View Full Version : Germany v Scotland

03-09-2014, 03:14 PM
For all The Hibernian TA heading over, have a good one. I hope the match day weather is better than it was last time.

Any negative National team stuff, can you start a new thread please.

03-09-2014, 03:16 PM
Looking forward to Sunday's game.

Gonna try and get to all the home games in the qualifiers and of course the England game in November.

03-09-2014, 03:20 PM
Enjoy! Away games are the way forward! :-)

03-09-2014, 03:24 PM
Friday: Flying from Edinburgh-Brussels

Saturday lunchtime: Train from Brussels-Dortmund via Cologne

Monday afternoon: Train from Dortmund-Amsterdam

Monday night: Flying Amsterdam to Edinburgh

Feel like a kid on xmas eve :hyper::hyper:

Mathias Jack
03-09-2014, 03:26 PM
For all The Hibernian TA heading over, have a good one. I hope the match day weather is better than it was last time.

Looking forward to the campaign; unbeaten in our last 6 matches, 2 wins against Croatia in qualifying and a win on the road against Macedonia. Decent performances too...

Has a decent core of a squad, a fair few of them playing in the Prem. Outside the Germans, everyone else will cut each other's throats. I'm confident of our chances to reach the play off. C'mon Scotland!

:saltireflag

03-09-2014, 03:31 PM

Was that game played in Dortmund matey? I went to a game there a few years ago and it pissed down all afternoon, but we were that pissed ourselves i'd completely forgotten about the rain until you mentioned it.:greengrin

We left from Liverpool to Amsterdam by plane and the rest of the journey by train was a hoot, full of Scots on the drink and we even won the football card and added 200 euros to the drinks fund. :thumbsup:

That German beer was strong, and by the time the game started i was a bit rubbery. Got to the ground and my ticket was lost, no idea what i'd done with it.

As luck would have it, my mate had a spare we'd got them from Rab Douglas for nowt anyway and we all went in. Had a lovely sleep for a couple of hours then back to the pub for some refreshments. :greengrin

West hamBERNIAN
03-09-2014, 03:36 PM

Sounds awesome, would have preferred a bit more time in Amsterdam though. 😊 enjoy

03-09-2014, 03:37 PM
Aye G, must've been about 2001-2, cannae make it back, so, heading to Brussels at the end of the month wi the old man for an Anderlecht anniversary trip! 22 years IIRC!

03-09-2014, 03:38 PM
Train up to Dortmund from Munich on the Saturday with the Missus

Collect Faither at Airport

Check in to Hotel in Bochum

Party/Match in Dormund Sunday

Monday Sightseeing

Tusday drop faither at Airport then back on Train to Munich

-------------------------------

Oh and due to a dropout, I've got a spare ticket. I'm sure I'll get rid but if anybody on here is headin out without one, it's yours for face value (buyer collects)

Update: Ticket Now Gone

03-09-2014, 03:47 PM
The Dortmund sightseeing winnae take long! Just gave myself a yellow card re negativity!

03-09-2014, 03:54 PM
Flight from Zurich - Dusseldorf on Saturday, on the ale in Ddorf for most of the day as I understand it is decidedly "cooler" than Dortmund.

Flight back on the Monday - 1pm take off should be manageable, right???:worried:.

Buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing :greengrin

03-09-2014, 04:03 PM
We ended up in a German Panzer commander from WW2's house (his wife and daughter were there too) in a wee place outside Koln listening to bagpipe music the day before the game. If anybody can beat that lets hear about it!

03-09-2014, 04:11 PM
The Dortmund sightseeing winnae take long! Just gave myself a yellow card re negativity!

Not negative, just realistic.

No, we're going outta town for the Sightseeing.

03-09-2014, 04:15 PM

Sounds like a great trip:cheers::smokin:saltireflag

03-09-2014, 04:23 PM
Not negative, just realistic.

No, we're going outta town for the Sightseeing.

Fair enough mate, enjoy.

Offenbach in The Black Forest IIRC as the place I stayed in prior to the 2-2 game v Switzerland in The ****dorf Stadium where Young Boys of Berne play in about '91 was a properly scenic location.

03-09-2014, 04:26 PM
Apart from Wind of Change by The Scorpions being played everywhere we went, seems quite topical now though. :-)

Potty78
03-09-2014, 04:47 PM
Missing this one due to no school holidays in Sept so can't take time off work. Poland is next for me:) Dortmund is the best stadium I visited!

03-09-2014, 07:04 PM
I was in Dortmund the last time we played there. Brilliant trip. Now due to Hibs being so bad I'm not even going to Scotland v Georgia as it clashes with Hibs v Dumbarton :boo hoo: PETRIE!!! :grr: :greengrin

Off the bar
03-09-2014, 07:40 PM
Germany losing 2-0 to Argentina in a friendly not yet ht

Higgy115
03-09-2014, 07:53 PM
First ever Scotland away game after saying would do it for 20 years.

Newcastle-Amsterdam Friday morning.
train to Dortmund Saturday lunchtime.
back to Amsterdam Monday on train before flying home.

feeling next weeks hangover already.....

03-09-2014, 07:57 PM
Germany losing 2-0 to Argentina in a friendly not yet ht

4-0 now.

Edit 4-1

HibeeHendo
03-09-2014, 07:59 PM
Any idea when the tickets for the Ireland game at home will go on sale?

03-09-2014, 07:59 PM
0-4 now. Di Maria made 3 and scored 1. Absolutely brilliant. 1-4 now!

03-09-2014, 08:02 PM
First ever Scotland away game after saying would do it for 20 years.

Newcastle-Amsterdam Friday morning.
train to Dortmund Saturday lunchtime.
back to Amsterdam Monday on train before flying home.

feeling next weeks hangover already.....

BBilly aand Jack are heading over ttoo iif you need drinking buddies.

03-09-2014, 08:02 PM
Dortmund is the best stadium I visited!

After being at Scotland's previous game there I agree. Unfortunately, there's not much else in the city.

0-4 now. Di Maria made 3 and scored 1. Absolutely brilliant. 1-4 now!

That could be bad news. There's less chance of German over-confidence now.

Higgy115
03-09-2014, 08:04 PM
BBilly aand Jack are heading over ttoo iif you need drinking buddies.

It was dangerous already...

Think I have their numbers to meet up!

03-09-2014, 08:05 PM
This will be Strachan's first meaningful game since he took over.

It will be interesting to see how we get on when there are 3 points at stake.

Stax
03-09-2014, 08:05 PM
Don't know if this is a good result for us.. Any chance of catching them cold after a tonking by Argentina seem pretty slim now :greengrin

03-09-2014, 08:25 PM
Just briefly, the England game sounds like a right load of pish.

03-09-2014, 08:26 PM
Don't know if this is a good result for us.. Any chance of catching them cold after a tonking by Argentina seem pretty slim now :greengrin

Germany very much playing as a friendly in first half. No doubt 5 or 6 will come back in including both centre halls.

QMU-1875
03-09-2014, 08:38 PM
Any members of the TA on here not going over for the Poland game in October? Looking for someone with points who could help me get tickets for the game in Warsaw :aok:

03-09-2014, 08:40 PM
It was dangerous already...

Think I have their numbers to meet up!

BBilly knows somesome German boys and will be taking advantage of some local inside knowledge to guide festivities.

03-09-2014, 08:53 PM
Doe a deer, a female deer, ray a drop of golden sun.......COME ON SCOTLAND.

Not going across but we've got a cracking wee team now. First time I've been confident of a qualifying campaign in over a decade!

03-09-2014, 11:09 PM
BBilly knows somesome German boys and will be taking advantage of some local inside knowledge to guide festivities.

Whats the ststory with the ststuttering with the typing?

04-09-2014, 10:49 AM

Friday lunchtime - Flying Edinburgh to Amsterdam

Saturday lunchtime - Train from Amsterdam to Dortmund

Tuesday lunchtime - Train to Amsterdam

Tuesday night - Flying back to Edinburgh

04-09-2014, 10:53 AM
Whats the ststory with the ststuttering with the typing?

I was wwondering ththat as wwell.

04-09-2014, 11:15 AM
Doe a deer, a female deer, ray a drop of golden sun.......COME ON SCOTLAND.

Not going across but we've got a cracking wee team now. First time I've been confident of a qualifying campaign in over a decade!

Goin' send some of that confidence over my way pal!:greengrin I do like our team far more now (not hard considering who was previously in charge) but our defence still doesn't fill me with confidence. Grew up a very optimistic football fan... but following Hibs and Scotland has tamed that :rolleyes:. I think we CAN qualify.. just not yet at the confident stage!

something on Sunday night will help that though!

GET INTAE THEM

04-09-2014, 11:23 AM
Goin' send some of that confidence over my way pal!:greengrin I do like our team far more now (not hard considering who was previously in charge) but our defence still doesn't fill me with confidence. Grew up a very optimistic football fan... but following Hibs and Scotland has tamed that :rolleyes:. I think we CAN qualify.. just not yet at the confident stage!

something on Sunday night will help that though!

GET INTAE THEM

Wait till you see the team running out in front of 20,000 Scotland Fans.

18Craig75
04-09-2014, 11:39 AM
Edinburgh - Bremen tomorrow morning! Day in Hamburg on Saturday then the TA Party bus from Bremen to Dortmund on Sunday. Can't wait now!!

Lendo
04-09-2014, 11:57 AM
Flying Edinburgh to Cologne tomorrow morning.
Train to Dortmund for the game, then back to Cologne at night (hopefully…..)
Monday, train to Brussels.
Fly back to Edinburgh on Wednesday night.

One week off work afterwards to recover.

04-09-2014, 12:16 PM
Flying Lufthansa from Hearhrow Saturday morning to Dusseldorf. Day/Night in Dusseldorf (party town apparently).

Train over to Dortmund mid morning Sunday after some brekkie.

Flight back from Dusseldorf to Heathrow Monday evening.

Can't wait!

04-09-2014, 12:50 PM
Is anybody else in the South West Corner?

04-09-2014, 02:49 PM
Brussels tomorrow
Leuven Saturday
Dortmund Sunday
In the Germany end
Home Monday night
Cmoan Scotland

04-09-2014, 03:24 PM
Flying Lufthansa from Hearhrow Saturday morning to Dusseldorf. Day/Night in Dusseldorf (party town apparently).

Train over to Dortmund mid morning Sunday after some brekkie.

Flight back from Dusseldorf to Heathrow Monday evening.

Can't wait!

in Dusseldorf till mon. In and out Dortmund for game. Train down form amsterdam x 5

NthCarolinaHibs
04-09-2014, 07:12 PM
We are flying from Edinburgh to Stansted on Friday then on to Cologne...staying there and going to Dortmund on game day..looking at a pretty quiet weekend, tbh :greengrin

Canongatehibs
04-09-2014, 08:59 PM
Any idea when the tickets for the Ireland game at home will go on sale?

home game for Eire ?

The Pointer
04-09-2014, 10:21 PM
Bit gutted I'm not going on this one. Hadn't been on an away trip for ages till the Nigeria game in the summer which rekindled my enthusiasm. Going to all the home games bar the England one (p*ss take prices, meaningless game) and hope to go to Georgia away next year, although that depends very much on how far Mad Vlad wants to go in Ukraine and beyond.

Fisherrow_Hibs
05-09-2014, 09:24 AM
Flying Edinburgh to Cologne tomorrow morning.
Train to Dortmund for the game, then back to Cologne at night (hopefully…..)
Monday, train to Brussels.
Fly back to Edinburgh on Wednesday night.

One week off work afterwards to recover.

Aye similar to Fisherrow TA - Flying Edinburgh to Cologne tomorrow time?, Train to Dortmund for the game, then back to Cologne at night (booked yer train?) Monday Fly back to Edinburgh on Monday, see you all in the Dom Brauhaus :):not worth

FH

LeithSqualk
05-09-2014, 10:11 AM
Any members of the TA on here not going over for the Poland game in October? Looking for someone with points who could help me get tickets for the game in Warsaw :aok:

I have four points and not making that game, happy to help if I can

HibeeHendo
05-09-2014, 11:25 AM
home game for Eire ?

Haha, Scotland v Ireland at Hampden I meant!

QMU-1875
05-09-2014, 11:31 AM
I have four points and not making that game, happy to help if I can

Check your PM's mate :thumbsup:

05-09-2014, 12:49 PM
Bit gutted I'm not going on this one. Hadn't been on an away trip for ages till the Nigeria game in the summer which rekindled my enthusiasm. Going to all the home games bar the England one (p*ss take prices, meaningless game) and hope to go to Georgia away next year, although that depends very much on how far Mad Vlad wants to go in Ukraine and beyond.

Really fancy going to both the Eire and England games in November.

05-09-2014, 12:59 PM
Really fancy going to both the Eire and England games in November.

Is that still a place? Not heard it in years.

05-09-2014, 01:26 PM
Where are the upper crust of the Tartan Army congregating in Dusseldorf tomorrow, for those that are there?

05-09-2014, 02:38 PM
Where are the upper crust of the Tartan Army congregating in Dusseldorf tomorrow, for those that are there?

We will be hitting the Altstadt hard tomorrow.

Crops73
05-09-2014, 03:01 PM

Realistic is not negative so...

I expect we will get well done.

05-09-2014, 04:42 PM

The REAL Upper Crust will be in Bochum.

It's for Über Fans only, so I'm not saying where :wink:

05-09-2014, 05:12 PM
We will be hitting the Altstadt hard tomorrow.

Sounds like we're arriving at D dorf at about the same time. I'll be the one in the kilt !

Mentalbarnett
05-09-2014, 05:12 PM
Sitting in a bar in essen bliss

05-09-2014, 05:36 PM
Sitting in a bar in essen bliss

Thoroughly enjoyed Essen for the 50th Anniversary trip, some kind bookie in Essen gave us EVS for a Hibs win which was nice! Might've been Boozy's debut IIRC. Supporters Club in the main stand was a chuckle.

05-09-2014, 06:40 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed Essen for the 50th Anniversary trip, some kind bookie in Essen gave us EVS for a Hibs win which was nice! Might've been Boozy's debut IIRC. Supporters Club in the main stand was a chuckle.

Essen was class. :aok:

Stenny
05-09-2014, 08:22 PM
If anyone needs a ticket I have one available for the Germany end, block 62, face value €45.

Drop me a mail if interested.

06-09-2014, 01:05 AM
Well, I'll be there.

Dusseldorf Altstadt tomorrow then through to Dortmund for tomorrow night.

COME

ON

SCOTLAND :saltireflag

lobster
06-09-2014, 11:27 AM
Apologies if this has been posted but is the only way to watch the game on TV live through SKY?
England live on STV but Scotland only on SKY? :confused:

06-09-2014, 03:44 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bw2v1QWIIAA-YDt.jpg:large
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bw2-jNQIQAA3aoQ.jpg:large