as a result of it has been totally disproportionate - there was nowhere near as much outcry when the English fans, to a man, booed Flower of Scotland at Wembley last year! National anthems are far from sacred entities anymore and in all honesty, I wish they'd just ditch them before games, particularly friendlies.

What really irked me last night was the sectarian/political affiliations the English fans tried to portray. The anti-IRA chants, the 'No Surrender' banner and the 'No Surrender' add-ons during their in-match renditions of GSTQ. The loyalist attitudes being articulated by the England fans was pretty disgusting given how prevalent these issues are in Glasgow - was it because the game was at Parkhead or was it a large number of Rangers FC RIP fans infiltrating the away end?

19-11-2014, 12:27 PM
I think booing the opposing anthem is on the level of panto behavior. I find it a bit cringeworthy but there are a lot worse things to complain about.

Last night's match brought home how badly the fixture has been scheduled. In fairness, England were the deserved winners. However, the Scotland team looked a shadow of the side we've seen in the Euro qualifiers so far and I wonder if this was just one match too many.

If they do decide to repeat this match, it has to be done near or at the end of the season and not as part of a double header. One possibility would be to hold it on a bi-annual basis, only in the years where there's no Euros or World Cup.

19-11-2014, 01:24 PM
Made plenty of noise over in Dortmund, so maybe it's a problem at home games (or even just last night's crowd)

No, there were plenty. They were called "Scotland supporters". Or "England supporters".

This fixture should be left as it was - discontinued. Fair enough if the two teams get drawn against one another in the normal course of events, but reviving it seems to me to be just asking for trouble.

BTW - are we sure that it was the England supporters chanting nasty chants about the IRA?

Couldnae have been some Weegie Scotland supporters of the Hunnish variety chanting along, naw?

19-11-2014, 02:34 PM
No, there were plenty. They were called "Scotland supporters". Or "England supporters".

This fixture should be left as it was - discontinued. Fair enough if the two teams get drawn against one another in the normal course of events, but reviving it seems to me to be just asking for trouble.

BTW - are we sure that it was the England supporters chanting nasty chants about the IRA?

Couldnae have been some Weegie Scotland supporters of the Hunnish variety chanting along, naw?

Sorry Doddie, I wasn't intending to start a spat. The word 'Casual' hadn't yet come into vogue in 1977, which is what I was referring to, they were just 'Hooligans' in them days.

However, somebody else pointed out that it may have been the events of the late 80s/90s you were referring to, so fair enough.

AndyM_1875
19-11-2014, 03:40 PM

Very very unlikely there would have been any Hunnish types in the England end Doddie.
To get a ticket you would need to be a member of the England Supporters Travel Club and I can't see yer common garden bluenosed soapdodger paying £75 just for a one off.
https://englandsupporters.thefa.com/p/england-supporters-travel-club

Although this might raise a giggle..:rolleyes:

Section 2 - Code of Conduct - ‘England Respects’

These Rules incorporate the ‘England Respects’ code of conduct and as a Member, you agree to adhere to this code:
• Members should act as ambassadors for the England team, and act in such a way that will enhance the image of English supporters and the national side.
• Members must abide by the highest standards of behaviour, and reject: (i) any action involving violence, intimidation, provocation or abuse; (ii) use of language that is offensive, racist, homophobic or discriminatory in any other way; or (iii) behaviour contrary to standards of decency and respect towards the people, cultures, laws and property of host countries.
• English football is valued around the world for its standards of passion and fair play. Members will enhance this reputation by showing respect for the game, t

Read more at https://englandsupporters.thefa.com/p/england-supporters-travel-club#jg7a6DYK14hd8wYe.99

19-11-2014, 07:44 PM
Very very unlikely there would have been any Hunnish types in the England end Doddie.
To get a ticket you would need to be a member of the England Supporters Travel Club and I can't see yer common garden bluenosed soapdodger paying £75 just for a one off.
https://englandsupporters.thefa.com/p/england-supporters-travel-club

Although this might raise a giggle..:rolleyes:

Section 2 - Code of Conduct - ‘England Respects’

These Rules incorporate the ‘England Respects’ code of conduct and as a Member, you agree to adhere to this code:
• Members should act as ambassadors for the England team, and act in such a way that will enhance the image of English supporters and the national side.
• Members must abide by the highest standards of behaviour, and reject: (i) any action involving violence, intimidation, provocation or abuse; (ii) use of language that is offensive, racist, homophobic or discriminatory in any other way; or (iii) behaviour contrary to standards of decency and respect towards the people, cultures, laws and property of host countries.
• English football is valued around the world for its standards of passion and fair play. Members will enhance this reputation by showing respect for the game, t

Read more at https://englandsupporters.thefa.com/p/england-supporters-travel-club#jg7a6DYK14hd8wYe.99

Does this apply to their players as well?

19-11-2014, 08:53 PM
Sorry Doddie, I wasn't intending to start a spat. The word 'Casual' hadn't yet come into vogue in 1977, which is what I was referring to, they were just 'Hooligans' in them days.

However, somebody else pointed out that it may have been the events of the late 80s/90s you were referring to, so fair enough.

Sorry - I shouldn't have used the word 'casuals' - 'hooligans' is a much more accurate word. Or maybe just 'thugs'?

To be fair to those involved, I've never thought that THAT Wembley pitch invasion was seriously hostile - exuberance run riot more like, IMO.

IIRC the FA had allowed the Horse of the Year Show to take place on the pitch the previous year, and the pitch hadn't recovered. The subject of the pitch came up after Czechoslovakia complained about it after a World Cup match, and some Johnny from the FA said that everything was fine - there were only the Cup Final and the Scotland game to take place before the end of the season, and the pitch was going to be lifted and relaid in the close season. AND that if the pitch was good enough for horses, it was good enough for Scotland!

A good friend of mine was at the game, and he told me that as the final minutes were running down with Scotland winning 2-1 the word went round that 'we' should save the FA the trouble and expense of hiring someone to lift the turf - 'we' could do it for them for free.

Everyone thought this was a grand idea - drink had been taken, I believe - and the rest is history.

But I WOULD like to know how they got that crossbar out of the stadium and onto the bus. And where exactly it is now.