View Full Version : Champions League Tonight

04-11-2014, 06:10 PM
Liverpool's team :faf: have we mixed it up with the League Cup

Liverpool: Mignolet; Manquillo, Skrtel, Toure, Moreno; Lucas, Can, Allen; Lallana, Markovic, Borini.

Come on you REDS :greengrin

04-11-2014, 06:20 PM

Liverpool: Mignolet; Manquillo, Skrtel, Toure, Moreno; Lucas, Can, Allen; Lallana, Markovic, Borini.

As a non follower of English football, I have not heard of one of those players. Not one!

Saturday Boy
04-11-2014, 06:20 PM

That reads like the list of ingredients on something bought from the super mercado :wink:

04-11-2014, 06:21 PM

Liverpool: Mignolet; Manquillo, Skrtel, Toure, Moreno; Lucas, Can, Allen; Lallana, Markovic, Borini.You never know ..that team might cause a shock .......if they manage keep the score down to at least 6 ...:greengrin

Bronson
04-11-2014, 06:21 PM
It's like they're trying to lose:faf:

A real 2 finger salute to any travelling Liverpool fans, that.

04-11-2014, 06:24 PM
Has obviously decided it's a no win game anyway so has rested players ahead of the Chelsea game.

04-11-2014, 06:25 PM
Why has Rodgers done this? Has he lost the plot? Scouse Hibee will be on valium :-D

04-11-2014, 06:39 PM
There cannae really be a guy called can can there?

04-11-2014, 06:42 PM
What happens if they get humped by 5 or 6? Would it just be shoved aside and forgot about?

04-11-2014, 06:42 PM
This team beat Swansea in the League cup, Real Madrid should be afraid, very afraid :greengrin

04-11-2014, 06:44 PM
What happens if they get humped by 5 or 6? Would it just be shoved aside and forgot about?

That will be an improvement on what the so called first eleven would have achieved.........................maybe!

Resting players for the Chelsea game? You don't rest your best players away to Real Madrid in the Champions League. A thrashing tonight won't help their preparation for Chelsea. If this goes horribly wrong, Rodgers might look back with regret.

This team beat Swansea in the League cup, Real Madrid should be afraid, very afraid :greengrin

Swansea play in white and come from a different country. Real Madrid play in white and come from a different country..

It's a NAP.

04-11-2014, 06:47 PM
The Bernabeu have giant heaters blowing down on the fans, i want them at ER for the colder months, get it sorted Dempster :agree:

04-11-2014, 06:49 PM
The Bernabeu have giant heaters blowing down on the fans, i want them at ER for the colder months, get it sorted Dempster :agree:

It's absolutely roasting in the top tier because of them. Especially when you dress without expecting it.

04-11-2014, 06:49 PM

Aye, and like they really need heaters in Madrid. They should all experience a Scottish winter, the big lassies.

04-11-2014, 06:50 PM
It's absolutely roasting in the top tier because of them. Especially when you dress without expecting it.

i bet they get huge electricity bills as well :greengrin

04-11-2014, 06:52 PM
Aye, and like they really need heaters in Madrid. They should all experience a Scottish winter, the big lassies.

i've saw a couple of players in our league with gloves on the last 2/3 weeks, it was the warmest October for yonks i believe

04-11-2014, 07:07 PM
Liverpool are doing ok so far. A couple of scares but they look comfortable in possession.

04-11-2014, 07:12 PM
1-0 Real, Benzema. :thumbsup:

04-11-2014, 07:13 PM
1-0 Real, Benzema. :thumbsup:

Pleasing............but at least they're in the Champions League :-(

04-11-2014, 07:15 PM
Pleasing............but at least they're in the Champions League :-(

Not for too much longer.

04-11-2014, 07:22 PM
Rodgers team selection a total 'Kop' out!;)

04-11-2014, 07:25 PM

Who needs heaters when you can pay £3 for cup of boiled water seasoned with beef stock to keep you warm!

04-11-2014, 07:30 PM
Been impressed by moreno and can.

04-11-2014, 07:32 PM
Rodgers team selection a total 'Kop' out!;)

To be fair despite my initial disbelief, on reflection he has left out a host of players who have simply not performed over recent weeks and replaced them with players who have been on the sidelines waiting their chance and have rightly been given it. Rodgers has based his decisions on form not reputations and you can't really argue with that.

04-11-2014, 08:18 PM
This Liverpool team has done much better than the so called full strength team did at Anfield against Real Madrid.

04-11-2014, 08:21 PM
This Liverpool team has done much better than the so called full strength team did at Anfield against Real Madrid.

Football Managers know best!

04-11-2014, 08:23 PM

They have, but the game is so boring. This is supposed to be the elite of European football

04-11-2014, 08:36 PM
Arsenal draw 3-3 after being 3-0 up with less than 30 minutes left.

04-11-2014, 08:37 PM

Coupon buster, but as a Spurs fan I near pished masel.

04-11-2014, 08:37 PM

Again pleasing.

04-11-2014, 08:40 PM

And bust my coupon, had benfica on it rest all winning comfortably, benfica gwt a late goal I start cheering then tune into ssn to see arsenal score! !!! Fuming

04-11-2014, 08:41 PM
Mission accomplished for Rodgers, damage limitation exercise. Set up team to stifle Madrid, not to win.

04-11-2014, 08:47 PM
Watched and thoroughly enjoyed the Arsenal game, if only to witness Wenger storming off in a huff at full time :greengrin Joking apart, what a signing they've made in Alexis Sanchez :agree:

04-11-2014, 08:52 PM
Watched and thoroughly enjoyed the Arsenal game, if only to witness Wenger storming off in a huff at full time :greengrin Jikoing apart, what a signing they've made in Alexis Sanchez :agree:

I noticed that too.

Ridiculous behaviour by him at the end, to not even offer to shake the hand of the opposition manager at full time. :bitchy:

04-11-2014, 11:11 PM
I noticed that too.

Ridiculous behaviour by him at the end, to not even offer to shake the hand of the opposition manager at full time. :bitchy:

He's been like that since he started, a terrible loser, he's not nicknamed Arsene Whinger for nothing. Although probably why he's been such a success TBH.

04-11-2014, 11:52 PM
Watched and thoroughly enjoyed the Arsenal game, if only to witness Wenger storming off in a huff at full time :greengrin Joking apart, what a signing they've made in Alexis Sanchez :agree:

I enjoyed this tonight J.

https://twitter.com/BrechinCityFC :thumbsup:

05-11-2014, 07:25 AM

Madrid is freezing in the winter. Can be a lot colder there than in Edinburgh. The snow can be mental at times. Add in the drop of temp from summer into winter and you soon get why they have heaters in Madrid.

05-11-2014, 06:59 PM
Empty seats at the Man City game. :faf:

green.and.white
05-11-2014, 07:09 PM
Empty seats at the Man City game. :faf:

Did I just hear the commentator say they were doing buy one yet one free on tickets? If that's true, it's even funnier that it's that empty!!!

05-11-2014, 07:19 PM
There's a sameness about the Champions League and it doesn't hold my interest like it used to.

05-11-2014, 07:20 PM
1-2 cska

05-11-2014, 07:28 PM
There's a sameness about the Champions League and it doesn't hold my interest like it used to.

Barely watched a Champions League game in about 3 years. Very dull with the same teams battling it out every year. They don't even have to worry about the 'nouveau riche' gatecrashing the party as Man City seem the masters of implosion in this competition.

05-11-2014, 07:39 PM

:greengrin :thumbsup:

05-11-2014, 07:41 PM
1-2 cska

Pleasing.

05-11-2014, 07:47 PM
Pleasing.

Very :thumbsup:

05-11-2014, 08:15 PM
Manchester's top football team struggling again and look to be heading out.

05-11-2014, 08:16 PM
Manchester City are as poor as i have seen them in years.

05-11-2014, 08:24 PM
Manchester City down to 9 men.

05-11-2014, 08:25 PM
Man Citu have lost the plot here.

Pellegrini must be worrying about his employment prospects now. Out the Champions League and a mountain to climb to retain their title.

05-11-2014, 08:29 PM
Man Citu have lost the plot here.

Pellegrini must be worrying about his employment prospects now. Out the Champions League and a mountain to climb to retain their title.

Toure could have just cost pellegrini his job and cost the club millions in lost revenue. The ref has had a shocker though.

05-11-2014, 08:37 PM
Get it ****ing right up you City.

05-11-2014, 08:39 PM

This 😀

05-11-2014, 08:40 PM

This. Over £600 million spent since 2008, and that's now four successive failures in europe. Its both unacceptable and deeply satisfying.

05-11-2014, 08:50 PM
Did I just hear the commentator say they were doing buy one yet one free on tickets? If that's true, it's even funnier that it's that empty!!!

Yes, tickets were BOGOF, yet still couldn't fill it. Why are they expanding a stadium they currently struggle to fill? There are always ticket offers at City e.g. kids for a fiver, but they're available for almost every game.

05-11-2014, 08:53 PM
Yes, tickets were BOGOF, yet still couldn't fill it. Why are they expanding a stadium they currently struggle to fill? There are always ticket offers at City e.g. kids for a fiver, but they're available for almost every game.

Most city fans will be back to supporting Chelsea this weekend.

05-11-2014, 08:54 PM
Does this mean that there are actually some United fans who stay in Manchester?

05-11-2014, 08:56 PM
Does this mean that there are actually some United fans who stay in Manchester?

98% stay around London and beyond.

05-11-2014, 09:07 PM

Remember being in a pub in Collyhurst (rough as **** btw) with a group of very much Mancunian Man Utd fans singing this little ditty:

We paid for their home
we paid for their home
what a waste of council tax
we paid for thei home

They don't even go
they don't even go

There was another one along the lines of 'if you're from Manchester your're sure to be a blue, Moston, Collyhurst, Ancoats, Salford too. Well if you think this is true you're nothing but a fool because all over Manchester, United ****ing rule.'

Ironically I was down in Manchester to go to a City game. I wouldn't have fancied letting on about that in that pub though, or cracking jokes about Mancs not supporting United.

05-11-2014, 09:10 PM
Tom Cleverley has won more Champions League games than Manchester City have won in their entire history.

05-11-2014, 09:10 PM
English teams not that good as they think :faf:

05-11-2014, 09:16 PM
They are expanding the Empithad to 61,000. They have some of the cheapest season tickets in the EPL: I think adult prices start at £299, which is far cheaper than Hibs! Yet to regularly fill 61,000 seats, even with regular special offers, is something only a small number of clubs can do. They obviously believe it can be done, and at £299 for league games, perhaps it can; at least whilst the success continues.

05-11-2014, 09:22 PM
Remember being in a pub in Collyhurst (rough as **** btw) with a group of very much Mancunian Man Utd fans singing this little ditty:

We paid for their home
we paid for their home
we paid for thei home

They don't even go
they don't even go

There was another one along the lines of 'if you're from Manchester your're sure to be a blue, Moston, Collyhurst, Ancoats, Salford too. Well if you think this is true you're nothing but a fool because all over Manchester, United ****ing rule.'

Ironically I was down in Manchester to go to a City game. I wouldn't have fancied letting on about that in that pub though, or cracking jokes about Mancs not supporting United.

My family are in Urmston and Salford, where United dominate. I know a few City fans - mostly good folk who are in enemy territory, but a couple of wallopers who will only ever refer to United as "Munichs". Their bitterness is without limits.

05-11-2014, 09:29 PM

Thats what we did, we couldn't fill the stadium before expansion and still struggle to get half the capacity after expansion.

05-11-2014, 09:45 PM
Thats what we did, we couldn't fill the stadium before expansion and still struggle to get half the capacity after expansion.

True, HC, and the fact we're down to crowds of around of 8K says a lot about the state were in. Hibs are much bigger than that. It will be along slog win people back and attract new attendees.

05-11-2014, 10:12 PM

:thumbsup: hope it was a typical screamer!

05-11-2014, 10:28 PM
I'm certainly no Man Utd fan, far from it but their fans get some cracking songs going. They've been singing this for weeks regarding City's BOGOF deal for tonight's game...

http://youtu.be/7YNYArgz2SE

05-11-2014, 10:30 PM
I'm certainly no Man Utd fan, far from it but their fans get some cracking songs going. They've been singing this for weeks regarding City's BOGOF deal for tonight's game...

http://youtu.be/7YNYArgz2SE

Quality :-D

05-11-2014, 10:31 PM
Quality :-D

Catchy eh? Was stuck in my head for ages when I first heard it a couple of weeks ago 😊

05-11-2014, 10:57 PM
http://forums.bluemoon-mcfc.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=307432

It's only took 6 years for City fans to start acting like total morons.

05-11-2014, 10:58 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B1tdHzWCUAEgMGh.jpg

05-11-2014, 11:31 PM

Roasters!

06-11-2014, 12:53 AM
Have they forgot not so long ago play Scunthorpe and the likes in league 2 Jesus wept

06-11-2014, 03:48 AM
What are the fans on Manchester United forums saying about their own champions league game this week?

06-11-2014, 05:44 AM

City fans are quite right to moan.

Under these rules it appears that artificially bloated teams like city are bad yet artificially bloated teams like real Madrid and Munich are alright.
It's just a big swiz that's designed to keep the teams who they think will get the biggest international tv ratings at the top of the game. It's denying the public some much needed fresh faces as people are going to get bored of the same old teams.
Maybe they should come up with ways for other teams to compete rather than put obstacles in their way. Big money is the only way right now as there are just too many domestic and foreign glory hunters who have grannies from Salford or Barcelona.

If they had their way then everyone would pick one of these dozen or so teams to support and we can just forget about the rest of them.

06-11-2014, 06:13 AM
My family are in Urmston and Salford, where United dominate. I know a few City fans - mostly good folk who are in enemy territory, but a couple of wallopers who will only ever refer to United as "Munichs". Their bitterness is without limits.

Banter like that isn't good but from a totally neutral point of view, it's the United fans that are generally sounding bitter.

The top tier involves City and Chelsea who are competing for the title and the rest are scrapping for the CL places. I'm not sure United people are handling the fact that the glory and razzmatazz belong to the blue half.

They need to stop making up daft songs, concentrate on their own matters and effect change. They have been cities bitches for a while now and if they're not careful they will remain small-time.

06-11-2014, 04:23 PM
:thumbsup: hope it was a typical screamer!

Obviously. :thumbsup:

06-11-2014, 04:25 PM
Is the Celtc Europa League game on telly?

06-11-2014, 04:29 PM
What are the fans on Manchester United forums saying about their own champions league game this week?

Traffic in London is a nightmare.

06-11-2014, 04:41 PM
Is the Celtc Europa League game on telly?

BT Sport

06-11-2014, 04:52 PM
BT Sport

Cheers, HH. Might have a flick around the channels.

06-11-2014, 05:03 PM
Is that fog or smoke at the Celtic game? I can't see a thing.

06-11-2014, 05:07 PM
Spurs game on ITV4 for me, nae point watching the weegies!

H18S NX
06-11-2014, 05:17 PM
Is that fog or smoke at the Celtic game? I can't see a thing.......Fog m8.

06-11-2014, 05:19 PM
Is that fog or smoke at the Celtic game? I can't see a thing.

Giving it another 15 minutes to see if fog will clear, if not game will be played tomorrow.

06-11-2014, 05:22 PM
Spurs game on ITV4 for me, nae point watching the weegies!

Can't see them anyway. :greengrin

06-11-2014, 05:27 PM
Can't see them anyway. :greengrin

Aye, thats what I was meaning.

06-11-2014, 05:31 PM
Aye, thats what I was meaning.

:doh:

06-11-2014, 05:39 PM
1-0 Spurs - Townsend
1-0 Celtic - Johansen

06-11-2014, 05:39 PM
Celtic and Spurs both ahead

06-11-2014, 05:49 PM
2 0 Spurs - Kane. The boy looks to be a decent prospect.

06-11-2014, 05:54 PM
2 0 Spurs - Kane. The boy looks to be a decent prospect.

Why the f*** did i take Asteras in my bet, Salzburg winning Inter Winning and Napoli & Steaua to win in later KO games.

C'mon the Asteras :greengrin

06-11-2014, 06:00 PM
Good result for Dnipro, keeps the other bet going for the night.

06-11-2014, 06:03 PM
Should have scored then another good chance for Asteras

06-11-2014, 06:12 PM
4 sitters in a row they have missed. :grr:

06-11-2014, 06:25 PM
Pick up a coupon, decide who's going to win and then put the exact opposite.

I'll be back in a few weeks with enough money to bankroll us to success. :rolleyes:

06-11-2014, 06:43 PM
Celtic 1-1. Never heard of the opposition.

Lille v Everton should be a decent watch. 8.05 k.o.

06-11-2014, 07:28 PM
Europa league is pish now.

Should get back to knock out football, same with the champions league.

06-11-2014, 07:30 PM
Europa league is pish now.

Should get back to knock out football, same with the champions league.

Champions league group stages are pish as well, don't even bother watching it now

06-11-2014, 07:35 PM
Champions league group stages are pish as well, don't even bother watching it now

Yeah, I've no got sky sports and I don't miss it. All the buzz from European football has gone for me (maybe a good job considering how ***** we are)

Dare say it'd change if we qualified again.

06-11-2014, 07:42 PM
Anyone know why lille are playing in aek Athens strip from the season they played us?!