View Full Version : Hibs players that played in Germany - can you name any?

Conrad Gray
18-07-2014, 02:36 PM
Can anyone help me? I am trying to get a list of Hibs players that have played in Germany (for a German club) at some point of their career. So far I've got -

Murdo Macleod
Dirk Lehmann
Pa Kujabi
David Zitelli
Matty Jack

Is there any more? Any help appreciated.......

Barman Stanton
18-07-2014, 02:44 PM
Klaus Dietrich played one game on loan in the 90s.

18-07-2014, 02:46 PM
Thorsten Schmugge

18-07-2014, 02:52 PM
Steven Tweed

andy1875
18-07-2014, 02:52 PM
Janos Matyus.

We signed him from Energie Cottbus.

18-07-2014, 02:57 PM
Valdas Trakys

18-07-2014, 02:59 PM
Alen Orman played for Dynamo Dresden

18-07-2014, 03:05 PM
My uncle played for Lübeck in the 1950s.

That has nothing to do with the question, I just felt like telling everybody :wink:

MilwaukeeHibee
18-07-2014, 03:13 PM
Benji

Kuqi

18-07-2014, 03:24 PM
Benji

Kuqi
Benji didn't as far as I know.

Yuillsy
18-07-2014, 03:31 PM
The whole team played Rot-Weiss Essex in 1955! (On phone so no cheeky smileys available!

18-07-2014, 03:35 PM
Oumar Konde

Conrad Gray
18-07-2014, 03:42 PM
Guys, thanks for the replies so far. I collect old Hibs cards and cards related to Hibs.

I have made a contact in Germany and he is looking for names, so that he can search for the cards for me.

My favourite so far is attached -

joebakerforever
18-07-2014, 03:44 PM
Duncan Lambie, SpVgg. Fürth

Time For Heroes
18-07-2014, 03:45 PM
He has agreed a deal with a with a club in Germany, but it had a bit of controversy as he decided not to go....?
I think....

18-07-2014, 03:46 PM
Duncan Lambie

Just googled him, because I didn't know that. Cheers.

But.... Wiki says he only played 16 times for us. Is that for real? :confused:

Brummie_Hibs
18-07-2014, 04:26 PM
Andy Goram, Kevin Thomson, Kenny Miller and many more played for The Huns

18-07-2014, 04:55 PM
The whole team played Rot-Weiss Essex in 1955! (On phone so no cheeky smileys available!

Are you sure they're German?

MilwaukeeHibee
18-07-2014, 06:00 PM

Looks like you are correct, sir. Remember him leaving us to join a lower division team, but looks like it fell through according to Wikipedia:

"After his release by Hibs in May 2010, Benjelloun agreed a two-year contract with German second division club Greuther Fürth.[22] He did not complete the move, however, with the club claiming that Benjelloun had demanded too much money"

18-07-2014, 06:55 PM

16 times too many from what I remember of him.

18-07-2014, 07:14 PM

25 times according to iHibs :agree:

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player_games.php?playerid=6250&page=1

Every game a torture to watch him :greengrin

18-07-2014, 08:05 PM

I remember him scoring in that game...and even then he was getting pelters from the North Enclosure :greengrin

18-07-2014, 08:10 PM

Rich vein of form in February though.
Christ, that season was as bad as the last one.

18-07-2014, 08:53 PM
Wonder what ever happened to Torben Joneleit? Sounded like a coup at the time but like most of JC's signings, was total pish.

18-07-2014, 10:07 PM
Wonder what ever happened to Torben Joneleit? Sounded like a coup at the time but like most of JC's signings, was total pish.

Some detail here TD http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/torben-joneleit/profil/spieler/42989

18-07-2014, 10:16 PM

Or Rot Weiss Essen (predictive text is a nightmare on a mobile)! :greengrin

Also played them in 2005.

Sweet Left Peg
19-07-2014, 04:11 AM
Peter Guggi? Or was he Austrian?

Jurgen Doon

19-07-2014, 08:08 AM
Peter Guggi? Or was he Austrian?

Jurgen Doon

Guggi was Austrian, and from memory that was the best that could be said about him.

Doon was English, and our manager for the latter part of last season.

Yuillsy
19-07-2014, 08:23 AM

Egg on my face for that 1!!!!

19-07-2014, 08:30 AM

Some detail here TD http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/torben-joneleit/profil/spieler/42989

Followed JC to Belgium so he must have thought he had something.

Career ended at 27 wonder if that was caused by an injury or just taken that long to be found out :greengrin

19-07-2014, 09:18 AM

:agree: Further evidence of how much Ned lost it towards the end. IIRC his brother was the trainer at the time.

19-07-2014, 11:10 AM

Very enjoyable trip it was too.