View Full Version : Grammar Test

28-10-2014, 09:45 AM
Given some of the horror grammar on this site, thought it would be interesting for some to try this out. :greengrin

http://www.quizfreak.com/can-you-answer-these-12-common-grammar-mistake-questions/index1.html

28-10-2014, 10:09 AM
Grammar Master.

Never in doubt :smug:

28-10-2014, 10:34 AM
Given some of the horror grammar on THE THIS site, thought it would be interesting for some to try this out :greengrin

An extra word and a missing full stop, magic!

28-10-2014, 10:38 AM
My grammer is gooder than I thot.

28-10-2014, 11:12 AM
An extra word and a missing full stop, magic!

Sorted for you. :thumbsup:

28-10-2014, 11:33 AM
The answers to question number 1 is no. I can't, because the site isn't working on my browser.

Also, I'd have said the first question related to spelling rather than grammar.

Hibee_Lisa
28-10-2014, 02:23 PM
Grammar master. 👍

28-10-2014, 06:36 PM
The most annoying bad grammar I hear is the incorrect use of the word "went" as in "he's went".

A frequent miscreant in this regard is broadcaster Murdo McLeod on the BBC.

It amazes, and saddens, me that no one at the Beeb has thought to have a wee word in his ear.

28-10-2014, 07:09 PM
People promising to revert is my favourite one just now....I'm always tempted to ask what they are planning to revert to but I'm sure it would be lost on them!

Another one that's crept in recently is demised...as in 'the report was demised so is no longer available'...brilliant.

My all time favourite was when someone mentioned a fox pass...closely followed by a damp squid!!

28-10-2014, 07:22 PM
grammer mastar! 2 ezy?

28-10-2014, 07:38 PM
grammer mastar! 2 ezy?

Far to easy. :wink:

I got them all correct but, although my grammar is passable, it's by no means perfect.

28-10-2014, 08:21 PM
12/12. :aok:

I hate when I hear bad grammar.

The worst ones are people who say "I done something" instead of "I did something" and also "He's went to there already" instead of "He's gone there already" :grr:

28-10-2014, 09:09 PM
It was too easy, full marks even with a scouse accent.

28-10-2014, 10:07 PM
The most annoying bad grammar I hear is the incorrect use of the word "went" as in "he's went".

It amazes, and saddens, me that no one at the Beeb has thought to have a wee word in his ear.

Is that bad grammar or regional grammar? "He's went" is quite usual in Scotland, particularly in the West and also in Northern Ireland. Standard English and standard Scottish dialect are not always the same.

My pet hates are "wir" and "wean" for "oor" and "bairn".

28-10-2014, 10:14 PM
Is that bad grammar or regional grammar? "He's went" is quite usual in Scotland, particularly in the West and also in Northern Ireland. Standard English and standard Scottish dialect are not always the same.

It's bad grammar to say "He's went out".

It may be common to say things like that in certain parts of Scotland but it's down to a lack of education and understanding of the English language. Just because a lot of people say it that way, doesn't make it right.

28-10-2014, 10:37 PM
It's bad grammar to say "He's went out".

It may be common to say things like that in certain parts of Scotland but it's down to a lack of education and understanding of the English language. Just because a lot of people say it that way, doesn't make it right.

Who decides what's right? By stating that something that's normal speech in an area of a country is incorrect and down to inferior education you're telling people outside a ruling elite that they're not as good as the people who've been raised within a particular geographic area or the political establishment.

What's normal in middle or upper class London isn't necessarily right.

28-10-2014, 10:40 PM

Murdo is a grammar master compared to Derek Ferguson :greengrin The number of times I've heard him say things like "I've saw them a lot this season" or "he went and crossed it" and the likes

28-10-2014, 10:52 PM
Murdo is a grammar master compared to Derek Ferguson :greengrin The number of times I've heard him say things like "I've saw them a lot this season" or "he went and crossed it" and the likes

Praise the BBC. Where else could Derek Ferguson find employment? When Barry's your more intellectually gifted brother life must be tough.

28-10-2014, 10:54 PM
Who decides what's right? By stating that something that's normal speech in an area of a country is incorrect and down to inferior education you're telling people outside a ruling elite that they're not as good as the people who've been raised within a particular geographic area or the political establishment.

What's normal in middle or upper class London isn't necessarily right.

I totally disagree.

There needs to be a right and proper way of speaking a language.

I use Scottish slang words a lot in everyday discussions with friends and relatives but I would never dream of speaking that way at a job interview or when filling in an official document or anything like that.

I am often told by older relatives about the elocution lessons that they used to get at school and they seem to have died a death now which I think is a real shame because the grammar of a lot of younger people nowadays is shocking.

28-10-2014, 11:22 PM
I totally disagree.

There needs to be a right and proper way of speaking a language.

I use Scottish slang words a lot in everyday discussions with friends and relatives but I would never dream of speaking that way at a job interview or when filling in an official document or anything like that.

I am often told by older relatives about the elocution lessons that they used to get at school and they seem to have died a death now which I think is a real shame because the grammar of a lot of younger people nowadays is shocking.

You haven't answered my question about who decides what's right. I agree that a language needs a basis among different dialects, but I don't accept that when I use words or grammatical constructs that vary from the London norm that I'm wrong. What's regarded as correct is a political question. I've worked in an office where we modified our language when speaking to our southern colleagues. I doubt that they made a similar adjustment.

Elocution isn't about grammar, it's about clear pronunciation.

28-10-2014, 11:32 PM
You haven't answered my question about who decides what's right. I agree that a language needs a basis among different dialects, but I don't accept that when I use words or grammatical constructs that vary from the London norm that I'm wrong. What's regarded as correct is a political question. I've worked in an office where we modified our language when speaking to our southern colleagues. I doubt that they made a similar adjustment.

Elocution isn't about grammar, it's about clear pronuciation.

Writing/grammar, or however you want to term it is a) down to the person who writes it and b) in the eyes of the person who reads it.

There is no right and wrong - this thread could ramble on for a hundred pages and we'd still be no further forward to a solution.

Live with it - if you've worked in an office where you've had to change your writing style to suit others then it's maybe time to seek a new job.

I've scribbled away for years about food and drink and never once been hindered by being Scottish...although an English proof-reader does rearrange some sentences to take out the odd expletive :greengrin

Just try and read the first few paragraphs of a legal document and then tell me the so called educated ken something about grammar, let alone plain English.

It's an oxymoron.

29-10-2014, 12:04 AM
Writing/grammar, or however you want to term it is a) down to the person who writes it and b) in the eyes of the person who reads it.

There is no right and wrong - this thread could ramble on for a hundred pages and we'd still be no further forward to a solution.

Live with it - if you've worked in an office where you've had to change your writing style to suit others then it's maybe time to seek a new job.

I've scribbled away for years about food and drink and never once been hindered by being Scottish...although an English proof-reader does rearrange some sentences to take out the odd expletive :greengrin

Just try and read the first few paragraphs of a legal document and then tell me the so called educated ken something about grammar, let alone plain English.

It's an oxymoron.

As you say, there's no absolute right or wrong about grammar, as I was pointing out to Trig, However, the decision on what's right or wrong tends to reside in a political and geographic elite. In my workplace we modified our communications to fit into the central office. I doubt whether they had to make any corresponding change.

29-10-2014, 08:12 PM

Surely these are down to accent or vernacular merely?

"He's went" is bad grammar. Trust me!

30-10-2014, 12:13 AM

Elocution isn't about grammar, it's about clear pronunciation.

If you're talking about examples of sentences like "I done that well last night" or "I've went there before" then both of those are wrong, plain and simple. It doesn't matter about what people in certain parts of the country say, it's just wrong.

If you're talking about the examples you gave earlier of words like "oor" or "bairn", those are not examples of grammar and I have no problem with people speaking like that amongst friends and family (I've already said that I speak like that all the time when I'm speaking to people known to me). However I don't think it's appropriate for anyone to speak that way in a formal situation.

30-10-2014, 08:26 PM
I blame it all on Ernie Wise and the play what he wrote.

31-10-2014, 08:05 AM

31-10-2014, 07:59 PM

Oops :greengrin