View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs vs Falkirk

Pages : 1 [2]

Matt92
23-08-2014, 03:50 PM
So much for a 20 goal a season striker. . Think they went to hearts and the rangers

Aye he's pish, all he's done is score two in three games and one which was an absolute peach :rolleyes: get a grip.

23-08-2014, 03:50 PM
Was Stanton not a sub ?

Sorry meant Allan.

23-08-2014, 03:51 PM
Aye he's pish, all he's done is score two in three games and one which was an absolute peach :rolleyes: get a grip.

2 one on ones missed today !!!

23-08-2014, 03:52 PM
Kennedy MOTM.

So much for a 20 goal a season striker. . Think they went to hearts and the rangers

You normally have to wait till the end of the season before getting that type of statistic!

Mikey_1875
Sorry meant Allan.

89th minute you've got to wonder what the point in a sub is.

23-08-2014, 03:53 PM
Cummings just over the top, done well to dig it out his feet.

23-08-2014, 03:54 PM
Well that's that.

FAO the board and manger:

Sign some ****ing players.

Ross89
23-08-2014, 03:55 PM
Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! :-(

23-08-2014, 03:55 PM
Well that's that.

Why bother? why spend more money when they can wait till rangers and hearts are out of the league so we can scrape promotion ! it's the RP way.

hibbymick
23-08-2014, 03:56 PM
Well that's that.

Maybe Stubbs thought we had a decent enough squad to go on with .

OsloHibs
...Here it goes off again :duck:

mcfly
We've now played our 3 main rivals and lost all 3.

Without investment in the team now we wont be challenging for promotion.

C'mon hibs show ambition

Berwickhibby
Same old p!$$ from the team..... failed to win at home AGAIN.....spineless gutless AGAIN...... not knee jerk reaction just sick of losing

Bleeds green
23-08-2014, 03:57 PM
Hard not to feel let down again it's not all over but yet another home defeat in a game we need to be winning I don't care how much possession or how much chances we had yet again a defeat while our rivals romp home!

23-08-2014, 03:57 PM
I won't be too downhearted by this. By the sound of it we could and should have scored plenty. It's just one of those days.

Agree that we still need players though.

23-08-2014, 03:58 PM
Just pish........

Greenblood70
The same ***** who got us relegated will never get us close to promotion. The lot needed clearing out. Wind of change my arse, barely a breeze.

The evidence in front of his eyes over the last 2 weeks should suggest otherwise.

23-08-2014, 03:59 PM
Thought Stubbs said he liked the plaudits when the team plays well, but wants to win all games no matter how they play .. Failing miserably so far !!

23-08-2014, 03:59 PM
I won't be too downhearted by this. By the sound of it we could and should have scored plenty. It's just one of those days.

But the point is we didn't. Both Hearts and Rangers could and DID score plenty today. That's what wins games and promotion, not being 'nearly men'

23-08-2014, 04:00 PM
Same old p!$$ from the team..... failed to win at home AGAIN.....spineless gutless AGAIN...... not knee jerk reaction just sick of losing

Yup, no one can say its a knee jerk reaction when its been happening for years. New manager, new person in charge (Dempster), same problems. And they'll keep occurring until we see some genuine change in how the club is run.

23-08-2014, 04:00 PM
But the point is we didn't. Both Hearts and Rangers could and DID score plenty today. That's what wins games and promotion, not being 'nearly men'

This exact thing happened loads of times under Mowbray.

23-08-2014, 04:01 PM
We need a striker a centre half and a box to box midfielder

23-08-2014, 04:01 PM

Yep, hard to accuse anyone of a knee jerk reaction when it has been the same for a few seasons now!!!

23-08-2014, 04:02 PM

You could probably describe all of our games this season like that though, and the only one we won the goalkeeper scored the winner. Im more or less happy with the direction of the team, but its glaringly obvious we are still lacking quality players in key positions. Whether the club are prepared to invest is ultimately going to define our season.

Bleeds green

Mowbray had us winning games more often consistently this is not Stubbs fault but that's now 3 defeats in 4

Same old ****ing *****

erskine-hibby
23-08-2014, 04:03 PM
Can't even muster a boo.

blindsummit
23-08-2014, 04:04 PM
I'm pretty close to seething. The evidence is clear, as shown by the lack of signings. STF and Rod Petrie have absolutely NO interest in winning on the park. And as it's leaders that set the tone then it's no wonder we have a bunch of losers as players. I struggle to detect any real urgency or desperation to win amongst them. They and I'm afraid our poor mishandled club have now got losing ingrained in our DNA. We are the softest of soft touches. No one fears us, in fact I bet other clubs rub their hands in glee when they know we are next up.

I was going to say that Petrie would be happy for us to sink down to the level of a yo-yo club like Dundee or Falkirk as he would welcome the lack of expectations. Then I realised, silly me, that those clubs are far more ambitious that we will ever be and desire to achieve more than we do on the park.

There will be those, and they are rightly entitled to their opinion, that this is an overreaction. But after several years of this I find the evidence totally points to a staggering lack of care at the top of the club. How much more time do we need to wait for any glimmer of hope? LD and the new plethora of coaches seem to be sticking plasters. The core problems still exist, we have uncaring owners and a losers mentality grips the club.

I said before pre-season that we will be mid table, totally inconsistent and will not make promotion this year or next - I stand by that claim.

We are 3 or 4 players short still, have next to no pace, and our 'experienced' players are more fragile than the youths.

It's going to take more than 3 games in to overcome the losing mentality that these players have - it's also going to take 3 or 4 more signings.

Quite simply, we are not very good. That is not Stubbs fault - it's the fault of the previous managers and Rod Petrie. The players Pat signed last year are soooooo poor it's untrue. None fit the criteria for fast, energetic, pacy football - hence we are where we are. Easy to read, easy to play against.

Expected this result today - and as I've posted before, there will be many more - Hearts will win the league comfortably, Rangers 2nd, Falkirk 3rd......I really can't see us getting 4th, I reckon 6th. The team have no mental strength when they cross the white lines.

Every year we hear the talk. I am really starting to get pissed off with this.

The Gorf
23-08-2014, 04:05 PM
I've just sent an email to the club. I'll probably be blackballed.

23-08-2014, 04:05 PM

Are you seriously comparing this lot to the Mowbray team?

Nutmegged
23-08-2014, 04:06 PM

How many times you going to allow yourself to feel like this? When was the last time Hibs scored plenty? We should have scored plenty against Rangers, again against Livingston, again today apparently, does the fact that we simply don't score anywhere near enough not ring any alarm bells?

The Gorf
23-08-2014, 04:07 PM
You couldn't even compare them to Deveronvale. Insult to Deveronvale.

Aye but look at the bigger picture, we have a wonderful stadium and training ground.:rolleyes:

Is that you running out of patience BH? :-)

I'm comparing the manner of our defeats, which today was identical to many of his.

blindsummit
23-08-2014, 04:08 PM

I appreciate your optimism Nando, but the brutal fact is we've been having "one of those days" for years now. How long do we wait for "one of those days" days to stop? The evidence is that they are not going to stop. Not while the current ownership continue to purse the same policies, and not caring about what goes on on the park.

23-08-2014, 04:10 PM
Least we mananged to stay out the bottom 2 :rolleyes:

23-08-2014, 04:10 PM
I'm comparing the manner of our defeats, which today was identical to many of his.

But to do that realistically, we need to have sent the good times as well.

We might as well compare our current season to last year under Butcher.

23-08-2014, 04:11 PM
I appreciate your optimism Nando, but the brutal fact is we've been having "one of those days" for years now. How long do we wait for "one of those days" days to stop? The evidence is that they are not going to stop. Not while the current ownership continue to purse the same policies, and not caring about what goes on on the park.

This "one of these days" hasn't occurred for us for years. Usually we have our backs to the walls and grind out 1-0 defeats. Today we dominated and made plenty of chances. The goals will come if we can keep the chances coming.

23-08-2014, 04:11 PM

I think a key difference is that there was a lot more patience kicking about when Mowbray rode into town.

Things were bad under Blobby in a 'not making top 6 is pretty rubbish' kind of way. After the last few seasons we needed to hit the ground rumning this year and make a statement, we haven't and to compound that Hearts have.

We have been booted so many times in recent years that the board and, perhaps unfairly, Stubbs aren't going to be given time.

23-08-2014, 04:12 PM
Is that you running out of patience BH? :-)

Not at all matey, as i said earlier in the week, just the helipad left now. :greengrin

Hopefully a few signings get announced this week

TowerHibs
Strikers lost us that match today. Both missed numerous chances and then their lack of movement between 45-65 mins ment we lost that high tempo passing we had in 1st half.

Sadly thin liam craig should leave hibs. I think he is a asset if played in an attacking role. Wasted playing deeper. He is brave and keeps looking for the ball but isn't the kind of player we are asking him to be.he gets some abuse even when he does things well. Harris and front 2 (especially FA) were awful today and thats why we lost, not because Craig made some mistakes

delbert
Craig tamely hits a free kick into the wall.

Why he still takes the majority of our set pieces is beyond me.

Why this utter imposter and disgrace of a club captain is still at our club just beggars belief, to think that a club with captains like Stanton, Sauzee and McNamee are reduced to having a mouseheart like this alongside them is just an illustration of how far the standards of this club have fallen and how mediocrity is both tolerated and rewarded. Last week we fielded 8 of the failures who relegated us and somewhat unsurprisingly we were beaten, I'm sure someone will have a similar stat to hand today so how there can be any surprise at this result is actually the only real surprise. We are a very poor team in a state of transition but the fact that we have been so slow in making that transition with barely a week to go in the transfer window is nothing short of disgraceful. If anyone believes that in the next week this club will sign the five or six genuine quality players needed to turn us into any sort of contenders, then they have truly abandoned any concept of reality. This team as it stands even with a couple more players are nowhere near good enough to mount a serious challenge this season, with Stubbs being the latest fall guy to come in and try to cobble together a silk purse from a sows ear, third bottom tonight and absolutely no surprise.

But to do that realistically, we need to have sent the good times as well.

We might as well compare our current season to last year under Butcher.

True, but as I just posted a few seconds ago, at least we are making chances and not being hemmed into our own 18-yard box like we have been doing for years against every single team we played. I think the goals will come.

erskine-hibby
23-08-2014, 04:13 PM
Every year i go less and less to ER, and I'm sorry to say, care less and less. At 53 I have been lucky, I suppose, to have seen some pretty good Hibs teams, but as things stand at the moment I would happily put up with a mediocre one. I'm afraid though we have gone much lower than that. I feel sorry for the younger ones among our support who don't even have memories to hold on to.

Our rivals don't seem to have problems scoring for fun.

Us continuing to forgive, accept and excuse mediocrity needs to stop.

That was just effing depressing, nothing more to say!

Think Stubbs should give up the half time talks, we've been awful in all 2nd halves!

Joe
We have an owner who has better things to do at 3pm than watch us play, a chairman who had never been to a game until he started running our club and a board that seems to simply not care. We are regularly humped in the derbies which never leads to any investment and clearly no serious intention of getting promoted. This is it, there's nothing more till that board is gone.

No ambition, no desire, no drive, no investment and no hope.

Disgrace.

This "one of these days" hasn't occurred for us for years. Usually we have our backs to the walls and grind out 1-0 defeats. Today we dominated and made plenty of chances. The goals will come if we can keep the chances coming.

If you want to put it in those terms then what we now do is miss a barrel load of chances and still have the same 2-1 and 1-0 defeats.

The goals will only come if we get another striker, one that can actually put the ball in the net. That man is clearly not Heffernan.

23-08-2014, 04:16 PM
If you want to put it in those terms then what we now do is miss a barrel load of chances and still have the same 2-1 and 1-0 defeats.

The goals will only come if we get another striker, one that can actually put the ball in the net. That man is clearly not Heffernan.

But apart from an off day today, El Alagui has done well since he arrived. None of the "time to gel" bollocks that we normally say about signings. I hope and think he is the man for this season.

Embarrassing and pathetic!

But all too predictable - we were getting cuffed off decent 1st Division sides last season and have not changed or improved nearly enough to expect that to change.

Time for Leanne/Rod/whoever the **** makes the decisions at ER to get their fingers out their ***** and back the management team to get a winning team on the pitch. Failure to do so will see their precious bottom line plummet through the floor.

I just heard that after the game the ground staff who are short handed asked Heffernan to help them take down the net and he replied, 'Sure, where is it?'.

23-08-2014, 04:17 PM

RE the bit in bold - not so sure how we know that. El Algui might get a few this season but I'm not really sure who else. What evidence do we have that the rest of the team will score loads of goals for us?

23-08-2014, 04:17 PM
Folk taking to the Hibs Transfer page on Facebook to vent their anger :faf:...

Oxley should be dropped as he hasn't scored, AGAIN.

23-08-2014, 04:18 PM
The long, slow death of our club continues. Sad times.

23-08-2014, 04:19 PM
We have an owner who has better things to do at 3pm than watch us play, a chairman who had never been to a game until he started running our club and a board that seems to simply not care. We are regularly humped in the derbies which never leads to any investment and clearly no serious intention of getting promoted. This is it, there's nothing more till that board is gone.

No ambition, no desire, no drive, no investment and no hope.

Disgrace.

7 places, and 6 points behind the Hearts already. Embarrassing stuff.

23-08-2014, 04:19 PM
RE the bit in bold - not so sure how we know that. El Algui might get a few this season but I'm not really sure who else. What evidence do we have that the rest of the team will score loads of goals for us?

El Alagui might have to do what Griffiths was doing. The whole lot himself. He's scored 2 already, more chances = more goals.

H18Y GW
23-08-2014, 04:20 PM
Could have and should have been 7-2 at half time , second half reminded me of a training game ... There are times to be a bit more direct

23-08-2014, 04:21 PM
Are we mistakenly using the term "one of those days" to console / delude ourselves after the latest failure to get a decent result?

Should we more appropriately be asking ourselves if its actually just "one of those seasons"?

I am wondering how far we need to slide to arrive at what will be our post Petrie level - if indeed he is no longer involved.

Apart from the damage the presence of the great himself seems to be causing, there's the financial consequences of his calamitous appointments and the impact on finances generally which means we have to be the only larger club that always arrives at the start of a season unprepared.

Yes, I have heard all the chat about what we are doing going forward and why - but if getting a preseason right in Scotland is that hard why can Falkirk, Partick, Hamiliton, Dundee, the yam, to name but a few do it again, whilst we are having what has to be our umpteenth mare of a preseason following on the back of a poor season before?

Bleeds green
23-08-2014, 04:25 PM
Suppose we can always finish 4th and still go up! The rangers will as I've always thought win the league

mcfly
23-08-2014, 04:25 PM
This next week is crucial - transfer window ends soon.

If we don't sign a quality centre half, midfielder and another striker it will be a long season and crowds will drop lower and lower.

I'm sick of other clubs showing ambition whilst we sign the dross no one wants.

23-08-2014, 04:26 PM
Like watching a Fenlon team, all nice wee passing sideways but nothing happening in the final third. No guille, no imagination just the usual pass sideways with no one running the channels.

Heff needs punted, waste of a wage, Nelson still a bombscare cause he's so slow and predictable, Craig just isn't up to it, Harris needs tostop the hell from coming inside, he's a wnger, stay out there. Booth is still a shocking defender, positionally poor, tackling poor and can't win a header, use him in a 3-5-2 only not with 4 at the back.

Unless we get 3-4 players in this week we will be down here for a couple of seasons at least

23-08-2014, 04:33 PM
The only positive from today is that no-one has yet started a Positives From Today thread

23-08-2014, 04:57 PM
Folk taking to the Hibs Transfer page on Facebook to vent their anger :faf:...

Oxley should be dropped as he hasn't scored, AGAIN.

Great read mate :faf:

23-08-2014, 05:00 PM
Dempster and Stubbs are nice people who say nice things and both have said they are happy with the people brought in and the squad in general. Well guess what, I and the majority of the 9000 who turned up today a not happy with this squad so tell me who is right?

23-08-2014, 05:02 PM
The lack of composure and quality we have in the final third is frightening, every shot/cross/pass is just weak and lacking purpose. Signings needed, will we see them? Naw. Where's all the money gone for the season tickets?

23-08-2014, 05:13 PM
Well what can you say about that, not alot. Like one or two others I'm fortunate to have to have followed hibs for some time, since 1971 and so have seen some great indivduals and hibs teams. However over the last few years I've gone less and less to the point that I haven't been to ER for 2 seasons basically because I couldn't reconcile what hibs had become against what they had been when I first started following them.
How do I get my football fix, junior football it's pretty competitive here in Fife.

TAHibby
23-08-2014, 05:20 PM
It's probably just because my standards are so low now but thought we were a joy to watch at times in the first half. Thought we would struggle if we didn't score before the break but could never have envisioned it ending up as bad as it did.

23-08-2014, 06:20 PM
Every year i go less and less to ER, and I'm sorry to say, care less and less. At 53 I have been lucky, I suppose, to have seen some pretty good Hibs teams, but as things stand at the moment I would happily put up with a mediocre one. I'm afraid though we have gone much lower than that. I feel sorry for the younger ones among our support who don't even have memories to hold on to.

The line in bold is THE most serious threats to Hibs future !. Similar to EH, I'm 54 and remember the days when I couldn't wait to go to ER and everything about it was exciting !. Nowadays younger ones will only have memories of the occasional great season/game !. Though why anyone is shocked, surprised or angry at today's result is baffling ?. Nothing at ER has changed from last season - it's more or less the same players that relegated us and the same board plus an extra salary (salary taken out of 'Player-budget ??). The only ''Tactical Genius' now at Hibs is Rod Petrie. Season-after-season he's survived, despite really only investing in bricks-and-mortar (beneficial to share-owners when/if selling ?). However, after 5-6 years the infamous '5 year plan' was eventually tippled so 'Massive changes at ER' made it's appearance, along with LD (Lame Duck/Decoy ??). Coupled with the usual close-season optimism and LD making rousing speeches (hmm, sound familiar ??), we allowed ourselves (foolishly) to get excited again. There's only 9 days to the closure of the transfer-window so any new signing can be construed as a 'Last-minute signing' (even more familiar now ??) The only 'Massive change' at ER is the number of season-ticket sales - downwards. Relegation obviously has had an impact on sales (has there ever been such a disparity in sales-numbers compared to them over at the PBS ??) but there is another factor. As fans get older, more and more have less reason to buy one as they will have few (if any ??) memories of great, or even good/decent seasons to encourage them. If anything, the biggest threat now is, after continuous years of dross/garbage on the pitch, coupled with empty promises, is that more and more younger fans are actually becoming REALISTIC and no amount of great/brilliant 'Sound-bites' will change that !

23-08-2014, 06:34 PM
What can I say. We got round the back of Falkirk time and again but never made their keeper make a save worth the name. We dominated for long spells but still failed to win, WTF El Alagui was doing trying to chip the keeper I don't know.

We played quite well at times ............ but who cares, we still lost.