View Full Version : League Cup QF Draw - Hibs v Dundee Utd

23-09-2014, 09:57 PM
Who are we wanting in the draw?

I'll take the lowest ranked side at home - that'll be Rangers, then.

23-09-2014, 10:04 PM
Partick at home

GGTTH07
23-09-2014, 10:06 PM
I'd take either Patrick or st johnstone. Preferable home tie.

23-09-2014, 10:06 PM
Celtic at home or Partick at home.

Hibeewilly
23-09-2014, 10:07 PM
Rangers at ER please. Thanks. Just on our way back. A great feeling to have git the victory

23-09-2014, 10:09 PM
We're guaranteed to be the lowest ranked team left in the draw, regardless of what happens tomorrow, so we just need to go for it and see what happens.

We're in the quarter finals now having just beaten a Premiership team so we just have to wait and see what happens.

I hope we get St Johnstone, Partick Thistle or the winner of Hamilton-Motherwell.

Personally I would quite like to play Hamilton, to get a bit of revenge for last season.

23-09-2014, 10:50 PM
I'd like another Premiership team.

It's nice putting Premiership teams in their place when we're just a diddy championship club :greengrin

23-09-2014, 10:54 PM
Rangers at home would be wonderful

23-09-2014, 10:54 PM
Can only ask for a home tie.

craigmounthibby
23-09-2014, 11:06 PM
Anything but Aberdeen away - cannae be daein with another midweek away game that's miles away. I think we're still over an hour from Edinburgh. :wink:

24-09-2014, 12:33 AM
Rather we had an away game... we hate playing at Home for some reason.. :cb

24-09-2014, 06:55 AM
Fancy us against anyone

24-09-2014, 07:55 AM
Why are folks wanting to play rangers? We will play them twice at ER in the league.I want to play a big team from the premier league. Partick away for me.

24-09-2014, 01:26 PM
Is the draw seeded?

24-09-2014, 01:29 PM
Is the draw seeded?

If we get a home game against Partick i will do it from here.

24-09-2014, 01:35 PM
Is the draw seeded?

No

24-09-2014, 01:40 PM
If we get a home game against Partick i will do it from here.

:confused: Not sure I understand that :greengrin

Ross4356
24-09-2014, 01:47 PM
:confused: Not sure I understand that :greengrin

Is the draw after the game the night?

24-09-2014, 01:51 PM
Is the draw after the game the night?

After the dundee Derby

Ross4356
24-09-2014, 02:02 PM
After the dundee Derby

24-09-2014, 02:10 PM
Aberdeen away so I can go to the game lol

24-09-2014, 04:43 PM
Which game is on the tv tonight?

24-09-2014, 04:49 PM
Which game is on the tv tonight?

Sellick v Them ( BBC1 7pm )

smithy_hibees
24-09-2014, 04:52 PM
Rangers at home be decent :)

24-09-2014, 06:52 PM
St Johnstone or Partick at home, with the first ever meeting between Septic and Sevco Huns as a bonus.

24-09-2014, 06:59 PM
St Johnstone or Partick at home, with the first ever meeting between Septic and Sevco Huns as a bonus.

And Aberdeen v Dundee Utd as well (assuming United beat Dundee tonight).

24-09-2014, 08:39 PM
partick at home please

24-09-2014, 08:41 PM
Rangers at home!

24-09-2014, 08:42 PM
is the draw on telly?

OsloHibs
24-09-2014, 08:43 PM
..Here we go! Home please :not worth

24-09-2014, 08:43 PM
Hearts at home, hopefully. Can't imagine they've been papped out yet, have they?

24-09-2014, 08:46 PM
is the draw on telly?

No. Radio.

Green Reaper
24-09-2014, 08:46 PM
Draw on radio but not until Hamilton/Motherwell game finishes

24-09-2014, 08:50 PM
What a joke this competition is... Rather than have the draw on tele after Celtic game we have it on the radio at tannadice, and after the seedings joke with rangers with doing the draw before there tie was finished, we now have to wait upwards of 30-40 minutes for the Motherwell game to finish rather than stick them/them in the draw now as they did with rangers!

24-09-2014, 08:50 PM
Draw on radio but not until Hamilton/Motherwell game finishes

You got a link for it, its telling me its down for some reason.:confused:

shezer
24-09-2014, 08:51 PM
Any link for the radio folks?

MichelleHibs
24-09-2014, 08:51 PM
Saints away please haha

24-09-2014, 08:52 PM
Be Aberdeen at ER.

24-09-2014, 08:54 PM
Hamilton at home !

Saints away please haha

Hamilton at hame please.

What a joke this competition is... Rather than have the draw on tele after Celtic game we have it on the radio at tannadice, and after the seedings joke with rangers with doing the draw before there tie was finished, we now have to wait upwards of 30-40 minutes for the Motherwell game to finish rather than stick them/them in the draw now as they did with rangers!
Exactly, they've just done the league cup draw in England why do we have to be different

24-09-2014, 08:55 PM
I predict the Stickies at ER !!

Green Reaper
24-09-2014, 08:56 PM
You got a link for it, its telling me its down for some reason.:confused:

No link as listening on radio as can't get on my iphone, it's on 810mw if that helps. Hamilton game just starting 2nd half of extra time so draw should be in about 20 mins, unless there are penalties

24-09-2014, 08:56 PM
Exactly, they've just done the league cup draw in England why do we have to be different

Ironic after last weeks vote :wink:

24-09-2014, 08:57 PM
Any link for the radio folks?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17570248

shezer
24-09-2014, 09:01 PM

Thank you

24-09-2014, 09:02 PM

Hedlund12
24-09-2014, 09:09 PM
Listening to radio on Sky 0116 penalties in Hamilton v Motherwell

Green Reaper
24-09-2014, 09:10 PM
Penalties! FFS

lenny leith
24-09-2014, 09:14 PM
Complete utter joke. Why we have to wait on motherwell and hamilton finishing is stupid.....chick young does my head in

24-09-2014, 09:15 PM
All pens so far scored.

24-09-2014, 09:16 PM
4-4

24-09-2014, 09:16 PM
5 . 5

24-09-2014, 09:17 PM
5-5 sudden death.

Wighty76
Jesus wept. Are these goats on overtime or what?

Well miss.

24-09-2014, 09:18 PM
Hamilton go through!! 6-5 on pens.

accies thru

7-Heaven
Hamilton at hame please.

Ditto :flag:

24-09-2014, 09:19 PM
So can we have the draw now please! 😄😃

Celtic v The Rangers

Hibs v Aberdeen

That's what I'm going for :D

We'll get Hamilton.

Wighty76
Hamilton go through!! 6-5 on pens.

Finally.

home tie plz.

Finally.

home tie plz.

Hope so.

24-09-2014, 09:20 PM
Accies at home please :aok:

Celtic v Sevco
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
Partick Thistle v St Johnstone
Hibs v Hamilton

Boydyhfc
Hamilton at home.

24-09-2014, 09:21 PM
What a ******g joke.....radio only in this day in age.....

Celtic v The Rangers

Hibs v Aberdeen

That's what I'm going for :D

I reckon Celtic Rangers is a stick on.

Just to break their fans back in before the proper league matches next season.

Imagine losing on pens to Hamilton. Mortifying for Motherwell 😉

Wighty76
Hope so.

Result!!!

I reckon Celtic Rangers is a stick on.

Just to break their fans back in before the proper league matches next season.

Exactly what I was thinking.

Mon the cabbage !!!

Celtic v Sevco
Aberdeen v Dundee Utd
Partick Thistle v St Johnstone
Hibs v Hamilton

Is that Gen or a guess Trig?

24-09-2014, 09:22 PM
We will get celtc.

Green Reaper
Finally.........

Hibs are number 6

24-09-2014, 09:23 PM
What a ******g joke.....radio only in this day in age.....

And you can't even get the draw on radio if you are not in the UK. Well, at least not online.

Sevco v St Johnstone

Rangers v ST.johnstone

24-09-2014, 09:24 PM
Hibs v Dundee Utd

Hibees v Utd

Green Reaper
Hibs v d. Utd

Therein lies the problem of people prophesying

Hibs v Dundee utd

Dundee united

Off the bar
home v dundee utd

Hibs at home against Dundee United.

At home against dundee utd :rolleyes:

Aberdeen v Hamilton

Bang goes my theory then.

Hibs v DU at ER.

at home v Utd. easy!

wills
Rangers v st johnstone
hibs v Dundee utd
aberdeen v hamilton
celtic v partick

Wighty76
Did I miss something?

24-09-2014, 09:25 PM
Decent chance to get into a semi final imo.

Aberdeen v Hamilton

Sellick v Harry Wraggs

Celtic v Partick Thistle

Take that. No easy game in there.

They'll be happy with that !

mon the Hibees :flag:

Wednesday night presumably.

24-09-2014, 09:26 PM
I'll take that.

Hard game but it's a winnable game being at home.

green.and.white
Oh dear... That could be ugly if we haven't got our act together by then

Not a bad draw!!!

At home. They have not been playing very good.

Good tie!

Could've been better, could've been worse.

Could be better, could be worse

Wighty76

Yip. Go in as underdogs with nothing to lose.

Could've been better, could've been worse.

Snap!

Hmmm United at Home, that's going to be a tough one

******g nap Tims vs the rangers final (unless we pump the out in the semi)

andyt1875
24-09-2014, 09:27 PM
When are the ties due to be played?

Ehhhh we've drawn the Premier League leaders.????

Did I miss something?

Did you.?

Utd fan in my office is raving about them at the moment especially after Sundays derby win. Hopefully be able to give him a girfuy!

24-09-2014, 09:28 PM
When are the ties due to be played?

28/29 October.

Home tie, tough but could have been worse.

Would have helped if they had told us when the ties are to be played FFS

Happy with a home tie . Could have been better , could have been worse .

Wighty76
Did you.?

Yip. I missed the re draw

portycabbage
24-09-2014, 09:31 PM
Hibs v Dundee Utd

Hibees v Utd

Hibs v d. Utd

Hibs v Dundee utd

Dundee united

home v dundee utd

At home against dundee utd :rolleyes:

Hibs v DU at ER.

at home v Utd. easy!

Did I miss something?

Don't want to jump the gun here, but I think we're going to draw Dundee Utd.:wink:

24-09-2014, 09:31 PM
Didn't we beat Aberdeen at home in the cup last time we were in the 1st? No reason we can't go and beat another good side if we get a bit of luck. Bring it on.

24-09-2014, 09:32 PM

Hamilton won on penalties :greengrin

24-09-2014, 09:32 PM
Wednesday night presumably.

We play Hertz the Sunday before so most likely.

24-09-2014, 09:33 PM
Ehhhh we've drawn the Premier League leaders.????

Tough draw but preferable to either United, Aberdeen or Celtic away.

At home as underdogs I reckon we have a fighting chance.

24-09-2014, 09:33 PM
Don't want to jump the gun here, but I think we're going to draw Dundee Utd.:wink:

Aye we got Utd :greengrin

Wighty76
24-09-2014, 09:34 PM

Lol

you ou got a taxi number I can use?

portycabbage
24-09-2014, 09:36 PM
Aye we got Utd :greengrin

Source?

24-09-2014, 09:38 PM
Source?

portycabbage dont know if he's in the know though :greengrin

24-09-2014, 09:39 PM

Hibs got Dundee Utd. :greengrin

Off the bar
24-09-2014, 09:39 PM
Didn't we beat Aberdeen at home in the cup last time we were in the 1st? No reason we can't go and beat another good side if we get a bit of luck. Bring it on.

Stevie Crawford penalty if I remember right

24-09-2014, 09:43 PM
Stevie Crawford

Bronson
Source?

Can't say mate, not allowed.:duck:

portycabbage
portycabbage dont know if he's in the know though :greengrin

That guy's a clueless pr*ck.

24-09-2014, 10:59 PM
Homfc will hopefully try their upmost to soften us up, immediately before the cup tie, therby losing a player or 2 during the derby. Derbies are always nasty, and we usually come out as the baddies, with them getting the breaks. hope our manager realises whats at stake, and tells our players their place in the cup game is at stake for a start. win the cup game, your at hampden and playing a part!

25-09-2014, 12:07 AM
We gave them a good go in Pre season so that should give us the confidence as well as the fact we have added good players to that team

25-09-2014, 01:16 AM
Last time we were in the 1st we were humped 3-0 by St Johnstone. It was all over by half time. That was at McDiarmid Park though.

crash
25-09-2014, 04:34 AM
According to the official site the cup game is on Wed 22nd October, the Derby is the following Sunday.

25-09-2014, 05:48 AM
Dundee Utd Playing well. Hibs playing ( when they can be bothered ) however pre season we were by far the better team until several subs made at the same time.

Not saying Hibs will win, what I am saying is we've played very well against them pre season, we've just beaten a premiership team. Were the underdogs, but we should go out and enjoy the game and make sure if Utd do win they have to fight tooth and nail for it and know they've been I'n a game.

oramhibee
25-09-2014, 06:15 AM
Yip. Go in as underdogs with nothing to lose.

Exactly! I never expected us to beat Ross County, especially 2-0, so why can't that continue?

25-09-2014, 08:27 AM
Draw on the radio...

Sevco and Celtc both get home ties....

25-09-2014, 08:35 AM
Just checked the draw this morning and would like to say...

...oh well, nice cup run while it lasted :wink:

25-09-2014, 08:35 AM
Exactly! I never expected us to beat Ross County, especially 2-0, so why can't that continue?
It could but realistically ross county are bottom of league for a reason and United are top for different reasons .There were several other teams that I would of preferred .But they only beat 10 man Dundee 1. 0 .should be a decent crowd If we price game right and we make that loan signing

25-09-2014, 08:40 AM
According to the official site the cup game is on Wed 22nd October, the Derby is the following Sunday.

the cup dates are tues 28th/wed29th oct, but we play the scarf twirlers at ER on Sun 26th oct, so i imagine the cup game will be wed 29th surely

25-09-2014, 08:41 AM
Draw on the radio...

Sevco and Celtc both get home ties....

I assure you, spency wouldn't of wanted that

25-09-2014, 09:10 AM
...There were several other teams that I would of preferred ....

I assure you, spency wouldn't of wanted that

It's HAVE not OF!

Edyookashinul standurds nowadehs ar reely slippin!

25-09-2014, 09:22 AM
1-0 Hibs :agree:

25-09-2014, 10:41 AM
It least it's a home tie, but yeah, very difficult game. We can only hope the players perform somewhere near their best on the day, so we can have a chance.

25-09-2014, 10:47 AM
Stevie Crawford.

Nomeancity
25-09-2014, 03:53 PM
Don't you just love cup draws. No matter the circumstances or the draw you always get the 'could have been better, could have been worse' .
No , Sherlock!

25-09-2014, 04:00 PM
Last time we were in the 1st we were humped 3-0 by St Johnstone. It was all over by half time. That was at McDiarmid Park though.

4-0

26-09-2014, 05:17 PM
It's HAVE not OF!

Edyookashinul standurds nowadehs ar reely slippin!

is it no uv, as in, e shoodnae uv dun that

27-09-2014, 03:04 PM
4-0
Ach I left after 3 lol. That bloody car park an aw, £2.50 for parking and only 1 way in and out. It's changed now though seemingly. £5 for parking.

patch1875
27-09-2014, 05:51 PM
Ach I left after 3 lol. That bloody car park an aw, £2.50 for parking and only 1 way in and out. It's changed now though seemingly. £5 for parking.

Remember that game sure we were mixed in with the st j fans due to the big support.

28-09-2014, 08:17 PM
Can only remember playing Utd twice in cup games , both semi finals , won the first one at the PBS , lost the second at Hampden ( Latapy ) dont know if im having a memory blank but cant think of any others .

28-09-2014, 08:20 PM
Can only remember playing Utd twice in cup games , both semi finals , won the first one at the PBS , lost the second at Hampden ( Latapy ) dont know if im having a memory blank but cant think of any others .

We took the lead at Hampden, Riordan penalty but lost 2-1 with Scotland coming off the bench and scoring twice.

We beat Dundee utd 1-0 at the BPBS with Jackson scoring.

28-09-2014, 08:25 PM

Latapy was the Aberdeen semi final in 2000.

28-09-2014, 08:38 PM

I remember this game when we were in freefall at the end of McLeish's reign. Tam McManus scored in the 1st minute.
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9181

Here's a few others in the League Cup

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9073
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9320

This was my favourite http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=10393

28-09-2014, 08:48 PM
Latapy was the Aberdeen semi final in 2000.

Yes my bad . Dow ( prick) scored the winner .

28-09-2014, 08:52 PM
I remember this game when we were in freefall at the end of McLeish's reign. Tam McManus scored in the 1st minute.
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9181

Here's a few others in the League Cup

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9073
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9320

This was my favourite http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=10393

Thanks HN . I blame the raves in the early 90s . Memory loss .Lol

28-09-2014, 09:11 PM

Lucky you, me and my dad just arrived at 3-0. Got caught in horrendous traffic, arrived at the ground late, ran to the away stand-was full, ran round to the opposite end of the ground, waited in a queue, got in and it was 3-0, tried to find a seat and they scored their 4th before we even sat down. Think it was about 42 mins gone at the time. I was absolutely fuming!! One of my worst ever away trips

28-09-2014, 09:11 PM
Maybe I got your seat when you left lol

28-09-2014, 09:36 PM
We took the lead at Hampden, Riordan penalty but lost 2-1 with Scotland coming off the bench and scoring twice.

We beat Dundee utd 1-0 at the BPBS with Jackson scoring.

sure it was scotland with the first goal and jim mcintyre with the winner, we should have won that game but our nemesis jason scotand done us again.

28-09-2014, 09:59 PM
We beat utd 3-2 at Tannadice in jan 03 with a grant brebner hat-trick in the scottish cup.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9139

28-09-2014, 10:08 PM
We beat utd 3-2 at Tannadice in jan 03 with a grant brebner hat-trick in the scottish cup.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=9139

Remember it well. The perfect hat trick. Left foot, right foot and header

29-09-2014, 03:44 AM
sure it was scotland with the first goal and jim mcintyre with the winner, we should have won that game but our nemesis jason scotand done us again.

Other way around with the goals I think. We were cruising then bang bang, we were totally deflated. I'll never forget the racket the united fans made from the goals up until the final whistle.

You say that Scotland was a nemesis but Jim McIntyre still sends shivers down my spine. The game against county was a little bit of redemption.

29-09-2014, 06:57 AM
Has the date been agreed yet?

29-09-2014, 03:48 PM
Other way around with the goals I think. We were cruising then bang bang, we were totally deflated. I'll never forget the racket the united fans made from the goals up until the final whistle.

You say that Scotland was a nemesis but Jim McIntyre still sends shivers down my spine. The game against county was a little bit of redemption.

If I recollect Jim McIntyre got booked for taking his top off in celebration of the goal and it cost him a place in the final.

Shame eh!

01-10-2014, 10:19 PM
Noticed it's on the official site confirmed as Wednesday 29th October, 7.45pm ko

01-10-2014, 10:30 PM
Noticed it's on the official site confirmed as Wednesday 29th October, 7.45pm ko

Cup game under the floodlights, bring it.

01-10-2014, 11:01 PM

Straight to the game from training for me bud :greengrin

02-10-2014, 07:44 AM
Was at the semi at the pbs when Jackson scored. Great atmosphere all night and ground jam packed. Jim Leighton had a superb game that night and it was backs to the wall second half iirc. Fav other utd game was early 70s when we won 2-0 at tannadeechee with iirc Alex Edwards scoring a beauty from outside the box. Can't remember losing many games against utd when I was at the game. I'll take my wee boy as well as he hasn't seen hibs lose yet.

02-10-2014, 07:48 AM
Can't make it on the wed night (so from a selfish point of view I hope it's on tv) as we are off to Albania early the next morning.

02-10-2014, 10:59 PM

Tough test. Have to be at it.