View Full Version : Boyhood Hero...

11-09-2014, 10:45 PM
Ok it's confession time. I'm 44 years old and never really watched pro football till I was about 22 when my Hibs supporting mates took me to a game at Easter road v Partick thistle I think. This is because I played youth football then onto non league and a few years in the scottish leagues. What I'm saying is Hibs weren't my team till then, actually didn't have one. First game I ever seen was Dundee Utd v west ham in a pre season friendly as we were on holiday up that way and my dad got us tickets.... My boyhood hero after that was Paul Sturrock. Loved him. Wanted to be him. Just a great wee forward, shirt hangin out and socks at his ankles with nae shinnies on..... Oh and he could score goals!!! Just wondered who other posters boyhood heroes were and why. :thumbsup:

11-09-2014, 10:54 PM
I remember being a huge fan of Darren Jackson and being absolutely devastated when he signed for Celtc.

I was 9 at the time and didn't take it very well!

11-09-2014, 10:57 PM
Pat Mcginlay.

Just because.

11-09-2014, 10:58 PM
Kenny Dalglish.

Others as passing fads but at that age it always came back to him.

11-09-2014, 11:05 PM
Pat Mcginlay.

Just because.

I remember the the day at work I heard we had signed him back from Sellik... Oh the joy!!! What we would give for a Pat McGinlay now eh??

11-09-2014, 11:07 PM
Stevie Tweed was mine! Shocker haha

11-09-2014, 11:10 PM
I remember being a huge fan of Darren Jackson and being absolutely devastated when he signed for Celtc.

I was 9 at the time and didn't take it very well!

Try being named after him!!

11-09-2014, 11:10 PM
Mickey Weir

11-09-2014, 11:20 PM
John Burridge, Jim Leighton and Peter Schmeichel.

11-09-2014, 11:25 PM
John Burridge, Jim Leighton and Peter Schmeichel.

Now I'm no that well educated but I see a wee pattern in yer choices there....:wink:

11-09-2014, 11:31 PM
Now I'm no that well educated but I see a wee pattern in yer choices there....:wink:

Two out of the three played for Hibs
Two out of the three played for Aberdeen
Two out of the three played for Manchester Utd
Two out of the three played for Aston Villa

11-09-2014, 11:37 PM
Two out of the three played for Hibs
Two out of the three played for Aberdeen
Two out of the three played for Manchester Utd
Two out of the three played for Aston Villa

h18eeynick
11-09-2014, 11:53 PM
Mikey09 I will add to your torment as I had a trial with Dundee Utd in 1981 and for3 days had to wear Sturrocks boots and trainers as I had incorrect footwear ! My hero at hibs was Ally Macleod and in Engand was Kevin Keegan .

12-09-2014, 12:02 AM
Toss-up between Brownlie, Blackley & Cropley !

12-09-2014, 12:04 AM
Tam McManus was my hero when I was like 14

12-09-2014, 12:13 AM
Colin Stein and Peter Marinello.

Septimus
12-09-2014, 12:15 AM
Tommy Younger for me. I can still see him in my mind's eye doing his sprint when the team came out and thrilling the wee boy that was me.

12-09-2014, 12:17 AM
John Blackley and Martin Buchan

cad
12-09-2014, 12:18 AM
[QUOTE=Hiber-nation;4164589]Colin Stein and Peter Marinello.[/QUOTE

Same sort of era mate had my favs Sloop and Wee Eck ,but Colin Stein going to them left me absolutely gutted

GORDONSMITH7
12-09-2014, 12:21 AM
Willie Hamilton is my boyhood Hibee hero. Troubled genius. ''You've got to burn to shine''

BIG G

Nutmegged
12-09-2014, 01:38 AM
Mickey Weir followed by Pat McGinlay

s2hart
12-09-2014, 02:42 AM
For whatever reason Brian McClair for me, as for Hibs the cult hero that was Joe Tortolano

hibbymick
12-09-2014, 03:16 AM
John brownlie, pat stanton, kenny dalglish.

12-09-2014, 05:10 AM
Pat Stanton. All time hibs hero

12-09-2014, 05:29 AM
Keith Keith Keith :not worth

gorgie greens
12-09-2014, 05:31 AM
Shades for me,saw him comming out his pub and was lost for words,had a range Rover if i remember right,and no im no stalker :wink:

12-09-2014, 05:32 AM
Ally McLeod. Genius

12-09-2014, 06:28 AM
Kevin Keegan = I was heartbroken when he left Liverpool
Kenny Dalglish = Very quickly became my new hero and still is
Steve Heighway = Loved him

12-09-2014, 06:37 AM
Keith Keith Keith :not worth

:agree: keith for me too. Won us the cup with his goals, always felt he would score when 1 on 1 with the keeper and good in the air too. You could always see what it meant to him playing for hibs.

franck sauzee
12-09-2014, 06:46 AM
:agree: keith for me too. Won us the cup with his goals, always felt he would score when 1 on 1 with the keeper and good in the air too. You could always see what it meant to him playing for hibs.

Loved Keith. Was at that final as well although was only 5 so don't remember too much of it. First season ticket was 93/94. Loved that team - Keith, Keith, Keith, Crunchy, Kevin Harper, Mickey Weir, Michael O'Neill, Darren Jackson and then Pat the year after.

12-09-2014, 06:51 AM
I had 3, Darren Jackson, Crunchie and Keith Wright.

Keith Wright so much I named a gold fish I won at Burntisland 'lucky keith wright' ........it died 3 days later :(

MM19
12-09-2014, 06:59 AM
The one and only Pat Stanton also liked Jimmy O'Rourke

12-09-2014, 07:10 AM
For kids in 1963 there was one big hero. It's easy to forget now but in pre-Best days Dennis Law was the guy we wanted to be in the playground. The shock of blond hair, stylish passing and salmon leaps to head were all there to admire. Crucially, he had a habit of grasping his shirt cuffs as he went about his business on the park. This we could emulate and we did! Later came the air punch after scoring but by then other gods had taken over our attentions. I might mention Peter Cormack for instance.

12-09-2014, 07:14 AM
Even though I only saw him towards the end of his career it was Erich Schaedler.

12-09-2014, 07:19 AM
Loved Alex Edwards when I was young also Pat Stanton and Crops, if only we had the likes these days

FinlayHibs
12-09-2014, 07:25 AM
Mickey weir ! Mind a game in the early 90s against the Huns at Easter rd the wee man ripped England's right. Back Garry Stevens a new areshole !

12-09-2014, 07:32 AM
The Lawman for me.

12-09-2014, 07:38 AM
Keith Wright. enough said.

and if I was to pick one playing in the English premier, Toss up between David Ginola and Eric Cantona, they were the stand outs when I started paying any attention to English Football.

12-09-2014, 07:44 AM
Pat Stanton & George Best

12-09-2014, 07:45 AM
Colin Stein and Peter Marinello.
Yip, Peter Marinello, Eric Stevenson and Pat. Pat didn't run, he glided over the turf. I think he could walk on water.

12-09-2014, 07:47 AM
Pat Stanton for me, i was lucky enough to see a bit of Colin Stein and Peter Marrinelo and Cormack but Stanton was my first real hero and he still is to this day.

The rest of the tornadoes are very close behind, followed by Sauzee.

12-09-2014, 07:48 AM
John Collins for me.....

wandering_hibee
12-09-2014, 07:49 AM

Same sort of era mate had my favs Sloop and Wee Eck ,but Colin Stein going to them left me absolutely gutted Favourites were Peter Comack and Stein but as you said..

12-09-2014, 07:50 AM
Keith Wright and Michael O'Neill for me.

12-09-2014, 07:51 AM
Pat Stanton, Even had the number 4 sewn onto my strip. Closely followed by Shades, who was a cult hero, and Jimmy O'Rourke.

12-09-2014, 07:53 AM
Cropley was my first hero.

zolliehibs
12-09-2014, 07:54 AM
David Murphy, most consistent left back I'd seen at ER. Tam McManus when I was a little younger .

12-09-2014, 07:59 AM
Arthur Duncan. Only saw him as a fullback but had a Dad who eulogised about him as a winger

12-09-2014, 08:01 AM
For kids in 1963 there was one big hero. It's easy to forget now but in pre-Best days Dennis Law was the guy we wanted to be in the playground. The shock of blond hair, stylish passing and salmon leaps to head were all there to admire. Crucially, he had a habit of grasping his shirt cuffs as he went about his business on the park. This we could emulate and we did! Later came the air punch after scoring but by then other gods had taken over our attentions. I might mention Peter Cormack for instance.

This is what I'm talking about! Those things like grasping the shirt sleeves etc for me made someone stand out and as a kid was something to copy in the playground at break. Fantastic. :thumbsup:

scotia44
12-09-2014, 08:03 AM
Too young to remember the greats Sir Pat and the like but my hero was
Jackie Mac Snr came to ER under a cloud with Sir Pat going west which must have been difficult. A great leader when captain and ambassador for the club.

Alec Edwards is a player my dad raved about and compared all midfielders to him he was my fathers hero

paul1966
Alan Gordon, what a striker, his heading ability was simply awesome

Mikey09 I will add to your torment as I had a trial with Dundee Utd in 1981 and for3 days had to wear Sturrocks boots and trainers as I had incorrect footwear ! My hero at hibs was Ally Macleod and in Engand was Kevin Keegan .

Holy ****!!!! There are no words......

12-09-2014, 08:06 AM
Hibs Hero: Pat Stanton

Non Hibs Hero: Kenny Dalglish.

12-09-2014, 08:24 AM
Keith Wright

Bill Milne
12-09-2014, 08:26 AM
The Rebel (Eric Stevenson for younger fans)

12-09-2014, 08:33 AM
Difficult. King Paddy. Joe Baker? Shades always had a bit of my heart as I watched him playing with the Binos before we signed him. Going back further I guess my first real hero and the one I always was in the playground was the magnificent Joe Hughes, centre forward par excellence for the Binos. Then again, full back Davy Grant scoring against celtic ( they could spell in these days), to give a victory at a packed Annfield meant that for the next few weeks I became a full back too.

12-09-2014, 08:36 AM
Stevie Cowan and the Dukebox.. :wink:

12-09-2014, 08:40 AM
Isaak Refvik

12-09-2014, 08:49 AM
Pat Stanton stands out over everyone, but Jimmy Greaves was a childhood hero for me.

Tom Hart RIP
12-09-2014, 09:11 AM
Jimmy Orourke was and still is.

12-09-2014, 09:28 AM

Same sort of era mate had my favs Sloop and Wee Eck ,but Colin Stein going to them left me absolutely gutted

Stein also left me feel at the time as though it was like a bereavement, especially when followed soon afterwards by Peter Marinello and Peter Cormack [this was long before I knew what real bereavement was]. They were soon forgotten when Jim Blair came in :cb, well on reflection, maybe it was more to do with the likes of Alex Cropley & John Brownlie coming through to join the magnificent John Blackley and Jimmy O'Rourke, plus acquisitions like Erich Scheadler, Arthur Duncan, Alex Edwards and Alan Gordon.

To me the shining and most influential beacon throughout it all was the immaculate man that the fans are getting the chance to celebrate his hallmark birthday this weekend, Patrick Gordon Stanton, 70 YO tomorrow and there will certainly never be another. This observation isn't founded just by his immense playing skills as he is as truly inspirational off the park as he was on.

Outside Hibs, I was mesmerised [as was most of my generation] by George Best, never in a million years would I ever have expected him to play in the Scottish league, let alone at my beloved club.

patch1875
12-09-2014, 09:40 AM
Pat Stanton & Jackie McNamara

Also Davie Cooper

12-09-2014, 09:51 AM
Sparky, riordan, rougier, gazza

DTS
12-09-2014, 09:53 AM
When I was really young it was mixu but then my real heros were Derek Riordan and still Steven Gerrard

zero-seven
12-09-2014, 09:53 AM
Sir Patrick of Stanton
brownlie
edwards
orourke
gordon
duncan
blackley
black
shades
crops
herriot
leighton
goram
says it all really

12-09-2014, 09:54 AM
Without question for me it was Jimmy O'Rourke, he had everything needed as an all round midfielder, strength, agility, able to put his but in when needed and scored goals regularly.

StevieT
12-09-2014, 10:01 AM
Pat Stanton still stands head and shoulders above everyone else. Jimmy O'Rourke was another hero of mine at the time.

Away from Easter Road, I have always been an admirer of Bobby Charlton. He could hit the ball hard with either foot and could head the ball too.

In World football it has to be Edson Arantes do Nascimento (Pele).

12-09-2014, 10:21 AM
Pat Stanton, he maybe had one or two bad games a season but even they were better than most other players, he carried Hibs on his back for years.

hughio
12-09-2014, 10:25 AM
Cormack seemed to be able to hang in the air...so I wanted to be him.

Then Marinello had the hair and the shorts hanging down and the shirt out...

But throughout my boyhood there stands out the one and only inspirational leader and Captain..Sir Patrick Stanton! (A cross between K Dalgleish and Scotty Brown if you can imagine that!)

Happy birthday and many happy returns.

12-09-2014, 10:26 AM
Keith wright for hibs. Matt Le Tissier. He was just brilliant to watch. Loved his goals for Southampton.

12-09-2014, 10:37 AM
First hero as a very young kid was Colin Stein just for his swashbuckling aggressive style and he scored goals. One of my first games can remember him punching the goalie in the face and getting a warning? :faf: Those were the days. :greengrin

After that Alex Edwards had so much class and also a bit of a temper and when you consider the junk that played for Scotland at that time and especially since then it is a crime he didnt don the dark blue at least once.

12-09-2014, 10:42 AM
Isaak Refvik

Wow. That's a Narrow window. I still recall the excitement around him

For me it was always Alan Gordon I was depressed to realise in recent years he played less games for is than Alan Orman did ! ...something wrong about that ...

12-09-2014, 10:47 AM

Super sub, ginger guy, was it David Fairclough.

Martin Buchanan Man Utd & Scotland

Keith Wright.

BS44
12-09-2014, 11:08 AM
Willie Irvine

12-09-2014, 11:10 AM
Big Gordon McQueen. Most powerful header of a ball I've ever seen. Was gutted when he had to miss the 78 World Cup after smashing his knee off the old square Hampden posts in the Home Internationals just before the finals.

12-09-2014, 11:10 AM
Kevin Keegan, then Aly McLeod but as I got into my teenager years Mickey Weir

12-09-2014, 11:24 AM
Cormack seemed to be able to hang in the air...so I wanted to be him.

Then Marinello had the hair and the shorts hanging down and the shirt out...

But throughout my boyhood there stands out the one and only inspirational leader and Captain..Sir Patrick Stanton! (A cross between K Dalgleish and Scotty Brown if you can imagine that!)

Happy birthday and many happy returns.
I remember Marinello co-presenting Top of the Pops. Dinny hink anyone kent wot he wus sayun.

12-09-2014, 11:30 AM
Hibs heros:

Joe Baker
Erich Schaedler
Pat Stanton
Jimmy O'Rourke
All of the rest of Turnbull's Tornadoes (but Shades, Pat & Jimmy in particular)

Non Hibs heros:

Jimmy Johnstone
Jim Baxter (yep, even though he was a Rangers player! Wembley 67 he was amazing)
Billy Bremner
Dennis Law
George Best (Man United days)
Bobby Charlton
Kenny Dalglish.

Overseas players:

Pele
Johan Cruyff
Alfredo Di Stefano
Ferenc Puskas

I've probably missed a few, but these guys are the ones who come to mind first.

12-09-2014, 11:35 AM
Hibs:

Russell Latapy.

Non-Hibs:

Dennis Bergkamp; I absolutely loved watching him play.

12-09-2014, 11:42 AM
Wee Russell Latapy :greengrin

12-09-2014, 11:45 AM
Always liked John O'Neil as a kid. Liked Paco Luna. Remember telling my now 15 year old nephew that Deno left the club and he cried for about an hour repeating the line "but I thought he loved hibs"

12-09-2014, 11:50 AM
Kenny Dalglish.

The King is the King and long live the King.

The best there ever has been, is and ever will be. :aok:

ENDOF

12-09-2014, 11:52 AM
Turbulls Tornadoes...Stanton, Cropley, Shades, Gordon & O'Rourke up front !!....a great time to be a hibby...I always wanted to be like Alan Gordon, heading the ball into the net...what a striker.

As I got older, it was Dalglish....again, what a f'ing player he was.

Maradona, Ronaldo (the original) and Messi were also standouts for me........Anyway, back to "that" hibs team....jesus, what a team. Doubt we'll see anything like them again.

12-09-2014, 11:56 AM
Has to be Pat Stanton and Alan Gordon

12-09-2014, 12:00 PM
Sir Patrick of Stanton
brownlie
edwards
orourke
gordon
duncan
blackley
black
shades
crops
herriot
leighton
goram
says it all really
Oh happy days

12-09-2014, 12:24 PM
Super sub, ginger guy, was it David Fairclough.

Martin Buchanan Man Utd & Scotland

Keith Wright.

Cough Buchan Cough :greengrin

Heard quite a funny story about him. He went into management just after he retied Burnley comes to mind may be wrong. I think Bobby Charlton visited him just after he started and Buchan had said he was having a problem with a player. Bobby stated make sure you dont hit him. "Too late Bobby", said the bold Martin. :greengrin

12-09-2014, 12:48 PM
Stevie Cowan.

12-09-2014, 12:49 PM

The King is the King and long live the King.

The best there ever has been, is and ever will be. :aok:

ENDOF

Bah, he only got his first cap because Alex Cropley got injured [again] against Belgium and he took his place. If it wasn't for the injuries Sojer sustained, King Kenny would have been a mere Prince. :greengrin

12-09-2014, 12:51 PM
Hmmm, step away from the pipe sir..... Nice and slowly......

:-)

Home: Paddy & Corky
Away :Gerd Muller

If a 'girl'hood hero is allowed :greengrin then I'd say Jukebox. Loved the guy and the highlight was doing a Hibs Kids sponsored walk round the pitch with him :tee hee:

12-09-2014, 12:58 PM
Pat Stanton. Cant wait to give him a cheer tomorrow !:agree:

* Didnt get over the shock of him leaving to go to Celtc, until he came back. *

:singing::singing:Paaaaaaaddy Stan-ton is the Kiiiiiiiiiiiing

12-09-2014, 01:22 PM
This is what I'm talking about! Those things like grasping the shirt sleeves etc for me made someone stand out and as a kid was something to copy in the playground at break. Fantastic. :thumbsup:

The odd thing is that playing in the back garden comparatively recently with great nephews and nieces I found myself still doing it.

This combined with the "fancy" running style of Peter Cormack made me something of a figure of fun.

12-09-2014, 01:24 PM
Cough Buchan Cough :greengrin

Heard quite a funny story about him. He went into management just after he retied Burnley comes to mind may be wrong. I think Bobby Charlton visited him just after he started and Buchan had said he was having a problem with a player. Bobby stated make sure you dont hit him. "Too late Bobby", said the bold Martin. :greengrin

I remember hibs [rightly] gave him and his Aberdeen team mates a guard of honour[rightly so], just two days after they had beaten the then almost invincible Celtic 3-1, in the 1970 Scottish cup final. The game was played on the Monday after the final, no doubt rearranged from earlier in the season and they beat us 2-1, they were a really good side.

The Celtic team had beaten the much fancied English champions, Leeds United, in England, in the European cup Semi 1st leg a couple of weeks before the final and five days after the game against Aberdeen, they finished the job by beating Leeds again in the home leg, which was played at Hampden to accommodate the demand, as the crowd for the second leg was over 136,000.

Buchan and his team mates returned early in the new season, with the last league cup section game deciding who qualified for the quarter finals, with Arthur Duncan in devastating form, Hibs produced one of the best first half performances I've ever seen them play and we led 4-0 at half time, which was the final result.

On the build up to the two legged quarter final affair with Rangers, there was a lot of cloak and dagger stuff going on to hide the extent of the injury to Mr Duncan, who had peaked around that time, after he had been thrown against the wall surrounding the pitch, in a game prior to the cup ties. Arthur never made either leg and it was another left winger, Billy Johnson, who tore us a new one and Rangers won both legs comfortably 3-1.

If only we recaptured the form of that first half against Aberdeen, but that was Hibs all over during that period, we had a dismal 70-71 season, other highlights unlucky in losing to Rangers in a replayed Scottish cup semi [Dave Ewing. Rangers are rubbish fame]. Other highlights, John Hazel putting us ahead and Arthur Duncan's terrific run and shot to provide the winner in an earlier round at Tynie, after Kevin Hegarty had equalised and of course the white boots of Joe Baker as Hibs kyboshed Aberdeen's great run on his return to ER. No wonder ET left Aberdeen and returned to us in 1971, he wanted another win in the east end of Edinburgh :greengrin

12-09-2014, 01:33 PM
Hibs:

Russell Latapy.

Non-Hibs:

Dennis Bergkamp; I absolutely loved watching him play.

Hibs - STANTON

non Hibs - BOBBY MOORE

2 players who strolled through long careers - majestic.

bubblesmorrison
12-09-2014, 01:59 PM
Darren Jackson for me my dad used to always let me put a 50p bet on hims when I was young and as I seem to remember it came in a few times. Away from hibs had to be king Eric used to get my hair shaved like him wear the same boots as him ect.

twiceinathens
12-09-2014, 02:07 PM
Joe Baker(first time around) Pat Stanton

12-09-2014, 02:08 PM
If a 'girl'hood hero is allowed :greengrin then I'd say Jukebox. Loved the guy and the highlight was doing a Hibs Kids sponsored walk round the pitch with him :tee hee:

I was was trying to think of a title for this thread to be as PC as possible. Thought for approx 3 mins then gave up!!! :wink:

12-09-2014, 02:18 PM
I was was trying to think of a title for this thread to be as PC as possible. Thought for approx 3 mins then gave up!!! :wink:

Childhood :greengrin

aljo7-0
12-09-2014, 02:20 PM
Alan Gordon for me

12-09-2014, 02:21 PM

:idiot:

malcky
12-09-2014, 02:46 PM

although pretty young at the time,I loved watching Heighway,Keegan and Toshack also Charlie George of Arsenal but for hibs it was Jimmy Orourke

Ricky Bobby
12-09-2014, 02:56 PM
Hibs - Arthur Duncan and Shades

Non Hibs - Glen Hoddle

12-09-2014, 03:13 PM
I remember hibs [rightly] gave him and his Aberdeen team mates a guard of honour[rightly so], just two days after they had beaten the then almost invincible Celtic 3-1, in the 1970 Scottish cup final. The game was played on the Monday after the final, no doubt rearranged from earlier in the season and they beat us 2-1, they were a really good side.

The Celtic team had beaten the much fancied English champions, Leeds United, in England, in the European cup Semi 1st leg a couple of weeks before the final and five days after the game against Aberdeen, they finished the job by beating Leeds again in the home leg, which was played at Hampden to accommodate the demand, as the crowd for the second leg was over 136,000.

Buchan and his team mates returned early in the new season, with the last league cup section game deciding who qualified for the quarter finals, with Arthur Duncan in devastating form, Hibs produced one of the best first half performances I've ever seen them play and we led 4-0 at half time, which was the final result.

On the build up to the two legged quarter final affair with Rangers, there was a lot of cloak and dagger stuff going on to hide the extent of the injury to Mr Duncan, who had peaked around that time, after he had been thrown against the wall surrounding the pitch, in a game prior to the cup ties. Arthur never made either leg and it was another left winger, Billy Johnson, who tore us a new one and Rangers won both legs comfortably 3-1.

If only we recaptured the form of that first half against Aberdeen, but that was Hibs all over during that period, we had a dismal 70-71 season, other highlights unlucky in losing to Rangers in a replayed Scottish cup semi [Dave Ewing. Rangers are rubbish fame]. Other highlights, John Hazel putting us ahead and Arthur Duncan's terrific run and shot to provide the winner in an earlier round at Tynie, after Kevin Hegarty had equalised and of course the white boots of Joe Baker as Hibs kyboshed Aberdeen's great run on his return to ER. No wonder ET left Aberdeen and returned to us in 1971, he wanted another win in the east end of Edinburgh :greengrin
I picked the 4-0 Aberdeen game in my Top Five. A season or two earlier i was at the Hibs v Aberdeen reserve game at ER. They read the first team score out and we were 5-1 up. I nearly fell off the wall in the enclosure ! Game ended 6-2 Hibs. Great days.

12-09-2014, 03:27 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqhNqNtCinM

I'd like to add another childhood favourite Hibby (although he never played for us, he was a supporter).
Keepy uppy at it's best.

12-09-2014, 04:10 PM
I picked the 4-0 Aberdeen game in my Top Five. A season or two earlier i was at the Hibs v Aberdeen reserve game at ER. They read the first team score out and we were 5-1 up. I nearly fell off the wall in the enclosure ! Game ended 6-2 Hibs. Great days.

I remember the 6-2 game, it was certainly not expected and I wasn't at the game, my first trip there came soon afterwards. :boo hoo: After that game we always had a difficult time up there and that apart, I think the best we got was drawn games, I seem to remember a couple of 0-3 games there & I saw Jim Blair for the first time in a Hibs strip at Pittodrie :grr:, which was the first of the section games leading up to that one we are on about. The fish supper's at the Stonehaven chippy, on the return trip were always some consolation as they were superb, mind you, the bus used to leave ER at 10:00 and usually arriving minutes before KO, so by then we were all starving.

12-09-2014, 04:24 PM

:idiot:

:aok: :tee hee:

12-09-2014, 04:40 PM
Danny McGrain... Looked funny!

jamieross
12-09-2014, 04:41 PM
Hibs: Sauzee
Non Hibs: Bergkamp.

Idolised them both. :not worth

12-09-2014, 04:43 PM
Hibs heros:

Joe Baker
Erich Schaedler
Pat Stanton
Jimmy O'Rourke
All of the rest of Turnbull's Tornadoes (but Shades, Pat & Jimmy in particular)

Non Hibs heros:

Jimmy Johnstone
Jim Baxter (yep, even though he was a Rangers player! Wembley 67 he was amazing)
Billy Bremner
Dennis Law
George Best (Man United days)
Bobby Charlton
Kenny Dalglish.

Overseas players:

Pele
Johan Cruyff
Alfredo Di Stefano
Ferenc Puskas

I've probably missed a few, but these guys are the ones who come to mind first.

Thanks very much, I'm flattered.

12-09-2014, 04:44 PM
"Big" John McNamee, when I was a nipper, cried for days when he left, thought my world was coming to an end. few years later, Pat Stanton was and to be honest , is the best player I have ever seen in a Hibs strip. A few have come close[ish], players like , Franck, Russell, Alan Gordon, Jimmy O'Rourke, Shades wee "Mickey" Edwards, but Paddy still tops them all.

12-09-2014, 04:45 PM
Thanks very much, I'm flattered.

Nae probs mate. :greengrin :aok:

12-09-2014, 04:48 PM
I remember the 6-2 game, it was certainly not expected and I wasn't at the game, my first trip there came soon afterwards. :boo hoo: After that game we always had a difficult time up there and that apart, I think the best we got was drawn games, I seem to remember a couple of 0-3 games there & I saw Jim Blair for the first time in a Hibs strip at Pittodrie :grr:, which was the first of the section games leading up to that one we are on about. The fish supper's at the Stonehaven chippy, on the return trip were always some consolation as they were superb, mind you, the bus used to leave ER at 10:00 and usually arriving minutes before KO, so by then we were all starving.
Aye and stayed to midnight.....then we had to go to the local cop-shop to get (or try to) get the guys out of the nick. My granny used to drink with the legendary Walter Sutherland (QC). I was only 18 and got lifted after a brawl at the bowling ally bar. I asked the officer to phone Mr Sutherland at the East Neuk bar in Aberdeen. After much laughter he agreed and the bold Wattie appeared not long after. He was, as always, immaculately dressed, a silver tipped walking cane and fob watch hanging from his waistcoat. He did however sport a dearstalker hat on adorned with green and white balloons and had, perhaps, one or two rum and peps to many. The cops took one look at Wattie and said " take um, take the whole lot o' thum and diny come back".

therealgavmac
12-09-2014, 05:04 PM

You mean this..... my Dad (who was a Jambo, God rest his soul) took me, and if I remember it was all ticket.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ

12-09-2014, 05:43 PM
Surprised nobody has mentioned Joe harper (;

She got a smile that it seems to me, reminds me of childhood memories where everything was as fresh as the bright blue sky.

Ally McLeod. Genius

Him for me too. So much so that I've even copied his physique!

craigmounthibby
12-09-2014, 05:52 PM
Keith Keith Keith

I remember seeing a copy of a Dundee match day programme, when he played for them. It had an interview with Keith, and all he talked about was his desire to play for Hibs, that Hibs were his favourite team etc.

The fact that he then did, and earned legend status for so many, should make every young Hibbie kicking a ball about school playgrounds believe their dreams can be realised too.

I used to love whenever a cross ball from the right wing went into the box...always believed he'd get on the end of it & score, and he often did. Can't remember any other player who looked so genuinely chuffed when he scored either.

:not worth

12-09-2014, 05:53 PM
You mean this..... my Dad (who was a Jambo, God rest his soul) took me, and if I remember it was all ticket.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTQmqaCg5uQ

It was all ticket and that's the one all right. The following day the Sunday papers were full of English interest in Arthur Duncan. I used to hate the speculation surrounding our players, never a Sunday went by when we had at least one player being looked at, if only it was the same today :greengrin

My dad was a Jambo too, the only game we went to where hearts won was around 1965. Hibs were leading the NY derby 2-0 at half time, he took us back to my grans house [his mum] and promptly fell asleep on the armchair. After the obligatory wrestling on the telly, the full time result came through that hearts had won 3-2, I was almost pleased to be able to wake him up with the news [served him right and I was too young for it to be a big thing]. I started going to games with a neighbour, who was a Hibs steward after that. :greengrin

12-09-2014, 06:03 PM
Him for me too. So much so that I've even copied his physique!

You wish. :greengrin

West hamBERNIAN
12-09-2014, 06:06 PM
I'm 30, had it not been for sauzee or latapy I'd have to say Stevie Crawford. Yep hibs were pretty crappy then too. Non hibs, ronaldo or cantona

12-09-2014, 06:19 PM
Big George Stewart tells a great story about the 0-7 game at Tynie. Him and Gordon Strachan (who was only 16 or 17) were playing for Dundee. In the changing room at half-time the score came through (0-5). Him and Gordon are going crazy. Rab Ford threw his boots at them.

M11BMO
12-09-2014, 06:20 PM
Hibs - Sauzee
Non Hibs - Zidane. Always wanted to replicte everything those two did... Headbutts aside!

12-09-2014, 06:21 PM
Hibs - Jackie McNamara was the main man when I was a teenager

Non Hibs Johan Cruyff, simply the best player ever

12-09-2014, 07:09 PM
Des Bremner & Shades ...

12-09-2014, 07:16 PM
Pat Stanton for me, i was lucky enough to see a bit of Colin Stein and Peter Marrinelo and Cormack but Stanton was my first real hero and he still is to this day.

The rest of the tornadoes are very close behind, followed by Sauzee.

Don't really remember Stein, Marinello & Cormack but otherwise I would agree.

Despite it ending badly I also loved Latapy

MichelleHibs
12-09-2014, 07:26 PM
Keith Keith Keith!!

12-09-2014, 07:26 PM
Pat Stanton for me :agree:

Other random Hibs heroes include Des Bremner, Arthur Duncan. Peter Cormack, Neil Martin and big John McNamee ..... oh and Joe McBride Snr and Alex Cropley and Erich Schaedler and Keith Wright and ...............

I'd best stop now I suppose :greengrin

Non Hibs would be Kenny Dalglish at Liverpool

Septimus
12-09-2014, 07:54 PM
Seeing non Hibs are allowed there never was a better player than Billy Steel.

12-09-2014, 08:01 PM
Hibs - Sauzee
Non Hibs - Zidane. Always wanted to replicte everything those two did... Headbutts aside!

Seen Zidane in the champions league final at Hampden.... Best player I have ever watched. And that goal?! Just WOW!!!

12-09-2014, 08:02 PM
Hibs - Jackie McNamara was the main man when I was a teenager

Non Hibs Johan Cruyff, simply the best player ever
A very young 17 year old Argentinian kid tore threw a good Scotland team to win 3-1 at hampden. The rest is history.

12-09-2014, 08:02 PM
The first time my heart was broken by Hibs was when Peter Marinello was transferred but my all time childhood Hibs hero has to be Pat Stanton.
George Best for non-Hibs.

12-09-2014, 08:09 PM
If we can have non Hibs, the i just loved Brian Laudrup even though he played for that horrible lot. Jimmy Johnstone was just immense, and obviously Kenny Dalglish.

12-09-2014, 08:12 PM
If we can have non Hibs, the i just loved Brian Laudrup even though he played for that horrible lot. Jimmy Johnstone was just immense, and obviously Kenny Dalglish.

You are stretching the boyhood bit just a bit there. :greengrin

12-09-2014, 08:12 PM
You are stretching the boyhood bit just a bit there. :greengrin

:greengrin Just got carried away.

12-09-2014, 08:14 PM
Loved Keith. Was at that final as well although was only 5 so don't remember too much of it. First season ticket was 93/94. Loved that team - Keith, Keith, Keith, Crunchy, Kevin Harper, Mickey Weir, Michael O'Neill, Darren Jackson and then Pat the year after.

Any one of the Tornadoes really but Stanton was the man. Followed by crops. And sloop. And onion and and and......

12-09-2014, 08:19 PM
The first time my heart was broken by Hibs was when Peter Marinello was transferred but my all time childhood Hibs hero has to be Pat Stanton.
George Best for non-Hibs.
Pat could have left anytime but was a Hibs man before anything. Tommy Docherty said he was a better sweeper than Bobby Moore. OMG we had some players back in the day. Neil Martin, Eric Stevenson, Peter and Peter, Corky, Joe Davis, Joe McBride snr and Pat. Pat just Hibs through and through. When Gordon Strachan was Celtic boss they showd a pic of a very young Gordon Strachan in the North Enclosure watching PS. My younger brother in their match programme beside Gordon. Love to find it

12-09-2014, 08:31 PM
My first girlhood hero was Andy Goram that was until Franck Sauzee came along.

12-09-2014, 08:42 PM
i know marinello and cormack were good but cant believe no one has mentioned jim scott , he was my first hero , what a player he was. i eventually thought edwards was the man, cant believe he never got capped.

As my Avator is thebakerboy who else but fav other Hibees Willie Hamilton , King Paddy , Jimmy O and away from Hibs The Lawman , King Kenny (only after that goal against Spain) , non Scots Pele and Messi

snedzuk
Erich schaedler closely followed by every other tornado.

MG1965
12-09-2014, 09:35 PM
As a kid watching Hibs defo Blackley but when Sauzee came to Easter road master class!!!:flag:

12-09-2014, 09:44 PM
i know marinello and cormack were good but cant believe no one has mentioned jim scott , he was my first hero , what a player he was. i eventually thought edwards was the man, cant believe he never got capped.

He could beat three men in a row, having little pace but great balance. What I recall was his style of penalties. He rolled them lazily in. I think he got the winner in the famous 6-5 Pars match which my dad and I saw.

12-09-2014, 09:51 PM
He could beat three men in a row, having little pace but great balance. What I recall was his style of penalties. He rolled them lazily in. I think he got the winner in the famous 6-5 Pars match which my dad and I saw.

November 1968 at East End Park. Hibs led 4-0 and 5-2 before the Pars brought it back to 5-5 until Jim Scott won it for Hibs, late on! He'd scored already in the game, as had Allan McGraw who got two, Peter Cormack and Eric Stevenson. A match never to forget :aok:

cmcd
12-09-2014, 09:53 PM
Willie Hamilton for me This is no disrespect to Pat Stanton who i have had the pleasure speaking to The great man himself told me Willie was the best

JJP
12-09-2014, 09:59 PM
When I went to my first games at Easter Road my favourite player was Kevin Harper.

12-09-2014, 10:03 PM

yes your correct , that was my first away game, and jim scott did score the winner, your right he wasnt fast but could ride a tackle and beat a man easy. he ended up going to newcastle united. we also signed his brother alex who was a great player as well.

12-09-2014, 10:06 PM
Initially - Mickey Weir
Then - Pat McGinlay,
Then - Latapy and Sauzee
Then - Scott Brown and Deek Riordan

Since then………………………………………….

Outside Hibs- Zidane. :not worth

12-09-2014, 10:07 PM
Jimmy Kerr 1919 to 2001
Was introduced to him at ER as an 8 year old in 1940 and he remained my " boyhood hero "
Hibs Goalie 1938/52 who played 111 games for the club !!
Jimmy Kerr’s place in Hibernian folklore was assured when he saved a penalty from George Hamilton in the 1947 Scottish Cup final but to no avail as Aberdeen won a Hampden Park thriller 2-1
I was on the terracing that day with my uncle !!
When he left Hibs to join Queen of the South he was presented with inscribed lighter and cigarette case … a sign of a different era if ever there was one.:greengrin

12-09-2014, 10:19 PM
So many years ago but i briefly took a shine to Peter Cormack.......... but PAT STANTON was always around then and is still my NO1 football hero. The man was just majestic! I was absolutely gutted when he went to Celtic.

I had a wee dog and called him Paddy after him and taught the dog to bite Hearts supporters on command!! Went down well in Gorgie!

A good while later Mickey Weir came along and he was my hero for a long while, though never living up to Pat, sorry Mickey!

My other hero was George Best, what a player and what a waste of talent. So sad!

Over all Stanton is still my Hero and always will be!!!

12-09-2014, 10:25 PM
Early days would have been Sauzee and thought John O'Neil was different class too.

Moved on to Boozy and David Murphy. Amazing to think they were 2 free transfers!

Non-Hibs = Henrik Larsson.
Best foreign player Scotland has ever seen.

12-09-2014, 10:33 PM
Early days would have been Sauzee and thought John O'Neil was different class too.

Moved on to Boozy and David Murphy. Amazing to think they were 2 free transfers!

Non-Hibs = Henrik Larsson.
Best foreign player Scotland has ever seen.

Ooh now there's another nice wee thread for someone to start.... Best foreign player Scotland has ever seen?! :thumbsup:

Mentalbarnett
12-09-2014, 10:36 PM
Mickey Weir. strapped myself to a table leg at the hibs club until my dad agreed to take me to my first top team game. It was agaist motherwell we won and mickey scored

13-09-2014, 12:45 AM
Ooh now there's another nice wee thread for someone to start.... Best foreign player Scotland has ever seen?! :thumbsup:

Larsson was great but Zoltan Varga for me was the best

13-09-2014, 12:50 AM
Jimmy Orourke was and still is.

Me too.

Septimus
13-09-2014, 05:36 AM

Joe Baker ?

13-09-2014, 06:27 AM
John Collins and Seve Ballasteros

oregonhibby
13-09-2014, 07:07 AM
The Quiet Man himself and The Law Man. Effortlessly elegant and commanding and the ultimate weapon. Two Heroes of mine.

I still get a thrill when I meet Pat. I still get a thrill when he says to me - we are two boys from Niddrie. Well I was a boy from Niddrie but he was a giant!

13-09-2014, 08:21 AM
Dalglish in a Scotland strip was mine - some night when he finally wore the Hibs one :greengrin

Bobo
13-09-2014, 09:47 AM
My first heroes in green and white were Peter Cormack and Peter Marinello. I was heart broken when they were both sold around the same time in the early 70's to Nottingham Forest and Arsenal respectively.

Fortunately the collective talents of the Tornadoes were to emerge soon after with the likes of Pat Stanton, John Brownlie, Alex Cropley and Alan Gordon making the biggest impression on me. I'm so glad I was of an age to be able to fully appreciate their majesty.

13-09-2014, 10:14 AM
Seeing King Kenny in a Hibs strip completed it for me.

13-09-2014, 10:22 AM
My first heroes in green and white were Peter Cormack and Peter Marinello. I was heart broken when they were both sold around the same time in the early 70's to Nottingham Forest and Arsenal respectively.

Fortunately the collective talents of the Tornadoes were to emerge soon after with the likes of Pat Stanton, John Brownlie, Alex Cropley and Alan Gordon making the biggest impression on me. I'm so glad I was of an age to be able to fully appreciate their majesty.
The very first time (and not the last) my heart was broken was the League Cup Final of 1968. Just a couple of days before the game Hampden caught fire and the game was posponed. By the time the game was played, the fallowing spring, Colin Stein had been sold and his replacement, Joe McBride was cup-tied. We lost 6-2 and my dad and i left at 6-0. Standing in the queue for the train someone said to us it was now 6-2. "dad, can we go back ? the comeback's on". I was only 9. It took me weeks and weeks to get over it.

13-09-2014, 12:45 PM
Mickey weir. I Was there at alan sneddons testimonial king kenny and ted up top magic steve archibald was my hero at barca was delighted when he singed for us

13-09-2014, 01:08 PM
Gabriel Batistuta, Ronaldo, Darren Jackson and Kevin Harper.

13-09-2014, 07:19 PM
Dalglish in a Scotland strip was mine - some night when he finally wore the Hibs one :greengrin

I was fortunate enough to be at Hampden when he scored that stunner against Spain :thumbsup:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9XtXnafCwU

Bay Area Hibees
13-09-2014, 07:34 PM
For hibs John Collins

For Scotland king Kenny

In England Bryan Robson

13-09-2014, 08:41 PM
Mickey weir. I Was there at alan sneddons testimonial king kenny and ted up top magic steve archibald was my hero at barca was delighted when he singed for us
Aye, how times have changed. We bought Steve from Barca now we were 20 mins from being bottom of the championship. Follow the money ? Go through the books and all you get is fresh air.