View Full Version : "The" fans in racist and sexist shock

Dan Sarf
15-07-2014, 04:53 PM
After a young female reporter discussed the The's tax tribunal on BBC TV, she was subjected to a stream of foul online abuse that included, "ginger hag", "one ugly mother", "a pape bigot", an "ugly fenian *******", "a fenian cow" and worse, much worse.

Great to see them back, isn't it? :no way:

http://www.theguardian.com/media/greenslade/2014/jul/15/journalist-safety-rangers

15-07-2014, 05:11 PM
This should come as no surprise to anyone by now unless they have been living on the moon.

Sectarian bigots will never change. "Scotland's secret shame". Aye right, it's no secret, and never has been. Swept under the carpet for as long as you care to look back.

15-07-2014, 05:37 PM
:confused: Didn't someone say wee fat eck had recently declared Scotland sectarianism free?

15-07-2014, 05:43 PM
Women tend to get disproportionate amounts of online abuse from a certain breed of bully. Add bigotry into the equation and its all a bit...depressing.

15-07-2014, 05:46 PM
Don't worry. The Scottish Govt. Have brought in legislation to stop that kind of thing.

15-07-2014, 05:52 PM
:confused: Didn't someone say wee fat eck had recently declared Scotland sectarianism free?

no, that was the head of the Orange Order

sadtom
15-07-2014, 06:02 PM
I believe the new Planet of the Apes film is out soon.
Sounds like a fair few hunmonkeys are already in character (and have been for decades!).

15-07-2014, 06:03 PM
The thing is when they hear it's made the news they'll be delighted

15-07-2014, 06:07 PM

Eradicated. :rolleyes:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scotland/8509548/Alex-Salmond-sectarianism-in-Scottish-football-will-be-eradicated.html

15-07-2014, 06:08 PM
no, that was the head of the Orange Order

:agree: Yer right, Eck said he would get rid of it, guess he's been a bit busy recently, he didn't say when he'd get round to it to be fair, all about priorities :rolleyes:

15-07-2014, 06:10 PM
Surprisingly, this story only seems to appear in an English paper - our media doing it's usual !

15-07-2014, 06:11 PM
Eradicated. :rolleyes:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scotland/8509548/Alex-Salmond-sectarianism-in-Scottish-football-will-be-eradicated.html

:thumbsup: Cheers SH, thought I dreamt it. Eck'll sort it all out won't he?. :offski:

15-07-2014, 06:12 PM
Interesting to see if this appears in a Scottish paper. Not holding my breath though...

15-07-2014, 06:13 PM
Surprisingly, this story only seems to appear in an English paper - our media doing it's usual !

My thoughts exactly. Would love to hear from editors of the big Scottish papers why they aren't bothering to report on this

hibbiedon
15-07-2014, 06:21 PM
I love how the scottish government and wee eck are being ridiculed for the sectarian problems that stain Scotland i can assure you this problem started long before our parliament was even dreamt of. you will find the two main london based parties are mainly backed along sectarian lines in the west,

15-07-2014, 06:28 PM
I love how the scottish government and wee eck are being ridiculed for the sectarian problems that stain Scotland i can assure you this problem started long before our parliament was even dreamt of. you will find the two main london based parties are mainly backed along sectarian lines in the west,

Totally get the history but its wee eck who said he was going to eradicate it, as it's evidently still around it seemed fair comment.

15-07-2014, 06:29 PM
:thumbsup: Cheers SH, thought I dreamt it. Eck'll sort it all out won't he?. :offski:

Of course he will.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-ZOn8Rw5Sf8c/TqRelQsnOmI/AAAAAAAAAYI/YSvS7WK2Cj8/s400/salmond-pinnochio.jpg

15-07-2014, 06:31 PM

It's written by Roy Greenslade who is very close to Angela Haggerty, otherwise it would have went totally unreported.

15-07-2014, 06:53 PM
Don't worry. The Scottish Govt. Have brought in legislation to stop that kind of thing.

:faf: Good one mate.

15-07-2014, 06:58 PM

Exactly, the UK government have had how long to act yet it's all "wee fat eck's" fault that he hasn't managed to solve a problem that's existed for centuries, in a few years.

16-07-2014, 09:34 AM

Totally agree at least he had the backbone to try and do something about it however the judiciary seem to have a problem with the legislation put in place and have been highly critical of it. Maybe needs another go to get it right though do remember both OF fans being upset about it also which means it was at lease heading in the right direction.

16-07-2014, 09:46 AM
Totally agree at least he had the backbone to try and do something about it however the judiciary seem to have a problem with the legislation put in place and have been highly critical of it. Maybe needs another go to get it right though do remember both OF fans being upset about it also which means it was at lease heading in the right direction.

Police "Scotland" claimed that existing legislation was strong enough to deal with the scourge of sectarianism.

Well it has been used to good effect in the East of Scotland.

16-07-2014, 09:47 AM

Don't recall the overwhelming Scottish Labour majority making such a big issue of it...or their supporters.

And perhaps the question regarding the English press should not be 'Why is it that only the English press are reporting it and not the Scottish press?' but "Why are they not reporting racism and sectarianism in their own country?" Unless Tony Blair's New Labour (sic) or the Con/Lib pact have eradicated it in their own backyard!

Also, I am sure when any politician says they are going to eradicate this they mean that it will not be tolerated as policy or practice, in sport, school or politics or anywhere where people are discriminated against or verbally or physically abused. No legislation can prevent someone just shouting out abuse when they take the notion. The legislation is there to allow action to be taken when deemed appropriate and it has to be other agencies to decide and enforce the law.

Ah, but Hibs morality and Hibs class.......seems now we won't even ****** the Queen for half a quid. Or perhaps her price has just risen beyond our budget.

16-07-2014, 09:59 AM
FollowFollow should be shut down if this is the sort of bigotry and hatred its 'moderators' allow.

As for personally blaming Salmond for not eradicating bigotry, behave.

TrinityHibs
16-07-2014, 10:09 AM
FollowFollow should be shut down if this is the sort of bigotry and hatred its 'moderators' allow.

As for personally blaming Salmond for not eradicating bigotry, behave.

I think the point being made is that Salmond had said that it had been eradicated. So the comments relate to inaccuracy, which he has some form for, rather than failure.

16-07-2014, 10:12 AM
Erseholes. Actually that's unfair because erseholes have a use.

These types of people are the utter dregs of society. They should ship all these muppets and their Ra Sellick counterparts to a desert island somewhere and let them enjoy the 17th century together.

AndyM_1875
16-07-2014, 10:18 AM
After a young female reporter discussed the The's tax tribunal on BBC TV, she was subjected to a stream of foul online abuse that included, "ginger hag", "one ugly mother", "a pape bigot", an "ugly fenian *******", "a fenian cow" and worse, much worse.

Great to see them back, isn't it? :no way:

http://www.theguardian.com/media/greenslade/2014/jul/15/journalist-safety-rangers

There is absolutely no excuse for this kind of disgusting behavior and the Rangers online mob are a truly mental bunch capable of the worst kind of atrocious bigotry and vile slander. But they are just a straight reflection of the online mental sad case Celtic types and the hack in question, Angela Haggerty, is a mouthpiece for bigoted pretend hack Phil McGhiollabhain and she edited his book and is close to him.

So its hardly a shock that the bluenoses turn their brain dead ire on her. If you swim in the sewer and all that....

16-07-2014, 10:18 AM
I think the point being made is that Salmond had said that it had been eradicated. So the comments relate to inaccuracy, which he has some form for, rather than failure.

I think it was "will" be eradicated rather "has been"? ..... I read earlier it was the Orange Order that said something along the lines of "had been eradicated"

Summat like that anyway! :agree:

16-07-2014, 10:25 AM
I'd think long and hard before posting anything like that these days, even if I wanted to.

It's totally unacceptable and illegal is it not? Surely before you sign up to any of these things you would have to leave your details meaning that you can be easily traced?

I'd be perfectly happy to see our legal system clogged up with these idiots.

At least the authorities are making noises that this is now unacceptable. Sectarianism has been rife for centuries and it was considered to be acceptable and was rife within the authorities - it probably still is.

They need to get tough, start prosecuting where they can and send a message out that this is 21st century Scotland and behaviour of this nature will simply not be tolerated.

I know plenty of decent Old Firm fans, and it's actually crap for them to be associated with this rubbish too.

TrinityHibs
16-07-2014, 10:37 AM
I think it was "will" be eradicated rather "has been"? ..... I read earlier it was the Orange Order that said something along the lines of "had been eradicated"

Summat like that anyway! :agree:

You are correct Alf going to be eradicated was said in 2011:agree:

Newry Hibs
16-07-2014, 10:39 AM
Erseholes. Actually that's unfair because erseholes have a use.

These types of people are the utter dregs of society. They should ship all these muppets and their Ra Sellick counterparts to a desert island somewhere and let them enjoy the 17th century together.

Also known as Ireland.

16-07-2014, 11:59 AM

Head of the OO said that did he not? A few days later some mother painted K.A.T (Kill all taigs) in the finest red, white and bloo face paint on her 8 year old daughters face when the oranges went on a few walks round various towns and cities on July 12th.

Chance have you got....

16-07-2014, 12:08 PM
There is absolutely no excuse for this kind of disgusting behavior and the Rangers online mob are a truly mental bunch capable of the worst kind of atrocious bigotry and vile slander. But they are just a straight reflection of the online mental sad case Celtic types and the hack in question, Angela Haggerty, is a mouthpiece for bigoted pretend hack Phil McGhiollabhain and she edited his book and is close to him.

So its hardly a shock that the bluenoses turn their brain dead ire on her. If you swim in the sewer and all that....

Phil Mcthingy-ma-jig is a complete knob i'll agree with that. Attention seeking prick.

WTF has he said/published that has been "bigoted" though?

Police "Scotland" claimed that existing legislation was strong enough to deal with the scourge of sectarianism.

Well it has been used to good effect in the East of Scotland.

Police Scotland won't do owt either. They were making big noises when a few hundred brits in uniform marching around ibrox singing hullo hullo, bouncy, sash, billy boys etc and like most of these things they'll go quiet, hope everyone forgets and will sweep it under the carpet. They've got more important things to be doing like spending a few grand ensuring Hibs fans can't sneak a can on the train to Berwick...

16-07-2014, 12:19 PM
Head of the OO said that did he not? A few days later some mother painted K.A.T (Kill all taigs) in the finest red, white and bloo face paint on her 8 year old daughters face when the oranges went on a few walks round various towns and cities on July 12th.

Chance have you got....

FFS, what chance have we atheists got?

Probably quite good as they won't know what an atheist is :-).

Off the bar
16-07-2014, 12:25 PM
FFS, what chance have we atheists got?

Probably quite good as they won't know what an atheist is :-).

or as my brother was once asked in Glasgow 'are you a catholic atheist or a protestant atheist?'

Lewis77
16-07-2014, 12:43 PM
This should come as no surprise to anyone by now unless they have been living on the moon.

Sectarian bigots will never change. "Scotland's secret shame". Aye right, it's no secret, and never has been. Swept under the carpet for as long as you care to look back.

I believe more has been done to address sectarianism of late, but you have to ask why it's never been properly addressed ? Who did it serve not to address it? They have little if any (let's call it traditional) sectarianism in England. Why is it so prevalent in our society? I would suggest sectarianism in Scotland has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster.

16-07-2014, 12:48 PM
I believe more has been done to address sectarianism of late, but you have to ask why it's never been properly addressed ? Who did it serve not to address it? They have little if any (let's call it traditional) sectarianism in England. Why is it so prevalent in our society? I would suggest sectarianism in Scotland has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster.

One of the reasons for the lack of sectarianism in England is that CofE is very, very close to Catholicism in all it's rites and rituals. We in Scotland (and Ireland) have suffered from it due to the fire and brimstone Protestantism of John Knox and his successors.

16-07-2014, 12:53 PM
or as my brother was once asked in Glasgow 'are you a catholic atheist or a protestant atheist?'

Agnostic atheism is the future.

16-07-2014, 12:56 PM
Agnostic atheism is the future.

I believe that, or maybe I don't, Im not sure, can I be undecided on whether it is or isn't the future? :confused:

Lewis77
16-07-2014, 01:02 PM
One of the reasons for the lack of sectarianism in England is that CofE is very, very close to Catholicism in all it's rites and rituals. We in Scotland (and Ireland) have suffered from it due to the fire and brimstone Protestantism of John Knox and his successors.

There's plenty of fire and brimstone in traditional English Protestantism, especially the Methodist & Baptist churches.

AndyM_1875
16-07-2014, 01:04 PM
Phil Mcthingy-ma-jig is a complete knob i'll agree with that. Attention seeking prick.

WTF has he said/published that has been "bigoted" though?

His constant references to Rangers fans as Nazi sympathisers or KKK sympathisers, his pet nickname for them is "Klan" (this has also been used with frequency by Haggerty). His entire output for months was been aimed at de-humanizing the entire support of Rangers Football Club with his lazy clichéd nonsense.

Whilst there is no doubt that Rangers have a lot of complete bell ends in their support and a lot of bigots to say all of them are is just ridiculous. Don't forget as well the Sun were going to his book "Downfall" (yes I got reference of the title too) but the Sports hacks did some digging and read his blog (it was the piece called 'the Incubator' that did for him) before running the proverbial mile from it. They said he was "tarred with a sickening sectarian brush".

I didn't buy his crap 2 years ago and I'm not buying it now.

16-07-2014, 03:27 PM

Cannot agree with that. The vast majority of these numpties have never sat in a church and listened to a fire and brimstone minister preaching. I go to church most Sundays and I couldn't even tell you the last time I heard a fire and brimstone minister, if ever more is the pity.

16-07-2014, 04:35 PM
I believe that, or maybe I don't, Im not sure, can I be undecided on whether it is or isn't the future? :confused:

Like the rest of the world, maybe we need a good faith based war to sort it all out? The biggest team should win :-)

16-07-2014, 05:24 PM
Cannot agree with that. The vast majority of these numpties haveinterchangeablenever sat in a church and listened to a fire and brichurchminister preaching. I go to church most Sundays and I couldn't even tell you the last time I heard a fire and brimstone minister, if ever more is the pity.

It's a historical view. Once Cromwell was finished the CofE and RC churches became pretty much Interchangeable. As you say, most Scots couldn't nametheir nearestt church or chapel but you can bet their ancestors did.

16-07-2014, 06:05 PM

I'm not sure why you would suggest that sectarianism has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster Lewis. :confused:

Anyway, without wanting to drag this subject out, there is a pretty good bit on Nil By Mouth website entitled History of Sectarianism.

Lewis77
16-07-2014, 06:29 PM
I'm not sure why you would suggest that sectarianism has always been beneficial to those in power at Westminster Lewis. :confused:

I'm not so much talking about sectarianism in football but Scottish society in general. Divide and conquer and all that. I'm not suggesting those in power implemented sectarianism rather that they did nothing to combat it. This notion shouldn't be dismissed out of hand.

16-07-2014, 06:34 PM
I'm not so much talking about sectarianism in football but Scottish society in general. Divide and conquer and all that. I'm not suggesting those in power implemented sectarianism rather that they did nothing to combat it. This notion shouldn't be dismissed out of hand.

Right, I see what you're saying now. Cheers.

over the line
16-07-2014, 07:17 PM
As I am a long term exile in the north west of England and having never lived in Glasgow, I find it unbelievable that this **** still exhists! Have these people really got such tiny brains and such dull existences that they have to fill their pointless vacuums of 'lives' with such childish, pathetic, hate filled, nonsense!?!?!?

Life is too short, let it go and enjoy your lives!

17-07-2014, 05:42 PM
As I am a long term exile in the north west of England and having never lived in Glasgow, I find it unbelievable that this **** still exhists! Have these people really got such tiny brains and such dull existences that they have to fill their pointless vacuums of 'lives' with such childish, pathetic, hate filled, nonsense!?!?!?

Yup.

19-07-2014, 10:12 AM

What is the reason for lack of sectarianism in Holland, France, Germany and Spain then? Is that John Knoxs fault as well?

over the line
19-07-2014, 08:19 PM
What is the reason for lack of sectarianism in Holland, France, Germany and Spain then? Is that John Knoxs fault as well?

Maybe they just channel their hatred against other 'enemies'? The Dutch hate the Germans, the French hate soap, the Germans.....(not going there!) and the Spanish hate young British holidaymakers!

19-07-2014, 08:22 PM

It must be due to a low percentage of Scots settling there!

20-07-2014, 09:24 AM
Maybe they just channel their hatred against other 'enemies'? The Dutch hate the Germans, the French hate soap, the Germans.....(not going there!) and the Spanish hate young British holidaymakers!

Maybe we need to get more European in selecting people to fight with.

It must be due to a low percentage of Scots settling there!

One Scotsman is all it would take. One Scotsman and an empty room.