View Full Version : "Petrie Out" Protester Ejected Yesterday

24-08-2014, 04:06 PM
I don't think this has been mentioned so apologies if it's tucked away in another thread.

This all played out about 10 rows in front of me yesterday, so while I got a bird's eye view I couldn't hear what was being said. A couple of girls who sit in the second row of the FF (Upper Tier) were preparing a "Petrie Out" banner just before half time when two stewards approached them. The banner was taken from them, season tickets were checked and details radioed in, one of the girls was then escorted from her seat. The half time whistle blew a few minutes later and the other girl left at that point with neither returning for the second half.

They had a similar banner at the Livingston game and my gut feeling was that the stewards were waiting for them this time.

Do either of you post here and if so can you confirm what was said because on the face of it, it looked like you were kicked out for having a Petrie Out banner!

24-08-2014, 04:08 PM
Interesting.

Maybe they're adults but have got kids tickets.

24-08-2014, 04:21 PM
I can imagine Petrie sitting watching that unfold and thinking to himself "Protesters Out , Lolz".

24-08-2014, 04:47 PM
If it was as simple as them being ejected because of their views on Rod Petrie then that is really unacceptable.

There's surely more to it than that. It would be good to hear from either party.

Gerard
24-08-2014, 04:55 PM
If it was for having a Petrie out banner we will have only a few people at ER?:wink:

24-08-2014, 05:06 PM
Remember when the conduit was advocating a ten team league ( he got one but a different one to the one he envisaged ) ! we were playing Aberdeen and a "no ten team League banner was ripped from the Dons fans ?. Fatso obviously hates public criticism so all the more reason to get the biggest banner ever made for the next home game.

24-08-2014, 05:13 PM
A couple of my mates went to Wigan yesterday, and 3 separate Oyston out banners were confiscated. I don't understand how this can be as this was a Blackpool away game?

I dont know if the people who unfurled them were also ejected, but it does seem strange the banners were taken.

24-08-2014, 05:21 PM
I remember a banner protesting against the Partick Thistle chairman (about allocating Celtic fans tickets for behind the goals) at Firhill being confiscated last season at the Monday night fixture, and much argy-bargying between stewards and fans, so maybe there is some rule in place regarding what constitutes acceptable banners at football stadiums in Scotland :dunno:

(* edit - after reading blackpoolhibs` post above, maybe football stadiums within the UK)

24-08-2014, 05:21 PM
Remember when the conduit was advocating a ten team league ( he got one but a different one to the one he envisaged ) ! we were playing Aberdeen and a "no ten team League banner was ripped from the Dons fans ?. Fatso obviously hates public criticism so all the more reason to get the biggest banner ever made for the next home game.

Couldn't agree more ........ Fans should be able to express their views at matches as long as they are not abusive and the banners don't obstruct the view of the pitch. Would be interesting if the girls could tell us what happened.

Oh and .............. good for them. By the way I would have said I was a walk up and had binned my ticket.

24-08-2014, 06:00 PM
I remember a banner protesting against the Partick Thistle chairman (about allocating Celtic fans tickets for behind the goals) at Firhill being confiscated last season at the Monday night fixture, and much argy-bargying between stewards and fans, so maybe there is some rule in place regarding what constitutes acceptable banners at football stadiums in Scotland :dunno:

(* edit - after reading blackpoolhibs` post above, maybe football stadiums within the UK)
So teams in Glasgow can show banners with support to murder gangs (uvf/ira) but two wee girls cannot show their displeasure at at inept chairman. 1984 is with us. This club is sick and the only cure is the removal of Farmer and Petrie.

Boris
24-08-2014, 06:23 PM
I sit in front row of Famous 5 in middle & the 2 lassies, well women actually, were in the row behind just a couple of seats along. I wasn't aware of anything until 2 stewards came into their row just before HT. I could then see that one of the lassies had a handwritten banner (looked to be large sheets of paper taped together) & I could make out the word Petrie. They spoke to the lassies for a couple of minutes then took one of them out with the banner. The other lassie left after getting a phone call from her pal who was by then outside having been thrown out.

I wasn't aware of any commotion or anything else & I was just feet away (& lets face it, it wasn't exactly an engrossing game) so I agree with earlier poster that stewards were waiting for it.

24-08-2014, 06:24 PM
Perhaps the club could use their hibs.net account to clear this up if indeed it did happen ..

Oh watch ...a flying pig ...:eek:

24-08-2014, 06:25 PM
I don't think this has been mentioned so apologies if it's tucked away in another thread.

This all played out about 10 rows in front of me yesterday, so while I got a bird's eye view I couldn't hear what was being said. A couple of girls who sit in the second row of the FF (Upper Tier) were preparing a "Petrie Out" banner just before half time when two stewards approached them. The banner was taken from them, season tickets were checked and details radioed in, one of the girls was then escorted from her seat. The half time whistle blew a few minutes later and the other girl left at that point with neither returning for the second half.

They had a similar banner at the Livingston game and my gut feeling was that the stewards were waiting for them this time.

Do either of you post here and if so can you confirm what was said because on the face of it, it looked like you were kicked out for having a Petrie Out banner!

You get around the stadium Mikey ;)
Will be interested to hear the story behind this. I'd imagine it'll come down to some vague interpretation that had nothing to do with the nature of the banner...

24-08-2014, 06:26 PM
Perhaps the club could use their hibs.net account to clear this up if indeed it did happen ..

Oh watch ...a flying pig ...:eek:

Don't be silly.

I'll offer odds no better than 8/11 that the first time they use it will be when they are selling something. If at all.

24-08-2014, 06:30 PM

It never stops the gruesome two from the west from unfurling banners with a message to whoever it is intended for, and it didn't stop the yams unfurling a banner last week with "tick tock who is laughing now" written on it.

I think it is down to the club if they want this kind of stuff shown at games.

A massive banner should be taken to ER on Tuesday to let that smug faced git no that he isn't welcome at OUR CLUB and see what the stewards do about it, i would go as far as to say that we shouldn't even let him in to the ground and make things very uncomfortable for him when he shows his face at ER.

PETRIE OUT

Weir7
24-08-2014, 06:33 PM
It never stops the gruesome two from the west from unfurling banners with a message to whoever it is intended for, and it didn't stop the yams unfurling a banner last week with "tick tock who is laughing now" written on it.

A massive banner should be taken to ER on Tuesday to let that smug faced git no that he isn't welcome at OUR CLUB and see what the stewards do about it, i would go as far as to say that we shouldn't even let him in to the ground and make things very uncomfortable for him when he shows his face at ER.

PETRIE OUT

Spot on. Lots of singing petrie petrie get out of our club.

24-08-2014, 06:36 PM
You soon won't be able to open your mouth at a football match soon in case you upset some poor wee soul.

No standing, no banners, no drink, no plastic bottles of juice being taken in by violent 3 year old kids. Going to the match has become dull and boring. The atmosphere at many grounds is practically non existent. Soulless.

You will only be able to hear the rustle of the sweetie papers.

24-08-2014, 06:37 PM
Funny how the club are quite happy to let opposition teams and the authorities walk all over our team, but as soon as criticism is directed personally at them they're quick to shut it down - even from our own supporters.

In it for themselves and don't give a **** about Hibernian FC. :agree:

24-08-2014, 06:48 PM
Don't be silly.

I'll offer odds no better than 8/11 that the first time they use it will be when they are selling something. If at all.

If the stewards were waiting to pounce on these two females then I'm pretty sure Leeann Dempster will have known all about this incident, the quicker we get this one to one no holds barred discussion with her the better, so if you can be bothered your arse to read this Ms Dempster lets get this meeting on at the next possible date, us fans have plenty to discuss and we won't hold back as you asked of us.

PETRIE OUT

24-08-2014, 06:54 PM
You soon won't be able to open your mouth at a football match soon in case you upset some poor wee soul.

No standing, no banners, no drink, no plastic bottles of juice being taken in by violent 3 year old kids. Going to the match has become dull and boring. The atmosphere at many grounds is practically non existent. Soulless.

You will only be able to hear the rustle of the sweetie papers.

Talking of food went for two cheeseburgers at the kiosk before HT, £7.60 F***ing hell eh, now they only had one cheeseburger so they open the wrapper of a plain burger and put a cheese slice on it and the price jumped up 80pence, f***ing 80 pence for a cheese slice, taking the piss so they are.

24-08-2014, 06:57 PM

PETRIE OUT

Spot on, We, the paying public should keep Rod from getting his torso anywhere near ER, remember WE are paying for him to sit in his seat and smirk at us. Petrie oot.

24-08-2014, 06:58 PM
Spot on, We, the paying public should keep Rod from getting his torso anywhere near ER, remember WE are paying for him to sit in his seat and smirk at us. Petrie oot.

We're not. :wink:

Turkish Green
24-08-2014, 06:58 PM
Okay I get confiscating the banner BUT why eject a ST holder if she was not causing a disturbance? I can only assume that they were following orders.

24-08-2014, 06:59 PM
Talking of food went for two cheeseburgers at the kiosk before HT, £7.60 F***ing hell eh, now they only had one cheeseburger so they open the wrapper of a plain burger and put a cheese slice on it and the price jumped up 80pence, f***ing 80 pence for a cheese slice, taking the piss so they are.

:agree: :greengrin

24-08-2014, 07:01 PM
Spot on. Lots of singing petrie petrie get out of our club.

All very motivational for the team on the park. Is it the case that people attend games to support the team or just to get their latest moan off their shoulders. No wonder we struggle to get better players. It's let time fans became supporters IMHO

24-08-2014, 07:13 PM
All very motivational for the team on the park. Is it the case that people attend games to support the team or just to get their latest moan off their shoulders. No wonder we struggle to get better players. It's let time fans became supporters IMHO

Why would it affect the players.

24-08-2014, 07:22 PM
Why would it affect the players.

Some stopped to join in !!

24-08-2014, 07:41 PM

Who pay's for his expenses.

24-08-2014, 07:43 PM

More the merrier. :greengrin

edwards
24-08-2014, 08:05 PM
Massive pat on the back for they two woman if true, the word Petrie leaves a bad taste in your mouth for the way he has run the club over the past two or three years. :agree:

Petrie GTF

24-08-2014, 08:15 PM

Ok , if we are not paying him he still should not be anywhere near ER, he must have some brass neck to take his seat in the directors box after the shambles he has presided over. Wonder if he still wanders the bar pre game telling fans we won't be relegated !.

NW
24-08-2014, 08:19 PM
Ok , if we are not paying him he still should not be anywhere near ER, he must have some brass neck to take his seat in the directors box after the shambles he has presided over. Wonder if he still wanders the bar pre game telling fans we won't be relegated !.

Does he not own a chunk of the club or stadium?

24-08-2014, 08:19 PM
Are there not pretty stringent rules regarding banners and their fire hazard etc?

If so, it explains the powers used to confiscate the banner...ejection on the other hand...are these women regulars in said seats? If not, could they have been ejected for using someone elses seats?

24-08-2014, 09:20 PM
I sit in front row of Famous 5 in middle & the 2 lassies, well women actually, were in the row behind just a couple of seats along. I wasn't aware of anything until 2 stewards came into their row just before HT. I could then see that one of the lassies had a handwritten banner (looked to be large sheets of paper taped together) & I could make out the word Petrie. They spoke to the lassies for a couple of minutes then took one of them out with the banner. The other lassie left after getting a phone call from her pal who was by then outside having been thrown out.

I wasn't aware of any commotion or anything else & I was just feet away (& lets face it, it wasn't exactly an engrossing game) so I agree with earlier poster that stewards were waiting for it.

I was a wee bit surprised at the lack of fuss. Unfortunately I had my drinking phone with me, if I had my proper phone I would have taken some pics :greengrin

Massive pat on the back for they two woman if true, the word Petrie leaves a bad taste in your mouth for the way he has run the club over the past two or three years. :agree:

Petrie GTF

Do you think I'm making it up?

Are there not pretty stringent rules regarding banners and their fire hazard etc?

If so, it explains the powers used to confiscate the banner...ejection on the other hand...are these women regulars in said seats? If not, could they have been ejected for using someone elses seats?

Nah, they're regulars in those seats.

24-08-2014, 09:31 PM

Petrie GTF

Do you ever frequent Behind the Goals pre match? If not, you should and then you can tell RP to his face to GTF :wink:

24-08-2014, 09:49 PM
I Feel that The-Tache and Sir T.. Have Done a Lot for this Club... I really do..

But - When I watched the Camera`s Turning to RP`s Face after being RELEGATED !!! :grr:

GGGGGRRRR...

Heedersnvolleys
24-08-2014, 09:58 PM
I was a wee bit surprised at the lack of fuss. Unfortunately I had my drinking phone with me, if I had my proper phone I would have taken some pics :greengrin

I have a drinking phone anaw,it's a greedy bar steward,:greengrin

24-08-2014, 10:07 PM
Do you ever frequent Behind the Goals pre match? If not, you should and then you can tell RP to his face to GTF :wink:

Never go their myself. Has Petrie shown his face their this season? I'm surprised he hasn't been confronted by fans if he has.

24-08-2014, 10:08 PM
Never go their myself. Has Petrie shown his face their this season? I'm surprised he hasn't been confronted by fans if he has.

Yep, he's there every home game. Hasn't ever stopped at my table though :greengrin

24-08-2014, 10:10 PM
Yep, he's there every home game. Hasn't ever stopped at my table though :greengrin

Amazing! Any other club and he would be scared to show his face.

hibs4thecup1988
24-08-2014, 10:10 PM

Some joined in, and the rest of them were creating another banner :greengrin

Crazyhorse
24-08-2014, 10:44 PM

Ah I see we have a ***** team because of the supporters. Well when we have an empty stadium I expect we will be playing like the German national team.

25-08-2014, 12:20 AM
It's always annoyed me that we are not allowed banners at Easter road and yet every time we are at the PBS they are allowed whatever they like. If Leeann want us to be more like a football cob and less corporate she could do worse than start there. It's our stadium.

Well done the two girls. Maybe time to get a big banner made for the East. If the stewards come near, tell them to F off.

25-08-2014, 12:24 AM
It's always annoyed me that we are not allowed banners at Easter road and yet every time we are at the PBS they are allowed whatever they like. If Leeann want us to be more like a football cob and less corporate she could do worse than start there. It's our stadium.

Well done the two girls. Maybe time to get a big banner made for the East. If the stewards come near, tell them to F off.

We don't want to upset the poor wee other clubs lest Petrie lose his nice cozy job at the SFA.

Hearts don't have such a problem.

25-08-2014, 12:41 PM

Petrie GTF

Not only looks like Stalin, he seems to be acting like him. How silly not to ignore a harmless homemade banner.

25-08-2014, 12:45 PM
Does he not own a chunk of the club or stadium?

25-08-2014, 12:51 PM
well done the FF two

Dave-O
25-08-2014, 01:43 PM
well done the FF two

Free the FF 2......... I would make a banner but I'm no allowed. :confused:

25-08-2014, 01:50 PM
Free the FF 2......... I would make a banner but I'm no allowed. :confused:

arguably they HAVE been freed....free from watching what's on the park :) but they also have a right to have the banner up, assuming it was only asking for the moustached one to be set free from our club :agree: Free the Moustached one i say

25-08-2014, 01:53 PM
Playing Devil's Advocate here....

If this was indeed a "Petrie Out" banner, and if the women were ejected for having it.... wouldn't it have been all over the media today?

25-08-2014, 02:00 PM
This was posted not long ago on HibsPaige

I was evicted from Easter Road on Saturday for having a banner we where going to hold up at half time. Not only was i thrown out but I had my season ticket taken off Me. My friend who was not thrown out but left because she wouldn't let her friend be left out by themself. I called today about my season ticket and was told it was a holiday Joe to call back tomorrow. Will keep you updated

Nevi_SOL
25-08-2014, 02:13 PM
Seen this on FB

Greenblood70
25-08-2014, 02:19 PM
Be nice to hear an explanation from the club on this, they could even use their account on here to do so...if they can remember their login.

25-08-2014, 02:24 PM
This was posted not long ago on HibsPaige

Thrown out the ground and ST taken away !!! .................. Is that what its come to, does Petrie think its time to get heavy http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/take%20that!.gif

Time for retaliation, get a banner made for the East for the next home league match and lets see how Petrie & his Group 4 henchmen get on when its a bit more than a couple o' wee lassies they have to deal with.

This is our club ......................... PETRIE OUT !!!

25-08-2014, 02:30 PM
Suggestion on the bounce she was using a kids season ticket?

25-08-2014, 02:33 PM
Thrown out the ground and ST taken away !!! .................. Is that what its come to, does Petrie think its time to get heavy http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/take%20that!.gif

Time for retaliation, get a banner made for the East for the next home league match and lets see how Petrie & his Group 4 henchmen get on when its a bit more than a couple o' wee lassies they have to deal with.

If the girls season ticket is not returned to her with an apology time for some supportive action.

Also, a call to the local papers and radio stations?

Inundate the club with emails and calls supporting her.

Bloody joke !!!

25-08-2014, 02:33 PM

I did read that but as of yet not confirmed !

25-08-2014, 02:35 PM
I'll be wearing a "Petrie Out" t-shirt tomorrow night. Wonder if Hibs will take my ST off me? :aok:

25-08-2014, 02:36 PM

He is a bully and like all bully's picks on what he thinks are the weekest. Dae it NN and make it big. Got the first £10 for the costs.

25-08-2014, 02:37 PM

It seems strange that one was huckled out but not the other.

25-08-2014, 02:43 PM
Be nice to hear an explanation from the club on this, they could even use their account on here to do so...if they can remember their login.

They could but I wouldn't hold your breath. Looks like registering here was nothing more than paying lip service to better communications. Same old, same old.

25-08-2014, 03:10 PM

Nope. She's confirmed on Facebook that it wasn't a kids season ticket but her disabled one. Also, her friend wasn't being ejected but left when she found out her mate was.

25-08-2014, 03:14 PM
Nope. She's confirmed on Facebook that it wasn't a kids season ticket but her disabled one. Also, her friend wasn't being ejected but left when she found out her mate was.

We should eject Petrie ! might take few to carry the weight mind you.

25-08-2014, 03:21 PM

Its nice to know that the club treat all the fans the same ....... It must be a comfort to our disabled supporters that they will be treated in just the same heavy handed and officious manner as able bodied fans.

25-08-2014, 03:41 PM
None of us should be back until this season ticket is returned. Disgraceful from Hibs.

25-08-2014, 03:46 PM
They could but I wouldn't hold your breath. Looks like registering here was nothing more than paying lip service to better communications. Same old, same old.

I was fully prepared to give LD the benefit of the doubt ... but as you say it looks like opening an account on here has just been an attempt to patronise us ...... there are Yams out there who have posted on H.Net more than the club has since LD came along.

For me at least this is a situation which demands an explanation from the club. Taking someone's season ticket from them and ejecting them from the ground is a serious matter and IMO an excessive over reaction and no way to treat a loyal Hibby .... no matter how much she has upset poor wee Rod.

25-08-2014, 03:48 PM
He is a bully and like all bully's picks on what he thinks are the weekest. Dae it NN and make it big. Got the first £10 for the costs.

What did he do?

25-08-2014, 03:50 PM
What did he do?

He beat up a wee disabled lassie, took her ST off her and told her she was banned from ER for life.

:cb

25-08-2014, 03:52 PM
He beat up a wee disabled lassie, took her ST off her and told her she was banned from ER for life.

:cb

That's well shan.

25-08-2014, 03:53 PM
That's well shan.

Ken, radge eh, Radge?

25-08-2014, 04:07 PM
Ken, radge eh, Radge?

A ken, but there wiz me hinkin that it was Polis Scoatland that banned the banners at the Holy Grun? :dunno:

Insufferable nippy little shietes, that they ur onyways.

25-08-2014, 04:09 PM
A ken, but there wiz me hinkin that it was Polis Scoatland that banned the banners at the Holy Grun? :dunno:

Banner banner bammers. All ey thim.

Petrie's next in line for Steven House's job, by the way.

25-08-2014, 04:14 PM
None of us should be back until this season ticket is returned. Disgraceful from Hibs.

Just stop it.

Dave-O
25-08-2014, 04:16 PM
Ken, radge eh, Radge?

Oi!.......nae text speak in the forums...:cb

25-08-2014, 04:17 PM

Petrie's next in line for Steven House's job, by the way.

Aye, ah seen it oan ma Facebook.

Pure radge.

(End of.)

25-08-2014, 04:17 PM
In the early 90s, some Celtc Fans had an ongoing 'Sack the Board' protest. They took banners to the ground but continually had them taken off them by stewards.

I thought their answer to this was quite ingenious. They had T-Shirts printed with one letter each from 'Sack The Board' then all stood in a line to make it a 'Banner'. The stewards had no idea what to do about it.

What's even MORE surprising was they even managed to spell it properly :wink:

EDIT: I've found a photo of one of the protests

25-08-2014, 04:19 PM
Oi!.......nae text speak in the forums...:cb

It's fora, actually.... :nerd:

25-08-2014, 04:21 PM
I'm in the West Upper so didn't see it, but if this is true it's an absolute disgrace. As other posters have suggested, the club have a duty to the fans to give an explanation for this appalling behaviour. As emerald green implied, how long is it till they start bringing in other petty measures like this? Hibs have got previous for this, when the announcer was sacked regarding a remark slagging Hearts, although the Hearts announcer doesn't seem to have any such restrictions. Total joke, and total incompetence, news like this is hardly going to help their PR. Then again, maybe they just don't care.

25-08-2014, 04:24 PM
In the early 90s, some Celtc Fans had an ongoing 'Sack the Board' protest. They took banners to the ground but continually had them taken off them by stewards.

I thought their answer to this was quite ingenious. They had T-Shirts printed with one letter each from 'Sack The Board' then all stood in a line to make it a 'Banner'. The stewards had no idea what to do about it.

What's even MORE surprising was they even managed to spell it properly :wink:

EDIT: I've found a photo of one of the protests

That's actually a good idea.

Unfortunaterly, we'd probably have too many in the Hibs Club before the game, start arguing about whose seat we were in, and end up with one of these... :wink:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxVJ2LKxFDA

25-08-2014, 04:24 PM
Just stop it.

Just do what I did. Used the ignore button. :agree:

Velma Dinkley
25-08-2014, 05:04 PM
I'm in the West Upper so didn't see it, but if this is true it's an absolute disgrace. As other posters have suggested, the club have a duty to the fans to give an explanation for this appalling behaviour. As emerald green implied, how long is it till they start bringing in other petty measures like this? Hibs have got previous for this, when the announcer was sacked regarding a remark slagging Hearts, although the Hearts announcer doesn't seem to have any such restrictions. Total joke, and total incompetence, news like this is hardly going to help their PR. Then again, maybe they just don't care.

the announcer wasn't sacked. surely everyone, including yourself, knows that.

25-08-2014, 05:09 PM
I was fully prepared to give LD the benefit of the doubt ... but as you say it looks like opening an account on here has just been an attempt to patronise us ...... there are Yams out there who have posted on H.Net more than the club has since LD came along.

For me at least this is a situation which demands an explanation from the club. Taking someone's season ticket from them and ejecting them from the ground is a serious matter and IMO an excessive over reaction and no way to treat a loyal Hibby .... no matter how much she has upset poor wee Rod.

What would you prefer, that she concentrates on putting together deals to sign new players or spends her time on .net explaining the actions of the stewards?

I'm sure this is being viewed as a private matter between the person concerned and the club and for this reason would be surprised to see anything coming from ER, especially if the two parties haven't spoken.

25-08-2014, 05:11 PM
What would you prefer, that she concentrates on putting together deals to sign new players or spends her time on .net explaining the actions of the stewards?

I'm sure this is being viewed as a private matter between the person concerned and the club and for this reason would be surprised to see anything coming from ER, especially if the two parties haven't spoken.

What players would that be ?.

25-08-2014, 05:16 PM
Bully boy tactics by rod like a true dictator that he is

25-08-2014, 05:32 PM
Just do what I did. Used the ignore button. :agree:

And yet you still know what he's talking about. Amazing.
:-)

25-08-2014, 05:47 PM

So, would the stewards have taken this action of their own volition, without any instructions or guidance from the club?

If so, I look forward to seeing the stewards wading into the Rangers and Yams when they arrive next at ER and removing all their banners mocking HFC and the Hibs fans, in our ground.

Somehow I don't think that will happen. I wonder why?

25-08-2014, 05:53 PM
And yet you still know what he's talking about. Amazing.

the ignore button doesn't work on here, trust me :greengrin i put someone on ignore two weeks ago and still see whatever they post :confused:

25-08-2014, 06:02 PM
What players would that be ?.

I've no idea, but like everyone else I hope there's stuff happening on that front.

25-08-2014, 06:04 PM
So, would the stewards have taken this action of their own volition, without any instructions or guidance from the club?

If so, I look forward to seeing the stewards wading into the Rangers and Yams when they arrive next at ER and removing all their banners mocking HFC and the Hibs fans, in our ground.

Somehow I don't think that will happen. I wonder why?

So should LD rush on here after every home game to explain every stewarding intervention?

25-08-2014, 06:07 PM
Bully boy tactics by rod like a true dictator that he is
What did he do?

25-08-2014, 06:10 PM
So should LD rush on here after every home game to explain every stewarding intervention?

Obviously not. She's got more important things to be dealing with at the moment I'd imagine.

That wasn't the point of my post.

I'm sure that LD is well capable of dealing with more than one issue at a time, besides nobody asked the club to register on here, it was their idea. I would suggest that when supporters are being ejected from the stadium for matters other than anti social behaviour then the club needs to justify its actions ...... the stewards I presume are acting on behalf of the club.

Being ejected from ER in front of hundreds of people is hardly private. I am guessing that the banner was hooked by G4 because in the opinion of Hibs it contained a "derogatory message" as per the ground rules ......... pathetic.

What did he do?

It doesn't matter, you can accuse him of anything you want don't you know?

25-08-2014, 06:35 PM
Irrespective of who directed the stewards to remove the banner and eject the person trying to show it, why is a Petrie out banner an offensive banner? :confused:

25-08-2014, 06:35 PM

Who are we signing, and I'm pretty sure LD would have known all about this incident so she does have time to do other things apart from sign all these players.

25-08-2014, 06:37 PM
the ignore button doesn't work on here, trust me :greengrin i put someone on ignore two weeks ago and still see whatever they post :confused:

So it was you. :greengrin

25-08-2014, 06:38 PM
Irrespective of who directed the stewards to remove the banner and eject the person trying to show it, why is a Petrie out banner an offensive banner? :confused:

Was his wife who put it up.

25-08-2014, 06:38 PM

She has never rushed on here at any time to talk about anything Hibs.

25-08-2014, 06:40 PM
Who are we signing, and I'm pretty sure LD would have known all about this incident so she does have time to do other things apart from sign all these players.

So because you're pretty sure she knows about it, that proves she has time to do "other things"? The reasons for criticising the board get better by the minute.

Has anyone on here actually seen what was on the banner?

Weir7

Well LD has managed to fit a meeting into her schedule and return the ladies season ticket.

25-08-2014, 06:43 PM
What did he do?

Did he not give the order to eject her

25-08-2014, 06:44 PM

Could it be that anything that could cause friction between different factions of the same support (not that the banner in question is likely to do that) is discouraged by the police? :dunno:

In any case, removing the banner is one thing but chucking someone out is another. I hope there's more to it.

25-08-2014, 06:45 PM

Me :greengrin

It just said "Petrie Out".

25-08-2014, 06:45 PM

Apparently it just said petrie out.

25-08-2014, 06:48 PM
Did he not give the order to eject her Yup. Stood there in his laurel crown with the thumb down pose I heard. :agree:

25-08-2014, 06:52 PM
Yup. Stood there in his laurel crown with the thumb down pose I heard. :agree:

This reminds me of Mr burns rubbing his hands saying release the hounds,steveHFC gif required please

25-08-2014, 06:54 PM
Just read on facebook that the girl has had her season ticket returned, and an apology from Dempster who also asked he what the club could do for her for missing the 2nd half of the game.

Copy and pasted from facebook.

So to start off here is a picture of my season ticket which has been return by Leeann Dempster. We had coffee and a chat and she couldn't have apologised for what had happened and kindly ask what we wanted to make up for the loss of the game. As this was not what we came for, I said my season ticket. So what we learned is I should never have been removed from the stadium. She said that they weren't trying to silence the fans and she is setting up forum where you will be able to speak one on one with her in person. Now to the important matter we where advised that if we want to demonstrate we are free to do it across the road from the stadium,

25-08-2014, 06:56 PM
Just read on facebook that the girl has had her season ticket returned, and an apology from Dempster who also asked he what the club could do for her for missing the 2nd half of the game.

That's good,I wonder if she said you could remove Petrie leanne

Nutmegged
25-08-2014, 06:57 PM
I can imagine Petrie sitting watching that unfold and thinking to himself "Protesters Out , Lolz".

It would be the ultimate troll :greengrin

25-08-2014, 06:59 PM
She must be doing her nut in at things like this.

25-08-2014, 07:00 PM

So to start off here is a picture of my season ticket which has been return by Leeann Dempster. We had coffee and a chat and she couldn't have apologised for what had happened and kindly ask what we wanted to make up for the loss of the game. As this was not what we came for, I said my season ticket. So what we learned is I should never have been removed from the stadium. She said that they weren't trying to silence the fans and she is setting up forum where you will be able to speak one on one with her in person. Now to the important matter we where advised that if we want to demonstrate we are free to do it across the road from the stadium,

Excellent. Well done LD. :top marks

25-08-2014, 07:07 PM

25-08-2014, 07:11 PM
Okay I get confiscating the banner BUT why eject a ST holder if she was not causing a disturbance? I can only assume that they were following orders.

Yes the orders they are following are from THEIR employers Group 4 Security not the club.

Im sure if you have a look at the season ticket terms and conditions it states somewhere referring to "offensive banners/materials" It all goes down to what you refer to as "offensive".

The stewards have the right to confiscate the banner and remove the person with it if they feel the need was there. There is a bit about this on my face book from a site called "Save our Hibs", i guess if you look on facebook for this it will explain just what happened.

I think it was a bit harsh to eject the girl and take her season ticket from her, if this is all there is to it?

I would be very surprised if Leanne knew anything about this as its down to the stewards and the police to deal with this sort of thing.

IMO Its the ground security officer who will then be informed and he will say what happens.

25-08-2014, 07:13 PM

Everyday day she impresses me more. This job is bigger than she or anyone else imagined it would be.

25-08-2014, 07:16 PM

Everyday day she impresses me more. This job is bigger than she or anyone else imagined it would be.

I agree, so is your boycott over now😄

25-08-2014, 07:19 PM
Yes the orders they are following are from THEIR employers Group 4 Security not the club.

Im sure if you have a look at the season ticket terms and conditions it states somewhere referring to "offensive banners/materials" It all goes down to what you refer to as "offensive".

The stewards have the right to confiscate the banner and remove the person with it if they feel the need was there. There is a bit about this on my face book from a site called "Save our Hibs", i guess if you look on facebook for this it will explain just what happened.

I think it was a bit harsh to eject the girl and take her season ticket from her, if this is all there is to it?

I would be very surprised if Leanne knew anything about this as its down to the stewards and the police to deal with this sort of thing.

IMO Its the ground security officer who will then be informed and he will say what happens.

For some people, the only contact that they have with personnel at the club is the stewards. When you sub-contract out your contact with your customers then this is the kind of thing that can happen.
Well done to Leeann for sorting it out.

25-08-2014, 07:19 PM

You could stand outside the front door at the main stand and there is nothing the club can do about it.

25-08-2014, 07:23 PM
I agree, so is your boycott over now

I'm not boycotting. I'm just not going this week.
I'm not exactly sure why I'm not boycotting though.

25-08-2014, 07:27 PM

That's bullying behaviour.

Just saying.

"We hate most in others what we dislike in ourselves."

25-08-2014, 07:28 PM
I'm not boycotting. I'm just not going this week.
I'm not exactly sure why I'm not boycotting though.

Either way it will be less negativity to listen too!

25-08-2014, 07:28 PM

You could stand outside the front door at the main stand and there is nothing the club can do about it.

Is the car park not the clubs "property" so they could call the cops to have people ejected for trespassing if they really wanted to

25-08-2014, 07:30 PM

I wonder of any of the folk who slated RP on this thread for doing/allowing/encouraging this to happen will retract.

Actually, no, I don't.

However, although RP wasn't involved in the slightest, I'll predict that someone will try to use this incident against him in future.

25-08-2014, 07:30 PM
Is the car park not the clubs "property" so they could call the cops to have people ejected for trespassing if they really wanted to

The car park at the reception end is not owned by Hibs but by the Albion Trust who let it to Hibs on match days.

25-08-2014, 07:32 PM
The car park at the reception end is not owned by Hibs but by the Albion Trust who let it to Hibs on match days.

cool, protests in the car park it is then :greengrin

25-08-2014, 07:34 PM
I still dont understand why anyone would be ejected from the ground for unfurling a petrie out banner?

25-08-2014, 07:36 PM
I still dont understand why anyone would be ejected from the ground for unfurling a petrie out banner?

Only the steward who ejected her understands. And possibly he doesn't either.

25-08-2014, 07:36 PM
I wonder of any of the folk who slated RP on this thread for doing/allowing/encouraging this to happen will retract.

Actually, no, I don't.

However, although RP wasn't involved in the slightest, I'll predict that someone will try to use this incident against him in future.

Why are you quoting me? It's got nothing to do with my post?

25-08-2014, 07:39 PM
Either way it will be less negativity to listen too!

Do you sit near me?

25-08-2014, 07:39 PM
Why are you quoting me? It's got nothing to do with my post?

I don't know. I didn't mean to.

It did the same thing on a previous post on the thread.

25-08-2014, 07:41 PM

You can retract that though. :agree:

25-08-2014, 07:42 PM
I don't know. I didn't mean to.

It did the same thing on a previous post on the thread.

Cool, thought I was being bullied.

25-08-2014, 07:42 PM
You can retract that though. :agree:

Indeed. Consider it retracted.

25-08-2014, 07:43 PM
Indeed. Consider it retracted.

Good man

25-08-2014, 07:46 PM
Only the steward who ejected her understands. And possibly he doesn't either.

They must have some sort of list of what is acceptable and what's not, and that i'd imagine would come from the club?

This clown who threw out this young girl and took her season ticket off her has to have been acting off his own back, as there was nothing inflammatory or illegal written on her banner.

Sledgehammer to crack a peanut, and totally unnecessary.

25-08-2014, 07:55 PM
They must have some sort of list of what is acceptable and what's not, and that i'd imagine would come from the club?

This clown who threw out this young girl and took her season ticket off her has to have been acting off his own back, as there was nothing inflammatory or illegal written on her banner.

Sledgehammer to crack a peanut, and totally unnecessary.

Now you're making it up.

We do know she was ejected. And we do know that LD has apologised and said that she shouldn't have been. We also know that LD has offered to compensate her.

The rest is just pure speculation.

Maybe the steward thought that the rules which Police Scotland applied for the Huns v Raith cup final still applied i.e. Nae banners?

Maybe the steward is Rod's love child.

Maybe he doesn't like disabled folk? Maybe he just got mixed up.

I don't know, but it's not fair to blame the club or RP without supporting information.

(Like that's going to stop folk!)

25-08-2014, 07:59 PM

Car park is not Hibs property.

25-08-2014, 08:00 PM
Next Home game against harts - and throw in some Hospitality and also 2 free Seats Next to RP - Would be a Nice Gesture from the Club.. :aok:

25-08-2014, 08:08 PM
Next Home game against harts - and throw in some Hospitality and also 2 free Seats Next to RP - Would be a Nice Gesture from the Club.. :aok:

Hopefully KING ROD will no longer be anywhere near our club by then !

25-08-2014, 08:10 PM

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

25-08-2014, 08:11 PM
Now you're making it up.

We do know she was ejected. And we do know that LD has apologised and said that she shouldn't have been. We also know that LD has offered to compensate her.

The rest is just pure speculation.

Maybe the steward thought that the rules which Police Scotland applied for the Huns v Raith cup final still applied i.e. Nae banners?

Maybe the steward is Rod's love child.

Maybe he doesn't like disabled folk? Maybe he just got mixed up.

I don't know, but it's not fair to blame the club or RP without supporting information.

(Like that's going to stop folk!)

I was not blaming petrie, i blame the steward 100% for this. The stewards must have a set of rules they have to apply surely, which would be drawn up by the football authorities or each individual club i suppose on what's acceptable and what's not.

Banners are allowed at Easter Road, you can see them every game. Rod Petrie out ones are not it appears, did someone tell the stewards that was the case, or was it a numpty steward just acting an arse?

25-08-2014, 08:14 PM
I was not blaming petrie, i blame the steward 100% for this. The stewards must have a set of rules they have to apply surely, which would be drawn up by the football authorities or each individual club i suppose on what's acceptable and what's not.

Banners are allowed at Easter Road, you can see them every game. Rod Petrie out ones are not it appears, did someone tell the stewards that was the case, or was it a numpty steward just acting an arse?

It's Ribenagate all over again.

25-08-2014, 08:17 PM
It's Ribenagate all over again.

:agree: Time for the club to tell these clowns what is acceptable and what's not though.

25-08-2014, 08:24 PM

Still doing your "KING ROD" thing I see.

That's nice. :coffee:

Newcastlehibby
25-08-2014, 08:32 PM
The ground rules state that banners are permissible provided, amongst other things, that they do not contain any derogatory message.

Feed McGraw
25-08-2014, 08:37 PM
The stewards must have been instructed by someone to deal with the ladies, because as far as I remember it was female stewards in attendance ( I may be wrong as I`d had a few pints) but I think I`m right. That would be a coincidence would it not, that two females just happened to deal with another two females. To me, it`s like "It`s two women, send - insert two female names". :dunno:

25-08-2014, 08:46 PM
As an aside, wtf is this synchronised stair climbing by the stewards inthe east?

Feed McGraw
25-08-2014, 08:48 PM
As an aside, wtf is this synchronised stair climbing by the stewards inthe east? Its to distract you from whats happening on the pitch. :greengrin

25-08-2014, 08:50 PM
As an aside, wtf is this synchronised stair climbing by the stewards inthe east?

The stewards at Ibrox started that about 30 years ago.

25-08-2014, 08:56 PM
Is my old brain playing tricks on me when I think "Save our Hibs" was the wee group of folk who stood outside the FF entrance at a previous AGM? Pretty sure they were waving a Petrie Out banner

25-08-2014, 09:04 PM
Did he not give the order to eject her
Did he?

25-08-2014, 09:16 PM
The stewards at Ibrox started that about 30 years ago.

I was actually going to say the only other place I had ever seen it was ibrox in the 80s but had second thoughts as I tried to think of anywhere else I had seen it. I have failed.

25-08-2014, 09:20 PM
Somebody in the east said to the female steward:
"Can ye no dae that on yer knees hen, I cannae see through ye".:greengrin

25-08-2014, 09:31 PM
Did he?

Don't know,but probably aye,the sneaky chancer prob told the two hand picked stewards to hunt her down

25-08-2014, 09:37 PM
I was actually going to say the only other place I had ever seen it was ibrox in the 80s but had second thoughts as I tried to think of anywhere else I had seen it. I have failed.

Thinking about it again, it might have been the police as opposed to the stewards.

25-08-2014, 09:52 PM
just read whole thread and i'm confused......

so she was chucked out by stewards for daring to attempt to 'say' Rod Out (not that he would have seen it at HT as he would be in directors lounge.....

Now everyone seems to think LD's intervention has made everything OK :confused:

Surely by telling her she can protest 'over the road' is in fact telling her she was in the wrong and in effect she would be prevented from in future...and presumably chucked out again if she attempted some none abusive free speech?

25-08-2014, 09:59 PM
just read whole thread and i'm confused......

so she was chucked out by stewards for daring to attempt to 'say' Rod Out (not that he would have seen it at HT as he would be in directors lounge.....

Now everyone seems to think LD's intervention has made everything OK :confused:

Surely by telling her she can protest 'over the road' is in fact telling her she was in the wrong and in effect she would be prevented from in future...and presumably chucked out again if she attempted some none abusive free speech?

I think the stewards have interpreted the banner as being derogatory or inciteful and have been heavy handed in dealing with the person as some stewards are inclined to do.

LD has been made aware of the situation and has got the girl her season ticket back and sat down to apologise for the stewards treatment of her.

Gordy M
25-08-2014, 09:59 PM
Not based on any personal knowledge as i didnt see the incident on sat, but is it possible that the banner may have started arguments in the stands and because if this they were told not to display it. I realise the vast majority want RP out, but im sure there are still supporters out there who dont, and maybe the banner was seen as possibly causing issues?? Just a thought.

25-08-2014, 10:03 PM
The bit I find strange is - 'They came over and took the banner and then came back ................' ?. Came back from where ?. The lassie who spoke with LD should've asked her WHO made the decision that her banner was offensive/rude/inflammatory etc, etc ?. Then WHO made the decision that she should then be ejected and on what grounds - after all, the banner was taken away from her so what else did they think the girl might do ?. If it was 'G4' (or whoever's in charge of the steward) then that person should be asked the reason for his/her's decision. If it's the club's, then they should be making a statement explaining exactly what happened - we get enough bad publicity as it is without PR own-goals like this.

25-08-2014, 10:28 PM
The bit I find strange is - 'They came over and took the banner and then came back ................' ?. Came back from where ?. The lassie who spoke with LD should've asked her WHO made the decision that her banner was offensive/rude/inflammatory etc, etc ?. Then WHO made the decision that she should then be ejected and on what grounds - after all, the banner was taken away from her so what else did they think the girl might do ?. If it was 'G4' (or whoever's in charge of the steward) then that person should be asked the reason for his/her's decision. If it's the club's, then they should be making a statement explaining exactly what happened - we get enough bad publicity as it is without PR own-goals like this.

Hindsight is a great thing - But I also suffer from it.. :wink:

25-08-2014, 10:31 PM

Did the stewards approach her before the banner was out ?,maybe they were clocked earlier,a pre-strike well timed by rod

25-08-2014, 10:43 PM
Did the stewards approach her before the banner was out ?,maybe they were clocked earlier,a pre-strike well timed by rod

Do you think he gives a toss about a wee banner?

25-08-2014, 10:47 PM
Well done LD for moving fast on this ......... There telt ye she could dae mair than yin thing at once.

It appears though that it is indeed the case that anti Petrie banners are banned from the stadium.

Actually heres a thought ..........If you are a deaf & dumb supporter and hold up a banner with booooooo written on it will it be confiscated?

25-08-2014, 10:49 PM
Do you think he gives a toss about a wee banner?

I heard they had it at the Livingston game somewhere on this site so maybe he seen it then and made the necessary arrangements to take her down

25-08-2014, 11:01 PM
I heard they had it at the Livingston game somewhere on this site so maybe he seen it then and made the necessary arrangements to take her down

Or maybe he doesn't give a toss and leaves these things to the stadium security people.

2 months ago there was a couple of thousand people at ER screaming for his head. Believe me, a couple of lassies with a banner will be the last thing on his mind.

25-08-2014, 11:23 PM
Or maybe he doesn't give a toss and leaves these things to the stadium security people.

2 months ago there was a couple of thousand people at ER screaming for his head. Believe me, a couple of lassies with a banner will be the last thing on his mind.

Yip he is hard as nails and has rid the storm

26-08-2014, 06:25 AM

He has a mind !.

26-08-2014, 06:38 AM
I say we all take Petrie out banners to show our support for the two woman haha

26-08-2014, 07:58 AM
Thinking about it again, it might have been the police as opposed to the stewards.

You have me wondering aboutmy own sanity now! Think it was the stewards but maybe someone else recalls it?

26-08-2014, 08:16 AM
I say we all take Petrie out banners to show our support for the two woman haha

Not a bad idea!

Boris
26-08-2014, 08:58 AM
You have me wondering aboutmy own sanity now! Think it was the stewards but maybe someone else recalls it?

It was 2 stewards who I haven't previously seen in the F5 Stand - I can't recall if both were female (I was too engrossed in such an exciting game......) but certainly one was & she seemed to be in charge as she was doing all the talking & took the "banner". I was in the row in front, 3 seats along, from the 2 lassies that got spoken to. One was escorted out after a couple of minutes of quiet discussion, the other left of her own accord after getting a call on her mobile. I spoke to her briefly & she explained the other lass had been ejected & she was going to join her.

26-08-2014, 09:27 AM
Still doing your "KING ROD" thing I see.

That's nice. :coffee:

Does it bother you.

26-08-2014, 09:28 AM
The ground rules state that banners are permissible provided, amongst other things, that they do not contain any derogatory message.

Is that for home fans only, as it seems it doesn't count for certain away fans.

26-08-2014, 09:30 AM

Happens in all stands, they do it to wear the paint down.

26-08-2014, 09:43 AM
I think the stewards have interpreted the banner as being derogatory or inciteful and have been heavy handed in dealing with the person as some stewards are inclined to do.

LD has been made aware of the situation and has got the girl her season ticket back and sat down to apologise for the stewards treatment of her.

Then told the lass not to protest inside the ground but to do it over the road from the stadium, :rolleyes: so if folk start singing Petrie Petrie GTF tonight inside the ground the stewards will eject folk or dare i say it if someone takes a banner inside the ground and it says Petrie GTF will they be ejected, it would seem so.

This would be fine if the stewards acted against the old firm or hertz when they come calling, but they don't because they don't want to cause problems with there fans but if it's a couple of females in the home stand then we will show who the boss is at ER.

Newcastlehibby
26-08-2014, 11:02 AM
Is that for home fans only, as it seems it doesn't count for certain away fans.

I am just quoting from the ground rules. They should, of course, be evenly and fairly applied and that is the responsibility of the club.

26-08-2014, 11:11 AM
Does it bother you.

I think it's stupid. Is that OK?

26-08-2014, 11:12 AM
Jeez - is this really such a huge issue?

I'm more concerned with what's happening on the park rather than the petty political ramblings.

26-08-2014, 11:41 AM
Then told the lass not to protest inside the ground but to do it over the road from the stadium, :rolleyes: so if folk start singing Petrie Petrie GTF tonight inside the ground the stewards will eject folk or dare i say it if someone takes a banner inside the ground and it says Petrie GTF will they be ejected, it would seem so.

This would be fine if the stewards acted against the old firm or hertz when they come calling, but they don't because they don't want to cause problems with there fans but if it's a couple of females in the home stand then we will show who the boss is at ER.

Exactly.

Opposition fans, players and officials can do whatever they want because Petrie doesn't want to upset them or the SFA but we treat our own fans like ****.

26-08-2014, 12:03 PM
Is my old brain playing tricks on me when I think "Save our Hibs" was the wee group of folk who stood outside the FF entrance at a previous AGM? Pretty sure they were waving a Petrie Out banner

This J.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/11/08/article-2059207-0EB8DBC800000578-318_468x336.jpg

26-08-2014, 03:48 PM
This J.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/11/08/article-2059207-0EB8DBC800000578-318_468x336.jpg

Ah Hibs for Change as opposed to Save our Hibs! Peoples popular front of Judea next :greengrin

Gerard
26-08-2014, 04:01 PM
Ah Hibs for Change as opposed to Save our Hibs! Peoples popular front of Judea next :greengrin

T:wink: