View Full Version : Scottish Cup draw.(Hibs away to Ayr or Alloa)

03-11-2014, 08:05 AM
It's live today on Sky Sports news at 2pm.
Would be nice to get an easy home tie, please

Bill Milne
03-11-2014, 08:10 AM
In keeping with Scottish Cup tradition, we will get Sellik away and the ****bos will get a junior team at the PBS!!

Heedersnvolleys
03-11-2014, 08:15 AM
If we get anyone worse than Dundee Utd we will be fine. :wink:

03-11-2014, 08:22 AM
Spartans at home please

03-11-2014, 09:02 AM
Hearts away I can feel it in ma bones

03-11-2014, 10:04 AM
In keeping with Scottish Cup tradition, we will get Sellik away and the ****bos will get a junior team at the PBS!!

Except for last year when hearts got pumped 7-0 from celtic in their opening tie hehe

Alex1875
03-11-2014, 10:05 AM
Hearts away I can feel it in ma bones

I've also got a feeling it will be a rematch against the jumbos!

03-11-2014, 10:13 AM

Sadly not true. We've had a very decent string of home/good draws in the SC in recent years, esp under Fenlon which allowed us to get to finals. The semi draws in 2012 and 2013 were particularly kind to us.

Ell_Chrisso
03-11-2014, 10:14 AM
Hearts at home please

03-11-2014, 10:17 AM
It would be nice to get a home tie against the rangers as I don't think we have ever played them in the Scottish Cup and on the strength of the league match at their place it should be a nice wee warm up for the next round.

03-11-2014, 10:33 AM
Home tie against a 'non league' team please:aok: When are ties to be played?

03-11-2014, 10:37 AM
that was a sore one for Livi getting emptied out by Annan Athletic, anyway...we will get Morton at ER :agree:

03-11-2014, 10:37 AM
Brora Rangers away, please

03-11-2014, 10:46 AM
Home tie against a 'non league' team please:aok: When are ties to be played?

29/30 November.

03-11-2014, 10:48 AM
that was a sore one for Livi getting emptied out by Annan Athletic, anyway...we will get Morton at ER :agree:

Given their current off-field bothers, injuries and transfer embargo, I would imagine they'll be happy enough to have one less thing to worry about.

Staying in the league is surely their priority for the year.

03-11-2014, 10:57 AM
It wasn't that surprising either. They were horrible the other week. A lower league away tie for me :aok:

03-11-2014, 11:03 AM
Brora Rangers away, please

Now there's a trip!

Remember it well in the early 80s up there, beautiful wee place and loads of the locals were surprisingly friendly and a few Hibbies as well, Billy McKay who played for us for a wee while was in the hotel we were staying at and couldn't believe we remembered him! hell of a nice guy.

ElginHibbie
03-11-2014, 11:20 AM
Draw Elgin/Bo'ness away and Elgin to win that replay would do nicely :whistle:

03-11-2014, 11:22 AM
Would Arbroath away be too much to ask?

03-11-2014, 11:30 AM
Wee away trip would be decent to a lesser club,hearts or rangers ?

03-11-2014, 11:35 AM
A winnable home tie please

03-11-2014, 11:44 AM
Hibs v Bo'ness
Celtic v Hearts
Dundee Utd v Rangers

Would be the perfect draw. :aok:

03-11-2014, 11:47 AM
Now there's a trip!

Remember it well in the early 80s up there, beautiful wee place and loads of the locals were surprisingly friendly and a few Hibbies as well, Billy McKay who played for us for a wee while was in the hotel we were staying at and couldn't believe we remembered him! hell of a nice guy.

According to Google Maps, it's only a 4 hour drive. Fun day out I would have thought.

03-11-2014, 11:52 AM
According to Google Maps, it's only a 4 hour drive

Possibly now it is but with all those toilet stops and shopping visits on the way up our mini bus took considerably longer keekaboo.....:greengrin :wink:

03-11-2014, 11:54 AM
Possibly now it is but with all those toilet stops and shopping visits on the way up our mini bus took considerably longer keekaboo.....:greengrin :wink:

Yep, that's the fun part of it. :thumbsup:

FWIW, it would probably take me about 8 hours to get there, as I stop for coffee every 45 minutes, then for a pee 30 mins later

TheFamous1875
03-11-2014, 12:04 PM
As much as away days are fun (Killie Qtr Final last year was one of my best days as a Hibee), I'd like to see Hibs leathering someone in front of a big crowd at home. We need to garner the growing momentum within our support and get people back through the turnstiles and help the club get into this highly potential 'feel-good' factor. On the basis of our last three games and the potential we've shown in the build up to them, I don't believe there is one team we cannot beat in this country (bar Celtic without a load of Lady Luck, of course).

The best case for Hibs would to have good form this month and to get a good tie at home in front of a positive crowd, be that a 'scalp' such as Aberdeen, or a club we can bulldoze for 90 mins :thumbsup:

03-11-2014, 12:20 PM
Spartans home or away please.

03-11-2014, 12:25 PM
Spartans home or away please.

Do you think they would play it at Spartans if we were drawn away?

03-11-2014, 12:28 PM
I can't go on the 29th because of my lad's end of season rugby presentation, so it's inevitable we'll get my dream tie of Annan away.

03-11-2014, 12:35 PM
Do you think they would play it at Spartans if we were drawn away?

I think so. I don't think Spartans would want it moved, would be there first really big game at there new place. I was at Spartans v Livi and Spartans V St Mirren at the old City Park and the atmosphere on both occassions was brilliant, although there was 4000 people at they games, I'm not really sure that you'd be able to fit half as many as that in at Ainslie Park.

yogi_campfire
03-11-2014, 12:41 PM
It would be nice to get a home tie against the rangers as I don't think we have ever played them in the Scottish Cup and on the strength of the league match at their place it should be a nice wee warm up for the next round.

So we didn't beat them 3-0 in the fourth round under Mowabray at Ibrox then?

O'Connor, Sproule and Killen if I'm not mistaken. Cracking save from Sikon Brown in the first half from Bob Malcolm, Scott Brown played 60 minutes with a broken leg Brellier had given him the week before, 6 thousands Hibees behind the goals...

03-11-2014, 12:41 PM
I was at Spartans v Livvi at the old ground. How many does the new ground actually hold. I go there to watch Hibs under 20's, can't be more than 1000 seats at most

03-11-2014, 12:49 PM

O'Connor, Sproule and Killen if I'm not mistaken. Cracking save from Sikon Brown in the first half from Bob Malcolm, Scott Brown played 60 minutes with a broken leg Brellier had given him the week before, 6 thousands Hibees behind the goals...

I though scott brown got his leg broken by Ian Murray in that game?

03-11-2014, 12:53 PM
I though scott brown got his leg broken by Ian Murray in that game?

Nope. Brellier did it in the first ten minutes the week before. Don't think he even got booked.

03-11-2014, 12:54 PM

I think he may meant that was against a club that no longer exists....

03-11-2014, 12:55 PM

we haven't played the NEW rangers in the SC :wink:

03-11-2014, 12:58 PM
Given their current off-field bothers, injuries and transfer embargo, I would imagine they'll be happy enough to have one less thing to worry about.

Staying in the league is surely their priority for the year.

i guarantee the livi players/manager/coach and club treasurer will completely disagree :)

It wasn't that surprising either. They were horrible the other week. A lower league away tie for me :aok:

they were indeed pretty poor against us :agree:

03-11-2014, 12:58 PM
Is there an online link? :aok:

jon paul jones
03-11-2014, 01:04 PM
I'm a romantic...what ever happens in whatever round we get to, I'll be there to cheer the boys on

Cue Andy Williams the impossible dream

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-KufFjcWOUQ

I would love to see this being our Scottish Cup song every time we run out at ER (until we finally win it again)

03-11-2014, 01:06 PM
I'm a romantic...what ever happens in whatever round we get to, I'll be there to cheer the boys on

Cue Andy Williams the impossible dream

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-KufFjcWOUQ

I would love to see this being our Scottish Cup song every time we run out at ER (until we finally win it again)

I got excited there :wink:

03-11-2014, 01:08 PM
Never even twirled the baws !!!!

jon paul jones
03-11-2014, 01:08 PM
You couldn't write a song that fits our current situation so well....its not one for a footy crowd to sing but it fair gets the hairs on the back of your neck going

Weststandwanab
03-11-2014, 01:09 PM
Temperature dependent balls at the ready me thinks

03-11-2014, 01:10 PM
Hertz get celtic

Hahahahahahahahaa

http://www.reactiongifs.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/OMG-bird.gif

03-11-2014, 01:11 PM
Three years in a row without a win in the Scottish beckons.

03-11-2014, 01:14 PM
Away to ayr or alloa

Ayr or Alloa away

Weststandwanab
3 a's Alloa or Ayr away

03-11-2014, 01:15 PM
st johnstone v ross co
st.mirren v inverness caley
Hurlford utd/stirling alb v Raith Rovers
Sevco v Killmarnock
Hertz v Celtic (tee hee)
Q.o.s v Brora buns
Stranraer v Dunfermline
Elgin city/Boness utd v Arbroath
Falkirk v Cowdenbeath
Spartans v Morton/Airdrionians
Berwick v Albion Rovers
Dundee v Aberdeen
Annan v Brechin city
Ayr/Alloa v Hibernian....Mmmm
Motherwell v Dundee utd
Partick th v Hamilton

green.and.white
03-11-2014, 01:16 PM
Phenomenal draw all round, easy one (I hope!) for us and so many Premiership teams will be knocked out :thumbsup:

Don't fancy playing on that pitch at Alloa. Ayr win please.

A lot of big teams are going out. I'll take that!

How many times do we get drawn against Ayr? :yawn:

03-11-2014, 01:17 PM
Tricky couple of options there imo.

David Tanner informs us that the last time Hearts met Celtic in the SC was 2010.

Clearly kens his stuff...

When we play an Ayrshire team we usually make the final ..... just sayin' like :duck:

03-11-2014, 01:19 PM
On the face of it though, excellent draw. 10 Premiership teams drawn against each other, Hearts or Celtic (Hearts) going out, Rangers given a difficult tie, at least 9 teams in the next round will be Championship or below. This could be our year if we can somehow pull out a win against the mighty Ayr/Alloa.. :rolleyes:

David Tanner informs us that the last time Hearts met Celtic in the SC was 2010.

Was thinking that myself, did something not happen last season

Not the best teams for us to get drawn against, but the rest of the draw is a peach.

03-11-2014, 01:20 PM
st johnstone v ross co
Sevco v Killmarnock
Hertz v Celtic (tee hee)
Q.o.s v Brora buns
Stranraer v Dunfermline
Falkirk v Cowdenbeath
Berwick v Albion Rovers
Dundee v Aberdeen
Annan v Brechin city
Motherwell v Dundee utd
Partick th v Hamilton

Almost Half (at least) the SPLHELL will be out at the first time of asking.

03-11-2014, 01:20 PM
Phenomen all round, easy one (I hope!) for us and so many Premiership teams will be knocked out :thumbsup:
Seem to remember Ayr put us out of a cup competition not that many years ago.

03-11-2014, 01:21 PM
Top 14 teams in the league play each other.

Wow.

03-11-2014, 01:22 PM
Phenomenal draw all round, easy one (I hope!) for us and so many Premiership teams will be knocked out :thumbsup:

Ehm, you are aware of the score the last time we went to Alloa?

green.and.white

True, but we beat them comfortably in 2012 and look at our team then. If that bunch of no hopers can beat them, our team now certainly can

st johnstone v ross co
Sevco v Killmarnock
Hertz v Celtic (tee hee)
Q.o.s v Brora buns
Stranraer v Dunfermline
Falkirk v Cowdenbeath
Berwick v Albion Rovers
Dundee v Aberdeen
Annan v Brechin city
Motherwell v Dundee utd
Partick th v Hamilton

Fk me .......... half the premiership will bite the dust and the Yams could bite the dust too .... I can hear doors creaking open ...... again :greengrin

Awful lot of lower league teams will be in the next round...

5 all premier ties along with The Hearts playing Celtic and The Rangers playing Kilmarnock.

We did knock them out of the cup a year later with a worse team.

green.and.white

Have faith ae :greengrin

03-11-2014, 01:23 PM
Have faith ae :greengrin

Nah, Hibs and Plastic Piches don't go.

03-11-2014, 01:25 PM

We've improved since then. A tough game but absolutely nothing to fear.

C'mon the killie, hearts and hibs. Get the Glasgow teams tae ****!

03-11-2014, 01:28 PM
We've improved since then. A tough game but absolutely nothing to fear.

C'mon the killie, heartsand hibs. Get the Glasgow teams tae ****!

Nah :greengrin

03-11-2014, 01:28 PM
Almost Half (at least) the SPLHELL will be out at the first time of asking.

Fk me .......... half the premiership will bite the dust and the Yams could bite the dust too .... I can hear doors creaking open ...... again :greengrin

as long as the likes of Hurlford/Brora/Annan are still involved it's a worrying time for us :)

03-11-2014, 01:31 PM
Alloa v Ayr replay on Tuesday 11th

03-11-2014, 01:43 PM
Tricky couple of options there imo.

Was at Ayr game last week at Ayr, they were absolutely honking with Beattie leading the line for them, was pretty shocked when i seen that Alloa had drawn with them at the weekend, Ayr for the day out and a nice grass pitch or Alloa's dodgy plastic pitch.

I'll take Ayr rather than Alloa please.

03-11-2014, 01:46 PM
Cheat7 oot anywiy...:agree:

03-11-2014, 01:49 PM
Nah :greengrin

I know :greengrin

Celtic are the only team I'm worried about in the tournament. Draw them and we're probably out.

I want us to deal with the cheats ourselves :thumbsup:

RSS Bot
03-11-2014, 01:50 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/4897)

03-11-2014, 01:53 PM
5 SPFL teams at least will go out

03-11-2014, 01:55 PM
5 SPFL teams at least will go out

It's a good thing in a way but I'd rather play St.Mirren or Ross County compared to QOS or raith

03-11-2014, 02:00 PM
SCOTTISH CUP FOURTH ROUND DRAW
Posted at
St Johnstone v Ross County
St Mirren v Inverness CT
Hurlford Utd or Stirling Albion v Raith Rovers
Rangers v Kilmarnock
Hearts v Celtic
Queen of the South v Brora Rangers
Stranraer v Dunfermline
Elgin or Bo'ness v Arbroath
Falkirk v Cowdenbeath
Spartans v Morton or Airdrieonians
Berwick Rangers v Albion Rovers
Dundee v Aberdeen
Annan Athletic v Brechin
Ayr Utd or Alloa v Hibernian
Motherwell v Dundee Utd
Partick Thistle v Hamilton

Have they won since that final ?

03-11-2014, 02:01 PM
Some absolutely cracking ties in there

H18S NX
03-11-2014, 02:01 PM
Very happy,great draw all round.

03-11-2014, 02:06 PM
If we hadn't come out against A/A we were guaranteed a top 12 team, perhaps our luck is turning!

03-11-2014, 02:13 PM
Wins for us and them please..

03-11-2014, 02:14 PM
Apart from Celtic and Killie all the other prem teams play each other. A lot of top teams going out early......

Sent from my brain

03-11-2014, 02:22 PM
I don't want Hearts to win any game they ever play, especially in the Scottish Cup.

Wins for Hibs, C****c and Kilmarnock please. :agree:

03-11-2014, 02:24 PM
Here's hoping that Ayr come out in top in their tie against Alloa. Somerset Park is a real auld fashioned football park and we had a cracking tie against them a couple of years ago. There was a tremendous atmosphere in the ground that day and I'd cherish a return visit.

03-11-2014, 02:28 PM
5 SPL teams will be out at the end of this round. Could be more?

03-11-2014, 02:29 PM
Have they won since that final ?

Played 0, Won 0, Drawn 0, Lost 2. Goals for 0, Goals against 8.

That'll be a no then.

03-11-2014, 02:32 PM
Played 0, Won 0, Drawn 0, Lost 2. Goals for 0, Goals against 8.

That'll be a no then.

03-11-2014, 02:49 PM
Yams special relationship with the cup should be enough to see them through.

03-11-2014, 03:00 PM
Please God, I don't want a Christmas pressie or a Birthday Pressie ever again ( FACT ) if I can just have a little miracle and see Hibs lift the cup I'n May 15.

Also if we could also get promoted too, I know I'm asking for you to work overtime and then some but I've had some he'll to put up with on my footballing lifetime.

Anyway anything you can do to help would be gratefully appreciated and then some.

AMEN.

03-11-2014, 03:30 PM
What? No Rangers v Celtic???????? Perfect opportunity to boost sevco funds and these damned funny handshakers blew it.

03-11-2014, 03:33 PM
Decent allocations for both grounds at least, easily accessible too. Just need it confirmed for Saturday 3pm and its all good :flag:

03-11-2014, 03:56 PM
lower league opponents and away from ER is perfect draw for us. Will take big support to that one. Think this must be our year 👍

03-11-2014, 04:01 PM
I'd prefer if Ayr get through.

We get to play on grass and Somerset Park is a much better venue.

03-11-2014, 04:03 PM
Away to ayr or alloa

If it ends up being Ayr watch what you are doing in Glasgow Central on the way back people!

H18S NX
03-11-2014, 04:04 PM
Wins for us and them please.. I hate them even winning the toss up

03-11-2014, 04:04 PM
Alloa is closer 😊

EastCalderHibby
03-11-2014, 04:21 PM

they like to forget about 7 nils

EastCalderHibby
03-11-2014, 04:34 PM
Yams special relationship with the cup should be enough to see them through.

once the tic put 7 past them like last year the yams will be giving it the we just want to concentrate on winning the league
so no bothered about any cups blah blah blah :greengrin

03-11-2014, 04:56 PM
I'm just in and hadn't seen the draw. Who else burst out laughing when they saw Wet Farts v Celtc?

03-11-2014, 05:12 PM
If it ends up being Ayr watch what you are doing in Glasgow Central on the way back people!

Aye, if someone can keep their ear to the ground and tell us if its busy or not? :wink:

03-11-2014, 05:17 PM
Aye, if someone can keep their ear to the ground and tell us if its busy or not? :wink:

:singing:

"Ear we go,
Ear we go,
Ear we go ..."

EastCalderHibby
03-11-2014, 05:35 PM
I'm just in and hadn't seen the draw. Who else burst out laughing when they saw Wet Farts v Celtc?

me :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

03-11-2014, 05:52 PM
Really want Ayr for obvious reasons!!!

03-11-2014, 05:54 PM
Really want Ayr for obvious reasons!!!

How close are you to their ground, mate? Are you the only Hibby in town?

03-11-2014, 05:59 PM
Here's hoping that Ayr come out in top in their tie against Alloa. Somerset Park is a real auld fashioned football park and we had a cracking tie against them a couple of years ago. There was a tremendous atmosphere in the ground that day and I'd cherish a return visit.
hope it aint ayr as the ground is a total dump, portaloo that are honking even before they are used. alloa has a decent wee ground and the bogs are clean.

03-11-2014, 06:11 PM

Ear Ear.

03-11-2014, 06:30 PM
True, but we beat them comfortably in 2012 and look at our team then. If that bunch of no hopers can beat them, our team now certainly can
True:flag:

03-11-2014, 06:42 PM
hope it aint ayr as the ground is a total dump, portaloo that are honking even before they are used. alloa has a decent wee ground and the bogs are clean.
Yep, I've been to Somerset Park twice, and on both occasions I thought it was a dump, but it's either that or a plastic pitch.

03-11-2014, 06:43 PM
How close are you to their ground, mate? Are you the only Hibby in town?

About 15 mins walk mate. Surprisingly no, my brother came through for te 4-2 killie game and on the way to killie we saw one other hibby getting the bus from Ayr bus station to killie. Oh and by the way there is now a direct train from Edinburgh to Ayr and vice versa. I do see a few Ayr utd fans in the town centre but it's mainly The rangers fans here.

03-11-2014, 06:45 PM
Yep, I've been to Somerset Park twice, and on both occasions I thought it was a dump, but it's either that or a plastic pitch.

now you mention it probably better with the grass pitch and just put up with the manky bogs

03-11-2014, 06:49 PM
About 15 mins walk mate. Surprisingly no, my brother came through for te 4-2 killie game and on the way to killie we saw one other hibby getting the bus from Ayr bus station to killie. Oh and by the way there is now a direct train from Edinburgh to Ayr and vice versa. I do see a few Ayr utd fans in the town centre but it's mainly The rangers fans here.

Aye, Ayrshire is full of them. You're behind enemy lines there.

03-11-2014, 06:52 PM
Aye, Ayrshire is full of them. You're behind enemy lines there.

The mining communities all support Rangers, wonder how they all came to follow them from under the ground

TheFamous1875
03-11-2014, 06:54 PM
http://youtu.be/evELKdNszu4

Heard that it was a great day out and it looks like it was too. Wish I could've made it along on the day. GGTTH.

EastCalderHibby
03-11-2014, 07:02 PM
The mining communities all support Rangers, wonder how they all came to follow them from under the ground

well they are zombie's after all :greengrin:greengrin

03-11-2014, 07:29 PM
I like Somerset Park - pies are great !!

03-11-2014, 07:44 PM
I like Somerset Park - pies are great !!

Had one last Saturday, it was minging, :greengrin

04-11-2014, 09:07 AM
I like Somerset Park .....

No Plastic Pitch, no 'Gazebo', Hibs Fans in covered terracing behind the goals, home Fans giving out stick to the Hibs players, bit of atmosphere....

Proper Fitba'!

Bill Milne
04-11-2014, 09:09 AM
Except for last year when hearts got pumped 7-0 from celtic in their opening tie hehe

And, happily, the same result again!!

Leith_Hibee
04-11-2014, 12:01 PM
I was at Spartans v Livvi at the old ground. How many does the new ground actually hold. I go there to watch Hibs under 20's, can't be more than 1000 seats at most

Ground holds 3,000 and the stand holds 504. Why the random 4...disabled parking for wheelchairs.

Spartans have a wee chance drawing Airdrie or Morton. They narrowly lost to Morton in the Petrofac Cup 1st Round having given them too much respect. Last played Airdrie a couple a few years a go an narrowly lost.

oramhibee
04-11-2014, 09:09 PM

No, BostonHibee is right, we have never played Rangers in the Scottish Cup, although we have beaten the old Rangers in the Scottish cup!

05-11-2014, 05:07 PM
Looks like it will be a Saturday 3pm ko for us, as Sky/BBC have already announced their live games

Dundee v Aberdeen Saturday 12.15pm BBC
Rangers v Killie Sunday 12.45 SKY
Hearts v Celtic Sunday 3.15pm SKY

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=2986&newsID=13966&newsCategoryID=1

05-11-2014, 05:36 PM
Looks like it will be a Saturday 3pm ko for us, as Sky/BBC have already announced their live games

Dundee v Aberdeen Saturday 12.15pm BBC
Rangers v Killie Sunday 12.45 SKY
Hearts v Celtic Sunday 3.15pm SKY

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=2986&newsID=13966&newsCategoryID=1

Cannae wait :-D