View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 0 v 1 Dundee United (ft)

27-07-2014, 11:29 AM
Alrightee, I'm going to put my 100% record on the line today and start my third Match Updates Thread this season.

It's lowly Hibernian vesus the strutting superstars of the Premiership, Dundee United.

How will our new strategy of passing the ball around instead of just hoofing it work against a half-decent team? Will we be finally found out or will we be a revelation and annihalate a supposedly superior side?

:gwa:

Some important notes:

Game starts at 2pm, not 3pm, so don't be late.

Season Ticket holders get free entry.

Famous Five Stand is closed so it's unreserved seating in the East and West Stands only.

27-07-2014, 11:37 AM
Heavy rain down Leith

27-07-2014, 11:45 AM
Have Utd played any competitive games in Europe yet.?

27-07-2014, 11:47 AM

Aye. I'm sure they beat Barcelona about 1987. :aok:

27-07-2014, 11:48 AM
Heavy rain down Leith

It's absolutely pouring down now, can't see it stopping the game but it'd going to be a sodden pitch. Tough conditions to play in (if your trying to pass the ball on the deck at least)

27-07-2014, 11:49 AM
It's absolutely pouring down now, can't see it stopping the game but it'd going to be a sodden pitch. Tough conditions to play in (if your trying to pass the ball on the deck at least)

I'm in the Iona in my t-shirt and shorts!!

27-07-2014, 11:57 AM
Oxley to play in goals? Another trialist or two as well maybe.

27-07-2014, 11:57 AM

They lost to Roma in the SF of the European Cup in 1984

27-07-2014, 11:58 AM
Rain Now stopped and clear patches of blue sky starting to appear in the clouds.

I'm just back from walking the dogs. safe to say my clothes are well and truly drenched and now in the tumble.

Bob1875
27-07-2014, 11:58 AM
Anyone know why I can't find any betting on today's game?

27-07-2014, 12:02 PM
Aye. I'm sure they beat Barcelona about 1987. :aok:

There players should be well past it now, 46-0 Hibs.

27-07-2014, 12:07 PM
#Hibs (4-2-3-1) Trialist, Gray, Forster, Hanlon, Stevenson, Robertson, Craig, Stanton, Handling, Harris, El Alagui
#Hibs subs: Perntreou, Nelson, Jones, Booth, S. Allan, L. Allan, Gardiner, Duthie, Trialist #HFCvDUFC

woodyhfc4892
27-07-2014, 12:08 PM
Oxley starting in goals with another trialist on the bench

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 2m
#Hibs (4-2-3-1) Trialist, Gray, Forster, Hanlon, Stevenson, Robertson, Craig, Stanton, Handling, Harris, El Alagui

#Hibs subs: Perntreou, Nelson, Jones, Booth, S. Allan, L. Allan, Gardiner, Duthie, Trialist #HFCvDUFC

Oxley starting in goals with another trialist on the bench

It's McFadden ;-)

StarMan10
27-07-2014, 12:09 PM
Anyone know the Trialist on the bench?

StarMan10
27-07-2014, 12:10 PM
@HibernianFCClub: The trialist on the bench is midfielder Michael Richardson, who has been training with #Hibs

That answers that then

Dave-O
27-07-2014, 12:11 PM
It's McFadden ;-)

:slipper:...........getting me all excited there. :greengrin

27-07-2014, 12:11 PM
Still no Heffernan or Cummings then?

27-07-2014, 12:12 PM
:slipper:...........getting me all excited there. :greengrin

Sorry :(

If it is McFadden, i'll be spending the entire game in the toilets ;-)

@HibernianFCClub: The trialist on the bench is midfielder Michael Richardson, who has been training with #Hibs

That answers that then

Far too ginger

Not Hibs class.

That answers that then

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Richardson_%28English_footballer%29

Been released from Newcastle, another midfielder...?

Played a total of 27 professional games to date!

27-07-2014, 12:18 PM
Surprised we are looking at more Midfielders to be honest. Not convinced that's where we need to strengthen, but if he's better than what we've got...

27-07-2014, 12:21 PM

I'm fairly happy with that starting eleven this season. I believe a good coach/manager can have those guys playing good football and winning games. Obviously more new faces would be ideal though, hopefully a few more in before the window "slams shut"

27-07-2014, 12:22 PM
Still no Heffernan or Cummings then?

Both still injured. Back next week.

27-07-2014, 12:22 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Richardson_%28English_footballer%29

Been released from Newcastle, another midfielder...?

Played a total of 27 professional games to date!

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/23900649

dalgetybayhibee
27-07-2014, 12:26 PM
Sun is out now with no black clouds in sight.

27-07-2014, 12:29 PM

Neil Lennon's (not so) secret Lovechild?

West hamBERNIAN
27-07-2014, 12:35 PM

What type of player do you think he is then ? By the looks of it I'd think central attAcking mid or wing?

patch1875
27-07-2014, 12:38 PM

Can't get anymore ginger than that!

cloudy
27-07-2014, 12:40 PM
Surprised we are looking at more Midfielders to be honest. Not convinced that's where we need to strengthen, but if he's better than what we've got...

Where in the midfield does he play? Still think we're short of wide players

erin-go-bragh87
27-07-2014, 12:43 PM
Can you watch the game anywhere? Hibs TV?

27-07-2014, 12:44 PM
I thought I was ginger, but that's something else like!

27-07-2014, 12:47 PM
Where in the midfield does he play? Still think we're short of wide players

http://accringtonstanley.co.uk/2013/11/richardson-post-fleetwood/

ManBearPig
27-07-2014, 12:49 PM
who is the goalie trialist?

27-07-2014, 12:50 PM
Unfortunately not making Easter Road today, a combination of sleeping in and trying to appease a monster hangover. Gutted.

Gonna be a real test but I think we'll get a result. There definitely won't be much in it. :flag:

27-07-2014, 12:52 PM
Can you watch the game anywhere? Hibs TV?

Audio only.

MagicSwirlingShip
27-07-2014, 12:54 PM
Goalie trialist is Mark Oxley.

27-07-2014, 12:56 PM
Decent crowd in the East

27-07-2014, 12:59 PM
Dundee United have more fans today than they do in the league. Huge game for them.

27-07-2014, 01:05 PM
What have the early exchanges been like?
Is there a decent pace to the game?

27-07-2014, 01:09 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/27/emebene3.jpg

27-07-2014, 01:14 PM

Dundee Utd's formation looks quite narrow:wink:

Any fights broken out over seating yet?

Decent, decent :agree:

Unfortunately not making Easter Road today, a combination of sleeping in and trying to appease a monster hangover. Gutted.

Gonna be a real test but I think we'll get a result. There definitely won't be much in it. :flag:

Part time fan IMO......................:cb

27-07-2014, 01:19 PM
Still goalless but Hibs playing well, not a hoof in sight

27-07-2014, 01:19 PM
Dundee Utd's formation looks quite narrow:wink:
Let's be positive about this shall we? I would describe it as a compact midfield....

27-07-2014, 01:25 PM
Good start. Nice football from us. Players looking for the ball and to play the simple pass. Handling had started well and Harris looks more confident. Farid putting himself about

27-07-2014, 01:26 PM

Dundee Utd employing the Schiltrom formation, should be strong defensively but difficult to launch attacks.

27-07-2014, 01:33 PM
Decent wee run from Stanton and squared it to craig about 25 yards out. Decent effort just over.
Don't agree with Craig playing the deeper role but he's having a good game

27-07-2014, 01:42 PM
Nice quick corner there ans good skill from Stanton

27-07-2014, 01:44 PM
We need to sort out the problem with the Gulls. Far too many. Sort it out Dempster.

27-07-2014, 01:46 PM
The seagulls have played well

hibeesjoe
27-07-2014, 01:49 PM
Amazed Petrie hasn't found a way of charging the seagulls admittance

27-07-2014, 01:50 PM
Part time fan IMO......................:cb
Absolutely :agree:

27-07-2014, 01:50 PM
The seagulls have played well

Love their home strip, traditional and when you see it you automatically think of seagulls.

27-07-2014, 01:51 PM
We need to sort out the problem with the Gulls. Far too many. Sort it out Dempster.

Far too many. I'm sitting in the upper west and I'm tempted to stick my hand in my Harrods hamper and chuck a few smoked salmon sandwiches at them.

Pests.

Entertaining first half. Hibs moving the ball quite well at times.

Hibs are playing well. Knocking the ball about well but still lacking penetration

McKenzie
Night and day to last season, what a difference watching a team play football. Good game so far.

27-07-2014, 01:52 PM
Decent display from Hibs against a strong defence .. Just get the feeling we are missing a killer touch, someone who can make something out of nothing, DU getting in behind us from the wings and good defending has kept the score 0-0

27-07-2014, 01:53 PM
Decent display from Hibs against a strong defence .. Just get the feeling we are missing a killer touch, someone who can make something out of nothing, DU getting in behind us from the wings and good defending has kept the score 0-0

Hopefully that's what Scott Allan will bring??

27-07-2014, 01:55 PM
Solid display so far, just needing that killer pass, oh! Has anyone got a spare pair of sun glasses, I left mine in the car.

27-07-2014, 01:56 PM
Hibs are playing well. Knocking the ball about well but still lacking penetration

Giggity

Bobo
27-07-2014, 01:56 PM
Comfortable if pretty non-eventful first half. We're still lacking creativity and pace and need to learn to pass in front of players!

Utd are p!sh and we should be taking on and running at their back four more in the 2nd half.

We do look a better team than last season but we still need more bodies if we're serious about promotion.

Keeper hasn't had a lot to do but looks competent in what he's done.

27-07-2014, 01:57 PM
Have to say whilst not Brazil 1970, the football from Hibs has been excellent at times and to be honest we have had the majority of the game so far. New signings have all done well and Liam Craig has had a very good game

27-07-2014, 02:00 PM
Have to say whilst not Brazil 1970, the football from Hibs has been excellent at times and to be honest we have had the majority of the game so far. New signings habe all done well and Liam Craig had had a very good game

You will find this that guys like Craig and Harris etc will be like new signings under Stubbs Mark my words they will have a fine season

Solid display so far, just needing that killer pass, oh! Has anyone got a spare pair of sun glasses, I left mine in the car.

I left my blooming season ticket!

27-07-2014, 02:01 PM
If that's the standard fir the season I'm a happy boy.

27-07-2014, 02:01 PM
In the Wundebar Tent at the Stockton Weekender with a cold beer. Sounds Hibs have been decent so far. Keep the updates coming!

27-07-2014, 02:02 PM
Love their home strip, traditional and when you see it you automatically think of seagulls.

I like their song too...."I love to fly over Tynecastle...." :greengrin

dalgetybayhibee
27-07-2014, 02:02 PM
Far better keeping ball on ground. Short close passes. Better than punt up park hope for best.

27-07-2014, 02:03 PM
Good first half that has been very even (surprised at quickly we have progressed)must be the best possession stats we have had in 45 mins for a couple of years. Defence looks solid and great to see Hanlon back and forming good understanding. They are splitting wide when keeper has ball with Craig using space to come and get the ball. Gooey playing well up front in closing down without getting to much in way of opportunities. All looking comfortable on the ball and lots of appreciative applause from stands when ball retained is helping settle players. Only Stanton looks a bit out of position in the 4-2-3-1 formation. Only save of note was Oxley from free kick with him looking decent with his distrabution and kicking. Just need a better final ball and we are looking pretty good

27-07-2014, 02:10 PM
Can't see the game, so I've no idea how we are doing, but with all this talk of possession have we actually tested their goalkeeper? Not one poster has mentioned anything of a chance for us? Knocking the ball about doesn't actually mean anything unless we pose a threat up front ... has anything changed there?

27-07-2014, 02:11 PM
Superb cross field ball from craig but Harris's first touch was excellent to go past the man then had a great shot. Keeper made good save

27-07-2014, 02:12 PM
Wee boozy just had a cracking shot saved☺

27-07-2014, 02:13 PM
Have the UTD fans been mocking us now were in in a league below yet?

27-07-2014, 02:13 PM
Have the UTD fans been mocking us now were in in a league below yet?

Not heard a song from either set of fans to be honest

27-07-2014, 02:14 PM
Farid just scored but was offside. Another great ball to back post. Headered back across and farid scored. I think it was the header at the back post that was offside.

27-07-2014, 02:15 PM
Alagui just had a goal chalked off for offside

27-07-2014, 02:15 PM
Wee boozy just had a cracking shot saved☺

Sorry, we don't look like Hibs in that strip.

27-07-2014, 02:19 PM
Have to say of you haven't yet got your season ticket then go for it, we are going to do well this season

27-07-2014, 02:24 PM
Sorry, we don't look like Hibs in that strip.

Maybe we don't look like hibs because we're confident and playing well?

Has there been any hoofing?

27-07-2014, 02:25 PM
Maybe we don't look like hibs because we're confident and playing well?

Has there been any hoofing?
Not a bit of it:confused:

27-07-2014, 02:26 PM
Have to say of you haven't yet got your season ticket then go for it, we are going to do well this season

Don't like this optimism nonsense. No place for that here.

GlenrothesHibee
27-07-2014, 02:27 PM
Dont want to put a negative spin on what sounds a promising display but are we not a week ahead of Utd in terms of preparation? Championship starts a week befor Prem im sure

Liam_Hibs
27-07-2014, 02:27 PM

Really wish I could. About to buy my first house with the Mrs and I think she'd kill me if I bought one. :greengrin

hibs4thecup1988
27-07-2014, 02:31 PM
Any subs?

Dont want to put a negative spin on what sounds a promising display but are we not a week ahead of Utd in terms of preparation? Championship starts a week befor Prem im sure

On the other hand Utd are about 5 years ahead of us with team development.

Not a bit of it:confused:

Excellent. :thumbsup:

27-07-2014, 02:32 PM
Mass Hibs substitutions now

27-07-2014, 02:32 PM
We are holding our own (and could be ahead) against an upper SPL team? What's your point?

27-07-2014, 02:33 PM

I wouldn't think a week between the premiership and championship would make that big a difference? Dundee united tore us a new one on several occasions last season with the same amount of preparation time.

Mass Hibs substitutions now

No place for religion in the game.

Who do Hibs look like?

Plymouth.

GlenrothesHibee
27-07-2014, 02:34 PM
We are holding our own (and could be ahead) against an upper SPL team? What's your point?

Didn't think it was difficult to work out

robinp
27-07-2014, 02:35 PM

Hearts lost to Dundee 3-0, does that make them relegation contenders?:confused:

1-0 utd

scott allan gives possession away, erskine scores 1-0 Arabs

27-07-2014, 02:36 PM
Stubbs out.

Dont want to put a negative spin ........

.....but you are going to anyway.

Under 20s 2-0 up at Haddington.

1-0 United

27-07-2014, 02:38 PM
Mass subs not surprised we go behind see it so often but that's friendlies, players need minutes.

27-07-2014, 02:38 PM
approx 10 mins left

27-07-2014, 02:39 PM
Results good or bad mean heehaw in friendlies, its all about preparing for the new season. The time to judge this new side is when that starts.

27-07-2014, 02:41 PM
Under 20s 2-0 up at Haddington.
Are you there mate?

Millfield is literally 5 minutes from mine and I forgot it was on, had a shocker of a day so far!

27-07-2014, 02:43 PM
Mass subs not surprised we go behind see it so often but that's friendlies, players need minutes.
:agree: We'd want to win the game, but conceding after making 7 subs isn't the end of the world. More important to get some game time and get fitness up.

Expected a humping today to be fair.

Are you there mate?

Millfield is literally 5 minutes from mine and I forgot it was on, had a shocker of a day so far!

Na, my mates there.

I was intending to go along to ER but woke up with an evil hangover after about 4 hours sleep.

27-07-2014, 02:44 PM
Are you there mate?

3 nil now yong martynuk SP with a goal from distance

27-07-2014, 02:44 PM
scott allan gives possession away, erskine scores 1-0 Arabs

Hopefully his Henrik Larsson moment.:cb

27-07-2014, 02:47 PM
90 mins Hi Hi 0 Hibs 4 Scott Martin direct from a free kick

Sweet Left Peg
27-07-2014, 02:48 PM
Hopefully his Henrik Larsson moment.:cb

Chiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiico.....

27-07-2014, 02:52 PM
Full Time yet?

Walking out of the stadium and one lad says to his mate "same old pish from Hibs eh".
Unbelievable.

0-1 ft

27-07-2014, 02:55 PM
Walking out of the stadium and one lad says to his mate "same old pish from Hibs eh". Unbelievable.

Doesn't surprise me tbh. Some folk will never be happy.

As others have mentioned today's about fitness and performance and by all accounts we did well in stages with no hoofball in sight.

27-07-2014, 02:57 PM
Ach well. Sounds like a decent performance but that cutting edge missing again. Hurry back to fitness Cummings and Heff to give us options up front.

Billy McKirdy
27-07-2014, 02:57 PM
Good display and quite happy with that performance against a decent team.

27-07-2014, 02:58 PM
I know it's a friendly, but hopefully Stubbs will realise we need more creativity.

*cough* McFadden please *cough*.

27-07-2014, 03:00 PM
Walking out of the stadium and one lad says to his mate "same old pish from Hibs eh".
Unbelievable.

Seriously

27-07-2014, 03:01 PM
1-0 utd

Petrie!

27-07-2014, 03:03 PM
Unbelievable.

He'll be back when we get to the final of the Ramsdens :wink:

27-07-2014, 03:03 PM
I know it's a friendly, but hopefully Stubbs will realise we need more creativity.

*cough* McFadden please *cough*.

He's the type of player who could have played that 1 killer pass or run to get that goal

27-07-2014, 03:06 PM
Going by the lack of comments I take it el gingerino didn't stick out?

27-07-2014, 03:09 PM
All this passing the ball on the deck. Keep this up and I can see us having to renew the pitch by October. Rod will be cacking his pants. :greengrin

27-07-2014, 03:12 PM
Who was trialist on the bench

27-07-2014, 03:13 PM

Seriously

Yeah I heard the same walking up Easter rd .. In my opinion Hibs played reasonably well which is still a lot better than last season, Lewis Stevenson stood out at Left back for me, whatever the question is OTJ and Nelson are not the answers. Thought the team played poorer when they came on. The goal came from a slack midfield pass and the defence was stretched, thought Harris. Hanlon, Foster, and a good few others played well before the changes, will reserve judgement on the rest but thought Scott Allan did well and will be a good addition, also thought the ginger haired trialists looked good for the time he was on. Made good runs which were not seen by the Hibs player with the ball and he never gave up, I would give him 90 mins to gets better opinion but looks promising.

27-07-2014, 03:14 PM
Decent performance for 65 mins. Dipped after that.
Nice to see us dominate possession for a change.
Lack of creativity is a major problem for us.

27-07-2014, 03:16 PM
Many folk kind of saying, "what a change", "much better", "decent performace but no cutting edge or penetration".

Excuse my ignorance but was it not our lack of creativity, pace, cutting edge and penetration that was our downfall last season! If we haven't changed that we need to and bloody quick.

27-07-2014, 03:19 PM
Sounds watchable which is a start. Passing the ball is a bonus, and should be a platform for the team. The 0-1 scoreline is a bit reminiscent of last season, and the lack of pace….

27-07-2014, 03:20 PM
Many folk kind of saying, "what a change", "much better", "decent performace but no cutting edge or penetration".

Excuse my ignorance but was it not our lack of creativity, pace, cutting edge and penetration that was our downfall last season! If we haven't changed that we need to and bloody quick.

Correct on both counts.
It was a nice change because we controlled possession of the ball. Don't think we have done that for years.
We also lacked penetration, pace, cutting edge etc.

Bobo
27-07-2014, 03:20 PM
Very comfortable defensively up to 70 mins then mass substitutions handed the game to Utd, totally crazy decision from Stubbs?

Very poor pass from Allan set Utd up for a rare chance at goal, which they took, other than that there was very little in the game.

Hibs playing one up front doesn't work yet we seem to want to persist with it despite the fact we create very little threat in front of goal? Far too slow in the build up for me with nobody wanting to run at defenders and take them on.

It's only a friendly against a sh!!tte Utd team so no great loss but we're gonna have to create more than we did today to win games in the Championsip.

27-07-2014, 03:21 PM
Doesn't surprise me tbh. Some folk will never be happy.

As others have mentioned today's about fitness and performance and by all accounts we did well in stages with no hoofball in sight.

Some people obviously are still feeling the affect of many years of getting humped at ER by premier league opposition and the season ticket sales reflect that fact. It is the club that needs to win the fans back, not the other way around and that will take time, like it or not.

You can see by the threads that there are quite a few people who are still not overly impressed after all the players that have departed and relatively few brought in [so far].

The money question is still being raised time and time again; this after a fortune of the fans money has been wasted over recent years, by the clubs custodians.

Rather than expecting everyone to be happy at this stage of the rebuild and finding it peculiar that some people haven’t yet fully bought in, I’m not in the least bit surprised that there is still scepticism about, there have been so many false dawns in the past.

Sweet Left Peg
27-07-2014, 03:22 PM
Did Richardson get any game time off the bench at all? The two links posted earlier suggested some quite positive things about the guy so I wondered if he was given a chance. I imagine he would have been, as it would be pointless having a trialist on the bench for the whole game. Even I could pass that one off well. Unless I had to get up quickly for some reason, then there's a great danger of tweaking something.

27-07-2014, 03:24 PM
Very comfortable defensively up to 70 mins then mass substitutions handed the game to Utd, totally crazy decision from Stubbs?

Very poor pass from Allan set Utd up for a rare chance at goal, which they took, other than that there was very little in the game.

Hibs playing one up front doesn't work yet we seem to want to persist with it despite the fact we create very little threat in front of goal? Far too slow in the build up for me with nobody wanting to run at defenders and take them on.

It's only a friendly against a sh!!tte Utd team so no great loss but we're gonna have to create more than we did today to win games in the Championsip.
It was 1 up front as El Alagui was our only fit striker mate...dont think it was through choice

27-07-2014, 03:25 PM

Why is it a crazy decision? It's about getting players a run out to have a look at them.

I was much happier with how we played. The team look organised, players look confident. Friendly games are to let the manager see how we look with the players we have so let's not get too worried about things until we see how the team plays in a competitive game. Allan and Booth will both be starters in the team, and I'm sure we'll see a couple more come in too.

27-07-2014, 03:26 PM
How did Gray, Allen, El Alagui and Oxley get on?

27-07-2014, 03:27 PM
It was 1 up front as El Alagui was our only fit striker mate...dont think it was through choice

That's what I think as well. Cummings and Heffernan are injured and don't think we have any other option at this moment in time.

27-07-2014, 03:28 PM
Wonder if any potential signings were at the game watching?

27-07-2014, 03:29 PM
Knocked the ball about well. Gray will do well at right back in the championship. Harris is like a new signing.

Need to get the issue addressed at the top end of the park though.

27-07-2014, 03:31 PM
Unbelievable.

I heard the exact same quote leaving the West stand. Some people know nothing about football and are wasting time going to games. There is very little to be negative about after that game. We played very decent football, on the deck and carolled the game for most of the game. They scored when we went to a back 3 and midfield made a mistake. I don't like that back 3 though - if we are going to do it we can't have Nelson in the middle of it.
I expected the new lad Allan to be playing as an attacking mid when he came on but he played just in front of defence. We really need players who can run at defenders and get them on the back foot (exactly what Utd did to us in the last 10 mins or so)

27-07-2014, 03:34 PM

Allen didn't get long enough but obv has ability.
Gray was very good
El Ala also very good and scored a lovely "goal"
Oxley looks like he's not one for cross balls which i was worried about.

27-07-2014, 03:36 PM

Gray looked good. Likes to get forward, decent pass on him and likes a tackle.

Allan gave the ball away for the goal (had only just come on) but made a superb challenge to stop a 2nd goal. Didn't really have much time to make an influence.

El Alagui looked like he'll do well. Good touch, strong, good in the air.

Oxley didn't have much to do. 1 save and 1 cross to collect, and couldn't do anything about the goal.

Dave-O
27-07-2014, 03:36 PM
Wonder if any potential signings were at the game watching?

Met James Mc Fadden in the bog at half time, took a photo, don't think he was pleased. :greengrin

27-07-2014, 03:37 PM
Allen didn't get long enough but obv has ability.
Gray was very good
El Ala also very good and scored a lovely "goal"
Oxley looks like he's not one for cross balls which i was worried about.

What crosses did you expect Oxley to get??

27-07-2014, 03:40 PM
That was night and day. Outplayed Utd for nearly the whole game. Pressed them when we didn't have the ball and also played simple easy passes that we haven't done for ages.

Very impressed with Stubbs style and if we get another striker we will do well in the league.

27-07-2014, 03:40 PM
Met James Mc Fadden in the bog at half time, took a photo, don't think he was pleased. :greengrin

TheFamous1875
27-07-2014, 03:41 PM
I thought we played very well today! There were times that I felt a little bit emotional because of how positive and confident our players were! Felt very proud today seeing Hibs being Hibs again, spraying the ball about creating chances and dominating the opposition.

Dundee Utd are a good team with good players and were a threat any seldom time we allowed them to be, but I thought we were completely in control for most of the match (the subs/formation change excepted).

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

27-07-2014, 03:41 PM
Cheers guys :aok:

27-07-2014, 03:44 PM
Not long back, thought we played very well for the 1st 60-70 mins, outplayed Dundee U and was only a slack pass that undone us, nice stuff on the deck without being clinical enough, more games needed but things looking very good indeed.

27-07-2014, 03:45 PM
I thought it was a good performance with some real positives. Harris and Gray were both excellent and the willingness to pass from the back was refreshing after months of Butcherball. Hanlon and Forster also really solid until the move to a back 3.

But we did lack a cutting edge. Hopefully that's partly due to pre-season lack of sharpness and Allan can make a difference as well as further signings to bolster midfield/attack. I don't think Danny Handling did himself any favours. After a decent first 30 mins he lost the ball far too often. And he just isn't direct enough. We also need more from Stanton as both players were too happy to play a simple pass rather than take a risk.

Final negative from me, Robertson and Craig as a central partnership just doesn't work. Would like to see Craig pushed further forward when Allan comes in. Taking the ball from the defence and driving the team forward is not Craig's game, never will be.

dmc1875
27-07-2014, 03:46 PM
Just back. Nice to see us control possession for a change, and Utd are a decent side.

Changes made a difference but really it was one woeful pass (think it was Allens first touch?) led to Utd scoring a breakaway goal and a couple of slack passes from Forster nearly let them in again.

Positives for sure though, the only thing I would say is we are still struggling to get in behind but that will come.

27-07-2014, 03:46 PM
Thought Hibs looked comfortable for 70 mins. No coincidence that we lost the goal a couple of minutes after making 6 changes. Stilll need 2 or 3 new players but liked the way we tried to play.

27-07-2014, 03:47 PM
Thought Gray and El Alagui looked good. Allen was not on long enough but still changed the game with his slack pass which led to Utds goal. I'm not convinced by Oxley he seemed indecisive a few times. A couple poor kick outs and 1 shot bounced of him

Taz_hibee
27-07-2014, 03:50 PM
I thought the keeper was the French trialist

GreenOnions
27-07-2014, 03:50 PM

27-07-2014, 03:51 PM
What crosses did you expect Oxley to get??

In the 2nd half there were 3 or 4 crosses in the 6yrd box that he left for the defence....just didn't look he wanted to command it.

27-07-2014, 03:53 PM
That was night and day. Outplayed Utd for nearly the whole game. Pressed them when we didn't have the ball and also played simple easy passes that we haven't done for ages.

Very impressed with Stubbs style and if we get another striker we will do well in the league.

We'll need more than a striker I think mate.

It's far better to watch but we need 4 or 5 in my view. We won't get that though.

27-07-2014, 04:00 PM

It's far better to watch but we need 4 or 5 in my view. We won't get that though.
4 or 5 more would be nice but I was really encoraged by today. United are far better than about 90 % of teams we need to beat this season and we looked comfortable for nearly 70 mins. We need imo another CB, winger and striker as well as a perm goalie. And bin Nelson and Tudor Jones asap, both offer nothing and are waste of wage, id rather promote two Under 19s!!

27-07-2014, 04:01 PM

must agree with you, we played a lot better passed the ball around but we could still be playing now and not scored, but with it being a friendly will let this game pass. but need to up it against livi in the first league game.

27-07-2014, 04:04 PM
Decent run out, better first half than second.

Oxley had very little to do but looked confident in what he did do. Looked to play it out from the back as much as possible, couple of good takes. No chance with goal. Just read someone say that he worried them at crosses?? Honestly can't think of a single cross that he made the wrong decision at. There were few in the 90 mins.

Lewis his usual solid self.

Craig had a good first half, still sitting too deep for me though.

I'm still to be convinced by Handling but I thought he was good this afternoon.

Harris was excellent, like the player he was. Nearly scored a carbon copy of his Falkirk goal.

El Alagui needs to cut out the daft wee flicks. Two attempts in a row at 0-1. Got away with the first one, nearly cost us a goal with the second one. Looked decent apart from that although he was quite isolated up top.

Shocking pass from Allan for their winner. Like McGivern against Hamilton. He was just on though and obv keen to impress. I liked that he was always trying to get on the ball after that. Needs to get further up the pitch as well, was also dropping deep.

Richardson not really given long enough to make an impression. Not sure if we will see him again or not.

We done well, just missing a cutting edge still

27-07-2014, 04:11 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BtkAtgbCYAAxe8b.png

27-07-2014, 04:13 PM

Thats got caption competition written all over it lol

27-07-2014, 04:15 PM
Thought Handling and Harris were really good today. Stanton a but quiet. We lacked something in the final third again which worries me.

Loved the passing game were playing. Brilliant.

27-07-2014, 04:21 PM

Those little ****ers sit on top of the West stand and keep me awake every single night!! They are utterly unbearable

27-07-2014, 04:27 PM
Excellent performance from a team that looked interested, wanted the ball and ( this is a big bonus ) who tried to keep the ball on the deck and play football.

I said at the game I wanted utd to score just to see if Hibs would start punting it up field. Was well impressed how after utd did score we still played on the deck.

Only real concern for this season is sept of squad. If we get a couple of injuries suspensions then we will definately struggle, but if AS gets a few more players I'n I genuinely believe Easter Road will see more hibs wins than defeats this season. GGTTH

coldingham hibs
Serious lack of cutting edge & still no pace to worry the opposition.

More Pat Fenlon than Tony Mowbray.

Really need better and more incisive forward movement, I lost count of the number of times Handling turned backwards when he could have turned and drove forward.

A good run out against a decent Utd side, much better balance across the back with Gray and LS, Hanlon & Forster is surely Stubbs 1st choice CBs as they looked very comfortable. The midfield had good energy levels especially Robbo which was good to see. Harris will flourish under Stubbs i'm sure as you can see his confidence growing game by game. I would personally like to see Stanton play just off Alagui as the big man was isolated as he was against Stirling. Handling for me still has alot of proving that he should be starting. The new guy Allan reminded me of KT & i'm sure he will do well once he gets games under his belt. The subs upset rhythm a bit & maybe 3 at once rather than 5 would have been better. All in all it reminds us again if needed we still need someone up top alongside Alagui who can find the net as 1 upfront is asking too much of the big guy over a season IMO

27-07-2014, 04:35 PM
Typical friendly match.

Decent work out against a side that will probably be finishing in the top four of the Premiership this season.

We certainly need a bit more up front although Cummings and Heffernan are still to come back so hopefully they'll add a bit more to our attack.

In midfield, I would like to see an attacking central midfielder brought in to supply the strikers with more opportunities. Although, again, hopefully Scott Allan can fill this role.

I still feel we're about three or four players short of having a squad that's capable of going up.

27-07-2014, 04:36 PM
Quite happy with the performance and it really shows how poor Butcher was when the same players from last year now look totally comfortable in possession. Until the mass substitution we played well without creating too much. The old guard looked so much better than last season. Stevenson was very good and Hanlon was excellent. Robertson and Craig were busy in midfield but I don't think they compliment each other too well and Craig was way too deep for most of the game. Harris looks to be back but Stanton was quite quiet. For the first 30-40 mins I thought Handling was excellent but his marker won the battle for the rest of the game. Forster looked solid for the most part and good with the ball at his feet but made a couple of mistakes when we went 3 at the back.

Keeper didn't have too much to do but his distribution was decent.
Gray likes a tackle and grew into the game after a shaky start.
El Alagui really puts himself about and was unlucky to have his goal chalked off. For those that championed James Collins that is what closing defenders is all about. The Utd defenders were closed down and tackles put in the whole game.
Scott Allen. Disastrous start but made amends with a goal saving tackle. Always looking for the ball and looks a player to me. Surprised he got so little time.
Richardson Looked good without much time but had great movement and looked to get forward.
Lewis Allen Quite impressed. Put himself about and looked quite confident.

The crowd were very appreciative of the style of play and Easter Road looks to be a happier place this year.

27-07-2014, 04:37 PM
I think we need to keep our defeat in perspective. It's only a few months ago that DU came to ER & murdered us 3-1 while missing 2 pens. Sounds promising but with work to do, not surprising at this stage & with 2 of our main strikers missing. Good to hear hoofball's gone!

27-07-2014, 04:39 PM
Serious lack of cutting edge & still no pace to worry the opposition.

More Pat Fenlon than Tony Mowbray.

Really need better and more incisive forward movement, I lost count of the number of times Handling turned backwards when he could have turned and drove forward.

If you honestly think there was anything Pat Fenlon about today there most be something wrong.

dmc1875
27-07-2014, 04:41 PM
I think we need to keep our defeat in perspective. It's only a few months ago that DU came to ER & murdered us 3-1 while missing 2 pens. Sounds promising but with work to do, not surprising at this stage & with 2 of our main strikers missing. Good to hear hoofball's gone!

Exactly, Utd only became a threat from sloppy mistakes from us after a change of formation and 6 substitutions.

Our football is much better, there are hardly any long balls we just need to work on the final third.

dmc1875
27-07-2014, 04:42 PM
If you honestly think there was anything Pat Fenlon about today there most be something wrong.

:agree:. Fenlon was pass and stay static. Today I saw pass, move, pass, move. Totally different.

27-07-2014, 04:43 PM
Exactly, Utd only became a threat from sloppy mistakes from us after a change of formation and 6 substitutions.

Our football is much better, there are hardly any long balls we just need to work on the final third.

You make that sound easy. :greengrin

27-07-2014, 04:45 PM
What a difference a couple of months make! We actually looked like a well organised football team from the off. We do need a bit more creativity and cutting edge up top though.

Also, was it just me, or did it look like the pitch has been narrowed by a good 2 or 3 yards?

27-07-2014, 04:50 PM
Anyone got Dundee united line up? Just wondering if it was there first choice?

Glad we looked good but IMO

Goalkeeper
Winger
Centre back
Striker

Is all still needed, would happily ship heff nelson and otj

In other results....

Our friends in Germany, Rot Weiss Essen, were humped at home today by Borussia Dortmund.

The final score was 5-1

:duck:

dmc1875

Haha. I think a striker and winger is needed.

Great team performance and quite rightly cheered off the park by the whole support, picked up my away top from the shop afterwards, which was doing a roaring trade and this cheeky chappie...http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/28/aqytyry3.jpg

27-07-2014, 04:55 PM

It is that direct player we are missing. We will out pass every team in the league this year but we need players who will run at teams and make chances

shetlandhibee
27-07-2014, 05:00 PM
How was oxley?

27-07-2014, 05:02 PM
Anyone got Dundee united line up? Just wondering if it was there first choice?

Glad we looked good but IMO

Goalkeeper
Winger
Centre back
Striker

Is all still needed, would happily ship heff nelson and otj

Their starting line up was;

Czerniak
Dillon
Fojut
Paton
Ciftci
Rankin
Armstrong
Morris
Dow
Bilate
Spittal

SUBS

Fraser
Erskine
Mackay Steven
Smith
Telfer
Connolly
Graham
Petrie
McCallum

IainA
27-07-2014, 05:03 PM
Prefer Werder Bremen myself. They play on great colours :flag:

In other results....

Our friends in Germany, Rot Weiss Essen, were humped at home today by Borussia Dortmund.

The final score was 5-1

:duck:

Emerald
27-07-2014, 05:04 PM
How was oxley?

Thought he looked ok, never really troubled though and distribution was fine too. And he HAS signed.

27-07-2014, 05:04 PM
It is that direct player we are missing. We will out pass every team in the league this year but we need players who will run at teams and make chances

As do every team i'd imagine, scoring goals and creating chances are the hardest things to achieve in football. I'm convinced we need a keeper another forward, a wide left player and a left back and centre half.

Even if we got those, a couple of injuries and a suspension would leave us short. We should still have enough to challenge for a play off place. :pray:

27-07-2014, 05:07 PM

Czerniak
Dillon
Fojut
Paton
Ciftci
Rankin
Armstrong
Morris
Dow
Bilate
Spittal

SUBS

Fraser
Erskine
Mackay Steven
Smith
Telfer
Connolly
Graham
Petrie
McCallum

Thanks appreciated, strong Dundee United team

27-07-2014, 05:19 PM
Thought he looked ok, never really troubled though and distribution was fine too. And he HAS signed.

Agree he looked very comfortable, good distribution and hopefully he has signed GGTTH

Emerald
27-07-2014, 05:20 PM
Agree he looked very comfortable, good distribution and hopefully he has signed GGTTH

He has.

27-07-2014, 05:20 PM
Some folk are never happy.

Wasn't at the game but by all accounts we were positive and passed it about well.

We have to remember that we are in the championship and not the SPFL so the standard will not be as high and that's no disrespect to the other teams.

I'm sure that once we get the players in things will get even better.

As for decisive positive running in final 3rd I'm sure that's part of Allan's game especially in the final 3rd... Getting beyond the forwards and supporting them.

Good positive performance from a team that were down and defo out at the end of last season.

Onwards and upwards and Mefful next on Wednesday.

27-07-2014, 05:21 PM
He has.

Good!

Bronson
27-07-2014, 05:27 PM
How was the other trialist, Richardson? Not sure if he's been mentioned on here and I'm too lazy to hunt for it. Did he get on? If so, was he impressive?

Moon unit
27-07-2014, 05:28 PM
How was oxley?
Keeper looked good,confidant handling and good distribution!..

Emerald
27-07-2014, 05:29 PM
How was the other trialist, Richardson? Not sure if he's been mentioned on here and I'm too lazy to hunt for it. Did he get on? If so, was he impressive?

He did get on but not enough time to judge.

hfc-1875
27-07-2014, 05:29 PM
Played well today, especially in the first half and start of second but died off after that. Really like the look of gray gets up the park and likes a tackle. Thought Craig and Robertson both played well in cm. Great to see harris looking back to his usual self. Looked solid at the back with Hanlon and Forster, not so much after Nelson came on and Forster went to right back. Allen gifted them them the goal, but also saved us conceding one with a great tackle. He lost the ball quite a few times but never hid and was also looking for the ball, some nice passes too. Think he will go on to be a good signing.

27-07-2014, 05:32 PM

Looked ok good in possession, but not really on long enough to show what he can do, same with Allan

Tinribs
27-07-2014, 05:33 PM
4 or 5 more would be nice but I was really encoraged by today. United are far better than about 90 % of teams we need to beat this season and we looked comfortable for nearly 70 mins. We need imo another CB, winger and striker as well as a perm goalie. And bin Nelson and Tudor Jones asap, both offer nothing and are waste of wage, id rather promote two Under 19s!!

I believe old Roughy is free most afternoons :agree:

Agree that Utd are better than almost anyone we will be playing though, and we still have a few signings (fingers crossed) to make.

macd123
27-07-2014, 05:34 PM
I don't think we lack creativity at all. We have plenty through allan, handling, stanton and harris. But harris is the only player we have who can run in behind so there is not enough to aim for. So we definitely need one more winger \ striker with pace.

At the moment if we play our best team we would struggle at set pieces. Unless we play OTJ we need at least one more player over 6 foot tall.

I agree with whoever said craig and robertson in front of the back 4 isn't right but we all know that. Will need to find a combination that works in there.

So probably need a GK, LB (with height, cover for CB), winger. Maybe a DM.

27-07-2014, 05:34 PM
The refreshing thing was from the start all the players were asking for the ball, every time a Hibs player was in possession there were a few out balls, also we seemed to win most of the 50:50s and seemed to hunt down the Utd player in possession in 2/3's

27-07-2014, 05:40 PM
Wasn't there today but if the combination in front of the back 4 still wasn't right would it not be worth trying Stevenson there on Wednesday against East Fife?

I reckon he could do a job sitting in the hole between defence and midfield.

27-07-2014, 05:43 PM
Back 4 went to pot as soon as 'Admiral' Nelson comes on :tin hat:...

Overall though there was quite a big improvement from last season.
Looks like Stubbs style of football is getting through to them and a few players like Harris and Robertson were flying.
Massive difference in confidence with some of the players especially Harris!

My MOM would have been Paul Hanlon though. Brought the ball out the defence brilliantly, few great interceptions/general reading of the game and showed how much we missed him towards the end of last season.

Emerald
27-07-2014, 05:45 PM

Looks like Stubbs style of football is getting through to them and a few players like Harris and Robertson were flying.

My MOM would have been Paul Hanlon though. Brought the ball out the defence brilliantly an showed how much we missed him towards the end of last season.

I think they went to a back three when Nelson came on which gave lots of space to Utd on the break.

27-07-2014, 05:46 PM
Wasn't there today but if the combination in front of the back 4 still wasn't right would it not be worth trying Stevenson there on Wednesday against East Fife?

I reckon he could do a job sitting in the hole between defence and midfield.
Stevenson was pretty solid at left back today mate..think he will start the season there (unless we sign another LB)

27-07-2014, 05:49 PM
Up until the mass substitution I thought we were by far the better team. Refreshing to see the ball being passed instead of hoofed . We still seem to lack a cutting edge but some encouraging stuff and we have a real full back at last. Given that United will certainly be in the top six it looks like we should be right up there in the Championship race.

27-07-2014, 05:51 PM
My MOM would have been Paul Hanlon though. Brought the ball out the defence brilliantly, few great interceptions/general reading of the game and showed how much we missed him towards the end of last season.

Agreed, great display. First name on the team sheet for me just now. He's hard as nails too.

Emerald
27-07-2014, 05:52 PM
Up until the mass substitution I thought we were by far the better team. Refreshing to see the ball being passed instead of hoofed . We still seem to lack a cutting edge but some encouraging stuff and we have a real full back at last. Given that United will certainly be in the top six it looks like we should be right up there in the Championship race.

I agree, we need another pacey direct striker and we won't be far away.

27-07-2014, 05:55 PM
We were not bad at all for the first 70 minutes and certainly tried to keep the ball down and pass it, Utd were hardly in it for the first 45. But from that performance we still lack penetration with very few crosses or low balls into the box that we could attack. Neither keeper had a lot to do, but I did get the feeling that Utd were in 2nd gear for a lot of the time.

All in all a good run out for us.

WestStandMoaner
27-07-2014, 05:56 PM
Great team performance and quite rightly cheered off the park by the whole support, picked up my away top from the shop afterwards, which was doing a roaring trade and this cheeky chappie...http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/28/aqytyry3.jpg
Rowan Vines love child, as for the game, I was there and left with a positive feeling for the season ahead. Huge improvement in style, think hibs have the right manager in place, it's just a pity Stubbs probably has the lowest budget to work with compared to what our other managers have had in the last seven or eight years.

27-07-2014, 06:09 PM
Some folk are never happy.

Wasn't at the game but by all accounts we were positive and passed it about well.

We have to remember that we are in the championship and not the SPFL so the standard will not be as high and that's no disrespect to the other teams.

I'm sure that once we get the players in things will get even better.

As for decisive positive running in final 3rd I'm sure that's part of Allan's game especially in the final 3rd... Getting beyond the forwards and supporting them.

Good positive performance from a team that were down and defo out at the end of last season.

Onwards and upwards and Mefful next on Wednesday.

Great to hear that there were positives but I think criticising people saying they'll never be happy is unfair.

People will be happy when we're winning games and creating lots of chances.

27-07-2014, 06:21 PM

Hmmm, guy behind me in the queue bought one. I did debate getting one but really do not want to encourage the missus.😂

27-07-2014, 06:22 PM

We went to a back three so put yer hard hat away :greengrin

MotM was Hanlon for me :agree:

27-07-2014, 06:33 PM

And there is the problem with Hibs fans, some can't even recognise the formation we are playing :wink:

27-07-2014, 06:36 PM
Great to hear that there were positives but I think criticising people saying they'll never be happy is unfair. People will be happy when we're winning games and creating lots of chances.

But it's true to an extent Bingo!

I apologise for criticising folk but after last seasons guff they should be able to see marked improvements and no Hoofball

portycabbage
27-07-2014, 06:43 PM
Noticed that we appear to have painted the steps in the East, but no article bigging ourselves up for it on the official site. This is not how big clubs are run Leeann!

27-07-2014, 06:50 PM
Why is it a crazy decision? It's about getting players a run out to have a look at them.

I was much happier with how we played. The team look organised, players look confident. Friendly games are to let the manager see how we look with the players we have so let's not get too worried about things until we see how the team plays in a competitive game. Allan and Booth will both be starters in the team, and I'm sure we'll see a couple more come in too.

Completely agree results in friendly games mean nothing it is all about preparation for the real games.

27-07-2014, 06:54 PM

Didn't watch the game much then eh? if you did you'd notice they went to a back 3 and 2 wingbacks, but hey ho never mind facts if they get in the way of slagging off one of our players. Stubbs is trying to give us an option to the 4-2-3-1 which worked very well for 60-70 minutes, changing a system like that takes time to adjust and also the personnel too.

27-07-2014, 07:16 PM
Still quite a bit of negativity on this board but I thought we played very well today.

Once everybody is fit and maybe another winger and striker in I think we'll do well

Style of play was excellent. Always looked to keep possession and always tried to play to feet

Yep maybe needed some more support for Farid up front but thought Harris and Handling were pretty creative and Stanton had some flashes of skill to go by their defenders

Still a tad lightweight going forward but think Cummings and El Algui will be a good partnership

Gray looked very physical which was good to see and thought Forster and Hanlon played well until We went to a back 3

Over all I was much happier watching them than I have been for ages

Biggest plusses for me were the style of play and Harris clearly growing in confidence again

27-07-2014, 07:29 PM

Absolutely right and unlike other posters here, all I heard during and after the match were very positive comments on the style of play and the change in performance levels for players that were here last year GGTTH

27-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Thought we were totally comfortable till the subs and switch to 3-5-2. Impressed with David Gray who I thought was solid although he did let a few high balls drift over his head, he even totally halfed GMS which was pleasing. El Alagui was decent and worked hard, we definitely need another addition or two for the attacking side of the team though.

27-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Still quite a bit of negativity on this board but I thought we played very well today.

Once everybody is fit and maybe another winger and striker in I think we'll do well

Style of play was excellent. Always looked to keep possession and always tried to play to feet

Yep maybe needed some more support for Farid up front but thought Harris and Handling were pretty creative and Stanton had some flashes of skill to go by their defenders

Still a tad lightweight going forward but think Cummings and El Algui will be a good partnership

Gray looked very physical which was good to see and thought Forster and Hanlon played well until We went to a back 3

Over all I was much happier watching them than I have been for ages

Biggest plusses for me were the style of play and Harris clearly growing in confidence again

From Hibs Facebook page, must say have heard many players say good things about Stubbs, think he's going to do a good job for us and bring back a style of play we can all enjoy, for a change.

https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xaf1/t1.0-9/p296x100/10557409_661837950581936_5523670838754720435_n.jpg

Well done to Alex Harris who was named today's 'Man of the Match' by hospitality 'Fan of the Match' Tracey Smith.
After a very impressive performance Alex told our hospitality guests in the Edinburgh Suite that Alan Stubbs has given him all the belief in the world again and he can't wait for the new season to get underway!

Stan the Man
27-07-2014, 07:55 PM
All in, good progress from last year.

I disagree about Craig sitting too deep. I thought he did well to come back and take the ball to feet from the goalie when the two centre halves split.

Also filled in when full back was pushing on. Looked comfortable all afternoon.

We do still need another 3-4 in, but there is now some hope about the place again.

27-07-2014, 07:57 PM
All in, good progress from last year.

I disagree about Craig sitting too deep. I thought he did well to come back and take the ball to feet from the goalie when the two centre halves split.

Also filled in when full back was pushing on. Looked comfortable all afternoon.

We do still need another 3-4 in, but there is now some hope about the place again.

I think the problem at the moment is Robertson. We don't need two players holding back and Robertson doesn't push forward when there is space in front of him.

Saturday Boy
27-07-2014, 08:03 PM
I was impressed with players changing position and covering through most of the game. At one point in the first half Stanton was covering at right back and Stevenson was wide right . We're not Germany yet, but I am pleased with their willingness to learn and improve.

27-07-2014, 08:30 PM
No surprise that it was just after the mass substitution and change of formation that United scored. A goal Utd never really looked like scoring up until then, and came from one slack pass.

The improvement in the style of football played by Hibs was like night and day compared to the garbage of last season. At last, we seem to have a decent right back, and Alex Harris seems transformed from the lost wee laddie we saw suffering on the pitch last season.

There's still a lot of room for improvement though, and the squad still needs several decent signings. El A looked absolutely knackered for the last 20 minutes, but gave 100% effort. He looked to me like he needed a bit more support up front. I'm still to be convinced about Danny Handling. Hibs still lack that "cutting edge".

It was only a friendly, and I know too much shouldn't be read into these matches, but there were lots of positives.

I think Hibs will be good enough to beat most teams in this league (given a few more good signings) but whether they will have enough to be promoted in one season, I really don't know. If we are still in the mix after New Year, and can avoid injuries and suspensions, the we have a good chance.

gorgie greens
27-07-2014, 09:54 PM
more positive comments than negative which is shown were heading the right way,everyone at the game can see our short commings so they wont be lost on our management team so hopefully we can get those extra faces which can turn us in to a team that will be going for the league than a team hoping to make up the numbers .

dmc1875
27-07-2014, 10:00 PM
No surprise that it was just after the mass substitution and change of formation that United scored. A goal Utd never really looked like scoring up until then, and came from one slack pass.

The improvement in the style of football played by Hibs was like night and day compared to the garbage of last season. At last, we seem to have a decent right back, and Alex Harris seems transformed from the lost wee laddie we saw suffering on the pitch last season.

There's still a lot of room for improvement though, and the squad still needs several decent signings. El A looked absolutely knackered for the last 20 minutes, but gave 100% effort. He looked to me like he needed a bit more support up front. I'm still to be convinced about Danny Handling. Hibs still lack that "cutting edge".

It was only a friendly, and I know too much shouldn't be read into these matches, but there were lots of positives.

I think Hibs will be good enough to beat most teams in this league (given a few more good signings) but whether they will have enough to be promoted in one season, I really don't know. If we are still in the mix after New Year, and can avoid injuries and suspensions, the we have a good chance.

:agree: If we get a pacy wide player and striker I will be happy.

27-07-2014, 10:00 PM
And there is the problem with Hibs fans, some can't even recognise the formation we are playing :wink:
Some guy behind me said 3 times well done Callum Booth in the first half before someone put him right lol

27-07-2014, 10:03 PM
I think I even saw us winning our own throw ins!

Really looking forward to this season - think it will be a belter and can see a few sold out signs going up towards the end of the season.

Ross89
27-07-2014, 10:27 PM

Czerniak
Dillon
Fojut
Paton
Ciftci
Rankin
Armstrong
Morris
Dow
Bilate
Spittal

SUBS

Fraser
Erskine
Mackay Steven
Smith
Telfer
Connolly
Graham
Petrie
McCallum

So Rodders was in their squad and we still couldn't beat them :grr:

Absolute disgrace Hibs - Stubbs and Dempster both must go.

Joke of a club - I'm ripping up my season ticket. :bitchy:

buktapurple79
27-07-2014, 11:49 PM
Feeling VERY positive after today. Got a wee feeling we could be giving lots of frights to the bad guys this season. Have put a few bob on Ella for league top scorer!

28-07-2014, 12:22 AM
Scott Robertson was outstanding I thought

28-07-2014, 01:35 AM
Where about in midfield did the ginger trialist fella play? Think his name is Richardson? Out wide or in the middle? Would he be a good addition?

macd123
28-07-2014, 03:52 AM
Where about in midfield did the ginger trialist fella play? Think his name is Richardson? Out wide or in the middle? Would he be a good addition?

Was in the middle but not DM, he was slightly further forward. We have plenty cover in that position so he would have to be outstanding. He only got 20 minutes so couldn't judge but scott allan made a bigger impression.

28-07-2014, 05:53 AM
I think I even saw us winning our own throw ins!

Really looking forward to this season - think it will be a belter and can see a few sold out signs going up towards the end of the season.

It'll never catch on!

28-07-2014, 07:59 AM
Was there a programme yesterday? I took the wee one to her first game so I wanted to get one and keep it.

28-07-2014, 08:17 AM
Was there a programme yesterday? I took the wee one to her first game so I wanted to get one and keep it.

Yes but not a proper one. It unfolds into a wall chart.

28-07-2014, 08:49 AM
Yes but not a proper one. It unfolds into a wall chart.

Thanks I will try and get one from the shop.

Russ
28-07-2014, 09:51 AM
Decent wee run from Stanton and squared it to craig about 25 yards out. Decent effort just over.
Don't agree with Craig playing the deeper role but he's having a good game

What game were you watching, his first 3 touches were horrendous

28-07-2014, 10:07 AM
What game were you watching, his first 3 touches were horrendous

You're not having a pop cos he had three bad touches are you?

28-07-2014, 10:32 AM
You're not having a pop cos he had three bad touches are you?

I had the same with some young lad behind me. Harris failed to get past a player in first 5 mins. "You're shiyite Harris ". I wish they would just stay at home.

28-07-2014, 11:15 AM
I had the same with some young lad behind me. Harris failed to get past a player in first 5 mins. "You're shiyite Harris ". I wish they would just stay at home.

Season ticket holders eh. :cb

28-07-2014, 11:25 AM
When they went 3 at the back a ball went back to Nelson, he the proceeded to pass in 10 yds in front of him to another Hibs player, my jaw dropped when that happened but well done to Stubbs for getting them to play it the right way.

28-07-2014, 11:55 AM
I walked away from the game thinking "We're at least back to the level we were at under Fenlon" (on reflection, we probably knocked it about a little neater than that)- in that, similar to a game we played against United under Pat, we controlled the majority of the game without posing too much of a threat. Although he gave the ball away for their goal, I really think Scott Allan will be the player that gives us that much needed creativity and intelligent pass.

So aye.. hoof-ball is gone and we do seem to be putting together a competitive 11 at least.

Was pleased with Fahid - worked hard and remained positive throughout. What a difference having a lone-striker that moves.
Good to have Hanlon back - looks fit and ready to go again. Robertson too.

Let's not forget we had a better squad than Hearts last season (a ridiculous 6 months put us down) and Rangers have added Boyd and Miller (decent signings but it doesn't make them nailed on to win this league) - outside their strikeforce, they are not far ahead of us at all, in my opinion.

I'd like to see a few more bodies in before the KO - but I am positive and looking forward to getting the season started.

... I don't think the words "f*** sake Nelson" even came out my mouth once yesterday!

gordieboy
28-07-2014, 12:16 PM
Sorry if i've missed it but what was the attendance,I couldn't make it due to work.

TheFamous1875
28-07-2014, 12:25 PM
Sorry if i've missed it but what was the attendance,I couldn't make it due to work.

6000 odd, I think.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

28-07-2014, 12:31 PM
I walked away from the game thinking "We're at least back to the level we were at under Fenlon" (on reflection, we probably knocked it about a little neater than that)- in that, similar to a game we played against United under Pat, we controlled the majority of the game without posing too much of a threat. Although he gave the ball away for their goal, I really think Scott Allan will be the player that gives us that much needed creativity and intelligent pass.

So aye.. hoof-ball is gone and we do seem to be putting together a competitive 11 at least.

Was pleased with Fahid - worked hard and remained positive throughout. What a difference having a lone-striker that moves.
Good to have Hanlon back - looks fit and ready to go again. Robertson too.

Let's not forget we had a better squad than Hearts last season (a ridiculous 6 months put us down) and Rangers have added Boyd and Miller (decent signings but it doesn't make them nailed on to win this league) - outside their strikeforce, they are not far ahead of us at all, in my opinion.

I'd like to see a few more bodies in before the KO - but I am positive and looking forward to getting the season started.

... I don't think the words "f*** sake Nelson" even came out my mouth once yesterday!

Absolutely, an injury/ dip in form for Boyd would be a disaster for them, they look like a poor, aging team with a clown for a manager.