View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 3 - 2 Dumbarton (El Alagui x2, Stanton) FT

Pages : 1 [2]

26-08-2014, 09:00 PM
See the guests still hanging in there...
Stewards inquiry to follow...

Anyway what a bonkers club we are of an occasion!

Question is did Stubbsy do enough to loosen the purse-strings further? With this shock and awe tactic?

26-08-2014, 09:00 PM
Maybe just maybe this is the turning point?

I hope so, we needed some fight from the team and at last we got it

eezyrider
26-08-2014, 09:02 PM
I hope so, we needed some fight from the team and at last we got it

Shame it took Dumbarton to score 2 goals before they showed that fight.

EZ

Stranraer
What did I miss?! All I could see was a database error.

Same here, looks like I missed the fun.

Oh well 3-2, I'm chuffed!

What did I miss?! All I could see was a database error.

As a private member that's what you've paid for apparently ;)

26-08-2014, 09:06 PM
As a private member that's what you've paid for apparently ;)

Agree, management needs a shake up to say the least....run a business then you have to keep the staff happy :na na:

Jim Herriot
26-08-2014, 09:07 PM
Farmer oot, Petrie oot, Dempster oot, happy clappers oot. Hysterical, piss-staned mouth foamers in.

Database errors oot.

26-08-2014, 09:08 PM
WOW! What a turn around. Phoned my mate at 0-2, then it was 3-2 when we stopped our conversation. WOW!

PS: What is all this .net fascination about guests? I, and I know a lot of others, NEVER log into Hibs.net, when I am seeing what everyone is posting. I only log-in to post. In and Out, nothing sinister in that!

26-08-2014, 09:10 PM
Got kicked off so many times from I pad at 2 0 Then the next I knew it was 3. 2 Under circumstances great result but we need another striker ,we can't rely on Farid in every game .But will enjoy this win and let's kick on on Saturday

Lester B
26-08-2014, 09:10 PM
Well if this doesn't rattle some cages in the boardroom and the management team nothing will... I will put it in plain writing for them all to see.

WE NEED A DECENT STRIKER WHO CAN PUT THE BALL IN THE NET ON A REGULAR BASiS !!!!

Absolutely right. Thankfully we seem to have one who has got four goals already!!

And that's not plain writing. It's mainly capitals.

26-08-2014, 09:12 PM
WOW! What a turn around. Phoned my mate at 0-2, then it was 3-2 when we stopped our conversation. WOW!

PS: What is all this .net fascination about guests? I, and I know a lot of others, NEVER log into Hibs.net, when I am seeing what everyone is posting. I only log-in to post. In and Out, nothing sinister in that!

its not about the guests for me...but I do want to read the message board at times when I'm many miles away from the stadium...and it's disappointing that it doesn't function at these key times...

26-08-2014, 09:13 PM
What a difference when you take your chances.

Got out of jail tonight and Dumbarton are not a great side but a wins a win and hopefully we kick on.

Still firmly believe we need some decent transfer business this week if we are to put together a run that allowd us to challenge this season.

26-08-2014, 09:14 PM
Get in Hibees!!!

Any idea where Stanton played when he came on? I wasn't there.

Gordy M
26-08-2014, 09:14 PM
I actually think that the server going slow saved a few posters from 'venting' and probably posting some stuff that they may have had to retract come the final whistle:wink::greengrin

26-08-2014, 09:17 PM
Absolutely right. Thankfully we seem to have one who has got four goals already!!

And that's not plain writing. It's mainly capitals.

Indeed it is capitals but also plain writing ... We cannot just rely on Farid to score .. Injuries or suspension would cause havoc !

26-08-2014, 09:17 PM
I actually think that the server going slow saved a few posters from 'venting' and probably posting some stuff that they may have had to retract come the final whistle:wink::greengrin

Agreed! There's a few embarrassed already anyway.

26-08-2014, 09:18 PM

Not sure if i'd have regretted it, but i was actually laughing. i was exchanging text messages with my mate and we'd virtually given up on the game and were laughing at how far we'd slumped. :wink:

26-08-2014, 09:21 PM

Tbh I think anyone venting at 0-2 would have been well within their rights.

When did football become so rational? Go 2-0 down people moan and go a bit mental, come back to win 3-2 people are happy and er go a bit mental. I'd rather that than everyone sitting around all civilised and only reacting at the end of the game.

26-08-2014, 09:22 PM

Nothing of the sort with me :fibber: Who'd be a Hibby! El Alegui has shown already he'll score goals against Championship sides but we need another striker who will do the same. Wasn't there tonight due to work. Seemed we were on top first half, lost the plot then fought back well?

andy1875
26-08-2014, 09:23 PM
Get in Hibees!!!

Any idea where Stanton played when he came on? I wasn't there.

Handling had moved to the right of midfield when Cummings came on for Harris.

Stanton then replaced Handling and his goal was a cracker. Coming in of the the right and curling into far corner with left foot. A peach! So for me, out wide right.

26-08-2014, 09:25 PM
Thoughts...

Two Excellent headers from El Alagui tonight and a cracker from Stanton.

Hibs looked fairly solid at the back but for two corners, Dumbarton's 1st from a corner won at the back post by Nish and hooked in by Megginson, 2nd goal came after a bit of a pinball game in the hibs box.

Alot of the ball tonight as expected, but other than Kennedy I felt that the hibs players looked like they were reluctant to make mistakes, often opting to pass sideways then back rather than risk a ball being cut out from a forward pass.

Confidence building result, hopefully it gives the players a kick up the arse. Momentum is what is needed and will only get that from winning games so job done.

New CH looks strong and has decent pace, time will tell against better opposition but promising debut. maybe should have scored in the first half if I'm being critical.

90 mins from Allan tonight, decent shift didn't put a foot wrong all night, classy footballer.

Kennedy looked like he might struggle for the weekend, he took a clattering in the first half and toiled to shake of what to my untrained completely non medical eye looked like a deed leg. He was limping quite alot at FT.

26-08-2014, 09:28 PM
Was Craig suspended, injured or just dropped tonight?

26-08-2014, 09:29 PM
Was Craig suspended, injured or just dropped tonight?

suspended i think, along with stevenson

26-08-2014, 09:30 PM
When a team's lost as many games as we have over the last couple of years, particularly at Easter Road, then any win is good for me.

Especially when we come from 2-0 down with 12 minutes left.

The players deserve credit tonight for getting us out of that hole and putting us into the next round.

I just hope we can push on now and make it two wins in a row with a win on Saturday against Alloa. If we do that, it would be the first time that we've managed to win successive games since it all started to go horribly wrong in January.

It's baby steps right now but hopefully tonight can be a little step in the right direction.

OsloHibs
Exciting last 10 minutes!!! Never thought that would happen.. The life of being a Hibs fan :wink:

Thoughts...

Two Excellent headers from El Alagui tonight and a cracker from Stanton.

Hibs looked fairly solid at the back but for two corners, Dumbarton's 1st from a corner won at the back post by Nish and hooked in by Megginson, 2nd goal came after a bit of a pinball game in the hibs box.

Alot of the ball tonight as expected, but other than Kennedy I felt that the hibs players looked like they were reluctant to make mistakes, often opting to pass sideways then back rather than risk a ball being cut out from a forward pass.

Confidence building result, hopefully it gives the players a kick up the arse. Momentum is what is needed and will only get that from winning games so job done.

New CH looks strong and has decent pace, time will tell against better opposition but promising debut. maybe should have scored in the first half if I'm being critical.

90 mins from Allan tonight, decent shift didn't put a foot wrong all night, classy footballer.

Kennedy looked like he might struggle for the weekend, he took a clattering in the first half and toiled to shake of what to my untrained completely non medical eye looked like a deed leg. He was limping quite alot at FT.

Allan is wasted playing so deep, we need somebody strong to sit and allow him to deploy his passing range further forward in more dangerous positions.

Mathias Jack
26-08-2014, 09:31 PM
suspended i think, along with stevenson

Aye, Craig was defo suspended

Dan Sarf
26-08-2014, 09:32 PM
Farmer oot, Petrie oot, Dempster oot, happy clappers oot. Hysterical, piss-staned mouth foamers in.

Extremely well put. :flag:

cabbage_88
26-08-2014, 09:34 PM
When is the draw for the next round?

26-08-2014, 09:36 PM
When is the draw for the next round?

Tomorrow at 1. It's a mess though as the rangers will be seeded if they beat ict.

buktapurple79
26-08-2014, 09:38 PM
really enjoyed the fightback, we can kick on from here

26-08-2014, 09:39 PM
If I'm honest Hibs were poor. Robertson, Harris, Handling are rotten plain and simple. Got through on the night but left ER worried as usual.

Finding it hard to break down a part time side in the same league as us isn't a good sign. Please, please add more players.

Amit
26-08-2014, 09:40 PM
David Gray should keep the armband. Led by example. Never gave up.

26-08-2014, 09:44 PM

good to hear

steviehibsleith
26-08-2014, 09:44 PM
If I'm honest Hibs were poor. Robertson, Harris, Handling are rotten plain and simple. Got through on the night but left ER worried as usual.

Finding it hard to break down a part time side in the same league as us isn't a good sign. Please, please add more players.
Too be fair to Stubbs he hooked Harris early, i dont think Robertson is that good and Handling like Harris needs to start showing hes a player. They both are being given lots of chances.

andy1875
26-08-2014, 09:46 PM

This, the challenge on the half way line near the East was a topper. :greengrin

I'd like to see Stevenson in for Robertson on Saturday in a holding midfielder role and Cummings up front with Farid in place of Harris. No coincednce we scored all 3 when at 4-4-2.

26-08-2014, 09:46 PM

Agreed

Good at commanding more from his team mates

26-08-2014, 09:47 PM
Too be fair to Stubbs he hooked Harris early, i dont think Robertson is that good and Handling like Harris needs to start showing hes a player. They both are being given lots of chances.

Yeah he seen he wasn't doing anything so was good that he could see this. Like you say they are getting chances and not taking them. Good to go through but I actually left ER pretty pissed off.

But suppose it's about just going through. I feel if we don't add this week will struggle in this league.

26-08-2014, 09:48 PM

I'd like to see Stevenson in for Robertson on Saturday in a holding midfielder role and Cummings up front with Farid in place of Harris. No coincednce we scored all 3 when at 4-4-2.

You can't have a player who can only kick with one foot in a holding midfield role-particularly if he's small and consistently out jumped.

Gordy M
26-08-2014, 09:49 PM
Tbh I think anyone venting at 0-2 would have been well within their rights.

When did football become so rational? Go 2-0 down people moan and go a bit mental, come back to win 3-2 people are happy and er go a bit mental. I'd rather that than everyone sitting around all civilised and only reacting at the end of the game.
Absolutely, however im sure you will agree that some of the comments would have been a bit more than a 'moan'. Anyway im just happy we won and got through. :thumbsup:

26-08-2014, 09:49 PM

Wasn't there tonight but I've said before about Harris, he came from nowhere in the U20's, played a couple of decent games, was bigged right up...............maybe he just isn't good enough and is now showing that. A couple of nice wee touches does not make you a footballer.

26-08-2014, 09:50 PM
Said it before, I just love reading these threads after the event.

26-08-2014, 09:51 PM
Through the wringer again with Hibs tonight.

According to match stats Hibs had 22 shots to Dumbarton's 3; 10 corners to 3; yet find themselves 2 goals to nil down after 59 minutes.

Three great goals and a win Hibs thoroughly deserved. Maybe this will prove to be a turning point for the club? I live in hope. Another home defeat would have really damaged confidence I think.

I thought Gray, El Alagui and Kennedy were our best players on the night. Fontaine looked like he may be a good signing too, but it's early days.

Sorry to end on a negative note, but Handling and Harris did not contribute much tonight I feel. Both substituted.

andy1875
26-08-2014, 09:52 PM
You can't have a player who can only kick with one foot in a holding midfield role-particularly if he's small and consistently out jumped.

Stevenson might not be the be all and end all but he's better than Robertson for me.

He would provide more energy, win more tackles, beat more men and offer more going forward.

So yes, I think it would work better than what was on offer again tonight IF Stubbs sticks with 4-2-3-1

RCNG
Hibs tv the only place for highlights?

Mascherano at Barcelona is only 5'9", he's one of the best DM's in the world. :confused:

26-08-2014, 09:54 PM
Stevenson might not be the be all and end all but he's better than Robertson for me.

He would provide more energy, win more tackles, beat more men and offer more going forward.

So yes, I think it would work better than what was on offer again tonight IF Stubbs sticks with 4-2-3-1

I agree.

I've argued Stevenson should get a shot in midfield aince the 1st pre season game.

He'd get stuck in, break up play and can play a bit too so would move the ball on to Allan and the wide players quickly.

I'd prefer him in centre midfield to Robertson or Craig.

26-08-2014, 09:54 PM
When a team's lost as many games as we have over the last couple of years, particularly at Easter Road, then any win is good for me.

Especially when we come from 2-0 down with 12 minutes left.

The players deserve credit tonight for getting us out of that hole and putting us into the next round.

I just hope we can push on now and make it two wins in a row with a win on Saturday against Alloa. If we do that, it would be the first time that we've managed to win successive games since it all started to go horribly wrong in January.

It's baby steps right now but hopefully tonight can be a little step in the right direction.

I notice folk were going mad on here at 0-2. I still felt mad leaving even after we won!

But reading your post I think you hit the nail on the head. It's "baby steps" and to come back from 0-2 down when everything we done was blocked or we lost the ball showed character. We would have lost that game under TB.

I'm still not happy at some of the players we have as I think they aren't good enough but there is nothing I can do about that.

BH Hibs
26-08-2014, 09:57 PM

Call this a radical way out of left field thought if you like but why oh why can we not play 4-4-2 all the time. This one up front stuff does my head in

26-08-2014, 09:57 PM
Said it before, I just love reading these threads after the event.

:agree: Just in from a meeting that prevented me going - heard radio on way home when was 1-0...then 2-0.....then a bit mixed up as Celtic were getting suckered which took all the radio attention...them the goals...and Preston being pretty excited about game and comeback.....could not wait to read this...I agree with saying server delays probably prevented some major foot in mouth :greengrin

26-08-2014, 09:58 PM

Handling should of been fresh tonight as he came on late on Saturday .Just given new long term contract he should of been buzzing you would have thought and looking to impress . Harris is probably getting played to often already Stubbs needs reminded of what Harris was put through tale end of the season he still needs managed properly to develop further and get that confidence back .
Wasn't at game Were none of these players involved in build up to the goals ?

26-08-2014, 10:00 PM
Handling should of been fresh tonight as he came on late on Saturday .Just given new long term contract he should of been buzzing you would have thought and looking to impress . Harris is probably getting played to often already Stubbs needs reminded of what Harris was put through tale end of the season he still needs managed properly to develop further and get that confidence back .
Wasn't at game Were none of these players involved in build up to the goals ?

Harris was subbed, I can't even mind if Handling was on or not when we scored? Was to busy on twitter as I thought the game was over 😄

26-08-2014, 10:03 PM
I agree that it was a fantastic fight back to win the game, however looking at the stats, we should never have been 2-0 down, not to Dumbarton. Will be an interesting few weeks coming to see if we can now push on from here and rack up some points

andy1875
26-08-2014, 10:06 PM
Call this a radical way out of left field thought if you like but why oh why can we not play 4-4-2 all the time. This one up front stuff does my head in

After the switch to 4-4-2 tonight which obviously resulted in the win, it will be interesting to see the tactics we play on Sat. I suspect it will be changed with Cummings starting in place of Harris and Handling or Stanton going to right midfield.

26-08-2014, 10:09 PM
Madness, horror, and a thrilling finish! :gwa:

3-2 to the Hibees, 3-2 to the Hibees! :flag:

26-08-2014, 10:15 PM
We dominated the game again early on, but failed to take full advantage by not scoring. In the second half you could sense, as well as see, Dumbarton coming more into the game with the inevitable goals the result. AS made early substitutions and Cummings certainly seemed to inject a bit more pace and movement up front. Stanton's first touch was a woeful shot, more reminiscent of a Butcheresque type clearance, as when the ball came down it looked like there was snow on top of it. Big amount of respect to the drummer guy and the rest in section 43 as they really kept the fans going. Some of the boo boys left with the usual insults hurled at the team when it was still 2- 0. I feared the worst myself, but the team kept going, trying to play football and the end result was amazing. Three brilliant goals and I was overcome with a feeling that can only be described as unbridled joy. When was the last time we came back from being 2 down with less than 15 minutes to go? All goals from open play as well. Sorry for going on a bit but I feel great. In the grand scheme of things it's another small step in the right direction. Another good striker up front with Farid, a good central midfielder and I truly believe we can accomplish a great deal this season.

26-08-2014, 10:15 PM
Strange game. Good character but finishing has to be better and a bit more speed in attacking required. Hopefully confidence will pick up after the comeback and 3 goals.

BTW only 4 players who were at Easter Road last season started today. The revolution is gathering pace.

26-08-2014, 10:16 PM
Winning like that can sometimes galvanize a squad so hopefully we can kick on from tonight.

The most heartening thing for me is that the signings Stubbs have made all look good. Gray was excellent again and his driving runs got us back into the game. His crossing let him down on occasion but he refused to lie down and drove us forward time and time again. Kennedy looked dangerous all night and Allen is getting better with each game. The keeper has done pretty well too. Too early to see if Fontaine is a good signing.

26-08-2014, 10:20 PM

:agree: 100%

Frogga
26-08-2014, 10:27 PM
Well done to the fans (especially Sect 43) for being so patient with the team tonight. Credit where credit's due :) And well done to Farid and co for showing the mental strength to dig us out of that.

hibbychick1
26-08-2014, 10:40 PM
Allan is wasted playing so deep, we need somebody strong to sit and allow him to deploy his passing range further forward in more dangerous positions.

Agreed. A strong natural midfielder will give the team a better balance.

26-08-2014, 10:46 PM
Let's be honest they fell to bits when Nish went off..

Leith Mo
26-08-2014, 11:22 PM

Me too. Founder member of a bus many years ago now. Left the neighbourhood for almost as many years and only joined .net not so long ago as got so annoyed at times not being able to contribute constructively or not depending on the point of view of the reader. I still log in only when feel the need to share/vent/laugh/see what other hibees (hopefully) think/know.

macd123
26-08-2014, 11:41 PM
Yeah he seen he wasn't doing anything so was good that he could see this. Like you say they are getting chances and not taking them. Good to go through but I actually left ER pretty pissed off.

But suppose it's about just going through. I feel if we don't add this week will struggle in this league.

To be fair to the team we absolutely sh*t on dumbarton from the first minute. We completely dominated.

But we can't go into a season with only 3 players to defend and attack set pieces. Otherwise we will see the same old hibs failings. Conceding late from corners and not scoring from our own corners.

26-08-2014, 11:43 PM
Its a bit metal how teams who make 1 or 2 chances against us seem to score from them ... a scrambled goal by Falkirk and Dumbarton's scrambled second tonight ...... ho hum.

We were a bit slow getting the ball forward at times .... but in the last 15 minutes what a difference with the passing much quicker and players piling forward.

I was disappointed with Handling and Harris, who wasted a great chance just before Dumbarton scored their first. I don't think Robertson was as bad as some are saying. Fontaine passed pretty well .... Farid's second goal was as good a header as I've seen from a Hibs forward in many a year and Stanton's goal was a peach. Everybody else played pretty well .... I wonder if Gray will keep the armband after tonight.

If nothing else the last 12 minutes alone were worth the admission money and how often can you say that after a game at ER. Hats off to section 43 who were immense for the whole game.

27-08-2014, 12:02 AM
In the next round, all that matters :aok: who'd have thought that at 9.3pm last night - let's give the boys all the credit they deserve, as everyone else (non Hibs fans) were laughing apples at us - love proving them wrong :greengrin

I know Preston was gutted :agree:

gegs70
27-08-2014, 12:07 AM
So looking at the stats we created several chances but we need a proper goalscorer?

27-08-2014, 12:12 AM
So looking at the stats we created several chances but we need a proper goalscorer?

Main striker scored two - that is a proper goalscorer :aok:

27-08-2014, 04:28 AM

Harris and handling have both shown they've got the talent and are both at an age where they won't be consistent, calling them rotten is way out of order IMO.

I wasn't at the game but 22 shots doesn't sound like we were struggling that much.

27-08-2014, 05:44 AM
Harris and handling have both shown they've got the talent and are both at an age where they won't be consistent, calling them rotten is way out of order IMO.

I wasn't at the game but 22 shots doesn't sound like we were struggling that much.

I was at the game. Harris and Handling were rotten.

27-08-2014, 05:59 AM
I was at the game. Harris and Handling were rotten.

Harris was rotten, handling was just his usual anonymous self.

Never seen a forward offer such little threat.

yankyhibby
27-08-2014, 06:24 AM
Strange game. Good character but finishing has to be better and a bit more speed in attacking required. Hopefully confidence will pick up after the comeback and 3 goals.

BTW only 4 players who were at Easter Road last season started today. The revolution is gathering pace.

That's progress and music to my ears.

27-08-2014, 06:41 AM
Harris was rotten, handling was just his usual anonymous self.

Never seen a forward offer such little threat.

Seems to be consensus and brings the debate back to why a four year deal when very few players get a contract of that length but that's for a different thread .i know it's an investment in potential and younger players will be inconsistent .just look at SAMs goal last night you know he has that capability but recently hasn't shown it Stubbs was brought in by Leeann on remit of developing younger players and maybe Stubbs sees this nucleus of young players as the future of the club and as we had to let a few under 20 players go it might be he doesn't see anyone about to break through from that team in the next six months so wants to tie up the young talent currently in the first team and mould them into a system where he gets the best out of each of them individually and collectively At least that will be his vision .
However when you see where Kennedy is ( and yes he needs to work on that final ball into the box ) you already have a young player who is exciting fans so Stubbs has developed him to that level .

27-08-2014, 07:38 AM
that's a couple of games jason cummings has under his belt now after injury so hopefully ready for a start now, Farid and Jason up front this saturday stubbsy

Canongatehibs
27-08-2014, 07:42 AM
What is it with away fans' more rowdy elements wanting to stand at the back of the lower tier against the wall?!!
Not that Dumbarton had a rowdy element, but intrigued to know why this occurs.

27-08-2014, 07:50 AM
What is it with away fans' more rowdy elements wanting to stand at the back of the lower tier against the wall?!!
Backs to the wall mentality .No doubt the younger element who want to sing head up there Bit like groups wanting to sit at back of bus .or they think it creates a better atmosphere if they are at the back Section 4 3 choose to go to back of east stand .

27-08-2014, 08:24 AM
We dominated the game again early on, but failed to take full advantage by not scoring. In the second half you could sense, as well as see, Dumbarton coming more into the game with the inevitable goals the result. AS made early substitutions and Cummings certainly seemed to inject a bit more pace and movement up front. Stanton's first touch was a woeful shot, more reminiscent of a Butcheresque type clearance, as when the ball came down it looked like there was snow on top of it. Big amount of respect to the drummer guy and the rest in section 43 as they really kept the fans going. Some of the boo boys left with the usual insults hurled at the team when it was still 2- 0. I feared the worst myself, but the team kept going, trying to play football and the end result was amazing. Three brilliant goals and I was overcome with a feeling that can only be described as unbridled joy. When was the last time we came back from being 2 down with less than 15 minutes to go? All goals from open play as well. Sorry for going on a bit but I feel great. In the grand scheme of things it's another small step in the right direction. Another good striker up front with Farid, a good central midfielder and I truly believe we can accomplish a great deal this season.

Great post :thumbsup:

27-08-2014, 08:32 AM
I notice folk were going mad on here at 0-2. I still felt mad leaving even after we won!

But reading your post I think you hit the nail on the head. It's "baby steps" and to come back from 0-2 down when everything we done was blocked or we lost the ball showed character. We would have lost that game under TB.

I'm still not happy at some of the players we have as I think they aren't good enough but there is nothing I can do about that.

We weren't great last night but scored 3 superb goals in 13 minutes for a great cup comeback. Why on earth would you have been annoyed when you left? It was an exhilarating end to the game.

27-08-2014, 08:33 AM

You can stand at the back without being told to sit down by stewards because there is no one behind you, thats usually what happens anyway. Nothing to do with being rowdy or aggressive or being ********s.

27-08-2014, 08:46 AM
We weren't great last night but scored 3 superb goals in 13 minutes for a great cup comeback. Why on earth would you have been annoyed when you left? It was an exhilarating end to the game.

I was more frustrated that for 80 mins we were very poor against a part time side. Good we went through but far from happy at the performance.

27-08-2014, 08:53 AM
I was more frustrated that for 80 mins we were very poor against a part time side. Good we went through but far from happy at the performance.

I would suggest that you need to enjoy results like last night a bit more - with 13 minutes to go we were staring down the barrel, with another defeat and yet more unrest after what would have been a 4th defeat in 5. But we showed a lot of character, and lots of quality to pull through.

Saturday we played really well and lost, thanks to poor finishing - last night we weren't very good and won, thanks to superb finishing. Go with it.

Apart from it being a cup game and going through being the only thing that really matters, this board for too long has pulled apart Hibs wins just as much as defeats. Given how few and far between our wins have been recently, I would just try to enjoy them as much as possible - otherwise what's the point?

27-08-2014, 08:53 AM

It's my opinion and until they start performing then that's how I see it.

27-08-2014, 08:55 AM
I would suggest that you need to enjoy results like last night a bit more - with 13 minutes to go we were staring down the barrel, with another defeat and yet more unrest after what would have been a 4th defeat in 5. But we showed a lot of character, and lots of quality to pull through.

Saturday we played really well and lost, thanks to poor finishing - last night we weren't very good and won, thanks to superb finishing. Go with it.

Apart from it being a cup game and going through being the only thing that really matters, this board for too long has pulled apart Hibs wins just as much as defeats. Given how few and far between our wins have been recently, I would just try to enjoy them as much as possible - otherwise what's the point?

Maybe your right, hopefully the board buy a striker because it was obvious we will struggle to score. Anyway like I said happy we went through!

27-08-2014, 08:56 AM
Maybe your right, hopefully the board buy a striker because it was obvious we will struggle to score. Anyway like I said happy we went through!

Of course!

I wouldn't say that scoring 3 goals is evidence of us struggling to score incidentally! But would agree that we need back up for Farid.

27-08-2014, 08:58 AM
Of course!

I wouldn't say that scoring 3 goals is evidence of us struggling to score incidentally! But would agree that we need back up for Farid.

If he gets injured then that's a huge worry. Look at Sat, we could have played all day and not scored. So if we get someone else in to give him support I'll be more confident for the season ahead.

I think Cummings should start over Handling IMO as well.

27-08-2014, 09:01 AM
If he gets injured then that's a huge worry. Look at Sat, we could have played all day and not scored. So if we get someone else in to give him support I'll be more confident for the season ahead.

I think Cummings should start over Handling IMO as well.

I agree we need back up - he'll miss more chances but score a whole lot more too. His second header last night was unbelievable.

Agree that Cummings should come in, looked very lively and decent shooting from range as well.

27-08-2014, 09:14 AM
Think the team lacked conviction in the first hour. In the last half hour they seemed to be more willing to shoot from outside the box. Make runs to get on the end of balls and go in for 50/50. Definitely lack confidence which will only grow with victories. Hope last night was the start and we can build on it.

27-08-2014, 09:22 AM
I agree we need back up - he'll miss more chances but score a whole lot more too. His second header last night was unbelievable.

Agree that Cummings should come in, looked very lively and decent shooting from range as well.

Yeah it's not fair to put all the pressure on Farid. Looks like he will do very well for us though. He wins just about everything he goes for in the air.

That's what I like about Jason, he's direct and not frightened to shoot on sight.

27-08-2014, 12:20 PM
Loved the goals last night - first one came from very patient play, passing at low tempo until we managed to play Gray into an advanced position, his brilliant cross finished well by Farid. The second was unbelievable, decent ball in from Forster but not much pace on the ball meant that Al Agui's header was astonishing, especially from that distance. Had a brilliant view of Stanton's as well, in from the moment it left his boot. Nice to see him show that he can be a match winner again.

As an aside, we worked things well when we got it going last night - Kennedy's superb appetite for the game (very good considering he seemed to have a dead leg for most of the 1st half) meant that he needed at least two to occupy him on the left; we did well to work it out to Gray (who was superb) so many times, and take advantage of the space available on the right - with Scott Allan's crisp passing being of great value too.

I like Harris (though he wasn't great last night) and he has linked up well with Gray at times this season - but it was significant that Gray was so involved after Alex went off. Possibly something to think about for Saturday.

27-08-2014, 05:25 PM
Being in London I wasn't at the game but just a few random thoughts.
1. Dumbarton are in same division as us! We have to keep a sense of realism & recognise all games against our ( hopefully short-term ) peers will be a challenge.
2. We had 5 players starting last night with a collective total of less than 20 games for us. Add in Booth, gone for 2 years & it's understandable it will take time to fully gel.
3. We've had 40 shots in last 2 games, that's more than we had in a season under PF! Now we just need to convert more!
GGTTH!

27-08-2014, 05:55 PM
Being in London I wasn't at the game but just a few random thoughts.
1. Dumbarton are in same division as us! We have to keep a sense of realism & recognise all games against our ( hopefully short-term ) peers will be a challenge.
2. We had 5 players starting last night with a collective total of less than 20 games for us. Add in Booth, gone for 2 years & it's understandable it will take time to fully gel.
3. We've had 40 shots in last 2 games, that's more than we had in a season under PF! Now we just need to convert more!
GGTTH!

I agree with all of these, good points. Ok, it was a home game against Dumbarton and we shouldn't be shouting from the rooftops but we are where we are. We played some decent stuff in places and scraped a good result from a really bad position.

It's early days for Stubbs and this squad but I think that whether you view what's going on on the park at Hibs at the moment as either positive or negative says a whole lot more about you than it does about what's happening on the park

27-08-2014, 06:55 PM
I think we have also had a different back four in our last four games, not ideal but will hopefully settle down soon.