View Full Version : Ross Caldwell Leaves

Groathillgrump
14-07-2014, 12:39 PM
Apologies if this has been posted earlier but Ross Caldwell has left to join St Mirren.

http://www.saintmirren.net/pages/?p=34344

DarrenSQH
14-07-2014, 12:40 PM
Thanks for that goal but think a move maybe the best thing for him.

14-07-2014, 12:40 PM
Not a major surprise.

roryg
14-07-2014, 12:41 PM
Good luck and all the best for the future.

14-07-2014, 12:43 PM
cannae say I'm all that bothered about this, apart from a goal against them, didn't think he did that much. Appeared to me that he thought he was a better player than he actually was. Good luck to him anyway.

14-07-2014, 12:46 PM
Room for another striker now.

14-07-2014, 12:46 PM
Thanks for that fantastic finale at Tynie and good luck.

14-07-2014, 12:47 PM
Cheers for a famous hibee goal and all the best.

14-07-2014, 12:49 PM
good luck to the young laddie

14-07-2014, 12:52 PM

^^ What he said ^^ :agree:

Don Giovanni
14-07-2014, 12:56 PM
Too much attitude not enough talent.

:bye:

14-07-2014, 12:58 PM
Great goal against Hearts and all the best to him, but not one I will miss. Possibly just a punt by St Mirren, and he may prove me wrong, but I always thought he looked a really poor player, so Im surprised hes got a move to a Premiership club.

14-07-2014, 01:04 PM
That goal was class, but the only thing that surprises me about this is that an SPL team are signing him.

14-07-2014, 01:09 PM
Hid attitude last season was terrible but I always thought there was a player there and was hoping AS could bring him on
Good luck

14-07-2014, 01:10 PM
Good luck at St Mirren.

Is that 16 away now?

14-07-2014, 01:16 PM
This is a good move for him and he should wake up and take the chance that has been presented. Caldwell does have talent but his on field demeamour and attitude are appalling and it won't take long for Saints fans to turn on him if he continues to display his petulant side. Hopefully someone like Steven Thompson can guide him in the right direction.

14-07-2014, 01:21 PM
Thank you, and good luck for the future.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYdZpLSfuiw

Bronson
14-07-2014, 01:27 PM
That goal was class, but the only thing that surprises me about this is that an SPL team are signing him.

This:agree:

Loved him for that goal, but never rated him much in all honesty.

14-07-2014, 01:51 PM
This:agree:

Loved him for that goal, but never rated him much in all honesty.

Yup. Still, good luck to the guy.

14-07-2014, 02:33 PM
Thought he had found his level at Alloa last season tbh. Even then he struggled. Very surprised St Mirren have come in for him, then again I'm not convinced Tommy Craig really has a clue what he's doing. Good luck to him, however I don't see this one coming back to bite us

14-07-2014, 02:39 PM
Was he still in contract at Hibs, and we've let him go?

14-07-2014, 02:42 PM
Will always be grateful to him for that cracker at tynie but other than that he did very little to impress me. Seemed that after his derby goal he started thinking he had made it and was bigger than he was. Good luck to him anyway though, hopefully it works out for him.

14-07-2014, 02:51 PM
Have Hibs amnounced this?

hihohibby
14-07-2014, 03:13 PM
I'd forgotten that he was still with us, which speaks volumes for his impact, but I will give him that goal. I wish him all the best and...thank you for releasing much needed wages!

14-07-2014, 03:25 PM
Aye, Tommy Craig plucks another player from obscurity , we all know the kind of player Tommy can bring you !. Caldwell was a big laddie who must have found scoring goals at youth level easy due to his size but soon found out that it was not so easy against men.

14-07-2014, 03:36 PM
Good luck but i'd be surprised if does anything at Saints.

14-07-2014, 05:24 PM
All I can say is that if Ross Caldwell is St Mirren's idea of competition for places up front next season its gonna be a long season for the Paisley faithful.

Anyway ..... good luck Ross, what a goal that was http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

14-07-2014, 05:54 PM
St Mirren fans will be watching that goal on YouTube getting quite excited, like we do when we sign an unknown striker. Remember Danny Haynes wonder goal we all watched when he was signed?!haha I'm sure Caldwell's only other goal for us actually came against the Saints(3-3 draw?) so they really will think they've got a player

Green Fish
14-07-2014, 05:57 PM
Good luck to the lad, hope he thrives, interested to hear if he has any comment on TB! Saw that clueless clown of a man on ssn news today, makes my skin crawl

14-07-2014, 06:02 PM
Hid attitude last season was terrible but I always thought there was a player there and was hoping AS could bring him on
Good luck

What was wrong with his attitude.?

14-07-2014, 06:04 PM
Hopefully he will knuckle down but TBH, if i was really bothered, then I would not have been so easily distracted by the ad on the St Mirren website, where it says you can buy beer and 20p from every bottle goes to the club.:cheers:

14-07-2014, 06:07 PM
If he was half as good as he thinks he is; he'd be twice as good as he actually is.

14-07-2014, 06:09 PM

Not the best.....

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

14-07-2014, 06:11 PM
This is a good move for him and he should wake up and take the chance that has been presented. Caldwell does have talent but his on field demeamour and attitude are appalling and it won't take long for Saints fans to turn on him if he continues to display his petulant side. Hopefully someone like Steven Thompson can guide him in the right direction.

I like players with a bit of a attitude Dave, i thought he would do good for Hibs this season, he should have played more for Alloa last season, looked good when he was played but when i think about it it was his own fault he didn't, there is a player in there somewhere and if he can screw his head on he will have a decent time at St Mirren, the fans should be more worried about his female friend. :wink:

14-07-2014, 06:18 PM
I'm stunned that he's signed for a Premiership club.

hibs4thecup1988
14-07-2014, 06:26 PM

Not the best.....

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

And the nonsense at Ross county when he got subbed on and then off.

Not for me. Good luck though

14-07-2014, 06:28 PM
And the nonsense at Ross county when he got subbed on and then off.

Not for me. Good luck though

Absolutely, nothing against the lad and gave us a great goal against the gunts.

Just came across as a big daft laddie, not dissimilar to GOC in attitude.

"That was classic intercourse!"

14-07-2014, 06:30 PM

He was a salt and vinegar man, sauce just wasn't good enough for him, the arrogant *******

14-07-2014, 06:41 PM
I like players with a bit of a attitude Dave, i thought he would do good for Hibs this season, he should have played more for Alloa last season, looked good when he was played but when i think about it it was his own fault he didn't, there is a player in there somewhere and if he can screw his head on he will have a decent time at St Mirren, the fans should be more worried about his female friend. :wink:

As do I, but you have to be able to back that up with performances. Scott Brown had an attitude from the moment we all saw him and while volatile to start with, soon controlled it and reaped the rewards. Caldwell hasn't looked like progressing so far.

14-07-2014, 06:47 PM
He was a salt and vinegar man, sauce just wasn't good enough for him, the arrogant *******

What is it with these pwicks that they like vinegar, something seriously wrong with them, after hearing that glad he is gone.

Good luck to the lad.

Just don't upset his burd FFS. :wink: :greengrin

14-07-2014, 07:10 PM
Thank you, and good luck for the future.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYdZpLSfuiw

Great finish, great player celebration, great fans celebration, great result, great strip, great day :thumbsup:

Good luck Rossco :agree:

14-07-2014, 08:16 PM
Great finish, great player celebration, great fans celebration, great result, great strip, great day :thumbsup:

Good luck Rossco :agree:

Echoed.

It was the highlight of my trip back

14-07-2014, 08:50 PM
Decent move to a decent club.
All the best.

14-07-2014, 10:00 PM
Thanks for that goal but think a move maybe the best thing for him.

Brilliant goal and lives long in the memory,best of luck to the lad

14-07-2014, 10:45 PM
What's the story with his bird?

ozhibs
14-07-2014, 11:39 PM
Echoed.

It was the highlight of my trip back

Me too

cam75
15-07-2014, 05:32 AM
In today's Metro "being at st mirren is the 1st time I feel wanted"
Sure Ross you could have knuckled down and been playing in green !

15-07-2014, 07:05 AM
Hibs youngster and big time Charlie #748 leaves the club. Move along, nothing to see here.

Nice goal at Tynecastle though.

15-07-2014, 07:51 AM
I can't recall any "big time Charlie " views about Caldwell during Fenlon's time here ...and I've certainly no confidence that Butcher managed the guy well during the last 7 months - so good luck to the boy - hope he knuckles down and makes a decent career for himself...

15-07-2014, 08:00 AM
To be fair, if Ross couldn't make it under Terry Butcher, he'll struggle to make it anywhere.

15-07-2014, 08:09 AM
I can't recall any "big time Charlie " views about Caldwell during Fenlon's time here ...and I've certainly no confidence that Butcher managed the guy well during the last 7 months - so good luck to the boy - hope he knuckles down and makes a decent career for himself...

Well said.

Turkish Green
15-07-2014, 08:14 AM
With Caldwell away and El Alagui signing that still leaves a squad of only circa 15 players. Stubbs still needs to bring in a few players to fill key positions.

On an opposite scale of things Fat Sally currently has a squad in the region of 39 players, 18 of which are over 25 years. How are TRFC financing them all?

15-07-2014, 08:51 AM
Going down the training centre, spending a couple of hours there before getting the rest of the day off; it's a nightmare I tell you.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ross-caldwell-eager-for-fresh-start-after-ending-hibs-nightmare-1-3476680

Shaggy
15-07-2014, 08:56 AM
I am happy any way Stubbs wants to go on this,

But.... I think Ross will turn out to be a great sucess in the SPL,
his physical stature is going to strengthen further
and he will be one to watch in the coming years..

and he will have a point to prove against us, players dinny forget !!

portycabbage
15-07-2014, 09:14 AM
While I'm not particularly surprised or disappointed about Caldwell leaving, I think he could have come good with the right management. He might not have made the best of what chances he had in the first team, but then he only ever started 3 games for Hibs, which is a lot less than some imposters have got in the past! I thought he could have got more opportunities after the derby goal. All the best to him anyway, except against us.

15-07-2014, 09:15 AM
I'm a bit disappointed at this.

He didn't really get a chance but showed a bit of promise during the glimpses we got of him.

It's a bit harsh that folk seem to be questioning his attitude based on the fact that he was the first to fall foul of Butcher, whose person skills we will all agree left a lot to be desired.

15-07-2014, 10:07 AM
If he was half as good as he thinks he is; he'd be twice as good as he actually is.

Sadly he was just another " Talented 16 year old" who became a "Promising 18 year old " who didn't have what it takes ti make it to the very top .
There have been dozens if not hundreds of lads like that over the years in every country . Including myself sixty odd years ago !!!!!:greengrin:wink:

Wish him well BUT ............... hae ma doots !!!

#2 Double Tap
15-07-2014, 11:18 AM

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

15-07-2014, 11:23 AM
Thought he had found his level at Alloa last season tbh. Even then he struggled. Very surprised St Mirren have come in for him, then again I'm not convinced Tommy Craig really has a clue what he's doing. Good luck to him, however I don't see this one coming back to bite us
Yeh, agreed. St Mirren are 9/1 with Ladbrokes to get relegated, I think that's a brilliant price.

15-07-2014, 07:47 PM
Scores for St Mirren :greengrin

15-07-2014, 07:56 PM
Scores for St Mirren :greengrin

Tonight? Not according to my phone

15-07-2014, 08:04 PM
Great goal against Hearts and all the best to him, but not one I will miss. Possibly just a punt by St Mirren, and he may prove me wrong, but I always thought he looked a really poor player, so Im surprised hes got a move to a Premiership club.

This :agree:

15-07-2014, 08:04 PM
Tonight? Not according to my phone

Look at St Mirrens official page:aok:

15-07-2014, 08:17 PM

I was going by this?

15-07-2014, 08:24 PM

I was going by this?

They listed the scorer incorrectly at first. It was Caldwell.

15-07-2014, 08:36 PM
They listed the scorer incorrectly at first. It was Caldwell.

Cheers. Really shouldn't be surprised at Caldwell scoring. Typical

15-07-2014, 10:46 PM

Indeed. Interesting to see that both Collins and McGivern scored for their new teams too

15-07-2014, 11:10 PM

Pfft. I remember Neil Orr scoring on his debut. Also Lee Power and Paul Tosh :rolleyes:

In fact, here's a thread from yesteryear on debut scorers......

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?187198-Players-scoring-on-their-debut/page2

15-07-2014, 11:38 PM
Indeed. Interesting to see that both Collins and McGivern scored for their new teams too

McGivern has scored as well?! Jeeez!! He'll be on a 4 day bender to celebrate that one

16-07-2014, 02:42 PM
McGivern has scored as well?! Jeeez!! He'll be on a 4 day bender to celebrate that one

Wonder what Stoke's version of George Street is like :greengrin

Django
16-07-2014, 03:03 PM
Scored on his debut vs Albion Rovers as well. Good luck Ross

16-07-2014, 03:05 PM
All the best Ross. Will always be remembered for scoring that screamer at Tiny and sending us fans absolutely radge!! Met him days after that game aswell and was a lovely polite young man.

Good luck son.