View Full Version : Sacramento Republic vrs The Rangers..

20-07-2014, 07:14 AM
So, I'm just back from the game, seeing as I live in Sacramento and knew THEY were in town I decided to go along to the game with the wife, and there was only one top I was wearing! (Silly/controversial?..well, yes, hands up there!)

Firstly, their fans - As we all know, utter vermin. However, a preseason friendly all the way out here and I STILL encountered some bam pots.
There was a young lass around 14 years of age, sitting behind us with a bunch of her friends. She was American and she was wearing a Celtic top. This is within 2 minutes of her sitting down in her seat with her friends, a Rangers fan (man in his 40s) seething quickly walks over to her and comes face to face and shouts very aggressively 'You better get that top off right now! You're lucky I've not had a drink in me yet, but when I do and if you still have that top on then I'm not responsible for my actions towards you!'

Just as I was about to say something (imagine his face then, a Celtic top, then confronted by a boy in a Hibs top!?) he quickly climbed back up over seats to all his mates who had a right laugh. The girl, completely shaken up along with her friends, pulled out another top and put it over her Celtic one.

The section started filling up big time with huns, surprisingly no one came up to me and said anything about my Hibs top, (I think the dark shade of green didn't catch the eye quite as much) but a few did and gave me the eyes.

Anyways I was feeling dirty and said to the wife we were going to move around to a section on the opposite side that was mostly Sacramento Republic fans.

I saw around 8 older guys in the stadium with Celtic tops on, brave guys! There was about 150-200 Rangers fans. One wearing a Northern Island flag/British flag around his neck verbally abusing all the Sacramento fans that walked into the stadium, then when one guy said something along the lines of 'F The Rangers dude' and turned and walked away, the hun ran at him and flying kick/tackled him to the ground where they scuffled for a few seconds before security (who saw what happened, rightly escorted the Rangers fan out of the stadium and the Sac fan safely to his seat. Utter filth!!

They also sang god save the queen before the game (as in the teams respective national anthems) which confused a lot of Sacramento fans.

Anyway, the game ended 1-2 to Rangers, Ian Black scoring in the 90th minute. Rangers were GARBAGE! Now yes, I realize you can't fully judge results/performances pre season, but they should have wiped the floor with what the standard of Sacramento are (a team that was formed a mere year ago!) Sacramento had more chances and just as much possession as them.

Dean Sheils was warming up along the side line, so I went down to the front and shouted 'Deano (to which he looked up, surprised/raising a smile seeing my top) when are you signing for the Hibees mate? There's rumors that go around every now and then!' He quickly said 'nah mate' shock his head with a smile and gave me the thumbs up. Good lad.

My overall verdict, Miller, and Boyd looked decent, but their boy in defense (ponytail, name escapes me?) looked shocking, along with big Zal who aswel looked completely terrible. Get at that defense and they will conseed!

Anyway, that's my (rather meaningless) report!

Been living here for 2 years now but boy......I still ABSOLUTELY HATE 'The Rangers'!

20-07-2014, 07:27 AM
So, I'm just back from the game, seeing as I live in Sacramento and knew THEY were in town I decided to go along to the game with the wife, and there was only one top I was wearing! (Silly/controversial?..well, yes, hands up there!)

Firstly, their fans - As we all know, utter vermin. However, a preseason friendly all the way out here and I STILL encountered some bam pots.
There was a young lass around 14 years of age, sitting behind us with a bunch of her friends. She was American and she was wearing a Celtic top. This is within 2 minutes of her sitting down in her seat with her friends, a Rangers fan (man in his 40s) seething quickly walks over to her and comes face to face and shouts very aggressively 'You better get that top off right now! You're lucky I've not had a drink in me yet, but when I do and if you still have that top on then I'm not responsible for my actions towards you!'

Just as I was about to say something (imagine his face then, a Celtic top, then confronted by a boy in a Hibs top!?) he quickly climbed back up over seats to all his mates who had a right laugh. The girl, completely shaken up along with her friends, pulled out another top and put it over her Celtic one.

The section started filling up big time with huns, surprisingly no one came up to me and said anything about my Hibs top, (I think the dark shade of green didn't catch the eye quite as much) but a few did and gave me the eyes.

Anyways I was feeling dirty and said to the wife we were going to move around to a section on the opposite side that was mostly Sacramento Republic fans.

I saw around 8 older guys in the stadium with Celtic tops on, brave guys! There was about 150-200 Rangers fans. One wearing a Northern Island flag/British flag around his neck verbally abusing all the Sacramento fans that walked into the stadium, then when one guy said something along the lines of 'F The Rangers dude' and turned and walked away, the hun ran at him and flying kick/tackled him to the ground where they scuffled for a few seconds before security (who saw what happened, rightly escorted the Rangers fan out of the stadium and the Sac fan safely to his seat. Utter filth!!

They also sang god save the queen before the game (as in the teams respective national anthems) which confused a lot of Sacramento fans.

Anyway, the game ended 1-2 to Rangers, Ian Black scoring in the 90th minute. Rangers were GARBAGE! Now yes, I realize you can't fully judge results/performances pre season, but they should have wiped the floor with what the standard of Sacramento are (a team that was formed a mere year ago!) Sacramento had more chances and just as much possession as them.

Dean Sheils was warming up along the side line, so I went down to the front and shouted 'Deano (to which he looked up, surprised/raising a smile seeing my top) when are you signing for the Hibees mate? There's rumors that go around every now and then!' He quickly said 'nah mate' shock his head with a smile and gave me the thumbs up. Good lad.

My overall verdict, Miller, and Boyd looked decent, but their boy in defense (ponytail, name escapes me?) looked shocking, along with big Zal who aswel looked completely terrible. Get at that defense and they will conseed!

Been living here for 2 years now but boy......I still ABSOLUTELY HATE 'The Rangers'!

Thanks for the report. Your summary about the Rangers fans really isn't a surprise.

20-07-2014, 07:28 AM

Mohsni. Him and Zaliukas should be good for a few defensive blunders this season :tee hee:

20-07-2014, 07:32 AM
Quite enjoyed reading that while eating my sausages..
The only thing I would say is pitching to a Rangers game in a Celtic top, whether you're 4 or 44, you're going to get abuse.. I wasn't surprised one bit..

Good to hear they're murder!

Hibs should do a US trip, would be some jolly!

20-07-2014, 07:46 AM
No surprise to hear that their fans are still the same vile inhuman vermin they always have been, going by what I seen and heard about them, they are naff and we should be humping them.

20-07-2014, 07:46 AM
Quite enjoyed reading that while eating my sausages..
The only thing I would say is pitching to a Rangers game in a Celtic top, whether you're 4 or 44, you're going to get abuse.. I wasn't surprised one bit..

Good to hear they're murder!

Hibs should do a US trip, would be some jolly!

It's funny you say that because I was thinking Hibs should do a US trip aswel. I mean it's actually pretty rare for any team from Scotland to come out here for a pre season tour. Many a financial reason? I'm not sure. Would be great though, fans get a cracking summer holiday aswel as following the Hibees. Win-win!

Turkish Green
20-07-2014, 07:47 AM

For some reason reading your well written report I see an episode of "Sons of Anarchy" in my mind.

20-07-2014, 07:48 AM
No surprise to hear that their fans are still the same vile inhuman vermin they always have been, going by what I seen and heard about them, they are naff and we should be humping them.

Seriously naff, I couldn't believe what I was watching compared to memories of old when they were in the Premier League!

I had them running away with the league this year, but you know what, I think it's going to be a lot tighter than people think!

20-07-2014, 07:49 AM
For some reason reading your well written report I see an episode of "Sons of Anarchy" in my mind.

There would have been more than one Scotsman with facial scars present in this particular episode I'd imagine.

20-07-2014, 08:08 AM
Showing up wearing a Celtic top is a deliberate attempt to provoke them. Not surprised at their disproportionate response, people follow the Huns because they are bullies. I fully expect them to treat games against Hibs as a mini OF derby.

Turkish Green
20-07-2014, 08:13 AM
I fully expect them to treat games against Hibs as a mini OF derby.

You know, you're right. I never thought about it like that. ER needs to batten down the hatches when Genghis McCann and his horde come a visiting.

20-07-2014, 08:23 AM
Didn't think American cops would have much truck with that sort of behaviour, was there much of a police presence CH. I presume they had their usual song sheet, mind you no doubt the police couldn't understand what they ere saying.:greengrin

20-07-2014, 08:29 AM
You know, you're right. I never thought about it like that. ER needs to batten down the hatches when Genghis McCann and his horde come a visiting.

Genghis McCann?

20-07-2014, 08:29 AM
Sacramento Republics :confused:

I wonder what bright spark thought it a good idea for the Loyal Royals to be the guests of a bunch of Republicans ?

I bet none of the nuckle draggers even made the connection. :greengrin

20-07-2014, 08:30 AM
Sacramento Republics :confused:

I wonder what bright spark thought it a good idea for the Loyal Royals to be the guests of a bunch of Republicans ?

I bet none of the nuckle draggers even made the connection. :greengrin

They are going to be awful mad when they hear the War of Independence is over.

Hal Jordan
20-07-2014, 08:39 AM
Genghis McCann?

From an old Billy Connolly song from the 70s.
http://www.leoslyrics.com/billy-connolly/talkin-blues-lyrics/

20-07-2014, 08:41 AM
From an old Billy Connolly song from the 70s.
http://www.leoslyrics.com/billy-connolly/talkin-blues-lyrics/

Is that the one with Napoleon Bon Accord Smith in it?

Hal Jordan
20-07-2014, 08:43 AM
Aye, it is. He was a nutcase from Aberdeen :greengrin

20-07-2014, 09:02 AM

Is that a massive chute attached to the back of the stand opposite you? Class, we should have one of those.

20-07-2014, 09:51 AM
Didn't think American cops would have much truck with that sort of behaviour, was there much of a police presence CH. I presume they had their usual song sheet, mind you no doubt the police couldn't understand what they ere saying.:greengrin

Very surprisingly to me, no, there wasn't much of a police presence or steward/security presence. I'm surprised (actually no I'm not) the Rangers fan actually had the stupidity to physically attack someone while here as a guest in the states! I don't know the ins and outs of how law works here, but I sure know they don't take actions like that lightly! I only saw him taken outside the stadium. Safe to say he won't be visiting the USA again anytime soon though!

20-07-2014, 09:54 AM
Is that a massive chute attached to the back of the stand opposite you? Class, we should have one of those.

Yep, it is! It's actually a Water Park called 'Raging Waters'! Their stadium is right next to it. Also, you can't really see in the picture but the 'State Fair' is going on right now and that was literally right behind the stadium to the left. The exit doors led straight back into the fair. It's brilliant!

20-07-2014, 11:02 AM
So did the The rangers fan get arrested? You know the one who asked the FOURTEEN year old girl to take her top off.... Pedophia is not accepted in that part of the world....

20-07-2014, 11:06 AM
So did the The rangers fan get arrested? You know the one who asked the FOURTEEN year old girl to take her top off.... Pedophia is not accepted in that part of the world....

But clearly something you are keen to talk about, as you appear to have seen something nobody else has. Why do you think that is?

20-07-2014, 11:10 AM
That bit about the 40 year old man getting in the face and abusing a 14 year old girl made me a little sick.

20-07-2014, 11:11 AM
That bit about the 40 year old man getting in the face and abusing a 14 year old girl made me a little sick.

They are vile, horrible people.

20-07-2014, 12:17 PM
But clearly something you are keen to talk about, as you appear to have seen something nobody else has. Why do you think that is? Hm? Because I was taking the p*ss out of the rangers fan? I don't know ... 0.o

20-07-2014, 12:27 PM
Hm? Because I was taking the p*ss out of the rangers fan? I don't know ... 0.o

Ha ha, I get it now. :greengrin

20-07-2014, 12:28 PM

So much hate ! Cannae understand how folk spend so much time getting ae worked up about them ?

20-07-2014, 12:33 PM
Seems a strange move by the The Rangers to do a US tour and then play a load of ( well two anyway ) clubs who don't look exactly glamour opposition .... nae offence intended .... I like to keep a wee eye on MLS but cant see either of the two clubs they have played recently being near that standard.

As for the wee lassie with the sellik top on. Just how daft would you have to be to go to a game involving the Zombies with that on, not in any way excusing the idiot who had a go at her, but a wee bit of common sense must be applied when attending the soccer.

20-07-2014, 12:36 PM
Seems a strange move by the The Rangers to do a US tour and then play a load of ( well two anyway ) clubs who don't look exactly glamour opposition .... nae offence intended .... I like to keep a wee eye on MLS but cant see either of the two clubs they have played recently being near that standard.

As for the wee lassie with the sellik top on. Just how daft would you have to be to go to a game involving the Zombies with that on, not in any way excusing the idiot who had a go at her, but a wee bit of common sense must be applied when attending the soccer.

I remember a couple of Yams showed up at a game we had against PNE a few years back. They got abuse, and looked a wee bit sad, but that's as far as it went. The Huns, on the other hand, are a hate filled, bitter group of fans, who can't see the humour in anything. Best to avoid "jokes" of any kind.

20-07-2014, 01:06 PM

We all know they are total vermon but surely the young girl isn't as stupid as that.. Wearing a Celtic top amongstthat lot is just asking for trouble..

20-07-2014, 02:22 PM

If somebody wore a The Rangers top in the home stands at ER I doubt the reaction would be any different. Muppetry of the highest standing if I'm being honest.

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 02:23 PM
If somebody wore a The Rangers top in the home stands at ER I doubt the reaction would be any different. Muppetry of the highest standing if I'm being honest.

Threatening violence to a young lassie, aye?

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 02:25 PM
We all know they are total vermon but surely the young girl isn't as stupid as that.. Wearing a Celtic top amongstthat lot is just asking for trouble..

I would imagine a young American lassie hasn't the first clue about the bile that goes on between those two.

20-07-2014, 02:31 PM
Threatening violence to a young lassie, aye?

Theres plenty fuds in the Hibs support that would've made their feelings known. Towards the end of last season there were plenty of "heated" incidents amongst our own fans, grown men threatening guys wi wee bairns that they were going to kick **** out of them outside to name but one. Every club has dummies amongst its support, dinnae kid yourself otherwise.

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 02:41 PM
Theres plenty fuds in the Hibs support that would've made their feelings known. Towards the end of last season there were plenty of "heated" incidents amongst our own fans, grown men threatening guys wi wee bairns that they were going to kick **** out of them outside to name but one. Every club has dummies amongst its support, dinnae kid yourself otherwise.

Of course, there are bound to be. On the other hand, this is a pre-season friendly...in another country...where the hard man picked on a wee lassie who in all likelihood had not the first clue why this neanderthal was having a go at her. Americans generally don't understand football, and if they do they certainly wouldn't understand the vitriol that is accepted as par for the course when it comes to those two particular sides. The OP can maybe confirm if there was any kind of segregation at the game? He himself was in amongst them with a Hibs shirt on, so I suspect there wasn't.

20-07-2014, 02:49 PM
I would imagine a young American lassie hasn't the first clue about the bile that goes on between those two.

I would imagine that she knows Celtic and Rangers are big rivals and wearing the strip of there biggest rivals wasn't the greatest idea.. The young lassie here is nothing but a complete and utter thicko.. She should never have put herself in that position in the first place .. If she doesn't wear the Celtic top then she won't get verbally abused...

20-07-2014, 03:00 PM
I would imagine that she knows Celtic and Rangers are big rivals and wearing the strip of there biggest rivals wasn't the greatest idea.. The young lassie here is nothing but a complete and utter thicko.. She should never have put herself in that position in the first place .. If she doesn't wear the Celtic top then she won't get verbally abused...

Very unfair. I think the concept of supporter segregation is alien to American sports fans, doubt she would have had the first clue it was a bad idea.

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 03:04 PM

I'm sure she know they are rivals, I'm not convinced she understood how poisonous that rivalry could be that a middle-aged, entirely sober male would threaten her with violence because of her choice of shirt. We understand it because we've lived with it all our lives. Some young lassie who lives in a country where "soccer" is far from the national sport but she maybe catches it on ESPN occasionally and has decided that she's going to choose the team that's doing well as her team - she's fourteen(ish) after all, maybe not even seen The Rangers in all their "glory", she maybe doesn't understand that. Maybe her folks are Celtic supporters. Maybe she does understand the history. We don't know. Who are we to judge.

20-07-2014, 03:09 PM
The lassies ignorance can probably be ignored, the OP on the other hand, well ....!

20-07-2014, 03:09 PM

I lived in California for 15 years and this is embarrassing. Not sure why the girl wanted to wear a Celtic top to a Rangers game but it is still embarrassing. I bet if the wearer of the Celtic jersey was a 6' 4" guy the Rangers fan would not have confronted him.

If I had been there I would honestly would have just risen and said to him 'and if you don't get lost NOW...I can't guarantee the direction that my actions will take.'

He sounds like a real piece of vermin, not because he is a Rangers fan but because he is a coward abusing a young girl.

Tell you what though...I would love an American tour for the Hibees! What fun.

20-07-2014, 03:21 PM

At 14 she would have been 11 or so when Rangers and Celtic were 'big' rivals. I am sure she would have heard but I lived there for years and though a lot of people know there is a rivalry they would not imagine it would reach to a man abusing a young girl.

I find it hard to believe that anyone on here would accept Scottish bigots importing their vile prejudice into the States and state that kids should not wear football tops to games to avoid being verbally abused and physically threatened.

20-07-2014, 03:52 PM
Dirty hun barsteward .

20-07-2014, 04:04 PM

It's not taken long for the Americanisms to grab hold of you!

Realize
Defense
Rumors

:tsk tsk:

Have you called the plumber out to fix the faucet yet or started buying eggplant in the supermarkets?

20-07-2014, 04:07 PM
Of course, there are bound to be. On the other hand, this is a pre-season friendly...in another country...where the hard man picked on a wee lassie who in all likelihood had not the first clue why this neanderthal was having a go at her. Americans generally don't understand football, and if they do they certainly wouldn't understand the vitriol that is accepted as par for the course when it comes to those two particular sides. The OP can maybe confirm if there was any kind of segregation at the game? He himself was in amongst them with a Hibs shirt on, so I suspect there wasn't.

Well, that's 314,000,000 people put in their place. :greengrin

20-07-2014, 04:09 PM
I lived in California for 15 years and this is embarrassing. Not sure why the girl wanted to wear a Celtic top to a Rangers game but it is still embarrassing. I bet if the wearer of the Celtic jersey was a 6' 4" guy the Rangers fan would not have confronted him.

If I had been there I would honestly would have just risen and said to him 'and if you don't get lost NOW...I can't guarantee the direction that my actions will take.'

He sounds like a real piece of vermin, not because he is a Rangers fan but because he is a coward abusing a young girl.

Tell you what though...I would love an American tour for the Hibees! What fun.

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 04:27 PM
Well, that's 314,000,000 people put in their place. :greengrin

Damn right :greengrin

20-07-2014, 04:40 PM
I'm sure she know they are rivals, I'm not convinced she understood how poisonous that rivalry could be that a middle-aged, entirely sober male would threaten her with violence because of her choice of shirt. We understand it because we've lived with it all our lives. Some young lassie who lives in a country where "soccer" is far from the national sport but she maybe catches it on ESPN occasionally and has decided that she's going to choose the team that's doing well as her team - she's fourteen(ish) after all, maybe not even seen The Rangers in all their "glory", she maybe doesn't understand that. Maybe her folks are Celtic supporters. Maybe she does understand the history. We don't know. Who are we to judge.

The only thing you judge here is the girls stupidity.. If her folks are Celtic fans as you speculated , then surely they must've known the implications ??

20-07-2014, 04:42 PM
At 14 she would have been 11 or so when Rangers and Celtic were 'big' rivals. I am sure she would have heard but I lived there for years and though a lot of people know there is a rivalry they would not imagine it would reach to a man abusing a young girl.

I find it hard to believe that anyone on here would accept Scottish bigots importing their vile prejudice into the States and state that kids should not wear football tops to games to avoid being verbally abused and physically threatened.

I am not condoning bigots in anyway or form. The bottom line is , if the girl doesn't wear the Celtic top to a game involving The Rangers then none of this would have happened..

You , yourself know of the rivalry , would you be daft enough to do what she did ???

20-07-2014, 04:47 PM
The only thing you judge here is the girls stupidity.. If her folks are Celtic fans as you speculated , then surely they must've known the implications ??

I am not condoning bigots in anyway or form. The bottom line is , if the girl doesn't wear the Celtic top to a game involving The Rangers then none of this would have happened..

You , yourself know of the rivalry , would you be daft enough to do what she did ???

14 year old girls can be excused mistakes, fully grown men - less so.

magpie1892
20-07-2014, 04:48 PM
Very unfair. I think the concept of supporter segregation is alien to American sports fans, doubt she would have had the first clue it was a bad idea.

http://www.csmonitor.com/USA/USA-Update/2014/0710/Dodgers-ordered-to-pay-beaten-fan-14-million-Will-sports-security-tighten-video

20-07-2014, 05:11 PM

So blame the victim, right?

20-07-2014, 05:28 PM

I bet they would have a good look first at who was wearing it before they confronted them.

Lewis77
20-07-2014, 06:09 PM
I'm gunna start referring to them as 'Those Rangers' with an eye roll.

BarneyK
20-07-2014, 06:54 PM

That was just one speculation. And that's the clue right there...I don't know. Neither do you yet you're happy to call her out for it. Bear in mind she's not from this country, (probably) not familiar with the baggage of old firm games, in a stadium in her own town where, by the OP's original statement seems to suggest, there was no segregation (they could walk round to where most of the Sacramento fans "seemed" to be gathered), but most of all bear in mind that no matter what she was wearing it does not justify her being threatened by a grown man in an way, shape or form. That's the bottom line.

20-07-2014, 07:08 PM
I bet they would have a good look first at who was wearing it before they confronted them.

Sadly not.

I remember an incident a few years ago when we were playing the old Rangers (R.I.P.) at Easter Road and there was a man who was there as a carer for a man who was in a wheelchair.

The man in the wheelchair was a Hibs fan but the guy who was there as his carer had a Rangers tattoo on his arm if I remember correctly. A few people behind him obviously noticed this tattoo and went absolutely mental at him, shouting all sorts of things in his direction. Eventually things became so heated that the steward had to escort the guy out of the ground, along with the man he was looking after, for his own safety more than anything else.

I was pretty horrified by the behaviour of those group of fans that day.

20-07-2014, 07:24 PM
Sure some will end up in clanky and maybe even get a gun pulled on them. They won't be shown the same leniency over there.

20-07-2014, 07:46 PM

Well I never went on to have a conversation with the girl, but my bet is she didn't have one clue about the level of rivalry and hatred between the clubs. Theres a lot of rival's over here and it's completely different to back home, even a lot of mixed seating in some! How she got the top? Not sure. She could have easily though just had a mindset of 'oh a Scottish team is coming over, I'm gonna wear one of my Scottish tops I got a while back, that'll be super cool'.

Some of them really are that oblivious to things and situations.

Football is a usual conversation that goes on between me and the guys at work. When I tell them what it's like back home with the passion and what I've seen at certain Hibs and Hearts games, and what you hear of at past Celtic Rangers games, their faces are one of complete surprise.

It's just completely different over here when it comes to certain things.

20-07-2014, 07:53 PM

You've completely hit the nail on the heard there!

There was no segregation at all. We had purchased our tickets on ticketmaster and it had placed us amongst a large congregation of them. As I say there must have been around 150-200 of them spread throughout the stadium, but in this one area must have been a good 70 all together. No chance was I staying there!

20-07-2014, 07:57 PM
Sure some will end up in clanky and maybe even get a gun pulled on them. They won't be shown the same leniency over there.

:agree: I'd love to know what will happen to the guy that attacked the Sacramento fan. I guarantee he will have heavy consequences because of that!

20-07-2014, 08:07 PM
It's not taken long for the Americanisms to grab hold of you!

Realize
Defense
Rumors

:tsk tsk:

Have you called the plumber out to fix the faucet yet or started buying eggplant in the supermarkets?

In my defenCe, when I was writing my post's out last night I was doing so on the iphone with autocorrect. Now that I'm on my laptop (brought with me from the UK) things should improve....I swear! :cb

I try my hardest to keep certain words, terms and spellings intact - trousers, FOOTBALL, car park, cinema, chips etc

It gets tough, but a weekly dose of skyping friends/family back home, along with popping on a Scottish film/Comedy sitcom, keeps my accent and correct terms in check! :greengrin

20-07-2014, 08:09 PM

It's a game. :hilarious When Celtic came to Easter Road they sang "Argentina" at Butcher, when Sunderland came up to play Hibs a few years ago the Hibs fans sang "Toon Army" at them, it's what fans do, a bit of fun, it's not asking for trouble, especially not when it's done by a child.

Rangers fans surely aren't all bad people but as a collective group they have a seemingly unmitigated record of being an utterly deplorable group of bullies. Scottish football (and the world, it seems) would be better off without them.

20-07-2014, 08:12 PM
In my defenCe, when I was writing my post's out last night I was doing so on the iphone with autocorrect. Now that I'm on my laptop (brough with me from the UK) things should improve....I swear! :cb

I try my hardest to keep certain words, terms and spellings intact - trousers, FOOTBALL, car park, cinema, chips etc

It gets tough, but a weekly dose of skyping friends/family back home, along with popping on a Scottish film/Comedy sitcom, keeps my accent and correct terms in check! :greengrin

Good lad. :aok:

Mind and give anyone over there that even hints at using the term "soccer" a good skelp. :slipper:

20-07-2014, 08:17 PM

In my experience of living and working over there they don't understand "rivalry" like us. The people who asked me couldn't understand why Citeh and United were rivals or Tottenham or Arsenal or even Hibs and the Windowlickers.

That said, there is Rivalry and then there is the OF.

20-07-2014, 08:22 PM
Good lad. :aok:

Mind and give anyone over there that even hints at using the term "soccer" a good skelp. :slipper:

They are quickly corrected every time. The folk at work have even now got to the stage of just saying 'football' without thinking about it, when talking to me about it, to avoid the correction that they must have been getting tired of :greengrin

20-07-2014, 08:30 PM
They are quickly corrected every time. The folk at work have even now got to the stage of just saying 'football' without thinking about it, when talking to me about it, to avoid the correction that they must have been getting tired of :greengrin

Good stuff. :agree:

It's nice to think that there might one day be a wee part of Sacramento that is full of people talking about a sport called "fitbaw". :greengrin

21-07-2014, 12:38 AM
Good stuff. :agree:

It's nice to think that there might one day be a wee part of Sacramento that is full of people talking about a sport called "fitbaw". :greengrin

A bunch of them are very clued up now on a bit of our history and they know the players names etc. I made us look brilliant by showing them certain YouTube videos of previous years past :greengrin

I even have one guy from work who came over to the house a few times last season to watch Hibs on a stream.

I've also in the past 2 years given away two of my old Hibs tops, and wear my current top every now and again when out and about, and every Friday night when I play in a 7 a side league that they have near-by, last seasons black away top, is always on show each week.

Actually, also on a side note, a crazy story which I couldn't believe at the time! So one of these friends from work who I have clued up on the Hibs, came up to me about 3 months ago and said the following - ''So you know that Hibs (says it more like Hiabs, we're working continually on that) air freshener that you have in the car? Well dude, funniest thing! I was out with a friend on Saturday, and he picked me up in his car. Well, he had the exact same air freshener as you!'

I asked him where he was from and how he had it, surely he was Scottish or English?! He said, 'he's from the States, and so is his whole family, but his dad went on a trip to Scotland years before he was born, and told him all about it when they had a conversation about trips when he was 18 (he's now 23) and he told him about his trip to see the Hibs while he was in your home town. That then got my friend interested in the sport and after watching many YouTube videos on you guy's he went onto the club website and bought an air fresher and a Hibs top'.

I couldn't believe it! What a great story, it's a small and funny world! He's yet to introduce me to his friend, but he plans on doing it sometime when we're all free. His friend has a goal in life to one day visit Easter Road for a game, and you know what, my friend Vinny (guy from work) is well on the road to one day wanting to have that very same goal!

I try to do my part in spreading the Hibees word out here! :aok:

21-07-2014, 02:23 AM
Ask yourself this, we're playing a game against some team somewhere in the world and someone sits bang in the middle of our fans wearing a yams top. What would the out come be ???

21-07-2014, 02:44 AM
Ask yourself this, we're playing a game against some team somewhere in the world and someone sits bang in the middle of our fans wearing a yams top. What would the out come be ???
If you are suggesting that you would have a go at a 14 year old girl for wearing a Hearts top then you are as big of a horses a**e as the Rangers fan is.

21-07-2014, 02:46 AM
My colleagues have been trained to say "real football" instead of soccer.... :greengrin Not the pansy American type where 300lb men wear riot gear to play a game.....

21-07-2014, 02:51 AM
If you are suggesting that you would have a go at a 14 year old girl for wearing a Hearts top then you are as big of a horses a**e as the Rangers fan is.

Erm...........I wouldnt batter an eye tbh BUT I know and have met plenty of numpties within our support over the years to know they'd have took the hump. To think different is just plain stupid.

21-07-2014, 02:56 AM
Erm...........I wouldnt batter an eye tbh BUT I know and have met plenty of numpties within our support over the years to know they'd have took the hump. To think different is just plain stupid.
Who said I thought differently? I was making the point that if a grown man came in wearing one he would be at the wind up and would probably expect some abuse. Anyone who abuses a 14 year old girl is a horses a**e and probably a coward to boot.

21-07-2014, 08:02 AM
Who said I thought differently? I was making the point that if a grown man came in wearing one he would be at the wind up and would probably expect some abuse. Anyone who abuses a 14 year old girl is a horses a**e and probably a coward to boot.

More to the point, I don't think other people would sit back and do nothing. This guy seems to have done this to impress his pals, and they've sat back laughing.

21-07-2014, 09:23 AM
More to the point, I don't think other people would sit back and do nothing. This guy seems to have done this to impress his pals, and they've sat back laughing.

If some neanderthal Hibby was abusing a 14 y/o girl, he'd get a piece of my mind and, I would hope, other Hibbies round about as well.

21-07-2014, 05:15 PM

Just over ten years ago to the day I was in Vancouver and caught wind of the fact that Millwall would be playing Hertz not far from my digs that very Saturday lunchtime. Still half kegged from the night before I decided to turn up in my Hibs top - don't think I would have been brave enough sober :greengrin A few scowls and comments but I survived!

Edit: Just checked the report from that game and Graham Stack was in goals for Millwall - hadn't appreciated that his first experience of the Jamboids was not while at Easter Road!