View Full Version : NHC Malky MacKay Txt Messages
20-08-2014, 10:44 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-2730307/Malky-Mackay-Iain-Moody-investigated-FA-sexist-racist-homophobic-text-messages-time-Cardiff.html
If confirmed, these messages will rightly end his career in football.
20-08-2014, 11:00 PM
If true then they are both ****ed.
20-08-2014, 11:04 PM
If true then they are both ****ed.
:agree: And rightly so!!
20-08-2014, 11:04 PM
:agree: And rightly so!!
20-08-2014, 11:18 PM
What a disgrace.
20-08-2014, 11:23 PM
for him to (malky) make sudden about turn comments, apologies to Tan, is a bloody sham considering his stance when he got the bullet. all of a sudden, he withdraws a lawsuit of 7.5 mil. how strange :wink:
20-08-2014, 11:23 PM
they say, football is not corrupt.
20-08-2014, 11:27 PM
What a stupid idiot if all this is legit :idiot:
20-08-2014, 11:32 PM
Tip of a mega iceberg.
20-08-2014, 11:33 PM
What a stupid idiot if all this is legit :idiot: looks a bit scary. umpteen texts, and thoosans o' emails?!!!! crazy stuff if true. hame for the vote?
20-08-2014, 11:36 PM
Tip of a mega iceberg. think you have it there Sean. Rangers, Hearts, Cardiff, dominoe effect but the main culprits seem to get away with it :wink:
20-08-2014, 11:36 PM
looks a bit scary. umpteen texts, and thoosans o' emails?!!!! crazy stuff if true. hame for the vote?
:agree: Yes sir I am !
If it's no I'm away again :wink:
21-08-2014, 12:06 AM
think you have it there Sean. Rangers, Hearts, Cardiff, dominoe effect but the main culprits seem to get away with it :wink:
Even Spiders fans are bigots. :spider::shocked:
21-08-2014, 03:14 AM
It's just banter, remember?
21-08-2014, 04:56 AM
It's prehistoric morons like this that we could do with culling. They're holding the rest of the species back.
21-08-2014, 05:31 AM
To be honest I quite like a bit of homophobic, racist, sexist banter.:cb
I'd like to see how many managers, coaches and even club directors phones in this country don't have similar content on them.
21-08-2014, 05:47 AM
A lot of people due that radge owner an apology by the sounds of it.
chinaman
21-08-2014, 06:04 AM
To be honest I quite like a bit of homophobic, racist, sexist banter.:cb
I'd like to see how many managers, coaches and even club directors phones in this country don't have similar content on them.
Just imagine if the long dead uber bigot jock wallace, former manager of rangers f.c (now deceased) had a mobile, would be taig,pape and mick in every text
21-08-2014, 06:44 AM
He's ****ed.
Vincent Tan was portrayed as another eccentric foreign radge when he binned Mackay.
This investigation seems to have proved him to be the sane one.
P.s. The Dail Mail are a bit rich. When I first read the texts I thought I'd stumbled on to the readers letters page:aok:
21-08-2014, 06:48 AM
Just imagine if the long dead uber bigot jock wallace, former manager of rangers f.c (now deceased) had a mobile, would be taig,pape and mick in every text
Bet that he would be on the Orange Network.
21-08-2014, 06:52 AM
Silly silly man he'll get hammered for that,what a tool
21-08-2014, 07:00 AM
Shocking if these allegations are true. Neither will work in football again. The authorities have to tackle this sort of attitude but also payments to agents. But why would any sane business man let a ex football do deals on transfers. This shows that a head coach and Cheif Executive is the way forward rather than allowing a manager a free hand
chinaman
21-08-2014, 07:12 AM
Bet that he would be on the Orange Network.
Defo ! How far north are you northern lad ?
21-08-2014, 07:12 AM
Sent worse than that this month already.
Will be a lot of folk in football worried if they were subject to similar court orders and taking more care with their BANTER from now on.
Outrage all round!!
21-08-2014, 07:17 AM
I'm generally not a fan of people's personal conversations being revealed like this, but I think they deserve it for having absolutely chronic banter.
21-08-2014, 08:03 AM
Hideous stuff, this will be rife right through football, I am sure there will be folk here that don't even think there is a problem with most of it.
No excuse for racism, sexism or being a homophobe, we are all just people. Hope he never gets another job in football.
21-08-2014, 08:06 AM
The content of these texts are horrible, and show both in a terrible light - will have a major impact on their careers. You got to wonder what the agenda of Tann was though - is it about the content, or about revenge? It leaves a nasty feeling on both sides of this for me.
21-08-2014, 08:19 AM
Was he not up at the training ground last week before the rangers game.
21-08-2014, 08:24 AM
I love it when bigots get their comeuppance. Nae luck, Big Malky.
21-08-2014, 08:26 AM
If true, what a tool, The rangers should be looking for a suitable manager soon though.
21-08-2014, 08:33 AM
Strange, I thought his time at Celtic would have taught him the immaculate political correctness we keep hearing they have?:cb
alloahibby
21-08-2014, 08:35 AM
Well played Vincent....a lesson in how to use the long game
21-08-2014, 08:39 AM
Strange, I thought his time at Celtic would have taught him the immaculate political correctness we keep hearing they have?:cb
:tee hee: Cannot wait for my next discussion with my local celtc fan - when I talk to him about the much spouted celtc "minded" test we keep hearing about he has not only cited Malky as an example of it but was seriously hacked off when delia got the gig as he wanted big Malky in then. They are indeed special fans.
21-08-2014, 08:45 AM
They've been caught. There's loads more out there with very similar, or worse, views and opinions.
21-08-2014, 09:02 AM
They've been caught. There's loads more out there with very similar, or worse, views and opinions.
I'd be very surprised if his comments/views aren't the same as a significant minority of people in general, never mind football. I've heard people use a lot of these terms in everyday speech (makes me cringe). Why else would UKIP get such a significant amount of voters.
21-08-2014, 09:03 AM
Help ma boab - we seem to have a fair sprinkling of "outraged/disgusted" posters this morning and I'm willing to bet that a fair percentage of these same posters have been guilty of both receiving and forwarding similar text messages/e mails in the past.
21-08-2014, 09:04 AM
I'd be very surprised if his comments/views aren't the same as a significant minority of people in general, never mind football. I've heard people use a lot of these terms in everyday speech (makes me cringe). Why else would UKIP get such a significant amount of voters.
Me too. Spot on K.
21-08-2014, 09:04 AM
Help ma boab - we seem to have a fair sprinkling of "outraged/disgusted" posters this morning and I'm willing to bet that a fair percentage of these same posters have been guilty of both receiving and forwarding similar text messages/e mails in the past.
I myself use terrible terminology about Germans, especially to my German Wife.
Weststandwanab
21-08-2014, 09:06 AM
And is she strict with you... Ya !
21-08-2014, 09:08 AM
And is she strict with you... Ya !
The word is 'Ja'
p.s. If you're reading this dear... we won the war, na na nana na! :na na:
21-08-2014, 09:11 AM
The word is 'Ja'
So you're a jambo then?
21-08-2014, 09:11 AM
So you're a jambo then?
Damnit, you caught me out!
21-08-2014, 09:13 AM
Really?
Weststandwanab
21-08-2014, 09:16 AM
The word is 'Ja'
Danke
So you're a jambo then?
Funny you should think that
A lot of people due that radge owner an apology by the sounds of it.
I'm not sure he's any better, just appears to be smarter!
21-08-2014, 09:39 AM
I'll admit to receiving such texts a couple of times but never have I forwarded such vile nonsense.
I hope they never work in football again.
Well done to Vincent Tan. He knew he was getting ripped of and stuck to his guns in the face of criticism from every part of the football establishment. Hope he bankrupts the pair of them.
21-08-2014, 09:42 AM
Aye, I was going to make the Celtc-minded remark, but noted he and his father are Queens Park supporters. Cue 'It's not us it's them'.
21-08-2014, 09:44 AM
Shocking behaviour BUT anyone who thinks they (certainly Malky) won't work in football again is kidding themselves on. Football has no morals as gogsy strachan said.
21-08-2014, 10:07 AM
I myself use terrible terminology about Germans, especially to my German Wife.
Ditto, except for me it's the frogs.
Stranraer
21-08-2014, 10:15 AM
Unbelievable show of ignorance and stupidity if this is true, I'm sickened.
21-08-2014, 10:23 AM
Agree with you. It's another lets all be outraged in our glass houses.
21-08-2014, 10:39 AM
Never recieved texts like this because I am not friends with people that are racist/sexist/bigots.
21-08-2014, 10:47 AM
Ive heard worse than this at Easter road directed towards players. Some our own players!!! But I suppose that's "awrite cause a pay to get in so a can say what a like."
booshsutton
21-08-2014, 10:49 AM
An absolutely mind boggling amount of texts and emails they've got to look though. Sad that these attitudes are still prevolent in todays society, but sadly they are and I suspect this is merely the start of a ****storm set to ensue.
As an aside, does anyone else find the way that The Daily Mail present articles on their website incredibly disjointed? Splicing in 3 or 4 pictures at regular points mid-article, with side boxes sensationalising what was said in the texts/emails and then stating that information again in the article.
Stranraer
21-08-2014, 10:55 AM
I'm outraged and if anyone near me comes out with racist / homophobic tripe I take nothing to do with them.
21-08-2014, 11:12 AM
Sent worse than that this month already.
Will be a lot of folk in football worried if they were subject to similar court orders and taking more care with their BANTER from now on.
Outrage all round!!
If those quotes are true then it's beyond banter..And if folk in or outside of football do feel
worry or question their own opinions then having this shown is a good thing.
There is no place for this in an educated loving respectful modern day society.
21-08-2014, 11:15 AM
Rubbish, and when your say 'our glass house' your wrong..it's yours and any other who holds these views...
21-08-2014, 11:19 AM
Some folk on here 100% definitely live and have lived very, very sheltered lives.
Let's not forget either that we all have the right to free speech (as long as you're not dumb enough to try it).
I don't agree with anythings he's alleged to have sent as a text, but I vigorously defend his right to privately text his views to someone.
Of course the irony of the Daily Mail, the most xenophobic daily out there, outing this is obviously lost on the 'outraged'.
21-08-2014, 11:21 AM
Some folk on here 100% definitely live and have lived very, very sheltered lives.
Let's not forget either that we all have the right to free speech (as long as you're not dumb enough to try it).
I don't agree with anythings he's alleged to have sent as a text, but I vigorously defend his right to privately text his views to someone.
Of course the irony of the Daily Mail, the most xenophobic daily out there, outing this is obviously lost on the 'outraged'.
Really? How do you work that one out?
21-08-2014, 11:29 AM
Really? How do you work that one out?
How, can you not?
Let me put it this way - the real world, is a big, bad place, full of folk who don't share the same views I'm reading on here.
I grew up next to a very black neighbourhood, plenty times I've been the only white face on the bus (an invitation to robbery). And ironically due to my parental background been the subject of casual and overt racism too.
21-08-2014, 11:35 AM
Ah, free speech, the absolute right that trumps absolutely everything else. PC GONE MAD.
21-08-2014, 11:41 AM
I think you're mistaking condemnation of bigotry with never having come across it.
I've heard plenty of Rangers fans chant derogatory stuff about Catholics. I don't find it any less offensive just because I've heard it a few times.
21-08-2014, 11:44 AM
Rubbish, and when your say 'our glass house' your wrong..it's yours and any other who holds these views...
Meanwhile back in the real world. ..
21-08-2014, 11:44 AM
Tip of a mega iceberg.\
:top marksyou live in a lala land if you dont think this is common practice. Bet more than a fair few choked on cornflakes this morning and rushed to purge the deleted items
21-08-2014, 11:48 AM
How, can you not?
Let me put it this way - the real world, is a big, bad place, full of folk who don't share the same views I'm reading on here.
I grew up next to a very black neighbourhood, plenty times I've been the only white face on the bus (an invitation to robbery). And ironically due to my parental background been the subject of casual and overt racism too.
I still don't get how you can get that from reading this thread? It simply makes no sense.
Loving the Clash quotes though.:thumbsup:
21-08-2014, 11:53 AM
;4135414']Shocking behaviour BUT anyone who thinks they (certainly Malky) won't work in football again is kidding themselves on. Football has no morals as gogsy strachan said.
:agree: Just ask Ron Atkinson.
21-08-2014, 11:54 AM
Speak for yourself please. Do you think this stuff is OK?
Nobody, including me and including you I suspect, is "whiter than white", but that sort of stuff is just bang out of order is it not? Would you like to be a player working under these two knowing what their views are? Perhaps it wouldn't bother you?
Wait for it - it was only BANTER!! Just like the wee Nazi Jambo caught on camera at the weekend.
21-08-2014, 12:11 PM
Thats the main point for me I suppose............they exchanges were private. On that basis he has a right to expect his private views to remain so.................
..don't agree with what he spouts. He's a racist and a bigot by all accounts. But I defend his right to have his privacy maintained. :agree:
21-08-2014, 12:13 PM
Nobody, including me and including you I suspect, is "whiter than white", but that sort of stuff is just bang out of order is it not? Would you like to be a player working under these two knowing what their views are? Perhaps it wouldn't bother you?
Wait for it - it was only BANTER!! Just like the wee Nazi Jambo caught on camera at the weekend.
...I doubt whether the wee nazi Yam even understood what he was doing or the significance...............bit like bairns playing commandos. :cb
Simkin911
21-08-2014, 12:16 PM
I remember watching Alf Garnett make all manner of statements which were screened on national tv in the name of comedy. And it wasn't so long ago that those reruns were still being shown....
I haven't read all the background but is there a public interest in the disclosure of these private conversations?
21-08-2014, 12:16 PM
Let's not forget either that we all have the right to free speech
No we don't. There is no such 'right' enshrined in British or Scots law. You get some protection from article 10 of the European Convention (ironic, since its the europhobes who usually complain about this issue from a political correctness perspective). There are, in fact, six or seven laws passed since 1986 deliberately designed to limit freedom of speech in the UK. (See the Liberty website if you're interested).
If you want unrestricted freedom of speech, even to be offensive, the US is the place.
21-08-2014, 12:18 PM
I always find it funny when people try to dismiss stuff like this as banter.
I once worked in a warehouse where a Chinese guy started, he regularly was the butt of jokes about 'chinkies', not being able to see properly, take aways, yellow skin etc. I put up with this for a few days then had to say something. I was told by the lads to stop being so PC, look at Kai he doesn't mind, he can take a joke, if he's not offended why are you?
Kai never came back to work at the end of that month. Funny that.
21-08-2014, 12:19 PM
No we don't. There is no such 'right' enshrined in British or Scots law. You get some protection from article 10 of the European Convention (ironic, since its the europhobes who usually complain about this issue from a political correctness perspective). There are, in fact, six or seven laws passed since 1986 deliberately designed to limit freedom of speech in the UK. (See the Liberty website if you're interested).
If you want unrestricted freedom of speech, the US is the place.
The ECHR is enshrined in UK law, so there is a right to freedom of speech. It's not absolute, though, and other rights need to be protected and respected.
21-08-2014, 12:22 PM
Not saying this isn't wrong or that the pair of them shouldn't be punished or condemned for it.
However I have read a few times "their views" on here. It is possible that these men aren't actually bigots/racists/sexist but have still exchanged these. I know of some people who would make inappropriate remarks, being ironic - and even sometimes claim they were taking the p*ss out of racists... I don't see how it's worth it when the jokes are sh*t anyway but that's another matter.
All we know so far is they have allegedly shared some inappropriate jokes/texts/emails. A number of 'comedians' use very close-to-the-bone material... I am confident not every one of them actually believes what they come out with. Although there is the argument that the only way to beat racism and homophobia is to see it eradicated (including jokes and flippant comments) from society completely.
Again - not condoning or condemning (I will reserve judgement for now) and have tried not to use the word 'banter' throughout!
One thing's for sure - It wouldn't have offended anyone had it been kept between the people it were meant to.
21-08-2014, 12:28 PM
Thats the main point for me I suppose............they exchanges were private. On that basis he has a right to expect his private views to remain so.................
..don't agree with what he spouts. He's a racist and a bigot by all accounts. But I defend his right to have his privacy maintained. :agree:
I thought the communications were on company devices though? If that's the case, the company would most likely have a usage policy which stipulates that communications are subject to monitoring.
I very much doubt that Tan/Cardiff's law firm would have managed to successfully present a case to seize Moody's personal devices from his home.
21-08-2014, 12:29 PM
The ECHR is enshrined in UK law, so there is a right to freedom of speech. It's not absolute, though, and other rights need to be protected and respected.
Well strictly speaking yes it is. Thats assuming the british courts and politicians desperate to court the UKIP vote adhere to it :greengrin
GreenPJ
21-08-2014, 12:33 PM
I thought the communications were on company devices though? If that's the case, the company would most likely have a usage policy which stipulates that communications are subject to monitoring.
I very much doubt that Tan/Cardiff's law firm would have managed to successfully present a case to seize Moody's personal devices from his home.
What would he be doing with a Company device in his home 6 months after being sacked?
21-08-2014, 12:34 PM
:worms:
21-08-2014, 12:35 PM
"Whiter than white" that was the point I was making and no I don't condone it. Will faux outrage do ?
Stranraer
21-08-2014, 12:46 PM
I always find it funny when people try to dismiss stuff like this as banter.
I once worked in a warehouse where a Chinese guy started, he regularly was the butt of jokes about 'chinkies', not being able to see properly, take aways, yellow skin etc. I put up with this for a few days then had to say something. I was told by the lads to stop being so PC, look at Kai he doesn't mind, he can take a joke, if he's not offended why are you?
Kai never came back to work at the end of that month. Funny that.
I worked in a kitchen where non-white customers were talked about in the kitchen like that. On one occasion the owner referred to a Pakistani couple as "Hamilton Accies" which inevitably led to the p word being used several times.
WestCoastHibby
21-08-2014, 12:49 PM
What a complete knobber......
21-08-2014, 12:56 PM
...I doubt whether the wee nazi Yam even understood what he was doing or the significance...............bit like bairns playing commandos. :cb
I'm not so sure he didn't understand what he was doing, or the significance of the Nazi salute. He presumably went to school at some point, and is aware that this country went to war against the Nazis?
Then again, he is a Yam, so maybe he is as thick as s***.
"Whiter than white" that was the point I was making and no I don't condone it. Will faux outrage do ?
Good, mate. I wasn't suggesting you were condoning it.
However I disagree that the "outrage" as you put it expressed by some posters was necessarily false or artificial. Lets just agree to disagree on that part.
21-08-2014, 01:05 PM
How, can you not?
I really disagree that not finding racist 'banter' funny means you live a sheltered life or somehow seem to think it doesn't go on?
I don't get this at all.
21-08-2014, 01:10 PM
But weren't these exchanges on his work phone / email? I'm sure if I was saying such things on my work email / phone that I couldn't really have any complaints if I was sacked for it?
21-08-2014, 01:11 PM
Ultimately, this has got out into the public, so we can surmise that either:
1. They were using work devices, work email or similar, so their messages have been read.
2. They started 'sharing' their 'banter' with other employees, who obviously did not find it funny, and reported it.
3. Both of those.
Obviously, if someone wants to be a narrow minded, knuckle dragging throwback, that's their business, but try sending that sort of stuff at your work and see how long you last. That's not a freedom of speech issue, it becomes a workplace issue, and how someone can continue in a management role when it seems he's prejudiced towards anyone that isn't a straight, pasty skinned male.
Now, I can accept that it could well have been just some very poor taste jokes between 2 friends, and I'm sure we've all done it, without it making us in any way racist. But this seems to have gone on a lot, about specific people they've encountered, at work. It looks pretty damning to me, and in any case, joke or not, doing that in the workplace will get you rightly booted straight out the door.
21-08-2014, 01:14 PM
I remember watching Alf Garnett make all manner of statements which were screened on national tv in the name of comedy. And it wasn't so long ago that those reruns were still being shown....
I haven't read all the background but is there a public interest in the disclosure of these private conversations?
Yes there is - after all it is the public that pays his wages via attending matches, Sky subscriptions etc. I'm sure the fans of Crystal Palace were quite interested.
21-08-2014, 01:18 PM
Meanwhile back in the real world. ..
So your saying that I use these terms and don't say anything when I hear others use them?
Your real world isn't mine and if you think put downs on race gender sexuality is ok that's your world..it all begins with the individual and the buck stops there regarding their view of the world...folk that use ours or we rather than I or me are just looking for support because they need back up...in my opinion
lobster
21-08-2014, 01:26 PM
The really shocking thing is how stupid and mindless these guys appear to be. Is that their idea of humour? Jeez. And to think that until now the media have portrayed Malky Mackay as some kind of modern tactical genius, a solid football man betrayed by the invasion of foreign money.
Good to see Sky Sports News in moral outrage mode at the sexism displayed though. No hint of hypocrisy there. :aok:
21-08-2014, 01:27 PM
Yes there is - after all it is the public that pays his wages via attending matches, Sky subscriptions etc. I'm sure the fans of Crystal Palace were quite interested.
Private messages between two adults up for public scrutiny , How long before Private thoughts are given the same treatment ?
I hope I drop off the twig before that becomes a reality, ...... I'd be in deep ***** :greengrin
21-08-2014, 01:42 PM
So your saying that I use these terms and don't say anything when I hear others use them?
Your real world isn't mine and if you think put downs on race gender sexuality is ok that's your world..it all begins with the individual and the buck stops there regarding their view of the world...folk that use ours or we rather than I or me are just looking for support because they need back up...in my opinion
I don't know you,so can't say if you are racist or homophobic, could be that your not in my world.
21-08-2014, 01:56 PM
So who hacked the phones.
21-08-2014, 01:58 PM
Nobody.
Liam Craig.
21-08-2014, 02:05 PM
It was financial irregularities with Moody that led to a search of his house and that's where the messages were found.
Moody has resigned from his position at Palace
21-08-2014, 02:09 PM
I don't know you,so can't say if you are racist or homophobic, could be that your not in my world.
Exactamundo...so don't be telling me to get into the real world. Thanks :wink:
21-08-2014, 02:12 PM
Exactamundo...so don't be telling me to get into the real world. Thanks :wink:
Yep you got me there.
21-08-2014, 02:25 PM
It was financial irregularities with Moody that led to a search of his house and that's where the messages were found.
Moody has resigned from his position at Palace
21-08-2014, 02:42 PM
You must be the only person that doesn't realise that Alf Garnett was an attack on racist views by Johnny Speight holding the outrageous Alf up to ridicule and using humour to make the point.
Simkin911
21-08-2014, 03:24 PM
You must be the only person that doesn't realise that Alf Garnett was an attack on racist views by Johnny Speight holding the outrageous Alf up to ridicule and using humour to make the point.
You must be the only person that doesn't realise that impressionable individuals copy behaviours (both good and bad) they see on television (and elsewhere) which in turn perpetuates more behaviours of the same.
I, sort of, agree with that but are you advocating some kind of censorship?
I'm old enough to remember "'Til Death Do Us Part" on the telly and quite a few people thought Alf Garnett was the "hero" and outed themselves as racist. Made them all the easier to spot and revealed them as idiots.
21-08-2014, 03:41 PM
Get Donald Findlay QC on the case. He's good at defending rats like this..
Religious slights and sectarian bigotry don't seem to impact on your career in Scotland. Just a bit of 'banter' your honour....
Simkin911
21-08-2014, 03:55 PM
I, sort of, agree with that but are you advocating some kind of censorship?
I'm old enough to remember "'Til Death Do Us Part" on the telly and quite a few people thought Alf Garnett was the "hero" and outed themselves as racist. Made them all the easier to spot and revealed them as idiots.
No, when I wrote my original post I was thinking about how times have changed and in some respects in a relatively short space of time.
Noting you acknowledge some people held Alf up as some type of hero (and we have an outcry over the disclosure of the content these private text/email conversations) then who knows how many complaints Alf would draw on the television in today's world.
nellio
21-08-2014, 03:59 PM
Cardiff fan here.
There's been talk back home for a while about something dodgy happening. Suprised by this though. Tan has absolutley ensured he wont work again in football. Moral of the story is dont mess with Tan!
No, when I wrote my original post I was thinking about how times have changed and in some respects in a relatively short space of time.
Noting you acknowledge some people held Alf up as some type of hero (and we have an outcry over the disclosure of the content these private text/email conversations) then who knows how many complaints Alf would draw on the television in today's world.
Yeah, I dare say his persona would proabbly be a tad (sarcy) too much on TV in this day and age, especially in a peak-time sitcom.
Speight's writing was radical at the time though, did a lot to reveal how backward those views actually are and how they are generally held by inadequates.
21-08-2014, 05:43 PM
So this is how the guy in "Life on Mars" felt when he was zapped back to 1973.
You really should think twice about posting stuff like this on a public forum because whether you like it or not it really isn't acceptable in this day and age to do so. Just ask Malky Mackay who at least kept his rubbish to private texts.
:p
21-08-2014, 06:42 PM
As vile and pathetic as those texts are, do we accept that even those wretched specimens have a right to knock this purile garbage between themselves in private?
I do. Because if we don't accept that right to privacy, then heaven help us all.
21-08-2014, 06:47 PM
As vile and pathetic as those texts are, do we accept that even those wretched specimens have a right to knock this purile garbage between themselves in private?
I do. Because if we don't accept that right to privacy, then heaven help us all.
You raise an extremely valid point, Bob - but what if the texts/emails were sent from Cardiff City property? That changes your right of privacy somewhat.
i thought the text about there being enough dogs in cardiff was pretty funny myself :hide:
Stranraer
21-08-2014, 07:08 PM
i thought the text about there being enough dogs in cardiff was pretty funny myself :hide:
Are you a fan of racist jokes then? Bernard Manning has some clips on YouTube if you are :rolleyes:
21-08-2014, 07:15 PM
Oh dear,dunno who sent what or who was worse but they are in deep doo doo if this is true
21-08-2014, 07:28 PM
always up for it though :greengrin
Are you a fan of racist jokes then? Bernard Manning has some clips on YouTube if you are :rolleyes:
he was funny right enough, thanks for reminding me :agree:
07BigD
21-08-2014, 07:49 PM
Career over
21-08-2014, 08:14 PM
http://www.echr.coe.int/Documents/Convention_ENG.pdf
Talk of rights to privacy and free speech don't apply [in my opinion] as, per the convention, both are qualified rights.
The right to privacy was removed by the warrant issued by the court to investigate the allegation of financial impropriety, whilst the right to free speech is qualified and includes restrictions "... for the protection of health or morals, for the protection of the reputation or rights of others..." amongst others.
If shown to be correct, the messages paint a picture of their attitude in their day jobs which is why I don't think they should work in football.
21-08-2014, 08:53 PM
Talk of rights to privacy and free speech don't apply [in my opinion] as, per the convention, both are qualified rights.
The right to privacy was removed by the warrant issued by the court to investigate the allegation of financial impropriety, whilst the right to free speech is qualified and includes restrictions "... for the protection of health or morals, for the protection of the reputation or rights of others..." amongst others.
If shown to be correct, the messages paint a picture of their attitude in their day jobs which is why I don't think they should work in football.
Tan has absolutley ensured he wont work again in football. Moral of the story is dont mess with Tan!
And - saved himself roughly = 7.5 Mill.. :aok:
Glorious St Pat
21-08-2014, 10:05 PM
He's ****ed.
Vincent Tan was portrayed as another eccentric foreign radge when he binned Mackay.
This investigation seems to have proved him to be the sane one.
P.s. The Dail Mail are a bit rich. When I first read the texts I thought I'd stumbled on to the readers letters page:aok:
Great post with a history of stirring up anti EU, islamophobia fear and so on. Tory rag.
21-08-2014, 10:42 PM
Meanwhile in Iraq, Syria & Palestine...
21-08-2014, 11:26 PM
I agree with this point of view as well.
As far as I know the Cardiff / Tan lawyers were granted access to the E Mails and text as part of an investigation into "financial irregularities" No matter how odious the contents of these E Mails and texts were I'm at a loss to see what relevance they have to the financial goings on at Cardiff City.
If the communications concerned were sent on Cardiff City hardwear provided for the sole purpose of Cardiff City business then that gives them as employers the right to take action against these ex employees, even then I doubt it gives them the right to make the content public. If the hardwear was the private property of the individuals then I fail to see how lawyers with ( I presume ) a court order allowing them to seize information relating to a financial investigation have the right to make public information unrelated to the nature of the investigation or the power the court had given them.
Nauseating though this stuff is its not the same as finding hard evidence of peadophilia for example.
22-08-2014, 08:12 AM
Maybe he could be re-educated? I'm a little uneasy about this, private messages are just that and while what they say are disgusting, i'd hate it if all my private messages were scrutinised, as would i imagine 99% of us?
Football has no morals, the goalkeeper who's name escapes me who was jailed for killing someone while drunk at the wheel, is now captain apparently at Plymouth Argyle.
And Ched Evans will be signed by Sheffield United when he's released from his prison sentence for rape. Is whats happened here with Malky MaKay as bad as these cases, i'd say no?
People in all walks of life make mistakes, i can see why peodo's wouldnt be allowed to work with children after their release, but if MaKay was a plumber would you say he shouldn't be able to go back to plumbing ever again?
22-08-2014, 08:25 AM
I'm not for forcing someone out of their profession, it should still be up to whoever as to whether they want to employ him again.
22-08-2014, 08:27 AM
Maybe he could be re-educated? I'm a little uneasy about this, private messages are just that and while what they say are disgusting, i'd hate it if all my private messages were scrutinised, as would i imagine 99% of us?
Football has no morals, the goalkeeper who's name escapes me who was jailed for killing someone while drunk at the wheel, is now captain apparently at Plymouth Argyle.
And Ched Evans will be signed by Sheffield United when he's released from his prison sentence for rape. Is whats happened here with Malky MaKay as bad as these cases, i'd say no?
People in all walks of life make mistakes, i can see why peodo's wouldnt be allowed to work with children after their release, but if MaKay was a plumber would you say he shouldn't be able to go back to plumbing ever again?
The industry that football is now though BH will see MM never working in top flight football again - credibility, respect and values all questionable and in some cases gone.
Big money is at stake, season tickets, generating younger fan bases....sponsors, TV deals, etc. What fan is going to want MM as their manager ? What chairman/woman/owner is going to want him as a figurehead of their football club ? What fan is going to want him at their club now ? His reputation is in tatters.
The irony (in life and football) is that football is one of the most morally corrupt sports going - Wee Gordon was right, don't ever say there are morals in football - we've allowed wife beaters, drink drivers, sex offenders, etc back into the game, or indeed allowed them to play whilst knowing it's going on. I just cannot see anyone in top flight football either wanting to take a chance on MM, nor do I see many footballers wanting to play for him after this.
Not in this case I hasten to add, but I often have a wry smile when certain quarters in football display faux outrage and 'offence' when you just know that their real thoughts are 'how is this going to affect sales' or 'how can we milk this for money' - John Terry, Luis Suarez, etc.....people that have stock value.......don't look to football for any sense of morality or social justice. Football allows people back into the game for selfish, financial and corporate reasons.
22-08-2014, 08:28 AM
Seems like a lot of people on here live in glass houses ... How many criticising him have not received texts/ emails of this nature or forwarded them on because they made you smile... That alone does not make anyone racist or homophobic !!!
22-08-2014, 08:35 AM
Seems like a lot of people on here live in glass houses ... How many criticising him have not received texts/ emails of this nature or forwarded them on because they made you smile... That alone does not make anyone racist or homophobic !!!
How would you know what posters on here have done? I can only speak for myself but disseminating racist, homophobic or sexist messages isn't my bag.
In any case, just forwarding emails or texts isn't what MacKay (or Moody) are accused of.
22-08-2014, 08:43 AM
Feel free to forward racist/sexist/homophobic jokes privately but let's not pretend you aren't either of those three things if you do.
"I'm not racist but....."
22-08-2014, 08:49 AM
Yours is the third post making the same point and here's where it falls down in its logic; you may know what you would do and say but have no idea about others. You just made a statement that infers everybody has the same attitude to yours without knowing the facts.
I personally think Racist, Homophobic and Bigotted attitudes are sadly endemic in our society but it doesn't mean that 100% of the population either use such terms or agree with their usage. I choose my friends carefully and they certainly don't include racists, sectarian bigots, etc.
Where I would agree is that a lot of people would squirm if their own private messages, E-Mails, etc, were suddenly released to the public.
How many criticising him have not received texts/ emails of this nature or forwarded them on because they made you smile...
I give up. How many criticising him have not received texts/ emails of this nature or forwarded them on because they made them smile?
22-08-2014, 10:17 AM
If folk are genuinely sickened and disgusted by this what do they make of journalists getting beheaded? Or schools getting rockets through the window?
A sense of perspective is a good thing.
22-08-2014, 10:19 AM
If folk are genuinely sickened and disgusted by this what do they make of journalists getting beheaded? Or schools getting rockets through the window?
Using that logic, no-one should really be bothered about much beyond murder.
I get bothered by animals being mistreated but I'm overreacting because someone is killing animals somewhere else?
scuttle
22-08-2014, 10:25 AM
Just to play devils advocate here.....It does not work out for Stubbs and Hibs appoint MacKay as new manager , how many on here would back him? or would we boycott he club as a matter of principle
nellio
22-08-2014, 10:27 AM
And - saved himself roughly = 7.5 Mill.. :aok:
Yup spot on. Maybe the club can recuoup some of the money lost on the Cornielius transfer now ! :greengrin
22-08-2014, 10:34 AM
Just to play devils advocate here.....It does not work out for Stubbs and Hibs appoint MacKay as new manager , how many on here would back him? or would we boycott he club as a matter of principle
Situation wouldn't arise. If we were in with a chance of hiring him the yams would nip in and offer more money to show they're bigger.
22-08-2014, 11:22 AM
I get bothered by animals being mistreated but I'm overreacting because someone is killing animals somewhere else?
Exactly.
Saying something cannot be offensive just because there is something worse happening in the world is a ludicrous argument.
22-08-2014, 11:23 AM
I think that there are certain people in life that society expects a better level of behaviour from and "role models" in the football world are peculiarly some of those people, especially given how widespread beliefs like these probably are.
They are in the public eye, and whether they like it or not there is a public interest in McKay/Moody holding the views that lead to such an exchange of texts.
Any time you send such a text, there will be a record of it somewhere. So if you're in the public eye, you've sent stuff like this in the past and you decide to screw £7.5M out of a slightly loopy but very ruthless and accomplished businessman who has succeeded in a very volatile marketplace then you better make sure that you have covered all your bases because any achilles heel will be found and exposed.
I have skeletons in the closet, as will everyone who has posed any opinion on this thread. But the chances of it ever being of much interest to people is minimal and private information will remain so.
I'm glad he's had a comeuppance.
22-08-2014, 12:24 PM
How would you know what posters on here have done? I can only speak for myself but disseminating racist, homophobic or sexist messages isn't my bag.
In any case, just forwarding emails or texts isn't what MacKay (or Moody) are accused of.
Oh so everyone on here is an angel .... I don't think so ... Not everyone thinks the same that is why we are all different but as Harry Rednap says " he hasn't murdered anyone, he isn't a rapist, or a pedophile .. Ffs get a Grip it was private messages and he should be suing the people who publicised them .
22-08-2014, 12:37 PM
The following is a section of what's on the BBC website. I've quoted some of it below. There is more for anyone who cares to have a look:
The League Managers Association (LMA) has apologised after describing offensive text messages sent by Malky MacKay as "friendly banter". The LMA had provoked widespread criticism from anti-discrimination campaigners over its statement.
In a fresh statement on Friday the LMA, which represents the interests of football managers, said "it apologises for some of the wording which was inappropriate and has been perceived to trivialise matters of a racist, sexist or homophobic nature. It is beyond argument that any comments that are discriminatory, even used in private, are totally unacceptable."
22-08-2014, 01:25 PM
The last time I visited my family in Edinburgh, I heard loads of people complaining* about 'The Poles' and 'They Romanian Beggars' (they probably meant Roma, but ignorance is no defence). It was mostly baseless rumours and peoples own prejudices against the groups in question.
Sad to say but prejudice is everywhere. Not acceptable but everywhere.
* Mostly not my Family but a couple of them did join in, sadly.
22-08-2014, 01:33 PM
In a way its a good thing this has been made public. 'Arry Redknapp defending Mackay today with the 'he's not a rapist or a paedophile, is he?' defence, and the managers union initial statement describing it as 'friendly banter', just shows a lot of football people are detached from the real world.
22-08-2014, 01:47 PM
In a way its a good thing this has been made public. 'Arry Redknapp defending Mackay today with the 'he's not a rapist or a paedophile, is he?' defence, and the managers union initial statement describing it as 'friendly banter', just shows a lot of football people are detached from the real world.
Can't wait for Big Sam's take on it.
patlowe
22-08-2014, 01:54 PM
I'm not normally one for taking offence easily but the content of the alleged texts does make me feel sick to be honest, I don't really care whether people think that's PC gone mad or not. Of course we have all done and said silly things in the past, but this is a pretty horrendous litany of ignorance and hate. It also makes me feel a bit stupid for being taken in by the 'good, big, honest lad' reputation which MM had developed.
However, and it's a big however, I am inclined to agree with Redknapp to the extent that everyone deserves a chance to recognise their mistakes and this shouldn't automatically mean the end of his career.
22-08-2014, 01:58 PM
Oh so everyone on here is an angel .... I don't think so ... Not everyone thinks the same that is why we are all different but as Harry Rednap says " he hasn't murdered anyone, he isn't a rapist, or a pedophile .. Ffs get a Grip it was private messages and he should be suing the people who publicised them .
What should he be suing them for, exactly?
However, and it's a big however, I am inclined to agree with Redknapp to the extent that everyone deserves a chance to recognise their mistakes and this shouldn't automatically mean the end of his career.
Agree with this.
It does make you wonder what sort of career will be possible for him. He's going to find it extremely difficult to work with black players after this and the English game is global in every sense.
22-08-2014, 02:55 PM
What should he be suing them for, exactly?
Publicising his private texts which had nothing to do with the original investigation ... What if he had been having a relationship with another woman .. Would it have been Ok to puicise that ! private texts e mails outwith the original investigation should never have been revealed ... This is just that rat, Tan trying to ruin a manager who would not do exactly as he wanted..
22-08-2014, 02:58 PM
The last time I visited my family in Edinburgh, I heard loads of people complaining* about 'The Poles' and 'They Romanian Beggars' (they probably meant Roma, but ignorance is no defence). It was mostly baseless rumours and peoples own prejudices against the groups in question.
Sad to say but prejudice is everywhere. Not acceptable but everywhere.
* Mostly not my Family but a couple of them did join in, sadly.
Sorry, but it is not baseless rumours, Eastern European beggars litter the streets of Edinburgh. Not the way I want to see my city !!
22-08-2014, 03:16 PM
Okay. Good talk.
Stranraer
22-08-2014, 03:43 PM
Sorry, but it is not baseless rumours, Eastern European beggars litter the streets of Edinburgh. Not the way I want to see my city !!
Are you on the wind up? Scottish homeless people also live on the street or is it only the eastern European ones you disapprove of?!
22-08-2014, 04:14 PM
Don't think he mentioned homeless people, just beggars. There is quite a difference.
H18Y GW
22-08-2014, 04:37 PM
Are you on the wind up? Scottish homeless people also live on the street or is it only the eastern European ones you disapprove of?!
They are the only ones i disapprove off tbh
22-08-2014, 04:44 PM
Publicising his private texts which had nothing to do with the original investigation ... What if he had been having a relationship with another woman .. Would it have been Ok to puicise that ! private texts e mails outwith the original investigation should never have been revealed ... This is just that rat, Tan trying to ruin a manager who would not do exactly as he wanted..
Is that a civil offence?
Homophobic and racial abuse is a criminal one. He might have a problem, no?
22-08-2014, 04:49 PM
Think you miss my point, if people are (genuinely) sickened and disgusted etc etc by this, what words are left to describe the things I referred to above?
The answer is, there aren't any.
Because actually in the grand scheme of things this is really pretty trivial.
I'm sickened and disgusted by stuff that really is sickening and disgusting. James Foley, Gaza, the plight of the Yazidi's and so on.
22-08-2014, 04:53 PM
I'm not normally one for taking offence easily but the content of the alleged texts does make me feel sick to be honest, I don't really care whether people think that's PC gone mad or not. Of course we have all done and said silly things in the past, but this is a pretty horrendous litany of ignorance and hate. It also makes me feel a bit stupid for being taken in by the 'good, big, honest lad' reputation which MM had developed.
It is not often i agree with Harry Rednapp or even his dog but this time i do. There are people who make a good living from being offended by working their way into good, highly paid jobs by being so. In the rush to been seen to be so PC these people are given far more important and highly paid jobs whose only skill is being great at being offended. I have been called much worse and to my face but just came back with a smart arsed quote of my own. They all should just "gie ut u rest".
22-08-2014, 04:55 PM
Exactly.
Saying something cannot be offensive just because there is something worse happening in the world is a ludicrous argument.
No Steve, it's the wailing and gnashing of teeth, the hand-wringing, the hyerpbole. The reach for the superlative.
MM is a rick with a silent p, a roaster, an idiot. No-one, certainly not me, is arguing otherwise.
If people are really sickened and disgusted by this, and I mean genuinely, then what on God's green earth do they make of the really, real, important, terrifying and appalling stuff going on all over the world today?
Folk need to turn down the outrage and save it for things that are a touch more important. IMHO.
22-08-2014, 04:59 PM
Careful. Someone who is outraged by that statement will be along in a minute.
No doubt telling us that European beggars have every right to come over here and er, beg. :greengrin
22-08-2014, 05:02 PM
Is that a civil offence?
Homophobic and racial abuse is a criminal one. He might have a problem, no?
Would be very difficult to secure a conviction CWG - the texts were private, sent from one person to another (and assuming the recipient was not alarmed or distressed by the content, hard to secure convictions on that basis alone)- they were not 'broadcast' by the sender at the time, nor were they placed on a public forum or platform at the time for others to read and take offence - someone else gained access to them and chose to broadcast them. In fact, and it would of course be wrong to speculate, but MM may have grounds to pursue a complaint if they have gained unauthorised access to his computer/phone/mails etc. Again, going further, MM could also use the new defamation laws to cite 'serious harm' to his reputation, career, etc......
Totally digressing from the main point obviously.......that the texts were vile.
22-08-2014, 05:18 PM
No Steve, it's the wailing and gnashing of teeth, the hand-wringing, the hyerpbole. The reach for the superlative.
MM is a rick with a silent p, a roaster, an idiot. No-one, certainly not me, is arguing otherwise.
If people are really sickened and disgusted by this, and I mean genuinely, then what on God's green earth do they make of the really, real, important, terrifying and appalling stuff going on all over the world today?
Folk need to turn down the outrage and save it for things that are a touch more important. IMHO.
Exactamundo
22-08-2014, 05:35 PM
Agree with this.
It does make you wonder what sort of career will be possible for him. He's going to find it extremely difficult to work with black players after this and the English game is global in every sense.
What did he say about black players?
22-08-2014, 05:54 PM
Would be very difficult to secure a conviction CWG - the texts were private, sent from one person to another (and assuming the recipient was not alarmed or distressed by the content, hard to secure convictions on that basis alone)- they were not 'broadcast' by the sender at the time, nor were they placed on a public forum or platform at the time for others to read and take offence - someone else gained access to them and chose to broadcast them. In fact, and it would of course be wrong to speculate, but MM may have grounds to pursue a complaint if they have gained unauthorised access to his computer/phone/mails etc. Again, going further, MM could also use the new defamation laws to cite 'serious harm' to his reputation, career, etc......
Totally digressing from the main point obviously.......that the texts were vile.
Fair enough on thè criminal aspect. My point really was the idea that he might take civil action. In doing that, he would be opening himself up to even more ridicule than he already has.
22-08-2014, 05:58 PM
Fair enough on thè criminal aspect. My point really was the idea that he might take civil action. In doing that, he would be opening himself up to even more ridicule than he already has.
Absolutely agree mate, a point I meant to also add.
Gerard
22-08-2014, 05:59 PM
One day we will all be able to treat all people with respect. It has not been made known exactly what was in the texts of MM. I suspect that in time we will know the contents of them. I think we should treat all people with respect and then we would not need the law to be there to punish people for making comments that society treats with contempt. Our society places great value on the meaning or words and that is a good thing. I would like to see people who break the conventions of society being given a chance to understand why these conventions exist. I do not like to hear about people being 'sent to diversity training' as it has the ring of George Orwell's 1984. If they were given the chance to attend a course on say 'diversity awareness or appreciation' that would not have the Orwellian image that DT has IMO.
22-08-2014, 06:11 PM
The funny thing is if Mackay is hounded out of football for this, it creates a crazy situation, at the end of the day regardless of the content he is being hung out for what were private messages between two individuals, i personally worry where the world is going with regards privacy .
22-08-2014, 06:55 PM
Don't think he mentioned homeless people, just beggars. There is quite a difference.
Correct ... Too many people on here looking for an argument .. !
22-08-2014, 06:58 PM
The funny thing is if Mackay is hounded out of football for this, it creates a crazy situation, at the end of the day regardless of the content he is being hung out for what were private messages between two individuals, i personally worry where the world is going with regards privacy .
Spot on ... Privacy does not exist anymore. !!!!
22-08-2014, 07:09 PM
Isn't debate and argument part of the reason for this board?
22-08-2014, 07:24 PM
How do they manage to sit through games at Easter road where I have heard much, much worse?
22-08-2014, 07:29 PM
How do they manage to sit through games at Easter road where I have heard much, much worse?
Thats a fair shout, you hear much the same stuff or worse in pubs up and down ER on a matchday or otherwise, nobody bats an eyelid. Don't think I've ever seen anyone being challenged for a statement they've made, whether I was in agreement with it or not.
22-08-2014, 08:04 PM
So out of 10000 texts apparently a 3 offensive ones from malky. Hang the jock prick.
Stranraer
22-08-2014, 08:08 PM
Says the guy who posted about "Eastern European beggars", wisen up lad.
22-08-2014, 08:17 PM
Thats a fair shout, you hear much the same stuff or worse in pubs up and down ER on a matchday or otherwise, nobody bats an eyelid. Don't think I've ever seen anyone being challenged for a statement they've made, whether I was in agreement with it or not.
Exactly, easy to take the high ground from your keyboard though
22-08-2014, 08:34 PM
Oh come on, dramatic to the extreme!
22-08-2014, 08:42 PM
:stirrer: perhaps but I wonder if people were 'more' offended by the racist and/or homophobic remarks rather than the sexist ones? There does appear to be a varying degree of what is termed acceptable by some quarters :wink: FWIW, I think the both of them are idiots and deserve the flack that's coming their way.
22-08-2014, 08:45 PM
:stirrer: perhaps but I wonder if people were 'more' offended by the racist and/or homophobic remarks rather than the sexist ones? There does appear to be a varying degree of what is termed acceptable by some quarters :wink: FWIW, I think the both of them are idiots and deserve the flack that's coming their way.
Aye cause women never make negative generalistic remarks about men. Every bugger does it. The world is getting very boring.
22-08-2014, 08:57 PM
Aye cause women never make negative generalistic remarks about men. Every bugger does it. The world is getting very boring.
Didn't say that, you silly man :tee hee: but I am sure there are many women who do :aok:
22-08-2014, 08:59 PM
Didn't say that, you silly man :tee hee: but I am sure there are many women who do :aok:
And just as many men who do the same.
**** happens
22-08-2014, 09:02 PM
The whole PC thing has got completely out of hand. Society has become terrified of offending the very people that want to drag the developed world back to the dark ages . Mackays private text comments were made to a friend who he knew would not take offence. If he had been sending texts to individuals to cause offence that would be a different matter.
22-08-2014, 09:03 PM
The whole PC thing has got completely out of hand. Society has become terrified of offending the very people that want to drag the developed world back to the dark ages . Mackays private text comments were made to a friend who he knew would not take offence. If he had been sending texts to individuals to cause offence that would be a different matter.
Yes yes yes
22-08-2014, 09:12 PM
Conversely, he would also surely have been aware of the nature of said messages, how they would come across and what would happen should they be discovered by the media.
In an age of phone hacking and other such practices, you have to say that at the least, he was supremely stupid. While people should have their privacy, that's a rare thing, especially for those in the public eye, so I find it hard to have even a little sympathy for him, given the content of his texts.
Stranraer
22-08-2014, 09:26 PM
Conversely, he would also surely have been aware of the nature of said messages, how they would come across and what would happen should they be discovered by the media.
In an age of phone hacking and other such practices, you have to say that at the least, he was supremely stupid. While people should have their privacy, that's a rare thing, especially for those in the public eye, so I find it hard to have even a little sympathy for him, given the content of his texts.
:top marks once upon a time this sort of tripe was common.
22-08-2014, 09:36 PM
Spot on MB :aok:
He's still a daft bugger though :wink:
22-08-2014, 09:36 PM
And just as many men who do the same.
**** happens
I'm not disagreeing :aok:
What did he say about black players?
There were several texts about black people that could be considered offensive.
Was it the other guy who was responsible for them?
22-08-2014, 09:37 PM
I wont sleep tonight knowing some folk are being sick.
22-08-2014, 09:38 PM
It's not clear and I reckon tan is being a bit sneaky with what he has leaked.
Does it really matter what one it was? All these honkeys look exactly the same anyway.
22-08-2014, 09:51 PM
It is not often i agree with Harry Rednapp or even his dog but this time i do. There are people who make a good living from being offended by working their way into good, highly paid jobs by being so. In the rush to been seen to be so PC these people are given far more important and highly paid jobs whose only skill is being great at being offended.
Name names.
22-08-2014, 10:33 PM
Not sure mate. I read the one about the Koreans but hadn't seen one about a black player(s).
hibs4life
22-08-2014, 10:54 PM
A few posts on here suggesting that because the texts were between 2 people and therefore essentially private that this lessens the offence/offense. Let's remember that these comments were about fellow employees and potential employees and their recruitment. It indicates people of certain ethnicity, gender and sexual orientation would not be treated fairly or equally.
If the reported content of the texts is accurate then MM is just plain wrong and deserves all that comes to him.
I fail to understand why there is some debate on this but then again the 'PC gone mad' crowd do like these types of issues to peddle their own reactionary agendas, rather than consider why inclusiveness and respect for others might be more important. As Nick Lowe sang, What's So Funny About Peace, Love and Understanding..
22-08-2014, 11:39 PM
Those Blackpool kebab shops have a lot to answer for! The one on Talbot Road is particularly dodgy. Good spicy onions though.
23-08-2014, 12:59 AM
Says the guy who posted about "Eastern European beggars", wisen up lad.
Wisen Up to what ? The fact that they sit on princes St. dragging it down to look like a third world city, I have seen begging to the extreme in major cities and we will end up the same if we let it continue, plus the fact it is organised and they use cripples etc for sympathy.. Time you got wise bud !!
23-08-2014, 02:59 AM
The problem with this whole episode is that two people send each other messages which are racist, sexist and homophobic for what they probably see as a bit of a laugh, they don't think they're causing anyone any offence as they are the only two people reading them. Once these messages are then made public they try and say it's just banter and they don't really hold those views, but it's to late now, they will forever be known as racists and sexists. Mud sticks and whether they actually are racists or not is irrelevant now, IMO both of them are finished in football.
23-08-2014, 04:01 AM
Even more messages today. Appears to call the Owner Vincent Tan a c***k but worst of all is probably what Moody text Mackay.
At the time, Mackay was concerned that a player they were pursuing had been linked with a rival club. He relayed his feelings to Moody, who replied: ‘He told me he had an offer to go there but will never accept because the manager is a racist. Thankfully he hasn’t met you.’
23-08-2014, 05:38 AM
A few posts on here suggesting that because the texts were between 2 people and therefore essentially private that this lessens the offence/offense. Let's remember that these comments were about fellow employees and potential employees and their recruitment. It indicates people of certain ethnicity, gender and sexual orientation would not be treated fairly or equally.
If the reported content of the texts is accurate then MM is just plain wrong and deserves all that comes to him.
I fail to understand why there is some debate on this but then again the 'PC gone mad' crowd do like these types of issues to peddle their own reactionary agendas, rather than consider why inclusiveness and respect for others might be more important. As Nick Lowe sang, What's So Funny About Peace, Love and Understanding..
Whilst Israel, with the support of our Government, practices genocide in Gazza we have people "outraged" by a few text messages.
23-08-2014, 06:49 AM
Those Blackpool kebab shops have a lot to answer for! The one on Talbot Road is particularly dodgy. Good spicy onions though.
I struggled and only got 8 hours, and yes have had much less after one of those. :greengrin
23-08-2014, 06:59 AM
Whilst Israel, with the support of our Government, practices genocide in Gazza we have people "outraged" by a few text messages.
You do realise how ridiculous this argument is? Malky Mackay hasnt killed civilians in Gaza, therefore all is well?
23-08-2014, 07:45 AM
When does humour become something else?
Are people on here who are outraged honestly telling me they have never laughed, smiled or even talked about chinese restaurants and missing cats? No one on here has ever nudged his mates arm whilst looking at a well endowed lady and said 'look at the lungs on her!! I'd love to....", no-one on here has never laughed at a joke such as 'what's the difference between Ian Bothams bat and Freddie Mercurys chin?' No-one laughed at blackadder when he said to Baldrick, 'you'll stand out on our plantation Baldrick. Really? Yes all the other slaves will be black!'
And we can on and on. So no-one laughs at Benny Hill now, or Rising Damp? Or On The Buses?
And please before you go on about context, if we had never heard the Botham/Mercury joke and McKay happened to have texted about someone, 'His chin has hit more balls than Ian Bothams bat', is it humour or this so called homophobia? (I always thought phobia was a fear. I dont actually know anyone scared of homosexuals). And if some guys in a bar are talking about a womans anatomy but she can't hear is that any more correct? By the way, it's ok with me...I love women and have no problems admitting that I look. I don't stare, I don't make them uncomfortable, but I will look and say to myself, 'lovely' and then the moment's gone.
Now, if it is proven that he actually discriminated against people and used their ethnicity, sexual orientation or diet against them then that would be another matter.
But texts between 2 people? Completely different. In todays world under the scrutiny of the electronic evidence you would think it the dumbest thing that people can do. But there is a difference between being dumb and being malicious.
These outraged people who think it right that private conversations should be 'outed' are probably the same who think it ok for the police and other state officials to secretly monitor everyones personal email because 'if you're not doing anything wrong, you've nothing to hide'.
I'm off to watch some Bernard Manning on Youtube! Cheer myself up before the game !
23-08-2014, 07:53 AM
Are people on here who are outraged honestly telling me they have never laughed, smiled or even talked about chinese restaurants and missing cats? No one on here has ever nudged his mates arm whilst looking at a well endowed lady and said 'look at the lungs on her!! I'd love to....", no-one on here has never laughed at a joke such as 'what's the difference between Ian Bothams bat and Freddie Mercurys chin?' No-one laughed at blackadder when he said to Baldrick, 'you'll stand out on our plantation Baldrick. Really? Yes all the other slaves will be black!'
And we can on and on. So no-one laughs at Benny Hill now, or Rising Damp? Or On The Buses?
And please before you go on about context, if we had never heard the Botham/Mercury joke and McKay happened to have texted about someone, 'His chin has hit more balls than Ian Bothams bat', is it humour or this so called homophobia? (I always thought phobia was a fear. I dont actually know anyone scared of homosexuals). And if some guys in a bar are talking about a womans anatomy but she can't hear is that any more correct? By the way, it's ok with me...I love women and have no problems admitting that I look. I don't stare, I don't make them uncomfortable, but I will look and say to myself, 'lovely' and then the moment's gone.
Now, if it is proven that he actually discriminated against people and used their ethnicity, sexual orientation or diet against them then that would be another matter.
But texts between 2 people? Completely different. In todays world under the scrutiny of the electronic evidence you would think it the dumbest thing that people can do. But there is a difference between being dumb and being malicious.
These outraged people who think it right that private conversations should be 'outed' are probably the same who think it ok for the police and other state officials to secretly monitor everyones personal email because 'if you're not doing anything wrong, you've nothing to hide'.
I'm off to watch some Bernard Manning on Youtube! Cheer myself up before the game !
I still love watching these re-runs if only they could re-run Love Thy Neighbour too.
23-08-2014, 07:58 AM
I still love watching these re-runs if only they could re-run Love Thy Neighbour too.
Hey...ScouseHibee, I think you are stirring it here :wink:
Actually, that was the one I could not recall the name of.
23-08-2014, 08:00 AM
Not at all mate, I was just adding a valuable contribution to your excellent post. :aok:
23-08-2014, 08:07 AM
Not at all mate, I was just adding a valuable contribution to your excellent post. :aok:
I know :greengrin I was just kidding.
23-08-2014, 08:10 AM
I'll be sick tonight knowing some people are sleeping :wink:
tomhorn
23-08-2014, 08:11 AM
Is this post just an excuse to wheel out some of your fav jokes?
😀
23-08-2014, 08:15 AM
I'll be sick tonight knowing some people are sleeping :wink:
Aw naw, i have no idea what to do now? :greengrin
23-08-2014, 08:20 AM
Is this post just an excuse to wheel out some of your fav jokes?
Well, as there is a complete absence of Tommy Cooper jokes I have to say NO!
23-08-2014, 08:38 AM
No wonder Gazza looks as bad as he does - the papers were saying it was bevvy.
23-08-2014, 09:02 AM
There have been nine cease-fires in the recent conflict every one of them broken by Hamas, the government chosen by the people of Gazza.
23-08-2014, 09:08 AM
Things change mate, your whole post reeks of the 70s and 80s.
Even my parents stopped making the Chinese food related jokes about 15 years ago, you are a relic and your harmless wee jokes are dying on their arse.
They are private texts between two people that are working in very public jobs, there is always the risk this stuff comes out, they obviously though it was worth the risk.
All this has done for me is weed out folk like you that think old worn out racist jokes are still funny and let me know there's a lot more of you about than i first thought.
The freddy mercury joke in particular is a confusing example, so he's sucked hundreds of boabys just because he's gay? I know plenty gay folk and they arent all out bedding different guys each night, your joke implies that because he is gay he is a slut and should be thought of less because of that. No really very funny.
Stranraer
23-08-2014, 09:45 AM
Wisen Up to what ? The fact that they sit on princes St. dragging it down to look like a third world city, I have seen begging to the extreme in major cities and we will end up the same if we let it continue, plus the fact it is organised and they use cripples etc for sympathy.. Time you got wise bud !!
You sound exactly like a Hun lad, why do you insist on using terms like "cripples"? It's not just your city you know, time to get off your high horse and stop being xenophobic.
hibs4life
23-08-2014, 09:47 AM
FFS! Now it's being implied we ignore offensive behaviour because there are much greater wrongs being perpetrated in the world. Time to leave this thread, it's just too depressing...
23-08-2014, 09:50 AM
You sound exactly like a Hun lad
I dinnae get that at all, what do you mean?
Stranraer
23-08-2014, 10:10 AM
I dinnae get that at all, what do you mean?
Xenophobia is rife among fans of Sevco, therefore he sounds like a hun. Get it? :greengrin
Edit: I really can't argue with someone who has such a nice avatar.
H18Y GW
23-08-2014, 10:14 AM
Imagine a few on here watching "love thy Neighbour"..........TV would be banned:agree:
Mock outrage is Hilarious tbh
23-08-2014, 10:15 AM
Things change mate, your whole post reeks of the 70s and 80s.
Even my parents stopped making the Chinese food related jokes about 15 years ago, you are a relic and your harmless wee jokes are dying on their arse.
They are private texts between two people that are working in very public jobs, there is always the risk this stuff comes out, they obviously though it was worth the risk.
All this has done for me is weed out folk like you that think old worn out racist jokes are still funny and let me know there's a lot more of you about than i first thought.
The freddy mercury joke in particular is a confusing example, so he's sucked hundreds of boabys just because he's gay? I know plenty gay folk and they arent all out bedding different guys each night, your joke implies that because he is gay he is a slut and should be thought of less because of that. No really very funny.
'Even' your parents? Not sure what that implies. But it is good to know that about 15 years ago (lol...can't believe you can recall when they walked their personal road to Damascus) they felt it was time to leave their sense of humour behind as a relic of the 20th century. Perhaps just a new millenium resolution?
Things do change but when it comes to humour the main change is not that people find humour less or indeed more funny but that they feel unable to acknowledge how funny they might find something considered to reek from the 70's and 80's, a relic from the past.
The examples I gave were a response to the examples of McKay's texts, Asian, Homosexuality and Feminist. If the texts had been about religion, nationality I would have tried to give examples of those. If you choose to infer that I was calling Mercury a slut and that he should be thought less of because he was homosexual you are talking nonsense and sound somewhat paranoid. When it comes to my past with girls/women many would say I'm a slut in that I have slept with many and although getting on, still love women. I don't care if Mercury was sleeping with different guys every day of his life. His business. My point was the joke was laughed at and if truth be known by ALL ages, was considered funny and people would still laugh now if they heard it for the first time. Maybe not your parents and some might not show it because there are the white knights on their steeds ready to charge in and weed us relics out. Of course I probably can't say white knight now!! People now still laugh at re-runs of programs that are definitely not 'pc'. Even young people. If it's funny, they laugh. If it's not funny they don't laugh.
Not saying every person in the world laughed at every joke but the joke itself is not the point, it is the fact that humour is different things to different people and what passed in private texts is their business. I know and ackowledge I am sure I would have laughed at some of their texts and not at others.
Also, if we relics are dying on our arse how are there a lot more of us out here than you first thought? Just a slow death is it?
Also, don't ever think you can weed anyone out, especially me !!! Be pretty difficult as you responded to a 'public' post of mine so quite redundant weeding me out when I had already gone 'public'. Quite ironical really, because if I was asked about the youth of today, 'weed' would be one of the first things to my mind.
Niffy
23-08-2014, 10:17 AM
Spot on. Too many folk go out their way to find things that offend them.
I've friends of many race/religion/sexual persuasion and we rib each other all the time.
(Even THAT sounds quite offensive).
The modern media and fake middle class offended folk can right off.
23-08-2014, 10:39 AM
No wonder Gazza looks as bad as he does - the papers were saying it was bevvy.
I know - I had heard about the booze problems, but poor guy.
They're doing GENOCIDE on him now? Wow!
23-08-2014, 10:40 AM
FFS! Now it's being implied we ignore offensive behaviour because there are much greater wrongs being perpetrated in the world. Time to leave this thread, it's just too depressing...
Thanks, i was worried people would only be sick over this. Thanks for adding depression to the list.
23-08-2014, 10:42 AM
Thanks, i was worried people would only be sick over this. Thanks for adding depression to the list.
I'm outraged/offended (and that) that you're not recognising depression as a sickness.
23-08-2014, 10:44 AM
Finally! A Hibs related angle to the story!!
23-08-2014, 10:45 AM
I'm outraged/offended (and that) that you're not recognising depression as a sickness.
I'm sorry, will you accept it as long as i don't work as a postman ever again?
23-08-2014, 10:49 AM
Finally! A Hibs related angle to the story!!
23-08-2014, 10:51 AM
You're probably suffering from Political Correctness Insanity Syndrome.
23-08-2014, 10:54 AM
Yes it does. You and a few others of your pals on this thread.
Expecting Rain
23-08-2014, 10:55 AM
Malky should have been aware that his views would be perceived as insulting and offensive by many, however he has been incredibly stupid to a certain extent and subsequently apologised. He has to live with the consequences of his mistakes and for me that itself is punishment enough. Without the chance to redeem ourselves we are nothing.
" And If my thought-dreams could be seen, they`d probably put my head in a guillotine
but it`s alright ma, it`s life and life only"
Bob Dylan
23-08-2014, 11:00 AM
Malky should have been aware that his views would be perceived as insulting and offensive by many, however he has been incredibly stupid to a certain extent and subsequently apologised. He has to live with the consequences of his mistakes and for me that itself is punishment enough. Without the chance to redeem ourselves we are nothing.
" And If my thought-dreams could be seen, they`d probably put my head in a guillotine
but it`s alright ma, it`s life and life only"
Bob Dylan
Mmmm, I recognise the avatar but associate it with CWG.
etiquette infringement? :wink:
23-08-2014, 11:05 AM
Stupid thing to do in the first place. More so with all the attention on kicking this attitude out the game but...... I don't think he should be banned from managing again, and I hope he's back in football soon!
There are more serious issues in this world where politicians and presenters are still walking the streets knowing they are Pedo's along with others knowing It too.
Let him say sorry and let him learn from it. Not one person on this board hasn't made a stupid mistake they regret.
23-08-2014, 11:11 AM
Clarke Carlisle at the Book Festival last night had some interesting takes on it.
He had the usual bland comments like "shocked" , "Malky's a lovely guy. He's been to dinner" "he is no racist...." etc etc.
However, he went on to say that, if the accusations are genuine, MM has to live with the consequences. Not that he should be hounded, but that he should be allowed to deal with the issues in his own way. I haven't read CC''s book, but it seems to be full of issues of victim of circumstance/mistakes/redemption etc. He was suggesting that MM is a product of a certain environment, but that that environment needs to be addressed and dealt with, appropriately but with acknowledgment of its roots.
23-08-2014, 11:16 AM
Mmmm, I recognise the avatar but associate it with CWG.
etiquette infringement? :wink:
I am quite happy for others to have the same avatar as me. If it confuses people into thinking that some of my stupider posts were made by others, that can only be a good thing. :greengrin
23-08-2014, 11:17 AM
Originally Posted by Hibs7
If, and I want you to think about this before you answer, a black person cracks a joke about blacks, is it racist and if a homosexual cracks a joke about homosexual is it homophobic?
23-08-2014, 11:17 AM
Love thy neighbour, although being a bit more slapstick than TDUDP/Alf Garnett, was another programme that always ended up with the racist looking daft.
23-08-2014, 11:35 AM
Stupid thing to do in the first place. More so with all the attention on kicking this attitude out the game but...... I don't think he should be banned from managing again, and I hope he's back in football soon!
There are more serious issues in this world where politicians and presenters are still walking the streets knowing they are Pedo's along with others knowing It too.
Let him say sorry and let him learn from it. Not one person on this board hasn't made a stupid mistake they regret.
Of course he will be, if a clown like this can get back in the game http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/drink-drive-killer-luke-mccormick-made-3875699 then there won't be any problem for Malky Mckay.
23-08-2014, 11:36 AM
Absolute and utter rubbish.
23-08-2014, 11:37 AM
If, and I want you to think about this before you answer, a black person cracks a joke about blacks, is it racist and if a homosexual cracks a joke about homosexual is it homophobic?
Only whites can be racist ! or am I stuck in the past as well ?
23-08-2014, 11:37 AM
Xenophobia is rife among fans of Sevco, therefore he sounds like a hun. Get it? :greengrin
Edit: I really can't argue with someone who has such a nice avatar.
Whats calling people cripples got to do with xenophobia though?
23-08-2014, 11:48 AM
Only whites can be racist ! or am I stuck in the past as well ?
It's no so bad being a relic !!
23-08-2014, 11:55 AM
Absolute and utter rubbish.
If you say so ....
But if it sounds like a racist and laughs at the things racists laugh at and smells like a racist too - get my drift? :wink:
23-08-2014, 11:56 AM
Your wasting your time Hutchy ... He is a saint and walks on water !!
23-08-2014, 11:57 AM
If you say so ....
But if it sounds like a racist and laughs at the things racists laugh at and smells like a racist too - get my drift? :wink:
Ok mr perfect !
Your wasting your time Hutchy ... He is a saint and walks on water !!
Ok mr perfect !How about cutting out the personal stuff & getting back on topic ..
Stranraer
23-08-2014, 12:07 PM
The two are unrelated.
FYI For the people asking why a black person can make a joke about their race but not white people: When a black person uses the n word they are using it as a profanity, when a white person says it they are usually reminding black people that they were once our property.
This is the sort of debate I had in secondary school.:rolleyes:
23-08-2014, 12:13 PM
The two are unrelated.
FYI For the people asking why a black person can make a joke about their race but not white people: When a black person uses the n word they are using it as a profanity, when a white person says it they are usually reminding black people that they were once our property.
I'm confused now, why is it for my information? I never mentioned black people in any of my posts but, thanks for the lesson anyway.
23-08-2014, 12:14 PM
The two are unrelated.
Our property? Sounds like white boy talk to me !!!
23-08-2014, 12:17 PM
I'm confused now, why is it for my information? I never mentioned black people in any of my posts but, thanks for the lesson anyway.
Hutchy, it was me asking Doddie if a black person cracked a joke about blacks is it racist and if a homesexual etc etc.
Evidently they use it as humour but we whites use it as a reminder of OUR white power when WE owned them !!! laughable really. Glad I missed his school debates. Glad I missed school actually!
23-08-2014, 12:23 PM
Good point. Tarantino was accused of reverse racism after 'Django Unchained' was released. I guess a few good ol' boys didn't like it when they got the treatment Hollywood and TV had been handing out to African-Americans for decades. Actually there was nothing in that movie that was unfair or untrue in its portrayal of black slavery in the antebellum South, unlike 'Gone With The Wind', every moment of which implied that the slaves were really ever so much happier when Massa was looking after them and they didn't have to worry their poor wooly heads about anything other than being sold down the river to the death-camps in the Delta. Sometimes we need to restore a bit of balance? Besides, Tarantino isn't African-American (I believe he has Irish-Italian-Cherokee-American descent), so his mockery of the Old South and the Peculiar Institution is what exactly?
Reginald D Hunter (from Georgia, US) uses his humour to challenge attitudes to race - very funny man, but his humour isn't aimed at blacks - it's aimed at folks who think they're ever so liberal but are not.
BBC Four showed a series of short programs which were nothing more than a number of (quote) 'old Jews telling jokes' - Jewish jokes many of which were very funny indeed. Jewish people telling Jewish jokes aren't racist; I'm not so sure about exactly why I (as a gentile) found them as funny as I did. I'm still thinking about that one.
Frankie Boyle tells jokes about Scotland and the Scots which would qualify an Englishman telling the same jokes for a quick and terminal trip to the pathology lab. I don't find that funny - there are plenty folks in the world ready and eager to put Scots down without us doing it for them.
I would like to think that everyone on this board who approves of jokes about Freddy Mercury's homosexuality or Bernard Manning's racist humour (Chubby Brown, anyone?) was simply laughing at himself or herself in an entirely innocent way. I don't. It's a way we have of feeding our insecurities and putting other people down to make ourselves feel better about our own sorry lives, and it stinks.
23-08-2014, 12:44 PM
When a black person uses the n word they are using it as a profanity, :rolleyes:
Miles out.
Black people pled appropriated the word for themselves.
We've had the ridiculous situation with the Met Pploice threatening to arrest any Spurs fan using the word Yid. The Yid Army call themselves that for the same reason black people use the N word...
23-08-2014, 12:50 PM
Good point. Tarantino was accused of reverse racism after 'Django Unchained' was released. I guess a few good ol' boys didn't like it when they got the treatment Hollywood and TV had been handing out to African-Americans for decades. Actually there was nothing in that movie that was unfair or untrue in its portrayal of black slavery in the antebellum South, unlike 'Gone With The Wind', every moment of which implied that the slaves were really ever so much happier when Massa was looking after them and they didn't have to worry their poor wooly heads about anything other than being sold down the river to the death-camps in the Delta. Sometimes we need to restore a bit of balance? Besides, Tarantino isn't African-American (I believe he has Irish-Italian-Cherokee-American descent), so his mockery of the Old South and the Peculiar Institution is what exactly?
Reginald D Hunter (from Georgia, US) uses his humour to challenge attitudes to race - very funny man, but his humour isn't aimed at blacks - it's aimed at folks who think they're ever so liberal but are not.
BBC Four showed a series of short programs which were nothing more than a number of (quote) 'old Jews telling jokes' - Jewish jokes many of which were very funny indeed. Jewish people telling Jewish jokes aren't racist; I'm not so sure about exactly why I (as a gentile) found them as funny as I did. I'm still thinking about that one.
Frankie Boyle tells jokes about Scotland and the Scots which would qualify an Englishman telling the same jokes for a quick and terminal trip to the pathology lab. I don't find that funny - there are plenty folks in the world ready and eager to put Scots down without us doing it for them.
I would like to think that everyone on this board who approves of jokes about Freddy Mercury's homosexuality or Bernard Manning's racist humour (Chubby Brown, anyone?) was simply laughing at himself or herself in an entirely innocent way. I don't. It's a way we have of feeding our insecurities and putting other people down to make ourselves feel better about our own sorry lives, and it stinks.
That is so patronising. Maybe you feel insecure and feel you have a sorry life!
In some ways I've made a total mess of mine but most of it was fun and I keep trying to look forward. When I recounted the Mercury joke it was not a dig at him but an attempt, clumsy perhaps, to point out how hypocritical some people are regarding what they laughed at and what now angers them.
How on earth could I put down a great entertainer, a good singer, a great songwriter and a good musician who probably had quite a lot of money? Hell, I went to see Queen 5 times back when the 70's and 80's 'reeked' of great bands.
And as far as Bernard Manning and Chubby Brown go, I doubt the audience go (or went) in the hope that they will feel better about themselves by hearing others put down.
23-08-2014, 12:53 PM
Interesting you highlight Reg D Hunter doddie, I have seen him twice and you are bang on about his comedy - unlike Boyle, he doesn't say these jokes to deliberately shock and gain media notoriety....he says them to challenge our thinking and debate.......and laugh. It is okay to laugh sometimes at subjects which are dark and sinister, in the right context.
Have a read of this mate......you might not relate but I think you'll enjoy.
http://politeire.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/the-anatomy-of-a-joke/
Stranraer
23-08-2014, 12:56 PM
Interesting you highlight Reg D Hunter doddie, I have seen him twice and you are bang on about his comedy - unlike Boyle, he doesn't say these jokes to deliberately shock and gain media notoriety....he says them to challenge our thinking and debate.......and laugh. It is okay to laugh sometimes at subjects which are dark and sinister, in the right context.
Have a read of this mate......you might not relate but I think you'll enjoy.
http://politeire.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/the-anatomy-of-a-joke/
Frankie Boyle doesn't make "shocking" jokes for the sake of it - that's just his style of comedy and he certainly doesn't need the media attention.
23-08-2014, 12:59 PM
There was an Englishman, an Irishman and a Scotsman, all stuck on a Deserted Island...................
23-08-2014, 01:01 PM
Frankie Boyle doesn't make "shocking" jokes for the sake of it - that's just his style of comedy and he certainly doesn't need the media attention.
Yeah, such humour he has too, like joking about Katie Price needing somebody big to defend her in case her mentally disabled son tries to rape her.
Oh how we laughed........
23-08-2014, 01:21 PM
There is a massive difference between two friends making a one-off comment which is derogatory about a particular group and the same two people exchanging such remarks on a regular basis.
The former can be regarded as humour (depending on the context) but the latter reveals an underlying attitude. On that basis both Mackay and Moody are thoroughly unpleasant individuals.
23-08-2014, 01:28 PM
Really? Ever noticed the wee smirk he gives to the camera whenever he's come out with something really offensive? He's built himself the reputation and he works hard to live up to it.
And people go to his shows because that's the sort of 'humour' they like to hear and repeat.
I think that a 'comedian' like Boyle who makes his living from insulting and denigrating his own people - and this goes for any comedian who does that, whatever his ethnic or racial background, whatever his particular lifestyle - just opens a door for others.
So a black comedian telling the sort of jokes about blacks that an Alabama redneck would tell about blacks may not be a racist, but he needs to take a hard look at himself. the expression that comes to my mind is 'Uncle Tom'.
I don't know how many would be old enough to remember 'Round The Horne' on BBC Radio. Kenneth Williams and Hugh Paddick did a series of sketches on that show involving Julian and Sandy, a couple of very camp out-of-work actors. The jokes were about homosexuality, not usual at the time.
Both actors were homosexual. HP lived in a steady, long-term relationship; KW was unhappy, conflicted, and celibate.
The Julian and Sandy sketches were brilliant, but if one of the actors was in a happy and stable situation and the other was very definitely not, what does that say about why they were performing in them?
I do think that the sketches, and the fact that they were broadcast by the BBC in one of its most popular comedy shows, went a long way to challenging attitudes to homosexuals at the time and since. They were a lot more positive and intelligent than moronic jokes about Freddie Mercury's chin or the size of Jordan's boobs. (Or anyone else's chin/boobs/whatever.)
23-08-2014, 01:40 PM
Wait a minute some of my best friends are.......... Ah it doesn't matter I find many jokes funny that others may find offensive. I don'really care what others think about that, I know I have a damn good sense of humour!! Oh there's a ginger in front of me at ER just now too1