View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 0 v 0 Queen of the South (FT)

15-11-2014, 11:31 AM
I thought I'd be brave and start the Match Update thread today.

Hoping for some revenge on the Doonhamers for the last match and that we can start to get home wins instead of draws.

StarMan10
15-11-2014, 02:18 PM
Stubbs wasn't joking about giving Oxley every chance to play, 40 mins to kickoff and no team news

StarMan10
15-11-2014, 02:20 PM
And right on cue it gets announced

Perntreou, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Craig, Allan, Harris, Kennedy, Cummings Handling

15-11-2014, 02:21 PM
No Oxley or Robertson.

15-11-2014, 02:21 PM
Lot of players missing today...big test of squad today

15-11-2014, 02:23 PM

Perntreou, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Craig, Allan, Harris, Kennedy, Cummings Handling

Young guns go for it. It's a big chance for these lads today.

StarMan10
15-11-2014, 02:27 PM
The bench if anyone was wondering is:
Combe, Booth, Crane, Stanton, Sinclair, Heffernan, L. Allan

stevie-bee
15-11-2014, 02:27 PM
No Oxley or Robertson.

Craig must be playing holding mid

Islington Hibs
15-11-2014, 02:28 PM
Young guns go for it. It's a big chance for these lads today.

Agree- will be interesting and big test against a decent side. Hopefully get an early goal and build confidence.

15-11-2014, 02:33 PM
Maybe just going straight 4-4-2

That team SHOULD be strong enough to win today

15-11-2014, 02:33 PM
Agree- will be interesting and big test against a decent side. Hopefully get an early goal and build confidence.

If Harris and Kennedy step up to the game we will win

15-11-2014, 02:34 PM
Having to rely on this thread for updates today. In Ireland and annoyingly sportsound isn't available online here from 3pm.
Hopefully everyone's shoes have dried out from last Saturday's drenching in time for
game.

Lee Marvin
15-11-2014, 02:35 PM

Couldn't be any less confident seeing that team

15-11-2014, 02:37 PM

Eh?

That team :faf:

What's wrong with it?

15-11-2014, 02:38 PM
that's the spirit

15-11-2014, 02:38 PM

Whats wrong with it?

Lee Marvin
15-11-2014, 02:39 PM
that's the spirit

It's just an opinion mate.

15-11-2014, 02:40 PM

Every one of them would get in the QOTS team. Should be good enough to win today

15-11-2014, 02:41 PM

Hilarious eh?
Whilst you pish yourself laughing the the rest of us will get on with supporting them though.

Lee Marvin
15-11-2014, 02:41 PM
Eh?

Hope I'm wrong but what is there in that 11 thatfills you with confidence?

007 Mickey Weir
15-11-2014, 02:42 PM
Well Kennedy has been harping in about bit getting the chance. Well today he has it. Defence is fine and aged together a few games which should help the young goalie. Cummings with Handling playing of him up front.

15-11-2014, 02:43 PM
Having to rely on this thread for updates today. In Ireland and annoyingly sportsound isn't available online here from 3pm.
Hopefully everyone's shoes have dried out from last Saturday's drenching in time for
game.

http://www.forth2.com

15-11-2014, 02:44 PM
, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson,, Allan, , Kennedy, Cummings

Maybe I've just woke up from some weird dream where we've played pretty well for the past 7 weeks. Dunno like

15-11-2014, 02:44 PM

See my post above

15-11-2014, 02:45 PM
Hilarious eh?
Whilst you pish yourself laughing the the rest of us will get on with supporting them though.

So easy to get people wounding up :greengrin

I do like the team.

15-11-2014, 02:47 PM
There should be plenty movement up front for Allan to pick them out with his passing. 3-0 to Hibs

15-11-2014, 02:48 PM

I do like the team.

So another one of these alleged fishing trips that aren't actually funny.

Fairy Nuff.

-----------------------------------

Anybody there yet? Does the place look busy?

I'm just wondering if recent form could see an improvement in today's attendance or if we'll have to start winning home games first.

Lee Marvin
15-11-2014, 02:50 PM
, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson,, Allan, , Kennedy, Cummings

Maybe I've just woke up from some weird dream where we've played pretty well for the past 7 weeks. Dunno like

Playing a completely different formation with 4 different, hugely important, players. Playing a formation which hasn't yeilded a win this season.

I at the game and hope we win, just don't feel confident. Can anyone blame me? Really?

15-11-2014, 02:50 PM

I do like the team.

It gets funnier every time you do it.

15-11-2014, 02:51 PM
Bunch of young guys in there. Hope they go out and enjoy it. Interested to see how Handling does up top.

Why is there Hibs fans in the Dunbar End lower?

Lee Marvin
15-11-2014, 02:51 PM
So another one of these alleged fishing trips that aren't actually funny.

Fairy Nuff.
U
-----------------------------------

Anybody there yet? Does the place look busy?

I'm just wondering if recent form could see an improvement in today's attendance or if we'll have to start winning home games first.

Slightly more hibs fans here than usual

15-11-2014, 02:52 PM
Bunch of young guys in there. Hope they go out and enjoy it. Interested to see how Handling does up top.

Seriously?

Maybe it's the new location for Section 43.

15-11-2014, 02:53 PM
Seriously?

Maybe it's the new location for Section 43.

Assuming it's Hibs fans as there's the QOTS fans then a barrier then more people.

15-11-2014, 02:54 PM
Busier outside stadium than usual

15-11-2014, 02:57 PM

Maybe it's the forces ticket section :dunno:

15-11-2014, 02:58 PM
Forces section according to steward.

15-11-2014, 02:59 PM
Maybe it's the forces ticket section :dunno:

Aah that would make sense. I just assumed they'd be in with the civvies.

15-11-2014, 03:00 PM
'mon the Hibs

15-11-2014, 03:01 PM
Lot of pressure on Cummings to keep goals coming with Malonga away.

15-11-2014, 03:04 PM
any radio links

alhibby
15-11-2014, 03:04 PM
Commentary here with Peter and Roughie,

http://www.peterandroughie.com/watch-live

HNA4
15-11-2014, 03:07 PM
http://radioplayer.forth2.com/live/

15-11-2014, 03:08 PM
Quietish start.

Liam Craig put a shot wide from distance, that's about it.

15-11-2014, 03:09 PM
Good cross by Kennedy, bit pacey though and Cummings headed well over.

Cummings up top on his own.

15-11-2014, 03:11 PM
Good effort Cummings, keeper saved well.

HibeeEmma
15-11-2014, 03:12 PM
http://radioplayer.forth2.com/live/

No commentary on that station :confused: Is it working for you?

HNA4
15-11-2014, 03:14 PM

It is. You need to press 'play'. Or try http://www.forth2.com/ and find 'Listen live' near the top of the page.

15-11-2014, 03:15 PM
Good save keeper from an Allan free kick.

Liam Craig overhits the corner by a distance.

15-11-2014, 03:22 PM
We're playing really well.

15-11-2014, 03:22 PM
Clipped ball in by Kennedy, only Cummings in the middle and no one attacks a dangerous ball to the back post.

15-11-2014, 03:26 PM
Allan with another good ball in, again no one attacking it.

Harris, Handling and Kennedy need to get up and support Cummings.

15-11-2014, 03:29 PM
Hibs by all accounts playing well for first 20 minutes, but balls into the box continually fail to find any Hibs players who are either not there or not attacking the ball enough - shouldn't this problem have been addressed by now? It's nothing new?

15-11-2014, 03:29 PM
Just wide from QOTS after a nice wee build up.

15-11-2014, 03:30 PM
Hibs by all accounts playing well for first 20 minutes, but balls into the box continually fail to find any Hibs players who are either not there or not attacking the ball enough - shouldn't this problem have been addressed by now? It's nothing new?

Too tight trying to go through the middle, when we get it wide no one attacking it and Cummings is very isolated and getting frustrated.

15-11-2014, 03:31 PM
Keeper saves well from Cummings, palms it back into the centre and.......

There's no one following up.

15-11-2014, 03:32 PM
Going by the comments on here, we seem to have a sole striker, as no one has taken Malonga's role.

15-11-2014, 03:35 PM
commentary team are discussing whether alex harris has touched the ball or not

15-11-2014, 03:36 PM
4 corners in row, bit of panic at the back by them but come to nothing.

15-11-2014, 03:39 PM
Raith rovers 0-1 beath

15-11-2014, 03:41 PM
Great turn and strike by Allan.

Good save

15-11-2014, 03:41 PM
Great turn and strike by Allan.

Good save

Keeper pushes it away and again not one of ours follows up

Jim Herriot
15-11-2014, 03:42 PM

Neither of the two links worked on my mobile but the forth2 app did.

15-11-2014, 03:44 PM
Young keeper has dealt with everything well so far, looks comfortable.

15-11-2014, 03:45 PM
Allan with a shot, Cummings almost directs it goalwards.

15-11-2014, 03:46 PM
Craig punching folk?

15-11-2014, 03:47 PM
No idea what happened there.

Queens player rolling about on the ground off the ball then got up screaming at the ref and chasing Craigm

15-11-2014, 03:49 PM
Half time.

Bit of a dirge really.

15-11-2014, 03:52 PM
Half time.

Bit of a dirge really.
Just not got the depth of quality.

Bobo
15-11-2014, 03:52 PM
1 man up front against ***** like this is brutal!!!!

No creation or pace in the Hibs team, really poor performance so far. Harris and Handling should be withdrawn at HT as theve offered nothing, 2 men up front and players with a bit of desire for the 2nd half would make a difference.

Piss poor so far!!

15-11-2014, 03:53 PM
Sounds like we still don't have enough 'bite' in the team.

What's Suarez up to these days?

15-11-2014, 03:56 PM
1 man up front against ***** like this is brutal!!!!

No creation or pace in the Hibs team, really poor performance so far. Harris and Handling should be withdrawn at HT as theve offered nothing, 2 men up front and players with a bit of desire for the 2nd half would make a difference.

Piss poor so far!!

Over-reaction of the season. We're playing ok, need Harris and Kennedy to step it up a bit though.

15-11-2014, 03:58 PM
Over-reaction of the season. We're playing ok, need Harris and Kennedy to step it up a bit though.

I'd add Handling to that list as well.

He's got in a few decent positions and then his 1st touch has let him down every time. One of them needs to take responsibilty and help Cummings who is very isolated.

bringbackbenny
15-11-2014, 03:58 PM
Not all bad but too slow getting the ball forward, Cummings too isolated up front. Handling and Harris must get involved more, game passing them by.

007 Mickey Weir
15-11-2014, 03:59 PM
Get the young lad Allan on up front with Jason.

15-11-2014, 03:59 PM
0-0 written all over it. Time to release the Hef and rest Cummings.

15-11-2014, 04:01 PM
... same old problems ... no bite up front for the few chances we have. Kevin Harper on Hibs TV is particularly critical of Cummings / Handling who do not seem to have struck up any form of partnership. Another main critique is the general lack of support from HIbs players in the box, no-one following up and the poor positional sense of Handling who keeps dropping too deep - maybe the guys are not sure of what they are supposed to be doing - needs to be sorted soon. Queen's game plan seems to be to soak up the pressure and try and hit Hibs on the break - if we lose a goal, can we come back with this line up? Not convinced we can ... should be an interesting 2nd half - Stubbs has to change things around, we need to win this ...

15-11-2014, 04:01 PM
Let's be real. We've been the better team. By quite a distance. But they've restricted us to long shots really. Need a bit of magic to cut them open but Allan, Cummings, Gray and Kennedy are trying hard.

15-11-2014, 04:06 PM
Not all bad but too slow getting the ball forward, Cummings too isolated up front. Handling and Harris must get involved more, game passing them by.

Agree cummings too isolated and when I saw both Harris and Kennedy were in team wondered if that would work But only one team in it so Stubbs just needs to get them fired up and change something if we don't get early goal Still confident we will win

15-11-2014, 04:06 PM
Let's be real. We've been the better team. By quite a distance. But they've restricted us to long shots really. Need a bit of magic to cut them open but Allan, Cummings, Gray and Kennedy are trying hard.

This. Wide guys need to start getting into the box. Keepers parrying everything out and none is following up.

Sent from my brain

15-11-2014, 04:08 PM
Agree cummings too isolated and when I saw both Harris and Kennedy were in team wondered if that would work But only one team in it so Stubbs just needs to get them fired up and change something if we don't get early goal Still confident we will win

In Dumfries, they scored one goal against the run of play then parked the Bus. If that happens today, I'm not confident we have the personnel up front to break them down.

15-11-2014, 04:08 PM
Cummings presented with a real chance. Well wide with the shot.

15-11-2014, 04:09 PM
Cummings misses good opportunity ...

15-11-2014, 04:12 PM
Harris gets about 4 chances to put a cross in, turns back on himself and ends up being eased off the ball.

15-11-2014, 04:14 PM
Cummings misses good opportunity ...

This is our biggest problem and the difference, dare I say it, between us and Hearts.

I mean, Hearts are 2-0 up already.....and their game doesn't start till 5:30!!!

:duck:

15-11-2014, 04:16 PM
Should really be winning these games but sounds like 0-0 all over it

15-11-2014, 04:17 PM
Scott Allan is playing far too deep.

Really struggling to influence the game, there's been 3 occassions this half where he has been in his own half when we are attacking.

15-11-2014, 04:18 PM
Sub, maybe 2, getting stripped.

15-11-2014, 04:20 PM
Heffernan and Sinclair I think.

Harris will definitely come off, maybe Handling too.

15-11-2014, 04:21 PM
Heffernan and Sinclair I think.

Harris will definitely come off, maybe Handling too.

Called it.

15-11-2014, 04:21 PM
Sinclair, Heffernan on for Harris, Handling ...

15-11-2014, 04:24 PM
Craig with a poor challenge. Booked.

15-11-2014, 04:27 PM
Danny handling is utter *****

15-11-2014, 04:27 PM
Gray booked, think it was a good foul as we were caught on the break.

15-11-2014, 04:28 PM
10,069 and we get this type of performance. :rolleyes:

15-11-2014, 04:30 PM
Heff played in by Cummings, 1st touch was like a clearance.

sevco score v Alloa

Cummimgs off for Stanton.

He has a wee hissy fit but he's not done much.

15-11-2014, 04:31 PM

and along with harris has a very long contract

15-11-2014, 04:32 PM
Cummimgs off for Stanton.

He has a wee hissy fit but he's not done much.

Really? I'd say he's done more than most! To take him off leaving us with just Heff is mental

15-11-2014, 04:32 PM
Queens player booked for a piss poor challenge on Allan.

15-11-2014, 04:35 PM
and along with harris has a very long contract

The Harris deal made sense, the handling one is a piss take.

He's up there with Paul tosh abd Alan o brien

Been saying it for long enough, Handling and Harris are NOT the answer. C'mon Hibs nick something at the end here!..

Stanton shoots from 30 odd yards when he had options.

Poor decision making in the final 3rd again.

How long is left and are Hibs getting a winner?

Alloa equalise

SJNB Hibby
15-11-2014, 04:36 PM
Alloa equalise, a win today would be massive

The Harris deal made sense, the handling one is a piss take.

He's up there with Paul tosh abd Alan o brien

Harsh

15 minutes and very doubtful.

15-11-2014, 04:37 PM
... how are we supposed to get out of this league if we can't score goals at home against "poor" opposition?

Cmon tae f hibs. :grr:

this is one game i hope a reilly doesn't score at ER

15-11-2014, 04:38 PM

13 mins plus injury. I'd be surprised if we do, they all look scared to shoot

15-11-2014, 04:38 PM
I'm a bit worried all the goodwill Hibs have built up could be drained away with draws like us.

15-11-2014, 04:39 PM
... how are we supposed to get out of this league if we can't score goals at home against "poor" opposition?

The poor team are above us in the league. Were missing a few players but I accept 3 points is a must.

15-11-2014, 04:39 PM
Harsh

It's not, he's pish, really really pish

15-11-2014, 04:40 PM

And they haven't sat in as much as others either.

They haven't been all guns blazing but they have pushed high up the park with a bit quality we could have exploited gaps left.

The Gorf
15-11-2014, 04:41 PM
Anyone got any issues with Gillette Soccer Saturday and split screen on Sky Sports 5?

Good cross, shot by Heff blocked. Corner.

if heff had left it sinclair would have had a tap in :(

15-11-2014, 04:42 PM
The poor team are above us in the league. Were missing a few players but I accept 3 points is a must.

They are a poor team and the fact they are above us in the league demonstrates just how far we have fallen, injuries or not.

R11Loaded
15-11-2014, 04:42 PM
MON the boys

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

15-11-2014, 04:43 PM
Heff blasts over from 7 yards after a great ball.

Sitter.

It's not, he's pish, really really pish
Bit too deep and intellectual of an assessment of his his abilities for me to follow. Would you care to elucidate for the benefit of those who lack your footballing knowledge?

heff should have scored from 7 yards out...hits it over the bar...ffs

Heffernan misses a sitter ...

15-11-2014, 04:46 PM
Bit too deep and intellectual of an assessment of his his abilities for me to follow. Would you care to elucidate for the benefit of those who lack your footballing knowledge?

Aye, he never does anything.

15-11-2014, 04:46 PM
Allan MOTM.

15-11-2014, 04:48 PM
I'm depressed

:-(

Off the bar
C'mon hibs ffs

Heffernan misses a sitter ...

Yep not so confident now

15-11-2014, 04:49 PM
Just shows how important Malonga has been for us

15-11-2014, 04:50 PM
Heff, Harris, Handling for me are very poor! Wish we had cash to get players in so they can punt them.

This is like the 1st few weeks of the season revisited.

C'mon tae **** Hibs

Just shows how important Malonga has been for us

The rest of our 'strike force' is barely worthy of the name.

GlasgowHibee
Play well in the big games, but not against the teams we should be battering. Same old Hibs really.

15-11-2014, 04:51 PM
This is like the 1st few weeks of the season revisited.

Has it been a poor performance PB, or is a case of chances not being taken?

15-11-2014, 04:52 PM
Has it been a poor performance PB, or is a case of chances not being taken?

I can"t recall their keeper making a save in the 2nd half.

It was poor.

1st half was a lot of huff and puff but not many real chances.

:agree: He trots about like he is some star player, yet he barely does anything apart from the odd easy pass, usually straight back to the player he received it from.

No wonder we struggle to score goals with players like him getting a regular start. And why does Stubbs keep on picking him when you just know he will get taken off after 60-75 minutes having done bugger all?

Rangers 1-1 Alloa

Full Time.

15-11-2014, 04:53 PM
Rangers 1-1 FT

I can"t recall their keeper making a save in the 2nd half.

It was poor.

Not good then.

Cheers for the updates

FT sevco 1 Alloa 1....great results for hertz today

15-11-2014, 04:54 PM
Full time.

That was dreadful.

Berwickhibby
more points at home thrown away :(

MartinfaePorty
Absolutely nothing in final third. Shows our reliance on a few key players.

15-11-2014, 04:55 PM
us and sevco are handing it to hearts

15-11-2014, 04:55 PM
Another game added to our unbeaten run.

15-11-2014, 04:56 PM
That was utter *****

15-11-2014, 04:57 PM
Not good enough Stubbs - this is a bad result for us at home ... another 2 points dropped - no excuses - it's only QoS ...

15-11-2014, 04:58 PM
we obviously don't like winning at ER so how's about a wee move to Straiton, wee change of scenery might help

15-11-2014, 04:58 PM
Today was confirmation (as if we needed it) that we need at least one more striker.

Cummings and Heffernan just don't cut the mustard.

SneakersO'Toole
15-11-2014, 05:00 PM
Another dire result at home. Proves we are no better than these average championship teams. Embarrassing how far off the pace we are.

15-11-2014, 05:00 PM

He really is.

I still can't see what he's meant to bring to the side. Does he even know what his role is when he's on the park? He does nowt.

15-11-2014, 05:02 PM
Handling, Harris, Heffernan, Craig all not good enough. Allan is a class act Tho.

15-11-2014, 05:02 PM
As it stands QOTS would be our 1st play off opponent.

Anybody be willing to part with hard cash betting on us over 2 legs?

15-11-2014, 05:03 PM
Much as I like to see sevco meeting their match, they are realistically the only danger to the Jambos running away with the league. Secondly, I would rather meet the Jambos in the playoffs, if we can sustain our boring mediocrity.

15-11-2014, 05:04 PM

Raith Rovers are up our arse, i wouldnt put money on us staying 4th. :rolleyes:

GlasgowHibee
15-11-2014, 05:05 PM
Much as I like to see sevco meeting their match, they are realistically the only danger to the Jambos running away with the league. Secondly, I would rather meet the Jambos in the playoffs, if we can sustain our boring mediocrity.

You would rather meet Hearts? Are you mad? When have we ever beaten them in a match that matters? I'd much rather face a Rangers team under severe amounts of pressure being managed by McCoist.

hopefully we can give Dumbarton a right good challenge next week

4 year deal :faf:

15-11-2014, 05:06 PM
I wasn't there today so I'm not in a position to make a judgement on the overall performance or the abilities of individual players. All I'll say is that it was a disappointing result.

15-11-2014, 05:07 PM
ah well, going to watch Scotland get a doin from the all blacks now :( miserable day

15-11-2014, 05:09 PM
ah well, going to watch Scotland get a doin from the all blacks now :( miserable day

The All Blacks second fifteen and they'll probably still howk us!

15-11-2014, 05:09 PM
That was brutal today. Have to agree with those saying Handling just isn't good enough.

EastCalderHibby
15-11-2014, 05:11 PM
Another game added to our unbeaten run.

don't care about unbeaten run when it means 2 points dropped to a crap team we should be putting 5 past them
at home

15-11-2014, 05:12 PM
You would rather meet Hearts? Are you mad? When have we ever beaten them in a match that matters? I'd much rather face a Rangers team under severe amounts of pressure being managed by McCoist.

I'll be astounded if sevco fail to get promotion, one way or another, despite Fat Sally. I think the Jambos would be shattered if they fell into second place after their start to the campaign.

Too many players not good enough when our key players are out. Handling, Harris, Kennedy (hope you see why you're on the bench now) and Craig were all woeful. The subs brought on not much better.

don't care about unbeaten run when it means 2 points dropped to a crap team we should be putting 5 past them
at home

I could be wrong but I think BH's comment was let's say slightly tongue in cheek.

15-11-2014, 05:15 PM
I could be wrong but I think BH's comment was let's say slightly tongue in cheek.

I would have used the term 'sarcasm'* but there you go.

* Fully justified as well.

SneakersO'Toole
15-11-2014, 05:19 PM
Last 4 games at hone in the league we have drawn. That is we are so far off the pace, why we wont win the league and sums up our mediocrity IMO.

Some fans are making way too much of this unbeaten run. Our form is average at best and is reflected in our league position, which is shocking.

at home

Why should we be putting 5 past them?

Anyway, it is a poor result, particularly at home, but then our 2 main strikers and 2 of our first choice CMs were unavailable. Thats going to have an impact on any team.

Alot of the guys who got their chance today have yet to really show they are good enough to play for Hibs (including the likes of Harris and Handling), and that was just reinforced further. Its quite disappointing.

Too many players not good enough when our key players are out. Handling, Harris, Kennedy (hope you see why you're on the bench now) and Craig were all woeful. The subs brought on not much better.

Sums it up nicely.

Bobo
15-11-2014, 05:21 PM
Thought Butcher was back in the dugout today, that was brutal!!!

Poor line up and formation from the start, playing one up front is a disgrace!! More back passes than forward and no urgency or creation, to say we were pish would be a compliment!

If I ever be needed a reminder for why I won't be renewing my season ticket, today was a perfect example of the total lack of ambition this club has shown for the past 10 years, piss poor and totally unacceptable, I won't miss it!

LordBamba
15-11-2014, 05:23 PM
Queens are no diddy team. They are 3rd for a reason. Played much better last few games but think the forums overreacting.

cloudy
15-11-2014, 05:29 PM
Why can't we just say he wasn't at his best or give constructive criticism instead of going to the lengths of he's utter p**h or get rid of him ASAP. I'm sure some people on here want us to fail just so they can come on here to rant about young lads trying to help our club, the club was in a mess stubbs is trying to sort it as he says it won't happen overnight but slowly but surely we're getting better, these players don't play bad on purpose unless I'm mistaken we're unbeaten in 7 games now, we were missing 5 first team players today kept a cleansheet and created enough chances ok it wasn't brilliant but if we were brilliant we'd have a free weekend this weekend

15-11-2014, 05:30 PM
Queens are no diddy team. They are 3rd for a reason. Played much better last few games but think the forums overreacting.

Remember it's the championship we're in.

A diddy team is exactly what qots are.

15-11-2014, 05:31 PM
Unfortunately this result was unsurprising - without Malonga or El Alagui to partner Cummings up front we struggle to break down any defence - and given that QoS are one of the better sides in the Championship, this result totally fails to take on the mantle of "shock" status for me.

On the bright side you could say that at least we didn't concede - which would have been a surprise earlier on in the season, but in the grand scheme of things this will go down as a missed oportunity to make up ground on the huns. ****in Boooo - roll on next week :flag:

15-11-2014, 05:35 PM
Remember it's the championship we're in.

A diddy team is exactly what qots are.

...... and what we are, till we prove otherwise.

15-11-2014, 05:37 PM
...... and what we are, till we prove otherwise.

I know, that doesn't make qots any less of a diddy team.

15-11-2014, 05:39 PM
I know, that doesn't make qots any less of a diddy team.

Are they still part time? They definitely used to be but I have a vague memory of them going full time about 5 years back but I could be wrong.

EastCalderHibby
15-11-2014, 05:39 PM

Anyway, it is a poor result, particularly at home, but then our 2 main strikers and 2 of our first choice CMs were unavailable. Thats going to have an impact on any team.

Alot of the guys who got their chance today have yet to really show they are good enough to play for Hibs (including the likes of Harris and Handling), and that was just reinforced further. Its quite disappointing.

Fair point :top marks when you put it like you have :agree: but we should still be beating these teams at er not by 5
like i last posted but winning the game

15-11-2014, 05:41 PM

Be very careful. Balanced judgement has no place in Hibsnet. The team's either wonderful or woeful - there's no middle ground in the minds of many of the punters who come on here.

Malonga's absence couldn't possibly have had a negative effect today - wasn't he being discounted as lazy and ineffectual in a thread last week? So what if we were missing four out of the first-choice front six?

Queen of the South are rubbish - at least in some folks' eyes. Actually, they're a more than decent side who've caused trouble to a lot of teams a lot more settled and established than we are at the moment. And I guess you'd agree with me that it really isn't much good wishing we had money in the bank so we could sack another draft of players to bring in more replacements when that money simply doesn't exist and we're still 6/7 weeks short of the January transfer window.

Frankly I expect us to lose this game, especially since not only were we without four first-choice attackers but also our first-choice goalie. No criticism of the laddie who played, but a change of keeper tends to have a bad effect on the defence and the fact that we kept a clean sheet is one plus at least that many don't seem to be appreciating.

Stubbs isn't a miracle-worker; he has to do the job with the resources he has at his disposal. But what do we want? 5-0 wins! When do we want them? Every week! Since when? Yesterday!

15-11-2014, 05:42 PM
Wasn't at the game but think a point is a good result against qots with our goal machine and keeper out. And not to forget mcgeoch

15-11-2014, 05:52 PM

I would.

I'm not defending today - it was brutal. Nothing going forward but we were solid enough at the back. They never looked like scoring.

By the play-offs we could have all of Oxley, Forster, McGeoch, Robertson, El Alagui and Malonga back. We might improve the squad further in January.

I think that the backroom staff can get the players fitter still and get more from them over the course of the season.

Stubbs can learn from these games. Tactically he is still learning. I can't see him still wanting to have Kennedy and Harris out wide, attempting to cross balls into the box for nobody to get onto the end of by then.

There are players (Harris, Heff) who must be running out of chances to impress.

I think we'll be a better side by the end of the season. I'm not convinced they will.

15-11-2014, 06:16 PM
Don't think the chorus of boos was required at full time to be honest.

Allan45
15-11-2014, 06:17 PM
Fair point :top marks when you put it like you have :agree: but we should still be beating these teams at er not by 5
like i last posted but winning the game
Heff should score goals, not good enough, but at present that's what we have got. Handling should do much better. A team with Heff in it is weak. We missed our 2 strikers today, could easily be 2-0. We could still go on a run at Christmas. Stubbs no mug, it's what we have...

15-11-2014, 06:19 PM
Don't think the chorus of boos was required at full time to be honest.

15-11-2014, 06:21 PM
Be very careful. Balanced judgement has no place in Hibsnet. The team's either wonderful or woeful - there's no middle ground in the minds of many of the punters who come on here.

Malonga's absence couldn't possibly have had a negative effect today - wasn't he being discounted as lazy and ineffectual in a thread last week? So what if we were missing four out of the first-choice front six?

Queen of the South are rubbish - at least in some folks' eyes. Actually, they're a more than decent side who've caused trouble to a lot of teams a lot more settled and established than we are at the moment. And I guess you'd agree with me that it really isn't much good wishing we had money in the bank so we could sack another draft of players to bring in more replacements when that money simply doesn't exist and we're still 6/7 weeks short of the January transfer window.

Frankly I expect us to lose this game, especially since not only were we without four first-choice attackers but also our first-choice goalie. No criticism of the laddie who played, but a change of keeper tends to have a bad effect on the defence and the fact that we kept a clean sheet is one plus at least that many don't seem to be appreciating.

Stubbs isn't a miracle-worker; he has to do the job with the resources he has at his disposal. But what do we want? 5-0 wins! When do we want them? Every week! Since when? Yesterday!

We always have an excuse.

15-11-2014, 06:24 PM
Handling looks weak as anything! The amount of times today he got pushed off the ball. Really don't rate him much tbh, he's had his moments but in general, he's done very little to impress me.

Hanlon I thought was pretty solid today. Allan and Kennedy good as well.

15-11-2014, 06:26 PM
This team should be beaten the likes of QOTS. :rolleyes:

15-11-2014, 06:46 PM
Are they still part time? They definitely used to be but I have a vague memory of them going full time about 5 years back but I could be wrong.

Pretty sure they are full time now PB.

15-11-2014, 06:56 PM

Yes. We should beat anyone in this division at home. 1-0 is a more realistic expectation though. There is absolutely nothing in our form or theirs that suggests anything like a 5-0 was on the cards.

There is being disappointed with a result on the one hand but some of the punters moans are not based on any kind of reality. 5-0! Have a word with yourselves.

15-11-2014, 07:03 PM
Yes. We should beat anyone in this division at home. 1-0 is a more realistic expectation though. There is absolutely nothing in our form or theirs that suggests anything like a 5-0 was on the cards.

There is being disappointed with a result on the one hand but some of the punters moans are not based on any kind of reality. 5-0! Have a word with yourselves.

We have turned a corner though.

Playing the best football in this league, some even suggesting we are the best team in this league, so 5 should have not been a problem. :wink:

15-11-2014, 07:10 PM
Commentary here with Peter and Roughie,

http://www.peterandroughie.com/watch-live

http://www.forth2.com

Cheers for posting links. I couldn't get Forth 2 to work but the Peter and Roughie one was pretty good. Shame the game disappointed though.

15-11-2014, 07:24 PM

Do you mean beating or beaten by?

18-11-2014, 07:42 PM
Thought their left back (Holt?) looked a player to keep an eye on.

18-11-2014, 10:53 PM
Thought their left back (Holt?) looked a player to keep an eye on.

I agree Hamish. Big and mobile and defended well :agree: