View Full Version : Match Updates Dunfermline 0 v 0 Hibernian (ft)

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2014, 12:51 PM
Hibs go in to the 3rd pre-season friendly with 2 wins under our belts but more importantly vital game time .

Will Farid el Alagui start?

15-07-2014, 12:53 PM
Hibs go in to the 3rd pre-season friendly with 2 wins under our belts but more importantly vital game time .

Not playing at all. Heff and Cummings also injured.

15-07-2014, 12:56 PM

No weather update? :D

15-07-2014, 01:03 PM
Not playing at all. Heff and Cummings also injured.

Where are you hearing he isn't playing at all? I wonder if we'll have any striker trialests..

nribs
15-07-2014, 01:06 PM
Any news on Robertson?

GlasgowHibee
15-07-2014, 01:13 PM
Probably not the most important of questions but does anyone know if they'll have any food stalls open? coming straight from work so need to know whether to stop before hand.

15-07-2014, 01:14 PM
Just heard he refused to play as it's his turn I'n goals. Last one joining goes I'n ( primary school rules ).

nribs
15-07-2014, 01:16 PM
Probably not the most important of questions but does anyone know if they'll have any food stalls open? coming straight from work so need to know whether to stop before hand.

Aldi's right next door :)

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2014, 01:23 PM
No weather update? :D

Sunny intervals :greengrin

15-07-2014, 01:28 PM
Where are you hearing he isn't playing at all? I wonder if we'll have any striker trialests..

Evening news.

nribs
15-07-2014, 01:30 PM
Evening news.

Dissapointinghttp://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-buoyed-by-capture-of-farid-el-alagui-1-3476663

15-07-2014, 01:35 PM
Who plays up top with no Cummings, El Alagui or Heffernan?

Should I take my samba's with me :greengrin

15-07-2014, 01:39 PM
Is Handling not still available? If not it'll presumably be one of the younger guys, Mulhall, Allan, McCaffrey etc. Good chance for them to get in the managers thinking as Dunfermline will be the biggest challenge so far.

15-07-2014, 02:10 PM
Who plays up top with no Cummings, El Alagui or Heffernan?

Should I take my samba's with me :greengrin

Heff injured.

Scottiedog007
15-07-2014, 02:31 PM
was going to travel through for this game but unfortunately public transport in scotland strikes again and I cant get home don't fancy the drive liked the look of the squad on saturday so hopefully more of the same will hope to see some new faces by next sunday for trip to stirling albion also

15-07-2014, 02:43 PM
Is Farid playing tonight?

15-07-2014, 03:12 PM
Is Farid playing tonight?

Apparently not.

15-07-2014, 03:13 PM
There are definitely trialists at the club this week but I have no idea who they are or if they are playing tonight.

brian6-2
15-07-2014, 03:19 PM
David Clarkson up front as a trialist???

15-07-2014, 03:20 PM
There are definitely trialists at the club this week but I have no idea who they are or if they are playing tonight.

The two I know of are Coulson and Clarkson. Probably another 1 or 2 more aswell.

BarneyK
15-07-2014, 03:21 PM
Is Handling not still available? If not it'll presumably be one of the younger guys, Mulhall, Allan, McCaffrey etc. Good chance for them to get in the managers thinking as Dunfermline will be the biggest challenge so far.

Mulhall's still a bit away from being fully fit I think.

15-07-2014, 03:25 PM
Farid not playing tonight. He'll be attending the game though. (He's not injured)

15-07-2014, 03:29 PM
Interview in todays Evening news states Farid is a wee bit behind the rest of the squad in fitness terms and it's unlikely he will play any part in tonights game.

15-07-2014, 03:36 PM
I'd like to make a wee request of those lucky enough to be there tonight.

Is there any chance some of you could take photos of the game and/or crowd and post them on here?

Thanks

15-07-2014, 03:43 PM
Really wonder what our options up front are tonight? No Cummings, Heffernan and El Alagui.

15-07-2014, 03:47 PM
Really wonder what our options up front are tonight? No Cummings, Heffernan and El Alagui.

Trialists or youngsters?

I'd imagine it's still a good workout for the team overall, as the players will still be getting the chance to get used to the formation and Stubb's playing style. It's just when the ball reaches the forwards and there's none there that it starts to be a problem.......

15-07-2014, 03:56 PM
How many injuries has heffernan had whilst at hibs? Seems to get a run of about 3 or 4 games before being out for weeks with another injury.

15-07-2014, 03:59 PM

Clarkson and Allan probably.

15-07-2014, 04:02 PM
Anyone know if Scott Robertson is available tonight or is he still injured?

lumbo_hfc
15-07-2014, 04:09 PM
Anyone know if Scott Robertson is available tonight or is he still injured?Did he get injured on saturday? I must have missed that.

Lewis Allan looked great when he came on against Berwick, albeit not against the best opposition but would like to see him start tonight.

15-07-2014, 04:14 PM
Is it legit that Clarkson is on trial with us? If so, I hope he plays a blinder tonight and we offer him a deal. From my memory of him when he was at Motherwell, he's a very decent player!
Really looking forward to reading folks impressions if he does infact play tonight.

Leitherhibs
15-07-2014, 04:22 PM
Is it legit that Clarkson is on trial with us? If so, I hope he plays a blinder tonight and we offer him a deal. From my memory of him when he was at Motherwell, he's a very decent player!
Really looking forward to reading folks impressions if he does infact play tonight.

Was good at motherwell, my only criticism is his goalscoring record has been fairly poor at almost every club hes played for.

Bristol Rovers fan at work said hes a good player but a below average finisher. We need goals!

nribs
15-07-2014, 04:23 PM
If he is in trial we wouldn't lose anything by giving him some time tonight unless Stubbs as already decided we have better and the young guys deserve more of a chance?

15-07-2014, 04:29 PM
Did he get injured on saturday? I must have missed that.

Lewis Allan looked great when he came on against Berwick, albeit not against the best opposition but would like to see him start tonight.

He's been injured for the last two weeks with a back problem. Hasn't played in any of our pre-season matches yet.

lumbo_hfc
15-07-2014, 04:38 PM
He's been injured for the last two weeks with a back problem. Hasn't played in any of our pre-season matches yet.

Are we talking about the same Scott Robertson?? The one that plays centre midfield?? And did just that on saturday for the first half....

You could be right though as i did have a few drinks on saturday!!!!

ozzie
15-07-2014, 04:54 PM

Tweeked his back in training missed vol game but played against Berwick.

15-07-2014, 05:12 PM
Sitting in sunny dunfy in weatherspoons with a cold pint and just about to scoff huge steak night grub

15-07-2014, 05:14 PM
Is Clarkson defo a trialist tonight for Hibs.

15-07-2014, 05:16 PM
Tweeked his back in training missed vol game but played against Berwick.

My mistake. I didn't know that. Cheers for that mate.

15-07-2014, 05:16 PM

I'd be concerned about a lack of pace up front if we have Clarkson and algooey up there.

15-07-2014, 05:17 PM
Are we talking about the same Scott Robertson?? The one that plays centre midfield?? And did just that on saturday for the first half....

You could be right though as i did have a few drinks on saturday!!!!

Yes, you were right mate. I didn't know he played on Saturday. Me bad!

15-07-2014, 05:17 PM
Sitting in sunny dunfy in weatherspoons with a cold pint and just about to scoff huge steak night grub

15-07-2014, 05:21 PM
I'd be concerned about a lack of pace up front if we have Clarkson and algooey up there.

Is that a yes or no. :greengrin

15-07-2014, 05:24 PM
Is that a yes or no. :greengrin

I can definitely confirm that I'm hearing that my sources are telling me that I dunno.

Hope that helps

15-07-2014, 05:41 PM
I can definitely confirm that I'm hearing that my sources are telling me that I dunno.

Hope that helps

Certainly cleared that one up Bingo.

Any team news yet.

15-07-2014, 05:42 PM

No Clarkson tonight.. @HibernianFCClub: #Hibs Perntreou, Coulson, Stevenson, Forster, Nelson, Booth, Tudur Jones, Robertson, Allan, Handling, Craig
@HibernianFCClub: #Hibs subs: Brennan, Gray, Stanton, Dunsmore, Todd, Gardiner

15-07-2014, 05:45 PM
No Clarkson tonight.. @HibernianFCClub: #Hibs Perntreou, Coulson, Stevenson, Forster, Nelson, Booth, Tudur Jones, Robertson, Allan, Handling, Craig

Not what you'd call an inspiring line up.

15-07-2014, 05:46 PM
How many injuries has heffernan had whilst at hibs? Seems to get a run of about 3 or 4 games before being out for weeks with another injury.

That crossed my mind as he does seem a bit injury prone. Mind you, a lot of his injuries were Butcher lies.

RN Hibee
15-07-2014, 05:50 PM

I agree, but you've gotta remember it's pre-season still and 4 players who you could argue would be starters are out and our new signing isn't featured, doesn't quite represent our overall strength. That being said I still think we'll win 1 or 2 nil.

WestEndHibee
15-07-2014, 05:53 PM

When was the last time you were inspired by a Hibs line-up?

15-07-2014, 05:55 PM

Cheers.

The team is starting to take shape, SPFL here we come. :rolleyes:

15-07-2014, 05:55 PM
Playing three at the back. Interesting to see how that works.

15-07-2014, 05:56 PM
Interesting tweet from Hibs to say we are playing 3-5-2.

Who go will play as the sweeper? I'd assume Nelson and Forster will play either side.

15-07-2014, 05:57 PM
6 subs, only one of which has played a first team game? Shows we have a lot to do to even get near the play offs let alone do well in them!

StarMan10
15-07-2014, 05:57 PM
Will probably be Forster Nelson Booth with Coulson and Stevenson as wing backs

15-07-2014, 05:58 PM

Deary me. You never happy.

Nelson in 3 at the back? Uh oh...

Who go will play as the sweeper? I'd assume Nelson and Forster will play either side.

U might find nelson will sweep and Jones and forster will be the other 2

15-07-2014, 05:59 PM

Aye, this auld age disnae jist come itsel'

15-07-2014, 05:59 PM
Cheers.

The team is starting to take shape, SPFL here we come. :rolleyes:

I'm a bit like that too but that team and the bench are here to beat Dunfermline. Let's take care of this and see what we're like on Sunday..

StarMan10
15-07-2014, 06:00 PM
@HibernianFCClub: @GregSup Hi Greg, believe Coulson and Stevenson will be wing-backs with Booth on left hand side of back three, GGTTH, HFC

jimmyboco1875
15-07-2014, 06:00 PM
Hate to be negative but that team is scarily poor however I'm open to a mind change if were 3 up halftime

berwickhibee
15-07-2014, 06:01 PM

tudor jones in the back 3??? booth and Coulson wing backs?? Robertson and Stevenson central mid,liam craig in behind front 2, hope so as liam craig has goals in him if used correctly.:greengrin

15-07-2014, 06:02 PM
@HibernianFCClub: @GregSup Hi Greg, believe Coulson and Stevenson will be wing-backs with Booth on left hand side of back three, GGTTH, HFC

I thought I was the only one pished tonight.

15-07-2014, 06:04 PM
Interesting that Coulson is named rather than as a trialist. Does this mean he's signed?

15-07-2014, 06:05 PM

Not where I'd imagine you'd get the best from Booth.

Pre season though, it's the time to try different things. The team that has started tonight will be nothing like what starts our first game anyway.

15-07-2014, 06:07 PM
When was the last time you were inspired by a Hibs line-up?

"Here we are now - ENTERTAIN US!!!!"...

15-07-2014, 06:07 PM
6 subs, only one of which has played a first team game? Shows we have a lot to do to even get near the play offs let alone do well in them!

Yep, Scoopyboy understands this is the team and bench that will face Livingston in the first league match.

FACT. End of.

No more signings and the players not starting tonight will not be considered.

15-07-2014, 06:08 PM
Interesting that Coulson is named rather than as a trialist. Does this mean he's signed?

Buxton and Burke were named against VOL if I recall correctly.

Paperboy
15-07-2014, 06:10 PM
Got 11/10 on Hibs winning tonight. C'mon!!!

15-07-2014, 06:13 PM
When was the last time we even considered playing a 3-5-2 ?! :confused:

15-07-2014, 06:14 PM
What's up with Alex Harris? Hopefully not something too long term?

15-07-2014, 06:18 PM
Filling up east stand nicely - going to be some shocking sunburn sitting in this heat for 2 + hours (nae hat or suncream ...doh) can hardly make out warm up players 30 yards out - pitch looks cracking ;)

Yep, Scoopyboy understands this is the team and bench that will face Livingston in the first league match.

FACT. End of.

No more signings and the players not starting tonight will not be considered.

Really Scoops.

What about Hanlon or am i having a whoosh moment here.

That team could get relegated.imo

DTS
Who is the boy coulson I was away at T in the park is he a trialist under 20??

15-07-2014, 06:19 PM

Pars announcer called LC as a trialist

StarMan10
15-07-2014, 06:20 PM
Who is the boy coulson I was away at T in the park is he a trialist under 20??

Trialist, was at Cardiff last year I believe. Played second half against Berwick, Stubbs to make a decision on him after tonight apparently.

15-07-2014, 06:21 PM
Really Scoops.

'Twas a sarky post non?

DTS
15-07-2014, 06:25 PM
Trialist, was at Cardiff last year I believe. Played second half against Berwick, Stubbs to make a decision on him after tonight apparently.

Cheers for that, did he look a good player at the weekend? If he's playing wing back would you say from Saturday he's more a winger or a full back?

15-07-2014, 06:26 PM
Really Scoops.

Hahaha. Relegated???

15-07-2014, 06:26 PM

Whit?

15-07-2014, 06:27 PM
Really Scoops.

WHOOSH! Nicotine starved brain function :wink:

15-07-2014, 06:27 PM
Good Hibs support with 15 to go.

Twiglet
15-07-2014, 06:29 PM

Actually hate you right now. Just out from a personal train session and will prob have to eat healthy stuff for tea whilst writing a job app. :-/

esjorto
15-07-2014, 06:37 PM
Hate to be negative but that team is scarily poor however I'm open to a mind change if were 3 up halftime

If you really hate being negative, do try being positive! It's not harmful !!

15-07-2014, 06:40 PM
Penalty. Allan taken down. Craig saved.

15-07-2014, 06:41 PM
Penalty saved

Actually might have been robertson

Perntreou, we're playing the Germans style :-)

15-07-2014, 06:44 PM
Stubbs out.

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2014, 06:48 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/16/3abasasy.jpghttp://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/16/abedy5am.jpg

15-07-2014, 06:49 PM
Could anyone please give a brief summary of how Hibs are playing.

Like, how they are trying to score. What does their strategy seem like?

15-07-2014, 06:51 PM
Really Scoops.

Nah, just being stupid in return to what I thought was an even more stupid post.

15-07-2014, 06:55 PM
Nah, just being stupid in return to what I thought was an even more stupid post.

I will put it down to the meds I'm on just now, as good a excuse as any :greengrin

15-07-2014, 06:57 PM
has the game started yet? all abit quiet

15-07-2014, 06:59 PM

Penalties do tend to be given after he game has started and not before...

Sorry if I've missed it, but has anyone got the the team lines

Nevi_SOL
Stevenson goal disallowed

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/16/3abasasy.jpghttp://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/16/abedy5am.jpg

More hibbies than Dunfy fans?

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2014, 07:01 PM
More hibbies than Dunfy fans?

I'd say so mate

15-07-2014, 07:03 PM

Craig had a penalty save, Allan had a pop, Stevenson had a goal disallowed and Craig hit the bar.

Not a bad start

15-07-2014, 07:07 PM
Great touch from the seagull

15-07-2014, 07:08 PM
Keeper good save from Allan and handling

15-07-2014, 07:08 PM
Booth hits a seagull with a clearance.

thought we wanted to play on the deck now?

arf.

15-07-2014, 07:10 PM
Keeper good save from Allan and handling

great turn by Stevenson to create the chance

Just told the Mrs that Booth hit a seagull with the ball. Her reply:

"Is the seagull okay?"

Booth hits a seagull with a clearance.

thought we wanted to play on the deck now?

arf.

Is the seagull OK?

15-07-2014, 07:11 PM
Booth clearance hits seagull - funny funny funny

15-07-2014, 07:12 PM

"Is the seagull okay?"

It's fine :greengrin

15-07-2014, 07:14 PM
What's the guy coulson been like?

15-07-2014, 07:14 PM

"Is the seagull okay?"

Is the seagull OK?

15-07-2014, 07:15 PM
Out of interest, does anyone know who brennan and dunsmore are? I've heard of the others but not these guys.

15-07-2014, 07:16 PM

Husnae hit any seagulls yet. No Hibs class.

15-07-2014, 07:18 PM
0-0 HT, who is going to score our 4 goals 2nd half?

Can the seagull play in goal?

Gerard
Husnae hit any seagulls yet. No Hibs class.

plenty time to do that

Dublin07
Out of interest, does anyone know who brennan and dunsmore are? I've heard of the others but not these guys.

Brennan was the sub goalie on Saturday and dunsmore played in midfield. Both youngsters.

Nevi_SOL
15-07-2014, 07:20 PM

Is say he's played well good pace likes running the wing.

15-07-2014, 07:20 PM

Apparently tends to flap a bit

StarMan10
15-07-2014, 07:21 PM

Only watched the last 20 mins but he's been average from the little I've seen

15-07-2014, 07:22 PM

Flaps at crosses.

15-07-2014, 07:24 PM

I believe he is being emptied for recording Rod's phone messages! ;-)

15-07-2014, 07:27 PM
Did the seagull die?

15-07-2014, 07:27 PM
Had another sleepless night last night due to the ******* seagulls that sit outside squawking all night long. I have little sympathy for the seagull that Booth took out. Wonder if he's available to ping footballs at the ****ers outside my window

15-07-2014, 07:29 PM
Stevenson was opening a tin of sardines with that kick

I believe he is being emptied for recording Rod's phone messages! ;-)

Bullcrap. Rod does not use phones. Too expensive. Carrier pigeon. Our £150k offer for Leigh Griffith ended up in some pigeon pie between here and Wolverhampton. True story.

Strange?? Coulson already agreed to sign for Brighton?

@HibernianFCClub: @HibeesBounce Apparently already agreed to join Brighton J; shame because he is outstanding in the air...

xyz23jc
15-07-2014, 07:30 PM
Apparently tends to flap a bit

No change there then! ;)

15-07-2014, 07:32 PM
The seagull okay? This has been the only entertaining thing posted on this thread. the game sounds terrible:wink:

Hibstrooper
15-07-2014, 07:33 PM

@HibernianFCClub: @HibeesBounce Apparently already agreed to join Brighton J; shame because he is outstanding in the air...

Whoosh :greengrin

15-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Bullcrap. Rod does not use phones. Too expensive. Carrier pigeon. Our £150k offer for Leigh Griffith ended up in some pigeon pie between here and Wolverhampton. True story.

I hear he's using seagulls now..............

.........oh dear... :-)

The Hibs twitter guy definitely caught a few with that one

007 Mickey Weir
Dunsmore is a RB I think.

15-07-2014, 07:36 PM
The Hibs twitter guy definitely caught a few with that one

Hahahahaha... I'm a welt

15-07-2014, 07:37 PM
Hahahahaha... I'm a welt

Haha it happens :greengrin

15-07-2014, 07:39 PM
Beginning to think we should sign this scully chap

Jim Herriot
15-07-2014, 07:40 PM

Better off with Steven Seagal.

Sorry, ma coat's already on... :)

15-07-2014, 07:41 PM

Doesnt make sense, if he's going to Brighton he wouldn't be at Pars tonight. He's just come off & replaced by Gray who announcer thinks is a Trialist!

15-07-2014, 07:41 PM
Coulson looked solid

15-07-2014, 07:42 PM
Doesnt make sense, if he's going to Brighton he wouldn't be at Pars tonight. He's just come off & replaced by Gray who announcer thinks is a Trialist!

Can maybe get a better nest egg at Brighton

dmc1875
15-07-2014, 07:43 PM
Coulson looked solid

Trialist off, trialist on apparently. The trialist coming on though is Gray..

jimmyboco1875
15-07-2014, 07:44 PM
Can maybe get a better nest egg at Brighton

He's a proper winger

AL-Qaholik
Gray announced as "Trialist" when he came on.
Has he not officially signed?? :confused:

RamblingJack
Better off with Steven Seagal.

Sorry, ma coat's already on... :)

Maybe we should sign Walter Pigeon and Anna neagle:thumbsup:

15-07-2014, 07:45 PM
He's a proper winger

He's been replaced by Steve Pigeon.

What a great coo for the club.

15-07-2014, 07:45 PM

"Is the seagull okay?"

https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/6132661248/h325808C4/

15-07-2014, 07:47 PM
Great move, header by Allan, outstanding save. It's a decent game & we're dominating.

https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/6132661248/h325808C4/

Keeper with another great save, this time from Stevenson header. Yes a Lewis Stevenson header

banarc7062
Any score yet?

15-07-2014, 07:49 PM
Another great chance, Allan just past post but Craig was open in middle.

15-07-2014, 07:49 PM
Looks a good Hibs support

15-07-2014, 07:50 PM
Gray announced as "Trialist" when he came on.
Has he not officially signed?? :confused:
Gray was announced last week. Stadium annoucers daft:wink:

dmc1875
15-07-2014, 07:51 PM
Great chance Craig should have scored

15-07-2014, 07:51 PM
Another save from 1:1 from Craig. Good take down and adjustment to get the shot down and away but straight at him.

15-07-2014, 07:52 PM
Maybe we should sign Walter Pigeon and Anna neagle:thumbsup:

Jackie Bird will announce these signings on the news tomorrow.

15-07-2014, 07:52 PM
Another great chance, Allan just past post but Craig was open in middle.

We just missed another good chance, should be 2 or 3 up.

15-07-2014, 07:53 PM
Any score yet?

Booth 1 v 0 Seagull

15-07-2014, 07:53 PM
Playing really well and should be 3-4 up. Who's the Dunfermline GK? Seems to be saving everything we throw at him!

15-07-2014, 07:54 PM
Can Russell Crowe play in goals ? [sorry, couldnae resist it]

15-07-2014, 07:56 PM
Jackie Bird will announce these signings on the news tomorrow.

What about Arjen Robin?

15-07-2014, 07:57 PM
Our upcoming transfer list is someone working unpaid whilst at Uni.

In- tern

supershotmo
15-07-2014, 07:57 PM
Come on Hi"bird"ian

15-07-2014, 08:02 PM
What about Ally McCoist? He's a Blue Tit ......

15-07-2014, 08:07 PM
What about Arjen Robin?

I think he migrated to South America, not sure if he is back yet.

I believe we've tempted Eagle Ostenstad out of retirement, dinnae want to count my chickens before they've hatched though!

15-07-2014, 08:08 PM
Forster goes close, don't think Pars have had a shot on target.

cam75
15-07-2014, 08:09 PM
Wonder who will be doing the chicken dance tonight?

15-07-2014, 08:11 PM
Pars go close, they have a guy called Williamson who plays like Ted McMinn!

15-07-2014, 08:11 PM
Whats OTJ's performance been like?

supershotmo
15-07-2014, 08:12 PM
Chick Charnley

15-07-2014, 08:13 PM
Whats OTJ's performance been like?
Who? :wink:

15-07-2014, 08:14 PM
What about Ally McCoist? He's a Blue Tit ......

Or Samaras , the long tailed tit

15-07-2014, 08:14 PM
Good save by Perntreou!

RamblingJack
15-07-2014, 08:15 PM
Chick Charnley

Hen Broon

15-07-2014, 08:15 PM
All these BIRD puns are getting on my TITS ;-)) boom boom

RamblingJack
15-07-2014, 08:17 PM
Jack Sparrow....he'd be a good captain

shagpile
15-07-2014, 08:18 PM

You should take them with a finch of salt....

15-07-2014, 08:18 PM

Oh come on mate, you should know the Trill by now!

15-07-2014, 08:19 PM
FT, 0 0 . Decent, I thought Colson was much better than Gray.

supershotmo
15-07-2014, 08:20 PM
Good Hibee in Danny Swanson

15-07-2014, 08:20 PM
Were we not rumoured to be signing a doo?

TheFamous1875
15-07-2014, 08:21 PM
If we scored, I would've had a perma-grin on my face for the rest of the night!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

15-07-2014, 08:26 PM
Good Hibee in Danny Swanson meaning?:confused:

15-07-2014, 08:27 PM
meaning?:confused:

Oh dear .... Swan as in bird like the rest of the puns tonight. ;-)

esjorto
15-07-2014, 08:29 PM
Oh dear .... Swan as in bird like the rest of the puns tonight. ;-)

Or Jackie Wren. No pun.

15-07-2014, 08:46 PM
Theres been very few tweets posted on this thread.

15-07-2014, 08:50 PM
Anyway, back to the game, looks like middle of the road signings so far.

dmc1875
15-07-2014, 08:55 PM
Still very far off what the first team will be at the start of the season but good to see some of the youngsters playing. Thought the game passed OTJ by. Coulson looks ok, like the look of Allan up front and an interesting formation played. Really should have scored a couple

15-07-2014, 08:56 PM
Think I'll go along to the Starling Albion game on Sunday.

hihohibby
15-07-2014, 08:56 PM
I nominate this as the worse feedback of a match thread ever!.....and that line up was depressingly familiar.

hihohibby
15-07-2014, 09:00 PM
Still very far off what the first team will be at the start of the season but good to see some of the youngsters playing. Thought the game passed OTJ by. Coulson looks ok, like the look of Allan up front and an interesting formation played. Really should have scored a couple

Is it?
That line up really, really concerns me. The same failed players from last season still wearing Hibs colours and unable to impact.......again!

15-07-2014, 09:01 PM
Think I'll go along to the Starling Albion game on Sunday.

I hear an illegal betting ring wants the game moved to the birds nest stadium!

I would imagine there would be a very poultry attendance if that happens.

15-07-2014, 09:02 PM
Is it?
That line up really, really concerns me. The same failed players from last season still wearing Hibs colours and unable to impact.......again!

I don't think so.............14 were emptied from last season........

15-07-2014, 09:06 PM
Just back,
Well that was utter cack.

Get over the half way line then find a way to pass back to our own box.

Lots and lots of wok to be done.

We were probably as good as dunfermline.

Did you think we were that bad? I thought we played well for a pre-season game, nice passing and their goalie played a blinder, also had a few players out!

15-07-2014, 09:07 PM
The fact is we are less than 3 weeks away from the start of the season and have only signed two players.
The club are going to have to pick up the pace of our preparations.
This season we are going to have to be able to win away from home against teams of a higher quality than tonight.

15-07-2014, 09:08 PM
Are people forgetting this was a pre-season friendly?

dmc1875
15-07-2014, 09:08 PM
Is it?

Yes I believe it is. Out of the starting team I think nelson or Forster, Stevenson, booth, Robertson, Craig will start. That leaves room for 6 other players

Gk
Gray
Nelson
Hanlon
Booth

Stevenson
Craig
Robertson
Rm

St
St

Was good to see the likes of Allan though. Pre season game all about fitness.

15-07-2014, 09:10 PM
Is it true Budgie was at the game tonight? (Thats my last one for a while!).

TheFamous1875
15-07-2014, 09:13 PM
Yes I believe it is. Out of the starting team I think nelson or Forster, Stevenson, booth, Robertson, Craig will start. That leaves room for 6 other players

Gk
Gray
Nelson
Hanlon
Booth

Stevenson
Craig
Robertson
Rm

St
St

I'd assume that El-Alagui will be a regular starter in our team this season.

nribs
15-07-2014, 09:20 PM

Gk
Gray
Nelson
Hanlon
Booth

Stevenson
Craig
Robertson
Rm

St
St

Depends what formation he plays. Danny Handling was my man of the match tonight.

15-07-2014, 09:22 PM
Apparently Nelson was very good.

Yes, you heard that right

15-07-2014, 09:25 PM
No change there then! ;)

I had foolishly hoped that the standard and quantity of our signings and youth would have been enough to relegate this lot to fringe players. Sighhhhhh!!!!

15-07-2014, 09:26 PM

Thats good to hear as the amount of dogs abuse he's had has been embarrassing

He started last season quite brightly so here's hoping AS has him playing back to that level again.

15-07-2014, 09:27 PM
Without sounding negative I was always worried about a new manager coming in and making the mistake of thinking that some of our players ARE good enough.

Liam Craig, Lewis Stevenson, Michael Nelson,Danny Handling and Jones were terrible last season. However I'd imagine they are all good pro's so a new manager may allow them to hang about. None of these players are good enough, they all lack pace and cannot beat a man. I see Stubbs is also still utilising Craig in the middle which we all witnessed as a nightmare. Craig cannot run and only was successful at St J down to them utilising in that 'lazy' left wing of a front 3.

Despite this, it is only pre season so I'll reserve judgement and try to stay positive but there is still a heck of a lot of work to do to ensure certain individuals do not play. We cannot forget the failure of Nelson, Craig, Stevenson, Jones, Forster & Handling.

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

15-07-2014, 09:28 PM

I was at the game and imo Nelson did very well. Interesting formation tonight with wing backs being deployed. My first viewing of Hibs under Stubbs and can safely say my first impression is a decent one. Wee bit sharpness and pace required but going in the right direction.

15-07-2014, 09:33 PM
Without sounding negative I was always worried about a new manager coming in and making the mistake of thinking that some of our players ARE good enough.

Liam Craig, Lewis Stevenson, Michael Nelson,Danny Handling and Jones were terrible last season. However I'd imagine they are all good pro's so a new manager may allow them to hang about. None of these players are good enough, they all lack pace and cannot beat a man. I see Stubbs is also still utilising Craig in the middle which we all witnessed as a nightmare. Craig cannot run and only was successful at St J down to them utilising in that 'lazy' left wing of a front 3.

Despite this, it is only pre season so I'll reserve judgement and try to stay positive but there is still a heck of a lot of work to do to ensure certain individuals do not play. We cannot forget the failure of Nelson, Craig, Stevenson, Jones, Forster & Handling.

Agree with quite a lot of that.

I thought Craig was as bad as anyone last season but in the championship I don't think we will get a player in to replace him that would get more goals from midfield than him. Fully expect him to push for and possibly get in to double figures.

15-07-2014, 09:35 PM
Just back,

Lighten up Sloop, of course there is more to do. and I'm sure it will be.

It was a pre season game, and we didn't have a forward of any experience yet created plenty great chances and found a keeper in inspired form.

I'd rather have football like I saw tonight to the horrible stuff I watched in recent years, that's for sure.

15-07-2014, 09:36 PM
My first look as well. Nelson played well. A lot of possession. A lot of balls going backwards to keep possession when I thought a forward pass would be better but hey ho I'm not a footballer. Few of the youngsters looked not bad. Defence must be doing something right, three shut outs. Dunfy I think had one shot that was comfortably saved. Dunfy keeper was outstanding. Positive in the whole.

Is a dove a doo da?

15-07-2014, 09:36 PM
FT, 0 0 . Decent, I thought Colson was much better than Gray.

I didn't.

nribs
15-07-2014, 09:37 PM
I didn't.

Yet I did.

15-07-2014, 09:38 PM
Agree with quite a lot of that.

I thought Craig was as bad as anyone last season but in the championship I don't think we will get a player in to replace him that would get more goals from midfield than him. Fully expect him to push for and possibly get in to double figures.

For us to have success we really need to get cracking on guys that are capable of beating a man.

I hate to compare us with our neighbours but their team is littered with guys that can turn on the gas and beat a man with Nicholson, Walker, Paterson to name a few.
We need pace, strength and athleticism in our team and I've yet to see it arrive in the area we need it most (midfield).

Again, I apologise for the negativity but the scars of the way Hamilton ran rings around us are still very raw and the team is all to familiar.

hihohibby
15-07-2014, 09:40 PM
Are people forgetting this was a pre-season friendly?

Are people forgetting that we are 4, maybe 5 quality players short of a team that will realistically compete at the top end of the 2nd tier. Pre-season friendly or not, tonights line up made depressing reading. I have no belief in the abilities of those players still with us, who played their part in last seasons capitulations. My forgiving players and giving them a 2nd chance will not improve their quality, their abilities or their character. Hit the ground running is not, like I said before, an option.

15-07-2014, 09:40 PM
Danny Handling was my man of the match tonight.

He did play well, but I worry that his total lack of pace will go against him. Some very good touches and a great effort on goal in the 1st half (at least I tink it was him!)

hihohibby
15-07-2014, 09:42 PM
For us to have success we really need to get cracking on guys that are capable of beating a man.

I hate to compare us with our neighbours but their team is littered with guys that can turn on the gas and beat a man with Nicholson, Walker, Paterson to name a few.
We need pace, strength and athleticism in our team and I've yet to see it arrive in the area we need it most (midfield).

Again, I apologise for the negativity but the scars of the way Hamilton ran rings around us are still very raw and the team is all to familiar.

I could not agree more with this post.:top marks

macd123
15-07-2014, 09:45 PM
Just back,

Can't agree with you there. Numerous chances created, plus a missed pen and goal disallowed.

Lewis allan did well but we need a quality striker. Obviously a goalkeeper too.

15-07-2014, 09:48 PM
I enjoyed it, refreshing to see us playing the ball on the deck, some good moves, and should have scored a few....I like the style of the football being played.....

There will be more signings before Ibrox, and El Alagui is still to play..... Quite happy with the progress being made

15-07-2014, 09:49 PM
Are people forgetting that we are 4, maybe 5 quality players short of a team that will realistically compete at the top end of the 2nd tier. Pre-season friendly or not, tonights line up made depressing reading. I have no belief in the abilities of those players still with us, who played their part in last seasons capitulations. My forgiving players and giving them a 2nd chance will not improve their quality, their abilities or their character. Hit the ground running is not, like I said before, an option.

Get a grip, seriously.

15-07-2014, 09:53 PM
Just back,

Utter nonsense

15-07-2014, 09:55 PM
How's the keeper pentreu been playing so far?

heard good things of handling tonight

15-07-2014, 09:56 PM
Not good enough

Matty_Jack04
15-07-2014, 09:56 PM

nribs
15-07-2014, 10:00 PM
Not good enough

The game or the keeper?

15-07-2014, 10:01 PM
This bird pun patter was horrendous.

15-07-2014, 10:02 PM
Seems like you aren't allowed an opinion if you are criticizing the way things are at the minute. People moaning at people moaning.

We won't go up if the team we have stays the same. We need more quality if we are to go up first time of asking.

15-07-2014, 10:04 PM
Anyway, back to the game, looks like middle of the road signings so far.

Cheap mate. Chirpy cheap.

15-07-2014, 10:05 PM
Seems like you aren't allowed an opinion if you are criticizing the way things are at the minute. People moaning at people moaning.

We won't go up if the team we have stays the same. We need more quality if we are to go up first time of asking.

Is anyone actually disagreeing with that?

This thread was discussing tonights game with tonights team. No one is saying we'll win the league with it BUT the football was better than of late and it's a positive sign.

15-07-2014, 10:06 PM

The problem is that people are mumping on about mid table team etc when there are definite signs of improvement and more players likely to arrive soon.

scuttle
15-07-2014, 10:06 PM

Really,i thought it made some pheasant reading tonight

15-07-2014, 10:08 PM
Good argument, I have changed my mind.

Something I never thought you capable of, well done :wink:

nribs

Do you really think Stubbs won't add more quality to that team?

Bet you it made far more depressing reading for Citeh fans when they saw the score from Dens.......Kolarov, Rodwell, Jesus Navas, Fernando, Nasri......humbled by Nicky Riley, McPake, Thomson, McBride and co.......

Pre-season, get fit, work on tactics and formations, work up the gears.........management team getting to know the players, players getting to know manager........chill out :aok: new players are en route :agree:

Enjoyed it. Solid performance from the 11 that started, kept the ball well and Nelson absolutely strolled it. Created more chances that in the last 5 games of last season, just needed a striker to finished them and hopefully El Alagui is that man.

15-07-2014, 10:10 PM

There's always one tit to make a god awful pun.

15-07-2014, 10:11 PM

Too far man.

TheFamous1875
15-07-2014, 10:12 PM
My forgiving players and giving them a 2nd chance will not improve their quality, their abilities or their character.

No, but a talented and positive managerial team should have their players playing to their best potential. So far, we're still in the embryonic phase of Stubbs' tenure. We're still short of our completed squad, so we don't know how our 'failures' will perform come this season.

It's a team that performs. You see in football how teams can make players raise their game as they compliment each other and play to their strengths. Any 'good player' would've under performed in that squad last season. We had no quality, no creativity and no pace. These are three things we need to add to our squad. Hopefully El-Alagui can display some of this, but we need more of it to get the best out of him, and more to get the best out of the rest of them.

The minimum you would expect from any team is that they're motivated, fit, professional, disciplined and know their role in their team and know their tasks. We've not had any of this in years and we're starting to see signs of it this pre-season.

Let's get behind the team, and not on the backs of individual players.

East - Fife tryind to arrange a friendly with us

I despair at this place sometimes.

over-reactive, miserable, you name it, this forum's got it.

15-07-2014, 10:13 PM
No, but a talented and positive managerial team should have their players playing to their best potential. So far, we're still in the embryonic phase of Stubbs' tenure. We're still short of our completed squad, so we don't know how our 'failures' will perform come this season.

It's a team that performs. You see in football how teams can make players raise their game as they compliment each other and play to their strengths. Any 'good player' would've under performed in that squad last season. We had no quality, no creativity and no pace. These are three things we need to add to our squad. Hopefully El-Alagui can display some of this, but we need more of it to get the best out of him, and more to get the best out of the rest of them.

The minimum you would expect from any team is that they're motivated, fit, professional, disciplined and know their role in their team and know their tasks. We've not had any of this in years and we're starting to see signs of it this pre-season.

Let's get behind the team, and not on the backs of individual players.

Agree with all of this. Even with the sinners from last season in the line up we played with good shape whether in possession or not. They're finally being coached properly IMO

15-07-2014, 10:16 PM

Agreed. It was ducking horrendous :agree:

LioNeilMessi
15-07-2014, 10:17 PM
Enjoyed it. Solid performance from the 11 that started, kept the ball well and Nelson absolutely strolled it. Created more chances that in the last 5 games of last season, just needed a striker to finished them and hopefully El Alagui is that man.
Agree, I enjoyed it. Their keeper pulled out a couple of great saves and the players were passing the ball around very nicely. The new striker, El Alagui, in for Handling or No.9 will hopefully improve too!

scuttle
15-07-2014, 10:17 PM
There's always one tit to make a god awful pun.

And You talk some red Kite

15-07-2014, 10:19 PM
Agree, I enjoyed it. Their keeper pulled out a couple of great saves and the players were passing the ball around very nicely. The new striker, El Alagui, in for Handling or No.9 will hopefully improve too!I thought Handling actually played really well before tiring. Was coming deep to get the ball and linking play really well.

hibeesjoe
3 things tonight. My seat was absolutely blootered in bird crap, the queue for the pie stall was horrendous at half time, and I doubt danny handling will ever make it at hibs.

hfc-1875
Thought we played some nice football at times, and on another day would have won 2 or 3-0 had there keeper not played a blinder. Lacked the cutting edge in front of goal but hopefully el alagui will sort that out. Wouldn't say anyone had a particularly bad game but thought handling done well off the front linking the play and surprisingly Nelson at the back. Thought Allen done well tonight too got himself about and looks physical for a young lad. First time I've seen booth again since the cup game at Easter road with raith, thought he looked pretty good, particularly going forward. Overall was good to see us actually try and play and not hoof every time we got the ball.

I despair at this place sometimes.

over-reactive, miserable, you name it, this forum's got it.

Yep - god knows the last time we played with three at the back and we kept a clean sheet. A once in a season performance from their keeper, a missed penalty and a disallowed goal for ourselves against a team who a couple of seasons ago or so were in the SPL and who have an experienced manager, with Cummings and Heffernan injured and our new signing who is proven at this level yet to play. No goals conceded in three games even playing a youth team keeper - there's plenty to be positive about.

15-07-2014, 10:23 PM
3 things tonight. My seat was absolutely blootered in bird crap, the queue for the pie stall was horrendous at half time, and I doubt danny handling will ever make it at hibs.

Opinions eh Joe :greengrin

15-07-2014, 10:27 PM
I thought Handling actually played really well before tiring. Was coming deep to get the ball and linking play really well.

Wasn't there tonight but been at the last couple of games. I think Handling is too deep too often. At Berwick the other day he touched the ball more than anybody else on the pitch but never in an area that was going to hurt them. I don't think he will be in the starting lineup come the start of the season.

15-07-2014, 10:30 PM
Wasn't there tonight but been at the last couple of games. I think Handling is too deep too often. At Berwick the other day he touched the ball more than anybody else on the pitch but never in an area that was going to hurt them. I don't think he will be in the starting lineup come the start of the season.Having a player coming deep to collect the ball and knocking it around well, linking the play isn't a bad thing it is just a lot more noticeable when there isn't much upfront.

15-07-2014, 10:37 PM
Wasn't there tonight but been at the last couple of games. I think Handling is too deep too often. At Berwick the other day he touched the ball more than anybody else on the pitch but never in an area that was going to hurt them. I don't think he will be in the starting lineup come the start of the season.

Thought he was Hibs best player tonight, constantly looking to drive at the Dunfermline defense.

15-07-2014, 10:55 PM
We played some good stuff but with Ibrox 3 weeks away, and the league ko 3 weeks on Saturday, we must get a move on and get another 4 or 5 in IMHO.

We need a keeper, more pace, a creative mid, and another striker. Of quality. Minimum.