View Full Version : Attendance for derby

21-10-2014, 11:39 AM
What we thinking, baring in mind its an afternoon K.O?

I'll go with 14000.

Gus
21-10-2014, 11:43 AM

21-10-2014, 11:50 AM

21-10-2014, 12:01 PM
Poor home support with a very empty famous five stand as usual.

21-10-2014, 12:08 PM
:hmmm: 12-13k, still undecided about going to this game, sick ****** fed-up coming away from ER after watching the away fans enjoy a day out at our expense(cowdenbeath game excepted) throw in a 12:30 ko time and attending is even more doubtful, at this present time anyway, i would like us to play all our games away from ER :)

21-10-2014, 12:14 PM
I'm looking after my wee granddaughter so my lad cn go to the game, so it'll be on the box for me, only home game I'll miss so far.

21-10-2014, 12:19 PM
Poor home support with a very empty famous five stand as usual.

Not sure there's such a thing as very empty.

Anyway I'll be in it.

andrew70
21-10-2014, 12:20 PM

21-10-2014, 12:21 PM
I think it will be poor maybe 11.5-12K not over 13k

yekimevol
21-10-2014, 12:21 PM
Online ticket map showing the side of all three hope stands as pretty empty, im going to go with 13,500. Really hoping that we get alot closer to 16,000 though !

duffers
21-10-2014, 12:29 PM
I think it will be poor maybe 11.5-12K not over 13k

I think it will be poor, but surely not that bad? They will have almost 4,000. Surely we will have more than 8,000?

21-10-2014, 12:31 PM

21-10-2014, 12:34 PM
I think it will be poor, but surely not that bad? They will have almost 4,000. Surely we will have more than 8,000?

We couldn't get over 8 thousand on a hibs kids day at the last home game, I know it's a derby but I don't think many will bother.

Aaron
21-10-2014, 01:01 PM
£28 on a Sunday, 12.15pm kick off, live on TV :rolleyes: so I say ~14,000

21-10-2014, 01:06 PM
Surely we can muster 10,000 home fans to bump it up to 14,000? Two of us leaving Leigh at 7am, don't fancy my chances driving a Citroen C1 in this wind though :greengrin

21-10-2014, 01:08 PM
A passionate Hibs support that has belief in their team will be in attendance. Pubs will be busy with punters getting lashed and who can't wait to put boot in.

bobbyhibs1983
21-10-2014, 01:13 PM
A passionate Hibs support that has belief in their team will be in attendance. Pubs will be busy with punters getting lashed and who can't wait to put boot in.

with regards the last bit of your post, putting the boot in, are you free to play sunday?:greengrin
i think we need a few players who ll do that !

21-10-2014, 01:13 PM
£28 on a Sunday, 12.15pm kick off, live on TV :rolleyes: so I say ~14,000

None of that would be an issue if we had made a flying start to the season.

21-10-2014, 01:40 PM
None of that would be an issue if we had made a flying start to the season.

Sunday 12:15 KO (brutal time for football BTW) and £28 would still be an issue for me, I will still be there anyway.

21-10-2014, 01:44 PM
14,007 i

21-10-2014, 01:49 PM

Stoney Hibee
21-10-2014, 01:50 PM
If they had left it on the Saturday I would have been there, but on Sunday I will be at Wembley for the NFL game which has been planned for 9 months now. I will probably spend most of the first half trying to get a 4g signal to watch the game on my phone - i am not too optimistic about this, at the last NFL game it was reception black hole!

21-10-2014, 01:58 PM
I always over estimate these matches, so Im going for 12184.

Less fans = better results, so Hibs to win by 2 or 3 goals.. :greengrin

21-10-2014, 01:59 PM
I'll be in Northampton at a wedding Sat night at least the venue has a big screen so manager will be in no doubt I'll be his 1st customer Sunday

21-10-2014, 02:26 PM
I expect they'll sell out their allocation and we'll have a very poor 10k or so.

So my guess is 14,000

21-10-2014, 02:33 PM
If we get 15 K we'll be doing well, IMO. Whatever the crowd let's create an atmosphere; the tramps will be in full voice.

21-10-2014, 02:43 PM
I expect they'll sell out their allocation and we'll have a very poor 10k or so.

So my guess is 14,000

They sold old out a week ago.

Ross4356
21-10-2014, 02:48 PM
It's very simple, if this game was on Saturday I'd be there. Will watch it in the house instead

21-10-2014, 02:57 PM
They sold old out a week ago.

They sold out when Mercer took over.

Juice-Terry
21-10-2014, 03:23 PM
It's very simple, if this game was on Saturday I'd be there. Will watch it in the house instead

Why?

Deano Mourinho
21-10-2014, 03:44 PM
Sorry no way paying that sort of money in this devision with that team on park it's exploitation not failure to support

andyf5
21-10-2014, 03:45 PM

21-10-2014, 04:33 PM

21-10-2014, 04:44 PM
Not going. First home game I'll have missed but I really don't like lunchtime kickoffs. If we were doing better and there was a bit of buzz about it I'd have gone, like I did the first derby of the season. But the whole league season now just feels like it's descending into us getting into third and staying there. I'll get excited again for the playoffs.

Was actually offered a free ticket and turned it down, so can't even pretend it's the 28 quid that's stopping me going!

Nutmegged
21-10-2014, 04:45 PM
Sunday 12:15 KO (brutal time for football BTW) and £28 would still be an issue for me, I will still be there anyway.

So it really wouldn't be an issue as you'd still make it, if we made the kind of start to the Season that Hearts or even Rangers have made then we'd be looking at 17/18k for this game, timing of a fixture is only ever an Attendance issue when we are crap

21-10-2014, 04:51 PM
Not going. First home game I'll have missed but I really don't like lunchtime kickoffs. If we were doing better and there was a bit of buzz about it I'd have gone, like I did the first derby of the season. But the whole league season now just feels like it's descending into us getting into third and staying there. I'll get excited again for the playoffs.

Was actually offered a free ticket and turned it down, so can't even pretend it's the 28 quid that's stopping me going!

Maybe it's time to change your user name to DampClothOverLeith? :greengrin

21-10-2014, 05:00 PM
I reckon around 14000. I'm undecided myself, have to say im much more excited atbout the dundee utd game and will definitely be at that

21-10-2014, 05:07 PM
I think 12-13000. Find it quite sad that it's all we can attract for one of our biggest games of the season but I guess it's just a sign of the apathy . Hopefully a sustained run of good results can start to draw people back.

21-10-2014, 05:20 PM
I think 12-13000 (tel:12-13000). Find it quite sad that it's all we can attract for one of our biggest games of the season but I guess it's just a sign of the apathy . Hopefully a sustained run of good results can start to draw people back.
Surely we can muster 12 ,000 hibs fans for a Derby They are due a defeat ,we are playing better and five games unbeaten . Was there at Livi and will be there on Sunday have never been Apathetic .Pissed off and frustrated at times yes but wouldn't not go just because I thought they may beat us ,as painful as that experience is
Think we need Silver to issue a rallying cry to the Troops :gwa:

21-10-2014, 05:28 PM
Remember folks although it's a 12.15pm ko, the clocks change on Sunday morning, so you get an extra hour, so it's the equivalent of a 1.15 ko😄

21-10-2014, 05:46 PM
Remember folks although it's a 12.15pm ko, the clocks change on Sunday morning, so you get an extra hour, so it's the equivalent of a 1.15 ko

Comes in very handy for me:thumbsup:

21-10-2014, 05:48 PM
Surely we can muster 12 ,000 hibs fans for a Derby They are due a defeat ,we are playing better and five games unbeaten . Was there at Livi and will be there on Sunday have never been Apathetic .Pissed off and frustrated at times yes but wouldn't not go just because I thought they may beat us ,as painful as that experience is

Our last home game attracted under 8000. I just can't see us adding serious numbers to that.

We are on a decent enough run at the moment and it should encourage a few extra along. Reading this thread, and the predictions thread, I don't think there is an issue with people not being able to go, I just think people don't really want to go. The early Sunday kick off might stop a few but if was roles reversed and we were 14 points clear of them then people would be desperate to go and would work around it.

21-10-2014, 05:56 PM
I'll be watching in a pub in Germany on my mates stag do. Was booked well before fixtures came out. Mix of Hibs/them on the stag

21-10-2014, 06:22 PM

Largshibby
21-10-2014, 06:24 PM

We all need to be there to support the team. Forget the disappointments of previous years because this is the next game against our most bitter and noisy rivals. Our luck against them has to change sometime and this is another chance. Forget about dodgy ko times because thats a crap excuse. Go to the pub after the game rather than before it. You might even have something to celebrate. I still recall the "we are unbeatable" fixture. The celebrations when GoC and Boozy scored were amongst the best I've ever experienced. Its shaping up to go the same way on sunday so why risk missing it?

21-10-2014, 07:18 PM
We all need to be there to support the team. Forget the disappointments of previous years because this is the next game against our most bitter and noisy rivals. Our luck against them has to change sometime and this is another chance. Forget about dodgy ko times because thats a crap excuse. Go to the pub after the game rather than before it. You might even have something to celebrate. I still recall the "we are unbeatable" fixture. The celebrations when GoC and Boozy scored were amongst the best I've ever experienced. Its shaping up to go the same way on sunday so why risk missing it?

yes got to agree the celebrations when GoC blasted the second past gordon the place just went mental, also they had a good side and ours wisnae that bad as well.

21-10-2014, 07:25 PM

Iceman1875
21-10-2014, 07:25 PM
I'd love to go but can't afford the £40 odd quid it would be for me and my daughter so tv it is...

At Easter Road we play...

21-10-2014, 07:48 PM
Any online ticket red dot counters around? :D

7000 season ticket holders, 4000 of them, few hospital and walk ups- I'll go for 14100.

21-10-2014, 08:16 PM
I'd love to go but can't afford the £40 odd quid it would be for me and my daughter so tv it is...

Pricing in the modern game is just crazy. It's a sad reflection upon the game when there are empty seats and fans willing to fill them, but ticket prices make it prohibitive. £28 adult ticket for the Scottish Championship, derby game or not, is unacceptable. There needs to be sensible pricing so all sections of the support can watch the team.

21-10-2014, 08:19 PM
Pricing in the modern game is just crazy. It's a sad reflection upon the game when there are empty seats and fans willing to fill them, but ticket prices make it prohibitive. £28 adult ticket for the Scottish Championship, derby game or not, is unacceptable. There needs to be sensible pricing so all sections of the support can watch the team.

If we had been on the same sort of run that Hearts have been we would be selling this game out easily. Price would not be an issue.

21-10-2014, 08:27 PM
If we had been on the same sort of run that Hearts have been we would be selling this game out easily. Price would not be an issue.

Perhaps, but that doesn't help fans like Iceman and his daughter get to games. For many fans the cost of going to football has priced them out, which is sad. The traditional working class fan simply can't afford it. The whole thing needs looking at across the game.

21-10-2014, 08:29 PM

Just because we'd sell it out I don't think that means it's not an issue.

I normally defend the club on ticketing prices but I think £28 for this game is outrageous.

I don't understand why cat a games need to be more expensive. I realise there's higher policing costs but why not try and get more people paying less than getting less people to pay more (that makes sense in my head)

Iceman1875
21-10-2014, 08:35 PM
Just because we'd sell it out I don't think that means it's not an issue.

I normally defend the club on ticketing prices but I think £28 for this game is outrageous.

I don't understand why cat a games need to be more expensive. I realise there's higher policing costs but why not try and get more people paying less than getting less people to pay more (that makes sense in my head)

Absolutely.

If the game was standard pricing I'd push to attend based on the fact it's the derby.

Surely 2500-3000 walk ups at £20-£22 would be better than 1500 at £28 a shot. I'm sure the unwashed would have something to say about it mind you!

21-10-2014, 08:40 PM
Absolutely.

If the game was standard pricing I'd push to attend based on the fact it's the derby.

Surely 2500-3000 walk ups at £20-£22 would be better than 1500 at £28 a shot. I'm sure the unwashed would have something to say about it mind you!

We cannot charge Hearts more than us. It means a lot more than 2500 to 3000 walk ups at £8 a time

21-10-2014, 08:51 PM
I reckon it will be between 13-14,000.

Can't see any of the three home stands being anywhere near full.

I'll be there though and hoping to see us really hammer those freaks.

FTH. 13691

marleyhib
21-10-2014, 09:02 PM
I'll be there with bells on 14420

Ell_Chrisso
21-10-2014, 10:00 PM

WellingtonHibby
21-10-2014, 10:29 PM
Remember folks although it's a 12.15pm ko, the clocks change on Sunday morning, so you get an extra hour, so it's the equivalent of a 1.15 ko

Nightmare for us on the other side of the world! - taken it from a manageable 12.15am ko to a Pain-in-the-arse 1.15am kick off!

21-10-2014, 10:42 PM
every derby we do this now, pointless imo. who cares really. 12500:aok:

21-10-2014, 11:25 PM
If they had left it on the Saturday I would have been there, but on Sunday I will be at Wembley for the NFL game which has been planned for 9 months now. I will probably spend most of the first half trying to get a 4g signal to watch the game on my phone - i am not too optimistic about this, at the last NFL game it was reception black hole!just you Tapir off then. if you aint goin, don't moan.whatever the result.

21-10-2014, 11:29 PM

Was actually offered a free ticket and turned it down, so can't even pretend it's the 28 quid that's stopping me going!can you get that ticket and pass it on to a real Hibs fan, that actually wants to go but cannot afford to spend £28, when he has rent/food/ gas bills to pay?

21-10-2014, 11:47 PM
I've missed a couple of home games this season, and don't yet have a ticket for Sunday but I'll be there. East Stand will be close to full, with lots of smokers aware that they can pop oot at half time for a "draw" . :greengrin

22-10-2014, 02:01 AM
I think it will be a similar crowd to the first game we played against them after the cup final. Far to many hibs fans have become scared of that mob for my liking.

22-10-2014, 04:40 AM
can you get that ticket and pass it on to a real Hibs fan, that actually wants to go but cannot afford to spend £28, when he has rent/food/ gas bills to pay?

That's actually a good shout. Iceman was saying earlier in the thread he'd love to be there with his daughter but it's too expensive. If SOL could get that ticket for Iceman, he'd only need buy a child ticket and there's two more Hibbies at the game.

Any chance SOL?

22-10-2014, 05:59 AM
My father in law is coming along with me and my son. He's over from Northern Ireland and isn't really too interested in football not having attended a match this side of decimalisation. I'm quite keen for him to attend as we've won all 3 televised games I've watched with him. As for the pricing, the £28 I spent on his ticket for this game doesn't really give value for money compared to my sons season ticket which was £25! Anyone who thinks they'd take an under 12 along to more than 2 games a season should get a season ticket for them in the ff lower, can't get much better value than that.

22-10-2014, 06:09 AM
I think it will be a similar crowd to the first game we played against them after the cup final. Far to many hibs fans have become scared of that mob for my liking.

I don't think folk are scared, as a support I don't think we have a lot to believe in at the moment. I would say apathy more than anything else. (IMO)

Slicer
22-10-2014, 07:09 AM
Nightmare for us on the other side of the world! - taken it from a manageable 12.15am ko to a Pain-in-the-arse 1.15am kick off!

Or 9:45pm :wink:

22-10-2014, 07:38 AM
My father in law is coming along with me and my son. He's over from Northern Ireland and isn't really too interested in football not having attended a match this side of decimalisation. I'm quite keen for him to attend as we've won all 3 televised games I've watched with him. As for the pricing, the £28 I spent on his ticket for this game doesn't really give value for money compared to my sons season ticket which was £25! Anyone who thinks they'd take an under 12 along to more than 2 games a season should get a season ticket for them in the ff lower, can't get much better value than that.

Yes, the £25 ST for youngsters is an excellent initiative that reflects well on the club. That's the kind of thinking we need when it comes to ticket prices. Football is so expensive now.

Iceman1875
22-10-2014, 08:52 AM
That's actually a good shout. Iceman was saying earlier in the thread he'd love to be there with his daughter but it's too expensive. If SOL could get that ticket for Iceman, he'd only need buy a child ticket and there's two more Hibbies at the game.

Any chance SOL?

Let me know! 👍 any help appreciated!

22-10-2014, 09:02 AM
I don't think folk are scared, as a support I don't think we have a lot to believe in at the moment. I would say apathy more than anything else. (IMO)

I'm not so sure. If you read some of the comments about the game you would think it's Barcelona we were playing. Our record against them is shocking but it's in our hands to change that. They're a well organised, fit and enthusiastic team, if we can match that then there's no reason we can't win.

WellingtonHibby
22-10-2014, 09:28 AM
Or 9:45pm :wink:

Aye! Lovely for Melbourne's contingent!

22-10-2014, 09:35 AM

I think the game is 11:15pm AEDT and 1:15am NZ time? :confused:

22-10-2014, 09:56 AM
I'm not so sure. If you read some of the comments about the game you would think it's Barcelona we were playing. Our record against them is shocking but it's in our hands to change that. They're a well organised, fit and enthusiastic team, if we can match that then there's no reason we can't win.

I'm inclined to agree with that. I also think it has a negative affect on the team when thee are empty gaps all over the place. Our derby record is garbage as we all know. But our two most recent wins against them at Easter Road, New Years game this year and the Scottish Cup win were played in front of two of the biggest crowds Easter Road has seen in recent times.

Slicer
22-10-2014, 10:12 AM

Or Darwinites

22-10-2014, 10:47 AM
I'm inclined to agree with that. I also think it has a negative affect on the team when thee are empty gaps all over the place. Our derby record is garbage as we all know. But our two most recent wins against them at Easter Road, New Years game this year and the Scottish Cup win were played in front of two of the biggest crowds Easter Road has seen in recent times.
I'm hoping there's going to at least be a big crowd in the East to try and roar them onto victory.

22-10-2014, 02:18 PM
I really hate it when they come out with "what a s***** home support" chant (see also below*) when I know Hibs do have a huge fanbase and crowd potential (certainly as far as Scottish clubs are concerned). That potential simply hasn't been realised for years.

Crowd-wise, it doesn't help that the club is trying to recover from a disastrous and humiliating relegation which I know for certain has alienated a large number of that fanbase. Add in a 12:15 Sunday KO, and live on TV, and I don't expect much of a crowd TBH. Maybe 13,500? Weather may be a factor too.

* I remember being at a derby at Tynecastle, back in the 70s, when the total crowd (Hearts and Hibs supporters) wasn't much more than 10,000 IIRC. They have very short and selective memories the Yaks.

22-10-2014, 10:22 PM
can you get that ticket and pass it on to a real Hibs fan, that actually wants to go but cannot afford to spend £28, when he has rent/food/ gas bills to pay?

23-10-2014, 12:03 AM
apathy has set in big style for a number of fans, me included sad to say, not frightened of the hertz at all but in recent years when the club has needed the fans to turn out we have been let down terribly, which just adds to the general malaise, ticket price for me is still an issue, its not value for money, we are run as a business nowadays and its not worth the money imo. :no way:

23-10-2014, 12:30 AM
£28 is taking the piss ..... it really is, you would think Hibs don't want a support on Sunday. If you want to go to the Dundee Utd match as well and take one child to both games that's £75 in a week.

I have defended Hibs on prices before, in fact recently. I get the reasons for SPL prices this season ..... but to continue with SPL cat A game prices in the current climate is undefendable ....... WTF are they thinking?

over the line
23-10-2014, 07:56 AM
£28 is taking the piss ..... it really is, you would think Hibs don't want a support on Sunday. If you want to go to the Dundee Utd match as well and take one child to both games that's £75 in a week.

I have defended Hibs on prices before, in fact recently. I get the reasons for SPL prices this season ..... but to continue with SPL cat A game prices in the current climate is undefendable ....... WTF are they thinking?

I agree. I am watching Sunderland v Arsenal on Saturday and my ticket is £27 (cheapest adult seats in SOL). Now compare just the wage bills of the respective teams (never mind the difference in leagues/quality etc) and I think that shows that £28 at ER is indeed a rip! Plus that game isn't live on tv, so people don't have the option of watching it at home or in the pub. Hibs should have priced the tickets at a level that would have filled ER and created a great atmosphere.

23-10-2014, 08:04 AM

They can't change it now .but agree when it's on television and they change to earlier kick off and crowd at last home game was so low then all these factors would indicate as a one off try something different . will be there as always but don't expect total crowd to be over 15 ,000 How much less will be an indication of some of the above and the apathy people are referring to in posts

Am going with more optimism than I would of had five to six weeks ago ,but they are due a defeat and our Home Form has to improve at some point ,so hoping the Football Karma Gods are looking to us . But our players need to show the same belief they did in first game at Tyncastle ,where until they scored we were matching them and when we went down to ten men we were at times outplaying them .Farid is a miss though ,he looks like he will revel in derbies ,and think Allan will use this stage to show us what he can do when on form . it's whether Stubbs plays a team that can read what he is going to do and react ,or whether he is going to change things and play safe . Imo lets just go for it ,am not interested in a dull 0 0 a point is no use .I want us to show we can play at home and are not intimidated by them ,even if we loose the first goal .Malonga needs to up his work rate in this home game and want to come out on top when it comes to him and sow in the scoring stakes
Asking a lot I know, but am fed up with journalists picking up on our record against them ,and only this set of players can change that with Stubbs tactically getting it right ,including subs this time .

WellingtonHibby
23-10-2014, 08:13 AM
I think the game is 11:15pm AEDT and 1:15am NZ time? :confused:

Deffo 1.15 for us UnZudders. I should ken Steve your coming to mine to watch it!

23-10-2014, 09:27 AM
I agree. I am watching Sunderland v Arsenal on Saturday and my ticket is £27 (cheapest adult seats in SOL). Now compare just the wage bills of the respective teams (never mind the difference in leagues/quality etc) and I think that shows that £28 at ER is indeed a rip! Plus that game isn't live on tv, so people don't have the option of watching it at home or in the pub. Hibs should have priced the tickets at a level that would have filled ER and created a great atmosphere.

Your ticket for Sunderland is massively subsidised by Sky. Hibs do not have that luxury.

23-10-2014, 09:30 AM
Your ticket for Sunderland is massively subsidised by Sky. Hibs do not have that luxury.

That's always an unfair comparison, though I agree about the Cat A prices.

23-10-2014, 09:48 AM
When we had over 20k in January it was £28. Irrespective of it being in the championship the standard of the game this weekend will be the same, arguably better than that day. People wanted to go then, and £28 wasn't an issue, because we were doing well at the time and Hearts were mince.

If we had won 9 out of our first 10 and were 14 points in front of then the game would be pretty much sold out already. I'm not saying the price isn't too high but it's not the reason there will be thousands of empty seats this week.

23-10-2014, 09:50 AM
I'll be there with bells on 14420

Its football not morris dancing! :-)

23-10-2014, 10:17 AM
Its football not morris dancing! :-)

That's a matter of opinion :greengrin

23-10-2014, 01:22 PM
When we had over 20k in January it was £28. Irrespective of it being in the championship the standard of the game this weekend will be the same, arguably better than that day. People wanted to go then, and £28 wasn't an issue, because we were doing well at the time and Hearts were mince.

If we had won 9 out of our first 10 and were 14 points in front of then the game would be pretty much sold out already. I'm not saying the price isn't too high but it's not the reason there will be thousands of empty seats this week.

Exactamundo.

23-10-2014, 01:33 PM
Yes, the £25 ST for youngsters is an excellent initiative that reflects well on the club. That's the kind of thinking we need when it comes to ticket prices. Football is so expensive now.

£5 for a child at the Dundee Utd match if you book now isn't bad. (£10 on the day)

23-10-2014, 02:39 PM
Sold out away end and crowd around the 13.5k mark .

Mathias Jack
23-10-2014, 03:17 PM

So my guess is 14,000

The tramps have indeed sold out their allocation...

23-10-2014, 03:24 PM

The possibility that it could have been the very last New Year Derby was an added incentive to a lot of people.

If that were the case this weekend, I bet the Attendance would be much bigger :wink:

23-10-2014, 03:34 PM

Is anyone surprised by this? They are riding the crest of a wave on a good unbeaten run, and are hoping to hammer us at hope (1-5 no doubt).

I just hope that we can put an end to this and be the ones going home smiling

23-10-2014, 04:18 PM

over the line
23-10-2014, 05:19 PM

Fair point,but it is still down to supply and demand isn't it? The club should set a price that people think is fair and reasonable. £28 does seem a bit much for this level of football and the attendance will suffer as a result.

23-10-2014, 05:58 PM

There would be something far wrong if they didn't sell all their allocation.

If the two teams league positions were reversed, how many tickets would Hibs sell?

23-10-2014, 10:01 PM

Quite possibly, but that doesn't address the issue of pricing in football and its increasing unaffordability to many fans. There's an issue beyond market forces here.

23-10-2014, 10:17 PM
Quite possibly, but that doesn't address the issue of pricing in football and its increasing unaffordability to many fans. There's an issue beyond market forces here.

I don't deny it's overpriced. But, say in this instance it was £6 or £7 cheaper, I still don't think that would make a massive difference to what the attendance. I was just looking at this game on it's own.

We all know that football is overpriced. I don't think it's likely to change. If we were doing really well people would make sacrifices to go. When things have been as they have been over the last few years, they won't.

23-10-2014, 10:26 PM

That's that then... :tee hee:

23-10-2014, 10:28 PM
I don't deny it's overpriced. But, say in this instance it was £6 or £7 cheaper, I still don't think that would make a massive difference to what the attendance. I was just looking at this game on it's own.

We all know that football is overpriced. I don't think it's likely to change. If we were doing really well people would make sacrifices to go. When things have be as they have been over the last few years, they won't.

People certainly do make sacrifices to watch their team, but there comes a point when the sacrifice becomes impossible due to paying bills and putting food on the table. British football has priced a whole section of fans out the game, which was in part a deliberate strategy to tackle the hooligan problem. Market forces is now the sole driver - charge as much as you can - though I prefer the German model of cheap tickets to include all sections of the community in the support. They could charge more but see football as more than a business, which it certainly is. Fans don't shop around with football teams.

23-10-2014, 10:43 PM
Scottish football is overpriced but if we were the ones sitting nine points clear at the top of the league right now, having not lost a single league game then the home allocation would have sold out weeks ago.

Ticket prices don't matter for big games when a team is doing well.

23-10-2014, 11:28 PM
Fair point,but it is still down to supply and demand isn't it? The club should set a price that people think is fair and reasonable. £28 does seem a bit much for this level of football and the attendance will suffer as a result.

You need to put the Sunderland ticket price ito context though - the club makes 4 times as much from TV revenue than it does through the gate. Without the TV money the ticket price would have to be £140. No danger is the quality on show at a Sunderland game worth 5 times as much as a game at Easter Road.

over the line
24-10-2014, 08:03 AM
You need to put the Sunderland ticket price ito context though - the club makes 4 times as much from TV revenue than it does through the gate. Without the TV money the ticket price would have to be £140. No danger is the quality on show at a Sunderland game worth 5 times as much as a game at Easter Road.

Crazy money isn't it? And to think that 20 odd years ago we were paying less than a fiver to see a game and I preferred the football back then. But maybe I'm just a miserable old tight wad!?!? ;):)

24-10-2014, 08:09 AM
To be using ticket prices as an excuse for not supporting your team in a derby is almost laughable. As some folk have alluded to, these people would have no problem stumping up the cash if the boot was on the other foot.

Quite simply we are getting down towards our core support these days, where are all the fans from new years derby? Cup finals? At times our support can be pathetic

24-10-2014, 08:12 AM
Obviously won't be anything like what we got last season when we had the biggest home derby attendance for years but I am sure those who go will make a decent noise.

Strangely looking forward to it - going in as underdogs - yams have everything to lose. Like any derby I don't care how well we play - as long as we just win!

24-10-2014, 08:23 AM
just you Tapir off then.

What does that mean?

24-10-2014, 08:47 AM
To be using ticket prices as an excuse for not supporting your team in a derby is almost laughable. As some folk have alluded to, these people would have no problem stumping up the cash if the boot was on the other foot.

Quite simply we are getting down towards our core support these days, where are all the fans from new years derby? Cup finals? At times our support can be pathetic

I don't think it is laughable. You may be financially sound but many people aren't that would love to be able to go to the game but just can't afford or justify the £28 entrance fee.

The excuse that annoys me is when folk won't go to tynie saying I won't give them the money. You're paying to see Hibs.

24-10-2014, 09:35 AM
I don't think it is laughable. You may be financially sound but many people aren't that would love to be able to go to the game but just can't afford or justify the £28 entrance fee.

The excuse that annoys me is when folk won't go to tynie saying I won't give them the money. You're paying to see Hibs.

So say it was more reasonably priced at 20 quid, you are telling me that the folk who are all using ticket prices as an excuse cannot afford an extra 8 quid? I can accept that there may be a very very small proportion who that can be genuinely said. The others are using it as a pretty rubbish excuse. Its a derby at Easter Rd, pretty normal ticket prices for derby matches. As i said before if it were Hibs flying high and looking like handing Hearts a doing then itd be a different story.

24-10-2014, 09:36 AM

And by the way im far from being financially sound

24-10-2014, 11:15 AM
The prices for Scottish Football are a joke and the sooner it's changed the better.

It softens the blow if you win or your team is doing well but for most teams this doesn't apply and I can fully understand why many are being priced out of the game and don't attend anymore throughout Scotland and England.

Think it's unfair to have a go at anyone who has more important areas to spend their money.

24-10-2014, 12:14 PM
The prices for Scottish Football are a joke and the sooner it's changed the better.

It softens the blow if you win or your team is doing well but for most teams this doesn't apply and I can fully understand why many are being priced out of the game and don't attend anymore throughout Scotland and England.

Think it's unfair to have a go at anyone who has more important areas to spend their money.

Whilst I agree Scottish football is overpriced, clubs are in a difficult position. We get poor money from sky and bt in comparison to England. Therefore if ticket prices are reduced, less money comes in and less money for wages. Generally resulting in poorer players.

When tickets are cheaper, the increase in attendance does not bring in as much as fewer people at the higher price. Motherwell tried this and it failed badly.

i get that some people cannot afford this price, but I do also think there are a fair number of people on here using it as an excuse when they wouldn't buy a ticket whatever the price.

final point from me. I am a season ticket holder, however I wouldn't have an issue if the club decided to reduce walk up prices for the rest of the season. It would mean I have lost out on the value of my season ticket, but I would prefer more people coming along to the normal games than we are currently getting. However they won't do that for the financial reasons above

24-10-2014, 12:54 PM
Looking at ticket availability they'll be plenty empty spaces in our 3 stands on Sunday. Should the result go against us on Sunday I hope our stay away fans don't criticise our players for lacking the bottle to face up to 'them' when quite clearly a large proportion of our fans are in the same boat.

As for staying away because of the ticket price, have they been to any games this season?, paid £22 to see the likes Dumbarton etc? Surely if money was that tight you'd give up a couple of games against a diddy teams to go along to support the team against our rivals!

With the odd exception I bet ticket price is just an excuse, why won't people just admit that they can't be arsed, prefer to watch it on tv, scared they'll witness another humping!

24-10-2014, 01:19 PM
So say it was more reasonably priced at 20 quid, you are telling me that the folk who are all using ticket prices as an excuse cannot afford an extra 8 quid? I can accept that there may be a very very small proportion who that can be genuinely said. The others are using it as a pretty rubbish excuse. Its a derby at Easter Rd, pretty normal ticket prices for derby matches. As i said before if it were Hibs flying high and looking like handing Hearts a doing then itd be a different story.

People have to make choices, particularly in these harsh economic times, LD. You say the extra £8 shouldn't make a difference, but in the context of £28 for the adult walk up, plus £14 for the child walk up, that's £84 for a family of four, for example, before programmes etc. There are thousands of families for whom that is impossible. It isn't an excuse for many, it's the reality of the cost of going to one match, and is by no means limited to a 'very small proportion'. Fans on low incomes or on welfare can forget it; there are more important things.

24-10-2014, 01:21 PM
I will be watching on tv unless anyone fancies paying my petrol costs :-)

patlowe
24-10-2014, 01:38 PM

It's not really about suddenly being dragged into poverty because of an additional £8, it's just that some people look at that price and think, generally, £28 to watch the current Hibs team in the current environment of Scottish football is pretty outrageous. I have no problem with people saying that they are just not willing to pay that. A line has to be drawn somewhere.

Having said that, to me this is all part of a wider issue in football and even society in the way working class people have been disenfranchised and priced out of football. It frustrates me that ordinary people (eg fans) are set against each other in arguments such as this rather than the focus being on the people that allow such a system to exist in the first place. Maybe one for another time...:greengrin

24-10-2014, 01:42 PM
It's not really about suddenly being dragged into poverty because of an additional £8, it's just that some people look at that price and think, generally, £28 to watch the current Hibs team in the current environment of Scottish football is pretty outrageous. I have no problem with people saying that they are just not willing to pay that. A line has to be drawn somewhere.

Having said that, to me this is all part of a wider issue in football and even society in the way working class people have been disenfranchised and priced out of football. It frustrates me that ordinary people (eg fans) are set against each other in arguments such as this rather than the focus being on the people that allow such a system to exist in the first place. Maybe one for another time...:greengrin

A good post, Pat. I share your feelings on the matter.

24-10-2014, 01:46 PM
Football is way over priced in Scotland. We need to stop trying to compete with England. Our clubs need to cut their cloth accordingly. We need radical changes. I would switch to summer football, it might generate a better TV deal, reduce ticket prices as well as tackling the ridiculously high catering prices. Bring back alcohol allow fans to enjoy the occasion. If games are to be on TV price them accordingly. A full stadium makes a better atmosphere and generally better TV viewing. Whilst £28 for the derby on Sunday is a joke I actuall think that £22 for games against part time sides is a bigger farce.

Anyway regardless of how many fans turn up I hope to god that our team does.

24-10-2014, 01:59 PM
Football is way over priced in Scotland. We need to stop trying to compete with England. Our clubs need to cut their cloth accordingly. We need radical changes. I would switch to summer football, it might generate a better TV deal, reduce ticket prices as well as tackling the ridiculously high catering prices. Bring back alcohol allow fans to enjoy the occasion. If games are to be on TV price them accordingly. A full stadium makes a better atmosphere and generally better TV viewing. Whilst £28 for the derby on Sunday is a joke I actuall think that £22 for games against part time sides is a bigger farce.

Anyway regardless of how many fans turn up I hope to god that our team does.

Excellent post Lucky. :top marks

My only concern with summer football is how are we going to cope in the latter stages of the Champions league in the off season ? :greengrin

24-10-2014, 02:17 PM

Quite a few folk have responded to the cost bit of your post but I think the bit in bold is a tad unfair.

Look at the last few home games of last season when we were really up against it and things had become desperate. The support came out in their droves. Simple fact is a lot of folk are still scunnered at how last season panned out - on top on the continual decline over the previous 5 years or so - and it will take more than a derby to get them back along to ER any time soon.

24-10-2014, 02:31 PM
Quite a few folk have responded to the cost bit of your post but I think the bit in bold is a tad unfair.

Look at the last few home games of last season when we were really up against it and things had become desperate. The support came out in their droves. Simple fact is a lot of folk are still scunnered at how last season panned out - on top on the continual decline over the previous 5 years or so - and it will take more than a derby to get them back along to ER any time soon.

I've said my bit on this thread about feeling that the cost thing won't be the major factor in the empty seats we'll see on Sunday. I think your second paragraph is more the reason.

We all know that Hibs fans have turned out and been let down plenty times. My worry this week is more the lift it might give that lot running out and having a packed away end behind them whilst we've got a lot of empty seats in ours. A derby should be packed out. It takes away from the atmosphere for me when it's not.

24-10-2014, 04:37 PM

I just cannot stand the fact that i will go and support my team on Sunday, because thats just what you do going into a derby, and i ll take my medicine if its another doing while about 6000 fans will be missing from the last derby at easter road where we were strong favourites to win. I honestly dont care what anyone says, we have a brilliant hard core support, but to lose 6000 fans in 10 months for a derby is a joke, fans like that dont deserve having a team to watch. A home derby whoever you are should mean a strong home following , intimidating the opposition.. Our fans do the opposite!

24-10-2014, 05:04 PM
It's been said before but it's worth repeating...

There are different levels of devotion to your team.

From the supporters that go to every match regardless of the cost down to those that just read the result in the Paper. People also change groups over time. Some folk that now go to only 5 or 6 games a season maybe went to 30-40 matches in the 80s or 90s. Some folk that are now arguing that they'd go to games no matter the price, and would go to Dingwall on a wet Tuesday Evening, might actually find themselves as part-timers in a few years when their circumstances change.

For the Fans that go only occasionally, maybe 28 quid is a bit much for them to go watch Hibs get beat yet again by Hearts. If Hibs were vast favourites for the game, they might then think 28 quid was a fair price.

24-10-2014, 05:11 PM
I just cannot stand the fact that i will go and support my team on Sunday, because thats just what you do going into a derby, and i ll take my medicine if its another doing while about 6000 fans will be missing from the last derby at easter road where we were strong favourites to win. I honestly dont care what anyone says, we have a brilliant hard core support, but to lose 6000 fans in 10 months for a derby is a joke, fans like that dont deserve having a team to watch. A home derby whoever you are should mean a strong home following , intimidating the opposition.. Our fans do the opposite!

If Hearts were in our boat, and it was Tynecastle, then you would see empty spaces in their stand. To get much more than 10000 Hibs fans to this derby would have been impressive considering the last 5 + years. A New year derby is different anyway, so not fair to compare. Anyway packed stadiums while great to see aren't always an indicator of a positive support. The first derby after the Cup Final was in front a very small Hibs support, and yet we out sung those welchers.

24-10-2014, 06:15 PM
It's been said before but it's worth repeating...

There are different levels of devotion to your team.

From the supporters that go to every match regardless of the cost down to those that just read the result in the Paper. People also change groups over time. Some folk that now go to only 5 or 6 games a season maybe went to 30-40 matches in the 80s or 90s. Some folk that are now arguing that they'd go to games no matter the price, and would go to Dingwall on a wet Tuesday Evening, might actually find themselves as part-timers in a few years when their circumstances change.

For the Fans that go only occasionally, maybe 28 quid is a bit much for them to go watch Hibs get beat yet again by Hearts. If Hibs were vast favourites for the game, they might then think 28 quid was a fair price.

You are spot on with this. I've been in all of these groups depending on circumstances and finances. Folk also go with their pals and if they've stopped going it becomes even harder. What is for sure is that once people break the habit it's even harder still to get them back. A good team on the park is the only way. Onwards and upwards, roll on 3pts come Sunday.

24-10-2014, 08:14 PM
There are fair weather fans attached to most teams. We were on a great run going into the new year derby so it was obvious the crowd would be bigger. Normal service was soon resumed and the club are still feeling the consequences of that now. And to be honest, the derby record over the past 30 years would indicate that it wouldn't matter if there were 2000 or 20000 Hibbies in the stadium - chances are the balance would still tip in their favour more often than not.

sbell1875
25-10-2014, 12:56 PM
Just had a look online and it's not great. Middle of the East looks fairly busy with the extreme sides being virtually empty.

Famous Five looks sporadic at best with the sides fairly empty.

West Stand - Embarrassing.

I'll got for no more than 13,000.

25-10-2014, 01:12 PM
Probably been said already but if we were top of the league, unbeaten and 14 points clear of Hearts right now, we would be filling the stadium for tomorrow's game regardless of ticket price or what division we were in.

Well done to all the Hibernian Supporters who will be going along to support the team tomorrow! You are the ones who matter!

25-10-2014, 01:15 PM
What time do they stop letting people into the ground? I've got a game in the morning and will struggle to get there for 12:15.

Hibeesforever
25-10-2014, 10:15 PM
What time do they stop letting people into the ground? I've got a game in the morning and will struggle to get there for 12:15.

Officially, I think about after 20-30 minutes into the game but what you can do is what I did for one of the final debacle games last season. With 20 mins to go against Kilmarnock, I marched to the front of reception, having been refused entry at two gates by overzealous stewards. Reporting in time to help avert what was just a potential crisis at that stsge, I was then allowed to walk up the tunnel past both dugouts, players and managers, to take a seat in the lower West! Exhilarating. It turned out, my presence made no difference but it was gratifying that the club overcame their pathetic rule whereby stewards do not allow season ticket holders in once the game has started.
I would recommend phoning the club in the morning to confirm their policy. Ridiculous that Season ticket holders get grief for arriving late.

25-10-2014, 10:52 PM
Probably been said already but if we were top of the league, unbeaten and 14 points clear of Hearts right now, we would be filling the stadium for tomorrow's game regardless of ticket price or what division we were in.

Well done to all the Hibernian Supporters who will be going along to support the team tomorrow! You are the ones who matter!

Ta. :thumbsup:

macd123
25-10-2014, 11:25 PM

Agreed. We have always turned up in numbers when needed.

The only thing i would point the finger at the club \ supporters is not backing pat fenlon a bit more. We let sportsound, the scottish media and some of our fans succeed in their attempts to get him out.

26-10-2014, 06:56 AM
It's the derby ffs. It doesn't matter how ***** we are or how good Hearts have been, it's all about turning up and having a bit of pride. **** this 'aw we're gonna get pumped so I'm no gaun' pish, is it any wonder they call us a wee team with attitudes like that?

In my opinion if you are free and can afford it there's no really an excuse for missing it.

26-10-2014, 07:09 AM
It's the derby ffs. It doesn't matter how ***** we are or how good Hearts have been, it's all about turning up and having a bit of pride. **** this 'aw we're gonna get pumped so I'm no gaun' pish, is it any wonder they call us a wee team with attitudes like that?

In my opinion if you are free and can afford it there's no really an excuse for missing it.

Absolutely! As I said in another thread mate, they don't have a better derby record because of better players, they have it because of the mentality they have and we ***** ourselves from the *****! Every man and there dug should be down ER tomorrow, making it as hostile as possible for them and letting them know we are here and we won't lie down!

Our support has went the opposite way and turned into a bunch of pussies!

Hibeewilly
26-10-2014, 07:12 AM

I couldn't have put it better myself mate. I go to all the games and can't be arsed with the stayaway supporters who can afford to go. Does my head in reading their posts. We are Hibees daft through thick and thin - thats my motto:D

26-10-2014, 07:37 AM
How many of us will be there an hour early?

26-10-2014, 07:54 AM
Very disappointing. ..it appears some would rather moan on here than get along to ER and support their team. Yes we have all had a gutful these last few years but how can you justify not going to support your team in a Derby if your free and got the cash??

26-10-2014, 08:07 AM

Agree 100%

26-10-2014, 08:34 AM

26-10-2014, 08:36 AM

Awful crowd if that is the case.

26-10-2014, 08:46 AM

At £28 there won't be many walk ups today, pish weather, early kick off and live on TV.

No more than 14000.

26-10-2014, 08:47 AM
Sadly it will probably be less than 13500

26-10-2014, 08:50 AM
Sadly it will probably be less than 13500

Pretty embarrassing that though need the ones going to really get behind the team.

26-10-2014, 08:55 AM
Enough of the "embarrassing" and "awful" chat please.

Everyone who attends today will be officially classed as both awesome and excellent. That's all that matters. :greengrin

26-10-2014, 09:00 AM

Well said Sean.

26-10-2014, 09:01 AM

Everyone who attends today will be officially classed as both awesome and excellent. That's all that matters. :greengrin

Everyone?

Only 3 stands imo.

26-10-2014, 09:01 AM

Sorry boss. :greengrin

Looking for an awesome and excellent win to put them in their place. A performance like the one at Ibrox would do the business. Can see Scott and Dylan running the show.

26-10-2014, 09:06 AM

That's my opinion too. We read all the time about that lot treating it as a bigger game etc. Well we can't moan at our players for treating it like any other game if that's exactly what our support are doing.

Stuarty27
26-10-2014, 09:10 AM

Spot on!!

Everyone who attends today's games are the people who should be remembered when it comes to dishing out cup finals tickets :)

26-10-2014, 09:24 AM

Spot on Sean mate. Couldn't agree more.

Really feel for those without season tickets, think I'd be struggling to afford 28 quid. Luckily don't need to though, buzzing, come on Hibs!

26-10-2014, 09:25 AM

And some of those 6000 used to be "hard core" but have simply had enough. Other than going bust, I can think of little else that Hibs could have done to disaffect its fans over the last few years. Frankly, it's a minor miracle so many have stuck with them after last season in particular. If Hibs don;t get their act together, losing 6000 fans will be the last of their worries !

26-10-2014, 09:45 AM
And some of those 6000 used to be "hard core" but have simply had enough. Other than going bust, I can think of little else that Hibs could have done to disaffect its fans over the last few years. Frankly, it's a minor miracle so many have stuck with them after last season in particular. If Hibs don;t get their act together, losing 6000 fans will be the last of their worries !

We are where we are. Now is not the time for a constant re-hash of the obvious it's about doing the Saville's on the park.

Tommy75
26-10-2014, 09:57 AM
Working today but I could have had the day off to go to the game. Instead I opted to take a midweek day off so I could spend time with the family. If I'm being honest, I would definetly have went today had Hibs invested in the team and looked like they actually wanted to get out of this division. The way I see it, the club don't seem to make any effort to attract the fans back so why should the fans make the effort.

26-10-2014, 09:59 AM
I'm going today as Hibs are my team. Not to support RP or STF, just to back the boys in green and white and hopefully :pray: see them do the fans proud. GGTTH.

26-10-2014, 10:06 AM
When the club start to prioritise the team, thats when i will think about spending my hard earned cash and spend my time and effort attending games. Until such time, i will attend periodically and just watch the tv games at home.

Yes this is a derby game, and i hope to god we win and will celebrate tonight if we do. :pray: But this club have to do a lot more to entice me back as a regular supporter.

TowerHibs
26-10-2014, 10:12 AM
When the club start to prioritise the team, thats when i will think about spending my hard earned cash and spend my time and effort attending games. Until such time, i will attend periodically and just watch the tv games at home.

Yes this is a derby game, and i hope to god we win and will celebrate tonight if we do. :pray: But this club have to do a lot more to entice me back as a regular supporter.

Yeah I agree. Don't get me wrong, been to a couple of games this year but not enjoyed them. Thought the team done ok in the games but some abuse the players got were OTT for me and along with the anger that the hierarchy has given me in the last 4/5 years means I no longer want to go....especially at £28 a ticket

Whataball
26-10-2014, 10:48 AM
Yeah I agree. Don't get me wrong, been to a couple of games this year but not enjoyed them. Thought the team done ok in the games but some abuse the players got were OTT for me and along with the anger that the hierarchy has given me in the last 4/5 years means I no longer want to go....especially at £28 a ticket

That's how I feel... But bought 2 tickets this morning. Cmon the Hibs.

26-10-2014, 11:08 AM
Police scotland apparently expecting about 16,000.

26-10-2014, 11:16 AM

This is nothing personal against yourself but it's a sad state of affairs when supporters who have followed Hibs here, there and everywhere feel so disengaged with the club. Spwaks volumes about those in charge.

26-10-2014, 11:17 AM
Stubbs said on his HTV Interview ita gonna be a fullhouse...

007 Mickey Weir
26-10-2014, 11:19 AM
16000 is a good crowd considering our form over recent years, price, kick off time and being on TV.

Come on Hibs!!

26-10-2014, 11:52 AM
Police scotland apparently expecting about 16,000.

Higher estimate = more officers' overtime paid for by Hibs.

26-10-2014, 06:48 PM
14000-something was the crowd today.

26-10-2014, 06:51 PM
14,562, not too bad all things considered

26-10-2014, 06:52 PM
Still pish for a derby but way more than I was expecting. Well done to all that made it.

26-10-2014, 06:54 PM
The missing 5,500 Hibs fans could have practically paid for the Griffiths fee

26-10-2014, 06:57 PM
So my guess is 14,000

I wasn't too far out then.

26-10-2014, 07:04 PM
Spin it any way you like but just over 10000 home fans at a derby is pathetic.

26-10-2014, 07:05 PM

Well said :agree:

26-10-2014, 07:12 PM
The missing 5,500 Hibs fans could have practically paid for the Griffiths fee

154,000?

5,500 × 28...

26-10-2014, 07:15 PM
154,000?

5,500 × 28...

The fee was £150k. Hibs.net fact

26-10-2014, 07:19 PM
The fee was £150k. Hibs.net fact

You would also have £4000 left over for Rod. His private whisky and cigar collection could do with a wee top up.

26-10-2014, 07:19 PM
I just cannot stand the fact that i will go and support my team on Sunday, because thats just what you do going into a derby, and i ll take my medicine if its another doing while about 6000 fans will be missing from the last derby at easter road where we were strong favourites to win. I honestly dont care what anyone says, we have a brilliant hard core support,but to lose 6000 fans in 10 months for a derby is a joke, fans like that dont deserve having a team to watch. A home derby whoever you are should mean a strong home following , intimidating the opposition.. Our fans do the opposite!

6000 fans had enough of giving money to a board that's largely indifferent to them ? How many fans has RP's continued-presence cost Hibs ?.