View Full Version : commonwealth games
23-07-2014, 08:28 PM
how funny god save the queen being sung at celtic park,bet there were a few celtic fans squirming. brill
23-07-2014, 08:30 PM
Just after the red, white and blue of the red arrows as well.
23-07-2014, 08:31 PM
Crowd didn't exactly belt it out. Lizzie looks as happy as a bullgog whose licked piss off a nettle.
I thought I'd tuned into the gay olympics at the start. Camper than a row of tents.
23-07-2014, 08:32 PM
how funny god save the queen being sung at celtic park,bet there were a few celtic fans squirming. brill
Haha..just said the same thing to my missus......
23-07-2014, 08:32 PM
Not a Celtic fan.
But I am squirming.
23-07-2014, 08:36 PM
Crowd didn't exactly belt it out. Lizzie looks as happy as a bullgog whose licked piss off a nettle.
I thought I'd tuned into the gay olympics at the start. Camper than a row of tents.
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:
Been ill all day but this post has cheered me right up!!! Thanks....
23-07-2014, 08:41 PM
I watched about 10 minutes of the opening 'entertainment', that was enough for me. Why isn't there any football in it anyway? I know it's not long since the World Cup but there's loads of countries that weren't in it.
23-07-2014, 08:43 PM
Bit of a risk playing God Save the Queen at Celtic Park. An 88 and 93 year old on the pitch. That hasn't happened since Ally McCoist and Hateley visited there with the old Rangers.
23-07-2014, 08:45 PM
It's not that bad imo.
It's twee, a bit cringey and full of typical Glaswegian self congratulation but that's exactly as I expected.
It could have been far, far worse.
23-07-2014, 08:45 PM
Bit of a risk playing God Save the Queen at Celtic Park. An 88 and 93 year old on the pitch. That hasn't happened since Ally McCoist and Hateley visited there with the old Rangers.
23-07-2014, 08:52 PM
You couldn't make it up. The Queen at Celtic Park, God Save the Queen being sung and to top it off the Red Arrows flying overhead omitting red, white and blue smoke. Please don't end the ceremony with an orange walk as my ribs couldn't take it.
23-07-2014, 08:53 PM
You couldn't make it up. The Queen at Celtic Park, God Save the Queen being sung and to top it off the Red Arrows flying overhead omitting red, white and blue smoke. Please don't end the ceremony with an orange walk as my ribs couldn't take it.
The Celtic fans must be raging :greengrin
23-07-2014, 08:53 PM
It's not that bad imo.
It's twee, a bit cringey and full of typical Glaswegian self congratulation but that's exactly as I expected.
It could have been far, far worse.
PB.....it was awful mate - like the Krankies had run through the set of River City setting off a box of Astra fireworks and bumped into Alan Stewart dressed as Widow T****ie !
It's one step up from a school sports day - cringeworthy in my opinion.
23-07-2014, 08:56 PM
PB.....it was awful mate - like the Krankies had run through the set of River City setting off a box of Astra fireworks and bumped into Alan Stewart dressed as Widow T****ie !
They should have just blown up Celtic Park. Quicker and more entertaining. An empty Celtic Park of course.
23-07-2014, 08:57 PM
How awful were Karen Dunbar and John Barrowman, couldn't take any more after 10 minutes and took the dug out!
23-07-2014, 09:00 PM
The link to Unicef and the introductions from the various regions is well done.
23-07-2014, 09:01 PM
How awful were Karen Dunbar and John Barrowman, couldn't take any more after 10 minutes and took the dug out!
I was waiting for her to give it the "I smell sh*te"
hibbymick
23-07-2014, 09:01 PM
We don't need independence, the rest of the UK has just disowned us.
23-07-2014, 09:03 PM
I was waiting for her to give it the "I smell sh*te"
She probably did at the end of her duet with John Barrowman.
23-07-2014, 09:03 PM
its good to have a post thats gave me a bit of a laugh, just a bit different from the usual.
23-07-2014, 09:05 PM
we don't need independence, the rest of the uk has just disowned us.
woo hoo !!!
23-07-2014, 09:06 PM
Wonder if the Aussies will be looking out the cork hats and khaki shorts or dressing up as jars of Vegemite in 4 years time?
23-07-2014, 09:06 PM
i was lip reading
said Lizzie to Philip
But alas for their hopes for the loyal true blues,
The Celts beat the Gunners and Manchester too,
Beat Hibs in the final and oh what a scene,
Sure Hampden was covered in banners of green.
:)
23-07-2014, 09:07 PM
She probably did at the end of her duet with John Barrowman.
In more ways than two!
23-07-2014, 09:11 PM
i was lip reading
said Lizzie to Philip
But alas for their hopes for the loyal true blues,
The Celts beat the Gunners and Manchester too,
Beat Hibs in the final and oh what a scene,
Sure Hampden was covered in banners of green.
:)
Marvellous.
Substitute it with Patrick, Michael, Tynecastle and Pat Stanton and we have a song!
Too-re-loo! Too-re--loo!
hibbymick
23-07-2014, 09:12 PM
So many of the hackneyed old images of Scotland have been long left behind by most Scots.
I hope our new away strip isn't modelled on anything I've seen so far. Zambia's green top cheaper than ours.
23-07-2014, 09:15 PM
i honestly thought Simon Cowell was going to jump out of the rolls royce
hibbymick
23-07-2014, 09:18 PM
That dug must be knackered.
I hope they realise dogs just aren't for the Commonwealth Games - they are for life.
Jamaica brought in Bob Marley's Dug. Brought someone else's lead but tried to pass it off as his own.
Pat 0-7
23-07-2014, 09:20 PM
I've got a bit of a vested interest tonight. My 9 yr old girl was dancing in the Rod Stewart segment tonight & I have to admit I clocked her and found it hard to hold back the tears. Obviously very proud and I've seen how much work she's put in over the last month. I was at the dress rehearsal a couple of nights ago. I think we have to remember the budgets involved when comparing opening ceremonies. I did think the opening segment was cheesey / wha's like us, but hey ho... Anyway the royal / imperialistic references did make me chuckle while watching at "paradise". :greengrin
23-07-2014, 09:23 PM
Lizzie will be popping along to bigotbrox to ask why they weren't paying her governments taxes...
23-07-2014, 09:25 PM
Why is Rod Stewart so involved anyway? He's not even Scottish.
23-07-2014, 09:26 PM
that's some size of a squad Australia has, thousands
23-07-2014, 09:26 PM
That's no way to talk about the Queen.
23-07-2014, 09:29 PM
Jamaica brought in Bob Marley's Dug. Brought someone else's lead but tried to pass it off as his own.
:top marksabsolutely hilarious
hibbymick
23-07-2014, 09:32 PM
aye, but he owns a pair o tartan troosers.
23-07-2014, 09:33 PM
lol at that sellick fan in the Tonga squad
23-07-2014, 09:35 PM
Cyprus is 80s style shell suits, should fit in well in Glasgow.
Thank **** England got a decent reception, was worried there would be some cringey booing.
23-07-2014, 09:44 PM
Seeing/listening to Karen Dunbar was enough for me - offski mucho pronto !!!
Felt sorry for the Queen and Phil having to sit thro' that :rolleyes:
23-07-2014, 09:47 PM
Quality tune for the Scottish team coming out.
Pity they are all dressed like dicks
23-07-2014, 09:48 PM
Think it's been okay, certainly no reason for any embarrassment.
23-07-2014, 09:50 PM
One of my mates had a gig playing pipes with Amy Macdonald tonight. Anyone see it?
Quality tune for the Scottish team coming out.
Pity they are all dressed like dicks
Good tunes alround :agree:
23-07-2014, 09:51 PM
One of my mates had a gig playing pipes with Amy Macdonald tonight. Anyone see it?
One of mine was playing with Rod.:-)
Edit: he was on with Amy as well, missed that bit. CM his initials Peeve?
23-07-2014, 09:53 PM
Rod Stewarts voice is totally shot.
Sounds like a 40 a day Granny on the karaoke in a dodgy boozer.
23-07-2014, 09:59 PM
Rivalries aside I've donated to UNICEF - have you?
23-07-2014, 10:08 PM
Rod Stewarts voice is totally shot.
Sounds like a 40 a day Granny on the karaoke in a dodgy boozer.
I think he must be doing too much as i saw him a few weeks ago in Blackpool and he was superb, and i'm not a huge Rod Stewart fan.
23-07-2014, 10:11 PM
Rivalries aside I've donated to UNICEF - have you?
Certainly have viva.....
23-07-2014, 10:12 PM
John barrowmans put on Scottish accent was terrible. Between him & Rod Stewart neither have stayed in Scotland for around 75 years combined.
Other than that pretty much as expected & I hope it's a great games.
23-07-2014, 10:12 PM
Certainly have viva.....
Me tae. And doesn't Celtic Park look good all in blue...
23-07-2014, 10:15 PM
Think it's been okay, certainly no reason for any embarrassment.
thoroughly enjoyed the ceremony :agree:
23-07-2014, 10:18 PM
Nicola Benedetti was superb.
See if the first 25 minutes or so with Karen Dunbar, John Barrowman and Subo had never have happened that could have been called a bit of a success
lobster
23-07-2014, 10:22 PM
Absolutely. Should've have stuck to blowing up flats.
hibbybob
23-07-2014, 10:24 PM
See if the first 25 minutes or so with Karen Dunbar, John Barrowman and Subo had never have happened that could have been called a bit of a success
Agreed. But I wonder how many viewers gave up after half an hour.
23-07-2014, 10:25 PM
Certainly have viva.....
Good on ya dude that in itself is a success.
23-07-2014, 10:28 PM
there's a blast from the past...Kip Keino
the original keino keino :)
23-07-2014, 10:30 PM
Why is this on the main board. **** all to do with football. Where are the admins when you want them?
The Pointer
23-07-2014, 10:31 PM
The immediate start was utterly cringeworthy immediately portraying all that's good and modern about Glasgow/Scotland - not, although once Karen Dunbar cleared the decks things improved. A bit too much charidee, equality and diversidee for me. I was under the impression it was an athletics event.
Great seeing a Royal box at Darkheid right enough!
good to see my mate lewis benson getting in front of the cameras, never a shy boy lewis :greengrin hoping he gets a medal for all his hard work in the gym :take that
23-07-2014, 10:32 PM
Chris Hoy saves the day. Sign him :greengrin
The Pointer
23-07-2014, 10:32 PM
there's a blast from the past...Kip Keino
the original keino keino :)
Great, great athlete, remember seeing him run in Edinburgh.
23-07-2014, 10:34 PM
Why is this on the main board. **** all to do with football. Where are the admins when you want them?
Watching the Commonwealth Games :wink:
23-07-2014, 10:36 PM
The immediate start was utterly cringeworthy immediately portraying all that's good and modern about Glasgow/Scotland - not, although once Karen Dunbar cleared the decks things improved. A bit too much charidee, equality and diversidee for me. I was under the impression it was an athletics event.
!
according to all reports i'm kinda glad i missed the first 20-25 mins
23-07-2014, 10:38 PM
His dad was from Leith apparently. Rod is real proud of his roots, which is no doubt why he supports celtic ...... tool. At least he has an excuse to support Man Utd being born in London.
The bigger insult to Edinburgh comes from sir Sean who cant decide which of the ugly sisters to suck up to.
23-07-2014, 10:41 PM
well done wee eck salmond :applause: good speech
23-07-2014, 10:44 PM
Did you hear the patronizing commentator right at the end ' well you couldn't expect to beat london but a good try'
23-07-2014, 10:47 PM
well done wee eck salmond :applause: good speech
Yup, the wee ***** did well there. Can't stand the man but credit where it's due.
Apart from the start I enjoyed it, well organised and good fun. Brilliant fireworks..
23-07-2014, 10:48 PM
omg@ the baton opening :tee hee:
23-07-2014, 10:51 PM
That was................firkin grim. Twee doesn't begin to cover it.
Those Scottish outfits were like something from a sick lab experiment in cross breeding something from the Sound of Music with Brigadoon.
For reasons I don't understand Tunnock's Teacakes got a gigantic free advert and Karen Dunbar and John Barrowman sang pretty badly a bunch of stuff that even some Scots would struggle to reference - and far too fast for viewers to even work out most of it.
Basically your average foreign viewer watching that would probably assume that most Scots were either eckied or smashed. God knows what they made of the glorious leaders of Scotland and Glasgow. They both looked like they could literally explode with excitement at the gigantic media platform they were enjoying.
The Proclaimers song was good I suppose
23-07-2014, 10:51 PM
Looking forward to the guest events introduced for this Empire ( sorry, commonwealth ) games:
The 6" chib.
Running .......frae the Polis
Throwing the Buckfast bottle
Just heard a statement on the news I never thought I would hear in my lifetime: "The queen receives a warm welcome at Celtic park" :faf:
23-07-2014, 10:52 PM
Did you hear the patronizing commentator right at the end ' well you couldn't expect to beat london but a good try'
I said that too.
London was fantastic. Glasgow did well but not a patch on it.
23-07-2014, 10:52 PM
It was pretty good but we're all getting used to the fireworks, coloured lights and rock music now, aren't we? And it started an hour too late!
I think it was
Overall good, showed scotland as a country that is fun And friendly , was never gonna be as big as London as budget was tiny but I thought it was good and made me proud to be scottish
23-07-2014, 10:53 PM
That wasn't patronising it was entirely accurate. Apart from the good try bit. It was a pretty 5hite try really.
23-07-2014, 10:56 PM
fireworks were superb, well done to the organisers
23-07-2014, 10:56 PM
Go to bed ya grumpy auld git.....
23-07-2014, 10:58 PM
I think it was
Overall good, showed scotland as a country that is fun And friendly , was never gonna be as big as London as budget was tiny but I thought it was good and made me proud to be scottish
:agree: Far superior to the opening ceremony for the world cup in Brazil as well. That was total gash.
23-07-2014, 10:58 PM
It's not meant to compete with the Olympics but I thought is good apart from Karen Dunbar. I like the statement on equality , Billy Connolly on Nelson Madela and the great idea for UNICEF and the £5 texts
23-07-2014, 11:00 PM
Those Scottish outfits were like something from a sick lab experiment in cross breeding something from the Sound of Music with Brigadoon.
For reasons I don't understand Tunnock's Teacakes got a gigantic free advert and Karen Dunbar and John Barrowman sang pretty badly a bunch of stuff that even some Scots would struggle to reference - and far too fast for viewers to even work out most of it.
Basically your average foreign viewer watching that would probably assume that most Scots were either eckied or smashed. God knows what they made of the glorious leaders of Scotland and Glasgow. They both looked like they could literally explode with excitement at the gigantic media platform they were enjoying.
My partner who cant stand sport but likes a good opening ceremony said the above to me almost word for word. I wonder what folk watching in India or Jamaica thought they were supposed to be :greengrin
Not for me as I'd have missed my wee girl dancing on stage with rod Stewart.
I think it was
Absolutely, we all have different views and imo Nicola Benedetti, an accomplished violinist, did not capture the moment. We're a country of fiddle players and I think we lost the moment with her. Now that means I've contradicted myself with someone like Pretty Boy and that's ok as we're all different and i'm sure he thought there were bits that were good and I found no so good. Overall I thought it was great
23-07-2014, 11:05 PM
Team Scotland's outfits - the spirit of 'What Every Woman Wants' lives on !
bigstu
23-07-2014, 11:06 PM
My partner who cant stand sport but likes a good opening ceremony said the above to me almost word for word. I wonder what folk watching in India or Jamaica thought they were supposed to be :greengrin
Not so sure it'll have been a free advert for Tunnocks! Nothing related to the games is free for any business. Irn Bru are a main sponsor, hence their involvement in the ceremony, I'd suspect Tunnocks must have done similar.
23-07-2014, 11:09 PM
Looking forward to the guest events introduced for this Empire ( sorry, commonwealth ) games:
The 6" chib.
Running .......frae the Polis
Throwing the Buckfast bottle
Just heard a statement on the news I never thought I would hear in my lifetime: "The queen receives a warm welcome at Celtic park" :faf:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZthGdjGX0E
think the beeb muted the sound on the news to save face with their opening statement!
1875STEVE
23-07-2014, 11:13 PM
Amy McDonald in tight leather trousers - I thought the event was a huge success.......
23-07-2014, 11:15 PM
The Green Brigade lot must have been spewing on their bottles of Buckfast tonight watching that.
Flyover with the red, white and blue of the Union Flag trailing out of the back of the planes over Parkhead.
Images of the Queen appearing on the big screen.
The Queen, herself, appearing in order to officially open the Games and making a speech at Parkhead.
God Save The Queen being sung by the whole stadium.
Then to top it all off, the Red Hand of Ulster being waved around by the Northern Ireland team.
A few smashed tellies tonight in the east end of Glasgow, I should imagine. :greengrin
23-07-2014, 11:17 PM
Amy McDonald in tight leather trousers - I thought the event was a huge success.......
Due to the lack of beach volleyball looking forward to pervin' over the netball.
23-07-2014, 11:25 PM
http://cdn.images.express.co.uk/img/dynamic/1/590x/secondary/184198.jpg
http://cdn.images.express.co.uk/img/dynamic/1/590x/secondary/184162.jpg
23-07-2014, 11:28 PM
http://media.giphy.com/media/P6NGyxkKCrtlK/giphy.gif :duck:
23-07-2014, 11:33 PM
:agree::agree:
my daughters highlight was the wee dugs, so much so she wants one, bless, long as she takes it out when its pissing outside its a deal :greengrin
23-07-2014, 11:43 PM
my daughters highlight was the wee dugs, so much so she wants one, bless, long as she takes it out when its pissing outside its a deal :greengrin
Hopefully she takes it outside before that happens ;)
Brunswickbill
23-07-2014, 11:53 PM
I thought that whole thing was fine. The South African lassie singing the Freedom Come All Ye was amazing. The opening set was IMO a fine example of Scots being able to laugh at themselves. There's an awful lot of people on Hibs Net who just want to find fault with everything including Hibs Fc. Get a life !
23-07-2014, 11:54 PM
The chat is that Canada (trousers) and numerous other teams that incorporated tartan into their outfits are unable to compete now due to the overwhelming cringe exploding from their home countries.
23-07-2014, 11:56 PM
Ha! That's my mate Jonny on the right.
Brunswickbill
24-07-2014, 12:09 AM
mate of mine as well. boy done well.
Gotta say I overall enjoyed it and better than I thought I would be.
As far as the Celtic thing is concerned it would surprise you how many of the so called Irish Freedom Fighter supporters are voting No in the coming referendum. I love making them squirm when I get the chance.
Total Hypocrites.
BH Hibs
24-07-2014, 12:42 AM
Gotta say I overall enjoyed it and better than I thought I would be.
As far as the Celtic thing is concerned it would surprise you how many of the so called Irish Freedom Fighter supporters are voting No in the coming referendum. I love making them squirm when I get the chance.
Total Hypocrites.
Ah the George Galloway approach. Free Palestine, Free Ireland but Free Scotland? No don't be silly. Whankers
I thought that whole thing was fine. The South African lassie singing the Freedom Come All Ye was amazing. The opening set was IMO a fine example of Scots being able to laugh at themselves. There's an awful lot of people on Hibs Net who just want to find fault with everything including Hibs Fc. Get a life !
Exactly and I vote for Independence too. For Glasgow that is.
Ah the George Galloway approach. Free Palestine, Free Ireland but Free Scotland? No don't be silly. Whankers
:top marks:saltireflag
24-07-2014, 02:13 AM
Wonder if the Aussies will be looking out the cork hats and khaki shorts or dressing up as jars of Vegemite in 4 years time?
I'm going disguised as a thong
Fair Dinkum
24-07-2014, 03:45 AM
The chat is that Canada (trousers) and numerous other teams that incorporated tartan into their outfits are unable to compete now due to the overwhelming cringe exploding from their home countries.
So would you have banned tartan like after Culloden?
24-07-2014, 04:43 AM
His dad's Scottish and he choose to support Scotland rather than where he was born, sounds fine to me to be fair.
Actually quite enjoyed it, the start was a cheaper Scottish copy of the London one but overall was watchable and the atmosphere looked great.
24-07-2014, 05:51 AM
Scotland is free.
24-07-2014, 06:28 AM
I was expecting the leader of Glasgow council to cone out with Eine Reich Ein Volk Ein Fuhrer going by the tone of his voice.
I enjoyed the show, I laughed when Humphrys was surprised at England getting a cheer. What was he expecting?
24-07-2014, 06:40 AM
His dad's Scottish and he choose to support Scotland rather than where he was born, sounds fine to me to be fair.
Actually quite enjoyed it, the start was a cheaper Scottish copy of the London one but overall was watchable and the atmosphere looked great.
Just like many others. Good example would be Joe Baker, born in England played for England but nobody more fiercely Scots
24-07-2014, 06:47 AM
I was expecting the leader of Glasgow council to cone out with Eine Reich Ein Volk Ein Fuhrer going by the tone of his voice.
I enjoyed the show, I laughed when Humphrys was surprised at England getting a cheer. What was he expecting?
You wait. There will be plenty of commentating howlers in the next couple of weeks! John Inverdale anyone?
24-07-2014, 07:51 AM
Aye because we're oppressed, abused and massacred just like the Palestinians are and the Irish were.
Mhentalist.
PS I didn't watch the ceremony but, from reports, it appears to have been a mix of tartan, Nessie, Lulu, Terriers, John Barrowman, Susan Boyle and Rod Stewart. Not exactly innovative or designed to change the stereotypes by the sounds of it.
24-07-2014, 08:05 AM
So would you have banned tartan like after Culloden?
Maybe he did ... somebody did :greengrin?
1746 - Dress Act:
"That from and after the first day of August, One thousand, seven hundred and forty-six, no man or boy within that part of Britain called Scotland, other than such as shall be employed as Officers and Soldiers in His Majesty's Forces, shall, on any pretext whatever, wear or put on the clothes commonly called Highland clothes (that is to say) the Plaid (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plaid_(pattern)), Philabeg, or little Kilt, Trowse, Shoulder-belts, or any part whatever of what peculiarly belongs to the Highland Garb; and that no tartan or party-coloured plaid of stuff shall be used for Great Coats or upper coats, and if any such person shall presume after the said first day of August, to wear or put on the aforesaid garment or any part of them, every such person so offending ... For the first offence,shall be liable to be imprisoned for 6 months, and on the second offence, to be transported to any of His Majesty's plantations beyond the seas, there to remain for the space of seven years".
McWiki...
24-07-2014, 08:09 AM
Is he in a band by any chance? I recognise him
24-07-2014, 08:41 AM
I couldn't make out anything John Barrowman sang, but everthing else was alright, no worse than I expected, loved Freedom Come All Ye, Nicola Benedetti was just thoroughly enjoying herself, The Gay Kiss stuck the fingers up at more than 50% of the countries taking part who imprison Gay people, The Unicef appeal (over £2.5million) the energy, lights, fireworks. all well done, now let the games commence
24-07-2014, 08:52 AM
Is he in a band by any chance? I recognise him
He teaches at the piping centre in Glasgow and also at Edinburgh Uni IIRC. He plays with a group called "Bags of Rock" (a bit like the Chilli Pipers) who seem to get quite a few gigs and he also does thousands of weddings, etc.
He's a good guy (despite having hun leanings) and an excellent piper.
capitals_finest
24-07-2014, 09:37 AM
This was a Weegie celebration, another reminder that Glasgow has a great sense of humour and can laugh at itself. :yawn:
Naff show in a naff stadium.
24-07-2014, 09:40 AM
24-07-2014, 09:43 AM
Since when was Scotland living under occupation ? What a load of codswallop !
24-07-2014, 09:48 AM
He teaches at the piping centre in Glasgow and also at Edinburgh Uni IIRC. He plays with a group called "Bags of Rock" (a bit like the Chilli Pipers) who seem to get quite a few gigs and he also does thousands of weddings, etc.
He's a good guy (despite having hun leanings) and an excellent piper.
My other half just told me!! Her cousin Alan was the drummer for bags of rock for a while, thought i recognised him
24-07-2014, 10:29 AM
Thankfully the "Opening Ceremony" was only a "side show" but as they say " it sells newspapers " !!!!!
Karen Dunbar and John barrowman should stay in Pantomime where they belong :rolleyes:
The "Real Games" started this morning , can't wait to watch as much as possible
24-07-2014, 11:28 AM
The Green Brigade lot must have been spewing on their bottles of Buckfast tonight watching that.
Flyover with the red, white and blue of the Union Flag trailing out of the back of the planes over Parkhead.
Images of the Queen appearing on the big screen.
The Queen, herself, appearing in order to officially open the Games and making a speech at Parkhead.
God Save The Queen being sung by the whole stadium.
Then to top it all off, the Red Hand of Ulster being waved around by the Northern Ireland team.
A few smashed tellies tonight in the east end of Glasgow, I should imagine. :greengrin
I'm sure they'll comfort themselves by thrashing every team in sight again this season.
24-07-2014, 05:41 PM
Some manful attempts by sports fans to understand the world of entertainment and culture, on this thread (surprised no one said that they should have played Sunshine on Leith).
Likewise admirable efforts to avoid the Scottish tendency for negativity. Come on, self deprecation is a great thing, self mutilation is not so nice.
http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/glasgow-stamps-mark-on-commonwealth-games-1-3486417
Word on the street is that most people enjoyed the ceremony, and were able to take pride in what was on show. Highlight for me was Nicola Benedetti just keeping it together whilst 40,000 people sang along to Loch Lomond.
24-07-2014, 06:12 PM
I said that too.
London was fantastic. Glasgow did well but not a patch on it.
That wasn't patronising it was entirely accurate. Apart from the good try bit. It was a pretty 5hite try really.
I know the london games ceremony was better but why the need to mention it that was all.
24-07-2014, 06:24 PM
I know the london games ceremony was better but why the need to mention it that was all.
"Call Me Dave" mentioned beforehand, "it's so hard to get these things right".
Anyway surely we should be comparing ourselves to Delhi, or other Commonwealth Games? I still think the Nessie at Edinburgh 86 will never be beaten.
Lewis77
24-07-2014, 06:32 PM
After Barrowman and Boyle it started to get better (that was awful). I actually thought the rendition of Freedom Come Ye All was very moving and beautifully done as was the wee ballet piece. The folks joined in with the singing, the dugs didn't ***** everywhere and the comedy moment where they couldn't open the baton was fun. Also every nation was cheered, obviously including England despite what certain English newspapers were reporting would happen (low opinion much).
Nevertheless, why the red arrows? Why was an entertainment wing of the British Armed Forces at an event were Scotland is supposed to be representing/celebrating/promoting it's own individual self? That is the whole point of the commonwealth games, individual nations competing on their own merits. If the Red Arrows sprayed blue and white ribbons one could ignore/possibly understand why they were used. However the imagery of the red, white and blue was overtly political and only an utter fool would see this as not being the case.
Also, is a rendition god save the queen standard at all commonwealth games? If it is, as she is the head of the commonwealth, that's fair enough. However, if it is not, that makes the singing of it in Scotland an overtly political move by those who organised the event. Especially as it was sung by a Scotsman (in kilt) gazing upon a monarch with a look that can only be described as being that of utter adoration.
24-07-2014, 06:35 PM
After Barrowman and Boyle it started to get better (that was awful). I actually thought the rendition of Freedom Come Ye All was very moving and beautifully done as was the wee ballet piece. The folks joined in with the singing, the dugs didn't ***** everywhere and the comedy moment where they couldn't open the baton was fun. Also every nation was cheered, obviously including England despite what certain English newspapers were reporting would happen (low opinion much).
Nevertheless, why the red arrows? Why was an entertainment wing of the British Armed Forces at an event were Scotland is supposed to be representing/celebrating/promoting it's own individual self? That is the whole point of the commonwealth games, individual nations competing on their own merits. If the Red Arrows sprayed blue and white ribbons one could ignore/possibly understand why they were used. However the imagery of the red, white and blue was overtly political and only an utter fool would see this as not being the case.
Also, is a rendition god save the queen standard at all commonwealth games? If it is, as she is the head of the commonwealth, that's fair enough. However, if it is not, that makes the singing of it in Scotland an overtly political move by those who organised the event. Especially as it was sung by a Scotsman (in kilt) gazing upon a monarch with a look that can only be described as being that of utter adoration.
I knew it................................every ****** time :brickwall
24-07-2014, 06:40 PM
Duh......
Anyway, those Scotty dogs seemed a pissed off that their bedtime walk wasn't at their usual park.mtgey were the stars of the show, half way round "**** this" you can carry me from here.
24-07-2014, 06:42 PM
Lewis77
24-07-2014, 08:15 PM
Please explain.
24-07-2014, 08:15 PM
another Gold and Silver in the mens swimming
24-07-2014, 08:22 PM
My mate Craig on the left in this pic :greengrin
24-07-2014, 08:45 PM
You can relax, there was no political motivation behind the singing of GSTQ last night.
She's head of the Commonwealth and therefore it's sung at every Games.
I know that's not quite what you wanted to hear but that's the case.
Lewis77
24-07-2014, 08:46 PM
Got tickets for the swimming Saturday, looking forward to it.
24-07-2014, 08:47 PM
not a bad view he had :agree:
Lewis77
24-07-2014, 08:49 PM
You can relax, there was no political motivation behind the singing of GSTQ last night.
She's head of the Commonwealth and therefore it's sung at every Games.
I know that's not quite what you wanted to hear but that's the case.
Not at all man, I'm glad to hear it and I'm relived that is the case, as for me it would be slightly sinister if it wasn't. You are allowed to question things you know. To be mocked for doing so is wrong.
24-07-2014, 08:51 PM
Not at all man, I'm glad to hear it and I'm relived that is the case, as for me it would slightly sinister if it wasn't. You are allowed to question things you know. To be mocked for doing so is wrong.
Youre right, the stupid question is the one you don't ask, sorry.
24-07-2014, 09:03 PM
My mate Craig on the left in this pic :greengrin
I don't know Craig, but we have a few mutuall friends. Small world eh?
Lewis77
24-07-2014, 10:01 PM
Youre right, the stupid question is the one you don't ask, sorry.
That just strikes me as being cryptic gobbledegook. I really don't wish to offend you but I have no idea what that means.
24-07-2014, 10:38 PM
That just strikes me as being cryptic gobbledegook. I really don't wish to offend you but I have no idea what that means.
I meant you were right to ask the question, and I am sorry that I mocked you for asking it. As you say, the only way we can find things out is to ask. I apologise.
25-07-2014, 11:11 AM
Interesting thoughts from a weedgie blogger here:
On every level, it took the utter ****ing piss. Chastise or celebrate that as you see fit but given how much we love trolling, we couldn’t help noticing how intent everyone seemed on bamming each other up about the whole thing. It certainly had a “Glasgow flavour” but that was largely because we all wanted to be really ****ing rude to each other in a way no-one else would understand.
http://athousandflowers.net/2014/07/24/glasgow-trolls-better-5-opening-ceremony-bam-ups/
25-07-2014, 08:52 PM
I don't know Craig, but we have a few mutuall friends. Small world eh?
It is indeed mate. Would the name Kevin McLean from the piping world ring any bells?
29-07-2014, 09:36 PM
well done to dan wallace a good hibby winning the gold and silver medals
29-07-2014, 10:22 PM
Delighted to see that Meggan Dawson-Farrell has qualified for Thursday's final in the women's wheelchair 1500m event.
I know Meggan fairly well and I know how much she's been through over the past few years. She's had so many setbacks healthwise it would have been enough to knock the stuffing out of most people.
Really chuffed for her and I hope she does well on Thursday. :aok:
30-07-2014, 05:38 AM
Delighted to see that Meggan Dawson-Farrell has qualified for Thursday's final in the women's wheelchair 1500m event.
I know Meggan fairly well and I know how much she's been through over the past few years. She's had so many setbacks healthwise it would have been enough to knock the stuffing out of most people.
Really chuffed for her and I hope she does well on Thursday. :aok:
I'm liking how the para-sport is mixed in with the rest of it, rather than part of a separate event. Possibly difficult to do at the Olympics, because of the huge numbers of people involved, but it's great to see the disability events being able to share the greater coverage and higher profile at these games.
30-07-2014, 04:52 PM
Sad anorak alert.
I have been playing around with the Medals table, and re-working it on the basis of population.
I have only looked at the major nations, so there may be a few statistical anomalies out there. However, in reverse order, this would be the table:-
Canada, 1.2 medals per 1m population
England, 1.8
Australia, 4.4
Jamaica, 4.4
New Zealand, 7.3
Scotland, 7.4
But the leaders are:-
......................... :cb
30-07-2014, 11:16 PM
I'm liking how the para-sport is mixed in with the rest of it, rather than part of a separate event. Possibly difficult to do at the Olympics, because of the huge numbers of people involved, but it's great to see the disability events being able to share the greater coverage and higher profile at these games.
It is good that there are some disability sports included at the Commonwealth Games. I understand that it's a lot more difficult to do at the Olympics and there are only a few events at the Commonwealths but it's still fantastic exposure for these athletes to get.
The Paralympics in London in 2012 was massive for disabled athletes and that really helped to raise the profile of disability sport and the inclusion of these events at the Commonwealth Games only adds to that.
Sad anorak alert.
I have been playing around with the Medals table, and re-working it on the basis of population.
I have only looked at the major nations, so there may be a few statistical anomalies out there. However, in reverse order, this would be the table:-
Canada, 1.2 medals per 1m population
England, 1.8
Australia, 4.4
Jamaica, 4.4
New Zealand, 7.3
Scotland, 7.4
But the leaders are:-
......................... :cb
Full table;
Grenada - 20 medals per 1 million people
Samoa - 15 medals per 1 million people
Isle of Man - 12.5 medals per 1 million people
Kiribati - 10 medals per 1 million people
Wales - 9 medals per 1 million people
New Zealand - 8 medals per 1 million people
Scotland - 7.8 medals per 1 million people
Cyprus - 7 medals per 1 million people
Australia - 4.6 medals per 1 million people
Jamaica - 4 medals per 1 million people
Bahamas - 3.3 medals per 1 million people
Barbados - 3.3 medals per 1 million people
Trinidad and Tobago - 2.5 medals per 1 million people
England - 1.9 medals per 1 million people
Canada - 1.4 medals per 1 million people
Fiji - 1.25 medals per 1 million people
Northern Ireland - 1.1 medals per 1 million people
Singapore - 1.1 medals per 1 million people
Namibia - 0.9 medals per 1 million people
Mauritius - 0.7 medals per 1 million people
South Africa - 0.6 medals per 1 million people
Malaysia - 0.4 medals per 1 million people
Cameroon - 0.3 medals per 1 million people
Kenya - 0.3 medals per 1 million people
Papua New Guinea - 0.3 medals per 1 million people
Nigeria - 0.1 medals per 1 million people
Zambia - 0.06 medals per 1 million people
Ghana - 0.05 medals per 1 million people
Mozambique - 0.04 medals per 1 million people
Sri Lanka - 0.04 medals per 1 million people
India - 0.03 medals per 1 million people
Uganda - 0.02 medals per 1 million people
Pakistan - 0.01 medals per 1 million people
Bangladesh - 0.006 medals per 1 million people
Yes, I did just spend the last hour and a bit working all that out! :nerd:
01-08-2014, 08:46 PM
Usain Bolt is just on a different planet. He slows down to qualify in the relay but still stretches his lead.
02-08-2014, 06:09 PM
What happened to my post about Eilidh Child?
Don't believe I broke any rules. :confused:
02-08-2014, 08:19 PM
Usain Bolt :not worth
02-08-2014, 08:27 PM
I love that big guy, dancing to the Proclaimers at the start then does that:not worth
02-08-2014, 08:39 PM
Congratulations to the Welsh lass that won Silver in the Pole Vault, don't think she had a dash at anyone, just seemed happy.
over the line
02-08-2014, 09:22 PM
Congratulations to the Welsh lass that won Silver in the Pole Vault, don't think she had a dash at anyone, just seemed happy.
Have you heard of Romania's worst ever female Olympic pole vaulter? Ivana Nokdabarov! :rolleyes::D
03-08-2014, 11:18 AM
Watched a few of the Netball matches and the question has to be asked why this isn't an Olympic sport when stuff like Handball has been and Tennis, Water Polo and Synchronised Swimming are.
Netball only has a semi professional league which makes it a hell of a lot closer to amateur than Tennis and I'm willing to bet more people play Netball than Handball or Synchronised Swimming .... not sure about Water Polo. But having watched the skill and fitness of the Netball players its a real mystery.
According to Wikipedia Netball isn't played in the USA and as a result American telly wont cover it in the Olympics so the IOC have no interest in including it .................. So much for the Olympic ideal.
IMO every sport should be in the Olympics ..... If a sport ( any sport ) has an international body and that body can organise a venue why shouldn't it be in the games TV interest or not.
Example ... Darts. No less skill involved than shooting or archery.
03-08-2014, 12:26 PM
Is it not something like x% of the worlds population have to play it? Which is why handball is in and netball isn't. Part of the problem is that only women play it, so 50% of the possible people who could play it, don't.
03-08-2014, 01:29 PM
Is it not something like x% of the worlds population have to play it? Which is why handball is in and netball isn't. Part of the problem is that only women play it, so 50% of the possible people who could play it, don't.
The X% of population cant be it, when was the last time you bumped into someone in the boozer who was a fencer or played beach volleyball. I don't know many guys who do Synchronised swimming so the 50% of population cant be a factor either.
I'm not dissing any sport by the way ... all have their different skills and high level of dedication and that's why I think everything should be included.
The other thing is that especially for amatuers an Olympic medal is the pinnacle of achievement, it makes sports I for one wouldn't open the curtains to watch if they were being played in my back garden, like swimming or fencing really watchable in the Olympics. You know that most competitors have worked like mental for 4 years to get there and this might be the only shot they ever get at glory.
03-08-2014, 03:12 PM
well done to dan wallace a good hibby winning the gold and silver medals
Arrested in the US earlier this year for pissing on a police car. Wondered where he learned that!
03-08-2014, 04:28 PM
Chapeau to Geraint Thomas - I'm really glad he won. Great finish in difficult circumstances.
03-08-2014, 08:12 PM
I think Glasgow has done a fantastic job with the games. Weather has been kind but even on the rainy days it's been brilliant. Credit where it's due.:top marks
03-08-2014, 08:58 PM
Why is the Aussie chick miming multiple songs? :confused:
03-08-2014, 09:14 PM
WTF is that on Minogues heid
03-08-2014, 09:20 PM
Kylie :drool:
03-08-2014, 09:26 PM
Missed opportunity for a duet with Lulu there.
03-08-2014, 09:27 PM
Missed the start - I take it all these folk dressed up as lollipop men and that that are dancing are just taking the piss?
03-08-2014, 09:29 PM
Just remembered why I love Kylie :greengrin
03-08-2014, 09:32 PM
huge well done to the weegies, they've done Scotland proud, the sport itself has been absolutely fantatstic as well, and for once(from me anyway) well done the BBC for the superb coverage inc the online streams :agree:
p.s. and big thanks to the man above for the gawjus weather for the first several days
03-08-2014, 10:14 PM
The best moment of the games was the fist bump between Usain Bolt and the lassie that carries his kit before his race on Friday night, the unbridled joy on her face even brought a smile to my chops and I'm a right cynical git! :-)
barcahibs
04-08-2014, 01:38 PM
Watched a few of the Netball matches and the question has to be asked why this isn't an Olympic sport when stuff like Handball has been and Tennis, Water Polo and Synchronised Swimming are.
Netball only has a semi professional league which makes it a hell of a lot closer to amateur than Tennis and I'm willing to bet more people play Netball than Handball or Synchronised Swimming .... not sure about Water Polo. But having watched the skill and fitness of the Netball players its a real mystery.
According to Wikipedia Netball isn't played in the USA and as a result American telly wont cover it in the Olympics so the IOC have no interest in including it .................. So much for the Olympic ideal.
IMO every sport should be in the Olympics ..... If a sport ( any sport ) has an international body and that body can organise a venue why shouldn't it be in the games TV interest or not.
Example ... Darts. No less skill involved than shooting or archery.
Took in a couple of netball games and was really surprised at just how good a spectator sport it is - and not just for the six foot blonde ladies in short skirts, which I'll admit was my initial attraction!
It's fast, skillfull, exciting and surprisingly physical - one lassie got a belter of an elbow right in the face when going for goal. She just raised her hand and a physio came on for two seconds to sort her out whilst a volunteer mopped the blood up off the court. A football player would have been rolling on the ground like he'd been shot.
I think the qualifying rules for the Olympics is that a certain percentage of the World's population has to be covered by a recognised governing body to be included. There's also historical sports (like Greco-Roman wrestling, and probably fencing). The percentage is lower for women's sports than men's and lower again for Paralympic sports.
When you think of some of the daft sports that get into the Olympics then it's hard to see why it's not there if it's not just that TV isn't interested (though is TV hugely interested in fencing?). I can't understand how things like Baseball can be Olympic sports but Cricket isn't either (at least 20/20 cricket).
I also discovered that Rugby Sevens is a much, much better sport than Rugby.
As for Glasgow, hats off to them they seem to have done a great job.
There was a few wee things they could have done better (eg cleaned up the areas around the venues, we went to the Hockey as well and I was a bit surprised that the crowd was funneled through an area surrounded by razor wire fences and full of dumped rubbish - then on the way out was sent through a dark alleyway where half the streetlamps were out). But in the main it all seemed to go really smoothly.
As a Hibs fan going to a sporting event in Glasgow, interacting with the Police was a bizarre experience - they couldn't have been friendlier, going out of their way to smile and positively interact with people. Why they can't do this at football matches is beyond me. Against that I thought the presence of police armed with assault rifles wandering around the SECC was bizarre and way over the top as was the sheer numbers of police at some of the road events.
The Clydesiders were amazing - though I never met a single Glaswegian one so that may explain that :greengrin I witnessed one being heavily abused by some bampot at the cycling Time Trials - the guy was insisting that he could cross the road wherever and whenever he liked and that he'd "dae what he wanted". She dealt with it amazingly well, even as he stalked off up the road shouting that he was going to come back and "do her". To be fair if he had, there was a reasonable chance that the crowd would have lynched him but she still dealt with it incredibly professionally. He disappeared into the local church which I thought was a bit ironic.
So well done Glasgow, you surprised us all. 4000 odd athletes coming together in a magnificent festival of sporting excellence and friendship - and not a single one was murdered. Amazing.
The closing ceremony was absolutely awful though.
04-08-2014, 02:22 PM
I witnessed one being heavily abused by some bampot at the cycling Time Trials - the guy was insisting that he could cross the road wherever and whenever he liked and that he'd "dae what he wanted". She dealt with it amazingly well, even as he stalked off up the road shouting that he was going to come back and "do her".
Ah, so The Games did sometimes bring out the real Glasgow. :greengrin
04-08-2014, 07:52 PM
I had relatives up for the event who went through every day to The Games.
They thoroughly enjoyed it but said the signage could have been better.
Also they often spotted volunteer guides standing together ignoring visitors which indicates a lack of training.