View Full Version : Match Updates Stirling Albion 0 v 2 Hibernian (ft)

20-07-2014, 10:16 AM
As there's no match update thread, and I already have a 100% record so far this season, I thought I should start today's.

The Beanos v the Hibees:

Will El Alaguil play?
Will we see a host of trialists?
Will Perntreou play the whole match and have yet another clean sheet?
Will 'Springkerse View (http://www.eating-inn.co.uk/house/springkerse-view-stirling)' (formerly The Hungry Horse) restaurant serve Hibs Fans?

So many questions :greengrin

p.s. What's the weather like in Stirling? It's currently 12 Noon and 29C in Munich

20-07-2014, 10:21 AM
As there's no match update thread, and I already have a 100% record so far this season, I thought I should start today's.

The Beanos v Hibs:

Will El Alaguil play?
Will we see a host of trialists?
Will Perntreou play the whole match and have yet another clean sheet?
Will 'Springkerse View (http://www.eating-inn.co.uk/house/springkerse-view-stirling)' (formerly The Hungry Horse) restaurant serve Hibs Fans?

So many questions :greengrin

I can tell you Springkerse view is very popular on a Sunday with families and they might be very reluctant to let fans with colours in. Much better to come out the station and go up to Morrisons (the pub not the supermarket:wink:) or one of the many other great pubs in Stirling then make the 15 min walk down to the game.

20-07-2014, 10:31 AM
I can tell you Springkerse view is very popular on a Sunday with families and they might be very reluctant to let fans with colours in. Much better to come out the station and go up to Morrisons (the pub not the supermarket:wink:) or one of the many other great pubs in Stirling then make the 15 min walk down to the game.

Stirling actually has some really nice Boozers and Restaurants.

However, I would disagree about the 15 minute walk. Surely it's longer than that....or am I just a bit of a slow walker :wink:

20-07-2014, 10:41 AM
Any update on weather conditions... taking the nippers through and can do without the "I'm cold" greetin. Im going for a 1-3 win and .net to be full of bedwetters by 5pm. :wink:

20-07-2014, 10:44 AM

However, I would disagree about the 15 minute walk. Surely it's longer than that....or am I just a bit of a slow walker :wink:

The new(ish) bridge by the train station speeds it up a bit. Reckon I could do it in 15 mins.

Just google mapped it, stadium is one mile from bridge. Base it on how quickly you could walk Princes St.

20-07-2014, 10:46 AM
Any update on weather conditions... taking the nippers through and can do without the "I'm cold" greetin. Im going for a 1-3 win and .net to be full of bedwetters by 5pm. :wink:

Blue skies and 20 degC currently in nearby Alloa.

20-07-2014, 10:46 AM
The new(ish) bridge by the train station speeds it up a bit. Reckon I could do it in 15 mins.

Just google mapped it, stadium is one mile from bridge. Base it on how quickly you could walk Princes St.

There you go then, that usually takes me about 45 minutes. That might be something to do with all the shoppers and charity muggers but still......

20-07-2014, 11:07 AM
24 degrees. Just out the Kirk, home for lunch then into town.

20-07-2014, 11:25 AM
I would recommend the Hollybank on Glasgow road. Great pub food and it would make my father in law happy as he owns it!!

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

20-07-2014, 11:28 AM
I would recommend the Hollybank on Glasgow road. Great pub food and it would make my father in law happy as he owns it!!

Bit of a walk though. 😄

20-07-2014, 11:32 AM
Bit of a walk though. 😄

True. For those driving though it for buses stopping it's a good location!

Plus the owner (my father in law) is a Hun so he appreciate the influx of hibees!!

20-07-2014, 11:38 AM
True. For those driving though it for buses stopping it's a good location!

Plus the owner (my father in law) is a Hun so he appreciate the influx of hibees!!

Hmm, wondered why I hadn't eaten there for years! 😁

Never knowingly given money to a hun.😋

20-07-2014, 11:40 AM
Try marrying into a family of them!

20-07-2014, 11:44 AM
You should've carried out the necessary background checks before letting things get that far!

Mcpakeisgod
20-07-2014, 11:50 AM

Was there before when sightseeing in Stirling, food was absolutely fantastic!

20-07-2014, 11:56 AM
I'll give it a try some day soon. Used to go there for Xmas lunch many many moons ago.

20-07-2014, 12:02 PM
#Hibs (4-3-3) Trialist, Gray, Forster, Hanlon, Stevenson, Craig, Jones, Robertson, Harris, El Alagui, Stanton vs #StirlingAlbion

20-07-2014, 12:05 PM
Is the trialist keeper Antoine Gounet? They've been naming them so far but just down as trialist on the twitter account.

20-07-2014, 12:06 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 59s (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/490829391476576256) New signing Farid El Alagui poised to make his #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) debut today at #StirlingCounty (https://twitter.com/hashtag/StirlingCounty?src=hash) in a three-man forward line with Harris and Stanton

20-07-2014, 12:06 PM
Good to see we've got rugby lads in

20-07-2014, 12:07 PM

No it's about 15 minutes across the rail bridge, looking forward to today, I only live a few miles away in Menstrie

Number69
20-07-2014, 12:10 PM
Any idea who the keeper is? Trialist obviously...

20-07-2014, 12:11 PM
Looks like a 4-2-3-1 formation, solid middle and 3 attack mids behind El Alagui, would've been there but got a day off to take the wife for our anniversary meal ( was wednesday )

jimmyboco1875
20-07-2014, 12:12 PM
I like the look of that team

20-07-2014, 12:17 PM
#Hibs (4-3-3) Trialist, Gray, Forster, Hanlon, Stevenson, Craig, Jones, Robertson, Harris, El Alagui, Stanton vs #StirlingAlbion

Our starting 11 for the season ahead.

20-07-2014, 12:17 PM

Seriously?

20-07-2014, 12:18 PM

Sadly :(

20-07-2014, 12:19 PM

Easily pleased mate

20-07-2014, 12:22 PM

Your at it.

jimmyboco1875
20-07-2014, 12:22 PM
Seriously?

Aye or I wouldn't have wrote it...

20-07-2014, 12:24 PM
Easily pleased mate
I agree with you, hopefully we have atleast another 5 signings, this team will really struggle, especially against livingstone. I am trying to stay positive but as every day goes by, it gets harder. The championship is tough we will struggle.

20-07-2014, 12:24 PM
Morrisons car park for anyone with the car (5 min walk to ground) Carrot cake no too bad neither. ;-)

20-07-2014, 12:36 PM
Any word on who the keeper is?

20-07-2014, 12:37 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/20/apu4a7ug.jpg

Lovely sunny day, perfect for footy and looks like a good Hibs support through

20-07-2014, 12:37 PM
Looks like a 4-2-3-1 formation, solid middle and 3 attack mids behind El Alagui, would've been there but got a day off to take the wife for our anniversary meal ( was wednesday )

Playing 4-3-3 according to official twitter page

Harris Farid Stanton is the front 3

GoldenEagle
20-07-2014, 12:38 PM

I still believe we'll see at least 3 first team players added to that X1..

However should the unthinkable happen and this is it then we'll be lucky to hit the play offs.

Actually worse than last season IMO.

erin-go-bragh87
20-07-2014, 12:40 PM
Aye or I wouldn't have wrote it...

I agree, with the players we have that's the team and formation I wanted to see. Don't really know why your getting grief!

20-07-2014, 12:40 PM
Playing 4-3-3 according to official twitter page

Harris Farid Stanton is the front 3

It may say that but Harris and Stanton are not and never will be forwards, it looks more like a 4-2-3-1 with Craig/Stanton/Harris as the 3 forward thing mids with OTJ and Robertson doing the donkey work in the middle.

jimmyboco1875
20-07-2014, 12:41 PM
I agree, with the players we have that's the team and formation I wanted to see. Don't really know why your getting grief!

Lol I know, some folk on here just like disagreeing mate

Manxhibs
20-07-2014, 12:42 PM

I actually agree with you (one of the few it seems). I am of the opinion that Stubbs and his back room staff can get the best out of the likes of Craig, Jones and Harris, they've played well before so not too far fetched.

We will need a number of signings to help push for the title, however, id be content if that team started against The Rangers.

20-07-2014, 12:47 PM
That's an awful team. Probably likely to challenge for top 4 but never going to win the playoffs.

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 12:47 PM
I actually agree with you (one of the few it seems). I am of the opinion that Stubbs and his back room staff can get the best out of the likes of Craig, Jones and Harris, they've played well before so not too far fetched.

We will need a number of signings to help push for the title, however, id be content if that team started against The Rangers.

Agree with sentiments on all of them with the exception of tudor jones, he was mince under butchet and hes a butcher player, a guy he had at ICT and suits the hoofball style. The guy has no touch, no composure and cant pass.

JPrinty
20-07-2014, 12:48 PM
I think that's the best we can expect with the current group of players. Still nowhere near good enough though!

lumbo_hfc
20-07-2014, 12:48 PM
I still believe we'll see at least 3 first team players added to that X1..

However should the unthinkable happen and this is it then we'll be lucky to hit the play offs.

Actually worse than last season IMO.

I think that team would be challenging for 2nd or 3rd in the league. The problem in the second half of last season was tactics and not so much the players (although they did show little fight).

If we had a goalscorer last season we wouldn't have went down, lets hope el alagui is that man!

20-07-2014, 12:49 PM
Any word on who the keeper is?

http://www.hibernian-mad.co.uk/news/tmnw/hibs_take_french_keeper_antoine_gounet_on_trial_83 6439/index.shtml

Antoine Gounet probably

Manxhibs
20-07-2014, 12:50 PM
Agree with sentiments on all of them with the exception of tudor jones, he was mince under butchet and hes a butcher player, a guy he had at ICT and suits the hoofball style. The guy has no touch, no composure and cant pass.

I was at the Berwick game and Jones was picking passes that Beckham would've been proud of. Called up for the Welsh team a number of times, so must be a player in there somewhere.

Stuarty27
20-07-2014, 12:52 PM
I was at the Berwick game and Jones was picking passes that Beckham would've been proud of. Called up for the Welsh team a number of times, so must be a player in there somewhere.

I was at the Berwick game and can't remember any of those passes? Was it the warm up or at halftime?

20-07-2014, 12:52 PM

I wasn't at the game but a friend who was said also the OTJ was very good at Berwick. Let's give him a chance.

lumbo_hfc
20-07-2014, 12:58 PM

He did play well against berwick. Against dunfermline, in a good hibs performance, he was by far the worst player, the little pars centre midfielder gave him the runaround several times.

For a big guy, hes a bit of a *****bag. Nothing will ever change my mind on that after his attempted tackle for hamiltons 2nd goal at easter road!

Stuarty27
20-07-2014, 01:05 PM
For a big guy, hes a bit of a *****bag. Nothing will ever change my mind on that after his attempted tackle for hamiltons 2nd goal at easter road!

What about his shot as well? :)

Stuarty27
20-07-2014, 01:06 PM
Looking at the 11 I would say it was the strongest we have apart from Booth in for Stevenson for me.

20-07-2014, 01:16 PM
Is it still 0-0?

20-07-2014, 01:17 PM
Aye

20-07-2014, 01:19 PM
It may say that but Harris and Stanton are not and never will be forwards, it looks more like a 4-2-3-1 with Craig/Stanton/Harris as the 3 forward thing mids with OTJ and Robertson doing the donkey work in the middle.

Aye okay your right ... Official Hibs post is wrong !! 😏👍

20-07-2014, 01:22 PM
Hibs all over them but shooting on target is letting us down, big El skyed one and Harris hits side netting.

20-07-2014, 01:22 PM
Looking at the 11 I would say it was the strongest we have apart from Booth in for Stevenson for me.

:crazy:

fife hfc
20-07-2014, 01:23 PM
Out of that line up we need a Goalkeeper, Booth instead of Stevenson and defence is okay imho. jones replaced by defensive midfielder and another 2 or 3 squad players then we would be better equiped. Harris was supposedly bullied so hopefully better this season and Stanton on the left of the forward line would be better for me as he has the skill but not the physical attributes to deal with a battle in the middle of the park. Craig and Robertson are good players and more than capable of holding their own against our main challengers, Stubbs just has to get them back to that level. Its the overall squad that is seriously laking and needs bolstered quickly.

Stuarty27
20-07-2014, 01:26 PM
:crazy:

Do explain?

20-07-2014, 01:30 PM
1-0 Hibs. Forster

Leitherhibs
1-0!!

dmc1875
Goal Forster 1-0

TheFamous1875
20-07-2014, 01:31 PM
Yas! Was it a header from a cross, or an individual goal??

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

20-07-2014, 01:31 PM
He did play well against berwick. Against dunfermline, in a good hibs performance, he was by far the worst player, the little pars centre midfielder gave him the runaround several times.

As I've said before, OTJ is a player who can find space.
Then he stands in it and watches the game.

20-07-2014, 01:33 PM
Goal Forster 1-0

Will be an important source of goals next season Jordan.

20-07-2014, 01:34 PM

I'm inclined to agree. We are where we are, and that's not far away from a strong first division team. I'm expecting them, to a man, to perform far better than they did under Butcher. Only change I'd make would be Booth in at left back and put Stevenson in the middle at OTJ's expense.

20-07-2014, 01:35 PM
How's the keeper looking? Much to do?

20-07-2014, 01:37 PM
Do explain?

Stevenson is a better player than Booth. Booth struggled in the spl whilst Stevenson has been Hibs best player over the last few seasons

20-07-2014, 01:38 PM
I think that with, hopefully, a decent manager in that team should do okay. It was a mid table premiership team before Butcher took over.

I don't think we're done with signings either

TheFamous1875
20-07-2014, 01:38 PM
Again, like many have reiterated we have the makings of a good team, but are not gonna be that without a bit extra quality. We can't rely on Stanton, Forster Harris, etc, so we need 2 or 3 at the least quality players in and then we can push on and challenge.

20-07-2014, 01:40 PM
Someone text me to say El-Alagui has been impressive.

20-07-2014, 01:43 PM
Someone text me to say El-Alagui has been impressive.

You asking or telling?:confused:

20-07-2014, 01:44 PM
http://www.snspix.com/image/10094044_400_400_0_0_fit_6_d7b5a886c3547b61f251d94 7e11de125.jpg
http://www.snspix.com/image/10094046_400_400_0_0_fit_6_b2d6673f7dcded8b62fdcb8 69a13c5a9.jpg
http://www.snspix.com/image/10094052_400_400_0_0_fit_6_980ec7e9a45a2fe08ff1390 9f825474e.jpg

20-07-2014, 01:48 PM
Stevenson has been Hibs best player over the last few seasons

Has he really? Better than Leigh when he was here? :confused:

dmc1875
20-07-2014, 01:48 PM
How's the keeper looking? Much to do?

Just went AWOL which led to Stirling hitting the post and Hanlon clearing off the line.

HT

20-07-2014, 01:49 PM
Just went AWOL which led to Stirling hitting the post and Hanlon clearing off the line.

HT

Sign him up.

TheFamous1875

I think he means all players apart from Leigh who was genuinely class!

Got text saying been ok, El Alagui looks promising, keeper not too convincing

20-07-2014, 01:50 PM
http://www.snspix.com/image/10094044_400_400_0_0_fit_6_d7b5a886c3547b61f251d94 7e11de125.jpg
http://www.snspix.com/image/10094046_400_400_0_0_fit_6_b2d6673f7dcded8b62fdcb8 69a13c5a9.jpg
http://www.snspix.com/image/10094052_400_400_0_0_fit_6_980ec7e9a45a2fe08ff1390 9f825474e.jpg

What's with the Jamaican flag? Bit odd

20-07-2014, 01:51 PM
Will be an important source of goals next season Jordan.

He has the promise to go on and be a very good footballer.

20-07-2014, 01:52 PM

Steve is that J in the first pic ☺

20-07-2014, 01:54 PM
What's with the (Irish) flag? Bit odd

:duck:

[disclaimer: he didn't actually write that :wink:]

20-07-2014, 01:54 PM
As I've said before, OTJ is a player who can find space.
Then he stands in it and watches the game.

Not my favourite player either. If he could learn to be an aerial threat, would be good player at this level. Otherwise in a Hibs top… :sick:

20-07-2014, 01:55 PM

Goes with the large cloud of hashish smoke.

20-07-2014, 01:56 PM
:duck:

I could swear that's a Jamaican flag and I've been looking at it for a good few minutes now :greengrin :wink:

Stevenson is a better player than Booth. Booth struggled in the spl whilst Stevenson has been Hibs best player over the last few seasons

What he said i just wasnt here to say it myself. And how often, apart from the Raith cup game last season have you seen Booth play ?!

Over the last few seasons, LG was not here last year

20-07-2014, 01:57 PM
I could swear that's a Jamaican flag and I've been looking at it for a good few minutes now :greengrin :wink:

Sorry mate, it's the one behind. I just felt we hadn't done a decent flag debate for a while

20-07-2014, 01:57 PM
What he said i just wasnt here to say it myself. And how often, apart from the Raith cup game last season have yoh seen Booth play ?!

Not at all because he was deemed not good enough for Hibs

20-07-2014, 01:58 PM
Hibs loads of posession without testing the keeper. Great cross from Craig for the goal. This is probably the best starting XI we have until we get a decent keeper. Only change would be to play Stevenson as the holding midfielder in place of the statue that is OTJ and put Booth at LB. Worrying really.

20-07-2014, 01:58 PM

It does look like him mate

20-07-2014, 02:00 PM
Sorry mate, it's the one behind. I just felt we hadn't done a decent flag debate for a while

Ah I see, well then.

Why do we have an Irish flag at the game? We are a Scottish team after all! :duck:

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 02:00 PM

It was deemed he'd be better suited to playimg first team football elsewhere, still a young guy. Dont think hes ever been told hes not good enough for hibs.

20-07-2014, 02:01 PM

I was asking the person who asked to explain not you :wink:

20-07-2014, 02:01 PM
Ah I see, well then.

Why do we have an Irish flag at the game? We are a Scottish team after all! :duck:

That's the spirit

GlenrothesHibee
20-07-2014, 02:02 PM
We're playing like Brazil ;-)

20-07-2014, 02:03 PM
Wasn't brought to hibs by Butcher.

Plastic Rastas, its all part of the new marketing campaign, we have finally conceded the plastic paddy market to the celtc.

Attendance; 1453 the majority of which are hibs fans. Via Hiberniantv

20-07-2014, 02:04 PM
Hanlon - anyone there think he is back fit?

I'm guessing the choice of opponent was partly to get more artificial pitch experience given that we will be playing on a few this season?

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 02:04 PM
Wasn't brought to hibs by Butcher.

Didnt say he was. Played under butcher for long enough though.

20-07-2014, 02:05 PM
Any updates from the game?

20-07-2014, 02:05 PM
I was asking the person who asked to explain not you :wink:

Well you should have pm him then!!!

20-07-2014, 02:06 PM
Any updates from the game?

46: El Alagui sees his long range effort go wide of the post

20-07-2014, 02:07 PM
Long range strike from El- Alagooooey goes wide

20-07-2014, 02:08 PM
Didnt say he was. Played under butcher for long enough though.
Your absolutely right he did, in a pretty good ICT team.

20-07-2014, 02:09 PM
Trialist goalkeeper spilled the ball under pressure, cleared by Forster.

20-07-2014, 02:11 PM
Over the last few seasons, LG was not here last year

Just dinnae see it myself, if its true it becomes one of the many reasons to explain why we are in this league.

The Leith Dutch
20-07-2014, 02:11 PM

Not my favourite player either. If he could learn to be an aerial threat, would be good player at this level. Otherwise in a Hibs top… :sick:

Always felt that Tom Taiwo's attitude, commitment and slightly better passing with OTJ height would have been just what we needed as a player.
That said I suppose all I'm really saying about OTJ is "He may be s**t but at least he's tall".....

20-07-2014, 02:12 PM

He'll fit in with our normal class of GK then

20-07-2014, 02:14 PM

It is with Ross.

20-07-2014, 02:15 PM
Goal!

Harris half Volley. Hibs 2-0

Harris hits a great volley into the net

Leitherhibs
Harris 2-0

20-07-2014, 02:16 PM
Forster hits the post with a header .

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 02:16 PM
Your absolutely right he did, in a pretty good ICT team.

Haha aye and for 6 months + under butcher, he wasn't considered good enough to start very often during that regime was he? In a side that were relegated.

20-07-2014, 02:17 PM
Harris 2-0

Good for Alex hopefully get back to his confident best this season.

Goal!

Harris half Volley. Hibs 2-0

Well done Harris! :clapper:

Subs,

Alagui for Allan

Tudur Jones for Handling

20-07-2014, 02:20 PM
Harris movement and willingness to beat a man with the ball on the deck sounds very encouraging.

Im only listening via Hiberniantv so there may be a slight bit of bias from the commentary team, but it sure beats the hammering hibs normally take on the radio from the bbc

20-07-2014, 02:21 PM
@HibernianFCClub: El Alagui has shown flashes of immense promise today; winning the ball in the air, showing strength on the ball and skill too. Productiv ...

Sounds very promising !

20-07-2014, 02:21 PM
Good for Alex hopefully get back to his confident best this season.

Always good for the front players to get in on the goals in the friendlies to help with the confidence for the upcoming season, big season for Harris.

20-07-2014, 02:22 PM
@HibernianFCClub: 61: Forster tries to replicate Pele's goal in Escape to Victory, but it goes wide...ambitious effort!

20-07-2014, 02:23 PM
Goal for Harris? Two in pre-seasons already? But the hystericals assured us that he was a player bereft of confidence did they not? Big AS must be a miracle worker, nay perhaps even the Messiah,
if he has sorted out Harris as quickly as this.....:greengrin

20-07-2014, 02:23 PM
@HibernianFCClub: 61: Forster tries to replicate Pele's goal in Escape to Victory, but it goes wide...ambitious effort!

I'll have what's he's having :wink:

20-07-2014, 02:24 PM
Goal for Harris? Two in pre-seasons already? But the hystericals assured us that he was a player bereft of confidence did they not? Big AS must be a miracle worker, nay perhaps even the Messiah,
if he has sorted out Harris as quickly as this.....:greengrin

Don't get too excited someone will he along shortly to berate you for being positive :greengrin

macd123
20-07-2014, 02:29 PM

Been on trial with some league 2 clubs without any luck. Would be surprised if this is one of the quality signings we are waiting for. Hope not.

20-07-2014, 02:31 PM
@HibernianFCClub: 68: Gray goes close with a spectacular shot from long range. He's got a taste for it now...

20-07-2014, 02:32 PM
Don't get too excited someone will he along shortly to berate you for being positive :greengrin
Where is Hibercelona anyway? Did he get launched? He was always good for being a miserable git....

20-07-2014, 02:32 PM

Scary thing is you're no wrong!!!

20-07-2014, 02:33 PM
It is with Ross.

Thought it was mate.

20-07-2014, 02:35 PM
Gray off for Nelson

20-07-2014, 02:36 PM
http://www.snspix.com/image/10094060_400_400_0_0_fit_6_bc899d93185c12bcda1d6e1 e3050f44f.jpg

20-07-2014, 02:45 PM
Hanlon off for Gardiner

20-07-2014, 02:50 PM
Haha aye and for 6 months + under butcher, he was considered good enough to start very often during that regime was he? In a side that were relegated.
I'm sorry but dont really know what point your trying to make now.

Hibby_G
20-07-2014, 02:51 PM
What's the score?

20-07-2014, 02:53 PM
FULL TIME: #StirlingAlbion (https://twitter.com/hashtag/StirlingAlbion?src=hash) 0 #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) 2 (Forster, Harris) Another encouraging performance from the squad. Plenty still to work on, but over ...

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 02:53 PM
I'm sorry but dont really know what point your trying to make now.

Tudor Jones isnt good enough. What point are you trying to make?

20-07-2014, 02:54 PM
What's the score?

But the Happy Clappers have slight advantage thus far :wink:

Hibby_G
20-07-2014, 02:54 PM
FULL TIME: #StirlingAlbion (https://twitter.com/hashtag/StirlingAlbion?src=hash) 0 #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) 2 (Forster, Harris) Another encouraging performance from the squad. Plenty still to work on, but over ...

Cheers mate

20-07-2014, 02:56 PM
What's the score?

Full time 2-0 Hibs....FOUR CLEAN SHEETS IN A ROW :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Northern Hibby
20-07-2014, 02:56 PM
Happy 👏 👏 👏

20-07-2014, 02:57 PM
Very assured performance from the team. Lots to like about the way we knocked the ball about and zero hoof ball.

20-07-2014, 02:58 PM
Here's a question.. When was the last time we had 4 clean sheets in a row :hmmm:

20-07-2014, 02:59 PM

A mere blip compared with the dominance of the doom and gloomers. :-)

20-07-2014, 03:00 PM
Still to concede a goal in pre season and scored ten. We'll get a few quality signings in, we don't be rushed into signing dross - I don't think we're here to be underestimated.

Bring on the the Rangers!

20-07-2014, 03:01 PM
Very assured performance from the team. Lots to like about the way we knocked the ball about and zero hoof ball.

Part 1 of the recovery plan seems to be in place then… :aok:

20-07-2014, 03:02 PM
Here's a question.. When was the last time we had 4 clean sheets in a row :hmmm:

I'm going to guess that it was when we last didn't let any goals in for four consecutive matches.

20-07-2014, 03:02 PM
Striker look good in the air and showed lots of nice touches. OTJ still an issue for me in that holding mid role. Craig did it better in the 2 half but then we miss him going forward. We really need a good holding mid.

AL-Qaholik
20-07-2014, 03:19 PM
Cummings seems conspicuously absent from all these pre-season games...
Legitimately injured or enroute to South Wales?
Hope it's not the latter - think he could be a very useful player in this division.

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 03:19 PM
Hope it's not the latter - think he could be a very useful player in this division.

Hamstring tweak down at Vale of Leithen.

20-07-2014, 03:20 PM

Yeah he is injured.........

20-07-2014, 03:34 PM

Just wait till this lot play a decent team. Dundee Unted will wipe the floor with them!

................Just helping balance things out :wink:

20-07-2014, 03:47 PM

The last time Hibs were on tour and stayed in hotels? :wink:

muthillhibee
20-07-2014, 03:50 PM
Cummings and Heffernan both sitting in the stand behind the Hibs dugout.

AL-Qaholik
20-07-2014, 03:52 PM
Yeah he is injured.........

Hamstring tweak down at Vale of Leithen.

Good good! Would love to see him on a longer term contract too but first things first...

Turkish Green
20-07-2014, 06:34 PM

When did they last play 4 lower / non league opponents in a row.

Vale of Leithen
Berwick Rangers
Dunfermline Ath
Stirling Alb.

Make of it what you will, you can only beat the team in front of you.

20-07-2014, 06:47 PM

From doing a quick check, it would seem that we last did it in competitive fixtures back in February and March 2009;

Hibs 0-0 Falkirk
Hamilton 0-1 Hibs
Hibs 1-0 Hearts
Hibs 0-0 Aberdeen

scuttle
20-07-2014, 06:52 PM
Liked the football played today, everyone trying to keep it on the deck. Liked the professionalism at half time with keeper being warmed up and subs getting a proper warm up. We were miles ahead of Stirling but still looked a bit lightweight up front, Farid not match fit yet and Harris starting to get his confidence back all seems good for start of season. Add 3 or 4 quality players and ill be optimistic.Only negative from today was OTJ ,thought he was murder

20-07-2014, 06:52 PM
From doing a quick check, it would seem that we last did it in competitive fixtures back in February and March 2009;

Hibs 0-0 Falkirk
Hamilton 0-1 Hibs
Hibs 1-0 Hearts
Hibs 0-0 Aberdeen
The mad monk in goals IIRC?

20-07-2014, 07:08 PM

36+ on the way, depending on cup draws. Sigh.

20-07-2014, 07:23 PM

Vale of Leithen
Berwick Rangers
Dunfermline Ath
Stirling Alb.

Make of it what you will, you can only beat the team in front of you.

... Or not as was the case with Mixu :( what was his preseason record btw?

20-07-2014, 08:11 PM
any name to the goalie? or is he just a.trialist?

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 08:13 PM
Antoine Gounet, ex brentford and had been training with Fulham, allegedly.

20-07-2014, 08:15 PM
any name to the goalie? or is he just a.trialist?

Antoine Gounet.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antoine_Gounet

20-07-2014, 08:24 PM
Antoine Gounet.

40 appearances in six years. Doesn't fill me with much confidence. Hopefully there's a plan B.

20-07-2014, 08:30 PM
I understand the need for the trialist process, but understand it less in terms of a keeper.
He wasn't overworked today at all and nor would he have been in the three previous friendlies.

On the assumption that the coaching staff will want to see a pro they have on trial perform under a bit of pressure while demonstrating his skills and preferably working his backside off, in a goalie's case this might mean your team mates having a stinker in front of you or your opponent dominating. Unlikely against the calibre of opposition to date.

Also, if Combe has indeed been registered as back up (and if it's right that he hasn't played in a couple of seasons?), then I would have thought he might have had half an hour by now just to get his eye in.

20-07-2014, 08:30 PM
40 appearances in six years. Doesn't fill me with much confidence. Hopefully there's a plan B.

TBF he did nothing wrong today... didn't have many full on strikes on him but he handled all the high balls and his distribution was perfect. Hopefully he plays against Utd so we can see if he's up to it or not.

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 08:34 PM
http://www.gettyimages.co.uk/detail/news-photo/antoine-gounet-of-hibernian-looks-on-during-the-pre-season-news-photo/452430184

20-07-2014, 08:37 PM
Striker look good in the air and showed lots of nice touches. OTJ still an issue for me in that holding mid role. Craig did it better in the 2 half but then we miss him going forward. We really need a good holding mid.

We could give Lewis Stevenson a go in there. Agree with you regarding OTJ.

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 08:39 PM
I understand the need for the trialist process, but understand it less in terms of a keeper.
He wasn't overworked today at all and nor would he have been in the three previous friendlies.

On the assumption that the coaching staff will want to see a pro they have on trial perform under a bit of pressure while demonstrating his skills and preferably working his backside off, in a goalie's case this might mean your team mates having a stinker in front of you or your opponent dominating. Unlikely against the calibre of opposition to date.

Also, if Combe has indeed been registered as back up (and if it's right that he hasn't played in a couple of seasons?), then I would have thought he might have had half an hour by now just to get his eye in.

My thoughts exactly, not the right environment to judge a goalkeeper.

20-07-2014, 08:41 PM
We could give Lewis Stevenson a go in there. Agree with you regarding OTJ.

I think the biggest problem with OTJ is the length of his legs. It evidently takes far too long for his brain to get the message to his feet.

20-07-2014, 08:47 PM
Thought we did well today going forward,I still think we are lacking something though, someone who can offer something else, maybe a bit of pace, skill and confidence. if Harris and Stanton get Injured we will be in trouble if we don't have any decent replacement so a few more signings are definitely needed. Thought the keeper wasn't too bad today, talked to the defence a lot, his kicking seemed decent and he seems confident, I think Stubbs will have one more look at him against Dundee United and then decide what he wants to do. Things not looking too bad though, better than last season anyway playing wise

20-07-2014, 08:49 PM
My thoughts exactly, not the right environment to judge a goalkeeper.
So we should just sign someone and hope that he works out without actually seeing him play? The decision to sign a keeper needs to based off what is seen in training only? Lol.....

20-07-2014, 08:55 PM
So we should just sign someone and hope that he works out without actually seeing him play? The decision to sign a keeper needs to based off what is seen in training only? Lol.....

How many times have you seen a trialist in goals for Hibs and what made us sign all those other goalies who weren't trialists?

Turkish Green
20-07-2014, 09:02 PM
... Or not as was the case with Mixu :( what was his preseason record btw?
Was it something like P9 W0 D1 L8 F2 A19

Remind me, why did RP sack Mixu?

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 09:05 PM

No idea what the 'lol...' Is for?

We should be looking to sign keepers we know about, sure stubbs will have seen plenty in reserve league as will his new backroom team have seen some in english lower leagues, Marsella has this mythical list and should have a good few keepers in mind given that TB released williams and butcher.
The point is playing against a side were you are unlikely to be tested more than a couple times over 90 mins doesnt give a decent assessment.

Leitherhibs
20-07-2014, 09:05 PM
Sure zibi had a good game on trial over in Ireland..

portycabbage
20-07-2014, 09:17 PM
Antoine Gounet.

To be fair, it says his uncle let him work in his porcelain factory, so at least someone has confidence in his handling.:wink:

20-07-2014, 09:36 PM
Sure zibi had a good game on trial over in Ireland..

He wasn't on trial. He had signed before we played St Pats. I remember he claimed an early high ball, the Hibs fans cheered & Simon Brown looked sick. Little did we know!

20-07-2014, 09:52 PM
Antoine Gounet.

Was that him it says he is 6ft 1 on his page the goalie today didnt look that tall

20-07-2014, 10:34 PM
Just watch Stubbs after match interview.... Comes across very well ... Getting more and more positive

20-07-2014, 10:41 PM
Hanlon - anyone there think he is back fit?

I'm guessing the choice of opponent was partly to get more artificial pitch experience given that we will be playing on a few this season?

Yes Hanlon is fit.

Forthbank is real grass , don't know why you think it was artificial :confused:

20-07-2014, 10:46 PM
Just watch Stubbs after match interview.... Comes across very well ... Getting more and more positive

Wee sense of frustration at some signings perhaps falling through or stalling but overall he is saying the right things. From the few clips that were shown we looked a completely different side from last season.

Some of the off the ball movement was very good and what a pleasure it is to see the ball being moved about comfortably again.

20-07-2014, 10:49 PM
Yes Hanlon is fit.

Forthbank is real grass , don't know why you think it was artificial :confused:

Hanlon was inch perfect today. nuff said.

KdyHby
20-07-2014, 10:49 PM
Laughed at the concern expressed about Booth possibly trying to bring down the passing helicopter.

20-07-2014, 10:51 PM
Hanlon was inch perfect today. nuff said.