View Full Version : Queen of the South v Hibernian - pre-match thread

19-09-2014, 10:46 AM
So, apparently we have a game or something tomorrow.

Predictions/line-us?

19-09-2014, 10:58 AM
I predict we'll win 6-5

We'll be 5-3 down until the 80th minute, at which point Stubbs plays his masterstroke and replaces Heffernan with a Corner Flag, thereby swinging the whole game in our favour!

19-09-2014, 11:10 AM
Only the second game of the season for me, looking forward to it. Got a terracing ticket so hope it doesn't lash it down.

NthCarolinaHibs
19-09-2014, 11:30 AM
We are driving down tonight..Mon the Hibs

19-09-2014, 11:48 AM
C'mon the Hibs.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

19-09-2014, 11:52 AM
Wonder if Malonga will start

Hibeewilly
19-09-2014, 12:04 PM
Wonder if Malonga will start
He should start but did I not read somewhere that Stubbs doesnt think he is fit enough?

19-09-2014, 12:38 PM
Can't wait :scarf::cheers::party:

19-09-2014, 12:41 PM
We need a win. Draws are not enough if we want promotion.

19-09-2014, 01:08 PM
Not got a good feeling about this. Need to be much better at the back if we are to get a win.

Off the bar
19-09-2014, 01:11 PM
3-0 hibs 2 up by HT one soon after then close out the last half hour. easy. :greengrin

Hibeewilly
19-09-2014, 01:30 PM
Not got a good feeling about this. Need to be much better at the back if we are to get a win.
Just saying that earlier. It's more or less the same back four as last year apart from Gray. My case rests

19-09-2014, 02:01 PM
Any weather updates for tomorrow and are you allowed in to the ground with a umbrella. :greengrin

19-09-2014, 04:13 PM
The fact we are still integrating new players and it's an artificial pitch against a side capable of a top 4 finish and who have three players who have scored four goals or more this season shouts out score draw for me Gutted I am not going to this one Defo next time .

Stuarty27
19-09-2014, 04:38 PM
Looking forward to it tomorrow, fancy us to get a result.

Anybody know how many tickets we shifted?

19-09-2014, 05:24 PM
Only the second game of the season for me, looking forward to it. Got a terracing ticket so hope it doesn't lash it down.

You on the train bud?

My first game of the season and last if they lose 😆

19-09-2014, 06:17 PM
You on the train bud?

My first game of the season and last if they lose 😆
Young 'un has got rugby training in the morning so I'll be driving up. Will be back for the Dumbarton game regardless of tomorrow's result!

GGTTH07
19-09-2014, 06:41 PM
Hibs to win in the 90th minute 2-1, Malonga

19-09-2014, 06:42 PM
Was going for a 0-2 away win, however, have no confidence in Oxley from what he has shown so far, and as we haven't kept a clean sheet since he came will have to settle for a 1-2 away win.

TAHibby
19-09-2014, 06:47 PM
Hoping we'll finally get a convincing win tomorrow with 0 goals conceded.

19-09-2014, 06:50 PM
Tough 3 games coming up. We need to start off well in all and not taper off, no more soft goals conceded......Stiff tests

19-09-2014, 07:09 PM
Having to miss tomorrow. Gutted as it was a trip I was looking forward to.

19-09-2014, 07:19 PM
Tough 3 games coming up. We need to start off well in all and not taper off, no more soft goals conceded......Stiff tests

This. A win is crucial tomorrow. Made a couple of points up last week, we need to build on that. We can't give up any more ground or we are going to be miles behind.

19-09-2014, 07:24 PM
Hibs to win in the 90th minute 2-1, Malonga

I was with you until someone other than Super-Sub Cummings :greengrin

And maybe Heffernan to score the first? :dizzy:

portycabbage
19-09-2014, 07:36 PM
Just saying that earlier. It's more or less the same back four as last year apart from Gray. My case rests

While I don't disagree, that was statistically a top 6 defence last season!

20-09-2014, 04:58 AM
We'll race into a two goal lead in the first half, followed by a decent second half where we actually play well.

0-2:cb

Theinsider
20-09-2014, 05:03 AM
We'll race into a two goal lead in the first half, followed by a decent second half where we actually play well.

0-2:cb

1-3 Malonga x2 and Cummings

Line Up

.............................Ox................... ..............

Gray............Forster...........Hanoln.......... Booth

Sinclair..................Allen................... ...Kennedy

...........................Mcgeogh................ ..............

...............Cummings.............Malonga....... .......

Hibeewilly
20-09-2014, 07:32 AM
Looking forward to it tomorrow, fancy us to get a result.

Anybody know how many tickets we shifted?
This is a decent side on an artificial pitch. We need a massive improvement to even get a point. We need to stop conceding soft goals and without a commanding centre half I can't see us doing that. I collected my tickets at 1 o'clock yesterday and we had sold 700 tickets but they are on sale this morning and at the ground till kick off.

20-09-2014, 07:58 AM
Given our league position, we're surely the underdogs in this game.

I just hope we give a good account of ourselves.

20-09-2014, 08:06 AM
Given our league position, we're surely the underdogs in this game.

I just hope we give a good account of ourselves.

And maybe pull off one of the greatest shocks of this season!!! :greengrin

From Theinisder's post above:

Does not look too bad for this division. If they could only get a few games together I think this might turn into quite a potent unit.

And as has been pointed out if we get LG who could come off the bench when required along with Heffernan it would give us some much required backup. :wink:

20-09-2014, 08:31 AM
[QUOTE=SanFranHibs;4175164]And maybe pull off one of the greatest shocks of this season!!! :greengrin

Does not look too bad for this division. If they could only get a few games together I think this might turn into quite a potent unit.

And as has been pointed out if we get LG who could come off the bench when required along with Heffernan it would give us some much required backup. :wink:

But that won't be the unit he plays today so will need to see team Stubbs picks .its crucial we don't get another player injured on Artificial Pitch today .He has said Cummings will be sub but also Said Malonga isn't fully fit ,but you would think one of them has to start the game unless he is going to stick with Heff as Lone Striker and that so far hasn't worked out .

20-09-2014, 09:00 AM
[QUOTE=SanFranHibs;4175164]And maybe pull off one of the greatest shocks of this season!!! :greengrin

But that won't be the unit he plays today so will need to see team Stubbs picks .its crucial we don't get another player injured on Artificial Pitch today .He has said Cummings will be sub but also Said Malonga isn't fully fit ,but you would think one of them has to start the game unless he is going to stick with Heff as Lone Striker and that so far hasn't worked out .

I agree with you and am not convinced this will be our starting midfield/forward line. But can we really afford to protect some players when we need goals and points and I think just as importantly will have to bring them on anyhow, probably chasing another game in the last 20/30 minutes, or even coming on to replace injured players like Heffernan who is just as likely to get injured as anyone else.

I would prefer he starts as above and then take some of them off for the last 20/30 minutes when hopefully we might actually be ahead. Or even for the first half.

Sorry for not thinking that Heffernan as the lone striker is going to be good enough! Would love to see him get a goal and if he did you never know what a boost it might be to him but how long has it been now?

But I will predict a 1-2 win for the Hibees.

Got to hope. :flag:

20-09-2014, 09:04 AM
Tickets onsale on the day from their ticket office.

I assume it will still be premier league prices?

20-09-2014, 09:05 AM

Of course not, my ticket was £16 for the seating area

20-09-2014, 09:10 AM
Of course not, my ticket was £16 for the seating area

I thought all the teams would bump up the price to cat A. I'm sure I paid well over £20 for Alloa. I might be talking complete sheet though :greengrin

20-09-2014, 09:23 AM
I thought all the teams would bump up the price to cat A. I'm sure I paid well over £20 for Alloa. I might be talking complete sheet though :greengrin

I think Alloa was around £18 or so, but I've tried to wipe that day from my memory

20-09-2014, 09:43 AM
Any weather updates for the Dumfries area today, leaving at 11.45 for the nice drive down.

Does the terrace part of stadium have a roof. :greengrin

Stuarty27
20-09-2014, 10:03 AM
Any weather updates for the Dumfries area today, leaving at 11.45 for the nice drive down.

I live and work just outside Newton Stewart during the week and gave stayed onSat night to go to game today, looking out the window is overcast but dry and quite humid! Think it will be a nice day :)

20-09-2014, 10:08 AM

No, they're quite good actually.

Adults £16

U16s £5

OAPS(plus some other concessions) £9

Stand and terrace same price

20-09-2014, 10:08 AM
I live and work just outside Newton Stewart during the week and gave stayed onSat night to go to game today, looking out the window is overcast but dry and quite humid! Think it will be a nice day :)

Shorts it is then. :greengrin

20-09-2014, 10:09 AM

Only in the home end.

20-09-2014, 10:26 AM
Only in the home end.

No rain expected today in Dumfries.

Shorts and vest it is. :greengrin

20-09-2014, 10:32 AM
Alloa was £18, even though they had signs above the turnstiles for £16 the attendants outside told us to ignore the signs :greengrin

20-09-2014, 10:48 AM
Later, day trippers.

20-09-2014, 10:55 AM
Just about to head off for our journey down the A701.'Mon the Hibs.

Dumfrieshibs
20-09-2014, 10:56 AM

Shorts it is then. :greengrin

It's not quite mankini weather but it's warm ish ..... Beer is cold tho ;-)

20-09-2014, 11:21 AM
40 of us are about to roll up at the Lochside Tavern.

HappyHibby93
20-09-2014, 11:26 AM
Could really do with a clean sheet today. I'll take 0-1. Although 3 points is all that matters. Malanga and Sinclair up top for me.

20-09-2014, 11:37 AM
This is going to be very tough today!

20-09-2014, 11:52 AM
Zero zero

20-09-2014, 11:58 AM
i see there's a Reilly scored a few goals for Q.os this season, hopefully this is one game we DON't gie the baw tae Reilly

Wighty76
20-09-2014, 12:10 PM
A win and other results in our favour will see us jump to 4th if I'm not mistaken. I need to check the league.

cmon the cabbage. :flag::flag::flag:

20-09-2014, 12:18 PM
Alloa was £18, even though they had signs above the turnstiles for £16 the attendants outside told us to ignore the signs :greengrin

:agree: I mentioned that going in and the steward just shrugged his shoulders :rolleyes: :greengrin

20-09-2014, 12:25 PM

I'll only believe that was genuinely a Wee County-er if the guy finished the sentence with 'Yahoorsur'

20-09-2014, 01:06 PM
2-0 qos.

20-09-2014, 02:53 PM
FT predictions at HT. I go 2-2