View Full Version : Match Updates Sunday's Games

10-08-2014, 09:15 AM
Weather is horrendous down on the south coast so a day of televised football beckons!

Plenty of options too...

ADO Den Haag vs Feyenoord - (SS4) - 11:30
Liverpool vs Borussia Dortmund (BT Sport 1) - 12:15
Ajax vs Vitesse Arnhem (SS4) - 13:30
Rangers vs Hearts (SS1) - 13:30
Arsenal vs Man City (BT Sport 1) - 15:00
Wolves vs Norwich City - (SS1) - 16:00
Monaco vs Lorient (BT Sport 1) - 20:00
Malaga vs Fiorentina (SS1) - 20:30

10-08-2014, 11:27 AM
1-0 Liverpool great finish from Sturridge

10-08-2014, 11:29 AM
2-0 Lovren

10-08-2014, 12:02 PM
Blooming heck, how much help are the Jambos getting? Guess the referee???

10-08-2014, 12:08 PM
Blooming heck, how much help are the Jambos getting? Guess the referee???

Rangers at Ibrox and Hearts with Thomson in their corner.

This could be the fairest refereeing performance we will see all season if the cancelling out effect works properly.

Stranraer
10-08-2014, 12:12 PM
If only I had Sky Sports :rolleyes: Hearts, City and St. Johnstone to win 24/1 :greengrin

10-08-2014, 12:28 PM
Rangers: Bell Foster McCulloch Zaliuskas Wallace Templeton Black Law MacLeod Miller Boyd

Hearts: Alexander McGhee Ozturk Wilson McHattie King Gomis Buaben Nicholson Sow Carrick

On paper there isn't much to fear from either of those 2 teams.

10-08-2014, 12:34 PM
Louis Suarez who?? Liverpool have been phenomenal, leading 4-0 and cruising, they seem to have 4-5 players in attack at times and the pace they play at is frightening, won't be far off top spot again on this early form.

10-08-2014, 12:37 PM
Rangers start the better team. Early corner and Hearts keeper looked uncomfortable under the high ball.

10-08-2014, 12:38 PM
Gwaaaan the poool!

10-08-2014, 12:39 PM
Hearts look a ****ing shambles at the back in the 1st few minutes.

10-08-2014, 12:40 PM
Anyone else's Sky Sports gone down?

dar
10-08-2014, 12:40 PM
Yes

10-08-2014, 12:41 PM

Aye

10-08-2014, 12:41 PM
Back on :-)

10-08-2014, 12:42 PM

Yes on Virgin it's gone :grr:

crewetollhibee
10-08-2014, 12:42 PM
Yes

No just me then, no point phoning them.

10-08-2014, 12:51 PM
How the f did he miss that?:confused:

10-08-2014, 12:51 PM
Was .net down for a few mins?

dmc1875
10-08-2014, 12:53 PM
Hearts looking dodgy at the back. Thought ozturk was supposed to be the next cannavaro?

10-08-2014, 12:55 PM
Templeton :taxi

10-08-2014, 12:55 PM
Sitter by Templeton.

Hearts playing a brand of football that looks like it was inspired by Butcher. Then again it is Levein running the show so I should have expected that.

10-08-2014, 12:58 PM
How's that mcghee still on the park? Get runners at him next week, he's rank rotten.yams are trying to pass the ball out but arnae good enough to do it, press them high up the park.

10-08-2014, 12:58 PM
I will be amazed if hearts finish with 11 men

10-08-2014, 01:00 PM
We gave a far better account of ourselves at Ibrox on Tuesday than this lot have managed today. Pretty much all Rangers.

10-08-2014, 01:03 PM
How's that mcghee still on the park? Get runners at him next week, he's rank rotten.yams are trying to pass the ball out but arnae good enough to do it, press them high up the park.

Yep. Hope Matt Kennedy is ready.

10-08-2014, 01:05 PM
I thought this Ozturk boy was a hybrid of Nesta and Costacurta? ****ing woeful.

Buaben is like bambi on ice as well and the rest of them just look terrified. Get in their faces next week and they are there for the taking.

10-08-2014, 01:08 PM
I thought this Ozturk boy was a hybrid of Nesta and Costacurta? ****ing woeful.

Buaben is like bambi on ice as well and the rest of them just look terrified. Get in their faces next week and they are there for the taking.

They're never there for the taking in derbies. You can guarantee that they will all play like they've been injected with a metric ton of speed, even if they get beat 10-0 today.

We have to match them for attitude. IF we do, we have just as much of a chance as they do.

10-08-2014, 01:09 PM
Even at Ibrox with Thomson, Levein's thug tactics are drawing cards. Could be a different line-up next week.

10-08-2014, 01:10 PM
Big Zaliuseless should be doing better therr.

10-08-2014, 01:11 PM
Even at Ibrox with Thomson, Levein's thug tactics are drawing cards. Could be a different line-up next week.
Naw naw.... RN is in charge of the team.....:tee hee:

10-08-2014, 01:12 PM
I will be amazed if hearts finish with 11 men
Shirley not - they've got Thomson out there FFS!

10-08-2014, 01:14 PM
This is ****ing woeful.

10-08-2014, 01:15 PM
Naw naw.... RN is in charge of the team.....:tee hee:

Yep. RN is definitely in charge. That's the story and they're sticking to it.

The fact he playes exactly the same brand of 'football' as Potter is a total coincedence.

10-08-2014, 01:16 PM

3 bookings so far for Hearts.

A lot of B&B's in glasgow jealous of that stat.

10-08-2014, 01:16 PM
Hearts looking a bit better now. Couple of decent chances.

10-08-2014, 01:17 PM

True

10-08-2014, 01:17 PM
Half time.

Utter garbage.

10-08-2014, 01:19 PM
Half time.

Utter garbage.

It's typical Craig Levein, big physical players with a bit of pace thrown in.

Not exactly quaking in our boots from either of these 2 TBH judging by Sevco against us on Tues and now this...Sow lools decent for Yams but him apart the rest look average...

Osman Sow looks very impressive

10-08-2014, 01:21 PM

By impressive do you mean utter pish?

AK86
10-08-2014, 01:22 PM
they canny half mix it up the Poppy thieves.that mchattie is dung

10-08-2014, 01:22 PM
Crap first half. The Rangers just slightly better and should be ahead. Sow the only one that seems alright. If we press Hearts up the park and get in their faces we won't lose the game.

10-08-2014, 01:24 PM
I expected better from both teams really. It's all fair and well Rangers having 'proven' scorers in Boyd and Miller up front but they're lazy and won't create their own chances and the service into them is dreadful.

Hearts have looked OK on the counter but with no cutting edge. Sow looks fairly physical but comfortable and King has made some decent breaks down the line.

Definitely agree with the consensus - very little to fear here.

10-08-2014, 01:24 PM

He'd be about 6 foot 8 if he had a neck.

10-08-2014, 01:26 PM
By impressive do you mean utter pish?

Causing problems, big aggressive and skilful, couple of good flicks to put hearts On counter attack and good crosses too. Will cause problems for us next week IMO!

10-08-2014, 01:28 PM
Causing problems, big aggressive and skilful, couple of good flicks to put hearts On counter attack and good crosses too. Will cause problems for us next week IMO!

Poor mans Alagui

10-08-2014, 01:29 PM
Off subject, but according to the radio Legia Warsaw have issued an open letter to celtic asking them to abide by their glorious history and agree to a one off match in either Warsaw or Glasgow to settle things on the park in the spirit of the game.

Some chance

10-08-2014, 01:34 PM
On subject.

From the radio coverage it sounds like the The Rangers cant get Boyd and Miller involved and the Yams are giving as good as they get. Game could go either way by the sound of it. Sow sounds like a handful.

10-08-2014, 01:40 PM
Off subject, but according to the radio Legia Warsaw have issued an open letter to celtic asking them to abide by their glorious history and agree to a one off match in either Warsaw or Glasgow to settle things on the park in the spirit of the game.

Some chance

I doubt the rules would allow that.

In any case, what club would risk giving up the possible millions awaiting them? 'Honour' or not, I'd be furious if Hibs risked that to appease another club that while unlucky, have been the victim of something that was entirely their own fault.

10-08-2014, 01:41 PM
Ffs

10-08-2014, 01:42 PM
Goal Wilson.

Desperate defending at a corner from Rangers.

0 - 1 ....... Nae surprise the Zombies are rank

World beaters

10-08-2014, 01:45 PM
Who would have thought half way through last season that Hibs and Hearts would soon be having a potential table topping derby match?

Id still prefer a draw here.

10-08-2014, 01:46 PM
This league is there for the taking if these 2 teams are our main rivals

10-08-2014, 01:46 PM
Fat Sally must be a NAP to be sacked early doors.

He's had a small fortune to spend and they are utter pish.

10-08-2014, 01:47 PM
can see Hearts scoring again on the counter as Rangers chase this game...

10-08-2014, 01:48 PM
This league is there for the taking if these 2 teams are our main rivals

And if those Griffiths rumours are true ;)

10-08-2014, 01:49 PM
Fat Sally must be a NAP to be sacked early doors.

He's had a small fortune to spend and they are utter pish.
I doubt they could afford the wages for another manager as they would have to keep paying Swally.....

Mind you perhaps we could talk them into employing Butcher .....

10-08-2014, 01:51 PM
I doubt they could afford the wages for another manager as they would have to keep paying Swally.....

Mind you perhaps we could talk them into employing Butcher .....

Tbf to him if they keep up current performance levels there's a good chance they'll make top 4.

10-08-2014, 01:53 PM
Hoping for a red card soon

10-08-2014, 01:53 PM
And if those Griffiths rumours are true ;)

Steve...can you give your man love a break on just one thread........:rolleyes:

10-08-2014, 01:54 PM
Steve...can you give your man love a break on just one thread........:rolleyes:

I love Griffiths mate. Would be delighted if he comes back

10-08-2014, 01:55 PM
Hearts keeper looking likely to be stretchered off with a head knock. Looks a bad one.

Are Miller and Boyd still on the park? Only got radio and neither mentioned since half time. Wee Coisty had better start looking at getting his gig back on question of sport.

The current bun forums will be a laugh a minute tonight.

I love Griffiths mate. Would be delighted if he comes back

You love his mate too?

Remember this is a family show !

10-08-2014, 01:57 PM
Are Miller and Boyd still on the park? Only got radio and neither mentioned since half time. Wee Coisty had better start looking at getting his gig back on question of sport.

The current bun forums will be a laugh a minute tonight.

The way Rangers are playing some will question if he is still involved in sport.

10-08-2014, 01:58 PM
You love his mate too?

Remember this is a family show !http://i.imgur.com/GBvDnzm.jpg

10-08-2014, 02:14 PM
any updates? not watching (or listening now - as kids have out voted me...with support from Mrs DTS...petticoat revolution :rolleyes:)

10-08-2014, 02:16 PM
any updates? not watching (or listening now - as kids have out voted me...with support from Mrs DTS...petticoat revolution :rolleyes:)

Thank your kids !! Very little happening in this game. 'Rangers ahve given their fans very little to get excited about'" Hearts just received their 6th red card.

10-08-2014, 02:19 PM
Six minutes injusry time.

Law 1 - 1

10-08-2014, 02:19 PM
Yaaaaaasss

10-08-2014, 02:20 PM
Not yaaaassss

Yesssssss! That's got to hurt. A draw is lovely today.

2 - 1 hearts

10-08-2014, 02:21 PM
Yesssssss! That's got to hurt. A draw is lovely today.Except ...

10-08-2014, 02:21 PM
**** off

10-08-2014, 02:22 PM
Not fussed tbh, if we win all our games it doesn't matter about either of them.

10-08-2014, 02:22 PM
about 2 minutes of injury time to go.

10-08-2014, 02:23 PM
I think the lesson from Tuesday, yesterday and today is a simple one: you have to take your chances.

10-08-2014, 02:25 PM
Hearts will be a team that can challenge Rangers all the way this season !

A lot of boooos at the end. FT.

P.S. the opening statement was from the t.v. It is of course not mine.

10-08-2014, 02:26 PM
Thank your kids !! Very little happening in this game. 'Rangers ahve given their fans very little to get excited about'" Hearts just received their 6th red card.

having just read the next few posts that is classic commentator faux paux ......:faf:

10-08-2014, 02:27 PM
This Yam love in is making me sick already

10-08-2014, 02:27 PM
How did we not beat them?

10-08-2014, 02:28 PM
http://i58.tinypic.com/2rgyyz7.jpg

10-08-2014, 02:28 PM
This Yam love in is making me sick already

In the Media?

10-08-2014, 02:29 PM
The Rangers didn't lose a game in the league at all last season.

StarMan10
We bit surprised Stubbs didn't have a look at Sow if we indeed have the chance. Looked good today

http://i58.tinypic.com/2rgyyz7.jpg

:confused: whats going on there? or an old GIF?

Either way its quality

10-08-2014, 02:30 PM
Aberdeen 0 Dundee utd 1, shocker for the dons defender taylor

10-08-2014, 02:30 PM
Not fussed tbh, if we win all our games it doesn't matter about either of them.

Lol. Are you expecting us to win all out games ? No team will do that - i think most teams in our league will take points of of any team...no one will run away with this league

10-08-2014, 02:31 PM
We bit surprised Stubbs didn't have a look at Sow if we indeed have the chance. Looked good today
Jeezo calm doon ah?? 1 swallow does not make a summer n all that pal...

Still go to love some oif it though.....The game has just finished at Ibrox but they still manage to inform us that Hearts started last year at -15 but actually got more points than Hibs. Not more than Killie or any one else. Got to love it.

Well, next week if we keep Sow quiet and defend set pieices well we should have 3 points more than them after next weeks derby.

BarneyK
How did we not beat them?

We got a man sent off, and played a hell of a lot better than the yams here. Not too worried on that showing. The boy Sow looks a handful though.

10-08-2014, 02:32 PM
Dundee Utd just gone 1 up at Aberdeen

Arsenal 1 up over Man City great goal by Cazorla

10-08-2014, 02:33 PM
Thought Hearts looked more than decent to be fair

They've built a decent unit from what I seen

Still got to fancy Rangers for there depth of squad (altho is it just deep crap??) :greengrin

BarneyK
Hearts will be a team that can challenge Rangers all the way this season !

A lot of boooos at the end. FT.

P.S. the opening statement was from the t.v. It is of course not mine.

Andy Walker :agree:

Lol. Are you expecting us to win all out games ? No team will do that - i think most teams in our league will take points of of any team...no one will run away with this leagueNo I don't expect us to win all of our games but we should be aiming to go and win the league, not be expecting others to lose it for us.

Ross co 0 st.johnstone 1

10-08-2014, 02:34 PM
Jeezo calm doon ah?? 1 swallow does not make a summer n all that pal...

Next week will be a good measuring stick for us though.

Fair play to Hearts.

Utterly woeful for 35 minutes but didn't concede. Grew into the game and took their chances when they came. They are well beatable though.

As for Rangers. Garbage. Even allowing for their slow starts they are poor. We would have beaten them with 11 on Tuesday and, playing their favoured formation, they lost today. Absolutely nothing to fear.

The thing with this league is that every dropped point is crucial so we can't afford any silly slip ups. Going to be an exciting season ahead.

BarneyK
Thought Hearts looked more than decent to be fair

They've built a decent unit from what I seen

Still got to fancy Rangers for there depth of squad (altho is it just deep crap??) :greengrin

After midweek, I fancied Hearts to win here, but they actually didn't play as well as I thought they would.

10-08-2014, 02:35 PM
Andy Walker :agree:

Still a complete roaster.

10-08-2014, 02:38 PM

Sets the standard for all roasters

10-08-2014, 02:40 PM
I think the lesson from Tuesday, yesterday and today is a simple one: you have to take your chances.

Another way to look at this game is that if you get into financial trouble Administration is the preferred route than Liquidation to get out of those Financial Troubles . Hearts managed to hold on to the nucleus of promising young players and in Bauben and Gomez they have brought in experience and Sow was pinpointed as someone who would score regularly .
McCoist won't last as Manager and they are desperately trying to get new Financial backing while having to cut back on costs so they may not be able to strengthen . Ibrox was so quiet that you wonder if their fans will back them if they continue to play like that as they were indeed poor. So difficult to know how good Hear7s are but the game at Tyne-castle will now put pressure on them to go top so let's see how they handle that .

10-08-2014, 02:43 PM

This along with the ***** on Sportsound. (They would of had loads of Kleenex today after the yams win the day).

I am more than happy for folk to write us off and we go about our own business week in week out.

Let's face it regardless of how we play or results we get we will still get negative comments from the majority of the media.

Just keep pinning up ***** like that on the dressing room wall.

As for Andy Walker I wouldn't let that prick anywhere near ER ever again.

10-08-2014, 02:45 PM
oooooohh Sheep 0 Arabs 2

10-08-2014, 02:46 PM
oooooohh Sheep 0 Arabs 2

Surely not the sooper dooper famous Eberdeen getting beat?

They were good in the 80s you know?

10-08-2014, 02:49 PM

utd hitting them with ye olde counter-attacking sucker punch

10-08-2014, 02:50 PM
Surely not the sooper dooper famous Eberdeen getting beat? They were good in the 80s you know?

Richard Gordon will of went from the highs of the yams winning to well deeper than a Vlad sub??

10-08-2014, 02:50 PM
Nae denying it, this is a good result for the Yams and will give them a boost for next Sunday. It will be interesting to see what AS can come up with to combat Sow, who sounds like a danger. By the sound of the Yams physical approach to this game we will have to win the battle before the football can start.

Having said that ..... The deficiencies of the current buns, especially in midfield, are becoming obvious. Perhaps getting a result at Castle Grayskull doesn't carry the impact it used to. The Yams right back sounds like a weak link got to get at him early.

10-08-2014, 02:52 PM

:top marks:greengrin

10-08-2014, 02:53 PM

But I expected Dundee Utd to win as they were good in the 80's.

10-08-2014, 02:54 PM
Nae denying it, this is a good result for the Yams and will give them a boost for next Sunday. It will be interesting to see what AS can come up with to combat Sow, who sounds like a danger. By the sound of the Yams physical approach to this game we will have to win the battle before the football can start. Having said that ..... The deficiencies of the current buns, especially in midfield, are becoming obvious. Perhaps getting a result at Castle Grayskull doesn't carry the impact it used to. The Yams right back sounds like a weak link got to get at him early.

I think we should go out and try and play football tbh.

Let them do the kicking etc but we need to be up for it plain and simple. Let them worry bout us.

Think we will see Heff dropping out for Handling. Football will win the day.

10-08-2014, 02:56 PM
Didn't watch the game but Craig Thomson booked 6 Hearts players to 2 Rangers players and gave 26 fouls to 12 in Rangers favour?

10-08-2014, 03:00 PM
Didn't watch the game but Craig Thomson booked 6 Hearts players to 2 Rangers players and gave 26 fouls to 12 in Rangers favour?

I actually still felt he was generous to Hearts. McHattie had a reckless 2 footed lunge that went entirely unpunished. Sow had a challenge on Black muh worse than Handlings which only received a booking.

Both those decisions were still understandable but the major blunder/favour by Thomson was failing to send off the Hearts RB McGhee. Already on a yellow he had a clear studs first challenge and should've been off. No second yellow, Hearts score soon after and sub the boy.

10-08-2014, 03:01 PM

Regardless he's still a ****ing cheating bassa and always will be in my books!

10-08-2014, 03:19 PM
very good crowd at todders = 16,471

10-08-2014, 03:21 PM
3.0 Arsenal

10-08-2014, 03:22 PM
Arsenal 3 Man city 0 after 62 mins in the FA community shield

still Ross co 1 st.johnstone 2 after 75 mins

10-08-2014, 03:49 PM
Sheep 0 Arabs 3 ouch FT

10-08-2014, 03:51 PM
Wolves vs Norwich has been dire so far.

10-08-2014, 04:15 PM
Any news on the Hearts goalie , Alexander, who got stretchered off ?

10-08-2014, 04:25 PM
Any news on the Hearts goalie , Alexander, who got stretchered off ?

Heart of Midlothian ‏@JamTarts (https://twitter.com/JamTarts) 32s (https://twitter.com/JamTarts/status/498482127420522497)
Robbie Neilson confirms Neil Alexander has a suspected broken cheekbone and could be facing up to 6 weeks out. More news as we have it.

10-08-2014, 04:35 PM
Who's their back up?

10-08-2014, 04:37 PM
Who's their back up?

Fellae fae Rangers

10-08-2014, 04:41 PM
Who's their back up?

Scott Gallacher came on as sub for Alexander and conceded the goal, hope he's crap next week. :greengrin

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_Gallacher

10-08-2014, 05:12 PM
Heart of Midlothian ‏@JamTarts (https://twitter.com/JamTarts) 32s (https://twitter.com/JamTarts/status/498482127420522497)
Robbie Neilson confirms Neil Alexander has a suspected broken cheekbone and could be facing up to 6 weeks out. More news as we have it.

Don't read too much into Hearts' injuries before an Edinburgh derby. They always make a miraculous recovery in time to play against Hibs.

10-08-2014, 05:33 PM
Just spoke to a jambo and apparently it's between us and the rangers for second place and we're going to park the bus next week and play for a draw. That's the level of delusion we're dealing with here. Having read this thread it appears some on here are falling for their mindless ramblings.