View Full Version : Bring back Derek Riordan

Pages : 1 [2]

04-09-2014, 03:45 PM
Did he not get injured while at Alloa, he was playing games and then he got injured, but don't let that get in the way of your fairy tale.

9k, take it you can back that up as i think you are lying.
I am at the mercy of the person who told me. I have no doubt about her relationship to Derek, and I did challenge her on the figure quoted. I am not lying, but I admit I haven't seen his pay slip, so I have to take it on trust.

Why would I want to lie sh?

Juice-Terry
04-09-2014, 03:50 PM
FFS stop living in the past!! It's like you that have got this club in such a mess!! !

Riorden was done a long time ago :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

****ing hell... Take it easy dude.

KanyeWestLower
04-09-2014, 03:50 PM
on a pay per play deal providing he's hungry enough to prove himself the player we all know he can be. nothing to lose now!

Don't want to read the whole thread, can someone summarise?

Is this a joke thread?

04-09-2014, 03:51 PM
FFS stop living in the past!! It's like you that have got this club in such a mess!! !

Riorden was done a long time ago :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

That's a bit harsh... think you might apologise

04-09-2014, 03:52 PM
9k a week, gotta laugh. Our TOTAL weekly wage budget wouldn't have been far off 35-40k a week, no way could we have paid 1 player 9k a week. Impossible.

I'd probably be less of a gamble than Deek nowadays. No thanks.
You work Saturdays anyway half job ;)

Why doesn't Hibs appoint Riordan as Chairman?

We'd have 'brought him back', Rod would be gone, and he wouldn't be playing... everybody would be happy. :wink:

04-09-2014, 04:00 PM
9k a week, gotta laugh. Our TOTAL weekly wage budget wouldn't have been far off 35-40k a week, no way could we have paid 1 player 9k a week. Impossible.

In that case I am the victim of a lie. How much do you think he earned at Celtic, and how big a drop in salary would he have been prepared to take for a move to Hibs? These are things I considered, and came to the conclusion that Rod went out of the wage structure to make a headline signing. Any lower and Derek could have gone South.

04-09-2014, 04:04 PM
But it's not really a leap of faith is it? We bring him in, get him fit then try him out in the under 20s, if he doesn't cut it there then he wouldn't get anywhere near the first team. The way some people are going on you would think the plan was to sign him and stick him straight in the team. If Riordan could recapture his old form we'd have a match winner in our team, if he can't then he won't get a game. I can't see where the risk is for us. We're 3rd bottom of the league and our top scorer is out injured, our most prolific striker of recent times is on the golf course.

As i said in a earlier post Derek keeps himself fit by running and doing the gym in his house, he would prefer to be training with a club but he can't force that to happen, but he is keeping himself fit in the hope that a club comes in for him, he hasn't gave up on getting back playing for a club, he picked up a injury while playing for Alloa at the start of his time there which he thought was just a knock to his foot and he thought a few weeks out and he would be back playing again, he played in a Under 20s and only lasted 45 minutes because of the pain in his foot, with Alloa being a part time club getting treatment from the physio was once maybe twice a week and rehab on the astro wasn't doing him any good as the pain wouldn't go away, he eventually contacted a doctor and paid for a scan where it was shown that he had bone bruising in his foot, http://drgeldwert.com/blog/foot-pain/bone-bruise-recovery-time/, it was the longest he had been out in his football career with a injury, he has now recovered from that, but that was the reason he didn't play much for Alloa.

04-09-2014, 04:05 PM
For me this thread is pointless Does anyone seriously think that AS is going to sign Riordan I will no doubt upset posters who call him a legend Sorry guys not for me Real Hibs legends are Lawrie R -P Stanton -W Hamilton - J Baker -G Smith - N Martin -Jimmy Orourke Need i go on ?

Why are they real Hibs legends and Derek isn't.

04-09-2014, 04:06 PM

04-09-2014, 04:11 PM
Youd think the guy was Messi, the way people are going on about him. He scored goals in a good team. He came back a second time and was less impressive. This time we are expecting him to regain fitness lost over three years, and be ready for Christmas. Sheer desperation, and wishful thinking. No manager of any team us going to sign him - it tells you something.

Disagree with you on that, first season top goal scorer, 2nd season played left midfield and hit 15 goals and double figures in assists and a call up to the Scotland squad, 3rd season, top goal scorer again.

04-09-2014, 04:11 PM
As i said in a earlier post Derek keeps himself fit by running and doing the gym in his house, he would prefer to be training with a club but he can't force that to happen, but he is keeping himself fit in the hope that a club comes in for him, he hasn't gave up on getting back playing for a club, he picked up a injury while playing for Alloa at the start of his time there which he thought was just a knock to his foot and he thought a few weeks out and he would be back playing again, he played in a Under 20s and only lasted 45 minutes because of the pain in his foot, with Alloa being a part time club getting treatment from the physio was once maybe twice a week and rehab on the astro wasn't doing him any good as the pain wouldn't go away, he eventually contacted a doctor and paid for a scan where it was shown that he had bone bruising in his foot, http://drgeldwert.com/blog/foot-pain/bone-bruise-recovery-time/, it was the longest he had been out in his football career with a injury, he has now recovered from that, but that was the reason he didn't play much for Alloa.

Silver, what happened with his trial (MK Dons was it?) where they thought he wasn't fit enough for a trial?

04-09-2014, 04:16 PM
I saw a photo of Joe Harper in the paper -pretty sure he could get himself in shape by Christmas-although I'm told Jenners don't have a Santa anymore.

What kind of state do you think Derek is in, when was the last time you seen him, i hardly think 11 1/2 stone is being out of shape.

04-09-2014, 04:17 PM
Well what we do really know is that he wasn't good enough for Alloa.

You no nothing then.

04-09-2014, 04:20 PM
FFS stop living in the past!! It's like you that have got this club in such a mess!!!

Is there any need for that.

04-09-2014, 04:21 PM
I am at the mercy of the person who told me. I have no doubt about her relationship to Derek, and I did challenge her on the figure quoted. I am not lying, but I admit I haven't seen his pay slip, so I have to take it on trust.

Why would I want to lie sh?

So you no nothing then and just guessing, I'm not.

04-09-2014, 04:22 PM

It will soon become a hibs.net fact. :wink: :greengrin

04-09-2014, 04:25 PM
In that case I am the victim of a lie. How much do you think he earned at Celtic, and how big a drop in salary would he have been prepared to take for a move to Hibs? These are things I considered, and came to the conclusion that Rod went out of the wage structure to make a headline signing. Any lower and Derek could have gone South.

See that's it, you have a lot to say about Derek, genuine question, have you ever met him no anything about him or are you just listening to other folk to get a wrong picture.

04-09-2014, 04:27 PM
Silver, what happened with his trial (MK Dons was it?) where they thought he wasn't fit enough for a trial?

He had a trial with them.

04-09-2014, 04:36 PM
It will soon become a hibs.net fact. :wink: :greengrin

We're going to have to open a new sub-forum for proper facts, then another for Hibs.net FACTS :greengrin

04-09-2014, 04:39 PM
Silver, there's really no need for the rampant defence of him for some of us.

Not all of us are bitter or jealous that someone lived their dream. Some embarassing comments on this thread, I hope Derek himself doesn't read this guff and think it's a true representation of what the majority of Hibs supporters think of him.

Derek Riordan, 100+ goals for Hibs. Legend, simple as that.

04-09-2014, 04:42 PM
So you no nothing then and just guessing, I'm not.

No, I'm not guessing, SH. As I have said, someone whom I know to be close to him told me. I have to take her word for it. I can't say for certain, and am happy to admit it. Why would I lie?

04-09-2014, 04:45 PM
If I was to say "Inside info - we're signing a striker. Didn't get games at Alloa and hasnae scored in three years" people would be up in arms and down to ER for the daily protest. We need someone to be good now. Seek was amazing a few years ago but pish now, can we please knock all this on the head?

Can you let us know some more about the daily protest?

stevenhibs
04-09-2014, 04:45 PM
I actually think Derek himself won't be happy and to a degree will feel he hasn't quite finished yet.

Players can have these bursts of determination later in their careers.

I reckon this would work, and work well.

04-09-2014, 04:48 PM
See that's it, you have a lot to say about Derek, genuine question, have you ever met him no anything about him or are you just listening to other folk to get a wrong picture.

No I haven't. I've hinted at my source, and that's as far as it goes. Are you upset that she knows something you don't?

Not all of us are bitter or jealous that someone lived their dream. Some embarassing comments on this thread, I hope Derek himself doesn't read this guff and think it's a true representation of what the majority of Hibs supporters think of him.

Any need for that Sean? Some people don't think he can cut it anymore, it's no reflection on what he did before.

04-09-2014, 05:03 PM
No I haven't. I've hinted at my source, and that's as far as it goes. Are you upset that she knows something you don't?

Any need for that Sean? Some people don't think he can cut it anymore, it's no reflection on what he did before.

Some do think he can't cut it anymore however, it is without foundation or fact therefore, some are assuming the worst. Little knowledge is dangerous.

04-09-2014, 05:08 PM

04-09-2014, 05:15 PM
Some do think he can't cut it anymore however, it is without foundation or fact therefore, some are assuming the worst. Little knowledge is dangerous.

Its hardly without foundation to say that very few athletes can return, at the age of 31, after such a long lay off. As I said earlier there's a lot of wishful thinking on here, and people are refusing to see what's in front of him.

It seems to me that, even if he did get a trial, the managers judgement would be criticised if he didn't offer him a deal. I wouldn't have any problem with him getting a trial though, but I reckon those in football have already passed their professional opinion.

04-09-2014, 05:21 PM
Its hardly without foundation to say that very few athletes can return, at the age of 31, after such a long lay off. As I said earlier there's a lot of wishful thinking on here, and people are refusing to see what's in front of him.

It seems to me that, even if he did get a trial, the managers judgement would be criticised if he didn't offer him a deal. I wouldn't have any problem with him getting a trial though, but I reckon those in football have already passed their professional opinion.

I tend to agree with some of this. They can be wrong though and our lot get it more wrong than right.

04-09-2014, 05:23 PM
I tend to agree with some of this. They can be wrong though and our lot get it more wrong than right.

It's about opinions, but passions have been running high on this one. I'm out. :thumbsup:

04-09-2014, 05:40 PM
It's about opinions, but passions have been running high on this one. I'm out. :thumbsup:

I'm enjoying it and your contribution :) it is all about opinions and all reasonable ones are welcome.

04-09-2014, 05:43 PM
No, I'm not guessing, SH. As I have said, someone whom I know to be close to him told me. I have to take her word for it. I can't say for certain, and am happy to admit it. Why would I lie?

Some of the things you have said on this thread, your either at the wind up or you are telling porkies, for someone who has a lot to say about Derek you aren't getting much right if any at all, if someone told me any player from Hibs was getting 9k in the last five years i would burst out laughing at them and tell them they are talking nonsense or they are telling lies, once again when was the last time you met Derek to make up all these assumptions you are putting over, or is it all just hearsay.

04-09-2014, 05:46 PM

Nope, because she has told you porkies and you have believed it, 9k :faf:

04-09-2014, 05:48 PM
Some of the things you have said on this thread, your either at the wind up or you are telling porkies, for someone who has a lot to say about Derek you aren't getting much right if any at all, if someone told me any player from Hibs was getting 9k in the last five years i would burst out laughing at them and tell them they are talking nonsense or they are telling lies, once again when was the last time you met Derek to make up all these assumptions you are putting over, or is it all just hearsay.

I think I answered all of this in the last post. I told you my source.

Now please tell me what I have to gain by making something up.

And does it really hurt you that much that she knows more about his earnings than you do?

04-09-2014, 05:49 PM
What kind of state do you think Derek is in, when was the last time you seen him, i hardly think 11 1/2 stone is being out of shape.

It was a wee joke about Harper in terms of bringing back an old timer-don't be so prickly.Riordan is one of the most natural strikers I've ever seen.He wasn't the same player when he came back from Celtic-their fault not his.There's no way sadly that he can turn the clock back now-he's been too long out.

04-09-2014, 05:49 PM
Nope, because she has told you porkies and you have believed it, 9k :faf:

Fine, you are a very strange man. Time you moved on I think.

cmcd
04-09-2014, 05:56 PM
If you watched any of these guys you would`t ask such a question Don`t take my word for it Just ask anyone of a certain age

04-09-2014, 05:58 PM
I think I answered all of this in the last post. I told you my source.

Now please tell me what I have to gain by making something up.

And does it really hurt you that much that she knows more about his earnings than you do?

Tee Hee.

I doubt it very much.

04-09-2014, 06:00 PM
Fine, you are a very strange man. Time you moved on I think.

Superb stuff coming from you. :aok:

04-09-2014, 06:01 PM
If you watched any of these guys you would`t ask such a question Don`t take my word for it Just ask anyone of a certain age

I was asking you funnily enough.

04-09-2014, 06:04 PM

My old boy is 61, I just asked him if Riordan was a Hibs legend, his response was he was the first Hibs player to score over 100 goals for us in 30 years so of course he is, also said he's the best goal scorer he's seen with Hibs since the 70s:cb

04-09-2014, 06:18 PM
There is some great banter on this thread however, some comments fall just short of being ridiculous! Comparing club legends is pitiful and insulting to all those who wore our colours with pride and Deeks is definitely one of them! He is only 31 and could turn it all around if given a chance. I believe he would tear through this league we find ourselves in once up to speed and back to match fitness. I don't know him but have passed him on many occasions and he's still a skinny boy! I'd give him a chance and I'll no apologise for it!! Some of those impostors at the club should apologise though.

cmcd
04-09-2014, 06:26 PM
I was asking you funnily enough.
Yes DR scored over 100 goals but legend status goes to those who conduct themselves in a proper manner both on and off the park Every one of these players mentioned had the ability to do that I think im correct in saying Neil Martin had the best goals to game ratio of any Hibs player All these guys were wonderful players and great servants to Hibs

04-09-2014, 06:33 PM
Superb stuff coming from you. :aok:

It's one of my gentler observations of you. Well done on winning the argument though, you have presented a flawless case. :aok:

04-09-2014, 06:39 PM
It was a wee joke about Harper in terms of bringing back an old timer-don't be so prickly.Riordan is one of the most natural strikers I've ever seen.He wasn't the same player when he came back from Celtic-their fault not his.There's no way sadly that he can turn the clock back now-he's been too long out.

At no point in this thread have i said he should come back to Hibs.

Peace.

GGTTH07
04-09-2014, 06:42 PM
I'd take a half fit derek riordan over Danny Handling.

buktapurple79
04-09-2014, 06:44 PM
There is some great banter on this thread however, some comments fall just short of being ridiculous! Comparing club legends is pitiful and insulting to all those who wore our colours with pride and Deeks is definitely one of them! He is only 31 and could turn it all around if given a chance. I believe he would tear through this league we find ourselves in once up to speed and back to match fitness. I don't know him but have passed him on many occasions and he's still a skinny boy! I'd give him a chance and I'll no apologise for it!! Some of those impostors at the club should apologise though.

You're bang on the cash mate. The West Edinburgh Cheats genuinely believe that fat ******* Robbo would score for them if he came on as a late sub (and he probably would:rolleyes:), and we've got folk doubting if a naturally fit and supremely talented forward talent aged 31 who bleeds Hibs could do a job? Cash per game, get him fit, get him round some auld diehard Hibbees for a blether about his goals, and a talk about the greats to get his compass readjusted, and we would walk this league. Deeks would be 25 plus goals, nae bother. Impact sub against the 'The' and the Diets, he'd demolish the rest of that league's defences.

buktapurple79
04-09-2014, 06:45 PM
I'd take a half fit derek riordan over Danny Handling.

04-09-2014, 06:50 PM
It's one of my gentler observations of you. Well done on winning the argument though, you have presented a flawless case. :aok:

No need to be so kind, say your bit and get it of your chest if it makes you feel better though, I'm a big lad and can take it. :aok:

04-09-2014, 07:07 PM
You're bang on the cash mate. The West Edinburgh Cheats genuinely believe that fat ******* Robbo would score for them if he came on as a late sub (and he probably would:rolleyes:), and we've got folk doubting if a naturally fit and supremely talented forward talent aged 31 who bleeds Hibs could do a job? Cash per game, get him fit, get him round some auld diehard Hibbees for a blether about his goals, and a talk about the greats to get his compass readjusted, and we would walk this league. Deeks would be 25 plus goals, nae bother. Impact sub against the 'The' and the Diets, he'd demolish the rest of that league's defences.

Sounds like a plan.

04-09-2014, 07:08 PM
Yes DR scored over 100 goals but legend status goes to those who conduct themselves in a proper manner both on and off the park Every one of these players mentioned had the ability to do that I think im correct in saying Neil Martin had the best goals to game ratio of any Hibs player All these guys were wonderful players and great servants to Hibs

Did Willie Hamilton conduct himself in a proper manner on and off the park?

04-09-2014, 07:14 PM

Well that's a progressive attitude to sports science. :greengrin

04-09-2014, 07:15 PM

he bleeds hibs okay , but he is way past his sell by date, lets remember him in his prime , great player he was .

E10 Rifle
04-09-2014, 07:18 PM

Or George Best?

A Legend gives you something special, gets you off your seat, makes you excited when they are on the ball, and lifts the whole place. Doesn't matter (within reason) what they do off the pitch.

04-09-2014, 07:19 PM
Well that's a progressive attitude to sports science. :greengrin

He said that Willie Hamilton was a legend and Riordan wasn't because of the way he conducted himself on and off the park. I never saw Willie play but I've heard plenty stories about him :wink:

04-09-2014, 07:19 PM
Or George Best?

A Legend gives you something special, gets you off your seat, makes you excited when they are on the ball, and lifts the whole place. Doesn't matter (within reason) what they do off the pitch.
Exactly

04-09-2014, 07:32 PM

Were they all angels were they.

Not going to get involved in this one, I'm out okay.

04-09-2014, 07:43 PM
Or George Best?

Yes, except in Bests case, people wanted more and more of the same, and felt they owned him off the park as well (at Man U).

04-09-2014, 07:47 PM
No need to be so kind, say your bit and get it of your chest if it makes you feel better though, I'm a big lad and can take it. :aok:

Fair play, you got the better of that exchange. :agree:

04-09-2014, 07:54 PM

What a load of crap, if the internet was around when the players you talk of as being legends, we'd have wanted most of them hung drawn and quartered.

Riordan is a legend, i was around since the late 60s and he's the best finisher i have ever seen, and some of the goals he provided were up there with the best i have seen also.

04-09-2014, 08:00 PM
What a load of crap, if the internet was around when the players you talk of as being legends, we'd have wanted most of them hung drawn and quartered.

Riordan is a legend, i was around since the late 60s and he's the best finisher i have ever seen, and some of the goals he provided were up there with the best i have seen also.

04-09-2014, 08:05 PM
Riordan was pish. I cannot stand folk that can ping a baw into the top corner a dozen times a season.

04-09-2014, 08:14 PM
Riordan was pish. I cannot stand folk that can ping a baw into the top corner a dozen times a season.

It's a terrible curse eh!

04-09-2014, 08:15 PM
Fair play, you got the better of that exchange. :agree:

Peace

04-09-2014, 08:20 PM
Fed up hearing all this, he was a legend, he wasn't etc so I googled the definition of legend and this came up:

LEGEND: DEREK RIORDAN, HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB

Pretty conclusive I'd say.

04-09-2014, 08:28 PM
Fed up hearing all this, he was a legend, he wasn't etc so I googled the definition of legend and this came up:

LEGEND: DEREK RIORDAN, HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB

Pretty conclusive I'd say.

Already knew it! However, now you know he's kept in shape but maybe lacks match fitness/sharpness, what's your thoughts on the topic?

04-09-2014, 08:34 PM
Already knew it! However, now you know he's kept in shape but maybe lacks match fitness/sharpness, what's your thoughts on the topic?

My thoughts are that our current predicament would not allow the time Deek would require to get back to match fitness, therefore he would probably not bring anything to the party soon enough to appease the doubters and would end up on the end of continued negativity from the majority of the support.

Therefore I'm out :greengrin

04-09-2014, 08:38 PM
My thoughts are that our current predicament would not allow the time Deek would require to get back to match fitness, therefore he would probably not bring anything to the party soon enough to appease the doubters and would end up on the end of continued negativity from the majority of the support.

Therefore I'm out :greengrin

Yeah, that is the downside unfortunately.

04-09-2014, 08:51 PM

Personally am hoping that Oxley bloke comes good and starts banging them in on a regular basis :wink:

04-09-2014, 08:53 PM
How many teams has he gone to since he left Hibs and failed to convince the boss hes worth keeping,must be a few now,and we say we should bring him back,we would only be disappointed and the club would be slated for doing it in the first place.
Time to move on and leave him with the hero status he has amongst hibs fans

JJP
04-09-2014, 09:09 PM
Remember when he came back from Celtic, it was his return game at Easter Road, came off the bench and his first touch was picking the ball up in our own half and playing an absolute killer pass to Dean Shiels that put him one on one with the keeper. Deano finished the chance as well, can't remember who we were playing though. I celebrated so much that night I ended up in hospital for a week.:rolleyes:

Such a great memory, was on cloud nine when Sky Sports News announced on Transfer Deadline Day that he was coming back.

04-09-2014, 09:11 PM
It's a terrible curse eh!

yes is that oil your talking about.

tanfield
04-09-2014, 09:11 PM
No thanks, let's move on guys!

04-09-2014, 09:12 PM
Remember when he came back from Celtic, it was his return game at Easter Road, came off the bench and his first touch was picking the ball up in our own half and playing an absolute killer pass to Dean Shiels that put him one on one with the keeper. Deano finished the chance as well, can't remember who we were playing though. I celebrated so much that night I ended up in hospital for a week.:rolleyes:

Such a great memory, was on cloud nine when Sky Sports News announced on Transfer Deadline Day that he was coming back.

Dundee United.

04-09-2014, 09:14 PM
Is any of deeks pals on here? ...if so then tell him to phone LD

04-09-2014, 09:15 PM
Deek has scored 1 goal in three and a half years.

It must have been a cracker given that so many folk would take him back "in a heart beat".

Quality not quantity after all!

04-09-2014, 09:16 PM
I would hate Derek to come back again, be a disaster and then we have that as our last impression of him. He was fantastic in his first spell, still pretty special second time round. 100+ goals for us makes him a legend in my book. Lets leave it at that and move on. Whatever Derek does in his life i wish him well, I just don't think it will, or should, be at Hibs

04-09-2014, 09:25 PM

Because nobody can be a legend anymore. It's a hibs.net rule

JJP
04-09-2014, 09:27 PM
His career has never worked out anywhere, except Easter Road. Some players were just meant to play for certain clubs and Riordan was tailor made for Hibs.

He may not be up to it anymore, he might not have the hunger to reach the heights he once did, but what harm is there in him coming in to train with the team and trying to get fit and AS having a look at him.

04-09-2014, 09:34 PM
His career has never worked out anywhere, except Easter Road. Some players were just meant to play for certain clubs and Riordan was tailor made for Hibs.

He may not be up to it anymore, he might not have the hunger to reach the heights he once did, but what harm is there in him coming in to train with the team and trying to get fit and AS having a look at him.

He'd be at Hibs 5 minutes and there would be 20 threads screaming "Get Deek in".

When he didn't get a game, there would be 20 threads screaming "Stubbs must go".

The lad was magic for Hibs. He will always be remembered as a hero and/or a legend.

It's time to move on.

04-09-2014, 09:43 PM
Nothing has really lit a fire under him for his last few opportunities. He needs something to motivate him for a major rebound, a complete renewal of his state of health and mind. Hibs could do that and in providing that pivotal event for him he could be a turning point for Hibs in this season by scoring a load of goals. LD might see him as a special project and conjure up a plan to get him fit to play by health and sports science. Someone send LD the link to Riordan's goals. He must have one or two more seasons in him somewhere just waiting to be unleashed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spQ3ihnxWNU

04-09-2014, 10:01 PM
He hasnt played at all since when?
Since alloa last season? And then he didnt really get a game. Did he not have a wee spell at bristol rovers before that and do crap also. He must be so unfit just now he'd toil. No pre season training, he'd be injured too easy.
What i can't believe is someone said he's just 30? Is that true? What a waste if so.

04-09-2014, 10:29 PM
Deek has scored 1 goal in three and a half years.

It must have been a cracker given that so many folk would take him back "in a heart beat".

Quality not quantity after all!

We have players now who might be in our squand for three and a half years and score 1 goal. Deeks? You see if he wants to, if he does we try hin out for say amonth, if he doesn't perform or scores none we will be no worse off measured against most of our current attackers efforts, Farid excluded. And he'd cost nothing to trial and nothing to get rid off.

Got to be equal to most of what we will get outside the window and might actually have heard of hibs and want to play for us!

shetlandhibee
04-09-2014, 10:50 PM
hes been out to long ? some people are saying hes been home sick injured a lot and played out of positions in and out of teams etc. but hes totally lost all his skill and can never get it back? ever cos hes 31?? dont buy that at all!! somebody said earlier that when he last offered to play for free pat fenlon didnt want him and that says it all? the same pat fenlon that sighned rowan vine james collins and paul heffernan,?how does some ppl not think a partially fit deeks would score more goals than the three of them putten together?like i said earlier whats wrong with the idea to let him train and get fit if he doesent get fit enough to get a few run outs for the under 20s so be it, nothing ventured nothing gained. like i said earlier IMHO a partially fit deeks would{especially now that we 'are' making more chances}be our top scorer bye a stretch! theres not going to be 'somebody' that we can get to make an imediate impact 'now' we cant aford them!, hibs are desperate right? how some folk laugh at the thought of giveing someone {a hibs scoreing legend for gods sake!}a 'chance' to to get fit and help the team that he loves beats me? teenage loanees? and paul heffernan?main striker crocked 3rd bottom of the league? stay above water in our comeing games and have a strong middle to the end in the league is what ime hopeing for{play off place}, i know it probably wont happen and he'll probably not get the chance IMHO it would work, GGTTH

05-09-2014, 02:25 AM
His first long term injury in his football career.

And yes training on the astro didn't help his recovery.

#bdh

05-09-2014, 02:37 AM
He's on the Xbox all the time. He's finished.

05-09-2014, 02:51 AM
He's on the Xbox all the time. He's finished.

I am on my xbox all the time yet I have 3 jobs.

05-09-2014, 05:42 AM
I am on my xbox all the time yet I have 3 jobs.Make food. Make coffee and go to the toilet? ;)

FinlayHibs
05-09-2014, 06:03 AM
This has been a great thread cheers for the memory's deek great striker in yer day ! Scoring the winner against the **** at PBS then getting punched by a ghost ! GGTTH

cmcd
05-09-2014, 06:04 AM
No he did his own thing but did not involve others in his problems Oh and yes DR could not lace his boots Just ask Pat Stanton

GordonR
05-09-2014, 06:17 AM
hes been out to long ? some people are saying hes been home sick injured a lot and played out of positions in and out of teams etc. but hes totally lost all his skill and can never get it back? ever cos hes 31?? dont buy that at all!! somebody said earlier that when he last offered to play for free pat fenlon didnt want him and that says it all? the same pat fenlon that sighned rowan vine james collins and paul heffernan,?how does some ppl not think a partially fit deeks would score more goals than the three of them putten together?like i said earlier whats wrong with the idea to let him train and get fit if he doesent get fit enough to get a few run outs for the under 20s so be it, nothing ventured nothing gained. like i said earlier IMHO a partially fit deeks would{especially now that we 'are' making more chances}be our top scorer bye a stretch! theres not going to be 'somebody' that we can get to make an imediate impact 'now' we cant aford them!, hibs are desperate right? how some folk laugh at the thought of giveing someone {a hibs scoreing legend for gods sake!}a 'chance' to to get fit and help the team that he loves beats me? teenage loanees? and paul heffernan?main striker crocked 3rd bottom of the league? stay above water in our comeing games and have a strong middle to the end in the league is what ime hopeing for{play off place}, i know it probably wont happen and he'll probably not get the chance IMHO it would work, GGTTH

Paragraphs. There's a reason why they exist.

05-09-2014, 06:46 AM
No he did his own thing but did not involve others in his problems Oh and yes DR could not lace his boots Just ask Pat Stanton

Not the old 'can't lace his boots' retort!

Some claiming on here that Willie Hamilton is a Hibs legend. What makes him so? His 2 year stint and 15 league goals in 50 appreances when Hibs finished 10th and then 4th in the league? Or is it his 'flawed genius' and not fulfiling his immense talent because of alcohol? Or is it his memorable game against Real Madrid, a friendly match which Hibs won 2-0.

There is a difference between footballing legends playing for Hibs and being a Hibs 'legend'. George Best is a football legend who played for Hibs but is not a Hibs legend.

And I am not sure what you are inferring with 'he did not involve others in his problems'. Are you claiming that Riordan has?

Willie Hamilton is a football 'legend' with strong links to Hibs, Sheffield United, Aston Villa and Hearts.

Different era, different players but Derek Riordan is a Hibs legend!

tomhorn
05-09-2014, 06:55 AM
If he had passion and hunger left for the game, he would have got himself megafit, found himself a club at any level, worked really hard and started ascending to bigger and better clubs. He hasnt so you need to question his desire and ambition. Its a shame but its the path he has taken. I'd love to see him come back to even a fraction of what he was but no one can do it for him.

timewilltell
05-09-2014, 07:05 AM
If he had passion and hunger left for the game, he would have got himself megafit, found himself a club at any level, worked really hard and started ascending to bigger and better clubs. He hasnt so you need to question his desire and ambition. Its a shame but its the path he has taken. I'd love to see him come back to even a fraction of what he was but no one can do it for him.

He's finished. Time to move on.

05-09-2014, 07:06 AM
I'd have Deek in the team before Heffernan.

However, that wasn't intended as a compliment to Deek as such....

05-09-2014, 07:43 AM

far too generalistic! No one here knows what went on in his head and the comfort zone he may employ when playing football. Football is as much psychology as a sport.

05-09-2014, 07:43 AM

Evidence please!

05-09-2014, 07:48 AM
And Riordan shapes for the shot. . .

05-09-2014, 07:49 AM
He'd be at Hibs 5 minutes and there would be 20 threads screaming "Get Deek in".

When he didn't get a game, there would be 20 threads screaming "Stubbs must go".

The lad was magic for Hibs. He will always be remembered as a hero and/or a legend.

It's time to move on.

If we could just turn back the clock...... :wink:

05-09-2014, 07:55 AM
Riordan is the past, he has no future at Hibs - it's really that simple.

05-09-2014, 07:56 AM
Riordan is the past, he has no future at Hibs - it's really that simple.

But why?

05-09-2014, 08:00 AM
far too generalistic! No one here knows what went on in his head and the comfort zone he may employ when playing football. Football is as much psychology as a sport.

Let it go, your man crush is admirable but you have to accept that one day he will officially retire. You'll be on suicide watch when that happens!

05-09-2014, 08:04 AM

Evidence please!

Check his games played, goals scored and teams who've rejected him since leaving Hibs. Plus the fact that no team currently wants him.

05-09-2014, 08:16 AM
But why?

:ostrich:

05-09-2014, 08:16 AM
Let it go, your man crush is admirable but you have to accept that one day he will officially retire. You'll be on suicide watch when that happens!

Very strange reply? Man crush, suicide watch? Hmm that just isn't me!

05-09-2014, 08:17 AM
Even if we all agreed to give him a shot, Hibs wouldn't.

05-09-2014, 08:18 AM
Check his games played, goals scored and teams who've rejected him since leaving Hibs. Plus the fact that no team currently wants him.

There are lots of players out there no team currently wants. Maybe Deeks didn't fancy those who wanted him?? I don't know what the issues,were and very few are publicised so, who knows?

05-09-2014, 08:19 AM
:ostrich:

??

05-09-2014, 08:20 AM
Yet another thread that is making us the laughing stock of football forums everywhere. How some people can slag the board and then say with should get Deeks back is hard to fathom.

05-09-2014, 08:20 AM
Not the old 'can't lace his boots' retort!

Some claiming on here that Willie Hamilton is a Hibs legend. What makes him so? His 2 year stint and 15 league goals in 50 appreances when Hibs finished 10th and then 4th in the league? Or is it his 'flawed genius' and not fulfiling his immense talent because of alcohol? Or is it his memorable game against Real Madrid, a friendly match which Hibs won 2-0.

There is a difference between footballing legends playing for Hibs and being a Hibs 'legend'. George Best is a football legend who played for Hibs but is not a Hibs legend.

And I am not sure what you are inferring with 'he did not involve others in his problems'. Are you claiming that Riordan has?

Willie Hamilton is a football 'legend' with strong links to Hibs, Sheffield United, Aston Villa and Hearts.

Different era, different players but Derek Riordan is a Hibs legend!

Good post. After reading this thread, I've converted to seeing Derek as a legend. Great comparison with Hamilton. Derek scored over 100 goals. Hamilton is no more a legend than Chic Charnley, IMO.

05-09-2014, 08:21 AM
Even if we all agreed to give him a shot, Hibs wouldn't.

That's the rub!

05-09-2014, 08:21 AM
Yet another thread that is making us the laughing stock of football forums everywhere. How some people can slag the board and then say with should get Deeks back is hard to fathom.

Oh come on! We're pretty much a laughing stock as it is right now!

05-09-2014, 08:22 AM
There are lots of players out there no team currently wants. Maybe Deeks didn't fancy those who wanted them?? I don't know what the issues,were and very few are publicised so, who knows?

I think you do know, deep down. You just don't want to admit it.

He's done nothing since leaving Hibs, failed at other clubs (even at part-time Alloa) and is making no effort whatsoever to get his carer back on track.

05-09-2014, 08:25 AM

He's done nothing since leaving Hibs, failed at other clubs (even at part-time Alloa) and is making no effort whatsoever to get his carer back on track.

He got a bad injury at Alloa, he didn't "fail". If that's your definition of failure then I suppose that's El Alagui failed at us then?

05-09-2014, 08:26 AM
??

Always wanted to use that symbol and now I have, you spoil it ... :greengrin - I'm suggesting you are refusing to see the evidence - he has ruined any chance he ever had of forwarding his professional career; he is obviously unable to apply himself to the task of being a professional footballer (on and off the field) and this has been the case for several years - no-body wants him - despite his "talent" - there must be a reason, don't you think? Football clubs - no matter how far down the league you go have realised that whatever he once had he has now long since lost it - or maybe he simply can't be arsed anymore. Most of us have twigged that his day has come and now its long since gone: seems you still haven't - you a friend of his maybe?

05-09-2014, 08:29 AM

You can't say that, you don't know the apparent psychology of Riordan...

The smart cookie is merely playing the ultimate game of poker. Rather than getting a club, proving his fitness and that he still has some of his ability left he has decided to live in the football wilderness for at least the last 3 years in a bid to prove that Hibs should give him a trial.

05-09-2014, 08:31 AM
He got a bad injury at Alloa, he didn't "fail". If that's your definition of failure then I suppose that's El Alagui failed at us then?

Has he fully recovered from this injury?

05-09-2014, 08:36 AM
Has he fully recovered from this injury?

Obviously not, otherwise he'd be storming the goalscoring charts by now.

Nailrodders
05-09-2014, 08:38 AM
Deek's best days may be behind him but the fact is that right now we don't need somebody to keep us at the top of the SPL. We need somebody to keep us away from the bottom of the Championship. In his last season with us Deek scored 11 goals playing as a midfielder. I would chew off my own bell end right now for a midfielder who could contribute 11 goals to the cause.

I don't think his current situation is relevant, as I don't think he would have been interested in or cared about what he was doing at a club like Alloa. With Hibs it would be different. I don't see why we shouldn't give him a try. It's not as if we're spoiled for choice right now.

Perhaps those who are so vehemently opposed to the idea (and aren't just yams on the wind-up) could explain exactly where they are going to find somebody of Deek's class, why he should be interested in coming to Hibs, and how we're going to afford him.

Oh, and since this paragon will of necessity be a free agent himself right now, why no other club is interested in him either.

05-09-2014, 08:40 AM

Are you not confusing Deek with Deekman, recently rejected by Hibs? :wink:

I really do get what people are saying in that it is time to move on....if only we did not desperately need a goalscorer. Every free agent now is 'unwanted' which is why they are free agents and no-one has signed them for FREE. And if I am wrong I have no problem with it except I would like some names of good strikers that are free agents who are just hanging around with out a club and of course would also be willing to play in the Scottish Championship. I doubt very much that there are any who scored consistently last season and we will find ourselves looking at players who were better at least 2 or 3 years ago anyhow. If they were good last year they would not just be hanging around waiting to get picked up.

I really think the 'no-thanks Riordan' attitude is missing the fact that people are talking about him proving himself fit enough and good enough to Stubbs beofre he would get any short term contract let alone see his name in the first team lineup.

Also, I read that even if he was being tried out it would not be too long before Hibs fasn were screaming for him to be playing. I 100% agree with you but you really need to ask yourself why even you think this. Because we are struggling so much to score goals and it probably means we will still be losing to the Falkirks and Alloas in this division. If we were scoring goals and winning Hibs fans would not even have to get so upset over not getting LG never mind discussing the return of Deeks. But we are not scoring enough, don't look like scoring enough and I have no confidence whatsoever that Heff, Craig, Handling, Robertson and the others are going to chip in with enough goals for us to win consistently and challenge Hearts and Rangers.

And I do not believe myself and others who feel like this are being unduly pessimistic. With regards to scoring goals we are not scoring enough and this is a continuation of last seasons woes. The numbers don't lie. In last years SPL 31 goals was the lowest by 8 goals and although only 4 games into the league campaign there is only one team scored less league goals than us and that is by virtue of Oxley's goal. And losing El Alagui has underscored how weak we are in this department.

And can even one Hibs fan believe that if at least one or two of our current 'forwards' were not with us but free agents and in exactly the same fitness condition and form they would be signed on any sort of contract?

And I am not saying it has to be Riordan but we sure as hell better find someone fast and if Stubbs is going to have to give trials then it might as well be Riordan amongst other free agents.

All we are saaaaaaying....is give us some goals!!

05-09-2014, 08:49 AM
Obviously not, otherwise he'd be storming the goalscoring charts by now.

Apparently, he can only do it at one club.

Deek's best days may be behind him but the fact is that right now we don't need somebody to keep us at the top of the SPL. We need somebody to keep us away from the bottom of the Championship. In his last season with us Deek scored 11 goals playing as a midfielder. I would chew off my own bell end right now for a midfielder who could contribute 11 goals to the cause.

I don't think his current situation is relevant, as I don't think he would have been interested in or cared about what he was doing at a club like Alloa. With Hibs it would be different. I don't see why we shouldn't give him a try. It's not as if we're spoiled for choice right now.

Perhaps those who are so vehemently opposed to the idea (and aren't just yams on the wind-up) could explain exactly where they are going to find somebody of Deek's class, why he should be interested in coming to Hibs, and how we're going to afford him.

Oh, and since this paragon will of necessity be a free agent himself right now, why no other club is interested in him either.

So basically, it's different because its Deek and its Hibs. The rules of conventional logic are suspended as a result.

How many athletes, in any sport, have a three year lay off, and then come back at the age of 31? Answer - not many, but these are very special circumstances.

Nailrodders
05-09-2014, 08:56 AM

So basically, it's different because its Deek and its Hibs. The rules of conventional logic are suspended as a result.

How many athletes, in any sport, have a three year lay off, and then come back at the age of 31? Answer - not many, but these are very special circumstances.
Your rules of conventional logic appear to be:

Refuse to try out somebody that nobody else wanted who has a track record of success, but happily try out somebody that nobody else wanted who has no track record of success.

05-09-2014, 09:04 AM

Refuse to try out somebody that nobody else wanted who has a track record of success, but happily try out somebody that nobody else wanted who has no track record of success.

So, to take your point to its conclusion, it would be worth trying out McFadden, or Skacel? It's hardly forward looking is it? It's also going to make other players feel overlooked.

AinsterHibs
05-09-2014, 09:07 AM
Malonga training with Hibs.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/rumour-mill-rangers-celtic-hibs-malonga-1-3532165

05-09-2014, 09:08 AM
So, to take your point to its conclusion, it would be worth trying out McFadden, or Skacel? It's hardly forward looking is it? It's also going to make other players feel overlooked.

Care to expand on that?

05-09-2014, 09:11 AM
I don't see Derek being in AS thoughts or plans. He was exactly the type of goal scorer we're looking for, a proper 'hibs man' who loves every win and hates every defeat but the new Hibs vision is about looking forward and I just don't see a third spell at Hibs being what AS has in mind. We've let a few players that have been on trial leave for one way or another and if Derek isn't fit/match fit, over his injury, mentally strong etc I think AS would rather spend his time on coaching someone that already ticks those boxes.

Shame as I feel a guy DR would still do a job and lift the fans..

05-09-2014, 09:15 AM
Care to expand on that?

You are a player working away trying to win your place in the team, and you are asked to step aside to give someone else a try. Rightly, or wrongly, you will probably go in the huff.

05-09-2014, 09:17 AM
You are a player working away trying to win your place in the team, and you are asked to step aside to give someone else a try. Rightly, or wrongly, you will probably go in the huff.

Are you serious? So we can't sign anyone or give a trial because someone might go in a huff?

So,what about previous trialists like Deekman and Malonga who as I understand is undergoing a 2 week trial?

05-09-2014, 09:19 AM
Are you serious? So we can't sign anyone or give a trial because someone might go in a huff?

So,what about previous trialists like Deekman and Malonga who as I understand is undergoing a 2 week trial?

When you put it like that, it was a stupid thing to say. Ok, I just have a gut feeling that Derek would be bad for morale (I know, I know - please take this shovel from me).

05-09-2014, 09:29 AM
This has to be the most absurd comment I have ever seen posted on .net.

By a considerable stretch.

Not been here long, have you? That is one of my milder acts of idiocy. :wink:

05-09-2014, 09:30 AM
When you put it like that, it was a stupid thing to say. Ok, I just have a gut feeling that Derek would be bad for morale (I know, I know - please take this shovel from me).

And you may be right but I think that applies to any player. However if the manager feels he is capable and has the right attitude then fine and if not :bye:

I don't even think Riordan would be on Stubbs radar at the moment. That could change if other trialists fail to impress and/or we continue our struggles in front of goal.

I think for myself and others it is just that we feel there can be no harm in any striker or indeed player getting a trial. We are not scared to be proved wrong and have 'We told you he was finished' thrown at us. If the player is not good enough or in the right frame of mind, whatever, then he will be told the same as Deekman, 'Thanks, sorry but you're not what we are looking for'. Seems simple to me especially given our threadbare squad and lack of available options.

But we do need someone which is why Stubbs is looking and giving trials as we type!

05-09-2014, 09:36 AM
And you may be right but I think that applies to any player. However if the manager feels he is capable and has the right attitude then fine and if not :bye:

I don't even think Riordan would be on Stubbs radar at the moment. That could change if other trialists fail to impress and/or we continue our struggles in front of goal.

I think for myself and others it is just that we feel there can be no harm in any striker or indeed player getting a trial. We are not scared to be proved wrong and have 'We told you he was finished' thrown at us. If the player is not good enough or in the right frame of mind, whatever, then he will be told the same as Deekman, 'Thanks, sorry but you're not what we are looking for'. Seems simple to me especially given our threadbare squad and lack of available options.

But we do need someone which is why Stubbs is looking and giving trials as we type!

OK, if he wants a trial he should get one. I'd be pleasantly surprised if he's gets a game though.

05-09-2014, 09:36 AM

Deek's recent track record, including the latter part of his last spell at Hibs, is one of failure, not success.

One goal in 3 and a half years is not prolific. Lewis Stevenson's scoring record is better than that.

05-09-2014, 09:38 AM
Deek's recent track record, including the latter part of his last spell at Hibs, is one of failure, not success.

One goal in 3 and a half years is not prolific. Lewis Stevenson scoring record is better than that.

Im going to try out that thing where I drink 7 pints and walk home sober today. It's never worked before, but maybe this time it will.

05-09-2014, 09:46 AM
Im going to try out that thing where I drink 7 pints and walk home sober today. It's never worked before, but maybe this time it will.

'Kin lightweight.

Good analogy, however.

Levitation. That's the thing for me. I really, really want to levitate. I love levitation.

Today could be the day.

05-09-2014, 09:51 AM

I don't care what other football forums are saying. A fit and in form Derek Riordan would score plenty for us. No one knows how fit he is or what form he's capable of producing. We're desperate for a good striker, there's one available, yet the best reasons people can give for not trying are that he's not played for a while. I said it earlier in this thread, he wouldn't be walking straight into the first team, if he doesn't show the old magic then he won't be playing.

05-09-2014, 09:53 AM
Its been a brilliant thread this, full of opinion, discussion and banter but I'm going to ask an admin to close it because we are going round in circles now.

Thanks to all who contributed :)

Yes or No - its a close call!

I've added a poll for today only. Will ask admins to close tonight.

05-09-2014, 09:56 AM
First to vote !!! 100% for yes...Lol

THe numbers don't lie :greengrin

05-09-2014, 09:59 AM
I don't care what other football forums are saying. A fit and in form Derek Riordan would score plenty for us. No one knows how fit he is or what form he's capable of producing. We're desperate for a good striker, there's one available, yet the best reasons people can give for not trying are that he's not played for a while. I said it earlier in this thread, he wouldn't be walking straight into the first team, if he doesn't show the old magic then he won't be playing.

The best reason people don't want him is because he's lost it. His powers have faded. He is a superhero no more. The kryptonite has won.

In other words, he has scored once in 3 and a half years, including the last few months of his spell with us, when he was fit.

05-09-2014, 10:00 AM
I'm not going to humiliate the guy any further by voting.

05-09-2014, 10:13 AM
'Kin lightweight.

Good analogy, however.

Levitation. That's the thing for me. I really, really want to levitate. I love levitation.

Today could be the day.

[a group of students are causing trouble in the club]
Brian Potter: Right you lot out. Before I knock you out. Sling it go on, you aren't welcome. All of you leave.
Stu: I'm not going till I get a refund.
Brian Potter: Did you here that Kenny? You best make him a bed up.
Stu: I want my money back.
Brian Potter: I want to moonwalk son, but life's a ****house. Out.

ManBearPig
05-09-2014, 10:15 AM
Sorry can't see stubbs eveb looking in that direction. especially when losing out to the new deek (sparky) I dont doubt he would play for free but feel need to move forward. maybe lewis allan is the next gen gary O'connor or cummings will develop into a 20+ a year goalscorer. we need to give it time. hearts youngsters had whole year with little pressure as they knew they were mucky ducked from get go to develop let's give our young boys a chance.

05-09-2014, 10:20 AM
Originally Posted by underscore

Yes, we really are the hot topic all round the footballing world. It's all people are talking about, Riordan this, Riordan that, Hibs need a striker!

Just checked 2 Celtic forums, Aberdeen's largest fan forum, Rangers FollowFollow and misisng from all front pages is any reference to Hibs on any matter.

We all know that there may be one fan forum that will be laughing at us but that is because we are crap and recently lost to them for the 5th time in 6 games.

But I have to admit I have not yet checked all the English, German and Spanish fan forums of their respective top teams. They probably are all intensely interested in our woes and ridiculing us just to distract themselves from their teams league and CL campaigns.

If other teams fans found anything laughable on this thread it would your inference that they even care!

05-09-2014, 10:25 AM

Michael Jordan took a couple of years out to play baseball and then returned to win another 3peat.

05-09-2014, 10:27 AM
Michael Jordan took a couple of years out to play baseball and then returned to win another 3peat.

Had he had a 3 and a half year spell of abject failure in basketball before he took his time out? :dunno:

05-09-2014, 10:30 AM

And I think that's the most improbable bit of all. It ain't going to happen. Ever.:rolleyes:

05-09-2014, 10:33 AM
The best reason people don't want him is because he's lost it. His powers have faded. He is a superhero no more. The kryptonite has won.

In other words, he has scored once in 3 and a half years, including the last few months of his spell with us, when he was fit.
Are you saying a player can't recapture their form? I remember when we signed Jim Leighton, he had been hopeless for years but under the right manager and the right club he was outstanding for us. I know it's a long shot but it's a risk worth taking IMO.

05-09-2014, 10:33 AM
And I think that's the most improbable bit of all. It ain't going to happen. Ever.:rolleyes:

Improbable but not impossible

05-09-2014, 10:38 AM
Are you saying a player can't recapture their form? I remember when we signed Jim Leighton, he had been hopeless for years but under the right manager and the right club he was outstanding for us. I know it's a long shot but it's a risk worth taking IMO.

Leighton had been out of favour at Man U, but had still been playing games and training at a Pro level whilst he was out of favour. In his two out of favour years he still played 29 games.

05-09-2014, 10:42 AM
Leighton had been out of favour at Man U, but had still been playing games and training at a Pro level whilst he was out of favour. In his two out of favour years he still played 29 games.

He then went to Dundee and got dropped

05-09-2014, 10:42 AM

So guys like Cummings Heffernan and Handling will all be in a huff because the manager has brought the lad Sinclair in to Hibs, nobody is asked to step a side, you train and the manager picks who he thinks will do the best job for the upcoming game, you win your place in the team not be a loser and just step aside.

05-09-2014, 10:46 AM
Had he had a 3 and a half year spell of abject failure in basketball before he took his time out? :dunno:

The 3.5 years of abject failure is his time out, precipitated by a wrong move to China, where he was like a duck out of water, and a negative lifestyle. If Derek has abjectly failed to comeback over these 3.5 years on his own then he may be inspired by the example of a man like Alan Stubbs.

05-09-2014, 10:48 AM

As i have said i am not pushing for Derek to come back to Hibs on this thread.

But please explain the bit in bold, was it a problem in the past with him at Hibs.

And as i keep saying, you have plenty to say about Derek without knowing him or met him.

05-09-2014, 10:49 AM
The 3.5 years of abject failure is his time out, precipitated by a wrong move to China, where he was like a duck out of water, and a negative lifestyle. If Derek has abjectly failed to comeback over these 3.5 years on his own then he may be inspired by the example of a man like Alan Stubbs.

The fact that you guys are comparing Derek Riordan to Michael Jordan is hilarious. I think both have led slightly different lifestyles.

05-09-2014, 11:38 AM
How long was Craig Gordon out for? Did he make a comeback? Could he capture his form?

I dont like the spotty little yamboid any more than any of you do but players coming back is hardly unprecedented.

Bottom line, as I said hundreds of posts ago - talking about even dead balls and killer passes alone, forget the chasing down and "effort" (which as I recall was missing first time for Riordan and when he done it second time, he got pelters for not being in "position") but putting that aside, there is nobody at ER now can hit a dead ball better. Do you need a mass of fitness for that? Ask yourselves why Sparky was taking all the corners? Who scored the last important penalty and who missed?

You either have "it" or you dont. You may lose fitness, appetite and desire but you dont lose ability. And Im not convinced Riordan would not be motivated to play for Hibs. Other teams maybe, but he might well be motivated enough to play for his team.....

Either way, Im not inspired that we beat Livi with our keeper scoring one of them.

05-09-2014, 11:43 AM
The fact that you guys are comparing Derek Riordan to Michael Jordan is hilarious. I think both have led slightly different lifestyles.

I pointed out that MJ is an example of one of the few athletes who has taken time out and then come back with great success. Derek has failed to do that on his own with several attempts and therefore is hardly a comparison with Michael. MJ is a great example of what is possible at the highest levels of commitment and dedication and he should inspire every athlete to achieve more.

Nobody is asking Deeks to comeback and lead us to a 3peat of SPFL titles or be named the greatest football player ever. We want him living right, sleeping right, eating right, training right and playing again in front of Hibs fans, scoring 20+ goals this season. I still think Derek might be able to make a come back if he has a complete mind change or with some special intervention by a mentor. Hibs, Alan Stubbs and DR could work together to make an interesting come back this season - all three of them. :wink:

If I had to compare an NBA player to Derek then I would wildly pick Alan Iverson (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mf3Ju1gT91k) if we are talking about lifestyle.:greengrin

05-09-2014, 12:12 PM
Still inconclusive, not at 95% yet!

05-09-2014, 12:33 PM
We are a club that has lost its main striker. The transfer deadline is closed, and so only free agents can be considered. A trial is exactly that - an opportunity to assess the situation, and come to a mutually agreed situation. Derek is only 31, and fitness/sharpness could be worked on if he is motivated. The club has before, and can do so again ask Deeks to play for free, or to be paid by appearance, or any other suitable arrangement agreed upon by both parties. We are a club that ha lost its main striker.

How anyone can vote No to a trial is beyond me.

GreenPJ
05-09-2014, 12:38 PM
As i have said i am not pushing for Derek to come back to Hibs on this thread.

But please explain the bit in bold, was it a problem in the past with him at Hibs.

And as i keep saying, you have plenty to say about Derek without knowing him or met him.

If you are trying to encourage players, particularly young players, that you have to work as hard as possible to make it in the game how does bringing someone in to help them get fit and then see if they can still do it encourage these players to take responsibility?

If Derek was interested in coming back then he should be getting himself fit, running past East Mains every day to show people that and have his agent in the ear of Stubbs and numerous other managers to let them know he is fit and has appetite for the game. If he does that then at no expense I could see the justification of giving him a trial but to honestly think that Derek has no self responsibility in at very least getting himself to a level of fitness that is appropriate for a professional footballer is blinkered.

05-09-2014, 12:51 PM
We are a club that has lost its main striker. The transfer deadline is closed, and so only free agents can be considered. A trial is exactly that - an opportunity to assess the situation, and come to a mutually agreed situation. Derek is only 31, and fitness/sharpness could be worked on if he is motivated. The club has before, and can do so again ask Deeks to play for free, or to be paid by appearance, or any other suitable arrangement agreed upon by both parties. We are a club that ha lost its main striker.

How anyone can vote No to a trial is beyond me.

It would be a sad and desperate move from the club. We are where we are in spite of having supposed top quality players like O'Connor, Riordan, and Thomson yo-yoing back to us. This model has not been successful. There is something not right in that our first response to any kind of player shortage is to offer a lifeline to the crocked and the washed-up because they are 'one of our own'. If we paid anything other than lip service to scouting players and the recruitment and development of top young players then we'd be doing a damn sight better.

If Deek still has it then why have things not worked out for him anywhere at all? If he can be motivated and can get fit then why is he not playing at any level? The best thing for footballer to be doing to keep fit and keep sharp is be playing. Anywhere. And if he is doing that successfully then he gets a chance at a club like hibs. Calls for him to come back are ridiculous. This thread is ridiculous.

He is done. Get over it.

05-09-2014, 12:52 PM
If you are trying to encourage players, particularly young players, that you have to work as hard as possible to make it in the game how does bringing someone in to help them get fit and then see if they can still do it encourage these players to take responsibility?

If Derek was interested in coming back then he should be getting himself fit, running past East Mains every day to show people that and have his agent in the ear of Stubbs and numerous other managers to let them know he is fit and has appetite for the game. If he does that then at no expense I could see the justification of giving him a trial but to honestly think that Derek has no self responsibility in at very least getting himself to a level of fitness that is appropriate for a professional footballer is blinkered.

Encouraging young players is of course very important. Bringing in a player that would need to work really hard to get selected for a match, could do exactly that. Riordan is one of these special scenarios where he is a Hibs fan, has in the past been one of the best finishers the club has ever had, and understands the clubs supporters expectations. As for Riordan taking the initiative in the way you describe, if the club came to him instead and lay down the gauntlet, it could achieve the same end result. Our situation is critical, and it should be the club being proactive to get what it needs, more so than the player.

05-09-2014, 12:55 PM
I'd like to know what he's been accused of before offering my opinion on whether or not he should have a trial.

05-09-2014, 01:26 PM
Encouraging young players is of course very important. Bringing in a player that would need to work really hard to get selected for a match, could do exactly that. Riordan is one of these special scenarios where he is a Hibs fan, has in the past been one of the best finishers the club has ever had, and understands the clubs supporters expectations. As for Riordan taking the initiative in the way you describe, if the club came to him instead and lay down the gauntlet, it could achieve the same end result. Our situation is critical, and it should be the club being proactive to get what it needs, more so than the player.

Bingo!

Scored over 100 goals for us too...

05-09-2014, 01:48 PM
I fail to see what wasting staff time and wages on evaluating Riordan on a trial would achieve. It would happen like this: Not match fit, not played at any kind of level in years, no deal. Total waste of time and money.

05-09-2014, 01:59 PM
I fail to see what wasting staff time and wages on evaluating Riordan on a trial would achieve. It would happen like this: Not match fit, not played at any kind of level in years, no deal. Total waste of time and money.

And what would be required resource-wise to make this happen? It really couldn't be a lot. Get him to come along, take part in training and bounce games if necessary and the coaches can have a discussion about him. Nothing being arranged specially.

I have doubts like everyone as to whether or not it may bear fruit, but if there was even a tiny chance that it might work then I'd be happy for them to try.

As others have said, he's scored more than 100 goals for us - is asking too much to offer training facilities for a few days to see if it might still have it?

And if the coaches say no, we can all accept it and let it go.

05-09-2014, 02:06 PM
And what would be required resource-wise to make this happen? It really couldn't be a lot. Get him to come along, take part in training and bounce games if necessary and the coaches can have a discussion about him. Nothing being arranged specially.

I have doubts like everyone as to whether or not it may bear fruit, but if there was even a tiny chance that it might work then I'd be happy for them to try.

As others have said, he's scored more than 100 goals for us - is asking too much to offer training facilities for a few days to see if it might still have it?

Yes I agree!

05-09-2014, 02:24 PM
Whatever the question is, this isn't the answer.

I would rather my memories of Deek were in his prime and not when we are struggling in the Championship.

As a support we criticise the board, manager etc.... for lacking ambition with the signing policy. Then we have guys suggesting that Riordan who has scored 1 goal in 3 and a half years touted as the messiah and the solution to our goalscoring woes. If it was anyone else with that record over the time the support would go nuts.

We need someone in, but it isn't Derek Riordan.

Nailrodders
05-09-2014, 02:33 PM
Whatever the question is, this isn't the answer.

I would rather my memories of Deek were in his prime and not when we are struggling in the Championship.

As a support we criticise the board, manager etc.... for lacking ambition with the signing policy. Then we have guys suggesting that Riordan who has scored 1 goal in 3 and a half years touted as the messiah and the solution to our goalscoring woes. If it was anyone else with that record over the time the support would go nuts.

We need someone in, but it isn't Derek Riordan.This is just stupid, offensive, and unnecessarily confrontational rubbish. Nobody has touted him as the messiah. People are suggesting that it might be an idea to give him a trial, and see if he still has enough ability to drag our club away from the bottom of the second tier of Scottish football. Given the (lack of) alternatives currently available to us, that seems to me to be perfectly reasonable.

05-09-2014, 02:35 PM
How long was Craig Gordon out for? Did he make a comeback? Could he capture his form?

I dont like the spotty little yamboid any more than any of you do but players coming back is hardly unprecedented.

Bottom line, as I said hundreds of posts ago - talking about even dead balls and killer passes alone, forget the chasing down and "effort" (which as I recall was missing first time for Riordan and when he done it second time, he got pelters for not being in "position") but putting that aside, there is nobody at ER now can hit a dead ball better. Do you need a mass of fitness for that? Ask yourselves why Sparky was taking all the corners? Who scored the last important penalty and who missed?

You either have "it" or you dont. You may lose fitness, appetite and desire but you dont lose ability. And Im not convinced Riordan would not be motivated to play for Hibs. Other teams maybe, but he might well be motivated enough to play for his team.....

Either way, Im not inspired that we beat Livi with our keeper scoring one of them.

Craig Gordon is a keeper though. The fitness levels required are different to that of an outfield player. Budgie played until he was almost 50 and many goalies play until 40ish. You don't get too many outfield players doing that. Riordan has failed to get fit for any of his recent stopovers - possibly seen as last chance saloons. If he couldn't get fit for the last chance saloon, what hope is there now? Regardless of who the team is.

05-09-2014, 02:38 PM
I'd rather have a partially fit Riordan than a fully fit Malonga.

As someone said earlier, even if Deeks only scored a few goals for us then he would still surpass most of current squad this season.

05-09-2014, 02:45 PM
It would be a sad and desperate move from the club. We are where we are in spite of having supposed top quality players like O'Connor, Riordan, and Thomson yo-yoing back to us. This model has not been successful. There is something not right in that our first response to any kind of player shortage is to offer a lifeline to the crocked and the washed-up because they are 'one of our own'. If we paid anything other than lip service to scouting players and the recruitment and development of top young players then we'd be doing a damn sight better.

If Deek still has it then why have things not worked out for him anywhere at all? If he can be motivated and can get fit then why is he not playing at any level? The best thing for footballer to be doing to keep fit and keep sharp is be playing. Anywhere. And if he is doing that successfully then he gets a chance at a club like hibs. Calls for him to come back are ridiculous. This thread is ridiculous.

He is done. Get over it.

Several opportunistic clubs thought they had made a barn find of an old classic sports car and that it would perform well with an oil change and new spark plugs. DR needs a full restoration from the inside out and a return to the factory where he was produced is probably best place for that to be achieved.

05-09-2014, 02:45 PM
This is just stupid, offensive, and unnecessarily confrontational rubbish. Nobody has touted him as the messiah. People are suggesting that it might be an idea to give him a trial, and see if he still has enough ability to drag our club away from the bottom of the second tier of Scottish football. Given the (lack of) alternatives currently available to us, that seems to me to be perfectly reasonable.

Every time things go against us (which is quite a lot recently) there is a bring back Derek thread. It is a no win for the club, if it was that easy then he would be back already.

Scroll up three or four posts and you'll see people asking to give him a trial to see if he still "has it". I would suggest that his performances with other clubs would indicate he doesn't, having scored 1 goal since he left us. It is filling people with false hope, hence the messiah comment as Derek now is not the Derek we remember.

Don't get me wrong I love what Derek has achieved at ER but I don't want a shadow of him returning to compound the already massive disappointment on offer at ER.

As an aside i'm not aware of all the available alternatives, can you define them and then I might rethink my position. Thanks

05-09-2014, 03:21 PM
Does anyone know if Derek even wants to come on trial?

05-09-2014, 03:21 PM

I'd rather full attention was spent on our current squad than a has been, albeit a has been that was excellent for us years ago.

05-09-2014, 03:24 PM

Might I ask why....??

05-09-2014, 03:33 PM

As someone said earlier, even if Deeks only scored a few goals for us then he would still surpass most of current squad this season.

Every time I think .net can't get more ludicrous, it does.

Congratulations.

05-09-2014, 04:10 PM
Closed at the request of the OP.