View Full Version : Police presence in Berwick

12-07-2014, 09:27 PM
Bit OTT was it not?

Came of the 11:08 train to be greeted by 4 officers in the station, a further 2 outside along with 3/4 riot vans parked across the street.

Also saw the vans driving around the town centre and officers coming in and out of most bars.

They must have heard something or expected issues.

I certainly didn't see any trouble on the way too, from or during the game.

I have no issue with the police but was this not a waste of resources and an over bearing presence can be seen as antagonistic.

12-07-2014, 09:31 PM
Bit OTT was it not?

Came of the 11:08 train to be greeted by 4 officers in the station, a further 2 outside along with 3/4 riot vans parked across the street.

Also saw the vans driving around the town centre and officers coming in and out of most bars.

They must have heard something or expected issues.

I certainly didn't see any trouble on the way too, from or during the game.

I have no issue with the police but was this not a waste of resources and an over bearing presence can be seen as antagonistic.Happened a good few years back too, got off a train & were met by Police with dogs ..escorted all the way to the ground, no-one allowed to step off kerb or go to shops ..crazy stuff ..

WestCoastHibby
12-07-2014, 09:34 PM
Rebellious Scots to crush....... Just say no though

12-07-2014, 10:09 PM
It was the same 3 years ago although I don't remember any escort to the ground. Northumbria and Cumbria plod seem to adopt this practice at railways stations. I've been down at Carlisle the last couple of seasons to see Oldham and there were many plod vans at the station but no trouble.

12-07-2014, 10:20 PM
Really don't see the issue.......if there are loads of cops, hey ho.....should feel safer......if no one is causing bother then you just go about your business, no ?

Different if they are being overly officious or uncivil, then of course you have a point......but if folk get peed off simply cos cops are there then deary me IMO. I'm pretty sure they didn't want to be there either :cb

Not dissing you Southmorocco :aok: Not a huge fan of Police Glasgow either :greengrin

proud_and_green
12-07-2014, 10:23 PM
Happened a good few years back too, got off a train & were met by Police with dogs ..escorted all the way to the ground, no-one allowed to step off kerb or go to shops ..crazy stuff ..

They've always been like that. I remember the year the wall collapsed (which may be the same you are talking about) exactly the same, cuffed round the lugs if you stepped off the pavement, herded to the ground and back.

I seem to recall that was in response to rangers rioting there a year or so before in a cup game.

I would never go back to watch football there as an away fan.

HibeeMcGinn1
13-07-2014, 04:54 AM
We got the 1005 train from Waverley and there was about 10 police on the platform then 4 or 5 on the train constantly walking up and down the train. When we got to berwick there must have been 5 riot vans in the station car park.

berwickhibee
13-07-2014, 05:50 AM
They've always been like that. I remember the year the wall collapsed (which may be the same you are talking about) exactly the same, cuffed round the lugs if you stepped off the pavement, herded to the ground and back.

I seem to recall that was in response to rangers rioting there a year or so before in a cup game.

I would never go back to watch football there as an away fan.

you are spot on bud, rangers wrecked the town in 1978 in the Scottish cup,so when hibs were down in 1980 for the cup quarter final,the football special trains were met at the station and marched through the town,over the bridge and into shielfield up through a trading estate,all for a 0.0, sign of the times then I suppose.

13-07-2014, 06:40 AM
Seems to happen more in England. Does anyone remember the heavy police presence when we played at Carlisle a couple of years ago?

13-07-2014, 06:48 AM
Seems to happen more in England. Does anyone remember the heavy police presence when we played at Carlisle a couple of years ago?

To be fair that wasn't long after the scrapping in Bolton, and Carlisle are well known for having some 'interesting' supporters.

13-07-2014, 08:04 AM
To be fair that wasn't long after the scrapping in Bolton, and Carlisle are well known for having some 'interesting' supporters.

Who "really love" the Scots.

13-07-2014, 08:10 AM
Tbf, they'd have **** all else to do until about 9 pm that evening.

13-07-2014, 08:22 AM
got the 6.45pm train back to Darlo - 6 cops on the train, but at least they let us have a beer:thumbsup:

Bob Box Fish
13-07-2014, 08:22 AM
There was more police than Berwick fans!

over the line
13-07-2014, 08:30 AM
Doesn't sound like a huge police presence tbh and if there was no trouble then everyone's a winner.
Obviously (and thankfully) things arnt anywhere near as bad as they used to be with trouble/hooligans (both in Scotland and England)and if a few van loads of police help to keep it that way, then that's ok with me.

13-07-2014, 09:12 AM

I was chatting to the police that day. They said it was like a training exercise 'just like your players getting ready for the season we're doing the same' sort of thing.

Did our own police not first use their iron horse thingy at an Easter Road pre season friendly?

Same deal I suspect.

Zondervan
13-07-2014, 09:57 AM
I was chatting to the police that day. They said it was like a training exercise 'just like your players getting ready for the season we're doing the same' sort of thing.

Did our own police not first use their iron horse thingy at an Easter Road pre season friendly?

Same deal I suspect.

That would be the only justification for it in my opinion, but I don't believe it was an exercise. How often do football fans travel in large numbers down the East Coast? If any exercise is being conducted, then surely you would do it when fans are travelling between Edinburgh and Fife/Glasgow as this will be the most frequent route used by football fans this season.

It looks like every train down between 1000 & 1300, and every train back between 1700 & 2200 had at least 2 coppers on it. Add to that their presence at both railway stations on the platforms. PLUS the presence of a private security firm and their staff asking you if your Boots meal-deal bag had any alcohol in it.

What got me was the way they were walking up and down the half-empty carriages, trying to sniff out the odd can of beer as if the latest ISIS cell were on the train with a bag of explosives.

I am all for the police doing their job and keeping people safe, but things like yesterday are a complete waste of resource. Unfortunately, I think it is a sign of things to come and an example of the general contempt Police Scotland and the British Transport Police have for football fans.

Here is an idea. Why don't the Police actually police? Let football fans have a drink and enjoy themselves. If someone is being a dick, or starts behaving badly, then give them a warning or arrest them. That would be too simple, though.

nomad
13-07-2014, 10:02 AM
Rebellious Scots to crush....... Just say no though

No. But its an aye for me. A tad off topic though?

13-07-2014, 10:55 AM

Aye that was mental. you would have though Millwall were in town

Dublin07
13-07-2014, 10:56 AM
I went down on the 9.30 with the kids to make a day of it and there was no police at all. Couldn't believe it when we got to wetherspoons at lunch time and there were 4 riot vans driving about and police in the pub etc. the locals were bemused by it. My wife went down later on the 2 pm train and said there was police all over the train. On the 8.40 going home last night there must have been about 10 guys there were a bit merry and singing etc. east coast were totally over the top with several announcements regarding anti social behaviour and police then waiting on the platform at Waverley. There was dozens of other travellers on the train drinking and having a laugh but staff were not bothered. Football fans get a rough deal which most of the time is not deserved.

Gerard
13-07-2014, 11:13 AM
The police have a job to do and at times it is very difficult. The police are a part of our community and policing is done on the basis of consent and respect to the community.

13-07-2014, 11:20 AM
Most rowdy behaviour I ever saw on trains was when I used to get the 9.17 from Durham up for games or visit family. Train was often busy with stag/hen parties who'd had a good bevvy for breakfast!

Football fans are too often all tarred with the same hooligan brush

over the line
13-07-2014, 11:51 AM
I really don't get it, if all the police is doing is being there, what's the problem? If they were being unnecessarily heavy handed or in your face for no reason, then fair enough complain. I can remember times in the 80's where some police were a bit much to away fans, but its very different now isn't it? Better to have 'too many' and there be no trouble, than have too few and some idiots see it as an opportunity to behave like ***** and give us all a bad name?

13-07-2014, 11:57 AM
Police on trains in England is a common thing, and on a Saturday when there is football on they are out in even bigger numbers.

One of our lot who travels up from Lancashire with us to games is a transport policeman, i dont see the poblem.

13-07-2014, 12:00 PM
The police have a job to do and at times it is very difficult. The police are a part of our community and policing is done on the basis of consent and respect to the community.

G - dont know if you were at the game, but it was well over the top.

I spoke to 3 officers, said they had no bother at all.

Dont forget who pays for this - us.

13-07-2014, 12:06 PM
Police on trains in England is a common thing, and on a Saturday when there is football on they are out in even bigger numbers.

One of our lot who travels up from Lancashire with us to games is a transport policeman, i dont see the problem.

I don't think anybody had a major problem with it, I just think most people were surprised at the number of Police and felt it was all a bit unnecessary. There were only 1,500 or so people at the game and it wasn't exactly a high risk match.

FWIW, I think we suffer partly from the reputation of a small number of our support.

Gerard
13-07-2014, 12:07 PM

I suggest you make a complaint if this took place G

13-07-2014, 12:08 PM

I wonder if I'll pay more tax this month to cover it!

I wasn't there but I get your point, from the Police point of view though, damned if you do damned if you don't.

over the line
13-07-2014, 12:08 PM

Same deal I suspect.

Seems reasonable and makes sense really. As long as they arnt practicing using there tazers, pepper spray etc, then its fine with me. :D

13-07-2014, 12:09 PM
Fair enough there were lots of them around Berwick, the guys were just hoovering up some overtime, good on them

13-07-2014, 12:09 PM
I suggest you make a complaint if this took place G

Sorry, point I was making is there was a lot of Police for no trouble.

13-07-2014, 12:16 PM
I wonder if I'll pay more tax this month to cover it!

I wasn't there but I get your point, from the Police point of view though, damned if you do damned if you don't.

Fair point SH - they are getting paid anyway, but Saturday overtime ?

Felt a bit OTT, as if they were looking for trouble.

over the line
13-07-2014, 12:18 PM
Sorry, point I was making is there was a lot of Police for no trouble.

It is always possible that there was no trouble because there were a few police there. But impossible to know for sure isn't it? If there had been trouble and there wasn't enough police I think there would be more people griping about it?

Hibs won, the weather was nice, there was no trouble and the police had a bit of a slack day, everyone's a winner! Except Berwick and their fans of course. :D

13-07-2014, 12:20 PM
It is always possible that there was no trouble because there were a few police there. But impossible to know for sure isn't it? If there had been trouble and there wasn't enough police I think there would be more people griping about it?

Hibs won, the weather was nice, there was no trouble and the police had a bit of a slack day, everyone's a winner! Except Berwick and their fans of course. :D
I think Berwick won on a financial view !! Great Hibs support and spent plenty !!:thumbsup:

Gordy M
13-07-2014, 12:21 PM

I know a few cops mate, and they do not get o/t for working the football. It is just their normal shift or they will get another day off. Police getting o/t for football stopped quite a few years ago.

13-07-2014, 12:23 PM
I know a few cops mate, and they do not get o/t for working the football. It is just their normal shift or they will get another day off. Police getting o/t for football stopped quite a few years ago.

Cheers :thumbsup:

over the line
13-07-2014, 12:32 PM
I think Berwick won on a financial view !! Great Hibs support and spent plenty !!:thumbsup:

Happy days then! I wish I'd gone now, would have been better than looking after the brats while the missus was working! :rolleyes:

13-07-2014, 01:02 PM

:thumbsup: Most important thing, all ended well and another win for the Hibees.

13-07-2014, 01:02 PM

One of our lot who travels up from Lancashire with us to games is a transport policeman, i dont see the poblem.

Police infiltrate Hibs Support.

I can see the headline now - not least of all because I just wrote it!!!!

13-07-2014, 01:14 PM

over the line
13-07-2014, 01:15 PM

As long as they buy a season ticket then its fine!?!? ;) :D

13-07-2014, 03:36 PM

Just back from Lidl in Granton. I can report that Sunday shopping went off without incident, despite no police being in attendance. :greengrin

13-07-2014, 03:43 PM
Just back from Lidl in Granton. I can report that Sunday shopping went off without incident, despite no police being in attendance. :greengrin

Well I went to the Chippie, where there was also no Police in attendance and I'm sad to report that the Fish got Battered and the Chips were aw'salted.

:offski:

Gerard
13-07-2014, 03:46 PM
I was in South Edinburgh today. There was no public order issues and no need for the police to attend:greengrin

13-07-2014, 03:51 PM
All quiet in North Gyle though a reasonably heavy Police presence is due in my house around 8pm :wink:

13-07-2014, 04:04 PM
Well I went to the Chippie, where there was also no Police in attendance and I'm sad to report that the Fish got Battered and the Chips were aw'salted.

Got to blame the Krispy Kreme drive through for that. Used to be the lowest crime rate in Edinburgh, chippies and bakers.

over the line
13-07-2014, 04:09 PM

Fair play shopping is annoying, you did well not to kick off! :D

Newcastlehibby
13-07-2014, 05:36 PM
Some bizarre posts on here.

Firstly, the police officers would not be getting overtime. They would have had shifts re-rostered and rest days cancelled in advance.

Secondly, Berwick is 60 miles from Newcastle, so if something did kick off, it would take a very very long time to get officers there in numbers to deal with it.

They would have some difficulty in assessing exactly how many away fans would turn up.

Safety of the public and property comes first, so far better safe than sorry. Prevention is better than cure.

Some people clearly have nothing better to do than look for someting to have a gripe about.

If you have ever been to a Newcastle vs Sunderland match, arriving at central station, you would understand the policing policy.

13-07-2014, 05:39 PM

Police Infiltrate Suntanned Hibees...

over the line
13-07-2014, 05:41 PM

Oh my Cod, you try and make a serious point on here and this is what you get! Well there is no Plaice for it, I've Haddock with the lot of yer! Plus I'm sick of Herring you all Carp on anyway, you are all a Garupa Sprats! :D (that's it, I'm done with the fish puns). :rolleyes:

13-07-2014, 05:42 PM

Firstly, the police officers would not be getting overtime. They would have had shifts re-rostered and rest days cancelled in advance.

Secondly, Berwick is 60 miles from Newcastle, so if something did kick off, it would take a very very long time to get officers there in numbers to deal with it.

They would have some difficulty in assessing exactly how many away fans would turn up.

Safety of the public and property comes first, so far better safe than sorry. Prevention is better than cure.

Some people clearly have nothing better to do than look for someting to have a gripe about.

If you have ever been to a Newcastle vs Sunderland match, arriving at central station, you would understand the policing policy.

Plus mrs Miggins would be a bit miffed if no one was able to attend the mysterious case of the missing pies - seriously though the locals shouldn't expect coverage to be adversely affected in the extreme.

Gerard
13-07-2014, 05:47 PM

The points you have made are apprx 95% fair. I would suggest that Hibs fans are not like the 2 ugly sister's fans and are almost very well behaved. BR is a nice club and this fixture is very unlikely to result in public disorder taking place. The police have very limited resources and these resources could perhaps be better applied given the nature of the scarcity of them

over the line
13-07-2014, 05:50 PM
All quiet in North Gyle though a reasonably heavy Police presence is due in my house around 8pm :wink:

Scousers should all be man to man marked by police at all times anyway! ;)

over the line
13-07-2014, 06:05 PM

Sunderland v Newcastle was the last footy game I went to in England, about 5-6 years ago. Not a pleasant experience, its how I imagine a Serbia v Bosnia, or Israel v Palastine fixture would be! Ridiculous amount of animosity, pathetic really. Defo need a lot of police there and there was!

Paperboy
13-07-2014, 06:36 PM
I used to go to Berwick games a few years ago and remember they played Airdrie and it sounds similar to what it was like yesterday. The town centre was full of police and riot vans and there wa no trouble whatsoever. Not sure if they're just being cautious in the event of so etching kicking off, but it wasn't like that all the time.

13-07-2014, 06:38 PM

Why? Derby game between two ****** Premiership teams bears no comparison to the Mighty Hibees playing at Berwick.

13-07-2014, 06:41 PM
Scousers should all be man to man marked by police at all times anyway! ;)

You must be speaking from experience cos plenty of Scousers in the Port :greengrin

over the line
13-07-2014, 06:50 PM
You must be speaking from experience cos plenty of Scousers in the Port :greengrin

Too right, they are everywhere. I married into a family of em, and they defo cause me loads of trouble! :rolleyes::D

13-07-2014, 06:55 PM
Too right, they are everywhere. I married into a family of em, and they defo cause me loads of trouble! :rolleyes::D

13-07-2014, 06:55 PM
The police are a bit in your face in this country. Not all of them but some take it too far. One of the English coppers (with the silly hats on) had some swagger on him. I mind saying that to my brother at HT. It was cringey. The policing tactics in this country is pretty poor though. It doesn't bother me but it you can tell it winds up some of lesser educated Hibs fans :greengrin

They should learn a thing or two from the police on the continent. Maribor was a great example, they had a huge presence and all looked as if they could handle them self no problem if it kicked off, but they sat in the background and let the fans enjoy them self. In fact Malmo was pretty much the same.

13-07-2014, 07:17 PM

The only reason it would be justified, is if police had been told something had been arranged between rival firms, to take place in Berwick. Otherwise there is no need to treat people like potential criminals at a pre season friendly in a wee seaside town.

The logical conclusion to prevention being better than a cure was to cancel the game. Was there a need for a high profile presence? Would it have been possible to have a couple of friendly coppers on the street, with back up stationed nearby - thus having the numbers if needed, yet not giving anyone cause for alarm?

Can't imagine it was a particularly pleasant experience for local people going about their business on a Saturday.

13-07-2014, 07:24 PM
Really don't see the issue.......if there are loads of cops, hey ho.....should feel safer......if no one is causing bother then you just go about your business, no ?

Different if they are being overly officious or uncivil, then of course you have a point......but if folk get peed off simply cos cops are there then deary me IMO. I'm pretty sure they didn't want to be there either :cb

Not dissing you Southmorocco :aok: Not a huge fan of Police Glasgow either :greengrin

In fairness theres police and theres glasgow police,theres is a difference

13-07-2014, 07:36 PM
You have to add yesterday's date into the mix.
The Silly Sash Brigade would have been out in force in every town (Scotland and England) yesterday. They don't seem to handle their alcohol too well and so an increased cop presence inevitable, imo.

13-07-2014, 07:37 PM

If you have ever been to a Newcastle vs Sunderland match, arriving at central station, you would understand the policing policy.Jeezo ..it was a friendly match between Berwick Rangers & hibs ..not a full scale premiership match ..:confused:

In comparison to last week ..Vale of Leithen v hibs ......watched by over 1000 hibs fans & Policed by two local officers ..who were really just out for a wee stroll in the sun ..

Gerard
13-07-2014, 09:59 PM
Jeezo ..it was a friendly match between Berwick Rangers & hibs ..not a full scale premiership match ..:confused:

In comparison to last week ..Vale of Leithen v hibs ......watched by over 1000 hibs fans & Policed by two local officers ..who were really just out for a wee stroll in the sun ..

14-07-2014, 11:06 AM

Are you seriously trying to equate a pre-season friendly between Berwick and Hibs with the hate-fest of a North East derby?

14-07-2014, 11:09 AM

There's no Glasgow police any more, they're all Police Scotland.

14-07-2014, 12:02 PM

There's no Police Scotland, they're all Glasgow Police ;-)

14-07-2014, 12:37 PM

There's no Police Scotland, they're all Glasgow Police ;-)

Clearly I'm not the only one in detecting a shift in police attitudes in Lothian. It used to be "tell us how we can help you", now it's "youse dae whit yer telt".

Whole raft of moralistic initiatives tackling issues that don't exist. Cue DCI Greetinface complaining about Internet message boards.

14-07-2014, 08:24 PM
Clearly I'm not the only one in detecting a shift in police attitudes in Lothian. It used to be "tell us how we can help you", now it's "youse dae whit yer telt".

Whole raft of moralistic initiatives tackling issues that don't exist. Cue DCI Greetinface complaining about Internet message boards.
The stop and search rate in Dumfries and Galloway has gone through the roof since police Scotland came into being and the policing of Wickerman Festival is also casing locals concern Sometimes when there are changes it's no longer local people on ground who know issues that are consulted and common sense goes out the window Doesn't make it better Policing just someone new coming in and trying to make it look like they have had to make changes to improve things ,when in Reality they just want to try and make an impression and raise their own profile .Just my opinion though .