View Full Version : Ebola in Europe, be afraid, be very afraid.

07-10-2014, 07:11 AM
Nurse in Spain contracts Ebola after treating patient. Is this the modern day plague?

07-10-2014, 08:12 AM
Imagine Ebola started in Europe or the States - anyone reckon we'd be where we are now? Each of the US nationals affected have had life saving treatment: as has the British nurse. So a treatment exists...

07-10-2014, 09:41 AM
Imagine Ebola started in Europe or the States - anyone reckon we'd be where we are now? Each of the US nationals affected have had life saving treatment: as has the British nurse. So a treatment exists...

Up until recently there was no cure at all. It wouldn't have mattered where it was there isn't a health care system in the world could have coped.

Treatment now exists but its just experimental and intensive treatment is required, they're testing it on the hoof so to speak.

While its at that stage it might be quite easy to treat miniscule numbers, learning as they go along. But it would be impossible to give the same treatment if numbers increased the way they did a couple of years ago during the swine flu pandemic, 600,000+ confirmed cases, or up to a billion seasonal flu cases a year worldwide.

07-10-2014, 09:59 AM
Up until recently there was no cure at all. It wouldn't have mattered where it was there isn't a health care system in the world could have coped.

Treatment now exists but its just experimental and intensive treatment is required, they're testing it on the hoof so to speak.

While its at that stage it might be quite easy to treat miniscule numbers, learning as they go along. But it would be impossible to give the same treatment if numbers increased the way they did a couple of years ago during the swine flu pandemic, 600,000+ confirmed cases, or up to a billion seasonal flu cases a year worldwide.

The massive, and potentially critical, difference between Ebola and various mutations of the flu virus is in the way they spread. Influenza is an airborne virus that can be passed on in miniscule water droplets in the air, Ebola can only be passed on through direct contact with bodily fluids. Where a mutation/evolution of the virus to take place regarding the way it is spread then we would be looking at a potentially cataclysmic scenario. That really isn't overplaying it.

I recommended it on another thread but 'The Hot Zone' is probably one of the most terrifying non fiction books published. It charts Ebola and other similar fevers as well as the spread of HIV/AIDS from Africa to the wider world. The Ebola virus has been found in monkeys kept at a lab less than 15 miles from the heart of Washington in the past, completely undetected until the animals became ill. The African health system is completely unprepared and ill equipped for such outbreaks and their spread is inevitable.

07-10-2014, 06:50 PM
Heard an epidemic expert earlier on the BBC World Service claim that if the death toll curve continues at the present rate, then it won't be long until we reach a day where more people will die in one day than all the Ebola deaths prior to that day put together. Scary ****.

08-10-2014, 07:10 AM
The massive, and potentially critical, difference between Ebola and various mutations of the flu virus is in the way they spread. Influenza is an airborne virus that can be passed on in miniscule water droplets in the air, Ebola can only be passed on through direct contact with bodily fluids. Where a mutation/evolution of the virus to take place regarding the way it is spread then we would be looking at a potentially cataclysmic scenario. That really isn't overplaying it. I recommended it on another thread but 'The Hot Zone' is probably one of the most terrifying non fiction books published. It charts Ebola and other similar fevers as well as the spread of HIV/AIDS from Africa to the wider world. The Ebola virus has been found in monkeys kept at a lab less than 15 miles from the heart of Washington in the past, completely undetected until the animals became ill. The African health system is completely unprepared and ill equipped for such outbreaks and their spread is inevitable.

Yet somehow this nurse in Spain managed to get infected....very strange considering the precautions that they were surely taking.

Add in the fact that she delayed reporting her illness and questions need to be asked of her and the Spanish health authorities.

But ultimately it shows that despite not being airborne it would still appear to be a very difficult virus to control.

08-10-2014, 07:43 AM
Yet somehow this nurse in Spain managed to get infected....very strange considering the precautions that they were surely taking.

Add in the fact that she delayed reporting her illness and questions need to be asked of her and the Spanish health authorities.

But ultimately it shows that despite not being airborne it would still appear to be a very difficult virus to control.

Arrogance, complacency and basic human nature could spell catastrophe. This is not going away, it may subside for short periods but it will flair up again and again like it has for decades in Africa.

08-10-2014, 08:34 AM
Arrogance, complacency and basic human nature could spell catastrophe. This is not going away, it may subside for short periods but it will flair up again and again like it has for decades in Africa.

WHO now saying Ebola spread in Europe inevitable...

08-10-2014, 08:50 AM
Sky news asked an interesting question. What if some people intentionally bring it to the UK? It's not that far fetched to assume some elements might be considering this.

08-10-2014, 11:53 AM
Mrs Beefster has been updating me every day on the Ebola epidemic and how far it is from East Lothian since it became news. She's becoming increasingly hysterical about it too. That time they thought there might be a case in Falkirk or somewhere like that, I had to give her some of Auntie Agnes' valium.

I've tried telling her that the infection rate is lower than the likes of Aids and Influenza and we're still alive despite those being in Scotland but to no avail.

08-10-2014, 09:14 PM
http://www.cracked.com/quick-fixes/why-americans-need-to-calm-f234025-down-about-ebola/

article on cracked r.e. ebola.

08-10-2014, 11:15 PM
Average person touches their face more than 2, 000 times a day. This is it, the end, we're all ****ed and we're still nowhere near winning the Scottish Cup. Grim.

09-10-2014, 07:19 AM
While watching about it on the news last night my wee girl asked me why we don't just stop the planes from flying. Was a very random thing for her to do but has goy me thinking, if things do start to get out of hand, can we or more to the point, would we close our borders? With us being an island it can't be that hard can it?

09-10-2014, 08:08 AM
While watching about it on the news last night my wee girl asked me why we don't just stop the planes from flying. Was a very random thing for her to do but has goy me thinking, if things do start to get out of hand, can we or more to the point, would we close our borders? With us being an island it can't be that hard can it?

It's not going to come to that. However, if a zombie apocalypse does ever come about then yes, I think we would close borders and live in relative isolated safety. That is, until the zombies evolved, worked out how to use boats and tried to invade our island.

09-10-2014, 09:39 AM
It's not going to come to that. However, if a zombie apocalypse does ever come about then yes, I think we would close borders and live in relative isolated safety. That is, until the zombies evolved, worked out how to use boats and tried to invade our island.

Or walked under the sea. They are already dead so...

09-10-2014, 09:43 AM

There probably has to be a balancing up of the economic results of such a move, it could potentially cost billions of pounds to completely close the borders. Added to the legalities of such a move under EU law and also the inevitable outcry from the aviation industry. Versus the risk of a widespread outbreak of Ebola in the UK, which at this time remains minimal, then it's probably an extreme step to take.

The risk of person to person spread of Ebola if proper precautions are taken is still very low. Reports today are suggesting the Spanish nurse did not follow proper procedure when removing her protective clothing.

Wash your hands, don't go wading about in bodily fluids and avoid travelling to west Africa and you'll probably be fine.

09-10-2014, 09:55 AM
Some people have been watching too much of The Walking Dead! :-)

09-10-2014, 11:23 AM
Wash your hands, don't go wading about in bodily fluids and avoid travelling to west Africa and you'll probably be fine.

That's my average Friday night ruined until this has all blown over...

09-10-2014, 05:45 PM
There probably has to be a balancing up of the economic results of such a move, it could potentially cost billions of pounds to completely close the borders. Added to the legalities of such a move under EU law and also the inevitable outcry from the aviation industry. Versus the risk of a widespread outbreak of Ebola in the UK, which at this time remains minimal, then it's probably an extreme step to take.

The risk of person to person spread of Ebola if proper precautions are taken is still very low. Reports today are suggesting the Spanish nurse did not follow proper procedure when removing her protective clothing.

Screening at airports now a real possibility.

The nurse in Spain is also not the first trained medical person to catch Ebola. The fact that even trained people wearing protective suits are catching this is a concern. I said earlier that arrogance, complacency and human nature is our enemy, this is not going away anytime soon. It may again lie dormant for a period but it will flare up again like it has in the past.

Some people are comparing this to aids but that's just mental, this virus has the potential to snowball out of control and everyone who has contact to other people is a potential victim.

09-10-2014, 05:59 PM
Is the sky going to fall this week, or next week?

09-10-2014, 06:11 PM
Ominous news
http://uk.mobile.reuters.com/article/topNews/idUKKCN0HY1YG20141009

09-10-2014, 07:14 PM
Screening at airports now a real possibility.

The nurse in Spain is also not the first trained medical person to catch Ebola. The fact that even trained people wearing protective suits are catching this is a concern. I said earlier that arrogance, complacency and human nature is our enemy, this is not going away anytime soon. It may again lie dormant for a period but it will flare up again like it has in the past.

Some people are comparing this to aids but that's just mental, this virus has the potential to snowball out of control and everyone who has contact to other people is a potential victim.

You're right it won't go away, there have been sporadic outbreaks since the 70s.

I still think it's hard to judge just how serious a threat the wider European population face though, I stress again though that's IF proper precautions are taken. The spread had been so rampant in Africa because of poor sanitation, a resistance to medical treatment, poor disposal of waste products and delays in burying or cremating the deceased. With proper controls in place then a non airborne virus should be controllable in any country with 1st world medical facilities. Where that falls flat of course is when procedure isn't followed. According to something resembling direct quotes today the Spanish burse wiped her face with a gloved hand after cleaning the room of her patient, she had removed her facial mask and respirator which should have remained in place until thorough hand washing had taken place. The fact she was turned away from hospital twice, despite making them aware she had had contact with an Ebola patient, before initially being placed in an unisolated ward is a terrible failure of the system. Every suspected Ebola case shoulf be treated as positive until it is ruled out.

You have absolutely nailed it when you say it will be arrogance and complacency that allows the spread to continue. We have all the tools to prevent the spread, it's a hard virus to catch but mistakes and cutting corners can and will happen and they will lead to deaths.

09-10-2014, 09:00 PM

That would be illegal under EU law.

09-10-2014, 10:21 PM
That would be illegal under EU law.

I would hope EU law would be the last thing we were worried about in the face of a genuine extinction level event, which really is what this would need to become for us to even consider closing the borders. The impact to the economy (not just ours) if we shut up shop would be probably as catastrophic as the virus itself. Can't see it coming to that though, this virus does seem relatively easy to contain if we're careful and sensible about it.

10-10-2014, 05:22 AM
Rather than close our borders we could refuse entry to aircraft arriving from places infected by the disease, or any individual who has been in such a place before the incubation period is up.

10-10-2014, 06:44 AM
Ominous news
http://uk.mobile.reuters.com/article/topNews/idUKKCN0HY1YG20141009

Macedonia now saying there is a 'high chance' it wasn't Ebola that was the cause of death.

10-10-2014, 07:13 AM
I would be much more worried about this.

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2014-10-09/60-people-locked-building-after-4-suspected-ebola-cases-near-paris

10-10-2014, 07:14 AM
Rather than close our borders we could refuse entry to aircraft arriving from places infected by the disease, or any individual who has been in such a place before the incubation period is up.

But what if the person is coming from France or Belgium or somewhere like that? The infected person could travel via many different routes. Would we have been watching planes to/from macidonea (sp?). Are we gonna stop flights to/from Spain? What happens IF it does really take a hold there? Would we stop the 1000s who travel every day between the 2 countries? Then there's the whole ex-pat community who live out there. What we do about them?

10-10-2014, 07:22 AM
Airport screening seems more of a political move than a healthcare one.

Ebola isn't infectous until symptoms present. If someone boards a flight in Sierra Leone in good health how likely is it they will be showing symptoms in the however many hours it takes to fly to London? The disease has an incubation period up to 21 days so temperature readings seems a pretty ineffectual way of catching cases.

Many countries introuduced border checks when SARS was at it's peak, a far easier disease to spread and catch. The recorded number of people detected with the disease at these border controls? Zero.

10-10-2014, 08:23 AM
But what if the person is coming from France or Belgium or somewhere like that? The infected person could travel via many different routes. Would we have been watching planes to/from macidonea (sp?). Are we gonna stop flights to/from Spain? What happens IF it does really take a hold there? Would we stop the 1000s who travel every day between the 2 countries? Then there's the whole ex-pat community who live out there. What we do about them?

I'm not saying it would be easy but where there's a will there's a way.

If only one or two of those thousands travelling from Spain each day had the disease it could be catastrophic (I'm not saying it would be but certainly on the uncomfortable side of things), why take the risk to the nations health?

Expats is a good one, I know a few, more than a few. I'm sure they'll be fine in their country of choice till this all blows over. As a grossly unfair sweeping generation ... they dislike the UK, couldn't give a damn about the UK, scoff at the UK but make a very good gin and tonic ;-)

10-10-2014, 08:59 AM
To be fair I only heard it on lbc which is the audio equivalent of the daily mail. :greengrin

11-10-2014, 09:35 AM
A picture is worth a thousand words. (http://mic.com/articles/100618/one-powerful-illustration-shows-exactly-what-s-wrong-with-media-coverage-of-ebola)

11-10-2014, 09:55 AM
A picture is worth a thousand words. (http://mic.com/articles/100618/one-powerful-illustration-shows-exactly-what-s-wrong-with-media-coverage-of-ebola)

On a not dissimilar theme.

The contrast between an Ebola ward in London and Monrovia.

11-10-2014, 10:15 AM
On a not dissimilar theme.

The contrast between an Ebola ward in London and Monrovia.

It gives a perspective on how our concerns are a bit OTT in my opinion. This is about infection control, our hospitals are better placed.

11-10-2014, 11:52 PM
My sister's a combat medic and it looks like she'll be deployed to Sierra Leone soon and the chat is she could be out there for up to nine months. Great.

Pray to God the only thing she comes back with are a pocket full of diamonds!

12-10-2014, 06:46 AM
My sister's a combat medic and it looks like she'll be deployed to Sierra Leone soon and the chat is she could be out there for up to nine months. Great.

Wish her well.

12-10-2014, 10:29 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-29587803

I think this is just the tip of the iceberg.

How many people could the American have infected before he was diagnosed?

12-10-2014, 11:27 AM
Wish her well.

12-10-2014, 12:34 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-29587803

I think this is just the tip of the iceberg.

How many people could the American have infected before he was diagnosed?

How long is the incubation period?

12-10-2014, 12:40 PM
How long is the incubation period?

2-21 days and people are infectuous as soon as they begin showing symptoms, although it can be passed on through semen for up to 4 months after resolution.

12-10-2014, 12:41 PM
2-21 days.

Certainly a cause for concern. :agree:

12-10-2014, 06:31 PM
I've had the trotts and been spewing like an auld dug for the past 12 hours, luckily no blood from my erse or any other orifices yet so I'm not ready for quarantine. Will keep everyone updated, colour of stuff etc, do you get Sky Sports in an NHS quarantine set up?

12-10-2014, 06:36 PM
I've had the trotts and been spewing like an auld dug for the past 12 hours, luckily no blood from my erse or any other orifices yet so I'm not ready for quarantine. Will keep everyone updated, colour of stuff etc, do you get Sky Sports in an NHS quarantine set up?

In an Independent Scotland, yes. Oops wrong thread, sorry.

12-10-2014, 07:16 PM
In an Independent Scotland, yes. Oops wrong thread, sorry.

As if my blood pressure wasn't high enough already........ :greengrin

13-10-2014, 04:31 PM
although it can be passed on through semen for up to 4 months after resolution.

Being straight and not attracted to sailors, I don't see how this could pose a serious threat.

Do you have a thing, in that sense I mean, that may put you at risk?

13-10-2014, 04:35 PM
Being straight and not attracted to sailors, I don't see how this could pose a serious threat.

Do you have a thing, in that sense I mean, that may put you at risk?

No but your Mrs might have!

13-10-2014, 05:14 PM
No but your Mrs might have!

Lol. Awesome.😊

14-10-2014, 10:41 AM
So.....If we cant close our borders and shut down the airports, why don't they stop flights from leaving West Africa?

17-10-2014, 09:19 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/oct/17/downing-street-ebola-panic-politics-of-fear-sars-bird-flu

Another take on it...

21-10-2014, 12:19 PM

Just watched the news and saw the medics heading over there. Tell your sis to stay safe Sean.

11-11-2014, 09:20 PM
How's your sister getting on sean?

12-11-2014, 01:36 PM
Ebola was bad enough but see some stupid ******* ended up shutting off half of Bathgate this morning because he called 999 terrified he had contracted anthrax!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-30019396

I shouldn't laugh...:greengrin

08-12-2014, 09:58 AM
I've been afraid for quite some time now, and I wonder if I can stop yet?

hibbybrian
08-12-2014, 03:01 PM
So.....If we cant close our borders and shut down the airports, why don't they stop flights from leaving West Africa?

why stop there - let's stop all flights from the USA :greengrin

29-12-2014, 05:43 PM
Possible case in Glasgow being investigated in a patient who has recently returned from West Africa.

29-12-2014, 05:43 PM
...and there we have it, the first case of Ebola confirmed in Scotland.

hibbymick
29-12-2014, 05:44 PM
Possible case in Glasgow being investigated in a patient who has recently returned from West Africa.

DAMN! you beat me to it :greengrin

29-12-2014, 05:53 PM
I heard soap and water is good at killing ebola, that's half of Glasgow at serious risk!

29-12-2014, 08:32 PM
I heard soap and water is good at killing ebola, that's half of Glasgow at serious risk!

Must be. They're flying the patient to a London hospital to recover.

EDIT: Actually its a bit bizarre. Why are they not being treated in Scotland?

29-12-2014, 09:34 PM
Must be. They're flying the patient to a London hospital to recover.

EDIT: Actually its a bit bizarre. Why are they not being treated in Scotland?

I assume this London hospital is better equipped to deal with such a case??

29-12-2014, 09:40 PM
I assume this London hospital is better equipped to deal with such a case??

Why isn't NHS Scotland equipped?

29-12-2014, 10:22 PM

Isnt there a specialist tropic disease clinic in London? A university attachment? I vaguely remember something about it

EDIT: Yes http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_School_of_Hygiene_%26_Tropical_Medicine

Might be why they are being moved?

30-12-2014, 04:45 AM

It's probably more a case of the London hospital being better equipped than NHS Scotland not being suitable at all. London has more private hospitals alone than we have nhs hospitals up here in scotland. As haymaker pointed out there is a specific tropical disease hospital down there and it would make more sense to send a one off case down there.

30-12-2014, 07:39 AM

NHS Scotland will be more than equipped to quarantine a patient and provide supportive care, pretty much all ypu can do with ebola. However there is procedures in place for cases like this and the tropical diseases centre in London is a world leader in care of such conditions with world class specialists on hand so as long as the number of UK cases remains small then it makes sense to refer cases there.

30-12-2014, 09:25 AM
The Royal Free Hospital have already treated an Ebola patient, so that's where that's where the most up-to-date expertise in this particular disease lies in the UK.

I read somewhere yesterday that there are 4 designated treatment centres in the UK (1 in NI and 3 in England, I think). If we were expecting a decent number of cases, I suppose they would be trying to build up experience of treating patients in each of these, and possibly in other units. We're not, so it probably makes more sense to concentrate on one centre of expertise, to give each patient the best chance. If the worst comes to the worst, Royal Free staff will be able to share their knowledge and experience with the other units.

30-12-2014, 02:05 PM
Apparently there's another case up north.

On a side note, passed through Glasgow airport last night. They have nothing in place for this kinda thing and have ONE small poster (about A4 size) on display about ebola and what to do if you've come from West Africa.

30-12-2014, 04:08 PM
Apparently there's another case up north.

On a side note, passed through Glasgow airport last night. They have nothing in place for this kinda thing and have ONE small poster (about A4 size) on display about ebola and what to do if you've come from West Africa.

That's probably because there are no direct flights to Glasgow from West Africa.

Hannah_hfc
30-12-2014, 06:13 PM
Suspected case in Aberdeen now as well, though not confirmed

30-12-2014, 08:51 PM
That's probably because there are no direct flights to Glasgow from West Africa.

There's plenty of connections though and who's to say some bloke hasn't stopped off in Paris for a couple of days before flying over? One A4 sheet of paper telling you what to do if you have symptoms aint the greatest. Only reason I spotted it was because we were hanging about for about 45 mins waiting on our baggage.

31-12-2014, 12:49 AM
There's plenty of connections though and who's to say some bloke hasn't stopped off in Paris for a couple of days before flying over? One A4 sheet of paper telling you what to do if you have symptoms aint the greatest. Only reason I spotted it was because we were hanging about for about 45 mins waiting on our baggage.

I would presume he would be screened in Paris

31-12-2014, 09:08 AM
Unless you're a health worker or a direct family member of someone really ill, then you're at no threat whatsoever from Ebola in the west and this is likely to always be the case because of our advanced health care systems. The media is fermenting panic because it sells.

31-12-2014, 07:59 PM
I would presume he would be screened in Paris

Done the nurse passing through London the world of good.

31-12-2014, 08:51 PM
Begs the question if aid workers should be screened and kept in africa until incubation periods end? I may well be wrong but the cases in Europe have been aid workers?

31-12-2014, 09:52 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-30641705

Police are examining complaints about Ebola comments tweeted by controversial TV personality Katie Hopkins.
After news that a Scots nurse was being treated for the virus, Hopkins wrote (https://twitter.com/KTHopkins/status/549833905516204033): "Sending us Ebola bombs in the form of sweaty Glaswegians just isn't cricket.

Another tweet (https://twitter.com/KTHopkins/status/549831529010966528) said: "Glaswegian ebola patient moved to London's Royal Free Hospital. Not so independent when it matters most are we jocksville?

i've absolutely no idea who katie hopkins is but she's certainly outed herself as a little racist, and as for making a joke about another human being having something like that Ebola thing is seriously pretty tasteless...i actually pity her

31-12-2014, 10:04 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-30641705

Police are examining complaints about Ebola comments tweeted by controversial TV personality Katie Hopkins.
After news that a Scots nurse was being treated for the virus, Hopkins wrote (https://twitter.com/KTHopkins/status/549833905516204033): "Sending us Ebola bombs in the form of sweaty Glaswegians just isn't cricket.

Another tweet (https://twitter.com/KTHopkins/status/549831529010966528) said: "Glaswegian ebola patient moved to London's Royal Free Hospital. Not so independent when it matters most are we jocksville?

i've absolutely no idea who katie hopkins is but she's certainly outed herself as a little racist, and as for making a joke about another human being having something like that Ebola thing is seriously pretty tasteless...i actually pity her

She's a professional troll. Best ignored.

31-12-2014, 11:30 PM

Agreed. She's only breathing the oxygen afforded to her by the media.

This is not the first time she's made comments which border on the racist, but I genuinely don't care what she has to say and, like a lot of the comments made by other attention-seekers, I wonder if the way to deal with them is really to prosecute?

31-12-2014, 11:33 PM
Agreed. She's only breathing the oxygen afforded to her by the media.

This is not the first time she's made comments which border on the racist, but I genuinely don't care what she has to say and, like a lot of the comments made by other attention-seekers, I wonder if the way to deal with them is really to prosecute?

Just drop her in the middle of Glasgow and let her fend for herself. Actions and consequences.

01-01-2015, 03:09 AM
She's a fud. Best ignored. Contradicts herself constantly.

02-01-2015, 02:45 PM

Probably but 248k "follow" her.

therealgavmac
04-01-2015, 05:16 PM
Came across this thread rather late, but decided to stick in my tuppeny's worth..... As I have a bit of experience with Ebola....

Obviously there are different strains of this filo-virus, and they have been named after the place of the origin of their outbreak eg Ebola Zaire, Ebola Sudan.... and where I first had experience, Ebola Reston.... this outbreak was in a primate holding facility of a company I worked for, and based in Virginia.... The complete population of primates was wiped out, but two of the colleagues I worked with contracted the virus, but survived, and at that time this was a first - a non-lethal strain to humans.

If you haven't already read the book, I suggest The Hot Zone by Richard Preston which outlines the whole Ebola outbreak.... more frightening as it's not fiction!

In my opinion, the biggest risk outside of Africa is the sensationalisation by the press in the so-called developed countries - but as somebody has outlined it sells papers.

In addition, the work I do now is vaccine research and clearance, and of course the focus has been on ebola related vaccines. There has been some success where they had vaccinated a primate with a test vaccine, and subsequently injected same primate with ebola - and it survived. However, this is a case of introducing an immunity, and not a cure.....

,Sean....... thouhgts are with your sister, she'll be fine bud, following the good and safe working practices our service personnel undoubtedly have will keep her safe.....

15-01-2015, 08:07 PM
Suspected case in Edinburgh now.

16-01-2015, 05:57 AM
Suspected case in Edinburgh now.

She's tested negative

16-01-2015, 06:57 PM
She's tested negative

06-10-2016, 09:45 AM

She's back in hospital. Not sure if it's ebola related but it would be a concern for many who have had contact with her since her release if it is.

06-10-2016, 10:15 AM
She's back in hospital. Not sure if it's ebola related but it would be a concern for many who have had contact with her since her release if it is.
She'll be in and out of hospital for the rest of her life wife complications caused by having Ebola. There was a documentary about her on tv a while back. I don't think it's possible for her to become infectious again.