View Full Version : Corstorphine: St. John's Road to Tynecastle

Stranraer
14-08-2014, 02:40 PM
Alright folks, I'm heading up to Edinburgh on Saturday and staying the night in the Corstorphine Lodge... it was the only place I could get on LateRooms.

I was wondering what is the best way to get to the PBS from there on Sunday morning? I don't usually stay the night in Edinburgh but fancied a weekend away.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mozza

14-08-2014, 02:42 PM
Alright folks, I'm heading up to Edinburgh on Saturday and staying the night in the Corstorphine Lodge... it was the only place I could get on LateRooms.

I was wondering what is the best way to get to the PBS from there on Sunday morning? I don't usually stay the night in Edinburgh but fancied a weekend away.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mozza

2 mins bus journey, get off at Roseburn, 5 min walk to game.

hailhail22
14-08-2014, 02:44 PM
There is loads of buses 26,31,100 Ect will take you right along and stop at Roseburn, should be loads of hibs fans in that area, only about 10mins at the most on the bus

14-08-2014, 02:46 PM
Any bus going east. We are the best served place in town for buses. Treat yourself to the 100 bus and get off on W.Coates. Quiet drink in the Roseburn.

Sorted.

14-08-2014, 02:48 PM
228 1211
Fast, Reliable and Safe:wink:

14-08-2014, 02:57 PM
Easily walkable, allow around 30 mins or so

Stranraer
14-08-2014, 03:12 PM
Thank you everyone for your replies, I'm looking forward to it.

14-08-2014, 03:17 PM
Addendum: The drink in the Roseburn might not be quiet.

14-08-2014, 03:18 PM
228 1211

Stranraer
14-08-2014, 03:30 PM
Addendum: The drink in the Roseburn might not be quiet.

It wasn't a quiet drink last time!

14-08-2014, 03:36 PM
A nice walk with a carry out

Stranraer
14-08-2014, 03:36 PM
A nice walk with a carry out

On my own? That would be a wee bit sad... :rolleyes:

xyz23jc
14-08-2014, 08:08 PM

Compose a few new songs en route Mr Morrisey.....' I was happy in the haze of a drunken hour...but heaven knows etc' Hehe

Stranraer
14-08-2014, 09:14 PM
Compose a few new songs en route Mr Morrisey.....' I was happy in the haze of a drunken hour...but heaven knows etc' Hehe

:agree::aok: that might work actually

14-08-2014, 10:58 PM
I am not going to the game but I am going to the Roseburn - as I always do.

Does that make me a "fairweather" fan?

15-08-2014, 08:05 AM

Tell my old man that....

Stranraer
15-08-2014, 10:58 AM
Tell my old man that....

I prefer my own company 99% of the time. But with a few drinks in me I don't mind sitting in a pub... on my own.

Stranraer
15-08-2014, 01:38 PM
Pubs

I should add, are there any decent pubs near by that won't be full of students on a Saturday night?

15-08-2014, 01:48 PM
228 1211

229 2468
Even faster, more reliable and super safe :greengrin

15-08-2014, 01:50 PM
There is a wetherspoons or the oak inn next to the toby carvery on st johns rd which are fairly decent pubs. Or the bar at the carvery is ok too.

15-08-2014, 02:05 PM
229 2468
Even faster, more reliable and super safe :greengrin

Aye but we're carbon neutral :greengrin

hailhail22
15-08-2014, 02:06 PM
Pubs

I should add, are there any decent pubs near by that won't be full of students on a Saturday night?

the oak if you fancy abit karaoke :thumbsup:

Stranraer
15-08-2014, 02:15 PM
the oak if you fancy abit karaoke :thumbsup:

Sounds good. Thank you:greengrin

Rattler
15-08-2014, 02:26 PM
Pubs

Personally..........I prefer Winstons (opposite side of the road from the Oak and White Lady, just behind Sainsbury).

No football colours allowed but a decent pint of beer - a proper pub in my opinion :agree:

Stranraer
15-08-2014, 02:45 PM
Personally..........I prefer Winstons (opposite side of the road from the Oak and White Lady, just behind Sainsbury).

No football colours allowed but a decent pint of beer - a proper pub in my opinion :agree:

:aok: Cheers, I haven't been in a pub on a Saturday night in the capital for a long time so I'll maybe give a couple a try.

15-08-2014, 03:03 PM
Aye but we're carbon neutral :greengrin

And so are we. :na na:

Stranraer
15-08-2014, 03:21 PM
A pub that serves Boddington's would be a bonus.

16-08-2014, 09:08 AM
And so are we. :na na:

Our chairmans harder than your chairman :na na:

16-08-2014, 09:09 AM

is that the place with great pie's??

16-08-2014, 09:52 AM
A pub that serves Boddington's would be a bonus.

If that's your taste in beer I guess you'll drink anything, anywhere :wink:

Stranraer
16-08-2014, 10:05 AM
If that's your taste in beer I guess you'll drink anything, anywhere :wink:

Nowt wrong with Boddingtons!

16-08-2014, 10:19 AM
Nowt wrong with Boddingtons!

Apart from the taste

16-08-2014, 10:26 AM
Apart from the taste

:agree: :greengrin

Stranraer
16-08-2014, 10:43 AM
Apart from the taste

When I was a student it was £2.40 and it was lovely. The hangover wasn't quite as bad as a tennents hangover either.

16-08-2014, 10:51 AM
When I was a student it was £2.40 and it was lovely. The hangover wasn't quite as bad as a tennents hangover either.

I haven't seen it in many bars. I've been drinking bottles of cider with loads of ice in the glass, I don't know if its all the water from the ice but I don't get as bad a hangover.

16-08-2014, 11:01 AM
Corstorphine isn't great for pubs really. The Corry Inn used to be great but has gone down a bit. Of course The White Lady has taken custom from all the rest of the bars. I never go there as it seems to be the haunt of young mums with annoying toddlers. Also the service can be dire.

Stranraer
16-08-2014, 11:01 AM
I haven't seen it in many bars. I've been drinking bottles of cider with loads of ice in the glass, I don't know if its all the water from the ice but I don't get as bad a hangover.

Not a bad shout. I used to drink Magners religiously but now it only takes 4 or 5 bottles for my stomach to feel like someone has hit it with a sledgehammer.

16-08-2014, 11:13 AM
Corstorphine isn't great for pubs really. The Corry Inn used to be great but has gone down a bit. Of course The White Lady has taken custom from all the rest of the bars. I never go there as it seems to be the haunt of young mums with annoying toddlers. Also the service can be dire.

I still quite like the Corrie Inn mainly because of their regular guest ciders, White Lady far cheaper but agree service can be hit and miss though I still go fairly often. I quite enjoy sitting in the Harp/Toby bar with the missus for a few drinks as always has a decent vibe.

16-08-2014, 04:52 PM
I still quite like the Corrie Inn mainly because of their regular guest ciders, White Lady far cheaper but agree service can be hit and miss though I still go fairly often. I quite enjoy sitting in the Harp/Toby bar with the missus for a few drinks as always has a decent vibe.

Tends to have an aroma of well roasted meat though! They do a cheap pint of Deuchars right enough.

16-08-2014, 05:23 PM
is that the place with great pie's??

Yeah. Winstons pies are fantastic.

16-08-2014, 05:24 PM

Good wee pub.

I've been thrown out of there for swearing before so watch yer language :greengrin

Stranraer
17-08-2014, 08:06 PM
My karaoke went down quite well in the Oaks or whatever it's called - a cracking wee pub.

17-08-2014, 11:23 PM
My karaoke went down quite well in the Oaks or whatever it's called - a cracking wee pub.

The Oak used to be my old stomping ground.
Which is not bad going for a Hibby in a Jambo area.
Some might say you needed to be a regular to feel comfortable there but I wouldn't have agreed.

Glad you had a good time there.

woody0-7
18-08-2014, 10:53 AM
The oak is like the bar in star wars full of complete half breeds these days but it used to be a cracking boozer wen I was growing up , never drink there these days as it's just full of jambo roasters

woody0-7
18-08-2014, 10:55 AM
The Oak used to be my old stomping ground.
Which is not bad going for a Hibby in a Jambo area.
Some might say you needed to be a regular to feel comfortable there but I wouldn't have agreed.

Glad you had a good time there.

Stevie although it was always a hearts pub there were plenty good hibs lads drank there no so much these days mate

Stranraer
18-08-2014, 11:25 AM
The oak is like the bar in star wars full of complete half breeds these days but it used to be a cracking boozer wen I was growing up , never drink there these days as it's just full of jambo roasters

I didn't find that on Saturday night... I met 1 Yam and 3 or 4 Hibs fans. I was really on there for the karaoke right enough :greengrin

woody0-7
18-08-2014, 11:40 AM
I didn't find that on Saturday night... I met 1 Yam and 3 or 4 Hibs fans. I was really on there for the karaoke right enough :greengrin

Sounds like you had a lucky escape mate haha if you like the karaoke try the clerie inn mate good hibs pub these days ( my big sis runs it)

Stranraer
18-08-2014, 12:09 PM
Sounds like you had a lucky escape mate haha if you like the karaoke try the clerie inn mate good hibs pub these days ( my big sis runs it)

:aok: thanks for that, pub sorted for next trip!

hailhail22
18-08-2014, 12:46 PM

Did you get your make up off your top yesterday :greengrin

woody0-7
18-08-2014, 01:16 PM
Did you get your make up off your top yesterday :greengrin

It's wisnae make up haha