View Full Version : Scotland's new National Anthem

19-09-2014, 11:42 AM
Should we just go for God save the Queen? Flower of Scotland will have a hollow ring to it moving forwards. Big wooden spoon smiley.

19-09-2014, 11:46 AM
Should we just go for God save the Queen? Flower of Scotland will have a hollow ring to it moving forwards. Big wooden spoon smiley.

3/5 folk signing it would be a hypocrite

19-09-2014, 11:47 AM
There Goes The Fear by Doves?

Gus
19-09-2014, 11:48 AM
Just say No by the grange hill lot :wink:

19-09-2014, 11:50 AM
F.E.A.R by Ian Brown

ACLeith
19-09-2014, 11:51 AM
GSTQ - I have not sung that for coming on 50 years.
FofS - I remember when it was first released on a Corries album and thought it was a dirge then. Have never sung it either as I regard it as an anti-English racist diatribe and at the very least if we are to have national anthems then it should adopt a positive tone about the country it is about. The irony now in the words must surely mean it has to be officially dropped? :agree:

19-09-2014, 11:53 AM
Shattered Dreams - Johnny hates jazz. :-)

19-09-2014, 11:58 AM
3/5 folk signing it would be a hypocrite

That's true

19-09-2014, 12:59 PM
Cap in Hand by the Proclaimers (well 1.6 million of us could sing it) not too sure about the rest of the country mind you :rolleyes:

Tommy75
19-09-2014, 01:01 PM
Abba - The Winner Takes It All.

19-09-2014, 01:25 PM
Heaven knows I'm miserable now

19-09-2014, 01:36 PM

If Flower of Scotland is chucked on the scrapheap then at least one good thing will have come out of all this. A tuneless backward looking dirge. :devil:

allmodcons
19-09-2014, 01:38 PM
Radiohead - "How to disappear completely".

Off topic, my Jam song for the day is the classic Going Underground "the public wants what the public gets but I don't get what this society wants"

19-09-2014, 02:10 PM
Michael Marra - Hermless

or if you prefer something a bit more upbeat

Chumbawumba - Tubthumping. :greengrin

greenflyer
19-09-2014, 02:20 PM
'Flower of Scotland' should be changed to 'Caledonia' for internationals.
The dirge would sound rather flat now and 'Caledonia' has a more general appeal.
Or maybe 'Scotland The Brave' or even something new.

:hmmm::violin:

19-09-2014, 02:21 PM
Scotland The Brave?

Anything but :faf:

19-09-2014, 02:23 PM
I thought the majority voted for God Save The Queen yesterday.

How about we replace it with Rule Brittania.

19-09-2014, 02:35 PM
Highland Cathedral for me :agree:

19-09-2014, 02:37 PM
Deffo Scotland the Brave, Flower of Scotland is a dirge and bores the pants off me, only good for when we play the English.

19-09-2014, 02:44 PM
we should just make it "We hate Jimmy Hill"

19-09-2014, 02:45 PM
'Flower of Scotland' should be changed to 'Caledonia' for internationals.
The dirge would sound rather flat now and 'Caledonia' has a more general appeal.
Or maybe 'Scotland The Brave' or even something new.

:hmmm::violin:

Seriously? They used to usr that years ago and it was an embarassment.

The crowd used to sing the words;

"Da, da, da da da da da ..." and so on. Nobody knew the words to the thing.

19-09-2014, 02:45 PM
I quite fancy the theme from Stingray. We could do actions to accompany it, and the rest of the world would laugh, shake their heads, and give us a sweetie. It's all we really want for our country anyway.

We're mental we are, mental like a fox.

Dave-O
19-09-2014, 02:46 PM
Highland Cathedral for me :agree:

:aok:.............http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qTga6GCpAM

19-09-2014, 02:53 PM
We're mental we are, mental like a fox.

We're mental, we're bammy we're off our ....! Well we all know ;-)

greenflyer
19-09-2014, 02:57 PM
I suppose enough words can be learned for something appropriate. Highland Cathedral does not have any.

19-09-2014, 03:03 PM
Don't leave me this way.

19-09-2014, 03:04 PM
:aok:.............http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qTga6GCpAM

Land of my fathers, we will always be
Faithful and loyal to our country.
In times of danger, we will set you free
Lead you to glory and to victory

2m no voters might have a problem with some of the lyrics though :greengrin

:shhhsh!::stirrer::saltireflag

Was Scotland the Brave even written in Scotland? I was under the impression it came off the Denmark Street production line. It's cheesy, tacky, "och aye the noo" Scottishness. Probably appropriate for a nation of uncle Tams.

Or what about this?

www.youtube.com/watch?v=BktLpmDNwt0

Id really like something by Primal Scream, but it might be a bit bashy for the majority of the population. Best stick to safe stuff that won't upset whitey.

Surely it has to be: You'll Never Walk Alone.

Spudster
19-09-2014, 03:05 PM
Deffo Scotland the Brave, Flower of Scotland is a dirge and bores the pants off me, only good for when we play the English.
Could anyone keep a straight face with those lyrics against the English after last night?

19-09-2014, 03:05 PM
Was Scotland the Brave even written in Scotland? I was under the impression it came off the Denmark Street production line. It's cheesy, tacky, "och aye the noo" Scottishness. Probably appropriate for a nation of uncle Tams.

Or what about this?

www.youtube.com/watch?v=BktLpmDNwt0

Id really like something by Primal Scream, but it might be a bit bashy for the majority of the population. Best stick to safe stuff that won't upset whitey.

Cliff Hanley, a Weegie, wrote the words. It's a pipe tune.

19-09-2014, 03:06 PM
Could anyone keep a straight face with those lyrics against the English after last night?

If we've got the nerve to play them, we'll have the nerve to keep a straight face. A nation with no shame.

19-09-2014, 03:06 PM
You'll never walk alone

19-09-2014, 03:09 PM
Cliff Hanley, a Weegie, wrote the words. It's a pipe tune.

I always thought he was a bit of a knob. "Oh the mountains over here, and the mountains over there, as we march march through the heather....etc".

For the avoidance of doubt, here's the lyrics:

Hark, when the night is falling
Hear, hear the pipes are calling
Loudly and proudly calling down through the glen
There where the hills are sleeping
now feel the blood a leaping
high as the spirits of the old highland men
(Chorus)
Towering in gallant fame
Scotland my mountain hame
High may your proud standards gloriously wave
Land o' the high endeavour
Land o' the shining river
land o' my heart forever
Scotland the brave
High in the Misty highlands,
out by the purple islands
brave are the hearts that beat beneath Scottish skies
wild are the winds to meet you
staunch are the friends that greet you
kind as the love that shines from fair maidens eyes.
(REPEAT CHORUS)

Read more: Traditional - Scotland The Brave Lyrics | MetroLyrics

19-09-2014, 03:10 PM
Surely it has to be: You'll Never Walk Alone.

Why?

19-09-2014, 03:12 PM
Why?

Duh! away and get yourself a sense of humour

19-09-2014, 03:36 PM
Duh! away and get yourself a sense of humour

I think I'll need to. :greengrin

19-09-2014, 03:38 PM
Njoi...amazing.

19-09-2014, 03:41 PM
That'll be a no then. The Archers theme tune feels more appropriate than ever, Billy C wouldnae have expected that. Spain do alright for having nae lyrics to their anthem, seems a good idea, talk is cheap.

19-09-2014, 03:43 PM
We're on the road to nowhere

mikey1875
19-09-2014, 03:47 PM
Scotland The Brave?

Anything but :faf:

Scotland The Slave more like

MKHIBEE
19-09-2014, 04:09 PM
The Proclaimers Cap in Hand seems appropriate enough.

19-09-2014, 04:24 PM
The vast majority of Scotland fans who go to games will have voted Yes so could hold their heads up high singing FoS. The rugger buggers can go back to GSTQ. Actually glad the Scotland v Georgia game clashes with Hibs v Dumbarton now. Atmosphere at Ipox will be flat as a pancake.

19-09-2014, 04:26 PM
If Flower of Scotland is chucked on the scrapheap then at least one good thing will have come out of all this. A tuneless backward looking dirge. :devil:

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

What about ' There aint nobody here but us chickens '

19-09-2014, 04:28 PM
The vast majority of Scotland fans who go to games will have voted Yes so could hold their heads up high singing FoS. The rugger buggers can go back to GSTQ. Actually glad the Scotland v Georgia game clashes with Hibs v Dumbarton now. Atmosphere at Ipox will be flat as a pancake.

5 o'clock on a Saturday. Folk been on the bevy all day. I think the atmosphere will be fine. I don't think anyone will be thinking about a no vote during the game.

19-09-2014, 04:59 PM
How about just keeping Flower of Scotland but changing the words to something more appropriate...

:singing:

"Those days are past now,
and in the past, they must remain,
but we can still rise now,
and be the nation again,
but we cannae be bothered,
we hate Alex Salm-ond,
and prefer to be ruled by,
the Tories and friends"

19-09-2014, 05:17 PM
Didn't see this thread before posting on the 'Team UK' one.

Time to re-adopt God Save The Queen. Flower of Scotland seems a bit hollow now.

19-09-2014, 05:27 PM
I vote the Skye Boat Song. Just because I like it.

19-09-2014, 05:29 PM
We don't need to change the whole of the National anthem, just substitute a few words.

But we can still lie down
And be a region again

19-09-2014, 05:32 PM
We don't need to change the whole of the National anthem, just substitute a few words.

But we can still lie down
And be a region again

19-09-2014, 05:34 PM
You'll never walk alone

You might have to if you keep that nonsense up. :greengrin

19-09-2014, 05:38 PM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=lofNXF-UMe0

19-09-2014, 06:38 PM
National anthems should be reserved for countries, we decided yesterday that we're a region of the UK.

19-09-2014, 06:40 PM
National anthems should be reserved for countries, we decided yesterday that we're a region of the UK.

19-09-2014, 06:46 PM
What a load of *****.

Stax
19-09-2014, 07:18 PM
In the pub the now the Dj just announced "can we all stand for our new national anthem" he then played the birdie song. Toss up for me between that and the Benny Hill tune..

19-09-2014, 07:24 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

What about ' There aint nobody here but us chickens '

Superb!

19-09-2014, 07:27 PM
Anything by status quo.

20-09-2014, 06:36 AM

Definitely this. It's about time someone had an anthem you can dance to.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BktLpmDNwt0

It would go down a storm!

20-09-2014, 06:36 AM

We're a Country of the UK

20-09-2014, 07:28 AM
Didn't see this thread before posting on the 'Team UK' one.

Time to re-adopt God Save The Queen. Flower of Scotland seems a bit hollow now.

God Save the Queen celebrates the ethnic cleansing of the Highlands. (verse six).

So I don't think it is appropriate.

20-09-2014, 07:31 AM
God Save the Queen celebrates the ethnic cleansing of the Highlands. (verse six).

Kind of. The verses have been added to, changed and deleted over years even before it was the anthem. That verse was out, in then out again. It's not part of the official song. It's a dirge anyway but I thought the bloke that sang it in the Glasgow games almost made it sound tuneful.

Mixu62
20-09-2014, 08:16 AM
How about fandabiedozie by the krankies. Appropriate level of credibility for us.

20-09-2014, 08:37 AM
How about fandabiedozie by the krankies. Appropriate level of credibility for us.

With Ian and Jeanette as First Minister jointly. Imagine the carry on as wee Jimmy tried to negotiate our new currency - gob stoppers.

Crazy, I know, but not as crazy as what the No voters were prepared to swallow.

20-09-2014, 08:42 AM
Just find a tune to this -

Fareweel to a' our Scottish fame,
Fareweel our ancient glory;
Fareweel ev'n to the Scottish name,
Sae fam'd in martial story.
Now Sark rins over Solway sands,
An' Tweed rins to the ocean,
To mark where England's province stands-
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation!

What force or guile could not subdue,
Thro' many warlike ages,
Is wrought now by a coward few,
For hireling traitor's wages.
The English steel we could disdain,
Secure in valour's station;
But English gold has been our bane -
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation!

O would, ere I had seen the day
That Treason thus could sell us,
My auld grey head had lien in clay,
Wi' Bruce and loyal Wallace!
But pith and power, till my last hour,
I'll mak this declaration;
We're bought and sold for English gold-
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation![2]

20-09-2014, 09:05 AM
I like The Wild Mountain Thyme. It's a lovely song that brings a tear to the eye.

Good singalong chorus too.

20-09-2014, 09:09 AM
Jerusalem

20-09-2014, 09:48 AM

No it doesn't.

The song dates back to the early 1600s

The anti-Scots verse (never used officially) wasn't documented until 1822 and was a transient response to the Jacobite uprising.

Canongatehibs
20-09-2014, 10:55 AM
anything an improvement on FoS !

20-09-2014, 10:59 AM
As song from my all time heroes,

Promised you a miracle

20-09-2014, 10:59 AM
anything an improvement on FoS !

Got to agree with you here. Always thought it was a ludicrous wee dirge of a song. No idea what to replace it with though.

over the line
20-09-2014, 12:33 PM
Sex Pistols, Anarchy in the UK....... ??? ;)

20-09-2014, 01:01 PM
Surely we should just let London decide it for us, they decide everything else..

20-09-2014, 01:04 PM
Surely we should just let London decide it for us, they decide everything else..

Don't blame London, we have to wait 20 years for Whitehall to let us spend our own money on a bloody tube line so we don't have to travel nose-to-armpit on the crowded commuter trains.

We got the same problem with over centralised government here.

over the line
20-09-2014, 05:04 PM

What about, London Calling, by The Clash? ;)

20-09-2014, 05:12 PM
Don't blame London, we have to wait 20 years for Whitehall to let us spend our own money on a bloody tube line so we don't have to travel nose-to-armpit on the crowded commuter trains.

We got the same problem with over centralised government here.

Im not blaming London, Im blaming the majority of Scots who allow it to happen and continue.

20-09-2014, 05:17 PM
I personally think Michael Jacksons song Someone put their hand out, would be a fitting national song.. Quite fitting for a country who still get pocket money.

Canongatehibs
20-09-2014, 05:35 PM

tremendous! :-)

20-09-2014, 09:18 PM
Anarchy would be just too risky for some, think of all those unanswered questions.

If you want a pistols tune then submission is probably more apt.

20-09-2014, 09:21 PM
Anarchy would be just too risky for some, think of all those unanswered questions.

You guys are going to win over a barrowload of independence doubters for next time with this patronising guff.

20-09-2014, 09:34 PM
"Flower Of Scotland" is now as hollow as a rotten tree. It died yesterday and should be laid to rest. (Well, at least till the next time).

My choice is "Caledonia" by Dougie McLean

(alternatively, for the flyswallowers, "Running Scared" - Roy Orbison :fishin: :wink:)

20-09-2014, 09:35 PM
Mairi's Wedding

Step we gaily on we go
Heel for heel and toe for toe
Arm in arm and row and row
All for Mairi' s wedding

a right guid foot tapper :greengrin

over the line
20-09-2014, 09:46 PM

Ok, what about...... Apathy In The UK..........? ;):)

07BigD
20-09-2014, 10:31 PM
This is a Low by Blur

7 Hills
20-09-2014, 11:19 PM
Has to be this for me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wioh5qUj7fM

20-09-2014, 11:20 PM
Has to be this for me.

I've been pushing for that one for years. :aok:

7 Hills
20-09-2014, 11:23 PM
I've been pushing for that one for years. :aok:

Stranraer
20-09-2014, 11:45 PM
HIGHLAND CATHEDRAL PLEASE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oieFS785QPk

20-09-2014, 11:53 PM
Noooooooooooooooo!!!!

21-09-2014, 03:22 AM
HIGHLAND CATHEDRAL PLEASE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oieFS785QPk

Love that tune. It might be relatively new but I believe we are entering a new era so why not change the national anthem to suit? Something fresh.

The 45% who voted for independence realise that a large part of the 55% were motivated by fear. It's clear that there is now a strong body of positive people who want change so I don't believe for a minute this movement will die. This is just the beginning.

Make that 5003 and 5004.:saltireflag

21-09-2014, 06:53 AM
Hmm, or the minority of us who voted yes and like the song can just continue with it. The rest can do what they like. Simples.

As for Highland Cathedral... A nice tune for pipers. Ideal for funerals and weddings. Notice I said tune....

21-09-2014, 07:22 AM
I like the theme tune to the Simpsons.

21-09-2014, 07:39 AM
Just say Yes by Snow Patrol should be the official song of the Yes Campaign

21-09-2014, 09:00 AM
Hmm, or the minority of us who voted yes and like the song can just continue with it. The rest can do what they like. Simples.

As for Highland Cathedral... A nice tune for pipers. Ideal for funerals and weddings. Notice I said tune....

We have a well tattooed common acquaintance. Does he think it's "a nice tune for pipers"? :greengrin:

21-09-2014, 09:07 AM
We have a well tattooed common acquaintance. Does he think it's "a nice tune for pipers"? :greengrin:
Fair point well made :cool:

We will keep his thoughts on that tune of this family board.... However, I know someone else who had another of his favourites played at their wedding :D:cool::p

21-09-2014, 09:17 AM
Fair point well made :cool:

We will keep his thoughts on that tune of this family board.... However, I know someone else who had another of his favourites played at their wedding :D:cool::p

That rings a bell... :hmmm:

21-09-2014, 09:40 AM

21-09-2014, 09:42 AM
Here's one for the No voters:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGIl4kBtwYw

It Wisnae Me

21-09-2014, 09:27 PM
http://youtu.be/pI2bIJaLIp4
:duck::greengrin

21-09-2014, 09:39 PM
http://youtu.be/pI2bIJaLIp4
:duck::greengrin

DarrenSQH
23-09-2014, 02:45 PM
Highland cathedral then the music should stop and we sing something. A bit like Brazil did at the world cup.

26-09-2014, 08:30 AM

:agree: I suspect quite a lot of people in Scotland don't even know all the words to the song. Can be embarrassing at times.

27-09-2014, 08:00 AM
Mairi's Wedding

Step we gaily on we go
Heel for heel and toe for toe
Arm in arm and row and row
All for Mairi' s wedding

a right guid foot tapper :greengrin

And you can dance to it. Would be good to see on the terraces in cntrast to the stiff upper lips and chest puffing which accompanyies most other nations anthems

27-09-2014, 08:02 AM
Has to be this for me.

Get's my vote ( if I get one this time)!

Gus
27-09-2014, 01:16 PM
How about - Dry your eyes by the Streets

27-09-2014, 03:36 PM
In a Big Country, wish I could remember the name of the group.

over the line
28-09-2014, 12:18 AM
In a Big Country, wish I could remember the name of the group.

According to a lot of people on here, Scotland isn't a country. Or is that the point?

28-09-2014, 06:55 AM
Here's one for the No voters:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGIl4kBtwYw

It Wisnae Me

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wGGW4IezbC4

28-09-2014, 10:25 AM
According to a lot of people on here, Scotland isn't a country. Or is that the point?

Not really, but we could change the name to In a Bigger Country.

lobster
28-09-2014, 11:03 AM
Scotland the Subservient