View Full Version : Farid El Alagui

13-07-2014, 10:29 PM
Apparently he has signed!

source - the Facebook hibs rumour page.

13-07-2014, 10:30 PM
Take him. Doubting if true but would take him.

SDavey1992
13-07-2014, 10:33 PM
Seems to be legit. Pictures of him at the training ground and everything! 2 year deal is a good one too!

13-07-2014, 10:39 PM
100% signed guys!

If this isn't announced tomorrow first 5 to PM me I'll give £100 ;)

nribs
13-07-2014, 10:41 PM
I posted a picture from Facebook on the rumours thread

calder45a
13-07-2014, 10:47 PM
100% signed guys!

If this isn't announced tomorrow first 5 to PM me I'll give £100 ;)

Will Pm you in 15 minutes.

13-07-2014, 10:47 PM

Ok mate.

13-07-2014, 10:50 PM
Apparently he has signed!

source - the Facebook hibs rumour page.
That was me that posted it on there:greengrin

13-07-2014, 10:52 PM

And me

13-07-2014, 10:55 PM
Ok mate.

I'll pm you in 6

nribs
13-07-2014, 10:55 PM

You posted the pictures from Andy Gilles??

13-07-2014, 10:56 PM

I'm Confused, I thought it was the admin Andy gillies on a Facebook page who posted about farid with exclusive pictures?

13-07-2014, 10:57 PM
Think he means the rumour

13-07-2014, 10:58 PM
No lol, the writing, not the pic :greengrin

nribs
13-07-2014, 11:03 PM
No lol, the writing, not the pic :greengrin

But you removed yourself from the page the other day due to the roasters that post there.

13-07-2014, 11:10 PM
But you removed yourself from the page the other day due to the roasters that post there.

Well he's back on it now what does it matter?

nribs
13-07-2014, 11:14 PM
Well he's back on it now what does it matter?
Thanks now I no. Cheers for clearing that one up

13-07-2014, 11:17 PM
Thanks now I no. Cheers for clearing that one up

Not a problem mate, always here to help lost little souls.

13-07-2014, 11:18 PM
Please say he will be in the squad for tuesday? Can't wait to see him in action already, especially with Cummings injured

muirhousehibby
Old news it was on the hibs paige site after the berwick game.

nribs
Not a problem mate, always here to help lost little souls.

Lost little souls? Aye ok no worries lol keep that halo shining

13-07-2014, 11:37 PM
He'll score a ton of goals for us. Great signing!

13-07-2014, 11:39 PM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8eWn9mAe6KE#

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LAfjFLxAF1A#

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MqqhaGapyaU

Not impressed. Hope this is not the quality that the club keeps talking about.
:-(

He'll score a ton of goals for us. Great signing!

Where is the evidence of this?

13-07-2014, 11:41 PM
He'll do for me. Easily good enough for where we are.

13-07-2014, 11:46 PM
18 goals in 33 games for falkirk, at this level.

14-07-2014, 12:06 AM

Are you ever happy about anything related to Hibs, it gets very very boring. :rolleyes:

Other post by you recently

A signing that would be as unimpressive as David Gray.
I hope this is not the standard we are looking at for all our signings or it will be a long season.

About McFadden..............Not going to happen and I'm glad.

and Forster........Because he kept giving goals away in the 2nd half of last season?

and about Coulson, a player not signed yet or even seen.................We should be signing players who would be good at premiership level. If we start signing players who are half decent at championship level then we will become a half decent championship team. Not where we want to be.

14-07-2014, 12:11 AM
Without copying from Wiki, what do you know about him?

14-07-2014, 12:15 AM
Really happy with this and it appears that it's completely legitimate. Potentially a very clever signing, definitely encouraged by this. Hopefully not prematurely - welcome Farid! :thumbsup:

14-07-2014, 12:15 AM

You're never happy are you? I for one am absolutely delighted with this. Him and Heff = goals.

14-07-2014, 12:24 AM
Exciting:agree:

14-07-2014, 12:26 AM
Scored goals at this level so happy with this signing. 2 in, hopefully 6+ to go. :flag:

Anyone got any pics of him at training ground by the way?

14-07-2014, 12:27 AM
Scored goals at this level so happy with this signing. 2 in, hopefully 6+ to go. :flag:

Anyone got any pics of him at training ground by the way?

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t31.0-8/10448406_825754097437692_3717875659085674319_o.jpg

14-07-2014, 12:43 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t31.0-8/10448406_825754097437692_3717875659085674319_o.jpg

Mr Gillies hiding in the bushes of EM with a ghillie suit on and the binoculars oot :greengrin

14-07-2014, 12:44 AM
Superb signing, a goalscorer with a great engine on him. Welcome to the mad hoose Farid!!!!

14-07-2014, 12:47 AM
Mr Gillies hiding in the bushes of EM with a ghillie suit on and the binoculars oot :greengrin

hihohibby
14-07-2014, 01:07 AM
Wikipedia states he is "Plying his trade with Hibernian Football Club!"

HibeesLA
14-07-2014, 03:17 AM
Exciting:agree:

Not sure I get the sniffing everyone's fingers after he scores :)

14-07-2014, 03:24 AM
Are you living in LA? I may have a wee trip coming up in the next month.... Depends where you are of course but a couple of sherbets with a fellow American based Hibee sounds ok to me.....

14-07-2014, 06:19 AM

Out of interest who is "the quality" that we should be trying to sign, that's available?

14-07-2014, 06:26 AM
Out of interest who is "the quality" that we should be trying to sign, that's available?

Neuer, Goetze, Messi and Zabaletta.

Even then he'd probably moan about half our signings being losers.

14-07-2014, 07:32 AM
He'll do:agree:

14-07-2014, 07:34 AM
Looks a good signing.

14-07-2014, 07:49 AM
looks like a very decent signing

14-07-2014, 08:05 AM
Will he be observing Ramadan?

hibs4thecup1988
14-07-2014, 08:14 AM

It's Gotze... :rolleyes: :greengrin

SonOfDavidFrancey
14-07-2014, 08:15 AM

According to wiki his trademark celebration was kissing a lucky coin kept in the dugout.

14-07-2014, 08:24 AM
Where is the evidence of this?

Lifted straight from his wiki page, last time he played in Div1:

"El Alagui was also named in the PFA First Division Team of the Year. He made 43 appearances and scored 27 goals during his only season with the club[17] and departed in July 2012."

14-07-2014, 08:33 AM

Ramadan will be over soon. And as it is in the closed season for the next two years this won't be a problem.

green glory
14-07-2014, 08:36 AM

Or 'Ramadan hingmy' as it's called by our maroon friends accross the city. :-D

DAVE1875
14-07-2014, 08:48 AM

I would say "That's how you spell it without the ö", but I've been trapped before

According to wiki his trademark celebration was kissing a lucky coin kept in the dugout.

This going to be a game amongst the players? Hide the lucky coin

14-07-2014, 08:49 AM
Not sure what to think to be honest, will see how he does!

14-07-2014, 08:51 AM
I would say "That's how you spell it without the ö", but I've been trapped before

This going to be a game amongst the players? Hide the lucky coin

It's GOATSE mate, just google it, you'll see.

14-07-2014, 08:53 AM
Not sure what to think to be honest, will see how he does!

I'm in the same boat as you. Not excited but could be a decent signing if true.

14-07-2014, 08:53 AM

No, actually, it's Götze, with an umlaut above the 'o', which transliterates in English as 'Goetze'.

https://twitter.com/MarioGoetze

Just as Großkreutz with the 'sharp s' or 'ß' transliterates as 'Grosskreutz' in English.

And Schürrle with the umlaut above the 'u' transliterates as 'Schuerrle'.

Unless you have a keyboard set up for German, in which case you have no problem.

PS - It is, however, Zabaleta, not 'Zabaletta'. Of Basque origin.

And El Alagui (if he's really signed for us) will be a good addition to our team, IMHO.

Looking forward to his formal announcement.

14-07-2014, 08:54 AM

You'd be right: without the umlaut Goetze is closer than Gotze.

14-07-2014, 09:03 AM
Anyone else think he is the absolute double of Sucre from Prison Break?

14-07-2014, 09:09 AM

It's either Götze or Goetze........... it is NEVER Gotze.

Hope that's cleared that up :wink:

14-07-2014, 09:09 AM
I'm in the same boat as you. Not excited but could be a decent signing if true.

I'm in that boat too but hoping he works out.

14-07-2014, 09:19 AM
You'd be right: without the umlaut Goetze is closer than Gotze.

Actually, 'Goetze ' is right. 'Gotze' is wrong.

14-07-2014, 09:28 AM
Actually, 'Goetze ' is right. 'Gotze' is wrong.

How do I write David Lüiz in english?

sidjames
14-07-2014, 09:35 AM

Dear David, ............?

14-07-2014, 09:38 AM

No idea, mate. Probably best to write him in Portuguese.

But shouldn't 'english' be spelled with an upper-case 'E'? :coolhib:

portycabbage
14-07-2014, 09:38 AM

"Ah my first goal for Hibernian, now where's my coin gone?...PETRIE!!"

14-07-2014, 09:39 AM

If you listen to the BBC commentators it's " Javij Lueejh"

Grizz
14-07-2014, 09:43 AM
"Ah my first goal for Hibernian, now where's my coin gone?...PETRIE!!"

:rotflmao:
Sounds about right!

14-07-2014, 09:46 AM
According to wiki page Hearts turned him down after training with them .... Hmmmmm

14-07-2014, 09:53 AM
Seems to have been a bit unlucky with injury so his goals return aint bad given that a lot of his appearances have been from the bench. He did the business at Falkirk, so once again its a case of wait and see ..... is he in decline, or is this where his career will go on the upturn.

That's if he has signed of course.

14-07-2014, 09:55 AM
According to wiki page Hearts turned him down after training with them .... Hmmmmm

According to Wiki he turned down an offer from hearts after training with them.

14-07-2014, 09:59 AM
No idea, mate. Probably best to write him in Portuguese.

But shouldn't 'english' be spelled with an upper-case 'E'? :coolhib:

Letter now dispatched to his house in Springfield

14-07-2014, 10:00 AM
Posted already?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2f6UKALlo8

14-07-2014, 10:13 AM
Posted already?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2f6UKALlo8

Some nice build up play and crosses by Falkirk to set up most of his goals there ...... Ahh :hmmm:

14-07-2014, 10:21 AM

We have heard countless times over the last few weeks since relegation from both Leeann Dempster and Alan Stubbs that the club would be going for higher quality and less quantity signings.
Neither of the signing so far represent a lift in quality from previous seasons at all. Are these players we could not have signed last year? I don't think so.
So I may appear to be being negative all the time but I'm just being realistic. They are of the same standard as we normally sign.
I'm only trying to hold the club to their word.

14-07-2014, 10:26 AM
Letter now dispatched to his house in Springfield

Which Springfield?

Australia

Springfield, New South Wales (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_South_Wales)
Springfield, Queensland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Queensland)
Springfield, South Australia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_South_Australia)
Springfield, Victoria (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Victoria) in Buloke Shire, north-western Victoria
Springfield, Victoria (Macedon Ranges) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Victoria_%28Macedon_Ranges%29) in central Victoria

Canada

Rural Municipality of Springfield (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rural_Municipality_of_Springfield) in Manitoba

Springfield, New Brunswick (disambiguation) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_Brunswick_%28disambiguation%29)
Springfield, Newfoundland and Labrador (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Newfoundland_and_Labrador)
Springfield, Nova Scotia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Nova_Scotia)
Springfield, Ontario (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Ontario)
Springfield, Prince Edward Island (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Prince_Edward_Island)

Ireland

Springfield, a townland in County Offaly (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_townlands_of_County_Offaly)
Springfield, a townland in County Westmeath (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_townlands_of_County_Westmeath)

New Zealand

Springfield, New Zealand (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_Zealand)

South Africa

Springfield, Gauteng (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Gauteng)

United Kingdom

Springfield, Birmingham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Birmingham), England
Springfield, Caerphilly (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Caerphilly&action=edit&redlink=1), Wales
Springfield, County Fermanagh (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_County_Fermanagh), Northern Ireland
Springfield, Dumfries and Galloway (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Dumfries_and_Galloway&action=edit&redlink=1), Scotland
Springfield, Essex (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Essex), Chelmsford, England
Springfield, Fife (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Fife), Scotland
Springfield, Highland (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Highland&action=edit&redlink=1), Scotland
Springfield Hospital (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield_Hospital), Tooting, London, England
Springfield, Milton Keynes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Milton_Keynes), England
Springfield, Sandwell (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Sandwell&action=edit&redlink=1), England
Springfield, an area in Sutton Farm (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sutton_Farm,_Shrewsbury), a suburb of Shrewsbury, England
Springfield, Wigan (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Wigan&action=edit&redlink=1), England
Springfield, Wolverhampton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Wolverhampton), England
Springfield (Hackney ward) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield_%28Hackney_ward%29), London Borough of Hackney, England

United States of America

Springfield, Alabama (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Alabama&action=edit&redlink=1),
Springfield, Arkansas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Arkansas)
Springfield, California (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_California)
Springfield, Colorado (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Colorado)
Springfield, Florida (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Florida)
Springfield, Jacksonville, Florida (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Jacksonville,_Florida),
Springfield, Georgia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Georgia)
Springfield, Idaho (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Idaho)
Springfield, Illinois (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Illinois), the state capital of Illinois

Springfield, Indiana (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Indiana), an unincorporated community
Springfield, Kansas (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Kansas&action=edit&redlink=1), a ghost town (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ghost_towns_in_Kansas) in Seward County
Springfield, Kentucky (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Kentucky)
Springfield, Louisiana (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Louisiana)
Springfield, Maine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Maine)
Springfield, Michigan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Michigan), a city in Calhoun County

Springfield, Minnesota (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Minnesota), in Brown County
Springfield, Missouri (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Missouri), the most populous Springfield in the United States

Springfield, Nebraska (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Nebraska)
Springfield, New Hampshire (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_Hampshire)
Springfield, Burlington County, New Jersey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Burlington_County,_New_Jersey)
Springfield, Union County, New Jersey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Union_County,_New_Jersey)
Springfield/Belmont, Newark, New Jersey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield/Belmont,_Newark,_New_Jersey), a neighborhood of Newark
Springfield, New York (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_York)
Springfield, Ohio (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Ohio)
Springfield, Oregon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Oregon)
Springfield, Delaware County, Pennsylvania (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Delaware_County,_Pennsylvania)
Springfield, South Carolina (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_South_Carolina)
Springfield, South Dakota (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_South_Dakota)
Springfield, Tennessee (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Tennessee)
Springfield, Texas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Texas), Jim Wells County
Springfield, Limestone County, Texas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Limestone_County,_Texas), former town and county seat, now part of Fort Parker State Park
Springfield, Vermont (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Vermont)
Springfield, Virginia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Virginia)
Springfield, West Virginia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_West_Virginia)
Springfield, Dane County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Dane_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, Jackson County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Jackson_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, Marquette County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Marquette_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, St. Croix County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_St._Croix_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, Walworth County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Walworth_County,_Wisconsin)

14-07-2014, 10:32 AM
We have heard countless times over the last few weeks since relegation from both Leeann Dempster and Alan Stubbs that the club would be going for higher quality and less quantity signings.
Neither of the signing so far represent a lift in quality from previous seasons at all. Are these players we could not have signed last year? I don't think so.
So I may appear to be being negative all the time but I'm just being realistic. They are of the same standard as we normally sign.

Having see David Gray on Sunday I can assure you he is much better than any right back we fielded last season. Pace, strong in the tackle and scores goals to boot :greengrin

14-07-2014, 10:35 AM
Having see David Gray on Sunday I can assure you he is much better than any right back we fielded last season. Pace, strong in the tackle and scores goals to boot :greengrin

Was that at T in the Park? :greengrin:greengrin

coco22
14-07-2014, 10:39 AM

I would hold judgement on whether any new signings are good enough - if AS and LD are to be held to their word of better quality lets give them a chance to prove themselves first. I dare say that plenty of our mediocre / rubbish players over the last few years could have been utilised better.

14-07-2014, 10:39 AM
Was that at T in the Park? :greengrin:greengrin

Unless he was playing for the Arctic Monkeys then that's a no :wink:

BarneyK
14-07-2014, 10:40 AM
If you listen to the BBC commentators it's " Javij Lueejh"

Not nearly as bad as Yammish Rodriguez :bitchy:

Billy McKirdy
14-07-2014, 10:40 AM
Which Springfield?

Australia

Springfield, New South Wales (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_South_Wales)
Springfield, Queensland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Queensland)
Springfield, South Australia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_South_Australia)
Springfield, Victoria (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Victoria) in Buloke Shire, north-western Victoria
Springfield, Victoria (Macedon Ranges) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Victoria_%28Macedon_Ranges%29) in central Victoria

Canada

Rural Municipality of Springfield (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rural_Municipality_of_Springfield) in Manitoba

Springfield, New Brunswick (disambiguation) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_Brunswick_%28disambiguation%29)
Springfield, Newfoundland and Labrador (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Newfoundland_and_Labrador)
Springfield, Nova Scotia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Nova_Scotia)
Springfield, Ontario (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Ontario)
Springfield, Prince Edward Island (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Prince_Edward_Island)

Ireland

Springfield, a townland in County Offaly (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_townlands_of_County_Offaly)
Springfield, a townland in County Westmeath (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_townlands_of_County_Westmeath)

New Zealand

Springfield, New Zealand (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_Zealand)

South Africa

Springfield, Gauteng (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Gauteng)

United Kingdom

Springfield, Birmingham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Birmingham), England
Springfield, Caerphilly (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Caerphilly&action=edit&redlink=1), Wales
Springfield, County Fermanagh (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_County_Fermanagh), Northern Ireland
Springfield, Dumfries and Galloway (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Dumfries_and_Galloway&action=edit&redlink=1), Scotland
Springfield, Essex (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Essex), Chelmsford, England
Springfield, Fife (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Fife), Scotland
Springfield, Highland (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Highland&action=edit&redlink=1), Scotland
Springfield Hospital (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield_Hospital), Tooting, London, England
Springfield, Milton Keynes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Milton_Keynes), England
Springfield, Sandwell (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Sandwell&action=edit&redlink=1), England
Springfield, an area in Sutton Farm (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sutton_Farm,_Shrewsbury), a suburb of Shrewsbury, England
Springfield, Wigan (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Wigan&action=edit&redlink=1), England
Springfield, Wolverhampton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Wolverhampton), England
Springfield (Hackney ward) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield_%28Hackney_ward%29), London Borough of Hackney, England

United States of America

Springfield, Alabama (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Alabama&action=edit&redlink=1),
Springfield, Arkansas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Arkansas)
Springfield, California (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_California)
Springfield, Colorado (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Colorado)
Springfield, Florida (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Florida)
Springfield, Jacksonville, Florida (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Jacksonville,_Florida),
Springfield, Georgia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Georgia)
Springfield, Idaho (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Idaho)
Springfield, Illinois (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Illinois), the state capital of Illinois

Springfield, Indiana (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Indiana), an unincorporated community
Springfield, Kansas (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Springfield,_Kansas&action=edit&redlink=1), a ghost town (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ghost_towns_in_Kansas) in Seward County
Springfield, Kentucky (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Kentucky)
Springfield, Louisiana (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Louisiana)
Springfield, Maine (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Maine)
Springfield, Michigan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Michigan), a city in Calhoun County

Springfield, Minnesota (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Minnesota), in Brown County
Springfield, Missouri (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Missouri), the most populous Springfield in the United States

Springfield, Nebraska (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Nebraska)
Springfield, New Hampshire (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_Hampshire)
Springfield, Burlington County, New Jersey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Burlington_County,_New_Jersey)
Springfield, Union County, New Jersey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Union_County,_New_Jersey)
Springfield/Belmont, Newark, New Jersey (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield/Belmont,_Newark,_New_Jersey), a neighborhood of Newark
Springfield, New York (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_New_York)
Springfield, Ohio (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Ohio)
Springfield, Oregon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Oregon)
Springfield, Delaware County, Pennsylvania (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Delaware_County,_Pennsylvania)
Springfield, South Carolina (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_South_Carolina)
Springfield, South Dakota (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_South_Dakota)
Springfield, Tennessee (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Tennessee)
Springfield, Texas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Texas), Jim Wells County
Springfield, Limestone County, Texas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Limestone_County,_Texas), former town and county seat, now part of Fort Parker State Park
Springfield, Vermont (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Vermont)
Springfield, Virginia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Virginia)
Springfield, West Virginia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_West_Virginia)
Springfield, Dane County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Dane_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, Jackson County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Jackson_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, Marquette County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Marquette_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, St. Croix County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_St._Croix_County,_Wisconsin)
Springfield, Walworth County, Wisconsin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springfield,_Walworth_County,_Wisconsin)

You forgot Springfield, LEITH...

14-07-2014, 10:42 AM

Correct, David will give us 100% every game and to be honest he could be the best signing we make! He's solid and quick.

14-07-2014, 10:45 AM
What about The Springfield Vaults ? Classy boozer near darkheid. NOT

14-07-2014, 10:46 AM
So when will this be made official then? If the signing is done and dusted why wait? Maybe announcing a few today?

14-07-2014, 10:48 AM
You forgot Springfield, LEITH...

No I didn't. Wiki did. I just quoted them as providing a selection of Springfields.

At no time did they or I claim that their list was complete. I'm sure there are many other Springfileds in the world.

That's why Luiz is living in one of them. He's in hiding, and no one knows in which Springfield they should start looking for him.

14-07-2014, 10:51 AM

The last ex Hearts right back to score a long range peach on his debut was, errrrm, Fraser Mullen.:wink::greengrin

14-07-2014, 10:52 AM
So when will this be made official then? If the signing is done and dusted why wait? Maybe announcing a few today?

I was at the training centre this morning and security was a lot tighter than normal, so it's possible that something is happening today.

14-07-2014, 10:56 AM
What about The Springfield Vaults ? Classy boozer near darkheid. NOT

Closed down.

R11Loaded
14-07-2014, 11:03 AM

David Gray at right back over... Wait we didn't have a first choice right back last year.

El Alagui over James Collins or Rowan Vine?

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

14-07-2014, 11:17 AM
David Gray at right back over... Wait we didn't have a first choice right back last year.

El Alagui over James Collins or Rowan Vine?

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

I'm not saying they won't do well, just that it does not represent the higher quality the club have spoke about.
If either of them had signed for a club like St. Johnstone most on here would have just shrugged there shoulders. There would have been no outcry about us missing out in these amazing players or amazement at the money St. Johnstone must be spending.
They are the usual standard we sign and that's not what the club have been promising.

14-07-2014, 11:32 AM
I'm not saying they won't do well, just that it does not represent the higher quality the club have spoke about.
If either of them had signed for a club like St. Johnstone most on here would have just shrugged there shoulders. There would have been no outcry about us missing out in these amazing players or amazement at the money St. Johnstone must be spending.
They are the usual standard we sign and that's not what the club have been promising.

You certainly have a point. Hopefully recognised quality players will be to follow. I fear Alan Stubbs may find it harder than he first thought to attract said quality though.

Bronson
14-07-2014, 11:43 AM
3 year deal according to Barry Anderson.

Good signing:aok:

14-07-2014, 11:46 AM
Good signing, proven goal scorer at this level. Not going to say he will score a lot of goals for us. But not going to say he won't because it entirely depends on who we bring in to provide service for the boy. If we can bring in the right players to work around him then he should be a good signing for us. Keep them comig Hibs!

nribs
14-07-2014, 11:50 AM
Whit??? a 3 year deal?? what's going on :greengrin

14-07-2014, 11:56 AM
Whit??? a 3 year deal?? what's going on :greengrin

Rod will no be happy !.

Postman
14-07-2014, 11:56 AM

There's clearly going to be no pleasing someone like you. Its hard enough to atract players to play in Scotland top division never mind the Scottish Championship so this is a good signing for me with I'm sure many more to follow.

14-07-2014, 11:57 AM
Hibs could always go the whole hog and actually announce it.

14-07-2014, 12:00 PM
It's GOATSE mate, just google it, you'll see.

You evil man.

14-07-2014, 12:03 PM

Naw they widnae have.

They would have come on here bleating that's another player we've missed out on.

If a player signs for Hibs he's no the quality we were looking for.

If the same player disnae sign for Hibs we've missed on a right good player there. Even if Hibs weren't interested in the slightest.

Speak about ye cannae win.

hibs4thecup1988
14-07-2014, 12:04 PM
Naw they widnae have.

They would have come on here bleating that's another player we've missed out on.

If the same player disnae sign for Hibs we've missed on a right good player there. Even if Hibs weren't interested in the slightest.

:agree: 100%

14-07-2014, 12:05 PM

Easy Tiger.

14-07-2014, 12:07 PM
There's clearly going to be no pleasing someone like you. Its hard enough to atract players to play in Scotland top division never mind the Scottish Championship so this is a good signing for me with I'm sure many more to follow.

I'm actually pretty easy to please. All I really want is Hibs to start performing in line with the amount of money the fans give to the club. We have been miles away from that for some time now. I want us back in the top league in Scotland. To do that we are going to have to improve. A lot.

14-07-2014, 12:07 PM
3 year deal according to Barry Anderson.

Good signing:aok:

That's quite a long deal for someone his age - he'll be 32 by the time it expires.

However, if he's scoring goals throughout I won't be complaining :aok:

Postman
14-07-2014, 12:19 PM
I'm actually pretty easy to please. All I really want is Hibs to start performing in line with the amount of money the fans give to the club. We have been miles away from that for some time now. I want us back in the top league in Scotland. To do that we are going to have to improve. A lot.

You certainly don't sound like you are. We all do but I've no idea what type of players you are expecting Hibs to be signing! Do you have any players in mind you think Hibs should be signing??

14-07-2014, 12:21 PM
Don't think he does, just likes to have a good old moan about everything and anything.

14-07-2014, 12:42 PM
Naw they widnae have.

We certainly couldn't win last season.:wink:

Joking apart Scoopyboy this year of all years we need new players bedded in as soon as possible to start the season off on a flyer. Like a first team goalie really needs to be working on teamwork with his defenders, midfielders need to know how the strikers like the ball to them, the strikers need to build a partnership with other strikers etc etc.

Have you heard of any deals stalling or rejections of deals or are Hibs calm about their timescales?

14-07-2014, 12:45 PM
A good move I would have thought :agree:

14-07-2014, 12:54 PM

We won't have anything to announce on transfer deadline day.

14-07-2014, 12:56 PM
Farid is an excellent signing IMHO. Did ok on loan at UTD last season (part of it anyway).

He is proven at our current level after knocking in 27 in 43 for the bairns prior to his move to Brentford.

More than happy with him and Gray.

Still think we need another striker, creative MF player and some pace on the wing.

Hopefully we will get a few announcements this week

14-07-2014, 12:58 PM
Just trawled my way through You Tube vids of the guy and has some nice goals in the collection. (Hopefully Hibs TV will be able to add to these soon).

I liked that he's not "a Farid" to throw himself about a bit too.:greengrin

Welcome to Hibs

Looking forward to more signings Stubbsy! :aok:

14-07-2014, 01:08 PM
No, actually, it's Götze, with an umlaut above the 'o', which transliterates in English as 'Goetze'.

https://twitter.com/MarioGoetze

Just as Großkreutz with the 'sharp s' or 'ß' transliterates as 'Grosskreutz' in English.

And Schürrle with the umlaut above the 'u' transliterates as 'Schuerrle'.

Unless you have a keyboard set up for German, in which case you have no problem.

PS - It is, however, Zabaleta, not 'Zabaletta'. Of Basque origin.

And El Alagui (if he's really signed for us) will be a good addition to our team, IMHO.

Looking forward to his formal announcement.

Sorrt Doddie. But from my Higher German days the character "ß" represents the characters "sz" in English.

14-07-2014, 01:17 PM
Sorrt Doddie. But from my Higher German days the character "ß" represents the characters "sz" in English.

My GCSE and A-Level German tells me it's "ss".

portycabbage
14-07-2014, 01:25 PM

From my Higher German days, the character you very cleverly found on your keyboard is pronounced "ss"; "s" is pronounced as "z"; and "z" is pronounced "ts" (like in the film Marathon Man where the old lady is shouting "Zell!" as "tsell"). I think you wouldn't find "sz" in English words, and if you did it would be pronounced like the sound at the end of the word "Bruges". Although the Germans do call it an "ess-zed" (or "ess-tsed" in their pronunciation). Clear as mud eh!:wink:

14-07-2014, 01:27 PM
Him and Heff could be a decent partnership if both stay injury free IMO.

14-07-2014, 01:28 PM

You certainly have a point. Hopefully recognised quality players will be to follow. I fear Alan Stubbs may find it harder than he first thought to attract said quality though.

Who do you think that we should be going for as, you say, those that we've signed aren't of sufficient quality?

14-07-2014, 01:31 PM
Him and Heff could be a decent partnership if both stay injury free IMO.

Tbh I'm surprised Heff is still at the club.

I am aware he's still under contract so that maybe the reason.

14-07-2014, 01:44 PM
Is this official?

14-07-2014, 01:51 PM
Is this official?

Nope.

Think we're waiting till Christmas to announce transfer dealings to boost half season ticket sales.

14-07-2014, 02:16 PM

So has it been confirmed or still speculation?

14-07-2014, 02:20 PM
Nope.

Think we're waiting till Christmas to announce transfer dealings to boost half season ticket sales.
:greengrin seems like it

14-07-2014, 02:36 PM
From my Higher German days, the character you very cleverly found on your keyboard is pronounced "ss"; "s" is pronounced as "z"; and "z" is pronounced "ts" (like in the film Marathon Man where the old lady is shouting "Zell!" as "tsell"). I think you wouldn't find "sz" in English words, and if you did it would be pronounced like the sound at the end of the word "Bruges". Although the Germans do call it an "ess-zed" (or "ess-tsed" in their pronunciation). Clear as mud eh!:wink:

Indeed it is. Take a look at this and make of it what you will!
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%9F

14-07-2014, 03:02 PM
If BAnderson has announced that it's a 3 year deal then that would probably suggest that it's not

14-07-2014, 03:06 PM

I'm sorry too, but I stand by what I said. The character "ß" represents the sound "ss"; a single "s" is pronounced as we do a "z", and "z" is pronounced "ts", as in "Graz". The Austrian football team isn't pronounced "Sturm Grazz", but "Sturm Grats".

Frederick the Great of Prussia in German is "Friederich der Große" (anglicised as "Grosse"); his ancestor Frederick William was given the title "Der Große Kurfürst" - "The Great Elector" - but sometimes printed in English texts as "Der Grosse Kurfuerst".

I may not be very good at Portuguese :foot: but I'm sure what I'm saying here is right.

14-07-2014, 03:09 PM
Farid is an excellent signing IMHO. Did ok on loan at UTD last season (part of it anyway).

He is proven at our current level after knocking in 27 in 43 for the bairns prior to his move to Brentford.

More than happy with him and Gray.

Still think we need another striker, creative MF player and some pace on the wing.

Hopefully we will get a few announcements this week

You no wanting a goalkeeper Aldo .

plhibs
14-07-2014, 03:10 PM
His Wiki. page says he has signed a two year deal with Hibs, i suppose anyone could have updated that.

14-07-2014, 03:13 PM
He was at the training centre again today so I expect he will be announced soon.

nribs
14-07-2014, 03:15 PM
Is he likely to be in the team tomorrow I wonder.

14-07-2014, 03:16 PM
He was at the training centre again today so I expect he will be announced soon.

http://i.imgur.com/UsYawt9.gif

14-07-2014, 03:35 PM
His Wiki. page says he has signed a two year deal with Hibs, i suppose anyone could have updated that.

I frequently update people's Wiki pages.

It's fun - especially when I catch someone quoting one of my alterations as fact. :devil:

14-07-2014, 03:43 PM

Nah no need mate. ;-)

HibeesLA
14-07-2014, 03:49 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140714/striker-el-alagui-joins-hibernian_2262950_3995326 - on the official site now

robinp
14-07-2014, 03:53 PM
Banderson keeps up his hot streak of being wrong.....2yr deal signed by the player not the 3 he reported! :top marks

Bronson
14-07-2014, 04:14 PM
Banderson keeps up his hot streak of being wrong.....2yr deal signed by the player not the 3 he reported! :top marks

Sloppy journalism, he seems to be notorious for it.

14-07-2014, 04:17 PM
Sloppy journalism, he seems to be notorious for it.

Sloppy reporting, he's never a journalist.

kevo1875
14-07-2014, 04:35 PM

C'mon that's probably the closest to the truth iv ever heard fi a jambo lol

14-07-2014, 04:56 PM

Usually reliable source tells me we already have someone looking round EM that can play the Alf Tupper role.

Win the 100m sprint in the morning hopping blindfold. Bag a couple of first half goals later in the afternoon for the Hibs while Johnny Slaughter the Hun full back attempts to knock **** out you. Grab the gloves for the second half and save two hotly disputed penalties. Walk hame with Nipper via the chippie.

Done deal I heard.

14-07-2014, 05:59 PM
Sloppy reporting, he's never a journalist.

he's a pie boy.

hibs4thecup1988
14-07-2014, 06:19 PM
I'm sorry too, but I stand by what I said. The character "ß" represents the sound "ss"; a single "s" is pronounced as we do a "z", and "z" is pronounced "ts", as in "Graz". The Austrian football team isn't pronounced "Sturm Grazz", but "Sturm Grats".

Frederick the Great of Prussia in German is "Friederich der Große" (anglicised as "Grosse"); his ancestor Frederick William was given the title "Der Große Kurfürst" - "The Great Elector" - but sometimes printed in English texts as "Der Grosse Kurfuerst".

I may not be very good at Portuguese :foot: but I'm sure what I'm saying here is right.

Is this still going on? I was only kidding..............:greengrin:

14-07-2014, 06:20 PM
Welcome to Hibs, Farid.

14-07-2014, 06:28 PM
he's a pie boy.

He's a Jambo fud

14-07-2014, 08:32 PM

Obviously they are not WOW signings, which would say, be the case if we signed Sparky, or even a Kris Boyd.

However as always, I will reserve any judgement at all until they have actually shown what they can do.

We still need a few more though, before I can consider us being involved in a promotion battle

Hibiza
15-07-2014, 03:04 PM
Welcome Farid.

15-07-2014, 03:25 PM
Proven at this level, hopefully he'll avoid the "Hibs curse". But given that I don't think Alan Stubbs won't want to play "punt aimless balls towards the guy up front" like TB seemed to then he should be just fine for Hibs at this level and hopefully the next. More than happy with this signing.

15-07-2014, 03:32 PM

Well, as a German resident, and a reasonably good German speaker, I can hereby confirm that you are wrong.

The letter ß is called 'ess-zet' but is always pronounced as a double 'S' (ss). It can also be safely replaced by 'ss' in any word, as described in previous posts.

Bitte schön.

15-07-2014, 03:56 PM
Proven at this level, hopefully he'll avoid the "Hibs curse". But given that I don't think Alan Stubbs won't want to play "punt aimless balls towards the guy up front" like TB seemed to then he should be just fine for Hibs at this level and hopefully the next. More than happy with this signing.

Obviously the boy has come in and hopefully he can do a job for us.

15-07-2014, 07:07 PM
Well, as a German resident, and a reasonably good German speaker, I can hereby confirm that you are wrong.

The letter ß is called 'ess-zet' but is always pronounced as a double 'S' (ss). It can also be safely replaced by 'ss' in any word, as described in previous posts.

Bitte schön.

Danke. :aok: