View Full Version : Derek Adams sacked by Ross County (merged)

28-08-2014, 09:07 AM
Given the boot from Ross County this morning

28-08-2014, 09:08 AM
Nae luck. Always comes across as a nippy wee sweetie

28-08-2014, 09:09 AM
Favourites for relegation?

28-08-2014, 09:11 AM
And DoF George Adams

28-08-2014, 09:14 AM
Bizarre move. Might be a bit of an arse but he's taken County further than humanly possible. :confused:

Auckland Hibs
28-08-2014, 09:14 AM
TB & MM back up North?

28-08-2014, 09:19 AM
I was looking forward to wiping the smile of that wee smug cretin's face in the Cup too. Looks like someone beat me to it

yankyhibby
28-08-2014, 09:25 AM
I always thought that Adams did a fantastic job with Ross County. He kept them in the premier league when all was stacked against such a tiny town team getting to, never mind surviving, in the top league.

28-08-2014, 09:27 AM
Gives the new guy plenty time in the window right enough.:rolleyes: What a stupid time to sack a manager.

28-08-2014, 09:28 AM
Poor decision......butcher in?

28-08-2014, 09:30 AM
Seems a strange time to sack a Manager.

Couldn't they just wait until their AGM in november, like normal clubs?

Bizarre move. Might be a bit of an arse but he's taken County further than humanly possible. :confused:

My thoughts exactly.

No sympathy for him however.

Nae luck yan odious wee fanny :na na:

28-08-2014, 09:33 AM
And DoF George Adams

Thats his dad isnt it. I get the impression Derek wouldnt take too kindly to having his performance questioned by the owner and he has probably gone off on one. Will be interesting to see who comes in?

Cant see it being Butcher due to the playing style.

28-08-2014, 09:33 AM

:pray:

..and all his backroom staff as well please. That'll free up enough for Giffith's wages

28-08-2014, 09:35 AM
Have county not just signed 15 players or something like that

Stranraer
28-08-2014, 09:37 AM
I expected this to be honest, County seem to have bought quite a few players incapable of performing. I'm not sure if this makes our job easier or more difficult in the League cup.

28-08-2014, 09:37 AM
Hate seeing people lose there jobs but in this case delighted, always had that snidey wee look on his face and snidey wee comments and digs, nae luck hahaha.

28-08-2014, 09:41 AM
I have no idea what he's like away from football but if it's the same as when he's in football then he is one snidey bag of piss.

28-08-2014, 09:42 AM
What a shame.

bob12345
28-08-2014, 09:44 AM
While he may come across as an idiot, what he's done there is remarkable. Fan base wise it's like us holding our own in the EPL.

28-08-2014, 09:46 AM
I have no idea what he's like away from football but if it's the same as when he's in football then he is one snidey bag of piss.

I met him a couple of times " away from football " in Dingwall ( my wife comes from the area) and must say his " people skills" were not greatly in evidence !!! No apparent sense of humour for a start !
Did a great job last year all the same !!

Sorry to see anyone lose their job BUT ............... ! :wink:

28-08-2014, 09:52 AM
Shame...............not

28-08-2014, 10:09 AM
No chance it will be Butcher unfortunately. I think he has no intention of getting another job while we are paying him to do the garden.

28-08-2014, 10:24 AM
The man the word fud was invented for

An utter tosser

28-08-2014, 10:36 AM
He seems a good fit for them and they've struggled in the past without him.

Strange one, an idiotic time of season to sack anyone. I think any sacking during the season is an admission of failure, ok a manager may leave to another job but all of this type of business should be done at the end of a season imo.

28-08-2014, 10:38 AM
TB & MM back up North?

Funny, I was just speaking with a RC fan who suggested the same.

28-08-2014, 10:40 AM
It would make for a tasty league cup game if TB/MM were appointed. Pity it wasn't at ER

28-08-2014, 10:55 AM
It would make for a tasty league cup game if TB/MM were appointed. Pity it wasn't at ER

Would also give us more money for players. Just can't see it happening to be honest.
:-(

28-08-2014, 10:58 AM
Strange one by county, I wonder if there's more to it than just football reasons. This is as good as they're ever going to be.
Man is a complete roaster though.

28-08-2014, 11:10 AM
Strange one by county, I wonder if there's more to it than just football reasons. This is as good as they're ever going to be.
Man is a complete roaster though.
As mentioned in my earlier post I was speaking with an RC fan about this and he isn't surprised at all, apparently they were struggling to keep some players at the club because they didn't want to work with Adams. He didn't go any further than that though.

28-08-2014, 12:14 PM
4 defeats out of 4 and 10 goals conceded might have contributed to his sacking also

28-08-2014, 12:21 PM
Nae luck. Total ringpiece.

Hopefully Butcher and Malpas get the job to stop them leaching of us.

28-08-2014, 12:25 PM
A TB MM appointment would be great for us. Get them off the wage bill

28-08-2014, 12:26 PM
Good. Total fud of a man.

28-08-2014, 12:27 PM
I was speaking to a couple of County players in the pub after our last game up there and from their comments Adams wasn't liked by many.

28-08-2014, 12:40 PM
Giruy

28-08-2014, 12:46 PM
Given the boot from Ross County this morning

Very disappointing news.

Would have liked the opportunity of beating Ross County in the LC while he was still in charge.

Sourpuss who obviously didn't like Hibs.

HappyHibby93
28-08-2014, 01:01 PM
Hope they get relegated, they add absolutely nothing to that league

28-08-2014, 01:06 PM
A TB MM appointment would be great for us. Get them off the wage bill

Now that would make for an interesting cup tie - I reckon we could sell their ground out for that one !

28-08-2014, 01:52 PM
Very disappointing news.

Would have liked the opportunity of beating Ross County in the LC while he was still in charge.

This. When Hamill knocked him over last season I had mixed feelings TBH. Glad they threw the book at Hamill, but if there was one person you'd probably like to do that to it was Adams.

28-08-2014, 02:47 PM
Very disappointing news.

Don't worry, knocking Butcher and **** Off out of it will be even sweeter. :aok:

28-08-2014, 02:52 PM
He's a dick.

28-08-2014, 03:03 PM
I always thought that Adams did a fantastic job with Ross County. He kept them in the premier league when all was stacked against such a tiny town team getting to, never mind surviving, in the top league.

:agree: Adams did a great job. If Ross Co don't replace him well and St Mirren keep Craig as manager, then it will be Ross Co and St Mirren in the bottom two. I'm not sure who I'd prefer in the play off...

28-08-2014, 03:08 PM
:agree: Adams did a great job. If Ross Co don't replace him well and St Mirren keep Craig as manager, then it will be Ross Co and St Mirren in the bottom two. I'm not sure who I'd prefer in the play off...
Same here. I suppose a lot will depend on how long it takes St Mirren to sack Craig.

28-08-2014, 03:16 PM
This. When Hamill knocked him over last season I had mixed feelings TBH. Glad they threw the book at Hamill, but if there was one person you'd probably like to do that to it was Adams.

No mixed feelings in my mind. At worst Adams might be a bit moany, but Hamill is a piece of ****.

28-08-2014, 03:31 PM
Should have waited until after our cup game to sack him.

28-08-2014, 03:35 PM

The eternal optimist :aok:

28-08-2014, 03:36 PM
A bully like his dad.

28-08-2014, 03:39 PM
Did well to take them into the top league and stay there but he always struck me as an arrogant man with no class whatsoever

28-08-2014, 04:51 PM
I met him a couple of times " away from football " in Dingwall ( my wife comes from the area) and must say his " people skills" were not greatly in evidence !!! No apparent sense of humour for a start !
Did a great job last year all the same !!

Sorry to see anyone lose their job BUT ............... ! :wink:

I've said on an Adams thread before, I am utterly convinced he is on the spectrum. I work closely with kids and young adults with autism and aspergers and he's got so many traits whenever he's being interviewed. Often the people I work with simply do not get any form of sarcasm and can struggle with humour. Like you describe with DA.

I knew one of the County boys round about the time we signed Jimmy Scott from them. Asked him about Adams one night and he said he was completely disliked and was a very difficult character to get on with.

No denying he's done a great job up there over the yrs.
Would love nothing more than to get Butcher off our books. Sadly I really can't see him taking a massive pay cut to go up there as opposed to sitting at home doing **** all and getting paid handsomely

28-08-2014, 05:31 PM

Even worse decision - for Ross County. Would be good for Hibs though if we could stop having to pay Butcher and his sidekick.

28-08-2014, 05:57 PM
Been a terrific manager for Ross County even though they have needed a bit of cash input from McGregor.Can't understand the views on him-is it not a good idea to always stand up for your club and players after a match?It's only losers who desire to be liked.