20-08-2014, 07:01 PM
Livi 1 Hearts 0

Maribor 1 Celtic 1

20-08-2014, 07:01 PM
Mon the Livi Lions :thumbsup::thumbsup:

20-08-2014, 07:09 PM
Hearts are fielding a very weak team tonight, mostly reserves or so I'm told. I don't recognise any of the names in fairness.

20-08-2014, 07:17 PM
I wouldn't blame hearts for wanting to be out of that competition.

20-08-2014, 07:18 PM
Hearts are fielding a very weak team tonight, mostly reserves or so I'm told. I don't recognise any of the names in fairness.

looking at the team sheet they have started with just the one player that started against us on sunday, this cup must be of no value to the pink scarf twirlers

20-08-2014, 07:20 PM
Spectacular non punch by Gordon. Had the good grace to smile about it afterwards

20-08-2014, 07:40 PM

:agree: Complete waste of money, time and injury and suspension risks.

20-08-2014, 08:16 PM
I find it quite funny there isn't one Scotland flag amongst that Celtic support, yet there's a green yes banner :rolleyes:

EastCalderHibby
20-08-2014, 08:19 PM

so called 3000 sewer dwellers at the game would think otherwise :greengrin:lolyam:

20-08-2014, 08:20 PM
Griffiths on now.

20-08-2014, 08:23 PM
C'mon Leigh, an own goal from 30 yards should see you back to the holy ground sharpish.

20-08-2014, 08:25 PM
2-0 livvy.

20-08-2014, 08:25 PM
Shame

EastCalderHibby
20-08-2014, 08:26 PM
2 0 the lions giruy :greengrin:greengrin:na na:

20-08-2014, 08:27 PM

But what about their 'strong squad' myth?

20-08-2014, 08:27 PM
Great atmosphere from the Maribor fans penned in behind their goal. This is 100% what we should be attempting with the FF lower

20-08-2014, 08:29 PM
3-0

20-08-2014, 08:29 PM
Lol.

EastCalderHibby
20-08-2014, 08:30 PM
3-0

4 zip

20-08-2014, 08:31 PM
4-0

But what about their 'strong squad' myth?

To be fair to them(yuck) they are basically playing an entire reserve team. They've not even bothered with guys like Holt who have been on the fringes.

Edit: 3-0 lol. Aye, they are pish

hibbymick
Livingston also missing 4 players from saturdays game. :wink:

DarrenSQH
20-08-2014, 08:32 PM
Even though it's a youth team you have to love them getting pumped 4-0

20-08-2014, 08:34 PM
Reserves or not that's a bad result, winning games breeds confidence and if they'd won tonight it would have added to their momentum.

It'll also give other teams confidence when they come up against hearts.

20-08-2014, 08:35 PM
Even though it's a youth team you have to love them getting pumped 4-0

Would be better if it was 5-1.

20-08-2014, 08:35 PM
Checked the odds when the line ups were announce and Livi were 13/5

I have no money :boo hoo:

20-08-2014, 08:37 PM
All you will here is glad we are out of this ***** cup. Baws. They bragging about how they would win it and play rangers in the final...... We wake up call tonight. If they get a few injuries and suspensions it just shows you that they don't have the depth in the squad to cover.

20-08-2014, 08:39 PM
Great atmosphere from the Maribor fans penned in behind their goal. This is 100% what we should be attempting with the FF lower

I went to the Maribor away leg and their supporters were outstanding.

4-1. Ft. The 1 was an og.

Shows what a few injuries or suspensions will do to them.

A lot has been made of us lacking strength in depth but doesn't appear their squad is too hot either.

Canongatehibs
20-08-2014, 08:40 PM
To be fair to them(yuck) they are basically playing an entire reserve team. They've not even bothered with guys like Holt who have been on the fringes.

Edit: 3-0 lol. Aye, they are pish

Maybe so, but it's a depleted and very young Livingston team too. A fair drubbing this evening. Well done MEADOWBANK THISTLE ;-)

20-08-2014, 08:40 PM

I was there too. I'm in a pic taken by the club with my huge flag draped over the perimeter fence at the front of the terrace. Great trip pish result.

20-08-2014, 08:41 PM
All you will here is glad we are out of this ***** cup. Baws. They bragging about how they would win it and play rangers in the final...... We wake up call tonight. If they get a few injuries and suspensions it just shows you that they don't have the depth in the squad to cover.
thats what ive been saying a few injuries and suspensions then there squad is a bit threadbare. thats were the rangers have an advantage bigger squad than us and that mob.

Canongatehibs
20-08-2014, 08:41 PM
I find it quite funny there isn't one Scotland flag amongst that Celtic support, yet there's a green yes banner :rolleyes:

Why?

Hardly a new phenomenon is it?

20-08-2014, 08:43 PM
Why?

Hardly a new phenomenon is it?
No not new, but a Scottish club with at least one fan supporting independence but only Ireland flags on show? Just found it a bit funny.

20-08-2014, 08:44 PM
Great night's work Livi - avoiding Rangers in the next round would be nice :greengrin

20-08-2014, 08:47 PM

Effing damp though!

20-08-2014, 08:56 PM
Effing damp though!

It was damp. I remember that somewhat. Their fans were extremely impressive aswell. Would be unreal if the lower FF was like that

bob12345
20-08-2014, 08:58 PM
Don't get the disregard towards the Challenge Cup. It's the best chance for Hibs, Hearts and Rangers to win a cup. Playing in the second tier we can hardly consider it beneath us and with fewer league games putting together a run is hardly too taxing.

20-08-2014, 08:59 PM
Kickback tonight :faf:

Pray4Marc
20-08-2014, 09:00 PM
"It was just a young side".

"It's just the wee cup".

"Now we can focus on what's important".

"Going out this cup is a blessing. Who gives a monkeys about the score against a Hearts reserve side. Onwards and upwards!" (Favourite)

20-08-2014, 09:01 PM
What was their starting line up?

20-08-2014, 09:04 PM
"It was just a young side".

"It's just the wee cup".

"Now we can focus on what's important".

"Going out this cup is a blessing. Who gives a monkeys about the score against a Hearts reserve side. Onwards and upwards!" (Favourite)

Oxymoron if ever I've seen one. From not caring to upwarding and onwarding in one move.

I'm just happy their bubble has been burst.

Pray4Marc
20-08-2014, 09:07 PM
Robinson, McKay (Not Medals), Oliver, Mghee and Keatings (20+ a season) Hollis. Just a youth team eh.

20-08-2014, 09:08 PM
What was their starting line up?

Heart of Midlothian

25 Hollis
29 Smith Booked
26 Gordon (Roy - 65' )
31 Henderson
30 McGhee
22 McKay
19 Keatings
08 Robinson
16 Oliver (Buchanan - 56' )
27 Beith (McKirdy - 85' )
14 Smith

Substitutes

28 Buchanan
32 Roy
33 Scott
34 McKirdy
35 Flanagan
36 Smith
41 Halliwell

GlasgowHibee
20-08-2014, 09:22 PM
Don't think there's anything to be taken from that Hearts result, they clearly couldn't be arsed with the competition and thought they'd give the youth a runabout.

Fortunately enough for them that's one game off both Walker and Sow's suspensions.

20-08-2014, 09:22 PM
Don't think there's anything to be taken from that Hearts result, they clearly couldn't be arsed with the competition and thought they'd give the youth a runabout.

Fortunately enough for them that's one game off both Walker and Sow's suspensions.

That's a pish yam excuse

Pray4Marc
20-08-2014, 09:33 PM
That's a pish yam excuse

Agreed. Sow is worse than Ngoo and Walker? He's sh**. Getting them back in the starting 11 is benefit to every team bar Hearts.

20-08-2014, 09:52 PM
Hearts died tonight

Stranraer
20-08-2014, 10:16 PM
Kickback tonight :faf:

Hilarious isn't it, talk about meltdown!

Argylehibby
20-08-2014, 10:44 PM
BBC enjoyed the result, they have it twice on their results tonight page!

20-08-2014, 11:27 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/143731-official-livingston-v-hearts-match-thread/

Enjoy folks!

http://i.imgur.com/KiYq1Sw.gif

21-08-2014, 12:38 AM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/143731-official-livingston-v-hearts-match-thread/

Enjoy folks!

http://i.imgur.com/KiYq1Sw.gif

The seething!

21-08-2014, 06:10 AM
How utterly unproffesional of them as a club ....that was a cup competition that they could have won

21-08-2014, 07:44 AM
Don't get the disregard towards the Challenge Cup. It's the best chance for Hibs, Hearts and Rangers to win a cup. Playing in the second tier we can hardly consider it beneath us and with fewer league games putting together a run is hardly too taxing.
Hearts clearly decided to put out a youthful inexperienced team that had no chance of winning the game IMO hence the result In so doing they have made it clear thier intention is to focus keeping thier first team squad on thier main priority gaining promotion .Given our limited squad and with injuries and suspension it will be interesting to see what team we put out against Dumbarton .However for fans buying tickets in advance you would want that info in advance as you may want to decide you would rather go and see an under 20 game for a fraction of the cost

21-08-2014, 08:24 AM
Don't see any problem with what hearts did. They, like our main objective is to get promotion.

with our small squad I'd hope to see a lot of changes against Dumbarton as well.

Teams do it down South all the time for the carling cup.

21-08-2014, 08:26 AM
According to the reports in the Scotsman, he changed ten players from the starting line up at the weekend. It's not exactly a big surprise they got beat in those circumstances.

I'd say they weren't really too fussed about the Challenge Cup.

21-08-2014, 08:51 AM
Don't see any problem with what hearts did. They, like our main objective is to get promotion.

with our small squad I'd hope to see a lot of changes against Dumbarton as well.

Teams do it down South all the time for the carling cup.

I hope we play our full team against Dumbarton - they are in our league and will be a challenge enough , without rotating players

Also. I'd like a little cup run ...

21-08-2014, 08:55 AM
I hope we play our full team against Dumbarton - they are in our league and will be a challenge enough , without rotating players

Also. I'd like a little cup run ...

I agree. This is not the Challenge Cup so we should give it a higher priority.

21-08-2014, 08:57 AM
]Hearts clearly decided to put out a youthful inexperienced team that had no chance of winning the game IMO hence the result In so doing they have made it clear thier intention is to focus keeping thier first team squad on thier main priority gaining promotion [/B].Given our limited squad and with injuries and suspension it will be interesting to see what team we put out against Dumbarton .However for fans buying tickets in advance you would want that info in advance as you may want to decide you would rather go and see an under 20 game for a fraction of the cost

OR
Hearts arrogantly assumed that they could still win the tie despite resting some of their superstars. Instead they got crushed in humiliating fashion. **** the Hearts.

21-08-2014, 09:01 AM
According to the reports in the Scotsman, he changed ten players from the starting line up at the weekend. It's not exactly a big surprise they got beat in those circumstances.

I'd say they weren't really too fussed about the Challenge Cup.

:agree: However, are there not any sort of competition rules about fielding a deliberately weakened team? I'm not sure. :confused:

Anyway, it's always great to see HOMFC getting pumped and listening to all their usual excuses. :greengrin

21-08-2014, 09:03 AM
OR
Hearts arrogantly assumed that they could still win the tie despite resting some of their superstars. Instead they got crushed in humiliating fashion. **** the Hearts.
This is more in keeping with that arrogant bunch of deluded pricks. Remember they have the best youngsters in world football!!

GlenrothesHibee
21-08-2014, 09:21 AM
From what I saw on Sunday Hearts are far from good enough to rest their "best" players. Serves them right

21-08-2014, 09:45 AM
I wonder if it was Neilson or Levein's decision to field a weakened team?

To me, this team selection smacks of almost wanting to get beaten and exit this competition, because they are utterly desperate to get promoted this season. Dare I say it - by hook or by crook.

I'm not going to say they deliberately chucked the tie, but this looks a wee bit "iffy" I would say. Being HOMFC, nothing will come of it of course.

21-08-2014, 12:12 PM

To me, this team selection smacks of almost wanting to get beaten and exit this competition, because they are utterly desperate to get promoted this season. Dare I say it - by hook or by crook.

I'm not going to say they deliberately chucked the tie, but this looks a wee bit "iffy" I would say. Being HOMFC, nothing will come of it of course.

To be fair, teams can field weakened sides in cups if they like, happens quite a lot with the big clubs in the English League Cup.

IF Hearts decided they didn't want the distraction / extra games for a small first team squad, deciding to just field their reserves is a fair enough call. Don't think they'd get in trouble for it.

21-08-2014, 12:13 PM
They should be fined for this in my opinion. They are in this tournament on merit and shouldn't alter the dynamic for other teams by putting out a reserve side.

A complete lack of respect for the integrity of the tournament.

Jay
21-08-2014, 12:32 PM
My sons were there last night and from what they saw there were an awful lot of disappointed hearts fans leaving early having paid money in good faith to watch their team in a cup game. Fair enough it was reduced prices but they weren't expecting a reserve game, expectations were high. Also noted a lot of Hibbys in the home end singing hibs songs. One strange thing (although pretty petty) the tickets for a home Livi game were maroon and had HMFC printed all over them. I hasten to add one of my boys was working and the other was in the Livi end. :)

21-08-2014, 12:41 PM
Anything that knocks their confidence a bit is never a bad thing.

22-08-2014, 05:42 PM

They got beat so it was Neilson's idea.

If they had won it would've been Levein's masterstroke.