View Full Version : Has anyone even heard of this fud?
31-08-2014, 05:27 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/10625011_10154524847855243_1002166595746283450_n.j pg?oh=34577f1e808bb4b7da4ea2abb3d5494c&oe=545B7DD5&__gda__=1415309232_e0e655d708776fffb56307ff48a35e4 f
31-08-2014, 05:36 PM
Not really UKIP more of an English Independence party. Maybe they'll vote for independence from us if we bottle it:wink:
31-08-2014, 05:37 PM
I really hope that UKIP are heavily involved and shouting from the rooftops in the next 3 weeks .
31-08-2014, 05:38 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/v/t1.0-9/10625011_10154524847855243_1002166595746283450_n.j pg?oh=34577f1e808bb4b7da4ea2abb3d5494c&oe=545B7DD5&__gda__=1415309232_e0e655d708776fffb56307ff48a35e4 f
Pretty much sums up the sentiment I'm getting from my English friends.
31-08-2014, 05:40 PM
Hes on Dimblebys Question Time a lot. Scouser. Bellend.
31-08-2014, 05:44 PM
Whoever created the picture in the OP evidently can't read very well.
"Eddie Bone, from the Campaign for an English Parliament, said “English resentment” was being openly expressed across the country on issues such as higher public spending in Scotland.
“If and when the Scots ‘bottle it’ on 18 September and vote no, they will see a stronger English voice because the people of England have had enough of Scottish self-indulgence,” he said."
http://www.scotsman.com/news/uk/english-resentment-increases-over-scots-freebies-1-3517631
Stranraer
31-08-2014, 05:53 PM
So he is UKIP and not part of the English democrats?
31-08-2014, 07:57 PM
Pretty much sums up the sentiment I'm getting from my English friends.
:agree: most of the ones I know are very much for it. Reckon we should be "punished" for "putting the country in jeopardy". However, a few generally greet me with "Haven't you lot ****ed off back where you came from yet?"
Bit of a mix bag.
31-08-2014, 08:53 PM
I've read that same quote attributed to Farage and Boris Johnson as well on Facebook.
I'm sceptical.
31-08-2014, 09:21 PM
I've read that same quote attributed to Farage and Boris Johnson as well on Facebook.
I'm sceptical.
It is a quote from a guy called Eddie Bone of the Campaign for an English Parliament.
The picture in the OP is a bit like a random Scot saying "I ****ing hate the English, me" and some No supporters attributing it to Nicola Sturgeon.
Stranraer
31-08-2014, 09:32 PM
Here is Nuttall's piece from the Scotsman. I look forward to them spouting this nonsense in Scotland.
http://www.scotsman.com/news/uk/english-resentment-increases-over-scots-freebies-1-3517631
31-08-2014, 09:34 PM
here is nuttall's piece from the scotsman. I look forward to them spouting this nonsense in scotland.
For the third time, Nuttall didn't say it.
Maybe red, big and bold will make someone notice. FFS, even the link you posted makes it clear that it wasn't him.
31-08-2014, 09:48 PM
Here is Nuttall's piece from the Scotsman. I look forward to them spouting this nonsense in Scotland.
I actually think the point he makes about the West Lothian question is perfectly valid.
over the line
31-08-2014, 09:50 PM
Maybe red, big and bold will make someone notice. FFS, even the link you posted makes it clear that it wasn't him.
I'm not sure if things like this misunderstanding are due to a Yes bias blind spot, or if it is just calculated misinformation? I fear it is likely to be the latter?
I thought it was the No campaign that were reliant on 'fear' and 'misinformation'?
31-08-2014, 09:54 PM
Never had any problem with Scots MPs being excluded from voting on purely English matters. With devolution up and running it only seems fair.
As I said on another thread the no campaign make out Scotland would be a lot worse off without the UK and be that true or not there is at least anecdotal evidence that a fair proportion of English people feel that Scotland not only gets a better deal than they do, but that this happens at their expense.
After a no vote, when the dust has settled, I have a feeling that it would be advisable to prepare for a good kicking. There are a lot of better together supporters who want to stay in the UK because its good for us. There are a fair number of English people who think we get an unfair slice of the cake and they will find a growing voice post September.
Whether this guy said this or not the quote is echoing the thoughts of a fair few. If you think I'm scaremongering remember that there are some big hitters out there who think Boris Johnson is a good bet for future leader of the Tories and possible Prime Minister. If there was to be a post no vote backlash Boris would be a good bet for its poster boy.
31-08-2014, 10:05 PM
I'm not sure if things like this misunderstanding are due to a Yes bias blind spot, or if it is just calculated misinformation? I fear it is likely to be the latter?
I thought it was the No campaign that were reliant on 'fear' and 'misinformation'?
Three question marks in your post but not one question.
over the line
31-08-2014, 10:13 PM
Three question marks in your post but not one question.
They are me 'wondering', rather than asking a question. Cheers anyway?¿!
Stranraer
01-09-2014, 11:11 AM
You want to pop a valium and calm down Beefster
Stranraer
01-09-2014, 11:17 AM
Whoever created the picture in the OP evidently can't read very well.
"Eddie Bone, from the Campaign for an English Parliament, said “English resentment” was being openly expressed across the country on issues such as higher public spending in Scotland.
“If and when the Scots ‘bottle it’ on 18 September and vote no, they will see a stronger English voice because the people of England have had enough of Scottish self-indulgence,” he said."
I posted a link to what Nuttall DID SAY about English resentment!
01-09-2014, 11:20 AM
I'm totally calm, thanks. Just trying to get the message through. Seems to have worked too.
Maybe it's just having been trained to double-check and reference facts/quotes etc but I'm a strong believer in not making allegations that are total pish.
Stranraer
01-09-2014, 11:22 AM
I'm totally calm, thanks. Just trying to get the message through. Seems to have worked too.
Maybe it's just having been trained to double-check and reference facts/quotes etc but I'm a strong believer in not making allegations that are total pish.
When I said "I'd love to hear him spout his nonsense up here" I was referring to the link I posted, not the original posters quote. Glad you've calmed down.
01-09-2014, 11:29 AM
Said by Eddie Bone from the Campaign for an English Parliament. CEP members also set up their own political party, the English Democrats, who are official members of the Yes Campaign. Weird isn't it?
It's such a pig ignorant statement to make that no reasonable person is going to base their vote in the referendum based on that are they?
Stranraer
01-09-2014, 11:31 AM
Said by Eddie Bone from the Campaign for an English Parliament. CEP members also set up their own political party, the English Democrats, who are official members of the Yes Campaign. Weird isn't it?
It's such a pig ignorant statement to make that no reasonable person is going to base their vote in the referendum based on that are they?
See my above post to Beefster, I was NOT accusing Nuttall of saying the original quote.
BarneyK
01-09-2014, 11:35 AM
There are also quotes attributed to the UKIPer, and they are what he is referring to, not the ones attributed to Eddie Bone.
01-09-2014, 11:35 AM
See my above post to Beefster, I was NOT accusing Nuttall of saying the original quote.
Looks like I posted mine whilst you were clearing that up. :greengrin
01-09-2014, 11:39 AM
There are also quotes attributed to the UKIPer, and they are what he is referring to, not the ones attributed to Eddie Bone.
Thanks for also clearing that up. :thumbsup:
01-09-2014, 01:27 PM
I think the bit in bold is overstating it a bit. They are registered with the Electoral Commission as campaigning for a "Yes" vote, but "official members of the Yes Campaign" might be pushing it. It's not as if Yes Scotland have been anxious to work with them or wheel them out at campaign roadshows. :greengrin
I realise you probably didn't mean to give this impression, but it's an important distinction, just as it's important to make clear the groups like Britannica and the Grand Orange Lodge of Scotland are campaigning for a "No" vote, but are not affiliated to Better Together.
01-09-2014, 01:33 PM
I think the bit in bold is overstating it a bit. They are registered with the Electoral Commission as campaigning for a "Yes" vote, but "official members of the Yes Campaign" might be pushing it. It's not as if Yes Scotland have been anxious to work with them or wheel them out at campaign roadshows. :greengrin
I realise you probably didn't mean to give this impression, but it's an important distinction, just as it's important to make clear the groups like Britannica and the Grand Orange Lodge of Scotland are campaigning for a "No" vote, but are not affiliated to Better Together.
Aye, I know. And I totally agree with all you say there.
01-09-2014, 04:21 PM
That's funny, cos you never notice the ones from BTNT. :rolleyes:
01-09-2014, 04:28 PM
I actually think the point he makes about the West Lothian question is perfectly valid.
His point about Barnett is valid as well. It was never intended to give Scotland higher per-capita public spending. That's just an accident of the population growth in England vs relative stagnation here. We are effectively currently being bribed with higher spending to shut up and eat our cereal.
If we're going to "pool and share our resources", then people should be aware that we Scots are actually doing more pooling as well as more sharing. The logical consequence of staying in the Union is pool all the oil and share a much stricter per-capita share of spending to bring us back to the average.
Stranraer
01-09-2014, 04:55 PM
I was thinking the same actually, I await an apology from him.
01-09-2014, 05:19 PM
What's BTNT?
I was thinking the same actually, I await an apology from him.
From Nuttall?
01-09-2014, 05:23 PM
What's BTNT?
Sorry, shorthand for Better Together - No Thanks.
Stranraer
01-09-2014, 05:31 PM
What's BTNT?
From Nuttall?
From yourself for once again blowing the lid.
01-09-2014, 05:51 PM
From yourself for once again blowing the lid.
Ah right.
02-09-2014, 08:11 AM
Constitutional reform of the UK starting with the introduction of federal system and a scaled back Parliament is what is needed.
02-09-2014, 11:58 AM
People like him don't represent England. It's the boorish humour of a certain section of their population, and should be taken as a poor attempt at a joke.
Just sums UKIP up as a bunch of misfits that are desperate to be people's pals.
02-09-2014, 12:00 PM
Constitutional reform of the UK starting with the introduction of federal system and a scaled back Parliament is what is needed.
Maybe Scottish independence could lead to English people figuring out that the current system is flawed?
Stranraer
02-09-2014, 01:37 PM
Maybe Scottish independence could lead to English people figuring out that the current system is flawed?
I'd say plenty of English people already know the system is flawed - I think we Scots are lucky to have a few left wing choices on the ballot paper, as far as I know there is no socialist option in most English constituencies (unless you count RESPECT as socialist).
02-09-2014, 07:57 PM
I just wondered if anyone had heard of him.
I don't know who made the quote but he is a fud.
03-09-2014, 06:05 PM
:agree: most of the ones I know are very much for it. Reckon we should be "punished" for "putting the country in jeopardy". However, a few generally greet me with "Haven't you lot ****ed off back where you came from yet?"
Bit of a mix bag.
That's what I'm experiencing too.
03-09-2014, 06:09 PM
That's what I'm experiencing too.
It's nothing new in my experience. I haven't lived there in 20 years and it was the same back then, but they'd have you believe the problem is only north of the border.
03-09-2014, 09:42 PM
It's nothing new in my experience. I haven't lived there in 20 years and it was the same back then, but they'd have you believe the problem is only north of the border.
Nope. As I have an English accent it is sometimes quite interesting when people find out I am Scottish.
Particularly chelsea fans. :greengrin