View Full Version : Kevin Kyle
17-07-2014, 07:45 AM
No we are not signing him he is probably getting more than we can offer him here anyway haha 800 a fortnight
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/ex-premier-league-star-swaps-10k-a-week-3871719
hibeemikey21
17-07-2014, 07:54 AM
No we are not signing him he is probably getting more than we can offer him here anyway haha 800 a fortnight
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/ex-premier-league-star-swaps-10k-a-week-3871719
Fair play to him IMO. Shouldn't feel the need to justify what he is doing to the press.
17-07-2014, 08:03 AM
He's Just trying to provide for his family like the rest of us, what's the big deal?
GoldenEagle
17-07-2014, 08:05 AM
Good on him, actually quite liked listenung to him on shows like Off the Ball.
17-07-2014, 08:11 AM
Never liked him, but a jobs a job and at least he's out there doing something to provide for his family. £800 a fortnight is more than some people I know earn.
17-07-2014, 08:11 AM
I realise that he has put himself in the public eye by becoming a professional baller, however i do find it disgusting the way these guys get ridiculed. Fair play to him IMO.
17-07-2014, 08:29 AM
Really dislike stories like this, the o'connor stuff is a bit grim as well, but the article is essentially poking fun at a man who is trying to work for a living.
Clearly the guy couldn't handle the vast amounts of money he earned as footballer but at least he's went and got himself a job at the end of it and is trying to make a living.
17-07-2014, 08:40 AM
Good luck to him. ...
BarneyK
17-07-2014, 08:56 AM
Agree with everything posted here. Good luck to the man. Working for a living is no reason to be ridiculed. :agree:
17-07-2014, 08:59 AM
The guy is out there trying to earn a living. Had an addiction and is trying to move on with his life and support his family. Well done KK.
Good luck to him. !!
17-07-2014, 09:02 AM
Really dislike stories like this, the o'connor stuff is a bit grim as well, but the article is essentially poking fun at a man who is trying to work for a living.
Clearly the guy couldn't handle the vast amounts of money he earned as footballer but at least he's went and got himself a job at the end of it and is trying to make a living.
17-07-2014, 09:09 AM
Good luck to him.
Made mistakes, is trying to make up for them by working hard to provide for his family.
17-07-2014, 09:18 AM
Something that shouldnt really be publicized like this, and certainly not in the slightly mocking approach that paper seems to have taken.
The only thing I hope that comes from stories like Kyle and O'Connor is that more young players coming through dont make the same mistakes.
The guys hips are riddled with arthritis and when I spoke to him a couple of years ago, he was surprised he'd lasted as long as he had, at least he's getting on with life instead of sitting moaning about things or telling tales to the papers for a few quid, always came over as a nice bloke when I saw him at the gym, a bit rough round the edges but fairly decent guy.
WestEndHibee
17-07-2014, 10:14 AM
I never really like KK as a player but when I met him he came across as thoroughly decent. I really hate articles like this. The tone the piece was written in was one of mocking yet if Kyle was taking benefits they would have called him lazy. For me it shows how hard it is for the majority of footballers after their career is over, especially when they've had problems dealing with money. Fair play to him getting a job, hopefully its the first rung on the ladder for him. Newspaper journalism has truly gone down the toilet.
Bronson
17-07-2014, 10:46 AM
I can't help but feel that if this was Derek Riordan or Garry O'Connor people on here would be far more cynical.
So many were all too quick to jump on the bandwagon when GoC pished his money away on drugs, but there's sympathy for Kyle when it's gambling, despite GoC being 'one of our own'.
FWIW, I don't take any pleasure in seeing either scenario, but I also don't think Kyle should be congratulated for having to work to earn a living now.
17-07-2014, 10:51 AM
Disgusting journalism IMO - earning large sums of money like he was and being in sporting circles can (and has) captured a lot of professionals into gambling issues.
He's left football behind and is no longer a 'public figure' so his current job shouldn't merit media coverage, as it's not 'public interest'.
They use £800 a fortnight as if it's a paltry sum - £1600 a month is a respectable wage and kudos to him for not feeling he's above what this paper seems to think of as 'menial' work.
17-07-2014, 11:20 AM
A newspaper trying to embarrass the lad with a complete non story.... Yet they will justify it by saying its something people will find interesting when no-one really gives a ****. Only thing embarrassing is them printing this. Scraping the bottom of the barrel if they think this is "News".
17-07-2014, 11:23 AM
I can't help but feel that if this was Derek Riordan or Garry O'Connor people on here would be far more cynical.
So many were all too quick to jump on the bandwagon when GoC pished his money away on drugs, but there's sympathy for Kyle when it's gambling, despite GoC being 'one of our own'.
FWIW, I don't take any pleasure in seeing either scenario, but I also don't think Kyle should be congratulated for having to work to earn a living now.
That was my thoughts when posting the thread another career wasted with nothing to show for it
17-07-2014, 11:29 AM
I don't think that anyone is "congratulating" him. Sympathising, perhaps, but more pointedly having a go at the newspaper that ran the "story".
chinaman
17-07-2014, 11:31 AM
Dont worry tho ,kevin kyle- family man, will be out in all good book stores very soon make sure and buy it so the kyles dont have to live in a shed at christmas
17-07-2014, 11:40 AM
The difference is that this story is mocking a man for working a job like most people do, If the O'Connor story was about how he has pished all his money away but was now working some *****y job just to make ends meet I think people would have been more sympathetic despite the overall tone of the piece.
17-07-2014, 11:50 AM
The difference is that this story is mocking a man for working a job like most people do, If the O'Connor story was about how he has pished all his money away but was now working some *****y job just to make ends meet I think people would have been more sympathetic despite the overall tone of the piece.
TBF, it's not really 'as most do', given the fact he must have blown a fortune to be that skint now. There seems to be a few ex players in the same boat, Gazza for instance.
However, I agree that it's just a mud racking, point and laugh story. Worthy of that rag.
smithyhfc
17-07-2014, 12:01 PM
800 a fortnight is a decent wage, hard work I guess but very decent wage!
JDHibs
17-07-2014, 12:19 PM
Said it for years, id do ANYTHING to provide for my family.
Fair play to him, hes earned my respect.
Anybody who slags him should be ashamed of themselves.
17-07-2014, 12:21 PM
So there is life after players finish their career at football. I have always found testimonials a bit of a strange thing, although nowadays its fashionable for players to donate the takings to charity, this proves that once players like Kyle who have earnt decent money over their time as a player, they can do what normal folk do and get a job.
Giving folk who have earnt way more than the average man who has been paying towards those wages, a bonus at the end of their time at the club has always seemed to me daft.
Put some of it away, or get a job. Its what normal folk do. I was a postman for 12 years, yet when i left i did not get a bonus for the time spent in that job, i got another job.
Well done Kevin. :top marks
It was the done thing years ago for ex players to buy pubs but that seems old hat now, one of our more famous players who does an ordinary job after his career ended is Alex Cropley, now a taxi driver in Edinburgh. It's no disgrace to get an everyday job once your career has ended, they can't ll be managers or top coaches.
wills
17-07-2014, 01:24 PM
God on him working for a honest wage. You've got to question the football clubs who know players have gambling issues but fail to help them. Should there not be a scheme were players receive a percentage of the salary with the rest help in a investment fund that they can access when their careers are over, h
17-07-2014, 02:18 PM
Well done and fair play to him. A job is a job and at the end of the day he's earning money to provide for his family. Respect.
17-07-2014, 02:23 PM
Quite a snobby article IMO. A more honest and dignified living than creeping around taking photos of a guy trying to make a living doing a normal job.
17-07-2014, 03:04 PM
Quite a snobby article IMO. A more honest and dignified living than creeping around taking photos of a guy trying to make a living doing a normal job.
Indeed some of the tactics of the red tops really are straight out of the gutter such as door stepping grieving families.
edwards
17-07-2014, 03:56 PM
Always wanted him at ER always thought he was a strong player and the type we needed at the time. He ended up at Killie which was confusing, Never forgot the grief he gave to hibs fans at ER when he played for the unwashed at the BPBS.
He has made a decision but still expect him to be back in football at some point.
Who took the pictures of him?!
I assume it wasn't a colleague.
Sweet Left Peg
17-07-2014, 07:14 PM
Never really thought that highly of him as a player, but fair play to him. Looking after the family comes way before worrying what some sewer-slurping oxygen thief considers to be newsworthy material. I doubt that when the half-life hack in question wrapped his big toe round the crayon, he even considered that his dissertation of drivel would provoke a positive reaction towards a guy who is trying to make a difference to people he cares about. Obviously £800 a fortnight is well below what the Daily Mire forks out to capture the cream of British journalism.
17-07-2014, 07:17 PM
Scored the winner against us in the new year Derby AFTER Nish was 1 on 1 and scuffed it wide!!!!!!!
It wisnae a scuff. It'd have taken the net out if it had been 6 inches to the right.
Some pass fae Sir Derek as well.
17-07-2014, 07:25 PM
It wisnae a scuff. It'd have taken the net out if it had been 6 inches to the right.
Some pass fae Sir Derek as well.
Regardless.He was one on one and failed to hit the target.Criminal.
17-07-2014, 07:37 PM
Good on him. Cannae be easy for him to take those steps.
Really don't like the tone of the article.
17-07-2014, 07:39 PM
Nonsense article, trying to ridicule a man who is working hard to support his family is totally out of order regardless of his previous high profile. At least he's proved that after football there is nothing to stop you going and getting a job on civvy street like the rest of us.
17-07-2014, 08:33 PM
Good on him but 800 a fortnight with Sodexo offshore? Things have gone way way down if that is true.
17-07-2014, 09:40 PM
Good on him but 800 a fortnight with Sodexo offshore? Things have gone way way down if that is true.
Sure it said he was just a cleaner and stocked food etc? And is onshore?
Most likely just a foot in the door and work his way up 👍 people in oil earn a fortune once qualified
17-07-2014, 09:46 PM
Agree with everything posted here. Good luck to the man. Working for a living is no reason to be ridiculed. :agree:
Exactly
17-07-2014, 09:48 PM
I'd love to get £800 every two weeks.
17-07-2014, 10:30 PM
So a guy who has three kids actually has a work ethic and gets a job which in his head and heart knows will have people talking behind his back......well good on Kevin Kyle :aok: Well done son, who cares about the big money past, this is actually a story about someone who actually isn't afraid to get their hands dirty and graft.
Maybe the Mirror would be better placed driving around the estates of Scotland and shame the folk who can work and won't work, despite being offered jobs that could easily be performed.
I've got nowt but admiration for the lad :agree:
kev1875
18-07-2014, 05:40 AM
So a guy who has three kids actually has a work ethic and gets a job which in his head and heart knows will have people talking behind his back......well good on Kevin Kyle :aok: Well done son, who cares about the big money past, this is actually a story about someone who actually isn't afraid to get their hands dirty and graft.
Maybe the Mirror would be better placed driving around the estates of Scotland and shame the folk who can work and won't work, despite being offered jobs that could easily be performed.
I've got nowt but admiration for the lad :agree:
I hope it eats away at him every day that because he blew all his money on gambling, instead of spending every day with his kids he'll be sweating away on a ship cleaning 12 hours a day. And also **** him for his assault on Ian Murray.
H18Y GW
18-07-2014, 06:34 AM
So using Drugs is the same as gambling.......Please
18-07-2014, 06:40 AM
I hope it eats away at him every day that because he blew all his money on gambling, instead of spending every day with his kids he'll be sweating away on a ship cleaning 12 hours a day. And also **** him for his assault on Ian Murray.
Yes you're right, no-one deserves the opportunity to get themselves back on track through hard work and dedication to support their family :rolleyes:
18-07-2014, 07:36 AM
So using Drugs is the same as gambling.......Please
Both highly addictive gambling more so infact
18-07-2014, 08:37 AM
Sure it said he was just a cleaner and stocked food etc? And is onshore?
Most likely just a foot in the door and work his way up 👍 people in oil earn a fortune once qualified
Might well be mate. Way I read it he was on the ship. I also assumed he was living on the ship otherwise he would be living in digs and trying to send money home to his family. Kind of indicates when it says he is payed on a two week basis therefore rotational. If so as I said I doubt he is on 400 quid a week as a storeman/steward. I left the North Sea as Facilities Manager ( with Sodexho before they dropped the h) and a grade 1 (lowest possible ) was on well over 20k then and that was over15 years ago. Either way well done to the man for providing for his family in any way he can.
18-07-2014, 09:00 AM
It would be good if somebody got a picture of the snake that took the pictures of Kyle. They could be posted on the Internet, with a storyline about how a guy that has never achieved anything in life has resorted to selling pictures of his workmates to the media.
Does anybody know if there is such a website?
Pray4Marc
18-07-2014, 09:09 AM
If they have FBOTS on the boat, Kyle will be in trouble. Just give him a plank..
18-07-2014, 09:13 AM
I think comparing o'connor and Kyle is not fair on KK. O'connors repeated misdemeanours with drugs, alcohol and insurance fraud are much worse than gambling addiction. Made even worse than that by the fact it want just once, it was repeated time and time again.
KK is trying to go out and earn a living.
Fair play to the guy .... Struggling to believe why it's even a story tbh
Bronson
18-07-2014, 10:36 AM
I think comparing o'connor and Kyle is not fair on KK. O'connors repeated misdemeanours with drugs, alcohol and insurance fraud are much worse than gambling addiction. Made even worse than that by the fact it want just once, it was repeated time and time again.
KK is trying to go out and earn a living.
Kevin Kyle's wasn't a one-off incident either, he was in the bookies every week blowing £7000. 7 grand. A week. When you have a family to support you cannot be doing that. My point was that if that was Derek Riordan or Garry O'Connor etc on here, not half as many people would be supportive.
I appreciate he's trying to earn a living now, but I don't quite understand why he's being almost applauded for it. I have to go and earn a living, so does just about everyone on this forum. He was earning a great living and he blew it. I take no pleasure in seeing it, but I don't really sympathise too much because most of us would give our left baw for £10k a week.
In Kyle's defence, injuries did hamper his career. But that is still no excuse for blowing 70% of your wages in the bookies every week when you have a family to support.
I agree with the posts in reference to the snobbishness of the article, very distasteful. He doesn't deserve to be ridiculed for it.
Kevin Kyle's wasn't a one-off incident either, he was in the bookies every week blowing £7000. 7 grand. A week. When you have a family to support you cannot be doing that. My point was that if that was Derek Riordan or Garry O'Connor etc on here, not half as many people would be supportive.
I appreciate he's trying to earn a living now, but I don't quite understand why he's being almost applauded for it. I have to go and earn a living, so does just about everyone on this forum. He was earning a great living and he blew it. I take no pleasure in seeing it, but I don't really sympathise too much because most of us would give our left baw for £10k a week.
In Kyle's defence, injuries did hamper his career. But that is still no excuse for blowing 70% of your wages in the bookies every week when you have a family to support.
I agree with the posts in reference to the snobbishness of the article, very distasteful. He doesn't deserve to be ridiculed for it.
Riordan.....not played for 2 years, out of shape and couldn't even get a deal at Alloa.
O'Connor.....struggled at lowly Morton last year and was even slagged off by their chairman
If any of these two lads had even shown the slightest bit of get up and go, whether it was their careers as footballers or even doing another job, people would be more understanding, the fact that they sat on their erses wasting their talents stuck in a lot of peoples throat.
Kyle didn't have half the talent these two had, he also suffers from bad arthritis in his hips( which didn't stop him from playing ), he's now down on his luck but willing to go and graft to earn a crust. Just recently we've seen that GOC may be doing a wee TV prog about his downfall while he lives in a council house and is he paying for the house or is he claiming benefits as I've not heard of him working anywhere.
kev1875
18-07-2014, 11:26 AM
Yes you're right, no-one deserves the opportunity to get themselves back on track through hard work and dedication to support their family :rolleyes:
Where did I say that :rolleyes:
H18Y GW
19-07-2014, 06:18 AM
Both highly addictive gambling more so infact
That above is the most ignorant and crass post ive ever read in my life,im guessing you live a sheltered life,i will need to look out for the guys with there fixed odds coupons with twenty sugars in there tea,looking gaunt with no teeth and no self respect, queing for there Methadone next time im round at my local shops.
Im sure being such an expert, you can also relay too me the facts that violence related to gambling, and deaths related to gambling massively out number the same related to drugs as its way more addictive.
WOW just WOW
19-07-2014, 06:58 AM
That above is the most ignorant and crass post ive ever read in my life
If you want ignorant and crass, go on kickback!!
I don't think you can compare the effects of the addictions on the physical health of the addicts, as clearly substance abuse ravages the human body more than throwing away money does. Addiction is addiction though, regardless of your poison. I've lost one cousin to heroin, another to alcohol, and I know too many people to mention who spend most of their wages in the bookies. Watching an addict destoy themselves and create chaos in the lives of those who care most about them is not reserved just for drug abuse.
19-07-2014, 07:45 AM
That above is the most ignorant and crass post ive ever read in my life,im guessing you live a sheltered life,i will need to look out for the guys with there fixed odds coupons with twenty sugars in there tea,looking gaunt with no teeth and no self respect, queing for there Methadone next time im round at my local shops.
Im sure being such an expert, you can also relay too me the facts that violence related to gambling, and deaths related to gambling massively out number the same related to drugs as its way more addictive.
WOW just WOW
So, what are the figures? I am genuinely interested to see how they compare. After laying into recovering Heroin addicts the way you did, you owe it to us.
H18Y GW
19-07-2014, 07:55 AM
So, what are the figures? I am genuinely interested to see how they compare. After laying into recovering Heroin addicts the way you did, you owe it to us.
Read the post properly:aok:
H18Y GW
19-07-2014, 07:57 AM
If you want ignorant and crass, go on kickback!!
I don't think you can compare the effects of the addictions on the physical health of the addicts, as clearly substance abuse ravages the human body more than throwing away money does. Addiction is addiction though, regardless of your poison. I've lost one cousin to heroin, another to alcohol, and I know too many people to mention who spend most of their wages in the bookies. Watching an addict destoy themselves and create chaos in the lives of those who care most about them is not reserved just for drug abuse.
As i said :thumbsup:
Addiction, no matter what form they take do ruin peoples lives but in so many different ways and to compare a drug addiction to a gambling one is actually quite wrong. Drug addiction ruins the body and mind, drives the ones you love away from you whereas gambling can hurt the ones you love more so because you can't buy food, pay bills etc, so they're the ones who suffer not the addict.
19-07-2014, 08:05 AM
Read the post properly:aok:
Sorry, a bit of an irony bypass on my part. Please help me, are you saying that drug addicts have a worse time than gambling addicts, or is it something else? Tbh, I'm not entirely sure.
19-07-2014, 08:06 AM
As i said :thumbsup:
Except you didn't, and you've confused at least two people. Any chance you could clarify what you were trying to say?
H18Y GW
19-07-2014, 01:29 PM
Addiction, no matter what form they take do ruin peoples lives but in so many different ways and to compare a drug addiction to a gambling one is actually quite wrong. Drug addiction ruins the body and mind, drives the ones you love away from you whereas gambling can hurt the ones you love more so because you can't buy food, pay bills etc, so they're the ones who suffer not the addict.
Agree totally,touch of sarcasm in my post that appeared to wooosh.
H18Y GW
19-07-2014, 01:33 PM
Sorry, a bit of an irony bypass on my part. Please help me, are you saying that drug addicts have a worse time than gambling addicts, or is it something else? Tbh, I'm not entirely sure.
I never said Drug addicts were at the Chemist ,i intimated that a guy with a fixed odds coupon was and used my own eye witness account of what i see on a daily basis and not from gamblers,apoligies if it was too abstract to be picked up on.:wink:
Ayrshire Hibee
19-07-2014, 02:49 PM
Who took the pictures of him?!
I assume it wasn't a colleague.
Guy who sold the story has been sacked
Ex workmate of mine posted on FB 2weeks ago saying he was working on the boat & then posted other day that
the rat who took pics etc has been sacked.
19-07-2014, 05:30 PM
I never said Drug addicts were at the Chemist ,i intimated that a guy with a fixed odds coupon was and used my own eye witness account of what i see on a daily basis and not from gamblers,apoligies if it was too abstract to be picked up on.:wink:
Thanks, I didn't get what you meant before.