View Full Version : 3 goals in 12 min

26-08-2014, 10:13 PM
When was the last time we have been losing by 2 goals so late in a game and went on to win . Losing 3-0 at ht against Falkirk is the best comback i can remember , but we won it in extra time .

26-08-2014, 10:21 PM
I recall losing two nil to Dundee United late on, when Paul Wright staged a late comeback. Can't recall if we won the game though.

26-08-2014, 10:23 PM
Not quite what you were asking but I recall in Mowbray's days hammering Killie at ER and going in 2-0 down at half time. We scored four in the second half to win the game

26-08-2014, 10:25 PM
I recall losing two nil to Dundee United late on, when Paul Wright staged a late comeback. Can't recall if we won the game though.

I was going to say Dundee Utd as well but not Paul Wright scoring.

2-0 down well into the second half I think Keith Wright got 2 and Gareth Evans the winner. I think Malpas may have scored the 2nd Utd goal.

26-08-2014, 10:29 PM

2-0 down well into the second half I think Keith Wright got 2 and Gareth Evans the winner. I think Malpas may have scored the 2nd Utd goal.

IIRC J, that was the game big Duncan Ferguson ran us ragged and when they took him off, thinking the game was won, we promptly scored three goals to win the game :greengrin

26-08-2014, 10:30 PM

:agree: 28 Dec 1991

Hame on leave at the time

26-08-2014, 10:31 PM

Correct! Getting confused with the game when Hibs were two nil up only to be pegged back to 2-2, for Wright to score the winner. His debut, I think!

We are both correct about Dundee United though!

26-08-2014, 10:42 PM
Not quite what you were asking but I recall in Mowbray's days hammering Killie at ER and going in 2-0 down at half time. We scored four in the second half to win the game

Yes JB , also remember Gretna leading 2-0 and we also won that 4-2 . But couldn't remember us scoring 3 so late to win a game . Mind us scoring 2 late goals ( both by Mcbride ) to draw 2-2 at the PBS .

26-08-2014, 11:02 PM
Aberdeen I think at ER a few years back... Fletch bundling in an equaliser in the 93rd minute after rob jones got the first? He sold the jerseys and we went two nil down then he scored to get us back in it before Fletcher's equaliser! Could be completely wrong though!

26-08-2014, 11:02 PM
Remember Joe McBride jnr scoring 2 against them with 2 goals at the death for a 2-2 draw. Must have been 80s

Davy Mac
27-08-2014, 01:37 AM
Yes JB , also remember Gretna leading 2-0 and we also won that 4-2 . But couldn't remember us scoring 3 so late to win a game . Mind us scoring 2 late goals ( both by Mcbride ) to draw 2-2 at the PBS .

Remember Joe McBride jnr scoring 2 against them with 2 goals at the death for a 2-2 draw. Must have been 80s

Fantastic game, Joe McBride had one of the sweetest left foot's ever to grace the mighty Hibernian.

One of them was a free kick I think..............great Hibs support that day as well.....!!!

27-08-2014, 07:29 AM
3-1 down to st mirren. 3 late goals and we win 4-3. Gareth Evans early days at hibs. Iirc st mirren manager sacked after game

27-08-2014, 07:38 AM
I remember us beating killie 3-0 after 3 goals in 5 minutes....would have been 4 in 6 minutes but keith wright missed an open goal from around 3 yards

hibbeedavid
27-08-2014, 08:07 AM
In approx 1998 sure we were 2-0 down at PBS through goals by Fulton in first 10-15 mins then did we not come back to draw through goals by McGinley and Harper, or may have been Walker?

27-08-2014, 08:13 AM
In Pat Stanton's short spell in charge of the club, we were losing 3-0 at Tannadice at Half-Time. Stanton and Blackley (his then assistant) decided to try something really radical, 5 up front! DU didn't know how to cope and it finished 3-3.

semaj64
27-08-2014, 08:34 AM
In approx 1998 sure we were 2-0 down at PBS through goals by Fulton in first 10-15 mins then did we not come back to draw through goals by McGinley and Harper, or may have been Walker?

yes met some jambos afterwards who had left before the end and could not believe we came back to draw, a good feeling to tell them otherwise

27-08-2014, 08:38 AM
Correct! Getting confused with the game when Hibs were two nil up only to be pegged back to 2-2, for Wright to score the winner. His debut, I think!

We are both correct about Dundee United though!

Paul Wright's debut was against Aberdeen - you are correct that we were 2-0, pegged back to 2-2, and he hammered in a late winner.

27-08-2014, 08:41 AM

First part of that match was one of the scariest experiences of my life - they went 2-0 after ten minutes and a minute later Colin Cameron missed a great chance to make it three. I do fear what they may have done to us had that gone in.

As it was, drawing that game probably cost us in the long run, as it kept Duffy in his job a bit longer.

eezyrider
27-08-2014, 08:43 AM
Mid 70s Scottish Cup at home against Kilmarnock. Think we were 2-0 down after about 15 minutes. Normal service resumed of course and we were 3-2 up at half time and won 5-2.

EZ

Fergos
27-08-2014, 08:51 AM

Great game, 2 from Super Joe who had a decent spell at ER to be fair.

Great Hibs support went ballistic as we had been 2 doon, spilling out into the Gorgie night full voice and repertoire....

Was the with my aul boy and one of my first away derbies.....one of those nights that remind you why you follow the mighty Hibernian.

27-08-2014, 08:56 AM
IIRC J, that was the game big Duncan Ferguson ran us ragged and when they took him off, thinking the game was won, we promptly scored three goals to win the game :greengrin

Very similar to last night.

It's lucky for us that Colin Nish can't last 90 minutes these days.

27-08-2014, 11:30 AM
Did we not beat gretna 4-2 after going down 2 nill

27-08-2014, 11:45 AM
Remember being 0-4 down at ht to Dundee utd at Eeaster Road in the mid sixties and scoring 3 goals down the slope. The equaliser was chalked off by the ref as he blew for time as the ball was on its way into the net. Police escort required to get him off the park!

27-08-2014, 11:47 AM

:agree: pretty sure we did, Benji missed a penalty?

27-08-2014, 11:50 AM

Yes sure we did - early in the season, Alan o'Briens first home game maybe? In fact was it the week after Brian Kerr had scored the winner at Tiny.

My oldest's first match.

27-08-2014, 11:53 AM

:agree: That's the first one that sprung to mind. 2-0 down when Benji missed a penalty, thought that was game over. Then scored 4.

Virginia Hibs
27-08-2014, 01:23 PM
Somewhere in the back of my mind there is a memory of 3 goals in the last 10 mins at Tannadice with the Pat Carroll scoring. Must have been late sixties, early seventies. However I could be havering, I was young!

27-08-2014, 02:06 PM
Remember being 0-4 down at ht to Dundee utd at Eeaster Road in the mid sixties and scoring 3 goals down the slope. The equaliser was chalked off by the ref as he blew for time as the ball was on its way into the net. Police escort required to get him off the park!

Dearie me,that yin takes me back:-)

Does 4-1 down against Napoli count

27-08-2014, 04:57 PM
Cannot tell you the last time we trailed by two goals and came back to win. But I can tell you that on 75 minutes last night we were 18-1 to do just that! :greengrin

27-08-2014, 05:45 PM
What was the game at Tynecastle when Pat Stanton scored so late it was almost the following day and Donald Park took a swing at him-or am I more confused than usual?

27-08-2014, 05:48 PM
[QUOTE=ancient hibee;4144265]What was the game at Tynecastle when Pat Stanton scored so late it was almost the following day and Donald Park took a swing at him-or am I more confused than usual?

That was a 1-1 draw & I doubt Parky was playing then!

27-08-2014, 05:53 PM
I have a memory of a cup game at ER vs Killie in mid 70's when we were 2-0 down early on & had our keeper, Jim Mac? carried off. There was no sub keeper, I think Sloop went in goals & we won 5-2!

27-08-2014, 05:56 PM
[QUOTE=ancient hibee;4144265]What was the game at Tynecastle when Pat Stanton scored so late it was almost the following day and Donald Park took a swing at him-or am I more confused than usual?

I'm sure he was playing for Hearts at the time but as I can't remember when it was I'm not the most reliable witness.

27-08-2014, 06:16 PM

Park made his debut in the 0-7 game iirc.

27-08-2014, 06:24 PM
I have a memory of a cup game at ER vs Killie in mid 70's when we were 2-0 down early on & had our keeper, Jim Mac? carried off. There was no sub keeper, I think Sloop went in goals & we won 5-2!
i was at the cup game you are on about , we went 2-0 after about 15 mins and fought back to score 5 but cant remember the goalie going of and sloop going in goals

27-08-2014, 06:37 PM

We certainly did, I remember that night well. I got bored at 2-0 down and counted the whopping 53 Gretna fans. If I am right in thinking that was Steven Fletcher's first competitive hat-trick as well.

_hucks_
27-08-2014, 06:39 PM
We certainly did, I remember that night well. I got bored at 2-0 down and counted the whopping 53 Gretna fans. If I am right in thinking that was Steven Fletcher's first competitive hat-trick as well.

Nah, Zemmama grabbed a brace that day I'm sure.

27-08-2014, 07:31 PM

Think that was a different match mate - the one you're thinking about was a midweek game rearranged when Mixu was the manager. Think that was Zarabis debut.

The other one was in JCs time.

27-08-2014, 08:13 PM
Think that was a different match mate - the one you're thinking about was a midweek game rearranged when Mixu was the manager. Think that was Zarabis debut.

The other one was in JCs time.

27-08-2014, 08:27 PM

I'm sure I was with you at the midweek game.

Played them twice at home and won both 4-2, that was the days before decline. DVZ must've signed about then? :greengrin

27-08-2014, 08:31 PM
I'm sure I was with you at the midweek game.

Played them twice at home and won both 4-2, that was the days before decline. DVZ must've signed about then? :greengrin

You were! To think we almost lost to a team with players from that side in it last night.

H18Y GW
27-08-2014, 08:54 PM

I was was at this also didnt a Gvnt run on the pitch to follow up the attack lol

27-08-2014, 09:18 PM
[QUOTE=brog;4144267]

I was was at this also didnt a Gvnt run on the pitch to follow up the attack lol

There was a similar match a few years later in which Ally MacLeod scored a very late equaliser. Loads of those clowns ran on the pitch and there was mucho "bovver" outside as well.

27-08-2014, 09:32 PM

Pat always says vwhen he scored, the pubs were just opening (which they did a 5 o'clock in those days). He also freely admits he was offside :greengrin

27-08-2014, 09:36 PM
Not quite as impressive as our comeback last night but Bradford came from 1-0 down, with eight minutes left, to beat Leeds 2-1 tonight in the English League Cup.

CropleyisGod
27-08-2014, 10:00 PM
My memory of that was it was in the days (sorry to the younger folks) when we DID NOT lose to that shower. Hibs were mince and should have been stuffed. Somehow they couldn't put us away and, as you say, after an unbelievable amount of injury time (IIRC) a long ball to the back post saw St Pat rise like a salmon to head it home. Much celebration at the School End. We don't get justice like that any more... ;-)

CropleyisGod
27-08-2014, 10:01 PM
Sorry, there should have been a link to his Pat Stanton post there!