View Full Version : Squad Photo

09-09-2014, 08:49 PM
Who's the guy next to the left of Oxley?

09-09-2014, 08:50 PM
Fontaine! Answered my own question!

09-09-2014, 08:51 PM
Who's the guy next to the left of Oxley?

Alan Combe I think

09-09-2014, 09:03 PM
Wonder if Heff has ever made it into the back row of a team photo ever?! Usually shorties to the front

c31
09-09-2014, 09:20 PM
still dinny like the strip - I still think its crap...

09-09-2014, 09:30 PM
Look at the crowd... Shocking utterly shocking!!! ;D

09-09-2014, 09:37 PM
Where the flock are the seagulls (and/or the terns?)

Jiggery-pokery with that image.

09-09-2014, 09:39 PM
Look at the crowd... Shocking utterly shocking!!! ;D

First time they've no been booed of the park

09-09-2014, 09:40 PM
We only need to recruit another 1 for the Black tops and we will be able to field a full team of them. But would they beat Alloa? :greengrin

09-09-2014, 10:19 PM
still dinny like the strip - I still think its crap...

I rather like it now. It looks silly with all the coloured boots though.

I've never got used to them.

09-09-2014, 10:27 PM

I've got yellow boots :greengrin

09-09-2014, 10:54 PM

Coloured boots....... absolute nonsense and purely a money spinner for the manufacturers. Who wants to be seen in lime green boots this month when pale turquoise is so tomorrow......... a parental nightmare. Financial and fashion fads aside, the wearing of bright coloured boots is technically stupid. It is a fact that defenders are more visually aware of the movement intentions of opposing forwards and can anticipate easier. Give it five years and some genius will invent the black leather boot.

10-09-2014, 06:48 AM
Coloured boots....... absolute nonsense and purely a money spinner for the manufacturers. Who wants to be seen in lime green boots this month when pale turquoise is so tomorrow......... a parental nightmare. Financial and fashion fads aside, the wearing of bright coloured boots is technically stupid. It is a fact that defenders are more visually aware of the movement intentions of opposing forwards and can anticipate easier. Give it five years and some genius will invent the black leather boot.

I am sure the black gothic look is just around the corner and poised for a comeback! Just market it as being more 'manly' or something and we'll knock it off.

10-09-2014, 07:23 AM

Doc Martens?:greengrin

10-09-2014, 07:49 AM

These yins?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2341085/These-boots-dancing-The-wellies-built-sound-plays-music-mobile-phone.html

10-09-2014, 08:46 AM

I am sure the black gothic look is just around the corner and poised for a comeback! Just market it as being more 'manly' or something and we'll knock it off.

Paul Heffernan and Lewis Stevenson are the only two I can think of from current squad who sport black boots. I feel that black boots compliment our club colours more than the garish assortment of boots now preferred by the majority of pros.
Should be a stipulation at Easter Road - nae fancy coloured boots until we are in top 4 of SPL..

10-09-2014, 06:00 PM
I wonder what the late great Eddie Turnbull would have said about coloured boots?

10-09-2014, 06:09 PM
I wonder what the late great Eddie Turnbull would have said about coloured boots?

I can answer that because I once asked him that question. Leaving out the Malpasesque words it was something along the lines of you shouldn't wear them if you are not a good player because it just makes you stand out as useless :greengrin

10-09-2014, 06:10 PM
What the ****** are they son ?

10-09-2014, 06:16 PM
Joe Baker on his return wore white boots. Pat Stanton like the modest guy he was said he did not think he was a good enough player to were white laces in his black boots never mind white boots. Now you have players that could not hit a coo's erse wi a bango wearin' multi coloured ones.

10-09-2014, 07:07 PM
Joe Baker on his return wore white boots. Pat Stanton like the modest guy he was said he did not think he was a good enough player to were white laces in his black boots never mind white boots. Now you have players that could not hit a coo's erse wi a bango wearin' multi coloured ones.

Arthur Duncan used to favour white boots.

Tinribs
10-09-2014, 07:10 PM
Stubbs still looks like he could do a job on the pitch for us in that pic :thumbsup:

He doesn't look like the usual be-tracksuited middle aged manager, still looks fit and upright.

10-09-2014, 07:32 PM

Indeed and he looked just as good in black ones too :wink:

I never tire of watching this. Sublime football played the way football should be played and wearing the best Hibs strip ever :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bzt4r_IIKVM

10-09-2014, 07:50 PM
It was Jan !st and Corky had already scored 25 goals. (PS says he stole his goal... the 6th)

10-09-2014, 08:18 PM

Ah well - even Arthur Duncan never knew what Arthur Duncan was going to do next. The man was the great enigma - always entertaining in more ways than one!

10-09-2014, 08:28 PM
The occasional white boot a la Duncan, Baker or Ball was ok and an interesting diversion but it's just mad now. Beckham was mostly to blame I think.

The players look like they're wearing gymshoes, sandshoes.......PLIMSOLLS (that horrid word).

I agree that the black boots are perfect for our new strip and should be mandatory.

10-09-2014, 08:31 PM
Doc Martens?:greengrin

Nope :D

These yins?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2341085/These-boots-dancing-The-wellies-built-sound-plays-music-mobile-phone.html

My current pair of boots are these:

http://www.lovellsoccer.co.uk/products/products_new/20721.jpg

11-09-2014, 09:33 AM

You had better be a player with boots like that!

11-09-2014, 10:23 AM
saddest thing about it is Farid and his strapped up ankle!

11-09-2014, 11:09 AM

Interesting point that I hadn't considered until now - but surely green boots would hide better on grass than black ones :confused:

11-09-2014, 01:22 PM
Interesting point that I hadn't considered until now - but surely green boots would hide better on grass than black ones :confused:

All right. But only bottle green. Not lime green like a 70s Ford Escort.

11-09-2014, 07:50 PM

Okay, you've won the bet. You can take them off now. :wink:

11-09-2014, 07:54 PM
You had better be a player with boots like that!

I'm utterly useless to be honest mate. :agree:

11-09-2014, 08:01 PM
First 'proper' boots were Adidas Beckenbauer.......aw man I loved those boots. Then I switched to Puma Dalglish........but my timeless classics were the Adidas Copa Mundials........I'd dump my missus for a pair of Mundials......in fact scratch that, I'd dump her for a pair of TK Maxx slippers, but I miss my 1982 Mundials :greengrin