View Full Version : Films
Just wondered what people had been too see at the flicks as of late?
I went and saw The Purge last night and thought it was very good.
Earth to Echo today and I was gutted it didn't live up to the expectation.
Transformers - good, knew what I was getting
22 jump street - poor
Dawn of the apes - very good
Any recommendations?
28-07-2014, 01:45 PM
Just wondered what people had been too see at the flicks as of late?
I went and saw The Purge last night and thought it was very good.
Earth to Echo today and I was gutted it didn't live up to the expectation.
Transformers - good, knew what I was getting
22 jump street - poor
Dawn of the apes - very good
Any recommendations?
22 Jump Street was extremely good, lots of good references to movies making sequels which made it work perfectly.
Dawn of the Planet of Apes was amazing.
28-07-2014, 02:34 PM
Yep I saw Planet of the apes last week - very good.
About time Andy Serskis' performances were rewarded IMO.
RoslinInstHibby
04-08-2014, 06:53 AM
guardians of the galaxy is brilliant! a hell of a lot of fun!
bringbackbenny
04-08-2014, 08:11 AM
BroxburnHibee, Mon 28 Jul 15:34
Yep I saw Planet of the apes last week - very good.
About time Andy Serskis' performances were rewarded IMO.
Agree, amazingly talented.
The clip below is really funny gollum leaving a voicemail for Caesar
One show Gollum calling Ceasar by Andy Serkis (http://youtu.be/kvxuLAIPy2o)
04-08-2014, 09:17 AM
Off to see Guardians of the Galaxy tomorrow - not sure if I'm looking forward to it or not really - it has Nathan Fillion in it, so I'm optimistic :greengrin
04-08-2014, 11:30 AM
Booked tickets for The Inbetweeners 2 for Wednesday.
Loved the TV series, bit disappointed with the 1st film so not sure what to expect.
RoslinInstHibby
04-08-2014, 02:47 PM
Off to see Guardians of the Galaxy tomorrow - not sure if I'm looking forward to it or not really - it has Nathan Fillion in it, so I'm optimistic :greengrin
dont go see it if its only to see him.....you might be a tad disappointed:greengrin
04-08-2014, 06:13 PM
Loved the TV series, bit disappointed with the 1st film so not sure what to expect.
if you've only seen the film once i'd say watch it again. I left the cinema a bit underwhelmd but realy enjoyed it on second viewing.
Went upto the pictures today and the only thing on at that time was The Nut Job. One of the worst films iv seen for a while, ended up dozing off at times
05-08-2014, 01:59 PM
I hoping to go on Thursday - hooted at no1.
28-08-2014, 03:22 PM
Inbetweeners 2 is absolutely top class. Constantly laughing the whole way through.
Definitely recommend Lets Be Cops. Again, couldnt stop laughing. Very good idea for a movie too and the banter between the 2 guys throughout is top class.
28-08-2014, 04:36 PM
Inbetweeners 2 is quality. The water slide bit had me about greeting I was laughing so much.
I actually went to the cinema to see this, which makes a change, but a perfect version is available to download on Pirate Bay.:wink:
29-08-2014, 01:47 PM
50/50. Amazing film.
29-08-2014, 07:51 PM
Went to see lucy yesterday. It was enjoyable yet a bit mental.
They had a trailor for a film The Riot Club on before it. I'll be giving that one a big miss
30-08-2014, 09:29 AM
Cinema marathon with the Wife today...
Guardians of the Galaxy (at last), Sin City 2 and Lucy :greengrin
31-08-2014, 08:22 AM
Guardians of the Galaxy - 6/10 - good fun but not a 'great' film. A sign, in my opinion, that Marvel are beginning to overreach.
Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For - 7/10 - not as good as the first, by a long-shot, but visually as stunning and well acted. Stories a bit disconnected and I was surprised when the credits started rolling.
Lucy - 6/10 - good concept (not unique right enough) but not brilliantly executed. Don't think it could decide what it was trying to be but I though Scarlett Johansson was excellent (in so many ways :love ya!:)
I'll politely disagree with ad above me - I thought the trailer for The Riot Club looks very good. Also seen trailers for The Guest (which I thought looked like 'fun') and A Walk Amongst The Tombstones, which is the new (?) Liam Neeson film...I've probably seen it before right enough :greengrin
Matty_Jack04
31-08-2014, 10:10 AM
Inbetweeners 2 is quality. The water slide bit had me about greeting I was laughing so much.
I actually went to the cinema to see this, which makes a change, but a perfect version is available to download on Pirate Bay.:wink:
I watched this last night apart from a couple of scenes I thought it was pretty poor, massive fan of the series but don't think either film has been actually any good
31-08-2014, 10:15 AM
I watched this last night apart from a couple of scenes I thought it was pretty poor, massive fan of the series but don't think either film has been actually any good
I enjoyed the 2nd film, wasn't so keen on the 1st, but I took them as being stand alone films seperate from the tv series.
Whilst the TV series played on the naivety, ignorance, egos and social incompetence of teenage boys the films went down the American Pie style gross out humour with added bad sex jokes.
For me the TV series probably represented an exaggerated version of a lot of peoples teenage school years, the films were just films.
Stranraer
01-09-2014, 07:00 PM
I hear Ricky Gervais is bringing back David Brent for a film coming next year - apart from that I can't say I'm looking forward to any new releases.
02-09-2014, 09:00 PM
I hear Ricky Gervais is bringing back David Brent for a film coming next year - apart from that I can't say I'm looking forward to any new releases.
I seen a list of sequels coming over the next couple years which i cant find now. new ghostbusters and Jurassic Park, might be absolute guff but still looking forward to them. The raid 3 was another stand out. also new james bond (thought the last one was excellent) and a finding nemo sequel
Godsahibby
03-09-2014, 08:22 AM
Got a bit pissed off with the cinema of late. Nothing new or original all remakes or sequels. How many more versions of superman batman or any other comic character do we need to see. They are just getting *** lazy!!!!
Stranraer
03-09-2014, 10:45 AM
I personally don't like American films that much. Some of the best films I've watched over the past few months have been directed by Shane Meadows < Dead Man's shoes, This is England, A room for Romeo Brass and Made of Stone (Stone Roses documentary). I can't decide whether to watch the second Inbetweeners film or not...
03-09-2014, 11:40 AM
I seen a list of sequels coming over the next couple years which i cant find now. new ghostbusters and Jurassic Park, might be absolute guff but still looking forward to them. The raid 3 was another stand out. also new james bond (thought the last one was excellent) and a finding nemo sequel
I'm looking forward to the new Jurassic Park film, loved the first one when it came out.
03-09-2014, 12:59 PM
I'm looking forward to the new Jurassic Park film, loved the first one when it came out.
Had there not been at least 2 sequels already?
I went to see into the Storm last night. Won't win any oscars that's for sure, it was your typical disaster movie but enjoyable. My 13 year old loved it, it's a great transition from animated Disney guff.
04-09-2014, 10:29 AM
Had there not been at least 2 sequels already?
Aye, they were both pretty rubbish. I'm hoping this one will buck that trend.
04-09-2014, 12:20 PM
Aye, they were both pretty rubbish. I'm hoping this one will buck that trend.
I didn't think they were that bad, they just weren't as good as the first. Got high hopes for this, love JP.
10-09-2014, 10:37 PM
I thought anchorman 2 was absolutely pish. Watched it on Sky premier and turned off with 40 minutes to run.
SneakersO'Toole
11-09-2014, 05:29 AM
The new Phillip Seymour Hoffman film looks immense. Its called "A Wanted Man".
Will definitely be going to see it when it comes out.
12-09-2014, 04:56 PM
Dinnae watch American Psycho with Christian Bale -Utter garbage.
12-09-2014, 05:05 PM
Wrong
Matty_Jack04
12-09-2014, 05:41 PM
Surley not! I thought it was great
12-09-2014, 05:52 PM
Wrong
Right.
Surley not! I thought it was great
He looked mare like Jim Carey oan valium.
12-09-2014, 06:03 PM
Dinnae listen to Andy :greengrin
A unique blend of horror and comedy that is very well created :agree:
Patrick Bateman is an exceptionally interesting character.
12-09-2014, 06:08 PM
Dinnae listen to Andy :greengrin
A unique blend of horror and comedy that is very well created :agree:
Patrick Bateman is an exceptionally interesting character.
Each tae there ain :greengrin
I do like Christian Bale , Dunno maybe i was expecting it to be more of a bone chiller, Just found him making Jim careyish faces and the element of comedy in it really wasn't ma cuppa Tea.
Barman Stanton
12-09-2014, 07:04 PM
One of my favourite films. Hits the 80s feel of the book perfectly.
25-09-2014, 01:45 PM
Anybody seen Pride ? Fabulous film and so sad in parts, it highlighted perfectly the struggle of the miners, and the gay rights movement. Fantastic viewing. :top marks
Godsahibby
09-01-2015, 10:41 PM
Was heading to my bed and just noticed 'The Invention of Lying' starting with Ricky Gervais and Jennifer Garner. Now im no Ricky Gervais fan, normally cant stand his comedy but this film is just so *** good. So clever and very well written.
If you haven't seen it give it at it to the list of must see's!
09-01-2015, 11:04 PM
American Sniper, 10/10
Genuinely brilliant, must see!
American Sniper, 10/10
Agreed, loved it. I thought Lone Survivor was brilliant but American Sniper was amazing
Stranraer
10-01-2015, 11:47 AM
Was heading to my bed and just noticed 'The Invention of Lying' starting with Ricky Gervais and Jennifer Garner. Now im no Ricky Gervais fan, normally cant stand his comedy but this film is just so *** good. So clever and very well written.
If you haven't seen it give it at it to the list of must see's!
I'm a huge fan of Gervais, watched it again last night and when his mother is dying he proved how good an actor he is. Have you seen Ghost Town?
11-01-2015, 11:27 PM
The Way, Way back..... Steve Carell, Toni Collette and Sam Rockwell. Hadn't heard of it, watched it and would say it's the best film I watched over Christmas.... :top marks
Dan Sarf
12-01-2015, 10:08 AM
The Way, Way back..... Steve Carell, Toni Collette and Sam Rockwell. Hadn't heard of it, watched it and would say it's the best film I watched over Christmas.... :top marks
Took a chance and saw it at a cinema when we couldn't get into the film we wanted. Agree with you. :top marks
RoslinInstHibby
12-01-2015, 02:55 PM
don't bother watching "tusk" its an awful movie
Watched Lone Survivor yesterday and Fury today. Both excellent. Gonnae watch American Sniper the morn!
Matty_Jack04
12-01-2015, 06:24 PM
Watched Lone Survivor yesterday and Fury today. Both excellent. Gonnae watch American Sniper the morn!
Watched fury last night thought it was a great watch really enjoyed it another I enjoyed recently was 'the drop' with Tom hardy and James gandolfini
Yeah thought a Fury was superb infact both were.
17-01-2015, 11:14 PM
American Sniper, 10/10
Going to the flix on Wednesday, (Orange Wednesday cause I'm a cheap skate!!) Trying to talk the Mrs into seeing American Sniper but she wants to see The Hunger Games!! :rolleyes:
18-01-2015, 07:53 PM
Going to the flix on Wednesday, (Orange Wednesday cause I'm a cheap skate!!) Trying to talk the Mrs into seeing American Sniper but she wants to see The Hunger Games!! :rolleyes:
Enjoy it while it lasts! :-(
18-01-2015, 09:47 PM
Enjoy it while it lasts! :-(
I know... Gutted they are doing away with orange Wednesday... :boo hoo:
Godsahibby
27-01-2015, 12:30 PM
Watched Interstellar last night............. that just got weird.
Stranraer
27-01-2015, 12:56 PM
I started watching "The Wee Man" then turned it off and stuck on "The Weatherman" with Nicholas Cage which is one my favourite films of all time.
Matty_Jack04
29-01-2015, 04:25 AM
Saw Foxcatcher last night can't for the life of me figure out what all the fuss was about for this film found it far too slow and pretty boring, was good to see Steve carrell play a serious role and he was good but I wouldn't have said it was Oscar material bit of a let down for me, if it wasn't for wanting to know what happened to make the story film worthy I'd have left early
29-01-2015, 07:02 AM
I watched John Wick last night, wasn't expecting that much but it was a decent film. Worth a watch.
29-01-2015, 01:36 PM
I watched John Wick last night, wasn't expecting that much but it was a decent film. Worth a watch.
Shock horror Reeves in a good film other than Point Break, I really enjoyed it too
RoslinInstHibby
31-01-2015, 07:48 AM
Yep, was a real surprise, really enjoyed it.
Also liked big hero 6
31-01-2015, 08:31 AM
American Sniper is decent. Read up about the guy Chris Kyle after the film. Safe to say he was a racist prick of a man in real life.
02-02-2015, 11:37 AM
I watched Nightcrawler at the weekend. Really enjoyed it and thought Jake Gyllenhaal was just the right amount of creepy.
However I couldn't help but feel that it was missing an ending.
Also watched Guardians Of The Galaxy and was surprised how much I liked it. Some great action without overdoing it and it was very funny at parts.
hibs#1
07-04-2019, 07:24 PM
I know this is an old thread but thought I'd try and resurrect it.
Went to see Shazam today thought it was quite funny if a bit childish.
Finally got round to watching the 2 kill Bill films last week the were pretty good.
08-04-2019, 03:03 PM
Sisters Brothers is meant to be good.
Read the book. Brilliant.
08-04-2019, 06:03 PM
Get Out
Mango Man
10-04-2019, 09:55 PM
Terrifier, it's a stupid slasher clown movie, trashy and cheaply made, but kept me fairly entertained, the clown is great in it.
10-04-2019, 10:14 PM
Get Out
Watched it last night. Ooft. I'm still thinking about it.
hibs#1
11-04-2019, 09:53 AM
Watched Full Metal Jacket last night very good film.
02-05-2019, 06:59 PM
Sisters Brothers is meant to be good.
Read the book. Brilliant.
I've seen the film. It's not as good as the book. Not as funny.
16-05-2019, 05:41 PM
I've just finished watching Once Upon a Time in the Midlands, absolute garbage, particularly Shirley Henderson. 😱
25-05-2019, 09:23 PM
I can't say I've watched many films with subtitles and got in to it, with the exception of maybe Hero. However was recommended a satirical film on Netflix called 'look who's back'. It's basically about Hitler waking up in Berlin in 2014, based on a book I believe, and so far it's been pretty good. Very funny considering the main character being him. I'm about half way through and fully recommend.
hibeejoy
25-05-2019, 10:18 PM
Watched "The Kursk" and "Glass" this week but most impressed with Gomorra (need subtitles for this one) series recently.Italian mob story produced by Sky.Brutal and true with great acting and fantastic original music score.Highly recommended if you like mob stories.
"Chernobyl" is ongoing mini series I follow right now.
hibs#1
26-05-2019, 09:43 AM
I watched Glass last night. Good idea and great acting by James McAvoy but poorly done. Quite disappointed.
26-05-2019, 10:04 AM
Anyone been to see Rocketman yet? Had mixed reviews, but fancy going to see it
26-05-2019, 11:58 AM
I saw it on Thursday, loved it. It’s on for over 2 hours but it goes by in a flash. Well worth a watch imo.
26-05-2019, 03:12 PM
I watched Inside Out on TV yesterday. Had never seen it before and I thought it was absolutely brilliant. OK, it's a kids film but I thought it gave arguably the best easy to understand depiction of anxiety I have ever seen. The scene with the fears being locked away in the subconscious and occasionally sneaking out and one featuring the 'train of thought' going haywire and careering off the rails were brilliantly done.
Really enjoyed it.
26-05-2019, 04:08 PM
I watched Inside Out on TV yesterday. Had never seen it before and I thought it was absolutely brilliant. OK, it's a kids film but I thought it gave arguably the best easy to understand depiction of anxiety I have ever seen. The scene with the fears being locked away in the subconscious and occasionally sneaking out and one featuring the 'train of thought' going haywire and careering off the rails were brilliantly done.
Really enjoyed it.
I took my son to see it at the pics a few years ago, I wasn't ready for the emotional rollercoaster 😂. As you said, it's a very good film considering its a 'kids' film.
hibs#1
26-05-2019, 05:12 PM
Really enjoyed it.
Took my daughter to the pictures to see this. I agree it's excellent and very well written. I love kids films to be honest.
26-05-2019, 05:46 PM
Oh jeez, also at the pics with the kids to see that one, bing bong, the cart, take her to the moon for me....ok?.... I'm not crying you're crying :greengrin
26-05-2019, 06:15 PM
I saw it on Thursday, loved it. It’s on for over 2 hours but it goes by in a flash. Well worth a watch imo.
Thanks
26-05-2019, 10:06 PM
I enjoyed it as well.
26-05-2019, 10:29 PM
I read that it was more of a musical than Bohemian Rhapsody was. Is that the case? Loved Bohemian Rhapsody but would rather just put on Goodbye Yellow Brick Road than go see an Elton John musical if that is the case.
27-05-2019, 10:29 AM
I read that it was more of a musical than Bohemian Rhapsody was. Is that the case? Loved Bohemian Rhapsody but would rather just put on Goodbye Yellow Brick Road than go see an Elton John musical if that is the case.
I haven’t seen Bohemian Rhapsody so can’t really answer.
There’s a few big musical numbers in Rocketman but I’d still say it’s worth going to see for the story.
27-05-2019, 10:45 AM
I haven’t seen Bohemian Rhapsody so can’t really answer.
There’s a few big musical numbers in Rocketman but I’d still say it’s worth going to see for the story.
You have to see Bohemian Rhapsody Hibee_girl, preferably at the Cinema
27-05-2019, 12:13 PM
You have to see Bohemian Rhapsody Hibee_girl, preferably at the Cinema
I know, I really wanted to see if but just didn’t have time when it was in the cinema. Might download it for the plane journey in the summer
27-05-2019, 08:25 PM
I thought it was really good. Not a conventional biopic and much better for it, fits the subject matter. Also doesn’t try to whitewash his sexuality like I understand Bohemian Rhapsody did (haven’t seen that).
The guy who plays Elton John has a great voice also, really impressed with him. And the musical arrangements are by Giles Martin - son of George - who’s mixed all the recent Beatles remasters and did the Beatles “Love” show. Some different versions of classic songs and they sound great.
franck sauzee
28-05-2019, 08:00 PM
Green Book is fantastic for anyone that hasn't seen it yet
16-06-2019, 03:55 PM
On general release now, including at the Cameo (Edinburghs best cinema, support it!), I'm going tomorrow, can't wait. Maradona.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cuErPYsoaR4#menu
hibs#1
16-06-2019, 08:17 PM
Spider-man;into the spider verse,watched it last night thought it was fantastic.
Watched layer cake the other night, hadn't seen it since it was first released found it even better on second watch. Very good film.
Also watched Gangster No.1 last week hadn't seen that in years either. Liked the parts from 60s era better than when it fast forward to the present day, still a good watch.
patch1875
16-06-2019, 08:58 PM
Spider-man;into the spider verse,watched it last night thought it was fantastic.
Watched layer cake the other night, hadn't seen it since it was first released found it even better on second watch. Very good film.
Also watched Gangster No.1 last week hadn't seen that in years either. Liked the parts from 60s era better than when it fast forward to the present day, still a good watch.
Layer Cake is in my top 10 love it.
18-06-2019, 12:49 PM
Watched Baby Driver last night (not realising Spacey was in it). Despite his unpleasant presence, I enjoyed it. Some of the sequences were really well shot, and the choreography is lovely.
Mantis Toboggan
18-06-2019, 02:41 PM
On general release now, including at the Cameo (Edinburghs best cinema, support it!), I'm going tomorrow, can't wait. Maradona.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cuErPYsoaR4#menu
Also saw it at the Cameo. Really enjoyed it, felt it could easily have gone on for another couple of hours. the contemporary footage from Naples brings it to life.
18-06-2019, 05:16 PM
Watched Baby Driver last night (not realising Spacey was in it). Despite his unpleasant presence, I enjoyed it. Some of the sequences were really well shot, and the choreography is lovely.
I watched that about a week ago, good movie but the end was nonsense.
The Ted Bundy movie on Sky Cinema just now is much better than I was expecting.
18-06-2019, 10:59 PM
Also saw it at the Cameo. Really enjoyed it, felt it could easily have gone on for another couple of hours. the contemporary footage from Naples brings it to life.
The Naples footage was amazing, really got to the heart of what went on with Diego and the Gomorrah. Fantastic filmmaking, I'm considering watching it again.
19-06-2019, 10:02 AM
The Naples footage was amazing, really got to the heart of what went on with Diego and the Gomorrah. Fantastic filmmaking, I'm considering watching it again.
That's good to hear. I might go tonight.
19-06-2019, 10:03 AM
Toy Story 4 released this coming Friday.
:woohoo:
19-06-2019, 10:14 AM
Toy Story 4 released this coming Friday.
:woohoo:
As is “Yesterday”
Had good reviews
19-06-2019, 10:28 AM
As is “Yesterday”
Had good reviews
I'm sure I heard Mark Kermode talking about "Yesterday" ages ago, as in many months.
IIRC, he wasn't particularly complimentary saying that the gags were a bit obvious and the cameos from folk like Ed Sheeran were naff.
But how could I have? :confused:
HibbyDave
20-06-2019, 02:49 PM
Look out for a film called Wild Tales. Argentinian series of short stories with common theme of revenge. Brilliant film. I would think it can be found online.
On TV, anyone seen any of the black mirror series?
Watched the interactive one about the guy developing games... it was very good.
hibs#1
20-06-2019, 06:19 PM
Watched the hateful 8 the other night, enjoyed it,not Tarantinos best film but still a good watch the last half hour was a bit ott but that is sort of his style.
20-06-2019, 07:32 PM
I'm sure I heard Mark Kermode talking about "Yesterday" ages ago, as in many months.
IIRC, he wasn't particularly complimentary saying that the gags were a bit obvious and the cameos from folk like Ed Sheeran were naff.
But how could I have? :confused:
I’m not one who pays to make attention to scripts in this sort of film, I’ll just go along and enjoy the music
That’s entertainment in my opinion😄
HibbyDave
20-06-2019, 08:42 PM
Lucy.
21-06-2019, 07:35 PM
Toy Story 4 was fantastic. Perfect end to the franchise.
21-06-2019, 09:02 PM
Good to read 👍
21-06-2019, 09:54 PM
Going to see it tomorrow with my 13 year old :aok:
Can’t wait! :greengrin
22-06-2019, 09:43 PM
I strongly recommend a a British film from a few years back called Cemetery Junction. Fabulous film with a great soundtrack.
22-06-2019, 10:05 PM
I strongly recommend a a British film from a few years back called Cemetery Junction. Fabulous film with a great soundtrack.
Why does Noddy wear a hat with a bell on it?
Cos he's a **** 😂
Excellent film.
23-06-2019, 01:56 AM
Why does Noddy wear a hat with a bell on it?
Cos he's a **** 😂
Excellent film.
:greengrin Yes it is. A proper underated British classic film.
23-06-2019, 06:15 PM
Watched Brightburn today. Really enjoyed it although a bit too gory at times (I prefer less obvious scares). It's a cross between Superman and The Omen.
19-07-2019, 08:12 AM
Heading off to see Lion King in 4DX
Really looking forward to it! All time favourite childhood film.
19-07-2019, 08:20 PM
Heading off to see Lion King in 4DX
Really looking forward to it! All time favourite childhood film.
Lion King was great mate.
19-07-2019, 11:37 PM
Lion King was great mate.
I absolutely loved it SteveHFC. Brought back so many childhood memories as I loved this film when I was a kid. Just brilliant the way they done it with the CGI was simply terrific. The special effects when watching it in 4DX made it even more entertaining. It was one of them that it could easily have been a major flop as both the original animated and live theatre versions of Lion King are superb. This definitely didn’t disappoint!
patch1875
20-07-2019, 08:36 AM
Excited for the new Top Gun!
Bangkok Hibby
20-07-2019, 01:26 PM
I’m not one who pays to make attention to scripts in this sort of film, I’ll just go along and enjoy the music
That’s entertainment in my opinion😄
Kermode has a pretty good pedigree but for me, he and pretty much all other critics should **** off and get a real job.
21-07-2019, 09:40 AM
I watched a film called Doomsday last night, it was probably the worst film I’ve watched. I only got to the end to see if could get any worse, which it did.
Its a British film that centres around Scotland being quarantined after an outbreak of a deadly virus. A wall is built around the country and it’s left for 30 years. They have to return after the virus spreads to England. What happens after that truly dreadful viewing. I won’t spoil it for anyone in the unlikely event that someone might want to watch it.
21-07-2019, 11:56 AM
I watched a film called Doomsday last night, it was probably the worst film I’ve watched. I only got to the end to see if could get any worse, which it did.
Its a British film that centres around Scotland being quarantined after an outbreak of a deadly virus. A wall is built around the country and it’s left for 30 years. They have to return after the virus spreads to England. What happens after that truly dreadful viewing. I won’t spoil it for anyone in the unlikely event that someone might want to watch it.
It really is terrible.
I think it's a classic case of a guy who made a couple of really decent films on a small budget being given a huge amount of money, not knowing what to do with it so just throwing everything at it and hoping something will work.
21-07-2019, 12:28 PM
It really is terrible.
I think it's a classic case of a guy who made a couple of really decent films on a small budget being given a huge amount of money, not knowing what to do with it so just throwing everything at it and hoping something will work.
When a saw the director and who was in it I thought I’d found a good one. When they came on in kilts and started doing the can can I didn’t think it could get any worse, but they managed it a few times.
22-07-2019, 02:11 PM
Watched Mile 22 last night with Mark Wahlberg & Lauren Cohan (😍). Quite enjoyed it, nothing groundbreaking but well done and quite stylish.
22-07-2019, 02:57 PM
I finally got around to watching T2 earlier today, enjoyable enough without being anywhere near as good as Trainspotting.
Ayrshire Hibee
24-07-2019, 08:28 PM
Look out for a film called Wild Tales. Argentinian series of short stories with common theme of revenge. Brilliant film. I would think it can be found online.
On TV, anyone seen any of the black mirror series?
Watched the interactive one about the guy developing games... it was very good.
Wild tales is superb....the road rage story is pure WTF :-o
24-07-2019, 09:02 PM
As College Football season is upon us again, I found myself watching We Are Marshall earlier. Breaks me, every single time.
hibeejoy
03-08-2019, 11:27 PM
Seen "The Highwaymen".Oldskool timers Costner and Harrelson do the job.Bonnie & Clyde story taken from the other side.Good movie!
05-08-2019, 10:30 AM
Watched Tube Tales recently for the first time since I seen it when it came out. I remember thinking most of them were really good and I found myself thinking that again, some great storytelling squeezed into such small pieces of filmmaking.
05-08-2019, 03:52 PM
As College Football season is upon us again, I found myself watching We Are Marshall earlier. Breaks me, every single time.
Never seen it, is it as good as Remember The Titans?
1875Sean
21-08-2019, 10:53 PM
Just seen tarantino’s new movie, bit of a let down
22-08-2019, 07:43 AM
I thought it was fantastic. At one stage, I thought to myself that there must be about 45 minutes left.
5 seconds later, it was the end. The 2 hours 40 just flew by.
One curious thing about Tarantino films is that they improve with subsequent viewings. I can't wait to see OUATIH again.
22-08-2019, 10:08 AM
I thought it was fantastic. At one stage, I thought to myself that there must be about 45 minutes left.
One curious thing about Tarantino films is that they improve with subsequent viewings. I can't wait to see OUATIH again.
I know they were trying to show the old Hollywood v the new Hollywood but what was the point in Margot Robbie’s character? Should have cut her character and reduced the length of the film as I was bored at various points with little happening.
As I said in another thread, not a bad film and lots of god bits but style over substance for me.
22-08-2019, 12:44 PM
I know they were trying to show the old Hollywood v the new Hollywood but what was the point in Margot Robbie’s character? Should have cut her character and reduced the length of the film as I was bored at various points with little happening.
As I said in another thread, not a bad film and lots of god bits but style over substance for me.
Again, trying to avoid spoiers, but her character was almost the entire premise for the "once upon a time" fairy tale that Tarantino was telling.
It wasn't old v new. It was about the end of the old Hollywood and the Sharon Tate incident is still seen as symbolic of that metamorphosis.
I loved watching her on screen. She absolutely personified what was seen as the perfect Hollywood 60s actress, beautiful, elegant and naïve.
Anyway, I loved it. You didn't. Nothing either of us can do to change that.
Unless you go to see it again. :wink:
22-08-2019, 01:47 PM
When is Blinded by the Light coming out?
22-08-2019, 03:36 PM
A few good bits but I was bored. Not on his wavelength now and have found his films less enjoyable since the first couple.
22-08-2019, 03:47 PM
Again, trying to avoid spoiers, but her character was almost the entire premise for the "once upon a time" fairy tale that Tarantino was telling.
It wasn't old v new. It was about the end of the old Hollywood and the Sharon Tate incident is still seen as symbolic of that metamorphosis.
I loved watching her on screen. She absolutely personified what was seen as the perfect Hollywood 60s actress, beautiful, elegant and naïve.
Anyway, I loved it. You didn't. Nothing either of us can do to change that.
Unless you go to see it again. :wink:Agreed.
The scenes with Margot Robbie were an absolutely wonderful homage to the real actress who in real life was brutally murdered by the Manson family.
I loved it and also cannot wait to watch it again. There's a scene with DiCaprio where he's flip-flopping between forgetting his lines and getting annoyed at himself, before putting in the performance of his character's career all ironically during a 10 minute continuous shot. It's some of the best acting I've ever seen.
I thought the Bruce Lee scene was contraversial at first, but after having thought about it properly I've decided that I have no issue with it.
Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
22-08-2019, 09:29 PM
John Wick 3. Awesome.
22-08-2019, 09:36 PM
John Wick 3. Awesome.
Now I understand your 6/10 rating for Once upon a time in Hollywood. :wink:
23-08-2019, 11:18 AM
Now I understand your 6/10 rating for Once upon a time in Hollywood. :wink:
Haha I absolutely loved it...just no concentration required, two scenes in particular will go down in action film history for their awesomeness 😁
LustForLeith
23-08-2019, 10:47 PM
John Wick 3. Awesome.
I have a question about John Wick 3..!
I might have missed something but there’s a bit early on where John Wick is in a gunsmiths. He manages to get to a room where he takes ages putting a gun together and fired it once before running off ( I think he misses his target!)
I was wondering if it was an Easter egg or if I missed the joke/ significance of him assrmbling/taking apart the gun.
24-08-2019, 08:51 AM
I have a question about John Wick 3..!
I might have missed something but there’s a bit early on where John Wick is in a gunsmiths. He manages to get to a room where he takes ages putting a gun together and fired it once before running off ( I think he misses his target!)
I was wondering if it was an Easter egg or if I missed the joke/ significance of him assrmbling/taking apart the gun.
Think it was a nod to Tuco in The good, the bad and the ugly
24-08-2019, 09:28 AM
https://youtu.be/i2WQGxRNpBc
LustForLeith
25-08-2019, 08:49 AM
Cheers!!!
I don’t want to spoil it as it happens at the end, but I’m really confused about something that happens in Once Upon A Time In Hollywood if anyone can help over DM!
25-08-2019, 10:47 AM
Cheers!!!
I don’t want to spoil it as it happens at the end, but I’m really confused about something that happens in Once Upon A Time In Hollywood if anyone can help over DM!
PM me 👍
Weegreenman
25-08-2019, 03:43 PM
Really?? Ye but really really? :confused:
25-08-2019, 06:48 PM
Really?? Ye but really really? :confused:
Eh?
25-08-2019, 07:23 PM
I’m a huge Tarantino fan and was eagerly anticipating Once Upon a Time... It was a bit of a disappointment for me also.
I don’t need or expect a tight plot in a QT movie as often half of the enjoyment is just spending time with the characters. But this did feel too meandering at times and IMO just lacked the memorable scenes or dialogue of Tarantino’s best films. The feet fetish and comedy violence also grated on me a bit. It’s just getting a bit predictable
Having said all that. I went back for a second viewing and enjoyed it more, forgetting the plot and just taking it in. There’s a lot to love on the details but for me it’s at the weaker end of Tarantino’s work.
LustForLeith
30-08-2019, 05:29 AM
Anyone else looking forward to Joker? It looks to be taking ‘superhero’ films in a different direction and making origin stories interesting. Joquan Phoenix favourite for beat actor Oscar
DetroitHibs
30-08-2019, 06:43 AM
Anyone else looking forward to Joker? It looks to be taking ‘superhero’ films in a different direction and making origin stories interesting. Joquan Phoenix favourite for beat actor Oscar
Been looking forward to this movie all year. It part two also.
30-08-2019, 03:16 PM
It is a film I've been waiting on. Loved the trailer that's been out for a few months. I hope the movie doesn't spoil my enjoyment of the trailer! Looks promising to be fair and Joaquin Phoenix is usually good value.
31-08-2019, 06:23 AM
https://youtu.be/t433PEQGErc
LustForLeith
31-08-2019, 08:52 PM
The embargo have been lifted on the Holer reviews and there’s a lot of four and five start reviews. This looks to be very special
09-09-2019, 05:39 PM
The new IT film was awful. More a comedy than a horror.
Shame as I really enjoyed the 1st one.
10-09-2019, 06:29 AM
The new IT film was awful. More a comedy than a horror.
Shame as I really enjoyed the 1st one.
'awful' is a bit harsh IMO. The comic element is useful to a decent horror (evil dead?) And the Richie/Stan double act is supposed to funny. The problem with part 2 is they took liberties with the ending in the book and its just not as interesting as dipping the lives of the kids in part 1. 6.5/10, watchable but a bit disappointing.
patch1875
13-09-2019, 05:13 PM
Watched Hunter Killer on Netflix much better than I thought it would be.
LustForLeith
24-09-2019, 05:57 PM
The Irishman clocking in at 209 minutes! Oaft! I still reckon they should have made a mini series.
Also, not sure if this should be in the TV thread, but for the latest El Camino trailer (the Breaking Bad film) does anyone else think that there’s a certain someone making a reappearance...?
patch1875
24-09-2019, 06:03 PM
Went to see Last Blood today.
Pretty darn good I thought very thin plot line but Rambo is such a fantastic character.
Not for the squeamish as it’s a bit stabby.
LustForLeith
24-09-2019, 07:45 PM
Went to see Last Blood today.
Pretty darn good I thought very thin plot line but Rambo is such a fantastic character.
Not for the squeamish as it’s a bit stabby.
Did you think it was a bit pro Trump? I read a couple of reviews that said it seemed to be like that (I’m not implying you’re pro Trump by the way!!)
patch1875
24-09-2019, 08:03 PM
Did you think it was a bit pro Trump? I read a couple of reviews that said it seemed to be like that (I’m not implying you’re pro Trump by the way!!)
Never crossed my mind.
The bad guys are Mexican it’s a Rambo film it’s not very deep!
24-09-2019, 09:12 PM
Never crossed my mind.
Did Rambo make the bad guys build a wall?
LustForLeith
25-09-2019, 04:55 AM
Never crossed my mind.
😂😂😂
LustForLeith
25-09-2019, 02:53 PM
I went to see Ready Or Not and I enjoyed it. Really good, well made, funny and gory horror. Samara Weaving (niece of Hugo) is brilliant in it.
Four out of five.
LustForLeith
28-09-2019, 07:57 AM
I watched Hotel Mumbai last night and it was far better than I expected it to be.
28-09-2019, 09:00 AM
I went to see Ready Or Not and I enjoyed it. Really good, well made, funny and gory horror. Samara Weaving (niece of Hugo) is brilliant in it.
Four out of five.
Going to see this tonight I think
28-09-2019, 08:33 PM
I watched Hotel Mumbai last night and it was far better than I expected it to be.
So did I.
I really enjoyed it, brilliant acting. Shocking to think that it was based around true events.
I would recommend watching it.
Really enjoyed Ad Astra. Quite deep and Brad Pitts acting was spot on.
Thought it would drag but the time just flew by.
patch1875
29-09-2019, 01:06 PM
I was going to see this but the reviews have been pretty bad.
29-09-2019, 01:19 PM
We stayed in the Hotel Ad Astrum when Hibs played in Vilnius, some of the events that took place there would've made a good film! 😲
I can imagine 😂
I was going to see this but the reviews have been pretty bad.
Really? We chose to see it based on the favourable reviews.
30-09-2019, 02:30 PM
Really? We chose to see it based on the favourable reviews.
Depends where you read them.
I've seen it described as a visually stunning space opera - a career best performance from Brad Pitt or simply as Brad Pitt sulking in space.
I enjoyed it.
LustForLeith
01-10-2019, 08:23 AM
I watched Hell or High Water yesterday. That was brilliant. Missed it when it was out but we’ll worth a watch. Ben Foster was superb.
LustForLeith
01-10-2019, 08:26 AM
I have a film related question...
When you go to the cinema, what’s your snack of choice? The reason I’m asking is I’m going to see Joker at the weekend and the person I’ll be going with is a noisey eater and I don’t think this will be a film where the audience will appreciate that.
I’ll buy the snacks to try and keep the munching to a minimum. I just don’t know what to pick!
01-10-2019, 09:12 AM
When you go to the cinema, what’s your snack of choice? The reason I’m asking is I’m going to see Joker at the weekend and the person I’ll be going with is a noisey eater and I don’t think this will be a film where the audience will appreciate that.
I’ll buy the snacks to try and keep the munching to a minimum. I just don’t know what to pick!
I don’t necessarily have one that I buy all the time. Generally mix it up depending what I fancy having.
Why don’t you buy them an ice cream?
01-10-2019, 09:34 AM
A couple of soft rolls with tuna mayo or cheese and pickle filling. Or, splash out on hot dogs, but definitely avoid anything crunchy.
Or just eat first and conveniently forget the snacks.
A couple of soft rolls with tuna mayo or cheese and pickle filling. Or, splash out on hot dogs, but definitely avoid anything crunchy.
If somebody took.me to the pictures and said theyd get the snacks and handed me a tuna roll id wrap it round their chops and get up and leave!
Get popcorn, everybody eats popcorn and slurps their juice. Its what the pictures are all about. Let the moaners moan. I also love crunching maltesers and rustling a bag of tangfastics
Lifes way too short
01-10-2019, 10:52 AM
Joker looks incredible.
IT part 2 was really good I thought.
01-10-2019, 02:51 PM
I thought I could smell Tuna when I went to see Once Upon A Time In Hollywood 😉
01-10-2019, 09:24 PM
If somebody took.me to the pictures and said theyd get the snacks and handed me a tuna roll id wrap it round their chops and get up and leave!
Get popcorn, everybody eats popcorn and slurps their juice. Its what the pictures are all about. Let the moaners moan. I also love crunching maltesers and rustling a bag of tangfastics
Lifes way too short
Hee hee this is a brilliant post, so so true [emoji106][emoji106]
01-10-2019, 09:34 PM
Lifes way too short
If someone was crunching crisps or popcorn and slurping their juice I'd rap their jaw and make them leave. :wink:
We will never go to the pictures together :na na:
Btw crisps are not a cinema snack.
02-10-2019, 08:45 AM
Joker looks incredible.
IT part 2 was really good I thought.
I thought IT2 was absolutely dreadful. I haven’t saw the first one though so don’t know if that made it worse.
02-10-2019, 08:56 AM
We will never go to the pictures together :na na:
Btw crisps are not a cinema snack.
Oh, never say never. :greengrin
I adhere to this code of conduct
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/5live/films/code_of_conduct.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwjrvPy-mv3kAhX4SRUIHWjtBXkQFjACegQIARAB&usg=AOvVaw07FeowS0iBpsQS27OvzRS6
Oh, never say never. :greengrin
I adhere to this code of conduct
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.bbc.co.uk/5live/films/code_of_conduct.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwjrvPy-mv3kAhX4SRUIHWjtBXkQFjACegQIARAB&usg=AOvVaw07FeowS0iBpsQS27OvzRS6
If I cant take my shoes off our dates cancelled! And if you hand me a tuna piece yer in trouble. :greengrin
02-10-2019, 09:11 AM
If I cant take my shoes off our dates cancelled! And if you hand me a tuna piece yer in trouble. :greengrin
I'll bring brought cheese and pickle for you. :aok:
Plum :wink:
LustForLeith
02-10-2019, 05:24 PM
Snacks at the cinema is tradition! But the person in question eats them as if they’re eating concrete! Also they’ve got football right before it so they’ll be hungry!
They do like tuna it I’m not sure if they’d appreciate a tuna roll!
I’m thinking of getting them a big bag of Counters!
02-10-2019, 06:28 PM
Snacks at the cinema is tradition! But the person in question eats them as if they’re eating concrete! Also they’ve got football right before it so they’ll be hungry!
I’m thinking of getting them a big bag of Counters!
People eating is bad enough but I'm damned sure not watching a film while someone plays connect 4!
02-10-2019, 07:02 PM
People eating is bad enough but I'm damned sure not watching a film while someone plays connect 4!
I remember going to the odeon late show film started at 10.00pm with a fish supper it didn’t go down to well with the rest of the half pissed audience
I’m thinking of getting them a big bag of Counters!Like my Wife, the only person I know who can crunch ice cream !! 😲
03-10-2019, 12:29 PM
I thought IT2 was absolutely dreadful. I haven’t saw the first one though so don’t know if that made it worse.
I actually preferred the 2nd to the first (I love Bill Hader). I think it would have helped to watch the first as it basically sets up the story for the 2nd.
03-10-2019, 07:53 PM
I actually preferred the 2nd to the first (I love Bill Hader). I think it would have helped to watch the first as it basically sets up the story for the 2nd.
The first ones on Amazon Prime so I'll give it a go. I think what done it for me was that I thought he was a murderous clown. Not a clown that can morph into a fire breathing dragon etc :greengrin
04-10-2019, 12:41 PM
The first ones on Amazon Prime so I'll give it a go. I think what done it for me was that I thought he was a murderous clown. Not a clown that can morph into a fire breathing dragon etc :greengrin
TBH, before I first watched it I thought the exact same, but nah turns out he's whatever he wants to be :greengrin
04-10-2019, 04:18 PM
Looking forward to seeing the new Joker film.
People are raving about it online, especially Joaquin Phoenix’s “Oscar worthy” performance. He’s getting huge amounts of praise from both fans and critics. I thought we would never get a better actor to play the Joker than the legendary Heath Ledger, after his performance as the Joker in the Dark Knight (one of the greatest performances in film history), so I’m now very intrigued to see this even more now.
IMDB has rated it 9.2/10
04-10-2019, 04:46 PM
Opinions, I guess.
I thought the 2nd was a huge let down, considering all the hype after the 1st one and the praise it got.
This just didn’t look like a horror to me, more a comedy. Awful plot, too long, predictable scenes and an ending that was so underwhelming. The part when they are all shouting “bully”, “clown” etc at Pennywise in order to kill it was just hilarious.
05-10-2019, 08:58 AM
Noisy eating and slurping drinks are several stages further down!
https://i.postimg.cc/sfSqNTGX/FB-IMG-1570265579316.jpg
LustForLeith
05-10-2019, 10:21 AM
I remember going to the odeon late show film started at 10.00pm with a fish supper it didn’t go down to well with the rest of the half pissed audience
A mate of mine goes to the cinema with a McDonalds happy meal!
05-10-2019, 11:02 AM
I watched John Wick last week, pretty poor stuff.
Went to see Joker on Friday night, thought it was excellent, really enjoyed the story and Joaquin Phoenix played it incredibly well. Always weary going to see such a hyped film but I was pretty impressed with it.
06-10-2019, 10:32 AM
Saw Joker yesterday. Great film. Mysterious and creepy but brilliantly done.
06-10-2019, 11:04 AM
Went to see Joker on Friday night, thought it was excellent, really enjoyed the story and Joaquin Phoenix played it incredibly well. Always weary going to see such a hyped film but I was pretty impressed with it.
You're weary going to see a film?
I'd be wary of doing that. You might fall asleep. :greengrin
LustForLeith
06-10-2019, 04:49 PM
I went to see Joker today. I thought it was really good. Joaquin Phoenix is unreal in it. Hard to believe it’s from the director of the Hangover!
My ck ems buddy didn’t make it so I didn’t have to worry about distractions! I took a bag of banana shrimps that hit the spot!
Two guys behind me talked all the way through it. The rage!
06-10-2019, 07:40 PM
I went to see Joker today. I thought it was really good. Joaquin Phoenix is unreal in it. Hard to believe it’s from the director of the Hangover!
My ck ems buddy didn’t make it so I didn’t have to worry about distractions! I took a bag of banana shrimps that hit the spot!
Two guys behind me talked all the way through it. The rage!
Did you tell them to be quiet? I’m a pretty reserved person but people on their phones or talking a lot in a cinema will feel my wrath! Have told a few folk to shut up over the years.
Hoping to see Joker this week.
07-10-2019, 09:06 AM
Opinions, I guess.
I thought the 2nd was a huge let down, considering all the hype after the 1st one and the praise it got.
This just didn’t look like a horror to me, more a comedy. Awful plot, too long, predictable scenes and an ending that was so underwhelming. The part when they are all shouting “bully”, “clown” etc at Pennywise in order to kill it was just hilarious.
Yeah the end was a bit cringe to be fair but i dont think these types of movies are meant to be taken too seriously, the meant to be scary scenes end up being quite funny.
07-10-2019, 09:19 AM
Saw Joker yesterday. Great film. Mysterious and creepy but brilliantly done.
Its just sensational. Loved it. I can see why people found it uncomfortable, its almost like a political manifesto for Anarchy. One of the darkest films ive ever seen, much darker and more cynical than King of Comedy which all the critics were comparing it to.
LustForLeith
07-10-2019, 04:37 PM
Did you tell them to be quiet? I’m a pretty reserved person but people on their phones or talking a lot in a cinema will feel my wrath! Have told a few folk to shut up over the years.
Hoping to see Joker this week.
I didn’t but I was tempted. I was wondering if I tell someone off for talking am I contradicting myself as I’m then talking?
08-10-2019, 05:50 PM
Just seen the new Joker film and thought it was terrific. Joaquin Phoenix was absolutely tremendous and certainly Oscar worthy.
08-10-2019, 10:59 PM
Just back from seeing Joker tonight, thought it was brilliant.
Joaquin Phoenix was outstanding and will surely be nominated for an Academy Award.
I recommend the film to anyone who's not seen it yet.
09-10-2019, 05:50 AM
Watched Hotel Mumbia on Tuesday, thought it was brilliant and scary that its based on a true story.
09-10-2019, 06:06 AM
Watched Hotel Mumbia on Tuesday, thought it was brilliant and scary that its based on a true story.
Watched it on Sky the night it came out a couple of weeks ago and agree it was an excellent film but terrifying that not only was it was based on true events but also true events that happened so recently.
Watched and enjoyed this as well, ashamed to admit I either had no idea this happened or it totally passed me by at the time as I had no idea of this story.
1875Sean
10-10-2019, 11:32 PM
The Joker is a masterpiece
12-10-2019, 06:55 PM
Has anyone seen Midsommar and didn't think of the Bo selecta bear at the end?
quite enjoyed El Camino on Netflix
quite enjoyed El Camino on NetflixWatched it last night, was quite good
Watched it last night, was quite good
Yeah don’t think it was really necessary for the story but I thought it was good, Aaron Paul was really good in it too
13-10-2019, 09:31 PM
I've started a social group with the Modfather for people interested in discussing films they've seen without leaving spoilers on the message board.
Discussion about not yet seen films is also permitted :greengrin
Social groups are available to Private Members so if any of you would like to get involved, please send me a private message and I'll send you an invitation to join.
On another subject, the new Scorcese caper looks rather intriguing.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-49981882
Joker is special.
Considering a 2nd visit to see it
Just home from seeing Joker, incredible.
Being taken back by the brutality one minute then crying laughing the next.
Phoenix was brilliant in it.
29-11-2019, 06:06 PM
Going to watch The Irishman on Netflix this evening. Looks very good. Anyone here watched it already?
29-11-2019, 06:16 PM
Going to watch The Irishman on Netflix this evening. Looks very good. Anyone here watched it already?
Just about to sit down for the 2nd half.
29-11-2019, 07:08 PM
Gonna watch the Irishman next week - waited to watch at home rather than the cinema given the 3.5 hour running time!
I’ve seen “Le Mans 66” and “Knives Out” in the last few weeks.
Le Mans 66 was better than I expected, not knowing much of the actual story. Helps that Christian Bale gives a typically brilliant performance
Knives Out is an old fashioned whodunnit from Rian Johnson, with a great cast. It was a lot of fun albeit I was slightly underwhelmed by the eventual reveal. A few of the cast were a bit wasted also but I would still recommend
29-11-2019, 11:18 PM
Just finished The Irishman and while the de-aging is a little bit jarring in the first hour, it's a bloody excellent film. It's not a pure gangster film (for a large chunk of a film, the mafia takes a backseat and is only relevant with a few cutaway scenes), more a period piece which the mafia place an important role in. I loved all the performances - Pesci and de Niro in their understated approach were great, and I felt Pacino brought to the screen the passion of Hoffa and his intense love for his union. I feel like it was necessary to explain how stubborn he became, and didn't really fall into the trap of overacting for the sake of it.
The last half hour was full of nostalgie and sadness and the final shot was pretty moving too.
Overall, it is a very long film but one that I enjoyed.
30-11-2019, 12:22 PM
Just finished The Irishman and while the de-aging is a little bit jarring in the first hour, it's overall a bloody excellent film. It's not a pure gangster film (for a large chunk of a film, the mafia takes a backseat and is only relevant with a few cutaway scenes), more a period piece which the mafia place an important role in. I loved all the performances - Pesci and de Niro in their understated approach were great, and I felt Pacino brought to the screen the passion of Hoffa and his intense love for his union. I feel like it was necessary to explain how stubborn he became, and didn't really fall into the trap of overacting for the sake of it.
The last half hour was full of nostalgie and sadness and the final shot was pretty moving too.
Overall, it is a very long film but one that I enjoyed.
Thought the film was - as you say - excellent and the 3 hours passed by in a flash. Some stirring performance from De Niro, Pacino, Pesci and all involved in the customary slick Scorsese movie. The problem with the "de-aging" thing is that while their faces become younger their bodies are still those of elderly gentlemen and you notice it in their physical movements, that jarred most for me -
While watching it couldn't help regretting that this is most probably the last of these great actors/producer together on screen in a cracking movie ... some way to go out though!
Watched the Irishman last night. Some classic Scorsese long single camera shots, great soundtrack. The period clothes and cars were outstanding, It was long but I watched it in bed so not really a problem, I thought the acting was superb and not overdone, Joe Pesci doesnt look well in my opinion but I hope I am mistaken. The supporting cast were strong as well, Stephen Graham never disappoints and Harvey Keitel and a few other faces from the movies in walk on and off parts adds to the entertainment. Not the greatest Scorsese movie but certainly a good way to spend a few hours. I am still waiting for the director's cut of Gangs of New York, hope it happens, Scorsese was unhappy with the final version and there is apparantly loads of material that was cut.
MagicSwirlingShip
02-12-2019, 11:09 PM
The scene with De Niro on the phone near the end of the film was outstanding. Some of the best acting ive ever seen.
03-12-2019, 08:32 AM
Gonna watch the Irishman next week - waited to watch at home rather than the cinema given the 3.5 hour running time!
I’ve seen “Le Mans 66” and “Knives Out” in the last few weeks.
Le Mans 66 was better than I expected, not knowing much of the actual story. Helps that Christian Bale gives a typically brilliant performance
Knives Out is an old fashioned whodunnit from Rian Johnson, with a great cast. It was a lot of fun albeit I was slightly underwhelmed by the eventual reveal. A few of the cast were a bit wasted also but I would still recommend
I loved Knives Out, and I thought the ending was the best part of the movie. It had a feel of The Usual Suspects about it in terms of script, spacing and intelligent filmmaking, although the genre is different. Daniel Craig pulled a great performance out of the bag, Ana de Armas Is destined to be a household name too...
03-12-2019, 08:41 AM
I'm not at all convinced by The Irishman. I love Scorcese, I love this genre, but it just doesn't work for me. It's drawn out, the de-aging/physical movement thing is awful, and I found many of the supporting cast completely forgettable.
Pesci, Pacino and DeNiro are Gods of this genre, but Scorcese could have endeavoured to cast some new blood in their younger roles, thus giving the genre a bit of a future. I fear it'll die with these guys.
03-12-2019, 09:56 AM
I'm not at all convinced by The Irishman. I love Scorcese, I love this genre, but it just doesn't work for me. It's drawn out, the de-aging/physical movement thing is awful, and I found many of the supporting cast completely forgettable.
Pesci, Pacino and DeNiro are Gods of this genre, but Scorcese could have endeavoured to cast some new blood in their younger roles, thus giving the genre a bit of a future. I fear it'll die with these guys.
I agree. It was nice seeing them altogether in another movie but it just felt like it lacked something.
patch1875
03-12-2019, 10:34 AM
I’m about a third through nothing startling so far,
Good seeing Bobby Cannavale he was superb in Boardwalk Empire.
03-12-2019, 04:53 PM
I loved Knives Out, and I thought the ending was the best part of the movie. It had a feel of The Usual Suspects about it in terms of script, spacing and intelligent filmmaking, although the genre is different. Daniel Craig pulled a great performance out of the bag, Ana de Armas Is destined to be a household name too...
Ana de Armas...oh yes, always happy to watch a movie with her in it. Her acting isn’t bad either ;-)
04-12-2019, 02:14 PM
Ana de Armas...oh yes, always happy to watch a movie with her in it. Her acting isn’t bad either ;-)
A face that launched a thousand ships, definitely.
04-12-2019, 02:51 PM
A face that launched a thousand ships, definitely.
Having done a bit of an investigation, that seems awfully harsh. 😉
Although, I doubt the post was too serious.
patch1875
04-12-2019, 03:17 PM
Hoping to see Knives Out shortly.
I like watching Craig in other roles but the big draw for me is my hero Don Johnson!
05-12-2019, 07:49 AM
I don't want to come back from Australia next week, but at least I've got this to look forward to.
My cinema going has become a lot less frequent since I left Edinburgh because the cinema choices in York aren't the best and they're expensive compared to the Cineworld unlimited card which I used to have.
Vue is the closest to me and they're feeling the pressure as they've reduced their adult prices to £4.99.
https://www.yorkmix.com/first-look-i...eworld-cinema/
Literally 10 minutes from my door, it's taken years for the stadium and the associated leisure outlets to be completed, but we're nearly there.
All films will cost £3 in the opening week so I might delay my unlimited membership application for a while!
rodhibs55
05-12-2019, 11:44 AM
Watched Good Morning Vietnam again last week. Forgot how good a movie it was, ablsolutely brilliant from Robin Williams.
Great soundtrack as well
08-12-2019, 09:19 PM
Over two hours into the Irishman just now and finding it boring now, not sure I’ll see it through to be honest.
08-12-2019, 09:24 PM
Over two hours into the Irishman just now and finding it boring now, not sure I’ll see it through to be honest.
I saw something online that out of 13m people that watched it the opening week that only 18% of people watched it all
I thought it was decent, no more than that and there was no need for it to last half a day's work :faf:
patch1875
14-12-2019, 03:36 PM
6 Underground
Absolutely terrible but somehow also brilliant.
09-01-2020, 09:50 AM
Jojo Rabbit 7/10
Just about strikes the right balance of being a dark comedy without making it*too*light given it is set in the war, and from the German point of view at that, albeit with an anti-Nazi slant. Quite warming by the end as well.
09-01-2020, 10:03 AM
Jojo Rabbit 7/10
Just about strikes the right balance of being a dark comedy without making it*too*light given it is set in the war, and from the German point of view at that, albeit with an anti-Nazi slant. Quite warming by the end as well.
I'm not sure I'll be able to watch this. It seems s bit too slap sticky.
I'm glad you said it was anti-Nazi though. I was worried that it was neutral which, in the current political climate, wouldn't have surprised me.
09-01-2020, 03:50 PM
I'm not sure I'll be able to watch this. It seems s bit too slap sticky.
I'm glad you said it was anti-Nazi though. I was worried that it was neutral which, in the current political climate, wouldn't have surprised me.
The Hitler parts probably are a bit too slapstick but I suppose it is just used as a tool to point out the ridiculousness of kids being taught that Jews had horns etc.
09-01-2020, 04:48 PM
6 Underground
Absolutely terrible but somehow also brilliant.
I saw no brilliance. Absolutely terrible sums it up perfectly for me.
I thought it was alright won’t trouble the award ceremonies like but it was enjoyable enough
Quite enjoyed Arctic on Netflix last night, mads mikkelson crash landed and alone in the Arctic wasn’t a bad watch at all
12-01-2020, 09:52 PM
I thought it was alright won’t trouble the award ceremonies like but it was enjoyable enough
Agree. It is what it is and I for one quite enjoyed it. Not exactly high brow stuff of course but the way some of the baddies meet their untimely deaths in the chase scene at the start had me wincing, laughing and cringing all at the same time!!
19-01-2020, 10:14 AM
Saw '1917' on Friday. Really enjoyed it. Similar to Dunkirk in that it was intense from start to finish. Definitely would recommend going to see it.
patch1875
19-01-2020, 11:30 AM
Saw '1917' on Friday. Really enjoyed it. Similar to Dunkirk in that it was intense from start to finish. Definitely would recommend going to see it.
Planning a cinema trip this week can’t decide between this or Bad Boys.
19-01-2020, 11:51 AM
Saw it last week at the IMAX. While I enjoyed it I’m not sure it was quite as good as I thought it was going to be. Think I preferred Dunkirk to be honest.
Well worth a watch though and the time flew by so that’s always a good sign.
LustForLeith
25-01-2020, 10:51 PM
I saw 1917 yesterday and can’t work out how on earth they made it. Fantastic film making. why hasn’t George McKay been nominated in the acting awards? Unbelievable.
I’ve started to make a list of the films I’ve seen since the start of the year. Here’s my favourites so far
1. Parasite
2. 1917
3. Train To Busan
4. Uncut Gems
5. Diego Maradona
6. Mid90s
7. The Fairwell
I appreciate that some of them aren’t new but it’s the first time I’ve seen them!
26-01-2020, 05:38 PM
Went to see 1917 on Thursday night and really enjoyed it. I think what makes the film even more impressive is that it’s one continuous scene. It feels more real and you know you're not missing anything.
Overall a very good film
27-01-2020, 11:02 AM
Must see Copperfield. Can't be any worse than the book!
LustForLeith
02-02-2020, 07:25 PM
I watched Booksmart today. I highly recommend it. One of the best portrayals of a friendship I’ve seen in ages
04-02-2020, 03:57 PM
Just watched Momento.
Incredible film about a guy with short term memory loss trying to make sense of his wife's murder .
It's a real mind bender.
Brilliant
Edit: its actually spelled Memento.
04-02-2020, 07:57 PM
Just watched Momento.
Incredible film about a guy with short term memory loss trying to make sense of his wife's murder .
It's a real mind bender.
Brilliant
Christopher Nolan has made some fantastic films. Memento, The Prestige, Interstellar, Dark Knight....
Dunkirk I think is a masterpiece. Possibly one the best films of the last 10 years. Gets better with each viewing and drawdropping on the big screen - and that soundtrack!!!
Keyser Sauzee
05-02-2020, 12:47 AM
Just watched Fury, thought it was excellent. Brad Pitt was good but the supporting acting from Shia Lebouf, Jay Hernandez and Jon Bernthal were great, especially Lebouf. Really good watch.
hibs#1
05-02-2020, 03:58 PM
Watched Uncut Gems the other night thought it was very good, have to say i found it strangely stressful.
patch1875
05-02-2020, 04:17 PM
Watched Uncut Gems the other night thought it was very good, have to say i found it strangely stressful.
That’s next on my list many many seem to be finding it the same.