09-09-2014, 03:21 AM
What they really think of us. Feel the love.:aok:

09-09-2014, 04:35 AM
Brilliant!

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 04:44 AM
What they really think of us. Feel the love.:aok: Skint and yes really do go together. That is the real feeling down here and who can blame the English with all the bull**** emanating from the yes campaign. Very funny clip.

gorgie greens
09-09-2014, 05:06 AM
Nae love for me for them,cant stand them,first time ive agreed with an Engerland fan

09-09-2014, 05:42 AM
Skint and yes really do go together. That is the real feeling down here and who can blame the English with all the bull**** emanating from the yes campaign. Very funny clip.

WOW!! :rolleyes:

09-09-2014, 05:44 AM
Skint and yes really do go together. That is the real feeling down here and who can blame the English with all the bull**** emanating from the yes campaign. Very funny clip.
Lol

Septimus
09-09-2014, 05:47 AM
It has always puzzled me as to why there appears to be little nationalist sentiment among the English. I suppose it is because they are a fractured nation.

Why, I ask, are they so afraid of loosing the Scots ?

09-09-2014, 06:00 AM
That's quite funny.

09-09-2014, 06:06 AM
Oh dear ! Here we go !

09-09-2014, 06:10 AM
Anywhere I can see this if I've not got Facebook?

09-09-2014, 06:18 AM
It has always puzzled me as to why there appears to be little nationalist sentiment among the English.

I'm actually quite pleased that they are showing a bit of nationalist sentiment.

Things like this were to be expected and are a natural reaction.

09-09-2014, 06:20 AM
*cough*voteYES*cough*

HibeesLA
09-09-2014, 06:26 AM

You don't need Facebook to watch the clip. I don't have an account either, but the video isn't locked to users only.

09-09-2014, 06:28 AM
You don't need Facebook to watch the clip. I don't have an account either, but the video isn't locked to users only.

Asks me to log in when I click on the link.

09-09-2014, 06:36 AM
It has always puzzled me as to why there appears to be little nationalist sentiment among the English. I suppose it is because they are a fractured nation.

I've always assumed that it's because the English / British identities are so intertwined for them that it doesn't really register as something that they need to assert, separately from Britishness.:dunno: I think there is a strong national identity, it's just that it's more a kind of British / English hybrid.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 06:38 AM
Lol
Buddy I am in Dubai and your in Drylaw. Yes it really is lol. ;)

09-09-2014, 06:38 AM
I thought that was quite funny.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 06:39 AM
WOW!! :rolleyes:
Between a brewery - it shows.

09-09-2014, 06:40 AM
I thought that was quite funny.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 06:45 AM

The English are not afraid of Scotland leaving - hilarious. The political class maybe but Scotland will be no great loss to this diverse multi-cultural nation. It is funny you talk about a fractured nation in Cyprus you really do see a fractured nation.

hibbiedon
09-09-2014, 06:47 AM

Aye very good, keep taking the tablets and give Bojo our love

hibbiedon
09-09-2014, 06:49 AM

of course they are, its us thats daft not them

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 06:51 AM
*cough*voteYES*cough* please do but also don't whinge about the consequences. The flight of capital is already starting you just don't see. It is your pension funds that are leaving - turkeys voting for Christmas.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 06:52 AM
of course they are, its us thats daft not them
Spoken for truth :top marks

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 06:57 AM
Aye very good, keep taking the tablets and give Bojo our love
He ain't in Dubai but when I get back to the big city I will pass on the regards from the Monte Carlo of the north sunny Musselburgh.

09-09-2014, 07:00 AM
Spoken for truth :top marks

In your opinion. Not mine.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 07:15 AM
In your opinion. Not mine. Well maybe you just need to get out a bit more. Two weeks in Benidorm really doesn't count. I love Scotland but when I see the tartan army and the puerile nationalism of the SNP I am embarrassed by it. "Whaes like us...." and all that rubbish it is just total nonsense. If you think all that rubbish is important, cool but it is still rubbish being poor in Leith is exactly the same as being poor in London. As long as you are willing to take the full consequences of a yes vote - ok by me but be willing to take them.

09-09-2014, 07:20 AM
Vote YES.

09-09-2014, 07:22 AM
Well maybe you just need to get out a bit more. Two weeks in Benidorm really doesn't count. I love Scotland but when I see the tartan army and the puerile nationalism of the SNP I am embarrassed by it. "Whaes like us...." and all that rubbish it is just total nonsense. If you think all that rubbish is important, cool but it is still rubbish being poor in Leith is exactly the same as being poor in London. As long as you are willing to take the full consequences of a yes vote - ok by me but be willing to take them.

You are quite cheeky and arrogant in your opinions. Don't ever suppose you know what I do and have done in my lifetime. I do know the consequences of a yes vote. I have made an informed decision based on the facts.

hibbiedon
09-09-2014, 07:24 AM
please do but also don't whinge about the consequences. The flight of capital is already starting you just don't see. It is your pension funds that are leaving - turkeys voting for Christmas.

its that superior attitude that really pisses people off !

The Baldmans Comb
09-09-2014, 07:24 AM
Good for the English fans as they hit the nail right on the heid.Every country should take the responsibility of running it's own affairs.

Scotland is perfectly capable of using its very considerable wealth for the benefit of Scotland and the people who live and work here.

It's the most natural thing in the world for a country to run its own life and not get others to do it for them.

09-09-2014, 07:26 AM
Well maybe you just need to get out a bit more. Two weeks in Benidorm really doesn't count. I love Scotland but when I see the tartan army and the puerile nationalism of the SNP I am embarrassed by it. "Whaes like us...." and all that rubbish it is just total nonsense.

I've got zero time for the SNP mate, but if you think the discussions and arguments surrounding the upcoming vote are centered around those type of slogans you're way off. Hardly heard any of that crap at all.

but it is still rubbish being poor in Leith is exactly the same as being poor in London. As long as you are willing to take the full consequences of a yes vote - ok by me but be willing to take them.

09-09-2014, 07:30 AM

Me too, don't have Facebook, and can't access it

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 07:36 AM
You are quite cheeky and arrogant in your opinions. Don't ever suppose you know what I do and have done in my lifetime. I do know the consequences of a yes vote. I have made an informed decision based on the facts.
And maybe I have every right to be arrogant. Your decision whatever it is, will be based on very transient and very contested 'facts'. One fact which is beyond doubt is that capital is already leaving Scotland and locating itself south of the border. Second fact is that share price in key Scottish companies are declining. A third and highly personal fact is that you are not far of retirement age, it is your pension, your mortgage that is risk but yes you are making an informed decision based on facets - bravo.

09-09-2014, 07:38 AM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=830896323611283

Better Together :aok:

Excellent! My cousin (English) has just sent that to me :rotflmao:

And McIntosh... That's a terrible way for a "YES'er" to go about campaigning! Fair do's you've probably sent a few more don't knows into the yes camp :wink:

The Baldmans Comb
09-09-2014, 07:40 AM
Oh please, bestow some more of your wisdom oh enlightened one.

Im too much of a puerile nationalist to apply critical thought to the future of my country.

Maybe I should just be like the woman in the better together ad, and leave the hard thinking to others.

Incidentally, you said you are in Dubai. I wonder if they were better together as part of a colony, ruled by somewhere else?

The Dubai person is far to distant and detatched and doesn't understand the debate has completely moved on.

The financial and currency argument has been won and it's now a question of deciding if Scottish people have the self confidence to make the decision to run their own lives alongside the other nations of the world.

There is a huge grassroots movement out there representing all shades of opinion that say YES they can.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 07:47 AM
its that superior attitude that really pisses people off !
Buddy, I am here with a lot of English colleagues and they have no opinion on it. Totally indifferent they are worried about their own lives. The economist amongst the party who are mostly Americans consider succession craziness. I have to admit I think Salmond is a superb politician but I remember the 'arc of prosperity' rubbish - it all too big a risk.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 07:51 AM
Oh please, bestow some more of your wisdom oh enlightened one.

Im too much of a puerile nationalist to apply critical thought to the future of my country.

Maybe I should just be like the woman in the better together ad, and leave the hard thinking to others.

Incidentally, you said you are in Dubai. I wonder if they were better together as part of a colony, ruled by somewhere else?
I think you will need to go back to school for some development in relation to critical thinking. The UAE while notionally independent us still a client state of US interests. There is no such thing as real independence unless you are a super power.

09-09-2014, 07:52 AM

'mon the dictatorships! :aok:

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 07:54 AM
Was sitting on the fence but reading your posts has settled it. Vote yes. if people like you get hurt by scots independence then I'm all for it, give the wealth to the people.
I think you misunderstand I want you to vote yes but live with the consequences. As for being hurt don't make me laugh.

The Baldmans Comb
09-09-2014, 07:55 AM
Was sitting on the fence but reading your posts has settled it. Vote yes. if people like you get hurt by scots independence then I'm all for it, give the wealth to the people.

Independence isn't a magic wand but look around and ask yourself why the wealth of Scotland isn't reaching the people of Scotland.

Scotland's future in Scotland's hands at least gives us more than a fighting chance to change Scotland for the better.

I hope this helps you to decide to vote Yes as Hope over Fear is what this campaign has been all about.

09-09-2014, 07:56 AM
And maybe I have every right to be arrogant. Your decision whatever it is, will be based on very transient and very contested 'facts'. One fact which is beyond doubt is that capital is already leaving Scotland and locating itself south of the border. Second fact is that share price in key Scottish companies are declining. A third and highly personal fact is that you are not far of retirement age, it is your pension, your mortgage that is risk but yes you are making an informed decision based on facets - bravo.
When Scotland goes it alone the pound will plummet. Why? Because it's the north seas natural resources that are holding it up. If there is no formal currency union then rUK will suffer much more than you think. That is why there will be one. Salmond knows this and that is why he will not discuss any other outcome. He will not come out and say so because he is deliberately playing down the Oil theme as a vote winner. You and the rest of the UK just don't get it. It's so much more than tartan and shortbread. The real earthquake will hit next week.

09-09-2014, 07:57 AM

I see you like to tow the BT line of making bold statements, calling them facts, but not backing them up...with anything.

Vote Yes.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 08:02 AM
The Dubai person is far to distant and detatched and doesn't understand the debate has completely moved on.

The financial and currency argument has been won and it's now a question of deciding if Scottish people have the self confidence to make the decision to run their own lives alongside the other nations of the world.

There is a huge grassroots movement out there representing all shades of opinion that say YES they can.
Please do and make it work. In the short term the country will be a little bit poorer but who knows what will happen in the long term. As long as it can retain the talent within the country and get full access to the English domestic and EU markets everything should be ok. Just for the record I want to see the Scots get on with it but please go into it eyes wide open. I am sure you will.

Drewster
09-09-2014, 08:03 AM

Cheers mate - I was undecided, but that's sealed it.............definitely yes!!!!!!!!!!!

Noticed that: Tesco share price is down 35%, BP down 6%, and Rolls Royce down 11% in the the last few months..............that'll be our fault as well!!?

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 08:04 AM
'mon the dictatorships! :aok: yes and no taxation. There is a slogan for you.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 08:12 AM
When Scotland goes it alone the pound will plummet. Why? Because it's the north seas natural resources that are holding it up. If there is no formal currency union then rUK will suffer much more than you think. That is why there will be one. Salmond knows this and that is why he will not discuss any other outcome. He will not come out and say so because he is deliberately playing down the Oil theme as a vote winner. You and the rest of the UK just don't get it. It's so much more than tartan and shortbread. The real earthquake will hit next week.

The pound has already plummeted but this can and would be contained. However, the flight of capital from Scotland has major short and long term consequences and is potentially more damaging. Yes the real earthquake will hit next week and it will be accompanied by the law of unintended consequences for everyone.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 08:16 AM
Cheers mate - I was undecided, but that's sealed it.............definitely yes!!!!!!!!!!!

Noticed that: Tesco share price is down 35%, BP down 6%, and Rolls Royce down 11% in the the last few months..............that'll be our fault as well!!? fab glad to help. Did you consider what the drop in these share prices mean..... People's jobs.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 08:19 AM
I see you like to tow the BT line of making bold statements, calling them facts, but not backing them up...with anything.

Vote Yes. buddy, your statement is pure projection

09-09-2014, 08:30 AM
The very fact that he uses pensions as an argument for voting No tells us all we need to know about his knowledge in the matter.

09-09-2014, 08:34 AM
The very fact that he uses pensions as an argument for voting No tells us all we need to know about his knowledge in the matter.

Buddy, do you jockos not know when to shut up and eat your cereal? Listen to the guy, he's in *Dubai*, ffs. :rolleyes::wink:

The Tubs
09-09-2014, 08:41 AM
The pound has already plummeted but this can and would be contained. However, the flight of capital from Scotland has major short and long term consequences and is potentially more damaging. Yes the real earthquake will hit next week and it will be accompanied by the law of unintended consequences for everyone.

Capital's pushed down the return to labour so much over the past 40 years, and especially in the last 6, that even these grubby capitalists will struggle to squeeze workers any more. If you cared to visit Scotland, you'd see it's currently awash with low-paid job vacancies which, although not offering a great wage to their occupants, indicate a potential strengthenen of labour's position, even if it is only for a few more pence an hour. The decent jobs are more likely to be protected by the skills of the employees, the fact that they speak English and Scotland's position in the EU, something that the UK parliament can't guarantee.

In the medium term, for new economic growth, Scotland can turn its economy to the vast array of niches that will open up to exploit its renewable energy potential, which should hopefully open up areas of technological innovation that aren't dependent pumping black death out of the ground.

And as for the kingdom of Mammon that is Dubai, I think I'd rather be in Drylaw. The slave labour here still has some rights left, unlike the Nepali and Bangaldeshi migrant workers there.

haagsehibby
09-09-2014, 08:47 AM

What do you mean by "plummeted" ? Exchange rates go up and down all the time. It's true that the GBP to USD rate has dropped around 4 cents from last week to around 1.60, but it was 1.71 in July '14 and 1.43 in May '10. So to pick on this one fluctuation and predict Armageddon seems to be rather skewed logic. I agree that the fall this week was due to the publication of the poll giving Yes a slight lead but the market will adjust as it always does.

09-09-2014, 09:11 AM

1) Can you give me any evidence/names of companies of that have relocated south of the border because of the referendum ?
2) The share price in all companies varies from time to time, that is the nature of the beast
3)What evidence do you have that my pension or mortgage is at risk ? Are you saying that all my contributions that I have made to private pensions will not be paid to me ? Would that not be theft by said companies ?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-09-2014, 09:31 AM
I think you will need to go back to school for some development in relation to critical thinking. The UAE while notionally independent us still a client state of US interests. There is no such thing as real independence unless you are a super power.

I think im doing ok thanks.

So, by your own logic, if true independence doesnt exist, scottish independence ceases to be the risk you claim it is, no?

McIntosh
It the truth panicking you.. Come on just admit :wink:

Well maybe you just need to get out a bit more. Two weeks in Benidorm really doesn't count. I love Scotland but when I see the tartan army and the puerile nationalism of the SNP I am embarrassed by it. "Whaes like us...." and all that rubbish it is just total nonsense. If you think all that rubbish is important, cool but it is still rubbish being poor in Leith is exactly the same as being poor in London. As long as you are willing to take the full consequences of a yes vote - ok by me but be willing to take them.

C'mon mate: For someone jumping into the debate on the, by the looks of it, increasingly unpopular Better Together side you really need to have a proper look at the debate happening here .... in the last year nobody, but nobody, has mentioned Tartan, Heather, Shortbread, Brigadoon and especially not bloody Braveheart ! .... I have voted SNP since the 1979 general election and I assure you there is nothing "puerile" about my nationalism.

Yes there is an emotional side to it ... but its not the 'Whaes like us' attitude you highlighted. I would like American kids to point to these islands on the map and not say "yes sir that's England" in response to the teachers question. I would rather not hear a Libyan on the news thank 'England' for helping depose Gaddafi. I would rather not hear pop star after pop star talk about when they broke into the 'English' charts.

As for the 'Tartan Army' .... If you have a look at some of the past threads on the main forum you will find a number of folk who share your view. For my part I find them pretty harmless and would rather see them with the public image they have gained than see them wrecking town centres and fighting with other supporters.

If there is anything "embarrassing" about Scotland it is that we have been happy to sit back for 300 years and blame another country for everything that goes wrong without having the balls to take our own actions and responsibility for them. I find it embarrassing watching the likes of Nigel Farage tell an American news show that "50% of Scots receive state benefits" ..... a Scots are all spongers and are subsidised by England theory which is a widely held view in many parts of that country.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 09:32 AM
Buddy, do you jockos not know when to shut up and eat your cereal? Listen to the guy, he's in *Dubai*, ffs. :rolleyes::wink: comedy gold.... Ready for my next cup of coffee.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 09:39 AM
Capital's pushed down the return to labour so much over the past 40 years, and especially in the last 6, that even these grubby capitalists will struggle to squeeze workers any more. If you cared to visit Scotland, you'd see it's currently awash with low-paid job vacancies which, although not offering a great wage to their occupants, indicate a potential strengthenen of labour's position, even if it is only for a few more pence an hour. The decent jobs are more likely to be protected by the skills of the employees, the fact that they speak English and Scotland's position in the EU, something that the UK parliament can't guarantee.

In the medium term, for new economic growth, Scotland can turn its economy to the vast array of niches that will open up to exploit its renewable energy potential, which should hopefully open up areas of technological innovation that aren't dependent pumping black death out of the ground.

And as for the kingdom of Mammon that is Dubai, I think I'd rather be in Drylaw. The slave labour here still has some rights left, unlike the Nepali and Bangaldeshi migrant workers there.

I hope you are right. If it can be done. I am just very sceptically and possibly cynical. As for Dubai people come here for one reason, even those poor souls who work in construction for one reason - money. I never made these rules up that as you know is the nature of the world.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 09:53 AM
I think im doing ok thanks.

So, by your own logic, if true independence doesnt exist, scottish independence ceases to be the risk you claim it is, no?

This is no dig at you or anyone but I do not frame this debate in concepts of the 'nation' or even national interests. I have always considered them illusions at one level or another. I consider the individuals, the human-beings who pay the price for rhetoric. Unfortunately, the yes campaign minimise and even denies risk. Risk for all parties is present it would be foolish to deny this.

State actors are subservient, an independent Scotland, if this comes to pass will be no different. Indeed, there will be inevitably be part of different union, the only one in town economically - the European union.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 09:55 AM
What do you mean by "plummeted" ? Exchange rates go up and down all the time. It's true that the GBP to USD rate has dropped around 4 cents from last week to around 1.60, but it was 1.71 in July '14 and 1.43 in May '10. So to pick on this one fluctuation and predict Armageddon seems to be rather skewed logic. I agree that the fall this week was due to the publication of the poll giving Yes a slight lead but the market will adjust as it always does.
You have not addressed the flight of capital which is undoubtedly more important.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:05 AM
1) Can you give me any evidence/names of companies of that have relocated south of the border because of the referendum ?
2) The share price in all companies varies from time to time, that is the nature of the beast
3)What evidence do you have that my pension or mortgage is at risk ? Are you saying that all my contributions that I have made to private pensions will not be paid to me ? Would that not be theft by said companies ?

Standard life will leave post independence, if that happens, indeed they have very extensive plans to do so. your second point is correct but you have not addressed the substantive point which is the flight of capital. Your third point is relatively straightforward certain government schemes, TPS for example have cross nation subsides. if Scotland were to be independent, this would have to be negotiated and no UK in good faith would subsidise another state. As for the state pension, Ireland during the crash cut it state pensions dramatically regardless of what was paid in. However, as was said you have made an informed decision based on all the facts.

09-09-2014, 10:07 AM
Standard life will leave post independence, if that happens, indeed they have very extensive plans to do so. your second point is correct but you have not addressed the substantive point which is the flight of capital. Your third point is relatively straightforward certain government schemes, TPS for example have cross nation subsides. if Scotland were to be independent, this would have to be negotiated and no UK in good faith would subsidise another state. As for the state pension, Ireland during the crash cut it state pensions dramatically regardless of what was paid in. However, as was said you have made an informed decision based on all the facts.

Have they said that?

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:18 AM
C'mon mate: For someone jumping into the debate on the, by the looks of it, increasingly unpopular Better Together side you really need to have a proper look at the debate happening here .... in the last year nobody, but nobody, has mentioned Tartan, Heather, Shortbread, Brigadoon and especially not bloody Braveheart ! .... I have voted SNP since the 1979 general election and I assure you there is nothing "puerile" about my nationalism.

Yes there is an emotional side to it ... but its not the 'Whaes like us' attitude you highlighted. I would like American kids to point to these islands on the map and not say "yes sir that's England" in response to the teachers question. I would rather not hear a Libyan on the news thank 'England' for helping depose Gaddafi. I would rather not hear pop star after pop star talk about when they broke into the 'English' charts.

As for the 'Tartan Army' .... If you have a look at some of the past threads on the main forum you will find a number of folk who share your view. For my part I find them pretty harmless and would rather see them with the public image they have gained than see them wrecking town centres and fighting with other supporters.

If there is anything "embarrassing" about Scotland it is that we have been happy to sit back for 300 years and blame another country for everything that goes wrong without having the balls to take our own actions and responsibility for them. I find it embarrassing watching the likes of Nigel Farage tell an American news show that "50% of Scots receive state benefits" ..... a Scots are all spongers and are subsidised by England theory which is a widely held view in many parts of that country.

My friend, most American could not tell you most state capital within the Union or where certain states are located geographically. As hard as this is to write, England will always receive greater attention than Scotland in part due to the size of its population and it's history on the world stage. Maybe this is a reflection on education system and perceived national importance. I am no supporter of Nigel Farage these comments are both incorrect and highly insulting. However, my central point is risk. As I said in the previous post, notions on nationalism and the state lie in the nineteenth century. If Scotland secedes from the UK it will inevitably be drawn into the larger union, a supranational union within Europe. One hopes that the gross inequalities can be resolved within this interregnum or by that Union itself. The union of 1707 happened for an economic and financial reasons these have never dissipated.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:22 AM
Have they said that?
You won't get that from a FOI request but it is common knowledge within the City. I personally think it is outrageous regardless of what happens. If it was a yes, the position of RBS would be most interesting.

09-09-2014, 10:23 AM
Notions of nationalism/nineteenth century ? What is this bawbaggery from you really all about ?

09-09-2014, 10:24 AM
You won't get that from a FOI request but it is common knowledge within the City. I personally think it is outrageous regardless of what happens. If it was a yes, the position of RBS would be most interesting.

Knowledge, or gossip, or wishful thinking, or scaremongering?

09-09-2014, 10:26 AM
This is no dig at you or anyone but I do not frame this debate in concepts of the 'nation' or even national interests. I have always considered them illusions at one level or another. I consider the individuals, the human-beings who pay the price for rhetoric. Unfortunately, the yes campaign minimise and even denies risk. Risk for all parties is present it would be foolish to deny this.

State actors are subservient, an independent Scotland, if this comes to pass will be no different. Indeed, there will be inevitably be part of different union, the only one in town economically - the European union.

I agree with you that the risks are minimised by the Yes side to a degree .... but the trouble BT have is that they have worked so hard painting a picture of an independent Scotland shunned by the international community and in meltdown financially and socially that fewer and fewer people are buying it.

I expect a backlash of some sort from the rest of the UK if its Yes ... even if its only my brother who lives in England getting abuse in the street. There may even be an economic backlash as well, even if its folk refusing to buy shortbread.... like folk in Sunderland refusing to buy Sugar Puffs when the Honey Monster wore a Newcastle strip, or folk in Liverpool refusing to buy the Sun.

But I tell you what .... If we remain in the UK and a referendum is held which results in the UK quitting the EU ( which is very likely ) these things will be as nothing to the ****storm the remaining countries of the EU will unleash on the UK. We have strutted about the EU for decades demanding this and refusing to sign up to that ... not to mention our smugness when the Euro went tits up. I don't think I'm wide of the mark in thinking there are a number of EU countries who will jump on the opportunity for payback with utter relish.

That's as good a reason for voting Yes as I can think of.

09-09-2014, 10:27 AM

They also said the same prior to the devolution vote and nothing happened. No doubt they are trying to sway the vote with their public or private pronouncements however the blackmail position really is unacceptable in a democratic process.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:30 AM
Knowledge, or gossip, or wishful thinking, or scaremongering? check their office purchase in the square mile -that is no regional office. No scaremongering there.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:33 AM
They also said the same prior to the devolution vote and nothing happened. No doubt they are trying to sway the vote with their public or private pronouncements however the blackmail position really is unacceptable in a democratic process.

Agreed but many plans are now in place. I don't like it or approve of it but these organisations are doing it and they will do it if they consider independence not to be in their interests.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:34 AM
Notions of nationalism/nineteenth century ? What is this bawbaggery from you really all about ?

You are charming but not well educated. I thought the schools were back.

09-09-2014, 10:36 AM
check their office purchase in the square mile -that is no regional office. No scaremongering there.

This was David Nish a month ago:-

"Nish dismissed reports that it is in talks to buy a large office development in the City as a potential headquarters"

Have things changed since then?

09-09-2014, 10:42 AM
If Scotland secedes from the UK it will inevitably be drawn into the larger union, a supranational union within Europe. One hopes that the gross inequalities can be resolved within this interregnum or by that Union itself. The union of 1707 happened for an economic and financial reasons these have never dissipated.

Wouldn't you rather be directly represented in Europe than through the UK where England's interest will always trump ours. Sure, we'll have a small voice, but where we have common interest with England, we'll speak together, where interest diverges, we can look for other allies.

I think I agree with your last sentence. The 1707 union traded Scottish access to English markets for security for England's northern border and an agreed protestant succession. The EU makes the same trade off: a pooling of sovereignty for economic and security benefit. The difference is that the EU only requires a pooling, the UK required us to completely subsume our country into theirs. Given that the new relationship of the EU is on offer to us, why we would we stick with the old, outdated and infinitely more limiting version?

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:44 AM
I agree with you that the risks are minimised by the Yes side to a degree .... but the trouble BT have is that they have worked so hard painting a picture of an independent Scotland shunned by the international community and in meltdown financially and socially that fewer and fewer people are buying it.

I expect a backlash of some sort from the rest of the UK if its Yes ... even if its only my brother who lives in England getting abuse in the street. There may even be an economic backlash as well, even if its folk refusing to buy shortbread.... like folk in Sunderland refusing to buy Sugar Puffs when the Honey Monster wore a Newcastle strip, or folk in Liverpool refusing to buy the Sun.

But I tell you what .... If we remain in the UK and a referendum is held which results in the UK quitting the EU ( which is very likely ) these things will be as nothing to the ****storm the remaining countries of the EU will unleash on the UK. We have strutted about the EU for decades demanding this and refusing to sign up to that ... not to mention our smugness when the Euro went tits up. I don't think I'm wide of the mark in thinking there are a number of EU countries who will jump on the opportunity for payback with utter relish.

i agree with you, BT have painted a picture which is more befitting the apocalypse and there will be a backlash with very hard negotiations, if secession occurred. Agree totally about the EU. I believe in an European federation but the stumbling block as in this issue is the currency. I am convinced that the current relationships between the constituents parts of the UK is unsatisfactory but I am more concerned thatScotland would be denied access to the European market by the Spanish veto.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:46 AM
This was David Nish a month ago:-

"Nish dismissed reports that it is in talks to buy a large office development in the City as a potential headquarters"

Have things changed since then?

There planning application just went in, why don't you check that, that speaks louder than David Amish. I am sure he would never lie to anyone.

09-09-2014, 10:49 AM
There planning application just went in, why don't you check that, that speaks louder than David Amish. I am sure he would never lie to anyone.

I was actually asking what I thought was a reasonable question.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:55 AM
Wouldn't you rather be directly represented in Europe than through the UK where England's interest will always trump ours. Sure, we'll have a small voice, but where we have common interest with England, we'll speak together, where interest diverges, we can look for other allies.

I think I agree with your last sentence. The 1707 union traded Scottish access to English markets for security for England's northern border and an agreed protestant succession. The EU makes the same trade off: a pooling of sovereignty for economic and security benefit. The difference is that the EU only requires a pooling, the UK required us to completely subsume our country into theirs. Given that the new relationship of the EU is on offer to us, why we would we stick with the old, outdated and infinitely more limiting version?

I am a believer in a federated EU with federations contained within but due to intensive lobbying within the EU access would be denied to Scotland. For me, this is the vital relationship - we are all states of interdependence. The real challenge is how this integration takes place.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 10:58 AM

Apologises I meant no offence. I think there is a bit of double speak from David Nish but I am not wanting sued for defamation.

09-09-2014, 10:59 AM
I am a believer in a federated EU with federations contained within but due to intensive lobbying within the EU access would be denied to Scotland. For me, this is the vital relationship - we are all states of interdependence. The real challenge is how this integration takes place.

No chance. Even BTNT have given up on that scare. :wink:

09-09-2014, 11:05 AM
Apologises I meant no offence. I think there is a bit of double speak from David Nish but I am not wanting sued for defamation.

No worries.

09-09-2014, 11:23 AM
My friend, most American could not tell you most state capital within the Union or where certain states are located geographically. As hard as this is to write, England will always receive greater attention than Scotland in part due to the size of its population and it's history on the world stage. Maybe this is a reflection on education system and perceived national importance. I am no supporter of Nigel Farage these comments are both incorrect and highly insulting. However, my central point is risk. As I said in the previous post, notions on nationalism and the state lie in the nineteenth century. If Scotland secedes from the UK it will inevitably be drawn into the larger union, a supranational union within Europe. One hopes that the gross inequalities can be resolved within this interregnum or by that Union itself. The union of 1707 happened for an economic and financial reasons these have never dissipated.

Agree about Americans ... but those on the international stage who should know better still don't. You are right about England too, but I don't want Scotland lumped in as if it were part of England as opposed to part of a union of countries which include England.

If notions on nationalism and the state lie in the 19th century the rest of the world must not have noticed if the number of nation states which have sprung up, or regained their independence, since 1945 is anything to go by. I appreciate that the nation state is a very different entity in the modern world of globalisation and huge international corporations ... that does not mean it is, or ever will be, redundant.

I love the idea of no countries with some sort of world government ... its never going to happen.

The union as you say came about for financial reasons, with Scotland at the time close to bankruptcy .... but the truth is the people who signed us up to the union did so as much to save their own position and fortunes as through any thought for the population at large. To say the economic and financial reasons which lead to the union have "never dissipated" has me a bit confused.

Scotland's plight in the early 1700s was caused by the Darien Scheme, the failure of which ruined the country financially. Scotland is a very different place today from that Scotland .... Being in the union certainly saved Scotland from a lot of pain, but there is no evidence that Scotland long term would not have eventually recovered on its own. In short unless an independent Scotland intends to commit 70% of the nations income to another ill judged and poorly thought out adventure the conditions which lead to the act of union certainly have dissipated.

09-09-2014, 11:48 AM

I think they call this kind of slaver sophistry.

09-09-2014, 11:55 AM
I don't think I'm wide of the mark in thinking there are a number of EU countries who will jump on the opportunity for payback with utter relish.

You're voting Yes because one outcome will mean the people of England suffering?

09-09-2014, 12:15 PM
You're voting Yes because one outcome will mean the people of England suffering?

Any vote as to whether to quit the EU will be driven by the 60 odd million population of England who I am led to believe are more Euro sceptic than people in Scotland. It will have little to do with the result of the referendum, be that Yes or no.

Apart from that ............ If voting Yes protects Scotland from the worst excesses of an EU backlash that cant be a bad thing IMO.

Having said all that ....... To twist what I said into what you said is ( to be civil ) beyond poetic license. :bitchy:

09-09-2014, 12:26 PM

Have they said that?

Only in the warped alternative universe of Better Together. I'm not going looking, but I think they said, like the did at the time of Devolution, that they would have contingency plans. The only people that don't have contingy plans are the MOD for Trident and the UK government.

09-09-2014, 12:34 PM

Don't hold your breath for a straight answer.

09-09-2014, 12:35 PM

I work in Planning, can you give me the reference number?

09-09-2014, 12:42 PM
I did not know that folk in Dubai had an opinion on Scottish independance. I actually stay on ER. Anyway, Dubai sound rubbish, no boozers.

Have fun.

PS am going away travelling for 3 months next month but ill no post that on a football forum trying to impress folk because no one probably gives a to**

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 01:04 PM
Agree about Americans ... but those on the international stage who should know better still don't. You are right about England too, but I don't want Scotland lumped in as if it were part of England as opposed to part of a union of countries which include England.

If notions on nationalism and the state lie in the 19th century the rest of the world must not have noticed if the number of nation states which have sprung up, or regained their independence, since 1945 is anything to go by. I appreciate that the nation state is a very different entity in the modern world of globalisation and huge international corporations ... that does not mean it is, or ever will be, redundant.

I love the idea of no countries with some sort of world government ... its never going to happen.

The union as you say came about for financial reasons, with Scotland at the time close to bankruptcy .... but the truth is the people who signed us up to the union did so as much to save their own position and fortunes as through any thought for the population at large. To say the economic and financial reasons which lead to the union have "never dissipated" has me a bit confused.

Scotland's plight in the early 1700s was caused by the Darien Scheme, the failure of which ruined the country financially. Scotland is a very different place today from that Scotland .... Being in the union certainly saved Scotland from a lot of pain, but there is no evidence that Scotland long term would not have eventually recovered on its own. In short unless an independent Scotland intends to commit 70% of the nations income to another ill judged and poorly thought out adventure the conditions which lead to the act of union certainly have dissipated.

Thanks for this. The equalisation of currency after the fiscal union of the eighteenth century took in excess of fifty years to resolve but the access to world markets on an unprecendated scale in the later part of the eighteenth century catapulted Scotland into a golden age economically. The rapid decline of Empire in the post-war era and traditional industries associated with it has brought to the fore the financial and economic factors prevelant historically.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 01:07 PM
I think they call this kind of slaver sophistry. I am truly surprised that you know the meaning of the final word used in your sentence. You really never cease to amaze me. Remarkable and yes you have been patronised.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 01:12 PM

Here is the contact number 02076063030. If sure you will be able to do this yourself, you clearly have the time.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 01:16 PM
I did not know that folk in Dubai had an opinion on Scottish independance. I actually stay on ER. Anyway, Dubai sound rubbish, no boozers.

Have fun.

PS am going away travelling for 3 months next month but ill no post that on a football forum trying to impress folk because no one probably gives a to**

you are right there - the place is boring as hell. I used to stay in Bothwell street along time ago. If you ever end up in this neck of the wood message me I will find a dodgy bar for you. I will stand you a pint. m

09-09-2014, 02:16 PM
Here is the contact number 02076063030. If sure you will be able to do this yourself, you clearly have the time.

Do me a favour, as you seem to know more about this than anybody else on here, either give me the reference number so anybody can look it up without having to go searching, or tell us the source of your information so you can back up your claim. Any fool can look up a phone number and post it.

McIntosh
09-09-2014, 02:24 PM
Do me a favour, as you seem to know more about this than anybody else on here, either give me the reference number so anybody can look it up without having to go searching, or tell us the source of your information so you can back up your claim. Any fool can look up a phone number and post it.

Why don't you phone them yourself, you work in planning for Goodness sake. No matter what I told you, you wouldn't want to believe it. So just check it yourself. It will not take you long.

TrinityHibs
09-09-2014, 02:56 PM

I think he is referring to 100 Cheapside which Standard Life may have bought which may or may not be for their own use. The building has just completed and while it is possible Standard Life might want to make external changes it does not mean they are moving in. I think you will find that Standard Life have a number of offices in London that they could move into should they wish to re-locate some office space post referendum.

09-09-2014, 03:51 PM
Any vote as to whether to quit the EU will be driven by the 60 odd million population of England who I am led to believe are more Euro sceptic than people in Scotland. It will have little to do with the result of the referendum, be that Yes or no.

Apart from that ............ If voting Yes protects Scotland from the worst excesses of an EU backlash that cant be a bad thing IMO.

Having said all that ....... To twist what I said into what you said is ( to be civil ) beyond poetic license. :bitchy:

Apologies, mate. Picked up on your post totally wrong. Late night, working hard (still). :aok:

09-09-2014, 04:04 PM

Outstanding post!!!

09-09-2014, 04:29 PM
Apologies, mate. Picked up on your post totally wrong. Late night, working hard (still). :aok:

Nae sweat mate, been there done that :agree:

09-09-2014, 05:10 PM
Thanks for this. The equalisation of currency after the fiscal union of the eighteenth century took in excess of fifty years to resolve but the access to world markets on an unprecendated scale in the later part of the eighteenth century catapulted Scotland into a golden age economically. The rapid decline of Empire in the post-war era and traditional industries associated with it has brought to the fore the financial and economic factors prevelant historically.

It is true that being part of the union gave Scotland greater access to worldwide markets, but that's the problem with these economic history lessons, they always seem to be based on a premise that without the UK teat to suck on Scotland would never have made it through the 18th, 19th or 20th centuries, even though there are lots of examples of nations of a similar size who have successfully made it this far without needing to be part of a set up which pillaged the wealth of half the globe through force of arms and other equally nefarious methods to help it get there.

Though the gradual decline of traditional industries in the post war 'developed' world was perhaps inevitable as these countries moved to industries like electronics and technology based businesses, there can be few countries who's heavy industry was as devastated as Scotland's was. I seem to remember that one of the many Tory governments we didn't vote for did its best to ensure that happened.

A wee aside off topic .... You poked fun at a previous poster saying you were surprised he knew the meaning of a word he had used ( I didn't ) I've got to say that even though I consider myself reasonably intelligent I have struggled to grasp what you are trying to say in parts of some of your posts ... your use of words and language in some parts has me reaching for the dictionary and having to read and re read some of your stuff before I get it.

Your last sentence here is a case in point, no matter how many times I read it I cant grasp what you are saying. I know what all the words mean, just not what they are saying. If you want to engage the whole of your audience it might be a good idea to use simpler language. I'm not having a go, its just friendly advice.

09-09-2014, 05:46 PM
Why don't you phone them yourself, you work in planning for Goodness sake. No matter what I told you, you wouldn't want to believe it. So just check it yourself. It will not take you long.

Give me a link, or tell me the address of this ficticeous new headquarters, it is customary to provide evidence which you are failing miserably to do.

If you can't do a simple thing like that then there is no point anybody paying you any attention.

09-09-2014, 06:59 PM
Give me a link, or tell me the address of this ficticeous new headquarters, it is customary to provide evidence which you are failing miserably to do.

If you can't do a simple thing like that then there is no point anybody paying you any attention.

When I was a kid I was convinced that the Beano was made in London. That's because every edition had a Fleet Street address at the bottom of the last page. I don't know why Dc Thomson felt they had to use their London office address, but we all know everything was done in Dundee.

Maybe all Standard Life is doing is having a nominal front of house in England, whilst all the back stage stuff still happens here. I can't imagine how long it would take to set up the whole operation in London.

09-09-2014, 08:16 PM
When I was a kid I was convinced that the Beano was made in London. That's because every edition had a Fleet Street address at the bottom of the last page. I don't know why Dc Thomson felt they had to use their London office address, but we all know everything was done in Dundee.

Maybe all Standard Life is doing is having a nominal front of house in England, whilst all the back stage stuff still happens here. I can't imagine how long it would take to set up the whole operation in London.

All that needs doing is for Standard Life or any other company for that matter to have a property somewhere within rUK that they register as thier head office so that they are considered a UK based company and come under UK legislation (specifically the financial services compensation scheme)

The costs involved in moving everything from thier various offices in Edinburgh down to London, setting up offices and infastructure, recruiting staff, training them to do the jobs needed and so on would be huge for absolutely no benefit to the company what-so-ever.

They will register a head office in London and some of the high level jobs will move down there possibly but i can't see them making any significant changes to the workforce or operation unless it gets hugely more expensive to employ scottish staff or run an office in iScotland.

09-09-2014, 08:54 PM

You are the epitomy of Project Fear!

09-09-2014, 10:15 PM
I think that's by and large a bit of banter but I don't think we'd hear the end of it is the roles were reversed. Farage would blow up with seethe.

Stranraer
09-09-2014, 10:26 PM
Just a bit of a laugh IMO, I've met a few English vote who said if they were Scottish they would vote Yes! I love our neighbours really.

Stranraer
09-09-2014, 10:27 PM

Is it true that the No campaign actually were self-proclaimed project fear? I'm pretty sure the Yes camp didn't make that up...

09-09-2014, 10:44 PM

folk have every right to be worried, this is something that will effect bills, mortgages, job security and many other aspects of life...unless of course you are a yes fan, I'm which case it will not effect you at all other than you will over night become loaded, have no worries, and be given you flying pink cow personally trained by wee eck and jimmy krankie.

09-09-2014, 11:00 PM
folk have every right to be worried, this is something that will effect bills, mortgages, job security and many other aspects of life...unless of course you are a yes fan, I'm which case it will not effect you at all other than you will over night become loaded, have no worries, and be given you flying pink cow personally trained by wee eck and jimmy krankie.

I think you worry too much. Whatever happens on 18 September the Scots will just get on with it. Nothing is black and white in this world and you should really test your judgement on that. I believe Scotland will prosper under independence but for me it is just as important that decisions affecting Scotland are made in Scotland.

Westminster is a discredited establishment. It should have been disbanded after the expenses scandal. Time for change. 100% control over our affairs and we will be accountable for our actions and will grow up as a nation. A bit like the subordinate teenager who turns into an adult and becomes self-sufficient.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
10-09-2014, 07:29 AM
I am truly surprised that you know the meaning of the final word used in your sentence. You really never cease to amaze me. Remarkable and yes you have been patronised.

What a compelling argument...

Dont worry, you are not in the slightest patronising. You are amusing.

10-09-2014, 08:16 AM

I have checked all major Planning Applications in the last 6 months for the Square Mile and not one is in the name of Standard Life. Can you please clarify what you are talking about?

You are saying it has just been submitted. What I find strange is that they would want to pay more for office space in London than Edinburgh.

10-09-2014, 08:21 AM

So, are you saying that the Yes arguments don't stack up, or that they are on drugs?

10-09-2014, 10:21 AM

I think you worry too much. Whatever happens on 18 September the Scots will just get on with it. Nothing is black and white in this world and you should really test your judgement on that. I believe Scotland will prosper under independence but for me it is just as important that decisions affecting Scotland are made in Scotland.

Westminster is a discredited establishment. It should have been disbanded after the expenses scandal. Time for change. 100% control over our affairs and we will be accountable for our actions and will grow up as a nation. A bit like the subordinate teenager who turns into an adult and becomes self-sufficient.

Cracking post agree totally.

10-09-2014, 10:23 AM
I have checked all major Planning Applications in the last 6 months for the Square Mile and not one is in the name of Standard Life. Can you please clarify what you are talking about?

You are saying it has just been submitted. What I find strange is that they would want to pay more for office space in London than Edinburgh.

Quelle surprise. :rolleyes:

KdyHby
10-09-2014, 10:28 AM
Is it true that the No campaign actually were self-proclaimed project fear? I'm pretty sure the Yes camp didn't make that up...

http://aye2014.wordpress.com/2014/08/

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=CIQ8VVn8AJA

The Baldmans Comb
10-09-2014, 11:33 AM

Look around this part of Western Europe and you see small thriving European Countries completely at ease with themselves and better and happier places because they are completely in charge of their own affairs.

Austria (8 million)
Switzerland (8 million)
Denmark (5.6 million)
Finland (5.4 million)
Slovakia (5.4million)
Norway (5.0 million)
Slovenia (3.3million)

and I would now include Ireland whose economy is now bouncing back from their self imposed banking crisis.

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/the-economic-recovery-is-most-visible-in-the-labour-market-1.1891630

Take the leap and be brave and let 'Scotland's Future be in Scotland's hands' and not run by others and especially not by a bankrupt Westminster system.:agree:

10-09-2014, 12:18 PM

I'm a Yes fan and I think about all of these things. There will be ups and downs, wins and losses, following independence if the vote goes our way. But what country on earth doesn't go through that?

The only gauge of how we might get on is to look at countries around us of similar size and development. I don't see any that are in meltdown, I do see a few who are doing pretty well. For the most part these countries don't have any more or less resources than Scotland. Lets not mention Greece ... having watched a few documentaries on what lead to their crash the folk in charge should have been jailed.

Can I have my flying pink cow now?

McIntosh
10-09-2014, 01:46 PM
I think he is referring to 100 Cheapside which Standard Life may have bought which may or may not be for their own use. The building has just completed and while it is possible Standard Life might want to make external changes it does not mean they are moving in. I think you will find that Standard Life have a number of offices in London that they could move into should they wish to re-locate some office space post referendum.

Please check today's announcement.

McIntosh
10-09-2014, 01:50 PM

please check today's announcement. The plans are all in place. Things are a bit calmer than yesterday but my central point has always been the flight of capital - it is already commencing. Sadly, the yes campaign can call it bluster but capital has no loyalty only self interest.

McIntosh
10-09-2014, 01:56 PM
Quelle surprise. :rolleyes:

today's announcement. I can but help but say I told you so. It was not fear mongering it just happens to be a fact. There office in Dubai knew a couple of days ago. For the yesers it is going to be an earthquake but maybe not the one they expect or maybe they do. Turkey's and Christmas and chickens coming home to roost or simple denial but it is starting to happen. Welcome to the new Scotland.

10-09-2014, 02:59 PM
Standard life haven't said anythjng new. They MIGHT end up moving business to England IF an independent Scotland doesn't have satisfactory regulations and currency for them to maintain their business.

10-09-2014, 04:05 PM
please check today's announcement. The plans are all in place. Things are a bit calmer than yesterday but my central point has always been the flight of capital - it is already commencing. Sadly, the yes campaign can call it bluster but capital has no loyalty only self interest.

I'll refer you back to your claim that Standard Life had applied for planning permission. Totally untrue.

They have enquired about 100 Cheapside which is nearing completion. It also happens to be 2 street away from the current leased office space they currently occupy in the gurkin. 2+2 really does make 5

You get half the story and make a fairy tale out of it.

10-09-2014, 04:11 PM
today's announcement. I can but help but say I told you so. It was not fear mongering it just happens to be a fact. There office in Dubai knew a couple of days ago. For the yesers it is going to be an earthquake but maybe not the one they expect or maybe they do. Turkey's and Christmas and chickens coming home to roost or simple denial but it is starting to happen. Welcome to the new Scotland.

Gloating is a sign of insecurity mate .... Were you bullied at School by a nationalist?

10-09-2014, 04:24 PM
Please check today's announcement.

The one that said that they "could" move in the event of independence?

10-09-2014, 10:17 PM

I really don't think we will.

you seem to be under the impression that even though over the last 5 or so days deutche bank, credit Suisse, societe generale, nomura, several American banks/ investors, standard life, Rbs, lloyds, the Bank of England, BP, shell, the mortgage market, and the ftse are all wrong about the huge dangers, the fact that money should be taken out of scotland, and the chance of recession...but instead the lack of answers from salmond and krankie are enough to convince you that we can just get on with it. There is a world of a difference between a vision and delusion.

mikewynne
11-09-2014, 06:00 AM

There, their, they're. You should learn the difference before criticising other people's education (as you did earlier in this thread).

11-09-2014, 09:21 AM
Between a brewery - it shows.

check their office purchase in the square mile -that is no regional office. No scaremongering there.

I'll refer you back to your claim that Standard Life had applied for planning permission. Totally untrue.

They have enquired about 100 Cheapside which is nearing completion. It also happens to be 2 street away from the current leased office space they currently occupy in the gurkin. 2+2 really does make 5

You get half the story and make a fairy tale out of it.

Gosh, it has gone all very quiet in McIntosh Land.

11-09-2014, 10:38 AM
There, their, they're. You should learn the difference before criticising other people's education (as you did earlier in this thread).

:agree: ........ Live by the sword as they say.

11-09-2014, 10:42 AM
I really don't think we will.

you seem to be under the impression that even though over the last 5 or so days deutche bank, credit Suisse, societe generale, nomura, several American banks/ investors, standard life, Rbs, lloyds, the Bank of England, BP, shell, the mortgage market, and the ftse are all wrong about the huge dangers, the fact that money should be taken out of scotland, and the chance of recession...but instead the lack of answers from salmond and krankie are enough to convince you that we can just get on with it. There is a world of a difference between a vision and delusion.

It is because they are based in London and want to keep it that way with them being in power. It is political and about power rather some sound economic review. People really need to start thinking beyond the biased hysterical headline.

11-09-2014, 04:28 PM
Economist on bbc world news saying (after 5mins of the report claiming banks will move to London) that they will be moving the "brass plates" of the head office down South but not the companies or employees.

11-09-2014, 04:34 PM
Economist on bbc world news saying (after 5mins of the report claiming banks will move to London) that they will be moving the "brass plates" of the head office down South but not the companies or employees.

**** me. On the BBC? How did that slip through the net? :wink:

11-09-2014, 04:41 PM
**** me. On the BBC? How did that slip through the net? :wink:

I'm of that age where the BBC is still one of the things that I have trust in.

So, when I woke up this morning to them telling me that RBS were "moving to England", my heart sank. "Game changer", I thought. Of course, as the day has gone on, and the truth has come out (culminating in Salmond's evisceration of Nick Robinson), I am happier at the outcome.

However, the BBC are fast going to that same place where so many of my childhood influences (Harris, Saville, Travis etc etc) have gone..... the box marked disillusionment and disappointment.

11-09-2014, 05:12 PM
I'm of that age where the BBC is still one of the things that I have trust in.

So, when I woke up this morning to them telling me that RBS were "moving to England", my heart sank. "Game changer", I thought. Of course, as the day has gone on, and the truth has come out (culminating in Salmond's evisceration of Nick Robinson), I am happier at the outcome.

However, the BBC are fast going to that same place where so many of my childhood influences (Harris, Saville, Travis etc etc) have gone..... the box marked disillusionment and disappointment.

... and the Scotsman :boo hoo:

11-09-2014, 06:35 PM
Why has Martin Gilbert of Aberdeen Asset Managements proclamation that an iScotland would be a 'big success' been tacked on to the sendationalist RBS reports rather than reported in it's own right?

As if I didn't know....