View Full Version : Match Updates East Fife 0 vs 0 Hibs FT

30-07-2014, 01:31 PM
First match thread of the season for me. Hopefully i remain unbeaten throughout the season.

The weather will be dry this evening with some good sunny spells. Staying mainly dry overnight with some clear spells. Moderate westerly winds falling light. Shower possible around Blairgowrie later in the night.

30-07-2014, 01:46 PM
https://www.facebook.com/CircusVegasUK

If the game's rotten, you can nip in here :greengrin

30-07-2014, 01:49 PM
First match thread of the season for me. Hopefully i remain unbeaten throughout the season.

The weather will be dry this evening with some good sunny spells. Staying mainly dry overnight with some clear spells. Moderate westerly winds falling light. Shower possible around Blairgowrie later in the night.

In Stubbs, I mean SteveHFC, we trust:greengrin

30-07-2014, 01:51 PM
In Stubbs, I mean SteveHFC, we trust:greengrin

My record last season starting match threads was shocking mate :(.

Guaranteed that continues this season :greengrin

30-07-2014, 01:52 PM
My record last season starting match threads was shocking mate :(.

Guaranteed that continues this season :greengrin

I'm backing you to go unbeaten bud :greengrin

30-07-2014, 01:53 PM
I'm backing you to go unbeaten bud :greengrin

More chance of me meeting that Russian bird in my sig :greengrin

30-07-2014, 03:56 PM
More chance of me meeting that Russian bird in my sig :greengrin

Now THAT would be a very fine thing to happen!

Gotta say that wee wavey gif at the bottom always has me smiling when I clock it.

30-07-2014, 05:19 PM
Any team news yet ?

30-07-2014, 05:21 PM
Will the vanishing spray be playing tonight?

30-07-2014, 05:23 PM
I don't give a runny ***** about the weather in blairgowrie steve, what's it going to be like in methil? :grr:
I don't know, bollah's never going to be adequately replaced meteorologically :greengrin

30-07-2014, 05:24 PM
Think we will see some players needing minutes playing today
Oxley
Gray Nelson Forster Booth

Harris Allan Richardson Stanton

El alagui. Allan

Nevi_SOL
30-07-2014, 05:27 PM
Did I see in the paper he'd saying he would be ready for season start? Maybe get 20 mins tonight?

30-07-2014, 05:39 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 16s
#Hibs (3-5-2) Oxley, Forster, Nelson, Booth, Dunsmore, S. Allan, Jones, Richardson*, Crane, Alagui, L. Allan

30-07-2014, 05:44 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 16s
#Hibs (3-5-2) Oxley, Forster, Nelson, Booth, Dunsmore, S. Allan, Jones, Richardson*, Crane, Alagui, L. Allan

Looks like a 352 again

30-07-2014, 05:45 PM
Looks like a 352 again

What gives that away (3-5-2) :p

Django
30-07-2014, 05:59 PM
Heff on the bench :agree:

30-07-2014, 06:00 PM
Excuse my ignorance but who are dunsmore and crane?

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

30-07-2014, 06:01 PM
Excuse my ignorance but who are dunsmore and crane?

Their names are Coulda and Frasier respectively.

30-07-2014, 06:02 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 15m
#Hibs subs (v #EastFife ): Perntreou, Hanlon, Craig, Stevenson, Robertson, Handling, Heffernan, Harris, Gray, Gardiner

30-07-2014, 06:07 PM
Excellent. Thanks.

30-07-2014, 06:09 PM
The Heff is back!!

Nevi_SOL
30-07-2014, 06:09 PM
Maybe end the game with the starting 11 for the game at chickenpox

Lee Marvin
30-07-2014, 06:10 PM
Excellent. Thanks.

I'll ask..... Who are dunsmore and crane? From the 20s?

30-07-2014, 06:10 PM
Rod Petrie has just turned up

30-07-2014, 06:11 PM

Boooooooooo

30-07-2014, 06:22 PM
Was hoping Cummings was going to be involved

30-07-2014, 06:22 PM
Boooooooooo

You missed the F*%^$*n

30-07-2014, 06:24 PM
Was hoping Cummings was going to be involved

Injured still. Wont be back for another 2/3 weeks...

007 Mickey Weir
30-07-2014, 06:25 PM
Dunsmore is a RB so looks like 4 at the back.

30-07-2014, 06:27 PM
You missed the F*%^$*n

Is that what counts for pre match entertainment in Fife?

30-07-2014, 06:27 PM
Has booth been played at left back in any ore season games so far or has he always been played on the left of a back 3?

woodyhfc4892
30-07-2014, 06:29 PM

Apparently Crane is playing left wing back with Dunsmore right wing back

30-07-2014, 06:29 PM

Confirmed as a 352

30-07-2014, 06:33 PM

Think it will be:

......Forster...Nelson...Booth....

Dunsmore........................Crane

30-07-2014, 06:37 PM
Really do like this plan of getting the team used to a different system.

30-07-2014, 06:38 PM

Can you tell him from me he's a ****er :aok::wink:

Nevi_SOL
30-07-2014, 06:39 PM

Hopefully gets pelters

30-07-2014, 06:40 PM
Think it will be:

I know some people may not rate east fife but they are my 2nd team and I can guarantee we'll need more than 5 players😃

30-07-2014, 06:40 PM
Hopefully gets pelters

30-07-2014, 06:42 PM
Methill looking beautiful as ever

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bt0AT_QCEAEjUIV.jpg

30-07-2014, 06:43 PM
Any chance we could stop the puns and just do game reports. !!!

30-07-2014, 06:45 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/31/mypa6emu.jpg

30-07-2014, 06:47 PM
Murray on for Miller

Normally there is always 1 but on here there are 100s ;-)
Well done admin !

30-07-2014, 06:48 PM
Let's keep it on topic folks :wink:

30-07-2014, 06:53 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1666253385/twitter-header_normal.gif Hibernian FC @HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) · 21s (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/494556081452900353)

4: Lewis Allan goes through, but his shot is saved by the keeper. Purposeful start from #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash)

30-07-2014, 06:54 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1666253385/twitter-header_normal.gif Hibernian FC @HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) · 21s (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/494556447762444288)

6: Trialist Richardson carries the ball forward 20 yards but his final pass finds El Alagui in an offside position

banarc7062
30-07-2014, 06:59 PM

Has he got his boots wi him :-) :flag:

30-07-2014, 07:10 PM
How is Richardson playing ?

30-07-2014, 07:24 PM
Must be a great game with the amount of comments we are getting !

30-07-2014, 07:33 PM
Any chance we can cut the bickering please?

Billy McKirdy
30-07-2014, 07:34 PM
Any updates on tonight's game?

Hibby91
30-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Any updates on tonight's game?

0 0 ht

30-07-2014, 07:39 PM
Separately Celtc go from 1-0 up to 2-1 down & are now down to 10 men.

30-07-2014, 07:39 PM
Not conceding many but not scoring many in the games so far. Shows the importance of getting Cummings and Heff fully fit for August 9th.

30-07-2014, 07:40 PM
Not conceding many but not scoring many in the games so far. Shows the importance of getting Cummings and Heff fully fit for August 9th.

Or getting someone new in.

30-07-2014, 07:40 PM
Lots of passing, but lacking a cutting edge. Couple of decent chances to Lewis Allan. Richardson started well but faded. Scott Allan looks decent in the middle. Jones also looking decent sitting in front of the back 3

30-07-2014, 07:41 PM
Looks like Hanlon and Handling coming on at half time

30-07-2014, 07:41 PM
If any help, stats from bet365 site, EF first

Shots on 1-2
Shots off 0-2
Attacks 32-32
Dangerous Attacks 13-15

Odds

EF 6/1 Draw 2/1 Hibs 4/6

30-07-2014, 07:44 PM
Separately Celtc go from 1-0 up to 2-1 down & are now down to 10 men.

good, delighted they are down, hope they get emptied, less money for them.

30-07-2014, 07:47 PM
El Alagui off for Handling

Forster off for Hanlon

30-07-2014, 07:48 PM
25yrd shot from Callum Booth held well by the keeper

30-07-2014, 07:51 PM
Scott Allen decent on the ball.
Off the ball looks lazy, lot of walking about.

30-07-2014, 07:52 PM
Robbie Neilson in attendance at a hibs match for the 2nd time of this pre season. (all info from HTV audio commentary)

30-07-2014, 07:53 PM
Robbie Neilson in attendance at a hibs match for the 2nd time of this pre season. (all info from HTV audio commentary)

Think we'll be unlikely to start the season in this formation so very little he'll take from this game I'd have thought.

banchoryhibs
30-07-2014, 07:53 PM
Lots of passing, but lacking a cutting edge.

Same as Saturday, more fire power needed in the squad

30-07-2014, 07:57 PM

Is it firepower creativity or both we need though? I'm not sure.

gorgie greens
30-07-2014, 07:58 PM
Methill looking beautiful as ever

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bt0AT_QCEAEjUIV.jpg

Take it Robbie Nelson brought the Hearts team with him by the looks of that tent at the back

AL-Qaholik
30-07-2014, 07:59 PM
Is it firepower creativity or both we need though? I'm not sure.

Both. Exactly the same as least season.

30-07-2014, 08:01 PM
Richardson off for Craig.

Craig's first touch is a decent shot just wide.

BigKev
30-07-2014, 08:01 PM

Sunday....

Creative midfielder who I was hoping to be Allan is required but I don't care... We'll piss this league regardless :agree:

30-07-2014, 08:02 PM
Shocking penalty miss from Legia Warsaw. :rolleyes:

30-07-2014, 08:04 PM
Crane volley from a cleared corner rattles the junction of the post and bar. still 0-0

30-07-2014, 08:06 PM
Sunday....

Creative midfielder who I was hoping to be Allan is required but I don't care... We'll piss this league regardless :agree:

Dont know. There are a lot of teams in this league capable of taking points from us, wouldn't underestimate this league.

30-07-2014, 08:07 PM
Heffernan on for Lewis Allan

30-07-2014, 08:09 PM
Heff to score :thumbsup:

30-07-2014, 08:10 PM
would of hope el alagui would of scored a goal by now to get his confidence up, saying that were experimenting so dont have a settled team yet to get that understanding

30-07-2014, 08:12 PM
Harris on for Scott Allen

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 08:13 PM
Another winger is paramount to give us pace and creativity. We need as many options as possible, another winger who'll be starting every game is exactly what our squad needs for this season.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

30-07-2014, 08:13 PM
would of hope el alagui would of scored a goal by now to get his confidence up, saying that were experimenting so dont have a settled team yet to get that understanding

Scored a very tidy goal vs DU on Sunday but was chopped.

hibs4thecup1988
30-07-2014, 08:17 PM
hit the woodwork according to betfair

30-07-2014, 08:18 PM
Cross from Harris met by the head of Craig a few yards out, beats the keeper but the ball comes back off the underside of the crossbar and the ball is cleared. still 0-0

30-07-2014, 08:18 PM
hit the woodwork according to betfair

twice now

30-07-2014, 08:23 PM
Scott Allen decent on the ball.
Off the ball looks lazy, lot of walking about.

Will give him benefit of the doubt and assume he isn't totally match fit yet but stRting first game you would expect him to be looking to impose himself on the game and get himself involved. Noticed he was subbed so maybe that confirms he isn't ready for 90 minutes We need players prepared to put in an effort for the whole team we can't afford players strolling about and not tracking back Anyone else have a view on how he performed tonight

30-07-2014, 08:23 PM
Decent shot from Harris, keeper at full stretch manages to get fingertips to tip it wide. 0-0

30-07-2014, 08:25 PM
3-1 Warsaw. :thumbsup:

great goal Warsaw 3-1! guy turned the celtic full back about 5 times before getting the cross in.

Scored a very tidy goal vs DU on Sunday but was chopped.

i would rather judge him on actual goals not disallowed ones :greengrin he did take it well but i bet hes desperate to get his first goal

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 08:26 PM
SECOND PENALTY TO WARSAW

30-07-2014, 08:27 PM
hahaha same guy ripped celtic a new one again, never a penatly but its given anyway

saved forster

30-07-2014, 08:27 PM
Sunday....

like your confidence, but we aint got no chance off winning the league this term, probably win it next again season if we dont go up in play offs.

30-07-2014, 08:29 PM
great goal Warsaw 3-1! guy turned the celtic full back about 5 times before getting the cross in.
yes delighted , couldnt care about co-efficient doesnt really bother us .

30-07-2014, 08:31 PM
4! Warsaw great break. great goal. celtc oot!

hibs4thecup1988
30-07-2014, 08:32 PM
I am not there, but this sounds a poor result. Yes some attacking but we really need to be beating teams like East Fife at this time in our pre season.

I am all for nice play etc but we need to score...that is worrying me

30-07-2014, 08:32 PM
Full Time. Heff should have scored right at the death.

0-0

007 Mickey Weir
30-07-2014, 08:33 PM
It will when Scotland has 2 places in Europe and both start super early. Will mean you won't see euro game at ER again. Will just be Celtic and Rangers every year.

30-07-2014, 08:33 PM

Both him andStevie Crawford were at the game on Sunday. No one from The Rangers was there, shows how unprofessional the new club are.......

30-07-2014, 08:35 PM
I am not there, but this sounds a poor result. Yes some attacking but we really need to be beating teams like East Fife at this time in our pre season.

I agree mate...lack of goals cost us dear last year...this needs addressing fast. I kno its only a friendly and all that but we r now only a week away from competitive action.

30-07-2014, 08:36 PM
Hmmm. Must give Stubbs food for thought about getting another forward in if we have the cash for 1 more signing.

30-07-2014, 08:36 PM
Full Time. Heff should have scored right at the death.

0-0

Thanks for the updates.:aok:

30-07-2014, 08:37 PM

Unbeatable start for me :D

I'm starting match thread next tuesday

erskine-hibby
30-07-2014, 08:39 PM

Yep, spot on.
We should be humping the likes of East Fife, lack of true fire power could cost us dearly in the league.

hibs4thecup1988
30-07-2014, 08:40 PM
I have no idea why McFadden isn't in yet, even for a 6 month period.

We need someone that can run at defences and play a ball. He would scare the defenders in that division.

Worrying times. And before anyone says positives etc, go for it. No goals in 180 minutes, and 4 in 360 and they came against Stirling

I cannot see this team finishing top 4, I really can't. Hate being negative but that is the way it is right now

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 08:42 PM
Although I agree we need more in the team, it is worth bearing that we played a team consisting of our second picks and youth. And from the updates we've been getting, Hibs seemed to step it up a notch when Heffernan, Harris and Craig came on.

30-07-2014, 08:42 PM
Yep, spot on.
We should be humping the likes of East Fife, lack of true fire power could cost us dearly in the league.

Matters not a jot in a pre-season game. That starting line up was about getting a few players some game time. We've scored 4 goals twice in pre-season but again I wouldn't read too much into that.

30-07-2014, 08:44 PM
Calm down boys. Another work out. Trying new systems, new players etc. Not even close to the our first starting 11 on the pitch. Relax. Have hope.

hibs4thecup1988
30-07-2014, 08:45 PM
Matters not a jot in a pre-season game. That starting line up was about getting a few players some game time. We've scored 4 goals twice in pre-season but again I wouldn't read too much into that.

It matters a week before our first competitive game actually.

The team that finished the game was probably our first 11. 4 goals in pre season, against who? Vale of Leithen and Berwick? I could put a team out to beat them.

It is worrying, and yes actually a game at this stage does matter.

30-07-2014, 08:48 PM
The good thing being tho, if we had won 9-0, Stubbs might have thought he'd be happy with the team. Least this way it probably emphasise the importance of that bit more creativity needed..

Friendly tho, blood, sweat and tears (hopefully no tears mind!) next week

30-07-2014, 08:49 PM

The team that finished the game was probably our first 11. 4 goals in pre season, against who? Vale of Leithen and Berwick? I could put a team out to beat them.

No it doesn't.

Allan45
30-07-2014, 08:50 PM
Agree. Lack of goals. We need 2 new players of quality, a striker.
A bit disappointed, but seen those games all before.
the proof will be in the pudding, the ingredients......

a result against Rangers on Tuesday will be good for moral, I'd take a draw. If we lose 1-0, it would not disappoint me. A win against Livi in the league is a must. I think Hibs will get stronger as the season progresses IMO.

lets get into all who meet Hibs this year.... I feel we will do well....:cb

Weststandwanab
30-07-2014, 08:51 PM
It will when Scotland has 2 places in Europe and both start super early. Will mean you won't see euro game at ER again. Will just be Celtic and Rangers every year.

You surely mean Septic and Sevco (soon to be in Admin)

Unbeatable start for me :D

I'm starting match thread next tuesday

http://img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130723024109/glee/images/5/5c/47321-Felicia-Day-oh-hell-no-gif-Bh6N.gif (http://img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130723024109/glee/images/5/5c/47321-Felicia-Day-oh-hell-no-gif-Bh6N.gif)

Billy McKirdy
The good thing being tho, if we had won 9-0, Stubbs might have thought he'd be happy with the team. Least this way it probably emphasise the importance of that bit more creativity needed..

Friendly tho, blood, sweat and tears (hopefully no tears mind!) next week

This :agree:

erskine-hibby
30-07-2014, 08:52 PM
Normally I would agree with that, but given our record last season, plus the fact that we have changed the team around dramatically, I think these games do matter and we are not (yet) showing much in the way of fire power.

30-07-2014, 08:55 PM
Normally I would agree with that, but given our record last season, plus the fact that we have changed the team around dramatically, I think these games do matter and we are not (yet) showing much in the way of fire power.

get ready for a long hard season { oh and that mob over the road will find it same as well}

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 08:56 PM
We need quality. Simple.

A winger is of absolute importance. Than a striker, then a CDM, then a CB. I think if we were to make these four signings, we'd be laughing.

I think our squad is already 'good', maybe just missing that extra bit to make us very good. These signings would confirm us as a very good team at this level and arguably the strongest in the league.

30-07-2014, 08:56 PM
I cannot see this team finishing top 4, I really can't. Hate being negative but that is the way it is right now

Yawn. Ok, I'll humour you. What two teams other than The Rangers and Hearts do you think will finish ahead of us, and why? What do you know of their squads to make you think they're better than Hibs?

Or are you just having a wee tantrum because we drew a blank in a pre season friendly?

30-07-2014, 08:57 PM

We need someone that can run at defences and play a ball. He would scare the defenders in that division.

Worrying times. And before anyone says positives etc, go for it. No goals in 180 minutes, and 4 in 360 and they came against Stirling

I heard yesterday McFadden was in at Hibs last week but now away training with Partick now, no idea if a deal on the table or if he'll be back.

30-07-2014, 08:58 PM
No it doesn't.

I think they do matter Matty, we need to be breaking teams like this down and winning. Its better teams we will be playing against in the league, and it should be tougher to beat these teams.

I still feel we are short of about 4 players, yes all the sounds are coming out at how these players are enjoying things much more under stubbs, but i have seen most of these play under quite a few managers, and i don't have a lot of faith in a few.

Maybe its because i have read this book before and know how it ends? Hopefully its a new book we will all be getting, and there's a happy ending in this one? :dunno:

30-07-2014, 08:59 PM
http://img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130723024109/glee/images/5/5c/47321-Felicia-Day-oh-hell-no-gif-Bh6N.gif (http://img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130723024109/glee/images/5/5c/47321-Felicia-Day-oh-hell-no-gif-Bh6N.gif)

http://img1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20121221202816/glee/images/a/ab/You-bitch-gif-darren-criss-23210971-500-248.gif

30-07-2014, 09:00 PM
We need quality. Simple.

A winger is of absolute importance. Than a striker, then a CDM, then a CB. I think if we were to make these four signings, we'd be laughing.

I think our squad is already 'good', maybe just missing that extra bit to make us very good. These signings would confirm us as a very good team at this level and arguably the strongest in the league.

and were do we get a winger from, do we not already have one in harris. a lot off hibs fans seem to think he will be our savoir. we just dont have the cash so just grin and bear it im afraid.

30-07-2014, 09:01 PM

How about, Hibs have shown an interest and given him an indicative offer. It's big money from Hibs' point of view, bigger than we would be paying elsewhere in the squad, bigger than we would have entertained had we not been relegated in fact. But there's a recognition he could be the spark we need so we've put it on the table.

From McFadden's point of view, he went through a spell of injury and not playing but then started to get regular run-outs with Motherwell. He has an offer from Hibs but there's no harm in waiting to see if someone else comes in offering more, especially since it seems that our interest in him is common knowledge, which makes him more attractive.

He's an experienced pro, he's keeping fit and he's got maybe one more decent contract in him. If I was him I wouldn't be jumping to accept an offer from Hibs until I was sure there wasn't anything a whole lot better out there. Coaches and clubs get nervier as the window narrows and he could easily see Hibs' great offer trumped by AN Other's silly money. Why wouldn't he hold off?

30-07-2014, 09:02 PM
http://img1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20121221202816/glee/images/a/ab/You-bitch-gif-darren-criss-23210971-500-248.gif

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 09:02 PM
and were do we get a winger from, do we not already have one in harris. a lot off hibs fans seem to think he will be our savoir. we just dont have the cash so just grin and bear it im afraid.

Eh? We need more than one winger, as there's two wings of a football pitch! And we get a winger from scouting him and recruiting responsibly. Surely that's how it's meant to be done?

30-07-2014, 09:03 PM
Some of our support not happy with 0-0 friendly game :rolleyes:

30-07-2014, 09:05 PM
Eh? We need more than one winger, as there's two wings of a football pitch! And we get a winger from scouting him and recruiting responsibly. Surely that's how it's meant to be done?

yes i agree but the comment was we need a winger so i asked the question were do we get this fantastic winger from.

30-07-2014, 09:06 PM

The team that finished tonight's game won't be our starting 11. Two young lads playing on either side tonight won't start in competitive games for a start. Robertson, Stevenson, Gray, El Alagui, Stanton, Forster and Scott Allan would all be in the first 11 if fit

30-07-2014, 09:07 PM
AS said he would give game time to those who lacked it - he did and it showed some are a bit away from match fitness and we lack depth if e get injuries / lack of form. That does not mean our first 11 is not competitive (that which played well against DUFC for 70 mins before changes) We need a couple more but tonight is not a game / formation / personnel to judge our prospects

The Gorf
30-07-2014, 09:08 PM
Hmmm. Must give Stubbs food for thought about getting another forward in if we have the cash for 1 more signing.
IF WE HAVE THE CASH. I'm sure we have but as long as Petrie is in charge ( no disrespect to Dempster) we'll never score goals. It's a Hibs curse, we just don't score goals.

30-07-2014, 09:11 PM

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/2013-09/enhanced/webdr01/27/15/anigif_enhanced-buzz-13630-1380309435-4.gif

30-07-2014, 09:11 PM
http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/2013-09/enhanced/webdr01/27/15/anigif_enhanced-buzz-13630-1380309435-4.gif

http://img.pandawhale.com/104237-Jesse-Pinkman-register-THIS-gi-yrzb.gif

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 09:12 PM
I don't think there's anything to worry about re this result, but regardless of it, there's still work to be done re the squad.

yes i agree but the comment was we need a winger so i asked the question were do we get this fantastic winger from.

I assume scouts are the ones who 'scout' players, so if we were to scout properly maybe we could recruit one via that tactic?

I have to assume that we're not done yet recruiting as we need a few more in, no question about it. I think as a squad we have some quite good players and some quite promising youth, but we need some more quite good players in to add pace, creativity, strength and leadership into the side. If we can get these things, we'll go up a gear and have a good chance of winning the league.

30-07-2014, 09:16 PM
http://img.pandawhale.com/104237-Jesse-Pinkman-register-THIS-gi-yrzb.gif

http://s3-ec.buzzfed.com/static/2013-09/enhanced/webdr06/27/20/anigif_enhanced-buzz-14889-1380328107-16.gif

euro Hibby
30-07-2014, 09:18 PM
Rangers won 1-0 there in March with a last minute penalty in the league so not sure if at the start of the season humping them is expected.

First real game is next week so we will measure better how we are progressing but for me to early to be too concerned.

30-07-2014, 09:19 PM
IF WE HAVE THE CASH. I'm sure we have but as long as Petrie is in charge ( no disrespect to Dempster) we'll never score goals. It's a Hibs curse, we just don't score goals.

Apart from all the times we do score goals. The last time we were relegated 'Petrie' lost £2 million getting us back up again. I suspect we'll be doing similar this time (and unlike Hearts and Rangers we can actually access credit).

I'm sure there's another signing or two on the way - and the deadline is still more than a month a way. And as all Hibs supporters should remember from last season how you finish is more imprtant than how you start. I'll take a few 0-0s in August while the team is finalised.

Turkish Green
30-07-2014, 09:19 PM
We need quality. Simple.

My worry is that there is no money to bring in the players you think are necessary. I suspect AS is looking at loan signings from Everton youth to make up the numbers.

Let's hope I am wrong or it will be a very long season.

Stax
30-07-2014, 09:23 PM
Whilst I agree pre season is all about getting players game time & sharpness, I also think it's time to try and build a wee bit momentum. We lacked pace, width & goals last season & although the games I've seen pre season encourage me re style of play, we're still lacking an end product. Getting our 1st 11 sorted out and playing as a unit is the most important thing I suppose.

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 09:33 PM
My worry is that there is no money to bring in the players you think are necessary. I suspect AS is looking at loan signings from Everton youth to make up the numbers.

Let's hope I am wrong or it will be a very long season.

I think regardless of whether new recruits are loans or signings on high wages, we'll have more players in. It's looking more likely that we'll be seeing loanees probably from Everton, but if that's what Stubbs deems to be suitable for our squad at this time to challenge for the league then I'm all for it.

Everton themselves have had a lot of joy the last twelve months with loan signings and we've had our own share of success with loans (Sparky, Claros, McGivern's first season, McPake's first six months).

I think most of us recoil at the notion of loanees because we had a large influx of them at our darkest moment.

Loanees are meant to enhance a team, not encompass it. We were in dire straits then, due to the disastrous squads that'd been left behind by Calderwood and Yogi and the large number of loanees in that January window were just enough to keep us up, but nothing near and the complete opposite of what is needed to defeat your biggest rivals in a national cup final, arguably the biggest game ever (which, I don't care what any Jambo ****bag says, their victory is forever tainted by financial doping and Craig Thomson)

We're not in that position now, so now I believe we could now use the loanee system to our advantage instead of our detriment.

30-07-2014, 09:33 PM
Lots of knickers in a twist over this game, it was a friendly to get people up to speed.

Yes were lacking a couple of players, do use actually think stubbs doesnt know this? He is actively looking to bring in new faces, it just doesnt always happen at the spectacular rate some fans want. Hes bringing the right players to the club based on ability, mentality and the right mould for the club. This will take time.

Speaking of new signings how did richardson get on?

30-07-2014, 09:35 PM
We played a totally different formation and team from what we played against Dundee Utd. Everyone needs to clam down. Tonight a proper coach has played various different players, tried out new formations, and got more of our squad match fit. If he really just wanted to win the game he'd have started with the 11 that started against Utd. R E L A X.

hibs4thecup1988
30-07-2014, 09:37 PM
Yawn. Ok, I'll humour you. What two teams other than The Rangers and Hearts do you think will finish ahead of us, and why? What do you know of their squads to make you think they're better than Hibs?

Or are you just having a wee tantrum because we drew a blank in a pre season friendly?

Why yawn? Shall I just stop posting because I am slightly worried about the fact we have hardly scored in 4 games against teams lets be honest we should be beating(bar united). Friendlies or not we should win these games.

As for teams that could finish above us, Raith Rovers, Falkirk, There is 2. Livingston have made signings, if they gel who knows? QOTS are not too bad a side. This league will be difficult. I think a lot of people on here are saying its friendlies don't worry, when the real thing comes it will all click. Seen it too many times before I am afraid. This won't be a walk in the park, and if certain players think it will be they better buck up their ideas and quick.

As for Stubbs, he needs a striker and a wide player/someone that can unlock a defence.

We will see though.

30-07-2014, 09:39 PM
Lack of goals is worrying. Not to score against Dunfermline and East Fife is grim. Lack of goals going to cost us again.

30-07-2014, 09:41 PM
Think it will be:

Did Booth really play as a central defender? And how did Crane & Dunsmore fare?

30-07-2014, 09:48 PM
Why yawn? Shall I just stop posting because I am slightly worried about the fact we have hardly scored in 4 games against teams lets be honest we should be beating(bar united). Friendlies or not we should win these games.

As for teams that could finish above us, Raith Rovers, Falkirk, There is 2. Livingston have made signings, if they gel who knows? QOTS are not too bad a side. This league will be difficult. I think a lot of people on here are saying its friendlies don't worry, when the real thing comes it will all click. Seen it too many times before I am afraid. This won't be a walk in the park, and if certain players think it will be they better buck up their ideas and quick.

As for Stubbs, he needs a striker and a wide player/someone that can unlock a defence.

We will see though.

hardly scored in 4 games???? 4 v Vale 4 v Berw 2 v Stir. Only a great performance from the Dunfermline keeper stopped that being 3 or 4. We were much better than Dundee Utd for 70 mins....

30-07-2014, 09:48 PM
Lack of goals is worrying. Not to score against Dunfermline and East Fife is grim. Lack of goals going to cost us again.

I am genuinely surprised at you having this point of view.

30-07-2014, 09:49 PM

Different league but still the same old obsession with them - beating us is all that matters !

Turkish Green
I think regardless of whether new recruits are loans or signings on high wages, we'll have more players in. It's looking more likely that we'll be seeing loanees probably from Everton, but if that's what Stubbs deems to be suitable for our squad at this time to challenge for the league then I'm all for it.

Everton themselves have had a lot of joy the last twelve months with loan signings and we've had our own share of success with loans (Sparky, Claros, McGivern's first season, McPake's first six months).

I think most of us recoil at the notion of loanees because we had a large influx of them at our darkest moment.

Loanees are meant to enhance a team, not encompass it. We were in dire straits then, due to the disastrous squads that'd been left behind by Calderwood and Yogi and the large number of loanees in that January window were just enough to keep us up, but nothing near and the complete opposite of what is needed to defeat your biggest rivals in a national cup final, arguably the biggest game ever (which, I don't care what any Jambo ****bag says, their victory is forever tainted by financial doping and Craig Thomson)

We're not in that position now, so now I believe we could now use the loanee system to our advantage instead of our detriment.

I have no problem with loan signings per se, but that RP has generally used then as the cheap option. If AS can see the players he needs to augment his squad coming in on loan deals then that is fine by me.

hibs4thecup1988
hardly scored in 4 games???? 4 v Vale 4 v Berw 2 v Stir. Only a great performance from the Dunfermline keeper stopped that being 3 or 4. We were much better than Dundee Utd for 70 mins....

I meant the last 4. Dunfermline, Stirling, Dundee United and tonight.

2 years ago we would be thumping those sides whnever we played them, pre season or not.

Hope I am wrong, but its going to be a struggle

30-07-2014, 09:51 PM
I meant the last 4. Dunfermline, Stirling, Dundee United and tonight.

2 years ago we would be thumping those sides whnever we played them, pre season or not.

Hope I am wrong, but its going to be a struggle

2 years ago? You sure about that?

30-07-2014, 09:55 PM
The mutants managed to beat EF 3-0!

We defo need more firepower if we are going to compete for promotion in this league.

In Stubbs I trust.

TheFamous1875
30-07-2014, 09:55 PM
I have no problem with loan signings per se, but that RP has generally used then as the cheap option. If AS can see the players he needs to augment his squad coming in on loan deals then that is fine by me.

Good to see we two Hibbys are on the same wavelength! Hopefully the powers that be are on it too!

lumbo_hfc
30-07-2014, 09:59 PM
Did Booth really play as a central defender? And how did Crane & Dunsmore fare?

Crane played well, linked up well down the left side, especially 2nd half when he got to see more of the ball.

Dunsmore looked solid enough defensively but didn't really offer much going forward. Probably because most of our good play came down the left.

Yes booth played centre half but was overlapping crane the whole game, crossing the ball and had a couple of shots, against better opposition i can't see AS being very happy with that...

hibs4thecup1988
30-07-2014, 10:01 PM
2 years ago? You sure about that?

Listen it was a throw away comment. The fact is we should have been all 4 and we won 1.

Firepower is lacking...

30-07-2014, 10:03 PM
Listen it was a throw away comment. The fact is we should have been all 4 and we won 1.

Firepower is lacking...

The same kind of throwaway comment as the one you made earlier about the team that finished tonight's game being our starting 11?

lumbo_hfc
30-07-2014, 10:04 PM

Firepower is lacking...

Seriously lacking firepower!! A forward that can hold the ball up and a midfield player that can link with the forward players and go beyond them.

30-07-2014, 10:04 PM
Crane played well, linked up well down the left side, especially 2nd half when he got to see more of the ball.

Dunsmore looked solid enough defensively but didn't really offer much going forward. Probably because most of our good play came down the left.

Yes booth played centre half but was overlapping crane the whole game, crossing the ball and had a couple of shots, against better opposition i can't see AS being very happy with that...

Good to hear the young lads doing well, Suprised booth was part of a 3 as his stregnths imo is his attacking ability.

Whats richardson like? type of player etc?

cheers

30-07-2014, 10:14 PM

We will see though.

Yawn because people mindlessly parroting that the traditionally 'bigger' First Division teams have better squads than us based on nothing more than a desperate need to predict the worst is boring. Particularly because you and others are making these 'predictions' for the sole purpose of having the comfort blanket of coming on here and saying 'I told you so' if things go badly.

Falkirk, in particular, are known not to be regarding the coming season as worth investing in a challenge for promotion. They see their best course of action as aiming for mid table this season, stockpiling the cash from playing The Rangers, Hibs and Hearts, before really going for it next season once likely two of us have been promoted.

Raith Rovers have signed Christian Nade FFS, and Martin Scott is a regular for them. They've signed Ryan Conroy who's alright but other than that they don't have a single player who'd even threaten to get into our first XI.

Livingston's squad seems to be comprised of a mixture of Hibs and Hearts cast offs. Plus Mark Burchill.

Hibs have a squad similar in quality to The Rangers and Hearts, and now, we hope, a good management team. I agree we're probably short of a brilliant goalscorer but so's everyone else with the possible exception of Kenny Miller. If Hibs fail this season it will be because Stubbs turns out to be another dud, and not because our squad doesn't have good enough players in it. For what it's worth, I think we'll win the league. It's a real pity that on here an opinion like that is far more likely to be challenged or called ridiculous than people predicting teams they know ***** all about will finish above us.

lumbo_hfc
30-07-2014, 10:18 PM
Good to hear the young lads doing well, Suprised booth was part of a 3 as his stregnths imo is his attacking ability.

Whats richardson like? type of player etc?

cheers

He never had much to do and playing centre back never stopped him getting forward, trust me! Haha

The game sort of passed richardson by, to be fair. Looked quite a neat and tidy player without being spectacular, but also gave the ball away a few times. He looks more of a player who would play between the midfield and forwards, similar to what Handling has been doing but not really an improvment (just yet) but would have to see more of him.

TowerHibs
30-07-2014, 10:28 PM
Far too many pissy pants on here tonight like. Especially those who have not been to a single pre season game.

30-07-2014, 10:30 PM
Don't think Richardson done enough in that game to earn himself a move.

30-07-2014, 10:38 PM
He never had much to do and playing centre back never stopped him getting forward, trust me! Haha

The game sort of passed richardson by, to be fair. Looked quite a neat and tidy player without being spectacular, but also gave the ball away a few times. He looks more of a player who would play between the midfield and forwards, similar to what Handling has been doing but not really an improvment (just yet) but would have to see more of him.

yeah heard he was more of the attacking type, dissapointing if he is another trialist that seems a waste of time. hopefully was just a off day for him

lumbo_hfc
30-07-2014, 10:40 PM
Far too many pissy pants on here tonight like. Especially those who have not been to a single pre season game.

You think we are in a good position to be challenging for 1st or 2nd?? Where we should really be!

lumbo_hfc
30-07-2014, 10:42 PM
yeah heard he was more of the attacking type, dissapointing if he is another trialist that seems a waste of time. hopefully was just a off day for him

Sure stubbs will keep him on, not sure if we have any bounce games. I will trust stubbs' judgement on any player we sign though

30-07-2014, 11:32 PM
We can predict all we want. During this pre season there has been so much chopping and changing that who's to say if any of the teams that played together is our strongest? Most of the teams have been a real mix of kids and experience. I do hope that this continues into the season but these teams haven't been our strongest starting 11.

30-07-2014, 11:43 PM
Yawn because people mindlessly parroting that the traditionally 'bigger' First Division teams have better squads than us based on nothing more than a desperate need to predict the worst is boring. Particularly because you and others are making these 'predictions' for the sole purpose of having the comfort blanket of coming on here and saying 'I told you so' if things go badly.

Falkirk, in particular, are known not to be regarding the coming season as worth investing in a challenge for promotion. They see their best course of action as aiming for mid table this season, stockpiling the cash from playing The Rangers, Hibs and Hearts, before really going for it next season once likely two of us have been promoted.

Raith Rovers have signed Christian Nade FFS, and Martin Scott is a regular for them. They've signed Ryan Conroy who's alright but other than that they don't have a single player who'd even threaten to get into our first XI.

Livingston's squad seems to be comprised of a mixture of Hibs and Hearts cast offs. Plus Mark Burchill.

Hibs have a squad similar in quality to The Rangers and Hearts, and now, we hope, a good management team. I agree we're probably short of a brilliant goalscorer but so's everyone else with the possible exception of Kenny Miller. If Hibs fail this season it will be because Stubbs turns out to be another dud, and not because our squad doesn't have good enough players in it. For what it's worth, I think we'll win the league. It's a real pity that on here an opinion like that is far more likely to be challenged or called ridiculous than people predicting teams they know ***** all about will finish above us.

I hope not. Hibs have a decent squad by Championship standards, as do Hearts and Rangers. Putting my partisanship aside, I'd incline towards Rangers winning it as with Millar and Boyd they will score goals at that level and officialdom will be willing them on to be reunited with their beloved Celtic, particularly as the latter's season is now practically over following heavy defeat in Warsaw.

But Hibs (or Hearts) could certainly win it, it all depends how the squads respond to their respective managements.

davhibby
31-07-2014, 12:08 AM
In the last few friendlies we've played a different formation every game and even 2 in one game. We're just using them to give game time to everyone and try out some different ways of playing. We will bring some more players in, probably on loan, that will add some more quality. Stubbs has already targeted the right positions and I'm sure he knows where we need to improve so we just need to calm down, it's only a friendly

boab1875
31-07-2014, 12:10 AM
if these are the types of results we are getting in friendlies against part time teams, I am baffled that people actually believe we can challenge Rangers for the title, we will be lucky to reach the play offs.Ive not attended any pre season and will not be attending ER this season in protest having given up my season ticket. some will say because of this I cannot pass comment, however all that matters are results and I maintain we will not get results or push forward as a club with Petrie at the helm.

31-07-2014, 12:17 AM
if these are the types of results we are getting in friendlies against part time teams, I am baffled that people actually believe we can challenge Rangers for the title, we will be lucky to reach the play offs.Ive not attended any pre season and will not be attending ER this season in protest having given up my season ticket. some will say because of this I cannot pass comment, however all that matters are results and I maintain we will not get results or push forward as a club with Petrie at the helm.

Petrie is not at the helm.

31-07-2014, 01:28 AM
The daily record put this on their twitter page, did they know it was a friendly? 😂

“@Record_Sport: A quite extraordinary result, and surely some searching questions need answered.
Yes, East Fife held Hibs to a 0-0 draw tonight”

macd123
31-07-2014, 01:34 AM

I hope you do end up coming to some games, i think you will like what you see.

31-07-2014, 01:36 AM
The daily record put this on their twitter page, did they know it was a friendly? 😂

“@Record_Sport: A quite extraordinary result, and surely some searching questions need answered.

There is no getting away from the fact that we should be beating teams like East Fife.
I'm pleased we are getting back to a passing game but we need to start winning games. We have no cutting edge at all just now and no sign of anyone coming in.

31-07-2014, 02:01 AM
There is no getting away from the fact that we should be beating teams like East Fife.
I'm pleased we are getting back to a passing game but we need to start winning games. We have no cutting edge at all just now and no sign of anyone coming in.

We will see how things turn out against Rangers next week and what happens regarding transfers in the next few days

TheFamous1875
31-07-2014, 03:13 AM
I'm sure the Record never tweeted such nonsense when Dundee beat Man City. Are people worried that they'll fair the same way this season defending their title?

31-07-2014, 03:13 AM

To go with the 'quite extraordinary result' Celtic had in a competitive CL game then ?

The 'Record' is quite an extraordinary gash newspaper so I wouldn't really worry about it too much.

31-07-2014, 04:35 AM

Aye cause The Rangers have had a right good pre season tae eh

31-07-2014, 06:47 AM
Quote removed at user's request

:agree: Still there's those signings we've made but have still to announce :faf:

31-07-2014, 06:56 AM
Just one comment for the upcoming season....if we don't find a goalscorer, and soon, we're in big trouble.

:paranoid:

31-07-2014, 07:45 AM

It's quite clearly a joke referencing celtic's hammering.

Paloschi
31-07-2014, 08:00 AM
To be honest i'm not fussed about pre-season results. It is all about performances and whilst I have only seen highlights I gather that we are playing the ball on the deck.

Stubbs is trying to change the philosophy of the football and the culture of the club. Other positives include experimenting with a back 3 and games for players like Gardiner, Crane, Dunsmore, Allan and Todd.

We have also only conceded 1 goal which is pretty good.

I still think we need 2 or 3 more for depth and tbh I feel we need a holding midfielder to let Craig and Robertson go forward. OTJ is not the answer IMO.

Goals can be a worry but I feel El Alagui and Cummings will score at this level. We need creativity in the team to create chances for them though.

31-07-2014, 08:19 AM
Those who have not been to a game so far this season are of course entitled to comment. However the fact they have not seen us play nor seen the vast improvements means that they cannot comment sujectively. By all means decide not to go and watch Hibs but the tautological nonsense coming out on here does ma napper in. Results are all that matters? What happened to the vast majority seeming to want us to play " the Hibs way", whatever the heck that is. This team is well capable of winning this league. I would not say no to a couple more players obviously, nobody would as every position could be bettered, however, we are capable. Huns and yams will lose points in this league as well.

31-07-2014, 08:21 AM
To be honest i'm not fussed about pre-season results. It is all about performances and whilst I have only seen highlights I gather that we are playing the ball on the deck.

Stubbs is trying to change the philosophy of the football and the culture of the club. Other positives include experimenting with a back 3 and games for players like Gardiner, Crane, Dunsmore, Allan and Todd.

We have also only conceded 1 goal which is pretty good.

I still think we need 2 or 3 more for depth and tbh I feel we need a holding midfielder to let Craig and Robertson go forward. OTJ is not the answer IMO.

Goals can be a worry but I feel El Alagui and Cummings will score at this level. We need creativity in the team to create chances for them though.
Cummings will miss next few weeks so won't be match fit and won't be available for first league game Heff will get more game time against rangers but isn't match fit and we don't know how if he will break down again or remain fit so a lot riding on El Alagui if no one else is brought in .
Have only seem one game so am not in position to be sure what is needed playing football on deck is least we should of expected so credit to Stubbs and his team for that .
But the debates last season were all variations of same themes What is it we need to create chances for strikers pace and creativity and getting players wide to take men on and get quality crosses into box etc Stubbs will know what budget he has left and it's clear some younger loan players will come in The Sevco livi and hear7s games should give us an indication of what we need
Other teams won't have seen our starting 11 yet so that may give us an advantage and Stubbs looks like he will mix things up and have plan b for games instead of reverting to Hoofball .
Looking forward to first competitive game but still not sure how we will fair until we get those first few games in and add to squad

31-07-2014, 08:31 AM

I'm intrigued as to how you think we managed to lose £2m last season?
League placing money would have been down but crowds were at our break even figure of 11,000.
I anticipate a loss but £2m. I can't see it.
As for losing £3m this year, no chance. If we haven't got it we won't spend it. We have released 16 players and brought in 4, probably on lower wages.
You may be correct that we don't have a pot to p*** in but there is no way we have borrowed an extra £5m.

The Gorf
31-07-2014, 08:48 AM
Borrow it from the Bank but don't go silly. Just enough to get us a decent striker.

31-07-2014, 09:15 AM
Last night was effectively a reserve team, I think only 3 of outfield starters will be first choice this season & we took off 2 of those at h/t! Two boys, who I suspect were largely unknown to most on here started. It seems sensible to me for AS to see as many of our players as possible & also to wrap our probable starters in cotton wool. I'm more concerned re those being selected & style of play than results. Two seasons ago I looked in horror at PF's team with Stephens as defensive lynchpin. One game into the season & he was released! Finally, If pre season results determine the season ahead then I assume those creaming themselves over our results have lumped on Dundee for the league!

31-07-2014, 09:55 AM
As for losing £3m this year, no chance. If we haven't got it we won't spend it. We have released 16 players and brought in 4, probably on lower wages.

Last time we were relegated we lost c£2 million and I'd expect us to do similar again. Hibs financial advantage over Hearts and Rangers is that we can actually run a loss and have access to finance. Hearts and Rangers will have to try and win promotion while breaking even.

31-07-2014, 10:03 AM
Last time we were relegated we lost c£2 million and I'd expect us to do similar again. Hibs financial advantage over Hearts and Rangers is that we can actually run a loss and have access to finance. Hearts and Rangers will have to try and win promotion while breaking even.

We lost that money because we signed Sauzee, Latapy and Mixu etc.
That's clearly not happening now.

Just_Jimmy
31-07-2014, 10:08 AM
We hit the post and bar in the second half, craig missed a sitter of a freeheader and someone else had a decent chance towards the end.

Fife didnt have a genuine effort bar the left back's freekick that sailed over in the second half.

I see a lot of East Fife, they are much improved from last season on last nights showing, but make no mistake, over first 11 would beat them comfortably.

If we have enough to beat teams in this league is a different question.

31-07-2014, 11:38 AM

You clearly don't 'know'.

Hibs have an overdraft facility. Not saying we will, or should, use it but it's there. With STF behind the club, and our unblemished history of repayment with the bank, if we were to seek bank finance I don't think there would be any major problems. Not that I think we will, because taking out a loan to buy players would be stupid.

Also, STF 'putting up short term cash' has become the latest Hibs.net 'fact'. It's utter b*llocks.

Deek01
31-07-2014, 11:49 AM
Always remembered the story of Scott Smith returning to pre season under Fenlon overweight, he didn't half look heavy last night !

31-07-2014, 11:54 AM
Post deleted dangerous ground for me