View Full Version : Pre-match drinks on Sunday

Hibs07p
14-08-2014, 07:15 AM
What time is the Murrayfield / Roseburn opening on Sunday?

14-08-2014, 07:35 AM
Roseburn is 11.

Not sure about Murrayfield, it was 9 in the past but not sure if the new owners will be as welcoming.

14-08-2014, 07:38 AM
Would be surprised if murrayfields open after last time

14-08-2014, 07:46 AM
Would be surprised if murrayfields open after last time

What happened last time

EH54
14-08-2014, 07:51 AM
Been told Murryfield opens at 9:00

Create of beer and sit outside like last time i think since the place has been done up its even harder to get served. They will definitely open would cost them too much money to not.

HibeeMassive
14-08-2014, 08:12 AM
What happened last time

It was just a nightmare to get in the building, never mind get served.

Queue for the toilet was about 20 mins (you werent allowed in even if just going straight to the loo), queue to get served was 40 mins

14-08-2014, 08:16 AM

Queue for the toilet was about 20 mins (you werent allowed in even if just going straight to the loo), queue to get served was 40 mins

I just gave up and went down the road to the roseburn which was empty at that point. No queues or anything.

EH54
14-08-2014, 08:24 AM

We just walked along to scotmid grabbed a box of beer and stood in the beer garden and nothing was ever said :thumbsup:

14-08-2014, 08:31 AM

AND the rain was belting down..

14-08-2014, 08:40 AM
We just walked along to scotmid grabbed a box of beer and stood in the beer garden and nothing was ever said :thumbsup:

:agree: Love it outside the Murrayfield on derby morning, place was bouncing!

14-08-2014, 08:56 AM
Roseburn if its pissing down otherwise it'll be a bevvy outside the Murrayfield.

TamHibs
14-08-2014, 09:00 AM
Beechwood Bowling Club for me

Nevi_SOL
14-08-2014, 09:05 AM
Box of beer outside murrayfield for us.

Ross4356
14-08-2014, 09:08 AM

What time does it open?

TamHibs
14-08-2014, 09:09 AM
What time does it open?

10am but you need a member to sign you in

14-08-2014, 10:06 AM

Thats the railway club. I'm a member there. Never thought about going there before.

14-08-2014, 10:11 AM
Fry up in the town, brisk walk along then a carryout outside the Roseburn bar for me.

14-08-2014, 10:15 AM
Fry up in the town, brisk walk along then a carryout outside the Roseburn bar for me.

How do you get a carry out before half 12 on a Sunday unless of course you buy it on the Saturday.

14-08-2014, 10:17 AM
How do you get a carry out before half 12 on a Sunday unless of course you buy it on the Saturday.

10am on a Sunday now.

14-08-2014, 10:18 AM
10am on a Sunday now.

Really? When did that change?

14-08-2014, 10:18 AM

Most supermarkets and shops have a 10am licence just like bars on a Sunday, it's up to the manager/owner if they want to sell later

14-08-2014, 10:19 AM
Most supermarkets and shops have a 10am licence just like bars on a Sunday, it's up to the manager/owner if they want to sell later

I must be well out of touch as I had no idea this had changed.

14-08-2014, 11:13 AM
I must be well out of touch as I had no idea this had changed.

That's what happens when you live over the bridge. :greengrin

Stranraer
14-08-2014, 11:17 AM

Will you get away with that? I barely got allowed into the Roseburn last time... Nice avatar by the way :greengrin

14-08-2014, 11:19 AM
Not sure what time Platform 5 @ Haymarket opens at on a Sunday, well worth a visit though.

14-08-2014, 11:36 AM
Not sure what time Platform 5 @ Haymarket opens at on a Sunday, well worth a visit though.

Assuming it's open, what's it like for folk wearing colours? I'm in Callendar this weekend and getting the train from Stirling so will get into Haymarket about 11.00/11.30. Looking at options around Haymarket for a quick pre match beer

14-08-2014, 11:54 AM
They didnae have a problem with team colours when the hordes from the west came through to M'field.

14-08-2014, 12:05 PM
As above, I was working in town when Celtic were playing Legia and Ryries, The Haymarket and Platform 5 all rammed full of Celtic fans.

Hibs07p
14-08-2014, 12:22 PM
I just love the Roseburn for the Hibs pre-match sing song. Was at the Murrayfield 3rd last time we played, which was great before and after. The 2nd last time it was too busy, so we went down to The Roseburn, which was busy, but had plenty of staff and got served ok.
Roseburn for me I think.

14-08-2014, 12:43 PM
What happened last time

Queued for about 45 minutes before getting served. Not enough staff on duty unfortunately which isn't fair on them and us fans. Good job am no an alki. :greengrin

Not bothering about a pint on Sunday. Brekkie and a cup of coffee at home. Less hassle.

14-08-2014, 03:19 PM
Not bothering about a pint on Sunday. Brekkie and a cup of coffee at home. Less hassle.

I hope a few more of our supporters take a leaf out your book on Sunday. I've seen far too many drunk supporters at Derby's recently

14-08-2014, 03:21 PM
Here we go again! :-)

14-08-2014, 03:55 PM
The Murrayfield is hopeless since the renovations. A good sized bar replaced with a small one resulting in squeezing into long, hot and stuffy queues. Might be alright for the younger guys who are more used to that environment on their weekends up town, but for us derby veterans the Roseburn should be a better bet. Big bar and plenty barmen/bargirls who know what they are doing in keeping a busy boozer flowing.

14-08-2014, 04:02 PM
Roseburn for me they have completely ruined the murrayfield bar now for the derby and to be honest the atmosphere was never as good as the roseburn... Canny wait for this!!! I have a feeling!!!!

14-08-2014, 04:48 PM
Assuming it's open, what's it like for folk wearing colours? I'm in Callendar this weekend and getting the train from Stirling so will get into Haymarket about 11.00/11.30. Looking at options around Haymarket for a quick pre match beer

Platform 5 opens at 7 on Sunday, bevvy on sale from 11.

14-08-2014, 05:08 PM

Is that not a bit of a Hearts pub?

A couple of that lot that I work with were using it pre match for their friendlies and watched the game on Sunday in there. Said it was very busy with Hearts fans.

H18Y GW
14-08-2014, 05:12 PM
Is that not a bit of a Hearts pub?

A couple of that lot that I work with were using it pre match for their friendlies and watched the game on Sunday in there. Said it was very busy with Hearts fans.

Full blown cashie hang out on Sunday:agree:

14-08-2014, 05:17 PM
Full blown cashie hang out on Sunday:agree:

I've nae reason to venture anywhere near it when they are at home unless its us they are playing so couldnae tell you if its a Hearts pub. I did pass comment to my mate that it was a likely gathering point for the casuals come the start of the season though.

Stranraer
14-08-2014, 09:27 PM
Some Morrissey and Tennents in the Roseburn it is then. I look forward to the march to the bus shelter and a resounding Hibs win

16-08-2014, 05:14 PM

Are you sure it's open at 10am mate?

TamHibs
16-08-2014, 05:16 PM
Yeah, we're getting picked up at 9.10 to make it down for it opening.

Crops73
16-08-2014, 05:21 PM

Where will you get a carry-out at that time on a Sunday?

Pray, do tell.

Crops73
16-08-2014, 05:24 PM

Not a good idea to be wearing the green at that particular location. :rolleyes:

Oh no.

16-08-2014, 05:26 PM
Yeah, we're getting picked up at 9.10 to make it down for it opening.

No probs. That's where I'll be going then. :aok:

16-08-2014, 05:28 PM
Not a good idea to be wearing the green at that particular location. :rolleyes:

Oh no.

Why not? Lots if fans come off the train and that's the first stop.

16-08-2014, 05:34 PM
Where will you get a carry-out at that time on a Sunday?

Pray, do tell.

Everywhere. Licensing laws are 10am to 10pm 7 days a week. There's a Tesco across from the Roseburn and a Spar or Co-op further up that will sell cold tinnies at 10am 8-)

Crops73
16-08-2014, 05:38 PM
Why not? Lots if fans come off the train and that's the first stop.

Just that I thought it was a bit of a Hertz casual pub - only trying to be helpful.

Crops73
16-08-2014, 05:39 PM
Everywhere. Licensing laws are 10am to 10pm 7 days a week. There's a Tesco across from the Roseburn and a Spar or Co-op further up that will sell cold tinnies at 10am 8-)

Right - I stand corrected.

16-08-2014, 06:30 PM
Just that I thought it was a bit of a Hertz casual pub - only trying to be helpful.

Im not having a dig mate. Mind on derby day plenty hibs fans walk past haymaket. Should be pretty safe to have a pint in there. Avoid ryries and any pub in Dalry gorgie and you'll be fine.

16-08-2014, 09:12 PM
When do the pubs around Easter Road open tomorrow?

I know someone who fancies going through to watch the game in a Hibs pub tomorrow and was wondering when they should head through.

16-08-2014, 09:45 PM
When do the pubs around Easter Road open tomorrow?

I know someone who fancies going through to watch the game in a Hibs pub tomorrow and was wondering when they should head through.

Does the the hibs club not open at 11am?

16-08-2014, 10:09 PM
I've been told that Platform 5 will be adopting a "no colours" policy..

wazoo1875
16-08-2014, 10:14 PM
I'm heading for dianes pool hall at 9am. Cheap bevvy 👍

Hibby 2005
17-08-2014, 12:14 AM
Drinking at 9am and the game starts at 12.30am, makes sense.

17-08-2014, 07:55 AM
Dinnae turn up at half past midnight, you'll not get into the "stadium"!