View Full Version : Smeltic
Looks like no champions league this season. Does anyone know if they'll drop into the europa league?
30-07-2014, 08:33 PM
Shame
30-07-2014, 08:34 PM
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
:bye::bye::bye:
30-07-2014, 08:37 PM
I notice they've copied our "bottle green" colour for their strip.... they just cant help themselves eh!
30-07-2014, 08:41 PM
Maybe Delilah will shut up for a little while.
30-07-2014, 08:43 PM
It's all our fault! Scottish teams drag them down. Faf
30-07-2014, 08:45 PM
Next weeks second leg return being moved to Firhill apparently.
30-07-2014, 08:45 PM
Other team missed 2 pens too.
30-07-2014, 08:46 PM
We've got a millionaire owner who won't invest. They've got a billionaire owner who won't invest. Copying us again!
Crowds will be miniscule at Darkheid. Ha ha! Can't see Forster or Van Dijk staying now.
30-07-2014, 08:50 PM
A mere weeks after Delia bitching about the 'lesser' teams dragging them down, getting hammered in Europe and hampering the co-efficient.
Get it right up you, ya arrogant Celtic ****.
It's what they deserve as a club.
If they choose to win by weakening other clubs around them rather than finding another way then they must realise they'll never compete at the top level in Europe.
30-07-2014, 08:51 PM
If they choose to win by weakening other clubs around them rather than finding another way then they must realise they'll never compete at the top level in Europe.
10/10
30-07-2014, 08:54 PM
What a shame...maybe Delia will have a better luck with these European competitions (http://www.deliaonline.com/competitions)! :wink:
30-07-2014, 08:57 PM
Bit of an outdated view is it not? How many players in their squad came from SPL clubs?
30-07-2014, 09:02 PM
Bit of an outdated view is it not? How many players in their squad came from SPL clubs?
Was thinking the same. Out of their starting 11 only Charlie Mulgrew came from an SPL team.
They're sh85e cause they have an owner/chairman tighter than ours :greengrin
Who the heck is Calum McGregor :confused:
The residents of Murrayfield area will be happy as that should see their crowd about halfed!
hibee62
30-07-2014, 09:06 PM
Is the post not more in reference to them gobbling up almost every penny of income and then complaining that the other teams can't compete? Sure they've bought up all young talent in Scotland in the past but I think players are becoming wise to that now having seen Fletcher, Snodgrass, et al. do OK for themselves outside of Glasgow, rather than Celtic choosing not to buy these guys.
30-07-2014, 09:07 PM
Looks like no champions league this season. Does anyone know if they'll drop into the europa league?
If they lose they'll drop into the final qualifying round for the europa.
The Gorf
30-07-2014, 09:12 PM
Did anyone see the red arrows spraying disinfectant as they flew over that shi****e at the opening ceremony?
30-07-2014, 09:14 PM
I hope Dons and St J do well and go far so they can point out how they helped co-efficient :wink:
30-07-2014, 09:14 PM
Purely from a Hibs point of view it emphasises how infuriating it is that we've been run so badly over the past few years, as there has never been a better time to get right in about them at the top of the Premier League.
30-07-2014, 09:16 PM
A mere weeks after Delia bitching about the 'lesser' teams dragging them down, getting hammered in Europe and hampering the co-efficient.
Get it right up you, ya arrogant Celtic ****.
This. He should have copied his namesake and given it the old "Where are you, let's be havin' you" speech to gee them up.
Weststandwanab
30-07-2014, 09:18 PM
Are they that fortunate ?
It's all our fault! Scottish teams drag them down. Faf
Of course it is, we should all be congratulated.
Other team missed 2 pens too.
Nice !
We've got a millionaire owner who won't invest. They've got a billionaire owner who won't invest. Copying us again!
Crowds will be miniscule at Darkheid. Ha ha! Can't see Forster or Van Dijk staying now.
Be sold in days
Spot on
If they lose they'll drop into the final qualifying round for the europa.
Oh my heart bleeds please let them draw some obscure Eastern European team and get humped.
Many apologies for the MQ's the B&C has kicked in
30-07-2014, 09:46 PM
Shame. :faf:
30-07-2014, 10:11 PM
Has any Scottish team ever progressed in a European competition after losing the first leg 4-1? :hmmm:
theres a load of sausage rolls from my street going to murrayfield next week for the "craic" with the visiting legia fans :take that :wink:
shetlandhibee
30-07-2014, 10:42 PM
Don't think we should celebrate a Scottish team going out of Europe... Just my opinion though:duck:
30-07-2014, 10:47 PM
Don't think we should celebrate a Scottish team going out of Europe... Just my opinion though:duck:
I think we should. We'd celebrate Rangers or Hearts getting emptied, so let's not start this pathetic Celtic love in that some seem to have. GET IT RIGHT ROUND THEM!!!!
30-07-2014, 11:15 PM
I think we should. We'd celebrate Rangers or Hearts getting emptied, so let's not start this pathetic Celtic love in that some seem to have. GET IT RIGHT ROUND THEM!!!!
:aok: Right made ma nite this result.
i hate them the same if no even more than the diet Huns and the gimps. I personally hate the love In between them and us.
30-07-2014, 11:17 PM
What about a Scottish team that wants to be Irish?
s2hart
30-07-2014, 11:44 PM
Cue the old regurgited crap, we are too big for Scottish football we are being held back with lack of money and competition, we need to move to the Engerlish league. :na na:
See ya, close the door on yer way oot! :bye:
30-07-2014, 11:47 PM
Has any Scottish team ever progressed in a European competition after losing the first leg 4-1? :hmmm:
30-07-2014, 11:58 PM
And play in the English Premier League.
31-07-2014, 12:19 AM
Is the post not more in reference to them gobbling up almost every penny of income and then complaining that the other teams can't compete? Sure they've bought up all young talent in Scotland in the past but I think players are becoming wise to that now having seen Fletcher, Snodgrass, et al. do OK for themselves outside of Glasgow, rather than Celtic choosing not to buy these guys.
I think so too, and I think we missed our only opportunity to rectify this money issue when rangers were out the league. From what I'm aware it's an 11-1 vote to get anything changed which means the bigot twins got to make all the money while we fed off the dregs.
WHY hasn't this been changed yet???
31-07-2014, 01:01 AM
I hope Dons and St J do well and go far so they can point out how they helped co-efficient :wink:
I'm tired of pishy teams like Celtc damaging the coefficient of decent teams like St Johnstone and Aberdeen. Damaging our game, I say, eh Ronny?
Don't think we should celebrate a Scottish team going out of Europe... Just my opinion though:duck:What does it matter now? Scottish football is goosed at European level anyway now.
31-07-2014, 10:05 AM
I think so too, and I think we missed our only opportunity to rectify this money issue when rangers were out the league. From what I'm aware it's an 11-1 vote to get anything changed which means the bigot twins got to make all the money while we fed off the dregs.
I think Aberdeen sniffed an opportunity and voted against change, i could be wrong of course...
31-07-2014, 10:11 AM
Glad they got humped.
Hopefully less of them at Murryfield on Aug 6th.
31-07-2014, 10:25 AM
I think Aberdeen sniffed an opportunity and voted against change, i could be wrong of course...
Yeah - Aberdeen voted with Celtic. They must have had a reason and it must have been selfish but I was astonished at the time, the vote could have been changed to 10-2 or 9-3 and the money share out could have been much fairer. When/if the Huns get back to the Premiership the chance to change will have disappeared, probably for ever. Dons suck.
Not sure they'll be too much in demand after last night!
31-07-2014, 02:07 PM
Torn apart by a far superior side - Miroslav Radovic looks a quality player!
Hopefully Aberdeen/St Johnstone can restore a wee bit of pride tonight (not that I'm at all fussed about Celtc getting pumped!).
31-07-2014, 02:34 PM
Now you mention it I do remember that, why tho? And why hasn't anything else been said about it.
31-07-2014, 02:41 PM
I think I remember being at a game once, it was a long tome ago though:greengrin
31-07-2014, 02:49 PM
Was speaking to a Celtic supporter who's a colleague earlier today. He says that Griffiths body language shows that he's not too happy at the moment
ian omand
31-07-2014, 02:50 PM
I think I remember being at a game once, it was a long tome ago though:greengrin
they can qualify with a 3-0 win.
I was at the Napoli game but cannot remember if we could have
Gone through with a 3-0 or did we do it the Hibs way.
There are thousands of people in Scotland who are of Irish descent. It's nothing to do with wanting to be Irish and more to do with being proud of your roots.
31-07-2014, 03:44 PM
We've just faced relegation humiliation and some of you are laughing at Celtic? Have a word!
31-07-2014, 03:47 PM
We've just faced relegation humiliation and some of you are laughing at Celtic? Have a word!
OK.
Nope, still laughing at them. :greengrin
31-07-2014, 03:53 PM
There are thousands of people in Scotland who are of Irish descent. It's nothing to do with wanting to be Irish and more to do with being proud of your roots.
Which has no place in football regardless of origin. You can still be proud of who you are and where your club came from without mentioning it and singing terrorist songs or national anthems. That's like a football club being formed by a homosexual and singing about gay rights. It's irrevelant to football. And that goes for rangers Aswell.
Celtic and Sevco definitely take it too far but I disagree.
If a sporting club was formed by people with a common identity then there's nothing wrong with individuals recognising that. Especially if they share that identity.
I agree. I stilL haven'T leFt mY house.
they can qualify with a 3-0 win.
I was at the Napoli game but cannot remember if we could have
Gone through with a 3-0 or did we do it the Hibs way.
We would have gone through on away goals, but rattling another two past Dino was more fun
31-07-2014, 05:35 PM
:agree: Some on here seem to have forgotten where Hibernian FC came from.
H18Y GW
31-07-2014, 05:48 PM
So its fine for Der Hun to fly Union flags and sing GSTQ AND Rule Brittania ,as they are a British team:rolleyes:
Nailrodders
31-07-2014, 05:54 PM
I don't think we have. We just don't feel the need to constantly harp on about it...
31-07-2014, 06:15 PM
And I wonder how many will be voting NO on Sept. 18th.
I would not write Celtic off ! Hamilton turned around a 2 away goals deficit :wink:
31-07-2014, 06:17 PM
Was speaking to a Celtic supporter who's a colleague earlier today. He says that Griffiths body language shows that he's not too happy at the moment
Loan time...again !!!
31-07-2014, 06:18 PM
I don't think we have. We just don't feel the need to constantly harp on about it...
Yes the harp, that's what's needed :)
31-07-2014, 06:31 PM
So its fine for Der Hun to fly Union flags and sing GSTQ AND Rule Brittania ,as they are a British team:rolleyes:
None of this should be tolerated but it is by officialdom - these 2 institutions get away with it because footballing bureaucrats put up with it.
In a modern outward looking society, like we aspire to be, most of us are if you take this pair out - two cheeks of the same erse.
31-07-2014, 06:35 PM
we dont drape irish flags all around the ground, they are a scottish club but they like to think they are irish , its a lod o pish.
None of this should be tolerated but it is by officialdom - these 2 institutions get away with it because footballing bureaucrats put up with it.
In a modern outward looking society, like we aspire to be, most of us are if you take this pair out - two cheeks of the same erse.
Union flags and the British national anthem shouldn't be tolerated? Why?
I agree if you're talking about the Northern Irish stuff or any law breaking.
31-07-2014, 06:41 PM
I'm still trying to find out what straight rights are all about! :wink:
31-07-2014, 06:47 PM
Union flags and the British national anthem shouldn't be tolerated? Why?
I agree if you're talking about the Northern Irish stuff or any law breaking.
Sorry, talking about the dogma from both sides and why they do what they do in the name of football.
we dont drape irish flags all around the ground, they are a scottish club but they like to think they are irish , its a lod o pish.
They know they are a Scottish club but they also know where their roots are.
I'm not sure why their Irish flags bother so many people.
31-07-2014, 06:49 PM
I would not write them off and frankly I am disappointed that a Scottish team might be making an early exit. I want Scottish teams to do well and the Scottish National team to do well and Scottish athletes and sports people to do well.
I also must confess I am being somewhat of a hypocrite here as there is of course one team I do not want to do well at any time in any place and with regards to them not only do I not care about co-efficients but do not care but co-existence.
FOH (F*** off Hearts).
Canongatehibs
31-07-2014, 07:58 PM
They know they are a Scottish club but they also know where their roots are.
I'm not sure why their Irish flags bother so many people.
Goes back centuries. Anti Irish racism in this country.
31-07-2014, 08:23 PM
Goes back centuries. Anti Irish racism in this country.
whats that got to do with sport. do you not think they should have scottish flags drapped round the ground but no they want to have all the irish flags, like i said its a load o pish.
31-07-2014, 08:25 PM
is one post a .net record for getting banned :greengrin
31-07-2014, 08:36 PM
Celtic cannot attract the big names anymore since they have lost old firm games and scottish football has no money compared to england
31-07-2014, 08:42 PM
Celtic cannot attract the big names anymore since they have lost old firm games and scottish football has no money compared to england
31-07-2014, 09:13 PM
Leigh has wound a few of them up today. Posted a pic this morning of his new £800 sneaks and has been taking pelters from them for not caring etc. Think another loan is best for all parties
31-07-2014, 09:22 PM
Leigh has wound a few of them up today. Posted a pic this morning of his new £800 sneaks and has been taking pelters from them for not caring etc. Think another loan is best for all parties
yes another couple of defeats with leigh not playing to well would help.
31-07-2014, 09:23 PM
yes another couple of defeats with leigh not playing to well would help.
Keep the tweets coming Leigh 👍
LeithBoozy
31-07-2014, 10:41 PM
I would not write them off and frankly I am disappointed that a Scottish team might be making an early exit. I want Scottish teams to do well and the Scottish National team to do well and Scottish athletes and sports people to do well.
I also must confess I am being somewhat of a hypocrite here as there is of course one team I do not want to do well at any time in any place and with regards to them not only do I not care about co-efficients but do not care but co-existence.
FOH (F*** off Hearts). Good Lad. :agree:
01-08-2014, 12:14 AM
That boy is a new level of stupid! Anyway keep tweeting Agent Leigh :agree:
TheFamous1875
01-08-2014, 12:28 AM
Personally I can't wait until he comes home! Might be in 2/3 years time, but it's a nap, surely, eh?
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Weststandwanab
01-08-2014, 06:55 AM
Maybe less than 2/3 years I agree but I am hearing we are in for another soon to be ex Celt in AS
patch1875
01-08-2014, 07:13 AM
They are horrendous, are they to make him taller?
Nutmegged
01-08-2014, 07:17 AM
Maybe less than 2/3 years I agree but I am hearing we are in for another soon to be ex Celt in AS
You heard wrong then mate
01-08-2014, 08:49 AM
FOH (F*** off Hearts).
Good post SFH. :agree: :aok:
Hibby_G
01-08-2014, 08:55 AM
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
:bye::bye::bye:
oot toot celtic are oot
01-08-2014, 09:02 AM
whats that got to do with sport. do you not think they should have scottish flags drapped round the ground but no they want to have all the irish flags, like i said its a load o pish.
Celtic are far from the only club in the world which flies a flag other than the country in which it plays. For example, Barcelona FC fly the Catalan flag, not the Spanish flag. They being fiercely proud of their Catalan background.
Rangers fly the Union Flag, and I have no problem with that. It's the associated bigotry (whichever side) that saddens me.
I've seen various other flags of other nations at ER, e.g. a Morrocan flag when Benji & Zemmama played for the club. A French flag when Frank Sauzee was at the club. I never heard a single complaint about that. Yet, if an Irish tricolour appears, some people seem to have issues with that. For supporters of a club called Hibernian (adjective = Irish) that seems very strange to me.
AndyM_1875
01-08-2014, 09:18 AM
Celtic are far from the only club in the world which flies a flag other than the country in which it plays. For example, Barcelona FC fly the Catalan flag, not the Spanish flag. They being fiercely proud of their Catalan background.
Rangers fly the Union Flag, and I have no problem with that. It's the associated bigotry (whichever side) that saddens me.
I've seen various other flags of other nations at ER, e.g. a Morrocan flag when Benji & Zemmama played for the club. A French flag when Frank Sauzee was at the club. I never heard a single complaint about that. Yet, if an Irish tricolour appears, some people seem to have issues with that. For supporters of a club called Hibernian (adjective = Irish) that seems very strange to me.
Never had a problem with flags at ER, I've also seen a German, Polish, USA, Canadian flags. But the best flags of all are Hibs ones.
I don't have a problem with Celtic and Rangers flying Union or Irish flags. I have a problem with their bigotry and knuckledragging support and it's shameful behavior which they wrap in flags as some form of half baked "Political" protest when its nothing like that.
01-08-2014, 09:20 AM
But...Barcelona are in Catalonia. Would that not be the equivalent of us flying a saltire, or an Edinburgh flag?
And waving flags of current players as a show of support for them is relevant to the team and occasion.
I haven't got any problem whatsoever with the waving of an Irish Tricolor in that context. I don't think any of your examples compare to Celtic's use of the Tricolor (or Rangers with their Red Hands etc..).
I can't believe I've been lured into a flag debate :greengrin :flag:
InterviewLoI
01-08-2014, 09:35 AM
Rangers had as many Dublin Catholics as Celtic in the first team last year. If they love Ireland so much, why won't they sign any irishmen
lobster
01-08-2014, 09:47 AM
With Celtic being largely bams and primarily associated with the Irish tricolour then I would hope that Hibs, being more classy in all respects, would adopt the dark green flag with the harp on it as a means of expressing the origins of the club since the Tricolour didn't exist at the point at which Hibs were formed. Adopting the tricolour has the effect of associating Hibs with Celtic IMO which is not altogether good. The tricolour shows a lack of context. Its crude. Wonderful for the Irish but crude in the context of Hibs IMO.
If we were to sign a magnificent Irish player of course that would change things as fans may wish to honour the player which is fine. Nobody said it wasn't complicated.
:cb
01-08-2014, 10:03 AM
Have no problem with flags of any country at ER and if Hibs were in the habit of flying flags from the stand roof the Irish one would be a prime candidate to fly next to the Saltire ..... the clubs roots are after all Irish which is reflected in our badge.
But for me Celtic's fans take it too far. They cant be compared to the Catalans who are in their own part of the world I.E. Catalunya when they fly the Catalan flag, the last time I checked Glasgow was a Scottish city and wants to be one. Remembering your roots is one thing, failing to pay proper respect to the country you were formed in and have played in for over a century is another. I appreciate that the sectarianism prevalent in the west coast has helped to drive that attitude to an extent .... but things have moved on and its time the Celts moved on too.
As far as Hibs go I think we have got it right...... we are a Scottish club and the vast majority of our fans have little or no connection with Ireland, but are happy to see the clubs roots remembered and acknowledged.
On subject ..... Not a good week for us in Europe, 2nd year in a row the celts have let us down. Their crowds are gonna crash ... good !!!
01-08-2014, 12:55 PM
Your comparison of Barcelona to celtc is nonsense. As someone else has said Barcelona fans displaying the catalan flag is the same as scottish teams displaying the saltire.
Your also cant compare celtc fans and their tricolours to the huns and the union flag. Rangers fans, the pro-union ones anyway, are displaying what they feel is their national flag. Celtc display, often en masse, the national flag of a foreign country, with the saltire normally nowhere to be seen. I don't know of any other club that displays the flag of a foreign country in huge numbers the way the lesser greens do.
Anyway, unlucky celtc ya manky tramps! Mon the Legia.
01-08-2014, 01:13 PM
Your comparison of Barcelona to celtc is nonsense. As someone else has said Barcelona fans displaying the catalan flag is the same as scottish teams displaying the saltire.
Your also cant compare celtc fans and their tricolours to the huns and the union flag. Rangers fans, the pro-union ones anyway, are displaying what they feel is their national flag. Celtc display, often en masse, the national flag of a foreign country, with the saltire normally nowhere to be seen. I don't know of any other club that displays the flag of a foreign country in huge numbers the way the lesser greens do.
Anyway, unlucky celtc ya manky tramps! Mon the Legia.
It's maybe a foreign flag for you but that doesn't make it one for them. A lot of Celtic fans will be Irish, or at least descendents of Irish settlers. Do third or fourth generation African people in Scotland get the same kind of condescension if they like to remember and/or celebrate their heritage? I don't think they do. Will Polish descendents if, in 100 years time, they wave the Polish national flag? Of course they won't.
Exactly.
Also, if our national flag was maroon and white, I bet that one would never be displayed by any hibs fan in Easter Road.
01-08-2014, 02:20 PM
I seem to have unintentionally stirred up a wee bit of a hornet's nest with my post about flags.
I should have known better as it's often a contentious issue. :rolleyes:
I've taken on board all of your various replies, whether agreeing with me or describing what I posted as nonsense! Cheers for that folks! :greengrin
01-08-2014, 02:24 PM
The majority of Celtc fans are Scots. How many Saltires do you see in Parkhead?
I personally have no problem with them remembering their Irish heritage. However as a Scottish club, one of the founder member of the Scottish League, what about their Scottish heritage?
01-08-2014, 02:33 PM
The USA is full of Scottish, Irish, English, Welsh, Italian, German ex pats .... hell the list is endless .... going back to the 18th & 19th century. Many of these American communities are proud of their roots and celebrate it in many ways, none more so than the Irish ...... but they are also fiercely proud of their status as Americans and when it comes to a public display to the outside world there is never any doubt where their loyalties lie.
That is my biggest gripe about celtic ... When that club represent Scotland abroad it looks more like they are representing Ireland. I have two nephews who are Liverpudlians born and bread. Their dad is a proud Scot, but I would fully expect them to proudly cheer on England when the occasion arises, while also being proud of their Scottish background.
That's the difference. Celebrating your roots is fine, but for me that's not what is happening in the case of a lot of Celtic fans, what they are doing is professing a preference for a country by word and deed over the country of their birth and their ancestors birth going back generations. I would hope and expect that second generation Poles who's families have settled in this country will see themselves as Scots, not displaced Polish refugees with a backs to the wall siege mentality.
01-08-2014, 02:34 PM
The majority of Celtc fans are Scots. How many Saltires do you see in Parkhead?
I personally have no problem with them remembering their Irish heritage. However as a Scottish club, one of the founder member of the Scottish League, what about their Scottish heritage?
You've missed my point. Descendents of African settlers will be Scots as well, but they will probably still remember their heritage and will probably celebrate that heritage. The children of Polish immigrants will be Scots but they will remember and celebrate their heritage as well. Many Celtic fans are Scots who remember and celebrate their Irish heritage, it's absolutely no different.
As for their Scottish heritage I think their current away strip is actually tartan, not that it matters, I don't think you need to celebrate your Scottish heritage if you want to acknowledge a different one.
01-08-2014, 02:36 PM
I'm out of the country at present and wondering if like us last season, the Scottish media has put the boot into Celtic for shaming Scottish football with their humiliating thumping?
01-08-2014, 02:53 PM
Rangers had as many Dublin Catholics as Celtic in the first team last year. If they love Ireland so much, why won't they sign any irishmen
Who bloody cares :rolleyes:
01-08-2014, 03:00 PM
A good old fashioned flag debate...it's been a while!
01-08-2014, 04:43 PM
Taking your example of the Polish, if in 120 odd years time there are Scots whose great grandparents were Polish walking about Scotland in the Poland national top and singing the Polish national anthem they would look just as much of a phanny as the celtc fans do IMO. It would be different if they were watching the polish national team play on tv, but if they were to do it every week like a lot of celtc fans it would just be sad and they'd look daft.
Anyway, what really annoys me is that in my experience a good number of celtc supporters, maybe even the majority, have no Irish heritage at all. In a lot of cases drinking Guinness is as close as they've come to Ireland and yet they walk about in ROI tops and sing the soldier's song. Eejits the lot of them.
All IMO of course :greengrin
superbam
01-08-2014, 05:17 PM
Don't really see what the issue is at all. Migrant populations and their descendants can have complex, multiple national identities.
Fans of clubs in South America, Australia and also in the lower leagues of Sweden and Germany, often display flags of the country where their support base originates or the country of their founders. Certainly the dynamics in Scotland might be unique, but I don't see why celtic or the huns should be expected to only display the saltire.