View Full Version : Griffiths

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Aaron
07-08-2014, 01:32 AM
I don't know if this is true but he was getting abuse from Celtic fans APPARENTLY telling him to GTF at Murrayfield and had to be held back in tunnel. We should really try push the boat out and get him home?? Wishful thinking on my part 1000% I know.........

07-08-2014, 01:35 AM
I think we all hope this is true and he wants out! We'd piss the league with him IMO.

Nevi_SOL
07-08-2014, 01:39 AM
Wonder what Stubbs would think of he became available. Surely would jump at the opportunity. Sparky and one more winger and I'd class this window a success

TheFamous1875
07-08-2014, 01:40 AM
Wonder what Stubbs would think of he became available. Surely would jump at the opportunity. Sparky and one more winger and I'd class this window a success

I'd class this league as a success!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

07-08-2014, 02:56 AM
Celtic fans have never really taken to him. He posted a pic on facebook of his new trainers last Thursday (the day after getting humped in Poland) and they went crazy. Seems like it may be getting worse. He single-handedly saved us from going down the season before last under Fenlol. In this league, and under the insperational Stubbs we would score 40 goals. Come on Ms Dempster do the deal.

07-08-2014, 04:11 AM
A kind of reciprocal arrangement that saw Stokes going to sellic?

Id imagine sellick would hold us to ransom and keep sparky benched or worse rather than simply off load him to is for a nominal fee. Others would come sniffing too... Can't see it I'm Sfraid.

07-08-2014, 04:52 AM
Celtic paid £1m for him, so he will still be first team for a while I think. At SPL level he's an incredible player...never mind championship...so I don't think he'd be straight back here if he leaves Celtic. Might fancy another shot down south.

07-08-2014, 05:03 AM
When was the last time anyone, I mean anyone, signed for the old firm and at their unveiling press conference said they support some one else?

I cant think of many

Darren mcgregor spoke of it with TheTheThe Rangers but leigh's was even stronger still

He said "I've actually always been a Hibs fan and I will always be a Hibs fan"

gorgie greens
07-08-2014, 05:11 AM
many fans have had enough and ant him gone and the abuse is way beyond personal now after reading on Celtic forum ,some compare him to Larsson others you can imagine

TalkCeltic - The Ultimate Celtic FC Forum > TalkCeltic > Celtic Chat
Welcome to Celtic, Leigh Griffiths
User Name Remember Me?
Password

Home Forum Arcade Casino Register FAQ

Go to Page...

Page 148 of 150 « First < 48 98 138 146 147 148 149 150 >

Today, 01:29 AM #2206
AwesomeCaz
Ronnie Simpson

Quote:
Originally Posted by Murph-E
Any time we lost with Henrik playing he left exactly the way you stated. Should have gotten on like a ****bag eh?

What? Henrik was a great player who had about 10 bad games and 230 good ones for Celtic, and he tried hard and gave a **** on the pitch, like Griffiths infact, so what's your point?

Our fans are as pussy as the players now. Give out all kinds of abuse but can't take any back like McGuire said.

Credits: 99,969.95 Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinky.
That's your prerogative mate, i want him as far away from Celtic as possible.

Griffiths was trying to get back out to the stand beside the tunnel to get at the fan.

Jinky i don't like him myself, he's been good.on the pitch so far but he's a little ****, i know that..
Tonight wasn't the time to start.abusing him though, i don't think.. It should have been aimed at those who have been diabolical over 2 legs..

Wasn't digging you out either bud, would.just like to know exactly what was said before stringing him up..

Quote:
Bull****, even when it does you'll still defend him.

What did you mean by this? For the second time..

Quote:
Originally Posted by AwesomeCaz
What? Henrik was a great player who had about 10 bad games and 230 good ones for Celtic, and he tried hard and gave a **** on the pitch, like Griffiths infact, so what's your point?

Our fans are as pussy as the players now. Give out all kinds of abuse but can't take any back like McGuire said.

What a load of balls. Probably just defending Griffiths because he's an ugly *******. Aye everyone is a pussy for not wanting a racist, trouble-causing **** around.

Henrik never once had a go at our fans, something Griffiths has now done more than once already. I seriously question peoples motives for defending Griffiths.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcguire1

It'll come out that Griffiths started the trouble and massively overreacted and you'll still come out with ***** like "he's just a boy ffs he deserves a chance" like the other annoying, clueless apologists.

Quote:
It'll come out that Griffiths started the trouble and massively overreacted and you'll still come out with ***** like "he's just a boy ffs he deserves a chance" like the other annoying, clueless apologists.

Clueless(how ironic) apologists..

What an angry wee **** of a man you are..

Quote:
Have a wee think.

No nothing I can't think of absolutely anything he did wrong in that game or the last. Completely unfair for griffiths to have stuff shouted at him when mulgrew and stokes are walking down the tunnel aswell

WolfOfParkhead
View Public Profile
Send a private message to WolfOfParkhead
Find More Posts by WolfOfParkhead

Today, 01:36 AM #2213
Murph-E
Celtic First Team

Quote:

ffs give me a chance

Murph-E
View Public Profile
Send a private message to Murph-E
Find More Posts by Murph-E

Today, 01:37 AM #2214
EddieBhoy96
Celtic Bench Warmer

Did Griffiths **** your bird or something ? Seriously man your reaction to him is just as pathetic as the **** he's done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TuffGong
I hope you die in your sleep.

EddieBhoy96
View Public Profile
Send a private message to EddieBhoy96
Find More Posts by EddieBhoy96

Today, 01:38 AM #2215
Jinky.
Celtic Bench Warmer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevski
What about the other 10 fannies on the park?! At least griffiths gives you everything on the park, may not be too bright off it but he's being singled out by his OWN fans and made a scapegoat!! The way some of our fans are hounding him is shameful and wouldn't look out of place in amongst the zombies

What the **** has this got to do with the zombies?

Griffiths is a ****ing zombie.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieBhoy96
I wouldn't be surprised if some of the people posting in here are the same people that were crying because he posted a picture of his shoes online

Who was crying?

What does that have to do with him trying to attack a fan....

Quote:
Jinky i don't like him myself, he's been good.on the pitch so far but he's a little ****, i know that..
Tonight wasn't the time to start.abusing him though, i don't think.. It should have been aimed at those who have been diabolical over 2 legs..

Wasn't digging you out either bud, would.just like to know exactly what was said before stringing him up..

The whole team deserve pelters for their performance over the two legs.

As do the manager and the people who didn't give him money to spend.

It was horrible tonight.

Today, 01:38 AM #2216
Sebelon
Celtic Reserves

**** off! Should not be near a celtic jersey.

Quote:
What a load of balls. Probably just defending Griffiths because he's an ugly *******. Aye everyone is a pussy for not wanting a racist, trouble-causing **** around.

Henrik never once had a go at our fans, something Griffiths has now done more than once already. I seriously question peoples motives for defending Griffiths.

Ohh ffs grow up and grow a pair. I'm not defending Griffiths I know he's a racist ned but why should he not be allowed to shout back at another, probably drunk ned shouting at him?

Fans are pussies if they give out lip but cry on the internet when they get it back. And I bet Larsson would have gave it if anyone had shouted at him.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranc
Nah. The fan hurling abuse at him is to blame. It isn't Griffiths' fault we lost to Legia - he was on the bench for most of the two legs! Needless abuse. Griffiths isn't the first and won't be the last man at Celtic to react to abuse.

Sums it up for me. Plenty of our support like to try to give the guy needless abuse it seems. Maybe if he had been played in his proper position over stokes and pukki we might have scored a goal tonight.

mightymcginn
View Public Profile
Send a private message to mightymcginn
Find More Posts by mightymcginn

Quote:

You don't know that. You can't know that.

Quote:
ffs give me a chance

Your pathetic obsession with spellcheck and watching him regularly run rings round you on here is enough for me to see you for.what you are..

No wonder your angry..

Mcguire1
View Public Profile
Send a private message to Mcguire1
Find More Posts by Mcguire1

Tags
better than larsson, frankenthumb, gary og?, gary tank commander?, gary who?, griffaldo, he's thumb signing, hermann griffring, leighonardo, lenny brings the thumbder, lenny's marquee signing, number 7 please, rather terry griffiths, scthumbshisbum, ****ged murphs bird, that's waisis!, thumb day or another, timmy thumb

Show Printable Version

Linear Mode
Switch to Hybrid Mode
Switch to Threaded Mode

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forum Rules
Forum Jump
User Control Panel Private Messages Subscriptions Who's Online Search Forums Forums Home Site Information Newbies & FAQ Helpdesk TalkCeltic Celtic Chat Transfer Rumours TalkCeltic News Celtic Supporters Info Ticket Exchange Sport Scottish Football World Football Other Sports Beat the Bookie vBookie Betting Forum General TalkCeltic Pub TalkCeltic International Computers & Gaming Section Football Manager Technical Help TC Media TalkCeltic FC PS3/PS4 and Xbox/Xbox One

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:58 AM.

-- Celtic Green ---- Default (Green BG) ------ Bumblebee ---- CG ---- Greenfox ---- Basic-Green ---- Celtic Green (Wide) ---- New Green -- iPhone -- Mobile2 -- vBulletin Default TalkCeltic - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios

gorgie greens
07-08-2014, 05:14 AM
sorry admins feel free to edit /remove, first time of trying to copy stuff from an inferior fans forum website so do what you want if i have broken any rules:confused:

07-08-2014, 05:40 AM
Folk are kidding themselves if they think a Scotland international on about 4/5 times what Hibs can afford and whom Celtic paid £1m for is going to end up at a Championship Hibs.

Griffiths is the new Riordan on here.

07-08-2014, 06:29 AM
Folk are kidding themselves if they think a Scotland international on about 4/5 times what Hibs can afford and whom Celtic paid £1m for is going to end up at a Championship Hibs.

07-08-2014, 06:34 AM

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. At least it's taking their attention away from signing Stevie May!
Belters....

07-08-2014, 06:37 AM

Riordan came back.

07-08-2014, 06:44 AM
Leigh knew exactly what he was letting himself in for. He was destined to be used mainly as a bench player and likely to be abused by both sides of the great divide. However the financial package on offer would be too attractive for him to turn down.

By the way Garry O'Connor scored a couple of second half goals for the mighty Selkirk last night - why don't we put a bid in for him while we're at it.

07-08-2014, 07:10 AM
The quote from one Celtic fan saying I hope you die in your sleep is horrendous and everything that's wrong with this type of medium These type of nonsensical idiotic quotes should be removed immediately . they truly don't deserve him and the fact the manager doesn't bring him on till they are 6 1 down on aggregate is equally as stupid a decision
Celtic fans obviously angry but direct it at the right people in the right way .The Club has clearly decided to wait for The Rangers before splashing out again and Desmond and Peter are responsible for that . they will no doubt off load Foster and make Millions that's why Craig Gordon was brought in and Commons will possibly go if figure quoted for him is true .
Some of that will be reinvested but if John Parks is identifying thier signings still he is getting a lot wrong to find one decent player.
I can see Darkheid being half empty empty for most games this season and maybe they will get some crowds below 20,O00 for some games
The championship is where it's at this Season so let's start a campaign to get as big a Crowd as we can on Saturday for our first home game and show we are right behind our Club .

07-08-2014, 07:11 AM
Riordan came back.

You're right and I knew someone would say it. Celtic didn't pay £1m for Riordan and Hibs were a mid-table SPL team at the time though. That's ignoring the fact that Riordan had been at Celtic for 2 years without doing anything whereas Griffiths has been there 6 months.

SneakersO'Toole
07-08-2014, 07:17 AM
Celtic wouldn't give us Griffiths purely on the basis that they are relying on Rangers winning the league this year so they can punt more season tickets next season.

Celtic will be lucky to have 30,000 at their games this season.

The Hibee Harp
07-08-2014, 07:24 AM
The Celtc fans' reaction to Leigh since signing for them has been bizarre at best. Their loss will be another's gain if they end up driving Griffiths out.

IMO Leigh is destined to return to Hibs one day but it wont be for a few years yet.

07-08-2014, 07:26 AM
Celtic wouldn't give us Griffiths purely on the basis that they are relying on Rangers winning the league this year so they can punt more season tickets next season.

Celtic will be lucky to have 30,000 at their games this season.

I won't be able to attend Easter Road next season bar the odd game. But if Sparky returns, I would buy a season ticket out of sheer enthusiasm. :woohoo:

However, I totally agree with the above post, as Celtic are dying a slow death due to boredom. They want Rangers back in the SPL more than Rangers do! No way are they going to give Griffiths to us….

I hope Ive got this totally wrong!! :greengrin:flag:

07-08-2014, 07:30 AM
You're right and I knew someone would say it. Celtic didn't pay £1m for Riordan and Hibs were a mid-table SPL team at the time though. That's ignoring the fact that Riordan had been at Celtic for 2 years without doing anything whereas Griffiths has been there 6 months.

Nobody is suggesting we could bring him back on a perm basis. However given Delia and Lawell are likely to appease the sellick fans with a couple of signings (and at least one will be a forward you would imagine) then they might offload sparky on loan to a non rival and to a team he would not be away from his family.

It wont happen i am sure but its not totally unrealistic.

07-08-2014, 07:32 AM
sorry admins feel free to edit /remove, first time of trying to copy stuff from an inferior fans forum website so do what you want if i have broken any rules:confused:

You can edit your own posts mate. Give it a try, even if it's just for practice

07-08-2014, 07:35 AM
However, I totally agree with the above post, as Celtic are dying a slow death due to boredom. They want Rangers back in the SPL more than Rangers do! No way are they going to give Griffiths to us….

Celtc need der Hun much more than they care to admit. It's one O them symbiotic relationship thingys you see on Fishy Documentaries. They lick each other's.....Gills.

The Hibee Harp
07-08-2014, 07:40 AM
Nobody is suggesting we could bring him back on a perm basis. However given Delia and Lawell are likely to appease the sellick fans with a couple of signings (and at least one will be a forward you would imagine) then they might offload sparky on loan to a non rival and to a team he would not be away from his family.

It wont happen i am sure but its not totally unrealistic.

I could see the opposite happening with Celtc selling a few players on the back of no Champions League money and Griffiths being involved more.

07-08-2014, 07:53 AM
It's all to do with Celtic fans weird desire for everyone to love them. Not just love them but constantly reassure them that they love them and become 'Celtic minded'.

Leigh sees them as an employer who pay his wages and they hate that.

Turkish Green
07-08-2014, 07:54 AM
Sellik fans are TGFITW. They let Stokes get away with his out of hours behaviour because he is one of their own from an IRA supporting family. Griffiths, on the other hand, sings along with his Hibs mates and is criticized.

Piordan came back and we saw what happened to him- wasted. I have a feeling that Leigh would be looking for a money move rather a social one and Sellick will want to recoup their outlay.. However you never know, Sellick will be doing some clearing out now they are out of the CL.

07-08-2014, 08:00 AM
It's all to do with Celtic fans weird desire for everyone to love them. Not just love them but constantly reassure them that they love them and become 'Celtic minded'.

Freud would have a field day with that lot.

07-08-2014, 08:24 AM
Freud would have a field day with that lot.

Especially as he was Rangers fan :wink:

07-08-2014, 08:28 AM
Especially as he was Rangers fan :wink:

Eh?

I hesitate to ask this but....how do you work that out?

07-08-2014, 08:36 AM

Leigh sees them as an employer who pay his wages and they hate that.

I posted pretty much the same thing on the thread in the dug out about his trainers last week, they are indeed a strange mob.

07-08-2014, 08:40 AM
I think that Griffiths' future at Celtic could depend on his relationship with John Collins. On one hand Griffiths is a godd pro in training (and his skills are evident) but on the other there's all the radgeness in his personal life. It could go either way IMHO.

07-08-2014, 08:42 AM
We should knock on the door and try at least, even for 6 month loan deal. He is on £8k a week - we pay max £2k a week maybe less now. Say 26 weeks x (negotiated difference of £4k = c£100k. This is equivalent of 9 home games x 750 extra fans @ £15

Anyone willing to argue we wouldnt get that amount extra in gate money?

bigstu
07-08-2014, 08:56 AM
they said on the radio last night that Delia does not like LG & LG must have got that message by now apparently. Looks like the only place he fits well is with us, come home Lee.

07-08-2014, 08:56 AM
Eh?

I hesitate to ask this but....how do you work that out?

Whoosh!

07-08-2014, 08:57 AM
When was the last time anyone, I mean anyone, signed for the old firm and at their unveiling press conference said they support some one else?

I cant think of many
Darren mcgregor spoke of it with TheTheThe Rangers but leigh's was even stronger still

He said "I've actually always been a Hibs fan and I will always be a Hibs fan"

Gotta luv the guy :greengrin

Anyway ...the sellik fans need to man up .... we had the odd falling out with LG too, but he made up with us by hating the Yams and banging in a load of goals, some of them brilliant.

He wont be back at Hibs any time soon unfortunately ... he's got a pile of bairns to support and that's easier on 10K a week than 2K a week.

07-08-2014, 09:00 AM
If we were Yams, we'd have infiltrators over on the Celtic sites whipping up a hate campaign against him in an attempt to destabilize his position at Celtic.

But we're not so we won't. :wink:

07-08-2014, 09:01 AM
Whoosh!

Go on then, enlighten me as to what the whoosh is.

magpie1892
07-08-2014, 09:05 AM
I don't know if this is true but he was getting abuse from Celtic fans APPARENTLY telling him to GTF at Murrayfield and had to be held back in tunnel. We should really try push the boat out and get him home?? Wishful thinking on my part 1000% I know.........

This is true, and I saw it happen. In mitigation, a mob of Declans had surrounded the tunnel and were giving abuse to almost all the players as they left the field. Griffiths (unsurprisingly) was the only one who bit.

A large group of stewards had also completely surrounded the directors' box as a fair number of the Celtic 'support' had Lawwell in their sights also.

Quite an entertaining night. Edinburgh's Polish contingent were out in force and many of them were in the 'home' sections. When Legia scored their first, cue fighting in the East Stand and about 200 Legia fans moved by police and stewards to the away end (North Stand). Loads of Celtic fans left after Legia's first as well.

Later on, you could see Celtic fans fighting among themselves in the East and West Stands. :rolleyes:

07-08-2014, 09:11 AM
Go on then, enlighten me as to what the whoosh is.

Apart from him being Austrian and being born before rangers came into existence, it was the wee winky smiley that gave it away.

Imagine Freud at Ibrox!!! He'd never be able to concentrate on the fitbaw.

07-08-2014, 09:15 AM
Apart from him being Austrian and being born before rangers came into existence, it was the wee winky smiley that gave it away.

So, there was nae whoosh then.

I was waiting for the reply from SFH that Freud was a German, therefore a Hun. Having visited his birthplace in Austria, I really wanted to set him straight. :wink:

Anyvay, How Vos your relationship viz your Muzzer?

Fergos
07-08-2014, 09:16 AM
they said on the radio last night that Delia does not like LG & LG must have got that message by now apparently. Looks like the only place he fits well is with us, come home Lee.

Loving this stance from the Doo Ron manager...funny he doesn't rate a player proven in this league and level when he has still to prove himself here.....this Delia character is an arrogant toss pot, see scottish league standard comments...., and Im predicting now this cheap option will fall flat on his arse......lovely stuff

07-08-2014, 09:18 AM
Loving this stance from the Doo Ron manager...funny he doesn't rate a player proven in this league and level when he has still to prove himself here.....this Delia character is an arrogant toss pot, see scottish league standard comments...., and Im predicting now this cheap option will fall flat on his arse......lovely stuff

It's really starting to look like it. Maybe he should have stuck to Cooking Programs.

magpie1892
07-08-2014, 09:18 AM

Same goes for darkheid. I walked to the game last night, in and among the Celtic fans. They and the hun support are unlike any other sets of supporters I've encountered anywhere in football I've seen in UK, Europe, Asia, Middle East, North and South America.

They really are uniquely horrendous. Worse than the jambos, definitely.

07-08-2014, 09:25 AM

I was waiting for the reply from SFH that Freud was a German, therefore a Hun. Having visited his birthplace in Austria, I really wanted to set him straight. :wink:

Ha ha, sorry to have spoilt your ambush.

My mum? In a word "Scary". :wink:

07-08-2014, 09:28 AM

As if.....I think Freud's dreams are the same under any National flag :wink:

In fact, I think I might just go and have a power nap :greengrin

07-08-2014, 09:29 AM
Ha ha, sorry to have spoilt your ambush.

My mum? In a word "Scary". :wink:

I know, I met her when I was only five years old.

07-08-2014, 09:40 AM
we should number these threads, i'm expecting at least 3 a season between now and about 3 years after Griffiths retires....

07-08-2014, 09:48 AM
take Leigh on loan with a view to signing next year?

James.
07-08-2014, 09:52 AM
Would love Griffiths back - we'd stroll the league. Sadly I think Celtic have invested too much to just let him leave on loan and he'll score a ton in the top flight given a chance this season.

The Hibee Harp
07-08-2014, 09:57 AM
Would love Griffiths back - we'd stroll the league. Sadly I think Celtic have invested too much to just let him leave on loan and he'll score a ton in the top flight given a chance this season.

07-08-2014, 09:59 AM
This is true, and I saw it happen. In mitigation, a mob of Declans had surrounded the tunnel and were giving abuse to almost all the players as they left the field. Griffiths (unsurprisingly) was the only one who bit.

A large group of stewards had also completely surrounded the directors' box as a fair number of the Celtic 'support' had Lawwell in their sights also.

Quite an entertaining night. Edinburgh's Polish contingent were out in force and many of them were in the 'home' sections. When Legia scored their first, cue fighting in the East Stand and about 200 Legia fans moved by police and stewards to the away end (North Stand). Loads of Celtic fans left after Legia's first as well.

Later on, you could see Celtic fans fighting among themselves in the East and West Stands. :rolleyes:
All in all most entertaining then mate...cannae beat a bit of infighting amongst the mighty Septic fans lol :)

Stax
07-08-2014, 10:02 AM
Don't think there's any chance of getting Leigh back here anytime soon unfortunately. I can't believe some of the vitriol & hate towards him on twitter from smeltic 'fans'...

07-08-2014, 10:09 AM
If the new manager doesn't want him then he will be moved on.
It's up to Leigh where he goes next.

07-08-2014, 10:16 AM
If the new manager doesn't want him then he will be moved on.
It's up to Leigh where he goes next.

Folk were saying this when he was at Wolves. If the manager doesn't want him at Celtic then Celtic will sell him to whoever can afford him, just like Wolves did.

magpie1892
07-08-2014, 10:38 AM
All in all most entertaining then mate...cannae beat a bit of infighting amongst the mighty Septic fans lol :)

That it was.

07-08-2014, 10:52 AM
Folk were saying this when he was at Wolves. If the manager doesn't want him at Celtic then Celtic will sell him to whoever can afford him, just like Wolves did.

Wolves were lucky to find a club within an hours drive of his house to sell to. Celtic might find that a bit trickier.
:-)

07-08-2014, 11:02 AM
Wolves were lucky to find a club within an hours drive of his house to sell to. Celtic might find that a bit trickier.
:-)

Rangers?

Celtic do want their brothers back up, after all..

07-08-2014, 11:14 AM

"Declans" WTF is that meant to mean?

07-08-2014, 11:22 AM
We need to let it go guys. He is gone and he ain't coming back. Sad I know

07-08-2014, 11:34 AM

I was surprised to read a fellow Hibby using that term as it's a mild insult used by Rangers fans for their Celtc cousins, something to do with their Irish Heritage.

LeithBoozy
07-08-2014, 11:37 AM
Never say never, its a funny old game, he knows where he is loved. :wink:

07-08-2014, 11:37 AM

Proof?

GGTTH07
07-08-2014, 11:46 AM
If hibs go up and griffiths is still there, being a bit part player, theres a good chance he'll end up at us.

McIntosh
07-08-2014, 11:49 AM
If hibs go up and griffiths is still there, being a bit part player, theres a good chance he'll end up at us.

If we made even the effort to sign him - it would be a major statement of intent!!! If we managed to sign him watch the season ticket sales go through the roof!!!!!

07-08-2014, 11:53 AM
many fans have had enough and ant him gone and the abuse is way beyond personal now after reading on Celtic forum ,some compare him to Larsson others you can imagine

TalkCeltic - The Ultimate Celtic FC Forum > TalkCeltic > Celtic Chat
Welcome to Celtic, Leigh Griffiths
User Name Remember Me?
Password

Home Forum Arcade Casino Register FAQ

Go to Page...

Today, 01:29 AM #2206
AwesomeCaz
Ronnie Simpson

Quote:
Any time we lost with Henrik playing he left exactly the way you stated. Should have gotten on like a ****bag eh?

Credits: 99,969.95 Quote:
Originally Posted by Jinky.
That's your prerogative mate, i want him as far away from Celtic as possible.

Griffiths was trying to get back out to the stand beside the tunnel to get at the fan.

Quote:
Bull****, even when it does you'll still defend him.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AwesomeCaz

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:
Have a wee think.

No nothing I can't think of absolutely anything he did wrong in that game or the last. Completely unfair for griffiths to have stuff shouted at him when mulgrew and stokes are walking down the tunnel aswell

WolfOfParkhead
View Public Profile
Send a private message to WolfOfParkhead
Find More Posts by WolfOfParkhead

Today, 01:36 AM #2213
Murph-E
Celtic First Team

Quote:

ffs give me a chance

Murph-E
View Public Profile
Send a private message to Murph-E
Find More Posts by Murph-E

Today, 01:37 AM #2214
EddieBhoy96
Celtic Bench Warmer

Did Griffiths **** your bird or something ? Seriously man your reaction to him is just as pathetic as the **** he's done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TuffGong
I hope you die in your sleep.

EddieBhoy96
View Public Profile
Send a private message to EddieBhoy96
Find More Posts by EddieBhoy96

Today, 01:38 AM #2215
Jinky.
Celtic Bench Warmer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevski
What about the other 10 fannies on the park?! At least griffiths gives you everything on the park, may not be too bright off it but he's being singled out by his OWN fans and made a scapegoat!! The way some of our fans are hounding him is shameful and wouldn't look out of place in amongst the zombies

What the **** has this got to do with the zombies?

Griffiths is a ****ing zombie.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieBhoy96
I wouldn't be surprised if some of the people posting in here are the same people that were crying because he posted a picture of his shoes online

Who was crying?

What does that have to do with him trying to attack a fan....

Quote:

The whole team deserve pelters for their performance over the two legs.

As do the manager and the people who didn't give him money to spend.

It was horrible tonight.

Today, 01:38 AM #2216
Sebelon
Celtic Reserves

**** off! Should not be near a celtic jersey.

Quote:

Ohh ffs grow up and grow a pair. I'm not defending Griffiths I know he's a racist ned but why should he not be allowed to shout back at another, probably drunk ned shouting at him?

Fans are pussies if they give out lip but cry on the internet when they get it back. And I bet Larsson would have gave it if anyone had shouted at him.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranc
Nah. The fan hurling abuse at him is to blame. It isn't Griffiths' fault we lost to Legia - he was on the bench for most of the two legs! Needless abuse. Griffiths isn't the first and won't be the last man at Celtic to react to abuse.

Sums it up for me. Plenty of our support like to try to give the guy needless abuse it seems. Maybe if he had been played in his proper position over stokes and pukki we might have scored a goal tonight.

mightymcginn
View Public Profile
Send a private message to mightymcginn
Find More Posts by mightymcginn

Quote:

You don't know that. You can't know that.

Quote:
ffs give me a chance

Your pathetic obsession with spellcheck and watching him regularly run rings round you on here is enough for me to see you for.what you are..

No wonder your angry..

Mcguire1
View Public Profile
Send a private message to Mcguire1
Find More Posts by Mcguire1

Tags
better than larsson, frankenthumb, gary og?, gary tank commander?, gary who?, griffaldo, he's thumb signing, hermann griffring, leighonardo, lenny brings the thumbder, lenny's marquee signing, number 7 please, rather terry griffiths, scthumbshisbum, ****ged murphs bird, that's waisis!, thumb day or another, timmy thumb

Show Printable Version

Linear Mode
Switch to Hybrid Mode
Switch to Threaded Mode

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forum Rules
Forum Jump
User Control Panel Private Messages Subscriptions Who's Online Search Forums Forums Home Site Information Newbies & FAQ Helpdesk TalkCeltic Celtic Chat Transfer Rumours TalkCeltic News Celtic Supporters Info Ticket Exchange Sport Scottish Football World Football Other Sports Beat the Bookie vBookie Betting Forum General TalkCeltic Pub TalkCeltic International Computers & Gaming Section Football Manager Technical Help TC Media TalkCeltic FC PS3/PS4 and Xbox/Xbox One

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:58 AM.

-- Celtic Green ---- Default (Green BG) ------ Bumblebee ---- CG ---- Greenfox ---- Basic-Green ---- Celtic Green (Wide) ---- New Green -- iPhone -- Mobile2 -- vBulletin Default TalkCeltic - Archive - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios

Lovely.

Could the Soapdodgers possibly implode this season? (OH PLEASE!) Could this possibly be the Year of the Sheep?

PS: Admins - is this HUMUNGOUS post a record? And of so, have I just broken it? :devil:

07-08-2014, 12:04 PM

I was surprised to read a fellow Hibby using that term as it's a mild insult used by Rangers fans for their Celtc cousins, something to do with their Irish Heritage.

I would take it to mean about the same, no more, no less, as the term "Plastic Paddy".

Meaning manky Weegie neds who mistakenly imagine themselves to be the heroic modern day counterparts of Cuchulainn and Fionn Mac Cumhaill. Or maybe Patrick Pearse and Michael Collins.

(That's if they've ever heard of them, of course.)

07-08-2014, 12:06 PM

I dislike Celtic as much as anybody, but it's an insult to our club's heritage to use such vaguely racist terms in referring to Irish people, and just as bad, an abject failure of style and imagination to adopt anything the Huns do, without a massive side of irony.

07-08-2014, 12:47 PM

It seems the greatest fans in the world crumble as soon as they're defeated.

07-08-2014, 12:52 PM
I dislike Celtic as much as anybody, but it's an insult to our club's heritage to use such vaguely racist terms in referring to Irish people, and just as bad, an abject failure of style and imagination to adopt anything the Huns do, without a massive side of irony.

I agree and think that kind of talk has no place on here.

07-08-2014, 01:15 PM

Well said. There are plenty derogatory terms for Celtc fans without resorting to what you rightly call a "vaguely racist term".

Most sane Celtc fans I know point the finger at the owners and Lowell. It was interesting to hear Billy Dodds of all people saying if Celtc had invested in a half-decent squad, they would be ahead of newco for the next 10 years. Can't disagree. Great stuff.

07-08-2014, 01:28 PM
Well said. There are plenty derogatory terms for Celtc fans without resorting to what you rightly call a "vaguely racist term".

Most sane Celtc fans I know point the finger at the owners and Lowell. It was interesting to hear Billy Dodds of all people saying if Celtc had invested in a half-decent squad, they would be ahead of newco for the next 10 years. Can't disagree. Great stuff.

I dont understand that, most folk on here think The Rangers have way overspent to get up through the divisions, and beat teams on a fraction of their income?

Who have celtic got to spend more than they do just now to stay ahead of them? :confused:

07-08-2014, 01:46 PM

i'l bet all my vButtons that sparky will once again don the famous green and white shirt at ER ...playing for the home team :agree:

TheFamous1875
07-08-2014, 01:53 PM
We should start an online campaign "Get Leigh Griffiths back to Hibernian", pile on the pressure to Hibs and Celtic with a public outcry, Leigh will be touched, ask to be released and since he's down the pecking order they'll oblige, he'll join us in the Championship and win it for us!

YOU KNOW IT MAKES SENSE.

07-08-2014, 02:05 PM

As a vaguely protestant Hibs fan who likes to have arguments with both sets of OF fans on a number of subjects I have to say I've been called a lot worse by both.

I quite like it in fact, I'm looking forward to getting called a Declan.

sidjames
07-08-2014, 02:18 PM
Can I call you Dec?

Yours

Ant

07-08-2014, 03:03 PM
Can I call you Dec?

Yours

Ant

I don't know what they're moaning about. They could have been named after the one with the spam.

Greenworld
07-08-2014, 03:21 PM
We should start an online campaign "Get Leigh Griffiths back to Hibernian", pile on the pressure to Hibs and Celtic with a public outcry, Leigh will be touched, ask to be released and since he's down the pecking order they'll oblige, he'll join us in the Championship and win it for us!

YOU KNOW IT MAKES SENSE.

Why dont you start a pledge page supporters give money and we gift him to the club.....a present to ourselves. ...I will open with a pledge of 1000 pounds

07-08-2014, 03:36 PM

A most eloquent and incisive response.

TheFamous1875
07-08-2014, 04:29 PM
Why dont you start a pledge page supporters give money and we gift him to the club.....a present to ourselves. ...I will open with a pledge of 1000 pounds

Bank details or I'm not taking your offer seriously mate :wink:

07-08-2014, 04:37 PM
I would love to see Leigh Griffiths back in a Hibs shirt but it's not going to happen any time soon, sadly.

07-08-2014, 04:44 PM

Got a question for you, magpie1892, not pulling you up on your use of words as plenty have done that already.

Is the use of the term "Declans" and other such jibes along those lines in common usage in Scottish Football grounds' press boxes?

Not being judgmental, serious question.

07-08-2014, 05:04 PM

Well put DBS.
For the posters trying to explain it I know exactly what he meant, just wanted him to come out and say it. As for it having a place on this board it has no place anywhere, no?

07-08-2014, 05:19 PM
The plastic Declans if you please.

07-08-2014, 05:27 PM
Griffiths was simply the man.

Its no coincidence we got relegated when he left..As for him coming back, Behave...So many gullable people on here its unreal.

sidjames
07-08-2014, 05:29 PM
The plastic Declans if you please.

The Tribute Declans. Very good imitation but not the real thing?

macd123
07-08-2014, 05:51 PM

Cmon global hibby!! I m in if you are!

SloopJB
07-08-2014, 06:10 PM
Griffiths was simply the man.

Its no coincidence we got relegated when he left..As for him coming back, Behave...So many gullable people on here its unreal.

I was thinking the same.
Will this thread be merged with the sky fantasy football thread?

07-08-2014, 06:21 PM

For last 30 years or so I've been referred to as Jock because it's apparently hilarious. I also obviously come from Jockland and speak Jockanese.

It's not worth getting your knickers in a twist over, instead I just treat the imbeciles who propagate this hilarity with utter contempt.

07-08-2014, 06:28 PM
Griffiths isnt coming back just yet

07-08-2014, 08:09 PM
Cmon global hibby!! I m in if you are!

07-08-2014, 08:13 PM
For last 30 years or so I've been referred to as Jock because it's apparently hilarious. I also obviously come from Jockland and speak Jockanese.

It's not worth getting your knickers in a twist over, instead I just treat the imbeciles who propagate this hilarity with utter contempt.

I don't think the people who refer to Scottish folk as Jock find it hilarious at all, you're reading far too much into it.

07-08-2014, 08:33 PM
Surely someone on here has a spare million kicking about? Someone? Anyone...?

07-08-2014, 08:37 PM

Sorry I've only got £999,999.99. :-)

07-08-2014, 08:39 PM
I don't the people who refer to Scottish folk as Jock find it hilarious at all, you're reading far too much into it.

True. And of course in Scotland there are quite a few John's that are called Jock by choice ! The one I never understood when I was real young was Sandy from Alexander. I know 'and' is present in both...but Sandy? Anyone enlighten me on this? Probably really simple but then, so am I.

07-08-2014, 08:41 PM
True. And of course in Scotland there are quite a few John's that are called Jock by choice ! The one I never understood when I was real young was Sandy from Alexander. I know 'and' is present in both...but Sandy? Anyone enlighten me on this? Probably really simple but then, so am I.

Dunno about that one but Trig's pronunciation of Rodney was a cracker. Dave :greengrin

07-08-2014, 08:43 PM
Dunno about that one but Trig's pronunciation of Rodney was a cracker. Dave :greengrin

'So, what's Dave then? A nickname?'

07-08-2014, 08:49 PM

it'll be from the way its pronounced in a scottish accent: alec-sand-er.

07-08-2014, 08:54 PM
it'll be from the way its pronounced in a scottish accent: alec-sand-er.

Good pickup MyJo. Not the way I procounce it. :wink:

Alec-san-der.
Alec-sand-er.
Alex-ander.
Alex-an-der.

Mmmm. I am going to stick with Trig on this one...Dave.

07-08-2014, 08:55 PM
My euro millions tickets are on ! GGTTH

07-08-2014, 09:03 PM
Good pickup MyJo. Not the way I procounce it. :wink:

Alec-san-der.
Alec-sand-er.
Alex-ander.
Alex-an-der.

Mmmm. I am going to stick with Trig on this one...Dave.

your probably used to hearing the name said with a pronounced X and then an emphasis on the A of the next syllable.
Alex!-aander :greengrin

07-08-2014, 09:20 PM
Scotland has lots of those. My faithers name is Hugh and all his pals and my uncles cried him Shug !!!! ?

07-08-2014, 09:29 PM
Scotland has lots of those. My faithers name is Hugh and all his pals and my uncles cried him Shug !!!! ?

And Blackadder assured me that Tom is short for Bob !!

Or maybe he said I was short of s few bob!

07-08-2014, 09:30 PM
I'm a John and both me and my dad got called Jackie, at school I was alled Jake.

The French for John is Jacques and Jake comes from the Hebrew Jacob ( which is another form of John )

07-08-2014, 09:36 PM

and back to reality and this thread's purpose.

LG....we'll leave the light on for you!

MontrealHibs
07-08-2014, 09:40 PM

Or if a 1000 of us had a spare £83 a month for a year...

07-08-2014, 09:52 PM

I've got a penny. Fancy chipping in with me and buying him?

07-08-2014, 09:52 PM
Or if a 1000 of us had a spare £83 a month for a year...

Sounds doable 😊

07-08-2014, 10:05 PM
The club should do a deal with the fans, if we sell 4000 more season ticks generating about £1.5 mill and financing the deal then we'll sign Griffiths.

Turkish Green
07-08-2014, 10:29 PM
I'm a John and both me and my dad got called Jackie, at school I was alled Jake.

The French for John is Jacques and Jake comes from the Hebrew Jacob ( which is another form of John )
YJacques is the French equivalent of James. Jean is French for John.

07-08-2014, 10:29 PM
I'm a James....Seamus in Gaelic .......Jacob in the old Hebrew.....:rolleyes:

magpie1892
07-08-2014, 10:30 PM
Got a question for you, magpie1892, not pulling you up on your use of words as plenty have done that already.

Is the use of the term "Declans" and other such jibes along those lines in common usage in Scottish Football grounds' press boxes?

Not being judgmental, serious question.

Depends who you're talking to, or if other journos are trying to annoy colleagues. Quite often hear declan, hun, and the like. Sevco and Celtic fans are the only clubs that seem to attract a significant measure of derogatory comments towards their fans. Don't know if 'sheep ****gers' counts? I've heard a few journos with hun tendencies say very derogatory things about Hibs in the Easter Road press room, and likewise 'Celtic-minded' journos saying similar about Hearts in the press cupboard at Tynecastle.

So, yes, I would say it's fairly common.

07-08-2014, 10:39 PM

my late father Alexander was nicknamed Sandy by his workmates, when i asked him why, he said...just because :)

07-08-2014, 10:50 PM
Depends who you're talking to, or if other journos are trying to annoy colleagues. Quite often hear declan, hun, and the like. Sevco and Celtic fans are the only clubs that seem to attract a significant measure of derogatory comments towards their fans. Don't know if 'sheep ****gers' counts? I've heard a few journos with hun tendencies say very derogatory things about Hibs in the Easter Road press room, and likewise 'Celtic-minded' journos saying similar about Hearts in the press cupboard at Tynecastle.

So, yes, I would say it's fairly common.

magpie1892
07-08-2014, 11:02 PM

No bother. You probably won't be surprised to learn that Celtic's support attract slightly more 'vaguely racist' (!) abuse than Sevconians. It used to be massively disproportionate, but has more-or-less levelled up over the last 15 years or so for a variety of reasons.

I don't agree that the term 'declans' is racist, certainly not in the context I was using it and opinion seems divided here. If 'declan' is racist, then I guess 'hun' is out as well. Sheep ****gers insinuates bestiality; I see '****bos' and '****castle' and the like on here and elsewhere all the time. I guess it's horses for courses on how offended you want to be. I get 'English *******' all the time, or that 'Geordies are Scots with their brains kicked' out but while I am sure there are some who would argue that this is racist, it doesn't offend me in the least. People being offended on my behalf grates though.

R11Loaded
07-08-2014, 11:08 PM
Rangers?

Celtic do want their brothers back up, after all..

Leigh would and I quote straight from his twitter

"I would rather neck my dad than sign for Rangers"

07-08-2014, 11:11 PM
I'm a James....Seamus in Gaelic .......Jacob in the old Hebrew.....:rolleyes:

My name is Stiofán in Gaelic :rolleyes:

08-08-2014, 06:44 AM
But as Celtic are not playing on Saturday might we see LG at Easter Road merely as a fan?

We know that's all it would be but I bet quite a few of the Celtic fans would be upset...again.

LG....we'll leave the light on for you.

TheFamous1875
08-08-2014, 06:51 AM
But as Celtic are not playing on Saturday might we see LG at Easter Road merely as a fan?

We know that's all it would be but I bet quite a few of the Celtic fans would be upset...again.

Spot on. We need to make everyone in European football aware that although he's playing for Celtic, he's OUR player and this is where he wants to be.

Pile the pressure and they'll have to make a move as they couldn't stomach someone seeing them as second fiddle.

FIRST TO WEAR THE GREEN AND THEY KNOW IT.

08-08-2014, 07:10 AM
Spot on. We need to make everyone in European football aware that although he's playing for Celtic, he's OUR player and this is where he wants to be.

Pile the pressure and they'll have to make a move as they couldn't stomach someone seeing them as second fiddle.

FIRST TO WEAR THE GREEN AND THEY KNOW IT.

Of course I know we are playing Livi and it is the current Hibs squad we will be supporting, not a current Celtic player, but If he happens to be there I still think a few timely LG songs would not be amiss. Piss them right off.

LG...we'll leave the light on for you.

P.S. and the first to wear the green and white hoops (which I am glad we dropped).

WestEndHibee
08-08-2014, 07:11 AM
My name is Stiofán in Gaelic :rolleyes:

mine too!

And steaphan in scots gaidhlig

08-08-2014, 07:56 AM
If only Petrie had paid that 150k all of tnis would never have happened.

The Pointer
08-08-2014, 08:24 AM

Every sweaty called John who worked abroad ended up being called Jock whether he liked it or not. You can't choose your own nickname.

Also, my brother was christened Alexander but has been known ever since as Sandy.

08-08-2014, 08:42 AM
Leigh would and I quote straight from his twitter

"I would rather neck my dad than sign for Rangers"

I love Sparky.

08-08-2014, 08:46 AM
YJacques is the French equivalent of James. Jean is French for John.

Yep you're right hence why I never took up french at school :greengrin maybe it was getting called Jackie that made it confusing, never understood how John became a Jackie :confused: or even a Jack.

08-08-2014, 08:59 AM
A guy in my year at school was referred to by everybody as 'Jake' but his name was 'John'. I've never understood why.

My dad's called Sandy (Alexander) and he said it's because you can almost make out Sandy if you wite his name down in a kind of phonetic manner, A-lek-sand-er. Sounds stupid to me but who am I to argue.

The confusing part is that all my Mum's family call him Alec and his own family call him Sandy.

-----

What ANY of this has to do with Leigh Grifiths is another question entirely :wink:

08-08-2014, 09:18 AM
A guy in my year at school was referred to by everybody as 'Jake' but his name was 'John'. I've never understood why.

My dad's called Sandy (Alexander) and he said it's because you can almost make out Sandy if you wite his name down in a kind of phonetic manner, A-lek-sand-er. Sounds stupid to me but who am I to argue.

The confusing part is that all my Mum's family call him Alec and his own family call him Sandy.

-----

What ANY of this has to do with Leigh Grifiths is another question entirely :wink:

I was called Jake at School, what school did you go to?

08-08-2014, 09:21 AM
I was called Jake at School, what school did you go to?

It's not you, he was a Celtc fan and about ten years younger :wink:

08-08-2014, 09:26 AM
It's not you, he was a Celtc fan and about ten years younger :wink:

deffo not me then, wish I was ten years younger though :confused:

08-08-2014, 09:31 AM
deffo not me then, wish I was ten years younger though :confused:

I take it you went to Porty? I was at Musselburgh Grammar.

08-08-2014, 09:33 AM
I take it you went to Porty? I was at Musselburgh Grammar.

Nope, Trinity Academy Secondary Grammar school, I grew up at Leith Links at the colonies Rosevale PL, just living at Porty nowadays.

Turkish Green
08-08-2014, 09:34 AM
A

The nicknames came about due to in family traditions of naming the first born son after the father.

In Scotland we did not go for the American way of calling the son “Junior”. I have an American friend whose grandson is called “Junior Junior”

In my maternal side of the family Robert was the predominant name, although no one was ever called that, instead we had Bobby, Robby, Rab and Rob. I think one of my great uncles was even a Bert.

As for Griffiths: he’s a knob but as has been seen in football a knob that can score goals a valuable commodity. Can Sellick not loan him to Hibs as they are in different leagues and a good tally in the championship would raise his worth.

08-08-2014, 10:35 AM
I love sparky. I think I'd rather we signed him than ronaldinho tbh. He adores hibs.

08-08-2014, 10:48 AM
I love sparky. I think I'd rather we signed him than ronaldinho tbh. He adores hibs.

Ronaldinho or Sparky?

08-08-2014, 10:52 AM
The club should do a deal with the fans, if we sell 4000 more season ticks generating about £1.5 mill and financing the deal then we'll sign Griffiths.

Pretty sure they would need to OK that deal with Celtic and Sparky first... :greengrin

Green_one
08-08-2014, 11:28 AM
Griffiths isnt coming back just yet

I was at the game on Wednesday. The Polish fans were the only interesting thing about the night. Huge and constant noise. Celtic were hyper quiet.

When Griffiths came on here was no adverse comment around me (East stand). I missed the final minutes so I did not witness the abuse but Griffiths did zip during the game, absolutely nothing.

Celtic have got some decent players and some howlers. I doubt Griffiths falls into the former group. Would he be better back at ER - yip but salary wise I doubt we can get near him.

TheFamous1875
08-08-2014, 01:57 PM
I was at the game on Wednesday. The Polish fans were the only interesting thing about the night. Huge and constant noise. Celtic were hyper quiet.

When Griffiths came on here was no adverse comment around me (East stand). I missed the final minutes so I did not witness the abuse but Griffiths did zip during the game, absolutely nothing.

Celtic have got some decent players and some howlers. I doubt Griffiths falls into the former group. Would he be better back at ER - yip but salary wise I doubt we can get near him.

In all seriousness (as for all of this thread I have just been talking utter sillies), I think if it were up to him he'd jump at the chance to come back. It's his team, he's worshiped, he's number one and he's wanted.

Non-footballing, he can be with his kids which is a huge bonus for him. If he wanted to, he could take a pay cut and come back, but that probably won't happen until the next time he's a free agent (whenever that will be).

If Hibs could reach a deal with Celtic it would show huge intent and I'd feel pretty confident that we would have a huge chance of winning the league this year.

Unfortunately, that's highly unlikely, but what is highly likely is that he will be back at Hibs the next time he's a free agent.

08-08-2014, 02:05 PM
He was the main conduit for our attack when he was here last time, that wouldn't be the case this time, something to think about.

IMO he wouldn't score 30 goals a season in a team that's not playing the "direct to the striker" way. Don't get me wrong he'd still score a bucket load and if the option was there to bring him back it's something we would need to seriously look at. Having said that, Celtic spent nearly a million on him, plus his wages, it's a serious investment, even for Celtic, and considering they'll want Rangers back up ASAP to give them some purpose in their miserable existence I can't see it being even a remote possibility.

08-08-2014, 02:08 PM

-----

Seen loads of Jakies at the footy.

08-08-2014, 02:09 PM
mine too!

And steaphan in scots gaidhlig

So we have the same names mate :greengrin

08-08-2014, 02:20 PM
Ronaldinho or Sparky?

Both AFAIK

08-08-2014, 02:28 PM

Signing for West Ham if twitter is to be believed :agree:

08-08-2014, 06:01 PM
Signing for West Ham if twitter is to be believed :agree:
Farce if true. Petrie GTF.

08-08-2014, 06:39 PM

Celtic banned him from attending hibs games.

08-08-2014, 07:28 PM
;4121330']Celtic banned him from attending hibs games.

But Mr. Stokes is free to attend events with ira members...

08-08-2014, 07:46 PM
;4121330']Celtic banned him from attending hibs games.

I remember that but thought it was more of firm advice althougth they might take that to be the same thing as a ban.

Prohibited for being pro Hibs! Can't be right.

edwards
08-08-2014, 07:50 PM
if only petrie had paid that 150k all of tnis would never have happened.

petrie just gtf

08-08-2014, 08:17 PM
But Mr. Stokes is free to attend events with ira members...

It's all about being "Celtic minded". :agree:

08-08-2014, 10:02 PM
It's all about being "Celtic minded". :agree:

Or Celtc :agree: :greengrin

08-08-2014, 10:28 PM
Or Celtc :agree: :greengrin

Or celtc :agree::greengrin

08-08-2014, 10:31 PM
I hear Leigh might have a sore wee hand from where a Murrayfield wall connected with it :greengrin

H18Y GW
08-08-2014, 11:50 PM
He was the main conduit for our attack when he was here last time, that wouldn't be the case this time, something to think about.

IMO he wouldn't score 30 goals a season in a team that's not playing the "direct to the striker" way. Don't get me wrong he'd still score a bucket load and if the option was there to bring him back it's something we would need to seriously look at. Having said that, Celtic spent nearly a million on him, plus his wages, it's a serious investment, even for Celtic, and considering they'll want Rangers back up ASAP to give them some purpose in their miserable existence I can't see it being even a remote possibility.

Totally agree
I think Celtic want Der Hun back also ,loaning us Griffiths would be detrimental ,so can't see it either ...

09-08-2014, 10:33 AM
petrie just gtf

Whoosh I suspect

JHFC
10-08-2014, 12:13 PM
“@celticrumours: Rumours in Edinburgh that talks have taken place between Celtic and Hibs about griffiths going to Easter road on loan.”

John_the_angus_hibby
10-08-2014, 12:18 PM
“@celticrumours: Rumours in Edinburgh that talks have taken place between Celtic and Hibs about griffiths going to Easter road on loan.”

I could see this. Obviously not in their plans. He would score. Barrel load for us which would be a better platform for them to punt him in Jan than just getting a minute here and there for Celtic.

10-08-2014, 12:21 PM

http://mrwgifs.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Jon-Stewart-Oh-My-God-MRW-Gif.gif

10-08-2014, 12:25 PM
Rumour seems to be doing the rounds on the Celtic fan forums.

10-08-2014, 12:27 PM
1) Hibs fans see photo of Griffiths at ER game.

2) Some fans start speculating on DotNet he might return to the club.

3) Celtc fans read the DotNet speculation.

4) Celtc fans post about speculation on Twitter

5) Hibs Fans on DotNet read Celtc Twitter post and decide it's evidence they were right, he is returning.

Is that what's called a self perpetuating rumour?

10-08-2014, 12:28 PM
As Keekaboo say os the transfers thread, the Celtic rumours result from our wishful thinking on here.
No quoted sources, or suggestion of sources anywhere.
It's no' happening, although I would love to be wrong.

10-08-2014, 12:29 PM
Not going to happen.

10-08-2014, 12:29 PM
http://mashable.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Bear-in-the-Big-Blue-House.gif

If this is true...

10-08-2014, 12:30 PM
I've heard Desmond offered him to Rod on a permanent deal for £150K but Rod wouldn't stump up the cash.

10-08-2014, 12:39 PM
Maybe our target at Everton( Hope ) isn't happening and a wee off chance that Griffiths might come on loan instead, can't see it myself but fingers crosssed, Griffiths and El Alagui would rip everyone apart in this league.

10-08-2014, 12:44 PM
There is one simple reason why this won't happen - it would hurt the prospects of Sevco Huns getting promoted and, despite what the Septic fans claim, both they and the Septic board are desperate to get their new friends into the top flight to give them some meaningful matches.

10-08-2014, 12:45 PM
Oh boy here we go again

10-08-2014, 01:07 PM
1) Hibs fans see photo of Griffiths at ER game.
2) Some fans start speculating on DotNet he might return to the club.
3) Celtc fans read the DotNet speculation.
4) Celtc fans post about speculation on Twitter
5) Hibs Fans on DotNet read Celtc Twitter post and decide it's evidence they were right, he is returning.
Is that what's called a self perpetuating rumour?

Same situation here ->
Seems that a tribe of indians in a cold clime was concerned about the upcoming winter.
So one of the Indians called the Nation al Weather Service worried that it might be a bad winter. What’s your forecast?”
The weather service meteorologist responded, “We predict a very cold winter.”
The Indian reported this to his tribe, which immediately started stockpiling firewood
Yet a couple weeks later, it was still warm & balmy
The Indian again called the weather service and asked, “What are you forecasting for this winter?”
The meteorologist answered, “We think it’s going to be a very harsh cold winter.”
Again, the Indian reported this to his tribe, which, with even greater urgency, stocked even more firewood.
Even so, a few weeks later, it was still hot & steamy
The Indian, wondering where all the snow was, yet again called the weather service and asked, “You keep saying it’s going to be a bad winter. What makes you think it’s going to be so cold?”
The forecaster replied, “I don’t know. But the Indians have been stockpiling firewood like crazy"

10-08-2014, 01:08 PM
Oh boy here we go again

Kleenex at the ready??

someone go on twitter and ask Griffiths no?

10-08-2014, 01:26 PM
I think Leigh would jump at the chance to return.

10-08-2014, 01:28 PM
He'd come back. Would Celtc lend him to us for a season? Absolutely no chance.

10-08-2014, 01:31 PM
This is fun.

10-08-2014, 01:37 PM
This is fun.

Meh

10-08-2014, 01:42 PM
Meh

Silver

10-08-2014, 01:43 PM
Thought smeltic had banned LG from attending Hibs games! Maybe LG wants to engineer a move .
Fingers crossed .

10-08-2014, 01:49 PM
There is one simple reason why this won't happen - it would hurt the prospects of Sevco Huns getting promoted and, despite what the Septic fans claim, both they and the Septic board are desperate to get their new friends into the top flight to give them some meaningful matches.

This ....... They are more likely to loan him to the Zombies

10-08-2014, 01:52 PM
I'll sit in a bath full of beans in the middle of Princes Street haulting the tram works if this happens.

10-08-2014, 01:55 PM
I'll sit in a bath full of beans in the middle of Princes Street haulting the tram works if this happens.
To little to late The Tram works are finished .:wink:

10-08-2014, 01:57 PM
Spot on with this IMO

10-08-2014, 02:08 PM
Father in law who is a Smellic fan said that he had heard this last nite whilst in pub.

Would be unbelievable but sadly it'll not happen.

10-08-2014, 02:11 PM
Father in law who is a Smellic fan said that he had heard this last nite whilst in pub.

Which would be a shame as i would have many gifs lined up

10-08-2014, 02:12 PM

I heard Elvis Presley in the pub last night but he's not coming back either :wink:

10-08-2014, 02:14 PM

Stevie we can all dream but I really cannot see this happening. I want to be wrong but .... Nah

Gif's would be superb as always.

10-08-2014, 02:14 PM
I heard Elvis Presley in the pub last night but he's not coming back either :wink:

Hardy har!! ;-)

LeithBoozy
10-08-2014, 02:15 PM
Come home Sparky, PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSS SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EEEEE. :greengrin

10-08-2014, 02:21 PM
I would do pretty much anything for this to happen

10-08-2014, 02:32 PM

That's it definite then, some guy heard it in the Pub.

10-08-2014, 02:39 PM

Mate, haven't you read the thread? It's on Twitter AND Facebook, must be true.

10-08-2014, 02:40 PM

I'll have the 'give SteveHFC an infraction' button saved to favourites if Griffiths signs.

WestEndHibee
10-08-2014, 02:40 PM

You're acting like the 5 year old kid at school who claims Santa isn't real.

10-08-2014, 02:44 PM
I'll have the 'give SteveHFC an infraction' button saved to favourites if Griffiths signs.

:-(

10-08-2014, 02:46 PM

I would like to think your being sarcastic keek so will give you the benefit of the doubt!! ;-)

10-08-2014, 02:50 PM
Griffith is coming on loan. Chill.

10-08-2014, 02:53 PM

Source?

10-08-2014, 02:55 PM
Silver

Don't build your hopes up. :greengrin

10-08-2014, 02:55 PM

Mmmmmm!!!!!!

10-08-2014, 02:57 PM
He's no coming.

Manxhibs
10-08-2014, 03:24 PM
Why do we do this to ourselves...

10-08-2014, 03:25 PM
Why do we do this to ourselves...

Because one of these times it'll be true.

10-08-2014, 03:28 PM
Griffiths would score 30 odd goals in this league and could make the difference between winning it outright and ending up in a dogfight for a play-off place.

I can't see it happening though.

10-08-2014, 03:29 PM

In time for the derby or not?

10-08-2014, 03:36 PM
I think we should all pray together.

Dreams do come true.

:pray:

WestEndHibee
10-08-2014, 04:18 PM
Because one of these times it'll be true.

I do believe he's coming, I do, I do!

http://youtu.be/hFnul4k5hUM

10-08-2014, 04:27 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-_MPKiCiA

Get him in for next week :wink:

Eternal Hibbie
10-08-2014, 04:46 PM
For me LD is the one now calling the shots though I am aware many will disagree with this, however if I was Mr Petrie I might think all might be forgiven if Griffiths were to land at Easter Road.

Everyone a winner so to speak.

10-08-2014, 04:48 PM
It'll no happen.

10-08-2014, 05:06 PM
This reminds me of days gone by when we had Deek threads, will he be back, yes, no, maybe on and on etc etc.
Can't see it happening personally.

10-08-2014, 05:09 PM
This reminds me of days gone by when we had Deek threads, will he be back, yes, no, maybe on and on etc etc.

Except Deek did come back.....

GGTTH07
10-08-2014, 05:27 PM
Nah no chance. I'd be the happiest laddie around if it's true though.

10-08-2014, 05:35 PM

Big difference being there was only one time when the majority really wanted him back, and that's when he did. All the other times he wasn't good enough for us, rather than being far too good for us.

JustSimplyHibs
10-08-2014, 05:57 PM
Source?

A player who is pretty close to Griffiths...

Anyway to the one who broke the news - Celtic must raise funds and find another forward... Keep these things quiet eh, we have a league to win. :wink:

10-08-2014, 05:59 PM
If Leigh griffiths signed for us again we would win the league

yankyhibby
10-08-2014, 06:12 PM
Griffiths returning to his spiritual home would be a major coup if our club did business with Celtic and pulled it off.

10-08-2014, 06:16 PM
To win the league we need a solid centre half..

Weststandwanab
10-08-2014, 06:23 PM
Really

Are you mixed up ?

10-08-2014, 06:23 PM
celtc close to agreeing a deal for striker Aron Johannsson.

10-08-2014, 06:26 PM

And winger Tonev from Villa (loan)

10-08-2014, 06:26 PM
To win the league we need a solid centre half..

Luckily, we already have two.

10-08-2014, 06:27 PM

:hyper:

C'mon Leigh, get onto twitter. Or visit Tesco's again.

10-08-2014, 06:30 PM
Would love it to be true, but can't see it happening.

10-08-2014, 06:31 PM
Is this gathering momentum then or a load of bollocks?

I personally cannae see super Leigh coming home, Just cannae see it.

10-08-2014, 06:32 PM

Me neither, but you gotta live in hope!

10-08-2014, 06:48 PM
Imagine the absolute rage from the hearts and rangers fans if he signed.

10-08-2014, 06:49 PM

Load of bollocks I reckon

10-08-2014, 06:49 PM
Please god. Bring him home. #getleighbackontwitter

OsloHibs
10-08-2014, 06:56 PM
http://mashable.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Bear-in-the-Big-Blue-House.gif

Brilliant :aok:

10-08-2014, 06:56 PM
Can you imagine if we signed him in time to play at the weekend. Ooh ya boy!

(note, I do know that he is not coming back, but...just imagine!)

10-08-2014, 06:58 PM
Can we not? I'm still heartbroken from last time

10-08-2014, 07:00 PM
8 pages!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Come on eh?

No way in hell is he playing for us this season - no chance!!!!

10-08-2014, 07:01 PM
Don't know who has this twitter feed & probably crap, but hopefully something in it.

Would certainly boost ST sales and walk up figures

Hibs Transfer News @HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) · 24m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/498537636425105408)

I hear there actually maybe something in the Griffiths on loan rumour and it isn't as far fetched as some may think. He's not wanted at 1/3

Hibs Transfer News @HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) · 22m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/498538082237710336)

Celtic and when he does play, its out of position at RM. He told a few folk yesterday at the game he wanted to come back and Celtic are 2/3

Hibs Transfer News @HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) · 20m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/498538783483383808)

Are happy to let him go out on loan (not just to us, in general). If wages can be agreed, I think he might arrive. Wouldn't rule it out 3/3

Hibs Transfer News @HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) · 19m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/498539064539504640)

Don't get your hopes up though guys. It seems a long shot in some cases, but you just never know these days I suppose.

10-08-2014, 07:04 PM

Come on eh?

No way in hell is he playing for us this season - no chance!!!!Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww ...13245

WestEndHibee
10-08-2014, 07:05 PM
Its too late now, this one has caught on :hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper::hyper:

10-08-2014, 07:08 PM

Come on eh?

ltyf

Turkish Green
10-08-2014, 07:11 PM

Come on eh?

I believe in magic and I believe in dreams.

Spoilsport.

10-08-2014, 07:14 PM

:stirrer:

10-08-2014, 07:16 PM
Have we ever had a testimonal for a loanee :greengrin

Leigh is a bloody genius, sign a contract with a club paying big wages, p*ss off the manager and/or fanbase enough to get himself sent out on loan and play for the club he loves while earning far more than we could actually afford to pay him if he signed on a permanent basis......get a transfer to another big club paying big wages and repeat.

10-08-2014, 07:23 PM
Not happening, gutted :-( wasn't getting my hopes up though.

10-08-2014, 07:24 PM
Leigh Griffiths won't play for Hibs this season.

I would love to see it happen but it won't.

10-08-2014, 07:29 PM
Not happening, gutted :-( wasn't getting my hopes up though.

Sorry, how do you know? Did you give Celtic a ring?

10-08-2014, 07:32 PM

Have him on Facebook and asked him myself if you must know (through PM)

10-08-2014, 07:35 PM

Sun journalist Kenny Millar tweeted he's had confirmation from hibs that we're not interested.

Ken

What did he say BMD?

I don't think that's him mate.

Hank Schrader

You are a right pest aren't you. As much as I don't think it'll happen he's highly unlikely to tell a random like you whether he's moving to another team via Facebook.

10-08-2014, 07:36 PM
What did he say BMD?

Just went "No".

WestEndHibee
10-08-2014, 07:36 PM

Nahhh he's just playing with you, he just meant that its not happening today.

10-08-2014, 07:38 PM

If you can, just post what you asked and what he said. :aok:

10-08-2014, 07:40 PM
It's not his Facebook ffs it's some random pretending to be him.

10-08-2014, 07:42 PM

Even if it was his Facebook He'll not have time to be on it. The medical tonight at East Mains will be taking up all his time.

10-08-2014, 07:42 PM
If you can, just post what you asked and what he said. :aok:

No probs. Dunno how to post a picture through my phone but this is what I did...

Sent him a screenshot of the Celtic fans twitter page that said it in the first place and I said underneath it "Is this true Leigh?" And his reply was "no". :-(

10-08-2014, 07:43 PM

100% his Facebook because I have his Mrs on it aswell and theres only one Leigh Griffiths on her friends.

Purehibee_MYB
10-08-2014, 07:44 PM
Even if it was his Facebook He'll not have time to be on it. The medical tonight at East Mains will be taking up all his time.

:cb

10-08-2014, 07:44 PM
Sun journalist Kenny Millar tweeted he's had confirmation from hibs that we're not interested.

Can't see that on that on his page?