View Full Version : Taking cartons of juice off three year old girls
27-07-2014, 06:41 PM
Well done to the steward who confiscated my three year old's carton of juice at today's game - a job well done :aok:
27-07-2014, 06:44 PM
Well done to the steward who confiscated my three year old's carton of juice at today's game - a job well done :aok:
What's his username on here?
HTD1875
27-07-2014, 06:45 PM
It makes you think,what law this is breaking ?
27-07-2014, 06:46 PM
What's his username on here?
i'm positive neither the steward or a 3 year old will have a username on here :dunno:
27-07-2014, 06:48 PM
At least your 3 year old now knows they're not allowed and can put you straight the next time you think about allowing your child to take something that is not permitted into the ground.
scuttle
27-07-2014, 06:48 PM
total Jobs worth
27-07-2014, 06:50 PM
It makes you think,what law this is breaking ?
Law! Everyone knows carton or vessels containing liquid that can be used as a missile when full is not permitted surely?
27-07-2014, 06:52 PM
Law! Everyone knows carton or vessels containing liquid that can be used as a missile when full is not permitted surely?
Unless you pay about £3 for one once you're inside. Then it's fair game
27-07-2014, 06:53 PM
At least your 3 year old now knows they're not allowed and can put you straight the next time you think about allowing your child to take something that is not permitted into the ground.
They sell them inside though so no reason for them to be banned
27-07-2014, 06:53 PM
Sorry I thought all drinks were dispensed into a cup in the ground, am I wrong?
27-07-2014, 06:55 PM
Tosser, see post 23 on here - www.hibs.net/showthread.php?287509-Today-s-Caption-Competition&p=4108903#post4108903 I know who I'd prefer. Once drove 320 miles for a midweek game in the late 90's, arrived 30 minutes early, bought my ticket, handed it over and as I got pushed from behind, unbelievably I and the guy behind both got through at the same time.
The ticket guy in the booth was onto his next "customer" and didn't want to know but the steward decided I had sneaked in - even though I had a ticket stub! As he was always going to win the debate he defaulted to my response being aggressive so I got lobbed out by the cops - Went straight round and got a ticket for another part of the ground! Sadly it remains the case that stewards are at 2 extremes - those that take juice cartons of kids in the name of stewarding / security and those who just feel they have to do somebody, anybody for something to make their day. Meantime banned activity goes on all around them.
27-07-2014, 06:55 PM
Really? I have only ever seen coke bottles being poured into cups inside the ground, I have never seen cartons of juice and have had one removed by a steward previously who explained the reason why hence my response.
27-07-2014, 06:56 PM
So is entering a stadium drunk, but when do you see stewards enforcing that? Little girl with a carton of Ribena - can't be having that.
patch1875
27-07-2014, 06:56 PM
That would be the last straw for me wouldn't be able to concentrate on the game.
Emerald
27-07-2014, 06:57 PM
Or the golf ball with a nail through it in your pocket they've not seen! I'd rather have a three year old throw the juice carton than get splat with one of those seagulls. Sometimes you need a wee bit common sense with these things. Rules though!
27-07-2014, 06:58 PM
Nonsense - cartons ARE allowed...have been taking them for years. In fact today I was told I could not take my Greggs Coffee in...I politely insisted I could / would / had been for years as it was not a prohibited container (to say nothing of there being no black coffee available in ground) and carried on...
There were a lot if not most stewards who were new today so cut them some slack...they will be learning. Was embarrassed to see one fan berate a steward who was politely trying to get him to go to pods with his cash for a ticket (to ease the queues for those with cards) rather than stand in TO queue ..... he totally missed point and angrily waved ticket he then bought at steward saying...'see your a liar I could buy one here'....... not Hibs Class:rolleyes:
27-07-2014, 06:58 PM
Yep they sell cartons of juice and have done for years. No liquids are allowed in to the ground.
27-07-2014, 06:59 PM
So is entering a stadium drunk, but when do you see stewards enforcing that? Little girl with a carton of Ribena - can't be having that.
Drunk is debatable, the actual presence of a carton is not, I guess that makes an easy target whatever the age.
27-07-2014, 07:00 PM
Really? I have only ever seen coke bottles being poured into cups inside the ground, I have never seen cartons of juice and have had one removed by a steward previously who explained the reason why hence my response.
They sell Ribena and Capri suns in the ground which aren't put in to cups.
Fans should be allowed to bring in their own cartons, the rules don't state they are banned
27-07-2014, 07:02 PM
They sell Ribena and Capri suns in the ground which aren't put in to cups.
Fans should be allowed to bring in their own cartons, the rules don't state they are banned
It is an offence under the Criminal Law (Consolidation) (Scotland) Act, 1995 to enter, or attempt to enter the Ground:
a) Whilst in possession of a controlled container which is or was capable of holding liquid and which, if thrown would be capable of causing injury to another person
Yes they do!
27-07-2014, 07:02 PM
Girl in front of me, about 4 or 5, had a bottle of ribena at a game at the end of last season. Steward went and got a cup from the kiosks, poured the drink in and took the empty bottle away, problem solved.
A bit common sense should have been the order of the day surely.
27-07-2014, 07:05 PM
Nonsense - cartons ARE allowed...have been taking them for years. In fact today I was told I could not take my Greggs Coffee in...I politely insisted I could / would / had been for years as it was not a prohibited container (to say nothing of there being no black coffee available in ground) and carried on...
There were a lot if not most stewards who were new today so cut them some slack...they will be learning. Was embarrassed to see one fan berate a steward who was politely trying to get him to go to pods with his cash for a ticket (to ease the queues for those with cards) rather than stand in TO queue ..... he totally missed point and angrily waved ticket he then bought at steward saying...'see your a liar I could buy one here'....... not Hibs Class:rolleyes:
She had another one in her bag anyway so it wasn't the end of the world.
27-07-2014, 07:06 PM
[/B]
It is an offence under the Criminal Law (Consolidation) (Scotland) Act, 1995 to enter, or attempt to enter the Ground:
a) Whilst in possession of a controlled container which is or was capable of holding liquid and which, if thrown would be capable of causing injury to another person
Yes they do!
Sorry my bad! But then why do they sell cartons of Ribena at games?
27-07-2014, 07:07 PM
Bought one today for my laddie at £1.90 a pop!!!
27-07-2014, 07:08 PM
Haven't got a clue mate.
27-07-2014, 07:12 PM
[/B]
Yes they do!
You are quoting correct law but missing the important capable of causing injury to another person
cartons are not considered to be capable of that - thus why they are sold in ground....and are / have been allowed for past 15 years I have taken my girls with them...we had 4 cartons with us today (as well as my coffee) which we showed steward with the usual 'nope no cans or bottles...just cartons' line to which a polite thanks was returned
27-07-2014, 07:14 PM
[/B]
Yes they do!
Aye, that would be a sore one, getting hit by a carton of Ribena thrown by a three year old.
27-07-2014, 07:15 PM
You are quoting correct law but missing the important capable of causing injury to another person
cartons are not considered to be capable of that - thus why they are sold in ground....and are / have been allowed for past 15 years I have taken my girls with them...we had 4 cartons with us today (as well as my coffee) which we showed steward with the usual 'nope no cans or bottles...just cartons' line to which a polite thanks was returned
If I threw a full carton of ribena at you and it hit you in the eye it could ****** blind you!!! Is that injury enough? It's down to lack of training but as a steward if you know the law then you interpret it as you see it.
The Gorf
27-07-2014, 07:16 PM
Yes but the three year olds might have been full of Semtex or the abola virus. You never know !!!!!
27-07-2014, 07:16 PM
If I threw a full carton of ribena at you and it hit you in the eye it could ****** blind you!!! Is that injury enough?
Get of your high horse mate, it was a three year old!
27-07-2014, 07:17 PM
If I threw a full carton of ribena at you and it hit you in the eye it could ****** blind you!!! Is that injury enough?
You have a point but if the letter of the law, as quoted by you, is the final arbiter why do Hibs sell cartons inside the ground? Surely they are breaking the law by doing so? :wink:
27-07-2014, 07:18 PM
Aye, that would be a sore one, getting hit by a carton of Ribena thrown by a three year old.
Aye very good think about it!
27-07-2014, 07:19 PM
You have a point but if the letter of the law, as quoted by you, is the final arbiter why do Hibs sell cartons inside the ground? Surely they are breaking the law by doing so? :wink:
I don't know but the law is about entering the ground with it not buying it inside :wink:
Emerald
27-07-2014, 07:19 PM
If I threw a full carton of ribena at you and it hit you in the eye it could ****** blind you!!! Is that injury enough? It's down to lack of training but as a steward if you know the law then you interpret it as you see it.
I remember you used to get things called jublees, pyramid shaped cartons of orange juice with sharp corners. Those thing could really take your eye oot!!
Edit: Forgot to say they were ******* lethal when frozen!
27-07-2014, 07:20 PM
I don't know but the law is about entering the ground with it not buying it inside :wink:
Well in that case, the law is an ass :greengrin
I remember you used to get things called jublees, pyramid shaped cartons of orange juice with sharp corners. Those thing could really take your eye oot!!
Ah the memories!
Could somebody please fnd one and chuck it at Scouse for me :wink:
Get of your high horse mate, it was a three year old!
You get off yours, it's about getting missiles into the ground not about who takes them in!
27-07-2014, 07:21 PM
You get off yours, it's about getting missiles into the ground not about who takes them in!
Exocet Ribena, I love it!
The Gorf
27-07-2014, 07:21 PM
Well, that's no new revelation, however I do agree with you.
27-07-2014, 07:22 PM
Did I mention I'm a Health & Safety Manager :greengrin
27-07-2014, 07:23 PM
Did I mention I'm a Health & Safety Manager :greengrin
Well, you could knock me down with a........
......Ribena
27-07-2014, 07:23 PM
Not nearly as painful than if i tipped my bovril down your drawers and roasted your manhood....but hot drinks are sold :wink:
Anyway.....whether we agree with where the distinction is drawn or not...cartons have been and are allowed at ER
27-07-2014, 07:24 PM
The stewards search my daughters bag every week and it's bottles they're looking for, not cartons.
27-07-2014, 07:26 PM
Practically anything can be used as a missile once inside (or outside) the ground. The favourites of choice these days, since the ban on alcohol, are coins and cheap lighters.
Taking a carton of juice from a 3 year old child is simply officialdom gone mad.
Dirkster23
27-07-2014, 07:27 PM
That would be the last straw for me wouldn't be able to concentrate on the game.
27-07-2014, 07:27 PM
i'm positive neither the steward or a 3 year old will have a username on here :dunno:
Exactly Einstein.
27-07-2014, 07:28 PM
Exactly Einstein.
I can't find that name in the user list? :dunno:
27-07-2014, 07:29 PM
Practically anything can be used as a missile once inside (or outside) the ground. The favourites of choice these days, since the ban on alcohol, are coins and cheap lighters.
Taking a carton of juice from a 3 year old child is simply officialdom gone mad.
:soapbox:
woodythehibee
27-07-2014, 07:33 PM
The stewards search my daughters bag every week and it's bottles they're looking for, not cartons.
:agree: My nephew is the same. They let him in with cartons. My mate is a former steward at ER and says they are permitted
Stan the Man
27-07-2014, 07:36 PM
Wow. Sanitised football strikes again.
[/B]
Yes they do!
A controlled container in the definition is described as one which can be re-closed. Those cartons can't.
27-07-2014, 07:42 PM
I got frisked and patted down by a steward going into Stirling Albion last week and had to take out my wallet and keys to show they weren't weapons. Meanwhile the young radges all looking the same managed to smuggle in some smoke bombs.
Saturday Boy
27-07-2014, 07:44 PM
This incident reminds me of having to squeeze some toothpaste onto litmus paper at Edinburgh airport. Completely bizarre except I look like a terrorist:cb
27-07-2014, 07:46 PM
Wow. Sanitised football strikes again.
I think you'll find that Dettol is indeed banned.
ozzie
27-07-2014, 07:48 PM
I take juice for my son every game, as long as it's not in aglass or plastic bottle I have no problems taking it in.
Iceman1875
27-07-2014, 08:00 PM
Shocking Davie, I'd have politely asked him what's the risk with a bloody juice carton? Maybe it being stood on? Going bang?!
At Easter Road we play...
27-07-2014, 08:06 PM
Edit: Forgot to say they were ******* lethal when frozen!
Oddly enough I was thinking about jubes today when I was charged £1.50 for a Calippo at a cafe on Hove beach. How much were they? 6d? A shilling? Used to last about an hour....The Calippo lasted about 2 minutes....What a rip-off :grr:
Saturday Boy
27-07-2014, 08:08 PM
Oddly enough I was thinking about jubes today when I was charged £1.50 for a Calippo at a cafe on Hove beach. How much were they? 6d? A shilling? Used to last about an hour....The Calippo lasted about 2 minutes....What a rip-off :grr:
It's to do with our lovely soft Scottish water, our beer, whisky and jubilees are tops!
hibee
27-07-2014, 08:12 PM
My kids take juice in every week, either Capri sun or cartons and never had a problem.
Crazy taking that off a 3yr old though, what if some angry guy decides to throw an old Nokia at someone, will they start removing mobiles from everyone too?
27-07-2014, 08:16 PM
:agree: same with us. I brought cartons into every game last season for my son, regularly seen by stewards when searching my bag. It's hard plastic containers they're meant to confiscate.
27-07-2014, 08:19 PM
I've always made a point of showing what I take in with my boy. I thought it was bottles and not cartons that were banned indeed if I'd known I'd not have brought them but the fact I took them out the bag and showed them so I'd be furious and writing to the club. If this the case then it obviously needs clarification and a bit of commonsense applied in the instance mentioned. O
27-07-2014, 08:20 PM
Nice to see the stewards receiving some praise for a change. ;-)
27-07-2014, 08:21 PM
My old boy always took a carton of Ribena in, it was for me if I had a hypo as I'm a type 1 diabetic. There were never any problems, think they used to make him stick the straw in it though so as to "open" it.
27-07-2014, 08:22 PM
It's absolutely pathetic but hardly surprising.
These are the same stewards who will completely ignore grown men who are continuously using foul and abusive language in front of young children.
Three year olds with a carton of ribena are a soft and easy target.
This is the problem when health and safety gets in the way of good old common sense.
Unfortunately it's not very common these days.
over the line
27-07-2014, 08:30 PM
I think the important detail in this case is the 'prohibited from entering with a controlled container' or whatever it is. It's a daft loophole but that is why you can buy cartons in the ground, you just can't enter with them. A full carton could certainly cause injury to someone, but like any law, discretion and commonsense need to be applied. Now a group of rowdy lads on a derby day, probably shouldn't be allowed in with cartons, but I think a family with young kids at a friendly, that seems ok really doesn't it?
27-07-2014, 08:34 PM
I think the important detail in this case is the 'prohibited from entering with a controlled container' or whatever it is. It's a daft loophole but that is why you can buy cartons in the ground, you just can't enter with them. A full carton could certainly cause injury to someone, but like any law, discretion and commonsense need to be applied. Now a group of rowdy lads on a derby day, probably shouldn't be allowed in with cartons, but I think a family with young kids at a friendly, that seems ok really doesn't it?
They sell bottles of water inside the ground that they pour into a cup upon sale, they don't do that with the ribena or capri sun. Pretty sure the steward today was wrong unless they've changed the rules.
27-07-2014, 08:35 PM
My kids take juice in every week, either Capri sun or cartons and never had a problem.
Crazy taking that off a 3yr old though, what if some angry guy decides to throw an old Nokia at someone, will they start removing mobiles from everyone too?
Or the coins from everyone's wallet ?!
In fact don't read this Petrie...
27-07-2014, 08:42 PM
I think you should contact the club about this.
Why did they spoil the laddie's day when the same product is sold inside the ground?
Is it to encourage people to subsidise the company who has the contract for match day "catering"?
over the line
27-07-2014, 08:43 PM
They sell bottles of water inside the ground that they pour into a cup upon sale, they don't do that with the ribena or capri sun. Pretty sure the steward today was wrong unless they've changed the rules.
There are grey areas in all rules and laws, that's where discretion and commonsense need to be applied. It could be argued the legislation does prohibit cartons but I think commonsense tells us that a little girl with her dad is almost certainly ok to go in with it.
27-07-2014, 08:44 PM
Was the option to drink the juice not given?
Wouldnt have taken long surely.
27-07-2014, 08:45 PM
Why did they spoil the laddie's day when the same product is sold inside the ground?
Is it to encourage people to subsidise the company who has the contract for match day "catering"?
Can't believe we got to page 3 for the real reason to appear that's exactly why
27-07-2014, 08:47 PM
There are grey areas in all rules and laws, that's where discretion and commonsense need to be applied. It could be argued the legislation does prohibit cartons but I think commonsense tells us that a little girl with her dad is almost certainly ok to go in with it.
My experience tells me they're not prohibited and stewards applying different rules to supporters based on their age or appearance would likely cause more problems than it would solve.
27-07-2014, 08:48 PM
This is not correct..as pointed out several times CARTONS ARE ALLOWED (they are not dangerous / resealable as per regs) its just one steward getting it wrong...and as pointed out earlier most on duty today seemed new...
A simple email asking for training clarification would suffice :aok:
27-07-2014, 08:49 PM
Was the option to drink the juice not given?
Wouldnt have taken long surely.
The thought crossed my mind but I know the hassle I get off my boy trying to finish anything let alone a steward ;)
MountcastleHibs
27-07-2014, 08:51 PM
When I was a steward, we were told bottles and cans. Cartons are perfectly fine.
27-07-2014, 08:52 PM
FFS :rolleyes:
27-07-2014, 08:52 PM
That's the one.
27-07-2014, 08:53 PM
I always thought it was to stop folk smuggling in alcohol.
Weststandwanab
27-07-2014, 08:54 PM
Can't believe we got to page 3 for the real reason to appear that's exactly why
One Hundred and Eighty.
Emerald
27-07-2014, 08:56 PM
Smuggle alcohol in the bairns Ribena, now there's an idea. Trouble is the bairns now 23 and would keep it to himself, drat!
27-07-2014, 09:02 PM
If it's the sort of carton that I'm thinking it is then it would be almost impossible to transfer any sort of liquid into the carton once the ribena was emptied out of it.
27-07-2014, 09:09 PM
If it's the sort of carton that I'm thinking it is then it would be almost impossible to transfer any sort of liquid into the carton once the ribena was emptied out of it.
Syringe? Not that I've ever given it any thought before :greengrin
Taz_hibee
27-07-2014, 09:14 PM
I bought 2 bottles of water today and was handed them in their bottles and we sat in lower section of East drinking in front of stewards
27-07-2014, 09:16 PM
I bought 2 bottles of water today and was handed them in their bottles and we sat in lower section of East drinking in front of stewards
Were you given the tops? Even if not that would seem a change in policy or a mistake imo.
Taz_hibee
27-07-2014, 09:17 PM
Yes, tops on them
27-07-2014, 09:20 PM
Meanwhile if you're at the rugby you can have a beer at the game.
27-07-2014, 09:22 PM
Yes, tops on them
Interesting. Makes the action the steward took against carhenlea's nipper with the juice seem even more ridiculous if they're selling plastic bottles to folk inside. Pretty much the opposite of whats been done until now.
27-07-2014, 09:23 PM
Not if you're three.
27-07-2014, 09:34 PM
Aye been :coffee:.
27-07-2014, 09:39 PM
I remember having this happen to me when I was younger actually. At away grounds, not Easter Road.
I'd also add that the steward was probably just doing as instructed. Just over-zealously and without the simple compromise of getting a cup from inside.
TowerHibs
27-07-2014, 09:41 PM
Yawn.....
27-07-2014, 09:45 PM
If you took the chib out your pocket, cut the top off the carton and made it like a cup, shirley that would make it safe & within the law? :wink:
27-07-2014, 09:52 PM
Don't get me started Matty....Mrs S had to listen to me ranting about the bloke holding 2 bottles of beer in each hand at Ibrox .... just because he is 'civilised' and watching Rugby ......while as a football watching 'hooligan' I am left arguing about having a Greggs black coffee in the ground
27-07-2014, 10:15 PM
I didn't see this today but I saw a few people drinking water out of bottles at Forthbank last week and I remember thinking that it was quite odd as I had never seen that before at a Scottish football match.
Maybe they have relaxed the rules on this type of thing. It's about time if they have as thousands of fans in England drink out of bottles every week and I've never heard of any major incident occurring as a result.
over the line
27-07-2014, 10:20 PM
This is not correct..as pointed out several times CARTONS ARE ALLOWED (they are not dangerous / resealable as per regs) its just one steward getting it wrong...and as pointed out earlier most on duty today seemed new...
A simple email asking for training clarification would suffice :aok:
Not happy you've made me look at the legislation, like some sort of nerd, but a controlled container is: any bottle, can or OTHER PORTABLE CONTAINER, whether open or sealed.............capable of causing some injury if thrown........
Not the full blurb but I think that covers it? So unless the carton is the size of a couch and therefore not portable, the law says CARTONS ARE NOT ALLOWED! It would seem you pointed this out incorrectly several times wouldn't it?
I actually think cartons should be allowed and its all a bit daft really. But if I'm going to be told off on here, at least get it right ;););)
boab1875
27-07-2014, 10:25 PM
[/B]
Yes they do!
I sympathise a little with the guy who started this thread but the rules are there as clear as day. You should really know you are not allowed to bring these containers into the stadium and just accept the rules. fighting them will achieve nothing. next time you go with your kid to the game, don't take a carton, simple. there's no use getting annoyed about it.
also whether they sell similar cartons in the ground is irrelevant. the rules are for those entering the stadium. double standards are part and parcel of going to football matches. just take a trip to glasgow to watch us play the old firm and see for yourself.
27-07-2014, 10:30 PM
I sympathise a little with the guy who started this thread but the rules are there as clear as day. You should really know you are not allowed to bring these containers into the stadium and just accept the rules. fighting them will achieve nothing. next time you go with your kid to the game, don't take a carton, simple. there's no use getting annoyed about it.
also whether they sell similar cartons in the ground is irrelevant. the rules are for those entering the stadium. double standards are part and parcel of going to football matches. just take a trip to glasgow to watch us play the old firm and see for yourself.
Is it any wonder why some fans are saying "WTF, why bother?" and just stay at home. The world is going law mad. :crazy:
27-07-2014, 10:33 PM
If we allow 3 year olds into friendlies with their potentially lethal yet soft, thin cardboard cartons of Um Bongo, I dread to think of what we could be letting ourselves in for against the Yams, Dunfermline or the new team, The Rangers.
Carnlea, your boy may have lost a cheap, and barely nourishing drink, but it was for the greater good.
I salute Rock Steady.
Or whichever company the idiotic fanny with no common sense worked for.
27-07-2014, 10:36 PM
https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/7840479232/hB3686241/
over the line
27-07-2014, 10:39 PM
Is it any wonder why some fans are saying "WTF, why bother?" and just stay at home. The world is going law mad. :crazy:
They should bring out a law against the over regulation of things and also ban the banning of things! ;)
27-07-2014, 10:41 PM
Not happy you've made me look at the legislation, like some sort of nerd, but a controlled container is: any bottle, can or OTHER PORTABLE CONTAINER, whether open or sealed.............capable of causing some injury if thrown........
Not the full blurb but I think that covers it? So unless the carton is the size of a couch and therefore not portable, the law says CARTONS ARE NOT ALLOWED! It would seem you pointed this out incorrectly several times wouldn't it?
I actually think cartons should be allowed and its all a bit daft really. But if I'm going to be told off on here, at least get it right ;););)
Still the crucial part that makes me right and you wrong..... its a juice carton not a half Niddrie.....:greengrin
Boring but to repeat...been allowed for FIFTEEN YEARS without exception.....
over the line
27-07-2014, 10:42 PM
If we allow 3 year olds into friendlies with their potentially lethal yet soft, thin cardboard cartons of Um Bongo, I dread to think of what we could be letting ourselves in for against the Yams, Dunfermline or the new team, The Rangers.
Carnlea, your boy may have lost a cheap, and barely nourishing drink, but it was for the greater good.
I salute Rock Steady.
Ahh but ribena is a bugger to wash out, if she had spilt it on your sparkling new white away top, you might have a different view!?!?!? ;);):D
27-07-2014, 10:44 PM
Yes the rules are there and they forbid anyone from taking in a container that is capable of holding liquid that could cause an injury if it was thrown. With the best will in the world, I fail to see how throwing a carton of ribena could cause an injury to someone.
one of the Saddest sights i ever seen a Easter rd. was just before the Rankers game at the new East Stand/or Sit Doon Stand...
Wee Laddie about 5 with his Dad just bought a plastic drinks bottle from the clubstore - Big Jobsworth wouldn't let him in with it...
It was still in the Hibs Plastic bag... http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/boo%20hoo.gif
I salute Rock Steady.
Um bongo.... :thumbsup: Giving your age away there fella. For our younger posters they used to drink it in the Congo..
27-07-2014, 10:49 PM
Ahh but ribena is a bugger to wash out, if she had spilt it on your sparkling new white away top, you might have a different view!?!?!? ;);):D
https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/7873458944/hBF1B0344/
over the line
27-07-2014, 10:51 PM
Still the crucial part that makes me right and you wrong..... its a juice carton not a half Niddrie.....:greengrin
Boring but to repeat...been allowed for FIFTEEN YEARS without exception.....
So you are saying that it is IMPOSSIBLE to cause some injury with a carton, is that right? Some stewards may allow them in and I actually think they should, but my point is that the law states they are prohibited, its a fact. Of course a carton can cause "some injury", doesn't say serious injury, or even state the level of injury, just some injury. The devil is in the detail my friend. :rolleyes:
27-07-2014, 10:57 PM
So you are saying that it is IMPOSSIBLE to cause some injury with a carton, is that right? Some stewards may allow them in and I actually think they should, but my point is that the law states they are prohibited, its a fact. Of course a carton can cause "some injury", doesn't say serious injury, or even state the level of injury, just some injury. The devil is in the detail my friend. :rolleyes:
No I'm not saying its impossible idiots can cut themselves with paper :wink:......but you are incorrect that law states cartons are prohibited as FACT (thats your interpretation) and at ER the interpretation over 15 years is that they are permitted...that is FACT :greengrin
over the line
27-07-2014, 11:04 PM
No I'm not saying its impossible idiots can cut themselves with paper :wink:......but you are incorrect that law states cartons are prohibited as FACT (thats your interpretation) and at ER the interpretation over 15 years is that they are permitted...that is FACT :greengrin
Well I for one think these Ribena thugs should be driven out the game immediately, there is no place for vitamins at a Scottish football ground! What about a coconut with the milk in it, are they allowed?
PS, your still wrong, law says no cartons. :D (or coconuts) :D
27-07-2014, 11:11 PM
If you're going to ban people from doing things, simply because it might cause an injury then everyone would be as well staying in their bed.
What about banning people from bringing coins to a match?
I would rather get a carton of ribena thrown at me than a £1 coin.
over the line
27-07-2014, 11:20 PM
If you're going to ban people from doing things, simply because it might cause an injury then everyone would be as well staying in their bed.
What about banning people from bringing coins to a match?
I would rather get a carton of ribena thrown at me than a £1 coin.
I'm not banning anyone from anything, I'm just pointing out what the legislation says. If it was down to me you could drink whisky from the bottle in your seat(should have been compulsory at the back end of last season actually!). Myself I would rather have a pound coin thrown at me, cos I'm a good catcher and I'm a bit skint! :D
over the line
27-07-2014, 11:38 PM
If you hold a glass of ribena up to the light, its maroon! Is that not reason enough to ban it from ER? :D
27-07-2014, 11:43 PM
If you hold a glass of ribena up to the light, its maroon! Is that not reason enough to ban it from ER? :D
One mans ribena is another mans poison, this maroon development seals it for me.
We need specific ribena police at every home game to rid our game of this despicable scourge. Its an infinitely bigger threat than this sectarianism everyone talks a lot about, and worse it sounds like ribena is affecting our youth first.
Andy Bee
28-07-2014, 03:59 AM
Right so they stop kids coming in with a carton of juice but sell pies, when thrown, would knock a charging rhino out from 50 yards, yup I gerrit :rolleyes:
28-07-2014, 04:39 AM
Ok folks, let's look at this another way.............
...... Has anyone else been in a smilar position????
Looks like this is a rarity and whilst possibly/likely upsetting for parent and child it appears to be a one-off and more of a newbie / over-eager steward. Hopefully no "streams were crossed" and the fault will be a blip and normal service will resume?
28-07-2014, 06:28 AM
[/B]
Yes they do!
No, the offence is qualified. So part 1) bringing in a container (this on its own is not an offence as parts a) and b) have to kick in.
A) is capable of containing liquid
B) if thrown would be capable of causing injury to another person
So, IMHO a Ribina carton or Capri sun does not qualify under this part of the act. A container on its own as that would include a handbag. A Capri sun / Ribina wouldn't qualify as it wouldn't be able to injure someone when thrown. Bizarrely I recon hot coffee would qualify (scalding risk).
Hibs really have to clarify this. Has the OP contacted the club?
28-07-2014, 06:52 AM
No, the offence is qualified. So part 1) bringing in a container (this on its own is not an offence as parts a) and b) have to kick in.
So, IMHO a Ribina carton or Capri sun does not qualify under this part of the act. A container on its own as that would include a handbag. A Capri sun / Ribina wouldn't qualify as it wouldn't be able to injure someone when thrown. Bizarrely I recon hot coffee would qualify (scalding risk).
Of course a container of Ribena could cause injury, is your handbag capable of holding liquid?
over the line
28-07-2014, 07:22 AM
One mans ribena is another mans poison, this maroon development seals it for me.
We need specific ribena police at every home game to rid our game of this despicable scourge. Its an infinitely bigger threat than this sectarianism everyone talks a lot about, and worse it sounds like ribena is affecting our youth first.
Hang on a minute..........Ribena is MAROON and Capri Sun is ORANGE, and its not only allowed into the ground (although the law says no cartons to enter ;) ) it is sold in the ground!
This is the sneakiest sectarianism ever! We need to act fast before its too late. Our kids ate being slowly poisoned with their hate filled, bigoted soft drinks! Now can you doubters tell me that these cartons can't cause injury!?!? I think you all owe that steward an apology, he is a F'in hero!!! :D
28-07-2014, 07:22 AM
Bought one today for my laddie at £1.90 a pop!!!
I bought one outside for 59p and took that into the game with me. The plookie steward checked my bag and said nothing!!
I know they try to do a job but some of them are just power mad and try to act smart. The others are just so thick and content with getting people into trouble so they can brag to their pals about it.
But when the going gets tough and you stand up to them they disappear in a puff of smoke.................
Dont trust any of them!!!! Its time they were all reading the same script and looking for the real law breakers and leaving bairns alone with their juice!
It's traditional for supporters to complain on dotnet rather than contact the club.
28-07-2014, 07:33 AM
If they didn't charge ridiculous prices for food and drinks in the stadium people wouldn't bother taking stuff in with them and more fans might buy something to eat.
28-07-2014, 07:48 AM
Perhaps a new steward is only doing what he or she thinks she has to do? If that's your first game you don't want to get any hassle off your superiors so you may well go in all guns blazing. Common sense would say yes, let the lassie keep her juice but someone may well just be doing what they think is their job!
Weststandwanab
28-07-2014, 07:51 AM
Far too sensible but you are correct of course.
The further problem here - apart from a trades description issue by describing their merchandise as food - is that I believe they are concessions and therefore under no direct control by Ms. Dempster yet.
28-07-2014, 07:51 AM
As alluded to earlier it is probably more to do with ensuring the caterers get maximum profit. The same happens at our local cinema, no food or drink allowed. Many moons ago when the ypung Apuliei were knee high to Lewie my wife had cartons of juice taken off her going into the ground and I took the wording being discussed as meaning cartons were banned and have never taken any since. Strange thing though, for various reasons I find myself drinking copious amounts of water at the minute so never go anywhere without a plastic bottle of said H2O. I park the car in Pilrig Street and walk across which is far too far for me to walk without water so I finished my bottle before going in. I went and bought a diet coke which I believe was £2.40. Bearing in mind that this is a syrup mix, it is an absolutely extortionate price to charge. It was only after it was paid that I noticed bottled water behind the counter. Mental, and maybe something that does require elevating to the club.
28-07-2014, 08:10 AM
People used to openly drink McEwans products on the upper east terrace at ER. You risked getting them confiscated at the turnstile but once through that hurdle you could drink unfettered. Stewards didn't tend to climb up that far!
Just thought I'd mention it.
MKHIBEE
28-07-2014, 08:49 AM
People used to openly drink McEwans products on the upper east terrace at ER. You risked getting them confiscated at the turnstile but once through that hurdle you could drink unfettered. Stewards didn't tend to climb up that far!
I remember a mate and myself taking a bottle of whisky to the Hibs v Sporting Lisbon game in 1972. Only to be drunk when we scored was the agreement.Nothing left by the time we scored the 6th
28-07-2014, 09:00 AM
Ah, them were the days. Standing in the lower East Terrace trying to avoid the McEwans Lager Cans (often urine filled) being lobbed at you from the Upper East Terrace.
I'd just like to point out that the reason we have such legislation nowadays is purely down to the Fans of Celtc and Rangers (deceased)
DarrenSQH
28-07-2014, 09:09 AM
I took about 10 cartons of juice in at the hamilton game as I just done the Marathon with no problems.
28-07-2014, 09:13 AM
Taking juice from a three year old is ridiculous.
28-07-2014, 09:16 AM
You should get the steward in for a lie detector.
28-07-2014, 09:24 AM
All fitba' ground stewards and health & safety managers should be taken round the back of the East and submachine gunned.
28-07-2014, 09:34 AM
You should get the steward in for a lie detector.
28-07-2014, 09:40 AM
All fitba' ground stewards and health & safety managers should be taken round the back of the East and submachine gunned.
One Carton of Ribena is banned but they seem to think it's OK to let in five hundred Seagulls full of sh*te!!!!
28-07-2014, 09:48 AM
One Carton of Ribena is banned but they seem to think it's OK to let in five hundred Seagulls full of sh*te!!!!
First they came for the Ribena.
28-07-2014, 10:30 AM
The board read the fans message boards so no need to be bothering them over this. There will be more pressing matters to keep them busy right now I'd suspect.
Sounds like an overly keen new recruit and no harm was done - daughter wasn't upset and she had another one in her bag anyway, and thankfully that was consumed without incident or injury to those nearby.
28-07-2014, 10:38 AM
So now apart from being allowed/not allowed to take Ribena into the grounf you can't take a bottle of water in but can buy one once you are there?
Seeing Leeann later and will ask for clarification.
28-07-2014, 11:26 AM
Haven't got a clue mate.
But it appears you think it is okay ?
But a Ribena for 60p outside the ground the answer appears to be no you cant bring that in here but I tell you what if part with £1.90 and you can happily drink a carton in the ground.
Greed ans madness.
28-07-2014, 11:33 AM
The board read the fans message boards so no need to be bothering them over this. There will be more pressing matters to keep them busy right now I'd suspect.
Sounds like an overly keen new recruit and no harm was done - daughter wasn't upset and she had another one in her bag anyway, and thankfully that was consumed without incident or injury to those nearby.
Seems like a sensible and pragmatic response.
But it appears you think it is okay ?
But a Ribena for 60p outside the ground the answer appears to be no you cant bring that in here but I tell you what if part with £1.90 and you can happily drink a carton in the ground.
Greed ans madness.
I used to laugh when I heard people complaining about paying £3 for a bottle of beer in a pub, when they "could get it for 75p at the supermarket". I felt if I told them to go and drink in the supermarket car park instead, they wouldn't get it.
Dems the rules, if you don't like it, don't buy it - or sneak one in instead. There's worse things in the world to be getting wound up about, IMO.
28-07-2014, 11:48 AM
In the eyes of the steward it'll be a bit like taking candy from a baby, seriously.
28-07-2014, 11:50 AM
In the eyes of the steward it'll be a bit like taking candy from a baby, seriously.
Do you mean that they are filling their time by going for the people least likely to object?
28-07-2014, 11:55 AM
That could well be one of the conclusions you could come to.
28-07-2014, 11:56 AM
That could well be one of the conclusions you could come to.
What are the others? :confused:
28-07-2014, 12:01 PM
To be honest it was just a wee play on words, try not to divert yourself away from the serious issue of the day.
28-07-2014, 12:03 PM
Of course a container of Ribena could cause injury, is your handbag capable of holding liquid?
The handbag was reference to a container, of which the first qualification was "capable of holding liquid", hence the handbag gets ruled out of being an illegal item.
No way a Ribina carton could injure someone. Even less chance of a Capri sun.
Not sure why you are defending the interpretation.
You are hanging your argument on the fact that a Ribina carton could injure someone. I am asserting that it could not. Even less so if the wee one was asked to put their straw in.
Sounds like a case of jobs-worth steward to me.
28-07-2014, 12:09 PM
To be honest it was just a wee play on words, try not to divert yourself away from the serious issue of the day.
Your right, I sometimes let trivia distract me. What are the club going to do about the seagulls?
Turkish Green
28-07-2014, 12:25 PM
Hibs are adopting the Ryanair principle: you cannot bring any food or drink into the premises but once inside you can buy at our exorbitant prices.
Maybe the Stewards are being heavy handed but they will be working yo orders. Still confiscating a Ribena carton is overly officious.
28-07-2014, 12:33 PM
Hibs are adopting the Ryanair principle: you cannot bring any food or drink into the premises but once inside you can buy at our exorbitant prices.
Maybe the Stewards are being heavy handed but they will be working yo orders. Still confiscating a Ribena carton is overly officious.
In fairness, I think Ryanair copied it from Hibs. Besides, Ryanair let you bring on your own food and drink.
28-07-2014, 12:36 PM
It's relatively simple to inject Vodka into a Ribena Carton using a Syringe.
Just saying likes.
p.s. I'm not suggesting that the OP's daughter actually did that, but you never know...
28-07-2014, 12:38 PM
In fairness, I think Ryanair copied it from Hibs. Besides, Ryanair let you bring on your own food and drink.
You can't get Liquids through Security at the Airport.
I'm firmly of the belief that this was a Rule made up for the benefit of both the Airlines and the Shops in the Departure Lounge that sell drinks at ridiculous prices.
28-07-2014, 12:44 PM
You can't get Liquids through Security at the Airport.
I'm firmly of the belief that this was a Rule made up for the benefit of both the Airlines and the Shops in the Departure Lounge that sell drinks at ridiculous prices.
I agree, but its still cheaper than *******Airs prices. You buy three miniatures from the duty free, and a bottle of cola from Boots, and its half the price that you'd pay to have it thrown at you inflight.
28-07-2014, 12:57 PM
I agree, but its still cheaper than *******Airs prices. You buy three miniatures from the duty free, and a bottle of cola from Boots, and its half the price that you'd pay to have it thrown at you inflight.
Be fair, though, they usually only throw it at you when the Flight Attendant has PMT
inserts gratuitus picture of Flight Attendants....
28-07-2014, 01:00 PM
Be fair, though, they usually only throw it at you when the Flight Attendant has PMT
Lately, I've found them so busy they don't bother giving you it at all.
28-07-2014, 02:13 PM
For loadsamoney.
If every kid was allowed to bring in his or her wee carton of fruity drinks, bought for the proper price by his/her parents at the local supermarket, the pirates who run the catering concessions would lose money.
It's much less about security as about protecting the profits of the caterers.
Two weeks ago I got a very acceptable smoked sausage and chips plus a can of Irn-Bru at the Speedway at Armadale - £3. How come they trust me there, but not at ER?
percy veer
28-07-2014, 02:21 PM
[/B]
Yes they do!
you seem to be taking this rather to heart, bet you are part of the neighbourhood watch aswell, give the guy a break a cartoon for gawd sake
28-07-2014, 02:27 PM
Help ma boab.
Whatever happened to good old common sense?
There would appear to be some very officious posters on this thread either that or they're extracting the urine.
28-07-2014, 02:33 PM
Help ma boab.
There would appear to be some very officious posters on this thread either that or they're extracting the urine.
Went out of the window years ago.
percy veer
28-07-2014, 02:33 PM
Help ma boab.
i do hope these people people abiding by the carton rule do not stand during the game or if a goal has been scored surely that is danger in their world and punishable by ejection from the stand
28-07-2014, 02:35 PM
i do hope these people people abiding by the carton rule do not stand during the game or if a goal has been scored surely that is danger in their world and punishable by ejection from the stand
Ribena is the thin end of the wedge. If things continue like this who knows where it might end?
percy veer
28-07-2014, 02:37 PM
Ribena is the thin end of the wedge. If things continue like this who knows where it might end?
some spectacle cases are air tight, ban them
28-07-2014, 02:41 PM
Ive been taking cartons of juice to Easter rd for as far as i can remember, AND security check my bag on the walk up to the turnstyles.
28-07-2014, 02:55 PM
Can see it now, Ribena's will have to be packed in a see through, re-sealable plastic bag in 100ml containers max, and once inside the ground we are heading towards a 1 steward per 100ml carton to ensure maximum security in my opinion - will help fill the ground though.
Ribena, and other carton based fruit drinks - the silent killers, or at least maimers of the innocent.
28-07-2014, 02:57 PM
Can see it now, Ribena's will have to be packed in a see through, re-sealable plastic bag in 100ml containers max, and once inside the ground we are heading towards a 1 steward per 100ml carton to ensure maximum security in my opinion - will help fill the ground though.
Ribena, and other carton based fruit drinks - the silent killers, or at least maimers of the innocent.
Is nobody thinking of our children?
28-07-2014, 03:11 PM
Ribena marketing dept, and at £27 a carton once inside Easter Rd, Rod Petrie? Just a wild guess like............
28-07-2014, 03:12 PM
Jambos probably! :-o
Hibtastic
28-07-2014, 03:15 PM
Canny believe there is a 6-page thread about a carton of juice!!! :confused:
over the line
28-07-2014, 03:16 PM
I would be happy for any of these to relieve me of my fluids, at the gate, or anywhere really! (Sorry couldn't help it). ;)
And only the ones dressed in red, before you start! :D
28-07-2014, 03:17 PM
If you had waited a minute you would have taken it to 7 pages :greengrin
28-07-2014, 03:19 PM
Ribena marketing dept, and at £27 a carton once inside Easter Rd, Rod Petrie? Just a wild guess like............
No way is Petrie passing that onto Ribena. Straight into his grotty pockets.
Jambos probably! :-o
:shocked:
28-07-2014, 03:21 PM
In a sense, it's about much more than a carton of juice. The Ribena is a metaphor for the ordinary fan, and the steward represents Petrie and his band of seagull thugs.
Nothing at Easter .Road, is as it seems.
Think this thread has served its purpose on the main forum, it has become a bit silly ..
28-07-2014, 03:34 PM
Think this thread has served its purpose on the main forum, it has become a bit silly ..
:agree: Nearly as bizzare as taking cartons of juice of 3 year old kids - I'll get my coat - over and out.
28-07-2014, 04:08 PM
:agree: Nearly as bizzare as taking cartons of juice of 3 year old kids - I'll get my coat - over and out.
It makes no sense, trying to make sense of what doesn't make sense. It's much wiser to acknowledge that it is nonsense.
28-07-2014, 04:40 PM
I would be happy for any of these to relieve me of my fluids, at the gate, or anywhere really! (Sorry couldn't help it). ;)
And only the ones dressed in red, before you start! :D
seven nowt
28-07-2014, 04:43 PM
What harm is there drinking orange juice at a friendly match? Sometimes you have to say **** off to the rules when they are as ridiculous as these.
over the line
28-07-2014, 05:09 PM
Hang on a minute..........Ribena is MAROON and Capri Sun is ORANGE, and its not only allowed into the ground (although the law says no cartons to enter ;) ) it is sold in the ground!
This is the sneakiest sectarianism ever! We need to act fast before its too late. Our kids are being slowly poisoned with their hate filled, bigoted soft drinks! Now can you doubters tell me that these cartons can't cause injury!?!? I think you all owe that steward an apology, he is a F'in hero!!! :D
Save our kids from this hidden evil!!!
What's the harm in drinking orange juice you say? Errrr......please see above. That's the harm. :D
28-07-2014, 06:54 PM
This is the sneakiest sectarianism ever! We need to act fast before its too late. Our kids ate being slowly poisoned with their hate filled, bigoted soft drinks! Now can you doubters tell me that these cartons can't cause injury!?!? I think you all owe that steward an apology, he is a F'in hero!!! :D
As Marie Antoinette said "Let them drink 7 Up"
01-08-2014, 09:24 AM
The handbag was reference to a container, of which the first qualification was "capable of holding liquid", hence the handbag gets ruled out of being an illegal item.
No way a Ribina carton could injure someone. Even less chance of a Capri sun.
Not sure why you are defending the interpretation.
You are hanging your argument on the fact that a Ribina carton could injure someone. I am asserting that it could not. Even less so if the wee one was asked to put their straw in.
Sounds like a case of jobs-worth steward to me.
I was taught how to make a potentially lethal weapon out of newspaper. With a drinks carton I could hold off a whole brigade of the Russian Shock Army until reinforced.
01-08-2014, 11:30 AM
I was taught how to make a potentially lethal weapon out of newspaper. With a drinks carton I could hold off a whole brigade of the Russian Shock Army until reinforced.
The old "Millwall Brick"...?
01-08-2014, 03:55 PM
Child Free Zones. :dunno: