View Full Version : First signing made - David Gray (official)

ivan03
08-07-2014, 04:28 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140708/right-back-gray-joins-hibernian_2262950_3974077

08-07-2014, 04:42 PM
Welcome :flag:

08-07-2014, 04:43 PM
Hopefully the first of many. Sure he will be, let the flood gates open. (quality -not quantity)

hihohibby
08-07-2014, 04:49 PM
I confess to knowing nothing about our first signing, but welcome his arrival anyway. I can only trust in Alan Stubbs' judgement. Fingers crossed that he makes the right back slot his very own.:flag:

08-07-2014, 04:51 PM
Heard of him for years but didn't know much of what he'd been doing lately. Seems to have been playing a fair bit going by his wikipedia so hopefully fully fit and better (much better) than what we've had.

08-07-2014, 04:54 PM
Who the **** is he

08-07-2014, 04:54 PM
Who the **** is he

David Gray.

08-07-2014, 04:55 PM
Not hibs class and this signing lacks ambition

08-07-2014, 04:56 PM

Have you seen him play ?

08-07-2014, 04:58 PM

He left Hearts to go to Man Utd. That's quite ambitious.

08-07-2014, 04:59 PM

You have never heard of him but you have already dismissed him..........Crazy right enough...............:hilarious

08-07-2014, 05:02 PM

:fishin: :greengrin

JJP
08-07-2014, 05:03 PM
Welcome to Hibs

Dublin07
08-07-2014, 05:05 PM

You are 100% right Scottish championship clubs should be signing players from the top end of the Bpl or la liga. Can't believe we never offered more than city for Sagna this new woman just has no ambition!

hihohibby
08-07-2014, 05:05 PM
Heard of him for years but didn't know much of what he'd been doing lately. Seems to have been playing a fair bit going by his wikipedia so hopefully fully fit and better (much better) than what we've had.

I see that he's suffered a broken leg and other sidelining injuries and has been let go by a couple of lower tier clubs. Hopefully he finds 2nd tier Scottish football to his liking and adapts and fits in nicely. One wonders whether he is Stubbs' first choice as he scouted for a right back!

scuttle
08-07-2014, 05:06 PM
Welcome David lets hope we sail away with the league title

over the line
08-07-2014, 05:09 PM
Local lad and been at Man Utd, both good things I think. Welcome and best of luck to him.

08-07-2014, 05:09 PM
Has he got a website?

08-07-2014, 05:10 PM
:fishin: :greengrin

Im reeling them in

08-07-2014, 05:16 PM
Im reeling them in

Aye you've done us again, I'm away for a lie doon.

08-07-2014, 05:18 PM
We've tended to babylon about this every summer until now without anything happening so I'm glad we got it done.

08-07-2014, 05:18 PM
And so it begins.

Welcome David. :)

08-07-2014, 05:20 PM
Im reeling them inWowzers, you are such a good internet troll, teach me please.

08-07-2014, 05:23 PM
David Gray will be this years love interest for the ladies i guess

Saturday Boy
08-07-2014, 05:24 PM
That must have been the guy that passed me in Tranent in a white Lada.

Sorry.

macd123
08-07-2014, 05:25 PM
Welcome David lets hope we sail away with the league title

Nah this signing shows were dead in the water

Lewis77
08-07-2014, 05:25 PM
Bloody hell, strange change of career for David but I liked his music and wobbly head thing.

I wonder what his alibi will be for a bad game.

scotia44
08-07-2014, 05:26 PM
Who the **** is he

Been quiet since Babylon

08-07-2014, 05:29 PM
Good player

08-07-2014, 05:31 PM
We've tended to babylon about this every summer until now without anything happening so I'm glad we got it done.

Haaaaa. Was trying to think of one. Well done 👍

08-07-2014, 05:33 PM
Welcome to Hibernian David, if you ever read some of the posts on here you should know beforehand we have more trolls than a Norwegian fairy tale, so don't let the ******** get you down.

08-07-2014, 05:34 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Gray_%28footballer,_born_1988%29

08-07-2014, 05:34 PM
Well that's the big name ex Manchester United player signed, the rest will surely be of a lower standard. :greengrin

Lewis77
08-07-2014, 05:50 PM
Please forgive me but didn't he once play for The other side then Sail away to Man Utd?

Sorry.

08-07-2014, 06:01 PM
He comes from Roslin. Think he is/was a Jambo.
Injury prone, but decent when fit.

08-07-2014, 06:06 PM
welcome david :flag:

08-07-2014, 06:08 PM
I see that he's suffered a broken leg and other sidelining injuries and has been let go by a couple of lower tier clubs. Hopefully he finds 2nd tier Scottish football to his liking and adapts and fits in nicely. One wonders whether he is Stubbs' first choice as he scouted for a right back!

:greengrin and no rumours of world cup stars being offered contracts! Leanne Dempster OUT!

Seriously though, don't know much about the guy but glad we have finally brought someone in and hopefully there are more in the pipeline that will be signed and announced in the coming days.

08-07-2014, 06:08 PM
Missed him by a season at Royal Antwerp.

first piece in the jigsaw, hopefully he can play.

08-07-2014, 06:09 PM
Welcome to the club.

Been years since weve had a reliable, first choice RB. Hopefully he fits the bill!

08-07-2014, 06:14 PM
Has he got a website?

Why? :confused:

08-07-2014, 06:17 PM
Could one of the Admins maybe merge this with the other thread?

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?286684-Official-Site-Right-back-Gray-Joins-Hibernian

Then we could read everybody's inane comments all in the one place :wink:

08-07-2014, 06:18 PM
Welcome Davey boy!

08-07-2014, 06:48 PM
Why? :confused:

I think you have been on here long enough to know the significance of a player's website! :wink:

Robinho08
08-07-2014, 06:52 PM
I think you have been on here long enough to know the significance of a player's website! :wink:

Haha, I think it may have been me who started that with Zarabi.

08-07-2014, 06:56 PM
Haha, I think it may have been me who started that with Zarabi.

Cannae remember, thought it was longer ago than that. I do remember someone complained about the guy's website and was obviously ripped to shreds! :greengrin

scuttle
08-07-2014, 07:06 PM
Please forgive me but didn't he once play for The other side then Sail away to Man Utd?

Sorry.
That ships already sailed on the first page of the thread

Robinho08
08-07-2014, 07:26 PM
Cannae remember, thought it was longer ago than that. I do remember someone complained about the guy's website and was obviously ripped to shreds! :greengrin

I'm 99.9% sure it was Zarabi. He put his website together with what looked like MS paintbrush. I made a passing comment about his site being poor and got ripped. Haha

08-07-2014, 07:29 PM
That must have been the guy that passed me in Tranent in a white Lada.

Sorry.

That took a couple of seconds to register but is the best one yet.

08-07-2014, 07:30 PM

I`ve been on a while, but it looks like I missed some previous nonsense about a player having a website. Must have been on holiday or something to miss that one :greengrin

08-07-2014, 07:33 PM
David Gray will be this years love interest for the ladies i guess

Photos please ! :greengrin

08-07-2014, 07:42 PM
Photos please ! :greengrin

Fill yer boots :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Hd0tkqkRYw&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw

cam75
08-07-2014, 07:48 PM
http://www.thepfa.com/transferlist/statistics?guid={21DE4CEE-C24B-42C9-83FC-0A3621125318}&status=-1&position=rb&date=sortbydate&tab=listedplayers
Found this !
Do us proud David

GlenrothesHibee
08-07-2014, 07:52 PM
Rubbish signing. He's not done anything since Babylon

08-07-2014, 08:17 PM
Fill yer boots :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Hd0tkqkRYw&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw

Cheers Jonnyboy ! Is really he only 29 ? :greengrin

Stuarty27
08-07-2014, 08:23 PM
Hope the ticket office have extra staff on tomorrow for the made rush for all of us to get our season tickets with this marque signing

08-07-2014, 08:31 PM
Never seen him play, anyone know if he's any good?

08-07-2014, 08:34 PM
I'm 99.9% sure it was Zarabi. He put his website together with what looked like MS paintbrush. I made a passing comment about his site being poor and got ripped. Haha

I therefore bow to your superior knowledge young man. :-)

bayhibs
08-07-2014, 08:37 PM
Hope the ticket office have extra staff on tomorrow for the made rush for all of us to get our season tickets with this marque signing

Hilarious, not sure how many right backs would be described as 'marque'?? signings.
Also, some of us have already got tickets so no need to rush down.

08-07-2014, 08:38 PM
What is a marque signing anyway?

08-07-2014, 08:40 PM
Never seen him play, anyone know if he's any good?

Never heard of him, but he comes with a blank page to write on, and hopefully gels with the club, so that we are singing his praises from now until he retires.

Not what we'd call a big name signing that some we're hoping for, but mightily relieved that at least we have started the recruitment process finally.

Get 'em in, and we'll judge them on what they do in a Hibs strip.

08-07-2014, 08:42 PM
hope the ticket office have extra staff on tomorrow for the made rush for all of us to get our season tickets with this marque signing

I hope they keep the door locked for you.

Gtf

08-07-2014, 08:49 PM

Positive as ever :wink:

08-07-2014, 08:52 PM
Positive as ever :wink:

Why bother JB. Not worth it.

08-07-2014, 09:02 PM

Christian Nade in a kilt?

Stuarty27
08-07-2014, 09:06 PM
Am only jessing, I have never seen him play, looking forward to seeing him play on Sat.

JBloggs1875
08-07-2014, 09:10 PM
Welcome David 😃

08-07-2014, 09:21 PM
Christian Nade in a kilt?

Nade's a marqdee .. that's one bigger than a marquee :greengrin

craigmounthibby
08-07-2014, 09:28 PM
He comes from Roslin. Think he is/was a Jambo.
Injury prone, but decent when fit.
My brother-in-law (who supports Jimmy Savile) tells me he's been a jambo from birth. Doesn't bother me that Jason Cummings is too - if he can play, he'll do.

08-07-2014, 09:28 PM
Has he got a website?

There you go.

http://davidgray.com/

08-07-2014, 09:37 PM

I despair

Up The Bracket
08-07-2014, 10:01 PM
Was he not linked to us before we signed Michael Hart?

gorgie greens
08-07-2014, 10:08 PM
welcome to Easter Road David,

08-07-2014, 10:39 PM
Great to have a right back to play right back. Looks like he has been on a bit of a downward spiral for a few years, but he's still only 26 so has time to pull it together ..... please let it be with us.

Welcome to Hibs David, heres your first bit of advice ...... Jambo or not, when you are asked about Edinburgh football and you are wearing our badge you say HIBS and hearts .... not the other sodding way around.

Cammy
08-07-2014, 10:40 PM
Was he not linked to us before we signed Michael Hart?

Yeah, that's the way I remember it too. I'm sure at the time there were a few posters were wanting us to sign him at that time instead of Hart. :agree:

08-07-2014, 10:44 PM
We just need to sign Gary Twigg now and we've got the full house of players who have been rumoured for eternity.

BarneyK
08-07-2014, 10:47 PM
We just need to sign Gary Twigg now and we've got the full house of players who have been rumoured for eternity.

Jamie Cureton's available. Only 38.

cockneymike
08-07-2014, 11:48 PM
Great to have a right back to play right back. Looks like he has been on a bit of a downward spiral for a few years, but he's still only 26 so has time to pull it together ..... please let it be with us.

:agree: Couldn't agree more!

09-07-2014, 05:05 AM
Nade's a marqdee .. that's one bigger than a marquee :greengrin

Old ones are the best, eh. However, well seeing you're an accountant, "f" comes after e ;-)

09-07-2014, 08:53 AM

What's a made rush?

09-07-2014, 08:57 AM
Jamie Cureton's available. Only 38.

I'd like to see us finally get Marc Libbra on a permanent deal.

GlenrothesHibee
09-07-2014, 09:02 AM
I'd like to see us finally get Marc Libbra on a permanent deal.

Could have had him for 150k in 2001 fact. Petrie out

09-07-2014, 10:06 AM
Old ones are the best, eh. However, well seeing you're an accountant, "f" comes after e ;-)

oramhibee
09-07-2014, 11:14 AM
If he scores- the PA guy should play "Babylon"

m.youtube.com/watch?v=zI_SBAkdKzc

09-07-2014, 11:37 AM
If he scores- the PA guy should play "Babylon"

m.youtube.com/watch?v=zI_SBAkdKzc

Thank God he is defender if that is the plan!

CMcP
09-07-2014, 12:11 PM
that must have been the guy that passed me in tranent in a white lada.

Sorry.

superb

09-07-2014, 04:32 PM
Never heard of him, but he comes with a blank page to write on, and hopefully gels with the club, so that we are singing his praises from now until he retires.

Not what we'd call a big name signing that some we're hoping for, but mightily relieved that at least we have started the recruitment process finally.

Get 'em in, and we'll judge them on what they do in a Hibs strip.

Unfortunately Forza, there are a few, [too many really], judge a player long before he signs for us.

supersauzee
09-07-2014, 08:22 PM
[/B]Unfortunately Forza, there are a few, [too many really], judge a player long before he signs for us.

The signing of david gray is defo NOT a stubbs signing. I deliver to david grays mum in loanhead and she told me around 4weeks ago that this signing was on th cards so must be a petrie or dempster signing!

nribs
09-07-2014, 08:52 PM
The signing of david gray is defo NOT a stubbs signing. I deliver to david grays mum in loanhead and she told me around 4weeks ago that this signing was on th cards so must be a petrie or dempster signing!

Next time your making a delivery be sure to ask her.

09-07-2014, 08:54 PM

He's just told you?

supersauzee
09-07-2014, 09:00 PM

Ask her what? Nowt else to tell me!

nribs
09-07-2014, 09:02 PM
He's just told you?

If it was Petrie or Dempster?

09-07-2014, 09:05 PM
If it was Petrie or Dempster?

Well it wasnae Stubbs signing we ken that much :wink:

09-07-2014, 09:09 PM
A Marsella suggestion maybe?

Nevi_SOL
09-07-2014, 09:14 PM
A Marsella suggestion maybe?

I think this is most likely. Marsella would have had a list of potential targets for all positions probably

09-07-2014, 09:16 PM
Stubbs is head coach so he doesnt make the signings is that correct? He just coaches them ?

09-07-2014, 09:23 PM
Stubbs is head coach so he doesnt make the signings is that correct? He just coaches them ?

Not according to Dempster. She told fans at a meeting last night that most signings would come from England through Stubbs' contacts

09-07-2014, 09:25 PM
Not according to Dempster. She told fans at a meeting last night that most signings would come from England through Stubbs' contacts

All i ever read on here is that Stubbs WONT be signing players just coaching them..Cheers for that Callum.

calamitus
09-07-2014, 09:28 PM
Interesting - He must still have a significant amount of input, but his title suggests it's maybe more of a joint decision between Dempster, Stubbs and Marsella going forward.

09-07-2014, 09:37 PM

I would be stunned if any coach would work under those confitions. He must surely have a say in who is signed

09-07-2014, 09:40 PM
I would be stunned if any coach would work under those confitions. He must surely have a say in who is signed

You would think so eh :agree:

10-07-2014, 02:50 AM
I may be reading this thread wrong (I certainly hope so) but if anyone on here thinks that Alan Stubbs has no say in who is signed and that LD is simply foisting players on him they they are half-wits. On a good day...

Good Grief....

10-07-2014, 04:26 AM
You could be right but I suspect they are Yam trolls

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

22-05-2016, 10:39 AM
What a first signing for Stubbsy and the team to make.

22-05-2016, 10:40 AM
Another journeyman, ffs Petrie

22-05-2016, 10:44 AM
All this time and he's only just getting round to signing someone. Stubbs out! :greengrin

22-05-2016, 11:08 AM
Who the **** is he

The man who scored the winner in Hibs' first Scottish Cup win since 1902, that's who.

22-05-2016, 11:09 AM
Tbf I didn't bump this to pick out posts of people who hadn't heard of him at the time. Just more of his journey and how our first new player under this management is now a club icon.

22-05-2016, 11:33 AM
I've got a strange feeling this will be the guy that eventually wins us the Scottish Cup.

Called it.

22-05-2016, 11:36 AM
Called it.

So you did

22-05-2016, 11:38 AM
Tbf I didn't bump this to pick out posts of people who hadn't heard of him at the time. Just more of his journey and how our first new player under this management is now a club icon.

My quoted post was fishing from the original user anyway. :wink: