View Full Version : Falkirk v The Rangers

15-08-2014, 04:33 PM
If this had been an SPL match and we were in the SPL I probably wouldn't be giving two hoots but every game involving one of the title contenders this season makes this quite interesting.. Every point is going to count..

Anyway, come on The Rangers, 3 points against our title rivals will see us in good stead for Sunday

15-08-2014, 04:36 PM
Can't believe we're allowing a comment like "cmon the Rangers" on here, regardless of who they're playing! :-D

15-08-2014, 04:37 PM
Falkirk 1-3 Rangers

Boyd and Miller to get their first goals of the season

15-08-2014, 04:38 PM
Can't believe we're allowing a comment like "cmon the Rangers" on here, regardless of who they're playing! :-D

Tongue in cheek of course!

Come on the bairns never bodes well when your on the internet

15-08-2014, 05:02 PM
I think the The Rangers will get a point but it will require an eye-wateringly bad refereeing decision, probably for a penalty that Boyd will convert.

I must admit I'm quite looking forward to this too. I normally have little interest in Scottish football other than Hibs but the competition aspect of our league this year has really got me hooked. Whilst Sunday's game at Ibrox wasn't a classic it kept me interested for the duration. I've not watched this many non-Hibs Scottish games in years. And I have zero interest in the Scottish Premiership whatsoever. Strange times.

15-08-2014, 05:11 PM
The Rangers have beaten Falkirk in cup competitions in each of the past two seasons. Tonight's the kind of game they need to win if they're going to win the Championship over a season.

sbell1875
15-08-2014, 05:14 PM
If Falkirk win will Fat SAlly get the boot?

I hope not because with him at the helm of that sinking ship the greater our chances of promotion are.

15-08-2014, 05:21 PM
If this had been an SPL match and we were in the SPL I probably wouldn't be giving two hoots but every game involving one of the title contenders this season makes this quite interesting.. Every point is going to count..

Anyway, come on The Rangers, 3 points against our title rivals will see us in good stead for Sunday

I feel we would benefit if all our main rivals, huns, ****bos and falkirk get draws when they play and take points off each other. This only helps, of course, if we get a few wins here and there.

Bronson
15-08-2014, 05:22 PM
Tongue in cheek of course!

Come on the bairns never bodes well when your on the internet

15-08-2014, 05:26 PM
Watch out for the helping hand from the officials tonight. It will happen without a shadow of a doubt if thethe hun are toiling. Fat Ally will be helped out again but he will be papped out by Christmas in my opinion

Raymond
15-08-2014, 05:31 PM
If Falkirk win will Fat SAlly get the boot?

McCoist OUT Butcher IN

Pray4Marc
15-08-2014, 05:58 PM
Got a score on the huns HT/FT at 2/1.

15-08-2014, 06:05 PM
A draw would be good.

Rangers drop points but the draw probably keeps McCoist in a job for another week which heightens the chance of them dropping more points.

15-08-2014, 06:05 PM
Got a score on the huns HT/FT at 2/1.

Brave bet given how honking the huns are this season.

15-08-2014, 06:06 PM
McCoist OUT Butcher IN

:agree: Judging from the chants from the home fans at Ibrox last week during our visit there, he would be a pretty popular choice too. :greengrin

Pray4Marc
15-08-2014, 06:06 PM
Brave bet given how honking the huns are this season.

On another day they could have 2 or 3 up against the yams before they scored. Can see them steam rolling Falkirk tonight.

15-08-2014, 06:07 PM
I hope Falkirk hammer them tonight.

wazoo1875
15-08-2014, 06:31 PM
Is this game on the telly?

15-08-2014, 06:32 PM
Is this game on the telly?

BT Sport 1 (via a live stream for me)

15-08-2014, 06:45 PM
Maybury and Taiwo starting for Falkirk

wazoo1875
15-08-2014, 06:45 PM
BT Sport 1 (via a live stream for me)

Cheers Sergey, will have a look in 👍

15-08-2014, 06:48 PM
Taiwo on the end of a cross but keeper deflects it behind for a corner. Ref gives goal kick

15-08-2014, 06:49 PM
That lad Tom Taiwo looks like a decent player.

15-08-2014, 06:53 PM
Falkirk very close there. Hun keeper screaming at his defenders or lack of.

15-08-2014, 07:04 PM
This is the first time I've seen SEVCO this year - thank Falkirk (no pun intended) I didn't put money on them at 1/8 to win this division.

They are rank.

oramhibee
15-08-2014, 07:06 PM
Hope Falkirk win for 2 reasons:

1. I have a soft spot for them because I live near there & my pal's a Falkirk fan.
2. I hate the blue vermin.

15-08-2014, 07:08 PM
Hope Falkirk win for 1 reason - I despise everything about the vile sevconian **** bags.

hibs4thecup1988
15-08-2014, 07:14 PM
Hope Falkirk win for 1 reason - I despise everything about the vile sevconian **** bags.

:agree::agree:

Still can't believe Hibs never signed Jamie McDonald :na na:

15-08-2014, 07:16 PM
When do we expect the ref to help out? Not watching but at 0-0 surely only a matter of time

15-08-2014, 07:17 PM
Rangers look awful once again, gutted we lost to this shambles.

15-08-2014, 07:19 PM
The refs trying!

15-08-2014, 07:20 PM
When do we expect the ref to help out? Not watching but at 0-0 surely only a matter of time

He'll be holding on for now.

If they somehow go a goal down, anything less than a 30 yard rocket will be rules out of course, then I expect a penalty about 65 minutes to give them momentum to snatch a late, inevitably 3 yards offside winner.

Still 0-0 then about the same time I expect a Falkirk red card, should that fail to help produce a Rangers goal then a penalty abouy 78 minutes should see them right.

hibs4thecup1988
15-08-2014, 07:20 PM
Rangers look awful once again, gutted we lost to this shambles.

Don't be, they had 12 we had 10.

15-08-2014, 07:21 PM
Very impressed with the pitch to be honest. Always been against artificial surfaces in pro football but looks a very true surface.

15-08-2014, 07:21 PM
The hun look like a group of guys who only met for the first time today and have just been shoved on to the pitch. No shape at all they look shocking.

15-08-2014, 07:23 PM
Don't be, they had 12 we had 10.
This 100%..we even matched them as 12 v 10 until robbo went down with cramp. They will get what's coming to them in the league...they look honking! !

Flanny boy
15-08-2014, 07:24 PM
Falkirk definetly better side hope they take at least 1 point from this crowd

15-08-2014, 07:25 PM
Uncle Walt will soon be helping super sally out me thinks

Stringer
15-08-2014, 07:25 PM
Walter Smith was great at setting up a team. The shape was solid, Euro sides struggled to brake them down. Ally seems clueless.

15-08-2014, 07:26 PM
Why is Kris Boyd not playing .............. Oh wait a minute.

15-08-2014, 07:28 PM
If we don't finish above this muck we deserve to stay in this pish league.

15-08-2014, 07:29 PM
hopefully Falkirk win this and bring a decent support to ER on the 23rd Aug

15-08-2014, 07:30 PM
have that new team strung more than 5 passes together?....

Had to laugh at Sally pre-match when asked what he has said to players after last weeks reverse.....'just to go out and express themselves'.........top coaching methinks not

How i hope they are pointless after this.

(atmosphere is pretty poor - nothing much for the Buns to shout about)

Piqué
15-08-2014, 07:30 PM
Mohsni is comedy gold.

cjward2
15-08-2014, 07:31 PM
Rangers.

They're *****
Do they know they are?

15-08-2014, 07:32 PM
Mohsni is comedy gold.
Pure huddy material...gutted he was suspended the other week against us!!

15-08-2014, 07:32 PM
On another day they could have 2 or 3 up against the yams before they scored. Can see them steam rolling Falkirk tonight.

not seeing it :wink:

cjward2
15-08-2014, 07:34 PM
not seeing it :wink:

Me neither. Falkirk are ouplaying Rangers in the last 20 minutes I saw.

15-08-2014, 07:34 PM
Rangers are ****ing awful.

I'm starting to believe they won't win the league.

15-08-2014, 07:35 PM
The boy Alston is running the show & McGrandles also looks very promising. Maybury, steady as ever at FB & Taiwo as anonymous as usual. Come on the Bairns!

15-08-2014, 07:35 PM
Rangers.

They're *****
Do they know they are?

No, but they do know that no one likes them. Apparently they don't care ! Im sure they'll start to care about being ***** very soon

15-08-2014, 07:36 PM
Rangers are ****ing awful.

I'm starting to believe they won't win the league.

Mccoist is the big leveller though and he'll be replaced soon.

The challenge fir hibs is to try abd create as big a gap as possible before he's replaced by a proper manager.

15-08-2014, 07:36 PM
If we don't finish above this muck we deserve to stay in this pish league.

Go easy on them, they've only ever played in leagues with part time players :wink:

15-08-2014, 07:40 PM
When mccoist gets the boot, my money is on Neil Warnock to replace him..

Just cause I'm a degenerate gambler

chinaman
15-08-2014, 07:41 PM
Walter Smith was great at setting up a team. The shape was solid, Euro sides struggled to brake them down. Ally seems clueless.
Not at the toffees he wasn't he was gash.cue hoggy mccoist walking soon and squeeky clean heroicly returning and the press fawning over their hero saving the day...makes me boak

Greenblood70
15-08-2014, 07:41 PM
I hope Falkirk don't regret the 2 or 3 decent chances they've had. Rangers aimless hoofs to the back post aren't really troubling Falkirks defence but you get the feeling Boyd will get a lucky break sooner or later and stick it away.

Continue to be impressed by McGrandles and Alston for the Bairns. Mohsni reminds me of Amy Winehouse at the height of her heroin addiction, he has been an absolute bombscare again tonight. The boy McLeod is very overrated for der Hun.

15-08-2014, 07:47 PM
how much have they spent assembling and paying this 'team'......:rolleyes:

McLeish was struggling to hold back and not to slaughter that big pony tailed buffoon in HT chat :tee hee:

Houston is a good coach and has Falkirk looking a decent blend - like all teams just looking for that goalscoring gem and they will have a big influence on this league

15-08-2014, 07:53 PM
Freek kick outside hun box.

15-08-2014, 07:54 PM
Not playing advantage tonight?

15-08-2014, 07:54 PM
2 fantastic saves by Bell.

'Mon Falkirk

15-08-2014, 07:55 PM
anyone else notice ref go to his top pocket for card and then realise it was Moshni......and do nothing :rolleyes:

15-08-2014, 07:55 PM
off the line. Huns holding on

15-08-2014, 07:56 PM
Freek kick outside hun box.

Note the phonetic Freudian slip.

cjward2
15-08-2014, 07:58 PM
The Bairns really pressing the Rangers. Unlucky not to be ahead.

Kenny Miller pulled his hamstring.

Miller off - hamstring

cjward2
15-08-2014, 07:59 PM
Kenny Miller going off.:na na:

DarrenSQH
15-08-2014, 07:59 PM
Just waiting for the usual sucker punch

15-08-2014, 08:00 PM
Taiwo crocks Moshni with his left arsecheek.

Greenblood70
15-08-2014, 08:01 PM
God knows how Miller pulled his hamstring, he's barely done more than trott about aimlessly.

15-08-2014, 08:02 PM
Mohsni :faf:

15-08-2014, 08:03 PM
The likes of Lee Wallace must regret wasting their careers at this pish.

Plenty money in the bank and a couple of worthless medals but had he shown a bit ambition and went south he would have been Scotlands 1st choice left back and actually tested himself.

No sympathy but what a fool.

15-08-2014, 08:04 PM
Kenny Miller going off.:na na:

Was never worried about this signing. Im a big fan, but he is way past his best. For this season in particular, NOT being injury prone is a huge plus..

15-08-2014, 08:05 PM
McCulloch threatens the corner flag with a scuffed volley

15-08-2014, 08:06 PM
Lee McCulloch.

Utter gash.

15-08-2014, 08:09 PM
Bairns should be 2 or 3 up

15-08-2014, 08:10 PM
Poetry in Moshni.

cjward2
15-08-2014, 08:11 PM
What a great second half so far.

15-08-2014, 08:15 PM
This has 1-0 newco written all over it, a late winner coming from a pen, og or deflection! The Rangers still not had a shot on target!

15-08-2014, 08:16 PM
Zaluikas tries a skyhook

15-08-2014, 08:17 PM
This has 1-0 newco written all over it, a late winner coming from a pen, og or deflection! The Rangers still not had a shot on target!

A Falkirk player sent off is guaranteed

15-08-2014, 08:19 PM
Anyone else surprised how many headers Boyd has lost.....at least a dozen .... only one 2 i can remember

15-08-2014, 08:20 PM
Lucky ****ing barstewards.

1-0 rangers

Lucky c....

15-08-2014, 08:21 PM
1-0 Rangers

HiBremian
15-08-2014, 08:21 PM

There you go. Deflection, goal. :confused:

15-08-2014, 08:22 PM
Still keeps sooooooooper Ally in a job fot another week so every cloud....

Sorry!

cjward2
Jammy sods! Tough luck Bairns. Keep your heads up and get one back.

Greenblood70
15-08-2014, 08:23 PM
Luck of the devil, Falkirk should be a couple up if they'd had a bit more composure and a wee slice of luck.

cjward2
15-08-2014, 08:23 PM
Listening to their fans sing, they really are out of touch with reality.

15-08-2014, 08:24 PM
Know it took a deflection but that hearts **** in goals should have got to that.

15-08-2014, 08:25 PM
Moshni makes Mickey Nelson look like Beckenbauer! I didn't think McDonald was too clever at goal, should have moved his feet before diving.

HibeeHendo
15-08-2014, 08:25 PM
We could do some serious damage against this Rangers team at ER.

15-08-2014, 08:26 PM
Falkirk have folded like a cheap suit.

2-0

2-0

Jamie MacDonald is gash, glad we passed on him.

HibeeHendo
15-08-2014, 08:28 PM
This win will just be papering over the cracks.

cjward2
15-08-2014, 08:28 PM
Who could see that happening?

15-08-2014, 08:29 PM
You really have to question Houston here. Ever since he took off a midfielder for a striker they have lost control of the game. Ypu can argue he had a go but their success early in the half was built on bossing the midfield.

15-08-2014, 08:29 PM
Commentators a bit too gleeful at second goal.....robbery of a result.....

Greenblood70
15-08-2014, 08:30 PM
Great result for us if it means McCoist stays in a job longer.

15-08-2014, 08:31 PM
You really have to question Houston here. Ever since he took off a midfielder for a striker they have lost control of the game. Ypu can argue he had a go but their success early in the half was built on bossing the midfield.

Also coincided with Falkirk running out of gas, shades of Hampden. Alston disappeared last 20 mins.

You really have to question Houston here. Ever since he took off a midfielder for a striker they have lost control of the game. Ypu can argue he had a go but their success early in the half was built on bossing the midfield. tough one PB....No4 was best player on the park by a mile when he was taken off....its a home game and maybe its the kind of decision seasons are made or failed on

Who could see that happening?

All of us probably! Good thing is hopefully super ******** keeps his job a while longer

DarrenSQH
15-08-2014, 08:33 PM
Although you hate to see newco win. The bairns look decent and them only having 1 point is good for us

15-08-2014, 08:34 PM
Commentators will be happy though - I thought I was watching it on 'BT-Sport' but I think it's coming from 'H*n - TV' !!!

GoldenMeerkat
15-08-2014, 08:35 PM
You really have to take your chances against that mob, as we know from first hand experience.

15-08-2014, 08:37 PM
Only seen the second half but I can't say I've been impressed with falkirk, some competitive players in midfield and quite tidy going forward but no cutting edge and look extremely shaky at the back.

I don't think they'll be anything to worry about in terms of challenging us, hertz or the rangers.

15-08-2014, 08:48 PM
How cringey is this interview with McCoist?

Bunch of sycophants.

15-08-2014, 08:50 PM
How cringey is this interview with McCoist?

Bunch of sycophants.

What was he saying?

15-08-2014, 08:53 PM
What was he saying?

Not a lot.

Said they didn't play well then spent 10 minutes getting told how great he was by Owen Coyle and Alex McLeish.

15-08-2014, 08:57 PM
I'm too lazy to bother reading this thread so sorry if this has already been stated but I actually think this result could be a good thing. It buys fat Sally some time and as long they're not gaining too many points that can only be a good thing.

Tynie01011973
15-08-2014, 09:00 PM
Only seen the second half but I can't say I've been impressed with falkirk, some competitive players in midfield and quite tidy going forward but no cutting edge and look extremely shaky at the back.

I don't think they'll be anything to worry about in terms of challenging us, hertz or the rangers.

Really ? Livi caused us problems in the 2nd half last week - Falkirk look a much better team than them IMHO.

Falkirk bossed the first 30 mins of the second half and could easily have been 2-3 goals up before The Huns got lucky with a big deflection for the opener.

Falkirk will be no pushovers for either us the Jumbos or THE Huns.

15-08-2014, 09:22 PM
Really ? Livi caused us problems in the 2nd half last week - Falkirk look a much better team than them IMHO.

Falkirk bossed the first 30 mins of the second half and could easily have been 2-3 goals up before The Huns got lucky with a big deflection for the opener.

Falkirk will be no pushovers for either us the Jumbos or THE Huns.

Yeah they won't be pushovers in individual games, they've got too many competitive individuals to make sure that's the case. I just didn't see them creating much from open play abd in tight games I don't see who will score their goals that'll make the difference.

We got a bit nervous last week which is to be expected considering our home record last season. Before that happened we were strolling it.

15-08-2014, 09:26 PM
Rangers will win this league easily. Cant believe anyone really believes otherwise.

15-08-2014, 09:28 PM
Rangers will win this league easily. Cant believe anyone really believes otherwise.

Based on what? Reputation?

Because based on performances I'd say that's nonsense. They may well win it but this league is going to be very tight. Every team will drop points.

15-08-2014, 09:31 PM

Because based on performances I'd say that's nonsense. They may well win it but this league is going to be very tight. Every team will drop points.

There has been 2 or three games..hard to base anything on anything. If things arent going well by transfer deadline they will spend. Hope im wrong but doubt it.

15-08-2014, 09:33 PM

Tbh if that was hibs or hearts we'd be saying it was a cracking 3 points away from home.

I think the rangers will win the league as they'll likely become more consistent as the season goes on. I also think it's likely mccoist will be replaced.

Greenblood70
15-08-2014, 09:40 PM

I thought the same prior to the season starting but I've seen nothing from them in the last 3 games. If anything teams in this league have to show them less respect and not play the name Rangers but the bunch of has beens and never will bes that are happy to pick up an inflated wage.

With every week that passes I fancy us more and more to be the team that winds up winning this league. Call it quiet confidence in Stubbs.

Tynie01011973
15-08-2014, 09:57 PM
There has been 2 or three games..hard to base anything on anything. If things aren't going well by transfer deadline they will spend. Hope i'm wrong but doubt it.

How are they going to spend ?

The are brassick !!!!

They have to pay back £ 1.5m back on 1 September to Sandy Easdale and George Letham. Loans that are secured against Edmiston House and the Albion Street Car Park

They enquired about raising £ 10m from Corporate Investors in The City - and were laughed out of town.

They now want to try to raise only £ 4m by issuing further shares to existing Shareholders.

Very little money left in the kitty of THE Rangers

Flanny boy
15-08-2014, 10:14 PM

The are brassick !!!!

They have to pay back £ 1.5m back on 1 September to Sandy Easdale and George Letham. Loans that are secured against Edmiston House and the Albion Street Car Park

They enquired about raising £ 10m from Corporate Investors in The City - and were laughed out of town.

They now want to try to raise only £ 4m by issuing further shares to existing Shareholders.

:greengringood :greengrin

16-08-2014, 05:28 AM
Time to stop tugging the forelock and doffing the cap.

Rangers are finished, The Rangers are a pale imitation that's there for the taking, and come sept 18th if theres a YES vote then all their British songbook will (hopefully) become a thing of the past with no place in a confident modern Scotland

I'm seeing upsides all the way

Weststandwanab
16-08-2014, 06:18 AM

The are brassick !!!!

Wallace will be sold in this window to prevent Admin 2.

Time to stop tugging the forelock and doffing the cap.

Rangers are finished, The Rangers are a pale imitation that's there for the taking, and come sept 18th if theres a YES vote then all their British songbook will (hopefully) become a thing of the past with no place in a confident modern Scotland

I'm seeing upsides all the way

I agree with all of that.